Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar

Average Customer Rating:
8.346 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
145 of 159(91%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Review 101 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Underestimated,
November 18, 2007
By marty
from Kansas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this 1994 Couger new and have had it for 13 years and 141,000 miles. It is in excellent condition. The car has been very reliable and excellent to me. It is still like a new car. It has the original exhaust with no rust. I have had no problems with the V8 4.6 engine except for the mass air flow sensor that cost $250.00 to repair ( compare that to the cost of repairing a VOLVO or BMW). The highway mileage has been very good at 27 mpg and sometimes better. Very economical car to drive easy to maintain. The brakes could have been better. I will probably drive it for another 100,000 miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 102 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1994 Cougar V8 Review,
April 6, 2008
By JohnnyD
from Melvindale, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I got it with 138000-something miles, and now I've got 143668 miles. I've owned this car for 5 months, and the only problem I had was when I hit a big bump, and the right rear shock pulled out of its mounting, but I don't consider that to be a problem because the shock was rusty, and was clunking before it popped out. New shocks in the rear fixed it. The only other minor problems I've had all along are it leaks oil and the emergency brake doesn't work. Other than that, the engine runs great, trans shifts fine, and all options (including A/C) work fine. This car has not failed me yet, and I hope it never does!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 103 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sport, Elegance, and CHEAP,
September 11, 2007
By max power
from chicago, Il
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I recently purchased my cougar on the internet that it was at a car dealership near my residence. I finally went to go and look at it and the price was less than two grand to get the car. It was dirty as can be imagined on the inside and i guess the dealer let it go so cheap so they wouldnt have to tangle with it. Anyway I love this car and would not want to give it up. The 3.8 liter V-style engine is beautiful, and easy to work on but since the car is so low to the ground, always have a hydraulic jack ready on you. This car is beautiful, pretty good on gas (averaging 22 mpg w/ overdrive and i havent gave it a tune up yet."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 104 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
most reliable car I ever owned.,
August 1, 2007
By COUGAR89
from PHILADELPHIA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"At over 200k, I only had to do very minor repairs. The car never left my family stranded,or in any discomfort. The ac stoped working at over 100k,other than that no concerns. At 215000 miles I had to reseal the oil pan, and after all of the mileage not one bit of sludge in the oil pan. Although times change, I was forced into parting with my cougar. Many people were amazed that the car still ran, and looked as well as it did, even after all that it went through. I would strongly suggest getting one of these cars for a good reliabe,safe,and sporty car. EXAMPLE: ALTERNATOR 185000 MILES ON THE ORIGINAL PART!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 105 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Keep coming back to Ford,
August 31, 2009
By illanoy
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is a vehicle i inherited from my grand mother after she past on. It is 1997 XR7 with all the toys and whistles. It has 66,000 miles on it and is a great car. The V 8 puts out the power when needed and does not hog the gas... get about 21 miles to a gallon. Only have replaced the tires and the rear brakes on it since i got in January of 09. Its big black and beautiful and wish ford motor company still made them! Just dont feel right getting into other cars that are made today... Had a pontiac before this, my only gm and will not go back to that again. Had 3 other ford products and will return to ford again after owning this one!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 106 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1997 Anniversary Edition is Great,
January 31, 2008
By Dave A
from Atlanta, GA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Purchased a '97 Anniversary Edition (4.6Liter, V8) in 2002. This has been an excellent car with few "issues". Have only had to change out the manifold intake and the mass airflow meter... about $1200 in repairs total. Car runs great and now has 100,000 miles on it. No loss of power or "get up and go". Great traction for a rear-wheel-drive car. It's gotten me through many Upstate New York winters with little slip-n-slide. The seats are amazingly comfortable on long roads trips and I get an average of 23 miles per gallon (or better) on the highway!! Pretty impressive for a V8 engine. Only thing I wish my Cougar had was a bit nicer inside trim. Regardless, I highly recommend this car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 107 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my anniversary edition 1997 Mercury Cougar,
October 13, 2011
By XR-7 V-8 Man
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:111100
ReviewOriginationID:6b2b0f1e-78dd-45a0-a27f-7426bf3ec81c
"I have a 1997 Cougar XR-7 with the 4.6 liter V-8 3 (1) overdrive 4 speed automatic transmission.This is most certainly one of the best cars i'v ever owned.I'm 38yrs of age male.Most all my cars/trucks had v-8 engines.I live on a very uphill down hill lots of corners and game (wild life) deer and so on.Speed limit is 45.Being i also live close to a flat pretty much straight shot into NY i still average 24mpg.It drives like a dream,corners excellent and the power is there when driven properly knowing the shift points,cause OD can be a bit tricky once you drop under 40mph.1 out of ten,i give it a 9 and a 1/2.I highly recommend the Cougar to all, if given a chance buy it.You'll love it.My name is Joseph.Drive carefully."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 1997
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 108 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
chevy guy,
January 12, 2011
By the judge
from new york
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i have owned all type of cars sport, luxury,trucks,suvs.When i found my couger i had already owned a lincoln wich i gave to my wife.at that time this was our first ford product .Just to let everyone know if u want style and luxury and performance by god go with a Lincoln amazing cars ford puts the best of the best in them.On the other hand i picked up a 94 couger XR7 limited edition and beleive it or not i only paid 200 bucks for it.Ya it needed work but who cares the motor and tranny was pampered and car lookes great.I gotta tell im sure this car was made to slap the Monte Carlo owners in the face.Iowned a Monte Carlo SS and im telling u the cougar is way better better handling more power and torque and just way more fun to drive"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 109 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
DIE HARD,
June 18, 2008
By Jeff
from Portland, Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"You know how they say the only thing left roaming the earth will be cockroaches.....This car will be right there along side of them....We have a 1996 3.8 V6 and it was purchased in 1998 with 30,000 miles on it and now it has 170,600. This car has been in 5 front end accidents and has been through all 3 of my kids using it. Now it's just an extra car that I let family and friends use when needed and it runs perfect. AC is freezing cold and seats are big and cozy. All that has been done to this car is oil changes. THAT'S IT! I swear I am waiting for it to die and it just wont. I finally broke down and bought 4 new tires today because the steel belts were coming out and I figured it was time. If you're looking for a reliable car to get you where you need to go...BUY ONE! Student driver approved! Ha!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 110 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Such a fun car,
September 7, 2011
By secret mercury fan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:74880
What's great about this vehicle?:power when you need it
What's not so great about this vehicle?:cheapie interior
"I love my 96 cougar! I got it because I was working on an 84 chevy caprice and it wasnt ready for the road yet. That caprice never was road worthy =[ but I got an 87 caprice to replace it and drive in the summer. I LOVE the caprice, and nothing will beat it, but dang does the cougar come close! The cougar has NEVER failed me or left me stranded. It has low miles and is in flawless shape. this is a very reliable, cheap to own, and fun to drive vehicle. I have driven two winters with it so far and never been in a situation where I needed to be pushed out of the snow, but being RWD its been stuck, just rock it. The only thing I dislike about the car is the transmission, ford trannys never impressed me, a chevy guy at heart. But for a mercury with all blue oval parts and design, this chevy guy is happy with it!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1996
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 111 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This car will NEVER quit!!!!,
October 10, 2013
By Cougar Fan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:322000
ReviewOriginationID:348c1c5eebf04169b1d00fb24c2c38f2
Make:Mercury
Model:Cougar
Vehicle ID:8107
"I bought my 1997 Cougar new and had it custom ordered from the factory. Man, am I glad I got it exactly the way I wanted it since I have had it now for 17 years and it is still going strong. I have a long commute each day (100 miles total) and I can't imagine doing it in any other car. I just clicked over 322,000 miles on it earlier this week. I haven't had any major repairs on it in all that time, just normal wear-and-tear items. The engine is original and I didn't have to have the transmission rebuilt until I hit the 290,000 mile mark. I do all the recommended maintenance and it runs as good today as it did when new. I keep it garaged both at home and work, so even the paint still looks good. The V-8 has ample power for freeway merges and gets surprisingly good mileage, but it's definitely not a hybrid! :) I absolutely LOVE this car!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 1997
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 112 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this car!!!!,
August 17, 2009
By Team lowes racing
from Brocktonn MA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I got this car as a gift for my very first car. I couldn't have gotten a better one. I'll tell you little bit of mine.
It's a greenish blueish coler, 117,388 miles, Pioneer cd player, 640W kenwood amp, Alloy wheels rear spoiler, (SPORT PACKAGE) 4.6 v8, 20 gallon tank, MINT condition!, rebuilt brakes, rotors, ac compressor, factory duel exughst (at least I think it is pretty loud) I got all of this for my first car and it was $3000. It's got a some good get up and go. The 1&ONLY thing that I didn't like about it is the 20 gallon tank. At $2.60 it was $30 for HALF A TANK. But other than that this car is really really great car. I will NEVER get rid of it unless is dies on me or it's worth a lot of money in the future because this was the last year for this big coupe style. Anyway if your in the market for a great used car with decent milage go and pick one up!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 113 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
BEST VEHICLE I EVER OWNED!,
January 24, 2014
By KitKat
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:118000
ReviewOriginationID:2b0a06b6e4474c5aa57f08e5f102ac35
Make:Mercury
Model:Cougar
Vehicle ID:8107
"I wasn't sure how to use the "slider" indicators for ratings however, this car has been the VERY BEST car I have ever owned and its a 1997. In fact, if the car weren't a 97 and didn't need ac repair, and my husband weren't deceased so he could guide me, I'd KEEP this car until it wouldn't drive anymore! The ac is the ONLY thing that has gone out. The only other repair that has been done on it were replacing brakes or brake pads, I don't recall which one but the brakes have been taken care of and its been serviced every single solitary 3,000 miles. I don't know why the ac doesn't work and not sure its really "gone out". This has been a sweet car and talk about get up and go in a hurry, it does! This car also has maintained a look that blends in with new models just fine. Not embarrassing to drive it or be seen in it. It isn't huge, bulky or that type of thing. The spoiler helps with that as well."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OK
Year 1997
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 114 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Phenomenal Car !!!,
July 23, 2007
By Annie
from Utah
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"If you can buy a 1997 Cougar, lucky you! My Cougar has 147,000 miles on it, and all it's required is new tires and brakes. It runs smooth. The pick up with the V-8 is outstanding, AND it gets good gas mileage.
Sturdy? Well, I hit a good size deer broad-side and the only damage was to the front driver's side headlight and yellow side light. The yellow side light bulb didn't break...just the glass around it!
Last night I hit a horse straight on. The damage was a long dent on my hood, a cracked windshield only to the left of the steering wheel, and some damage to the side mirror....and unfortunately the side window post. (which will probably affect the structure). The car held straight and true on the highway after the direct impact, and I was able to drive it to get to a phone.
This car is unbeliveable for safety and performance! If you have the chance to pick one up.......run...FAST...and grab it!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 115 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Cougars... Costly, but Reliable,
October 24, 2010
By M.O.D.
from Georgia
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"My first car was a 1993 Mercury Cougar XR-7 V8 5.0 with a digital dash. I purchased it in 2006, unaware that its previous owners did not believe in routine car care. I did my best to fix it up: ball joints, oil leaks, power steering leaks, major tune up, EGR valve, radiator, etc. Besides the obvious problems, my Cougar ran perfectly fine. I even raced a Corvette and almost won lol. I was almost finished restoring it and I got t-boned by a drunk driver! 4 years later, my 1998 Cadillac Deville suffered a similar fate, so I decided to purchase a 1994 Mercury Cougar V6 3.8 @ 107,000 miles with a flawless paintjob and interior. This Cougar doesn't leak or burn ANY FLUIDS!! It runs quiet and strong; the only major problem is the transmission. I'm not a big fan of Ford vehicles, but the Cougars are very reliable, stylish, and comfortable. I can't wait to rebuild the transmission so I can witness this car's true performance. I love my Cougar!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 116 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good car,
January 3, 2010
By XR7 Fan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I obtained a 94 Cougar XR7 from a co-sign gone wrong. As a result I took possession of the car. I owned it for 10 years. It had the 4.6 ltr V8 engine. I was amazed at how economical it was. I was getting 21-22 mpg mixed city/highway and on a trip to Vegas actually got 30 mpg highway driving at 70-75 mph! That's awesome for a automatic V8. Comfort and ride quality were top-notch. Handling was a bit mediocre, but this isn't a sports car. Car had plenty of power and at 105K miles it didn't burn any oil at all. As far as reliability is concerned, it was decent. I did replace the PCM and various sensors. The front brake rotors had a problem with warping every couple years or so. Also the transmission started getting the converter vibration when locking @ 75K miles. I installed a mild shift kit and fresh Mercon 5 fluid and that seems to solve the issue. Overall, I was very pleased with the car and only got rid of it because I had too many other vehicles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 117 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great dependable solid car.,
March 17, 2010
By djhaloeight
from Lansing, IL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"My Cougar XR7 is a great car. It currently has 203,000 miles on the original engine and transmission and it fires right up every day and runs smooth as silk. The transmission shifts smooth and tight as a drum as well. The 4.6L and 4R70W combo are bulletproof. Hundreds of thousands of police cars/taxis/limos are running around with this combo, you can't go wrong. I purchased this car off a friend who was planning on junking it, because it wouldn't pass emissions. A few replaced sensors later, and I had myself an almost free perfectly running vehicle to use as a work car. I believe that the '96 and '97 model years are the best because all of the bugs had been ironed out by then. Remember the MN-12 platform debuted in 1989, so by 96/97 it was fully matured and very reliable. The only thing that doesn't work anymore on the car is the A/C, but with 203k on the clock, I'm not complaining. It gets me where I need to go and does so without any muss or fuss."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 118 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very reliable,
September 21, 2009
By Mike
from Lincoln, NE
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is my 3rd Cougar. The first 2 were so reliable I purchased a 3rd. I used to average 50k/year mileage.
I bought this car with 50k and it now has 218k miles. The engine currently uses less than 1/4th quart of oil in 3k miles and runs perfectly. I did have to replace the Electronic Control Module at 210k ($250). That has been my most expensive repair except for tires. I have changed plugs / wires once. I have changed front brake pads twice. Rear pads still original. Exhaust still original. Engine and Transmission still original. All fluids stay good between oil changes.
I'd buy another but a substantial redesign with an engine that I don't like. I'll change my next vehicle to something else.
First Cougar (1988) I sold with 180k and was still running good. Second Cougar (1994) I sold with 204k and was running good. Third I still have with 218k.
Excellent reliability and dependability. I even drove it from Nebraska to Arizona last week (2400 miles in 6 days), and back, and I trused it enough to take the scenic route over the Rocky Mountains. Zero Problems. Not bad for a 218k car.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 119 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Little known jewel,
October 30, 2008
By Dan
from St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned two Cougars since 2000. I bought the first, a 1990 V6 LS, in 2000 with 75,000 miles in New York and I drove it in NY, as well as Newfoundland, Canada, for another 100,000 miles. The car had a head gasket replaced before I bought it - common problem with the V6 engine, apparently - and, for the seven years I owned it, I replaced one leaky water pump, both front shocks as they were too soft and caused car's nose to bounce a little too much, brake pads twice and front rotors once. Other than this, NOTHING - all in all, about $1000 in repairs while driving about five times the length of Equator. I wish Ford would have never given up making these cars, they were design wonders. The rust finally got my 90 Cougar in Newfoundland - they use a lot of salt around here to keep the roads usable - but the engine and tranny were still running fine. The interior was a little on the cheap side. The V6 got me about 27-28 mpg highway, while rush hour NYC pushed it down to 12-13 mpg - I find this amazing for a 3.8 liter V6. The car drives amazingly well, you get to appreciate the 2.5 tons of iron when cruising, especially if you compare it to a smaller car. Cornering is also amazing for such a big car, ojt to mention that the RWD allows the front wheel to steer better than most FWD cars - these Cougars turn tighter than a Mazda 6. One downside I need to mention though, especially if you're a DYI kind of guy, is the relative poorly layout of the engine - I never managed to avoid scratching my hands when replacing the spark plugs, the space is simply too tight.
And this brings me to my second Cougar, a 1994 XR7 with a 4.6 VB engine on it. I bought it from its first owner in Florida earlier this year. The car has 33,500 miles on it and no traces of rust, and everything is in mint condition. There is a world of difference between the two model years. For starters, the interior has been finally designed as it should (the "wrap-around" dash), the controls have been greatly optimized, and the whole interior has been brought to the same top level with the outside and the powerplant. The modular V8 is a gem: you could teach car mechanics to anyone with this engine, it is amazingly well arranged. Ford did away with the old, belt-driven fan, so now the engine warms up faster in colder climates. I only regret the sound of that old engine, imho the V6 sounded better than the V8. When spun up, the V6 was like an airplane taking off, while the V8 screams raw power - it sounds like a classic muscle car's engine. One other good thing Ford did on the 1994 was to redo the tranny - the '90 was shifting errhatically from 3rd to 4th, sometimes with a big hiccup. None of that left on the 94 - instead you get a tranny that lets you shift down from 4th to 3rd with a press of a button on the shifter (overdrive on/off), and also select 2nd and 1st if you so desire.
My 90 Cougar performed beautifully on snow without ABS, if you know how to use engine braking, you'll be fine on snowy roads. I'm not saying you'll go off-road with the Cougar, but city/highway driving in snow is safe and quite fun. Also, being so wide and not too tall makes these cars stick to the road in turns like they're glued in - it'll take a lot of abuse to make them skid sideways. And for those SUV fans out there, Ford put a smarter alternative to expensive electronic stability control systems 15 years ago into these cars - it's called a lower gravity center through design. I'm yet to hear about an overturned Cougar. Mazda did the same with RX7 and Subaru with their boxer engine.
All in all, an extremely well built car, surprisingly economical given the power plant hiding under the hood, high quality parts (and decently-priced spare parts readiiy available), very safe and extremely comfortable, especially for long trips. Suspension is smooth - independent rear suspension in an era when the rear axle was commonplace - and the handling is great. If you can get your hands on one of these Big Cats, don't hesitate. And for those who'll say that you'll pay a lot on gas with these cars, I'll share my own experience: as long as you play nice with the gas pedal, your mileage compares with modern V6 cars. really.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
101-120 of 120