Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar

Average Customer Rating:
8.348 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
147 of 161(91%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Review 101 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Vehicle They made!,
January 2, 2012
By PAPPY
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:230000
What's great about this vehicle?:I will drive it till the doors fall off
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Yep your right No cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:00b60ccb-d7d2-4892-a3f5-084b0463aa96
"I have owned many many cars this car has Never failed me one time I have 200000 Plus miles and runs like a new one Never uses any oil (change faithfully every 3,000 miles..thats the key to running it Forever) and getting about 25/28 miles to gal.I have only replaced brakes/drums/tires.Everyone that has rode in it says Wow how many miles you have on this thing they are shocked at the power it has and the smooth riding it's a V-8/4.6 little rust inside the bottom of the doors otherwise looks Great I also have a 2011 Chrysler 300 and My Old Couger will blow it's doors Off.Best car ever made !!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 1996
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 102 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Wish they still made em....,
November 21, 2007
By BjrCougar
from Tulsa OK
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this is my FIFTH Cougar since 1984 and my second 1996 never a major issue with any of the Cougar's through the years... batteries, tires, and oil changes seem to be all I've done. I just wish that Ford / Mercury would bring back a retro of the Cougar and T-bird for all of us who've been driving these through the years like they've done with the Mustang. Chevy still makes the Monte Carlo...... Bring back the Cougar! I have 105,000 miles on this one and it's purring like a top no body issues, no paint issues.....leather is like brand new and car sits in the heat of the parking lot at work daily."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 103 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Underestimated,
November 18, 2007
By marty
from Kansas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this 1994 Couger new and have had it for 13 years and 141,000 miles. It is in excellent condition. The car has been very reliable and excellent to me. It is still like a new car. It has the original exhaust with no rust. I have had no problems with the V8 4.6 engine except for the mass air flow sensor that cost $250.00 to repair ( compare that to the cost of repairing a VOLVO or BMW). The highway mileage has been very good at 27 mpg and sometimes better. Very economical car to drive easy to maintain. The brakes could have been better. I will probably drive it for another 100,000 miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 104 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1994 Cougar V8 Review,
April 6, 2008
By JohnnyD
from Melvindale, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I got it with 138000-something miles, and now I've got 143668 miles. I've owned this car for 5 months, and the only problem I had was when I hit a big bump, and the right rear shock pulled out of its mounting, but I don't consider that to be a problem because the shock was rusty, and was clunking before it popped out. New shocks in the rear fixed it. The only other minor problems I've had all along are it leaks oil and the emergency brake doesn't work. Other than that, the engine runs great, trans shifts fine, and all options (including A/C) work fine. This car has not failed me yet, and I hope it never does!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 105 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sport, Elegance, and CHEAP,
September 11, 2007
By max power
from chicago, Il
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I recently purchased my cougar on the internet that it was at a car dealership near my residence. I finally went to go and look at it and the price was less than two grand to get the car. It was dirty as can be imagined on the inside and i guess the dealer let it go so cheap so they wouldnt have to tangle with it. Anyway I love this car and would not want to give it up. The 3.8 liter V-style engine is beautiful, and easy to work on but since the car is so low to the ground, always have a hydraulic jack ready on you. This car is beautiful, pretty good on gas (averaging 22 mpg w/ overdrive and i havent gave it a tune up yet."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 106 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
most reliable car I ever owned.,
August 1, 2007
By COUGAR89
from PHILADELPHIA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"At over 200k, I only had to do very minor repairs. The car never left my family stranded,or in any discomfort. The ac stoped working at over 100k,other than that no concerns. At 215000 miles I had to reseal the oil pan, and after all of the mileage not one bit of sludge in the oil pan. Although times change, I was forced into parting with my cougar. Many people were amazed that the car still ran, and looked as well as it did, even after all that it went through. I would strongly suggest getting one of these cars for a good reliabe,safe,and sporty car. EXAMPLE: ALTERNATOR 185000 MILES ON THE ORIGINAL PART!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 107 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Keep coming back to Ford,
August 31, 2009
By illanoy
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is a vehicle i inherited from my grand mother after she past on. It is 1997 XR7 with all the toys and whistles. It has 66,000 miles on it and is a great car. The V 8 puts out the power when needed and does not hog the gas... get about 21 miles to a gallon. Only have replaced the tires and the rear brakes on it since i got in January of 09. Its big black and beautiful and wish ford motor company still made them! Just dont feel right getting into other cars that are made today... Had a pontiac before this, my only gm and will not go back to that again. Had 3 other ford products and will return to ford again after owning this one!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 108 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1997 Anniversary Edition is Great,
January 31, 2008
By Dave A
from Atlanta, GA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Purchased a '97 Anniversary Edition (4.6Liter, V8) in 2002. This has been an excellent car with few "issues". Have only had to change out the manifold intake and the mass airflow meter... about $1200 in repairs total. Car runs great and now has 100,000 miles on it. No loss of power or "get up and go". Great traction for a rear-wheel-drive car. It's gotten me through many Upstate New York winters with little slip-n-slide. The seats are amazingly comfortable on long roads trips and I get an average of 23 miles per gallon (or better) on the highway!! Pretty impressive for a V8 engine. Only thing I wish my Cougar had was a bit nicer inside trim. Regardless, I highly recommend this car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 109 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my anniversary edition 1997 Mercury Cougar,
October 13, 2011
By XR-7 V-8 Man
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:111100
ReviewOriginationID:6b2b0f1e-78dd-45a0-a27f-7426bf3ec81c
"I have a 1997 Cougar XR-7 with the 4.6 liter V-8 3 (1) overdrive 4 speed automatic transmission.This is most certainly one of the best cars i'v ever owned.I'm 38yrs of age male.Most all my cars/trucks had v-8 engines.I live on a very uphill down hill lots of corners and game (wild life) deer and so on.Speed limit is 45.Being i also live close to a flat pretty much straight shot into NY i still average 24mpg.It drives like a dream,corners excellent and the power is there when driven properly knowing the shift points,cause OD can be a bit tricky once you drop under 40mph.1 out of ten,i give it a 9 and a 1/2.I highly recommend the Cougar to all, if given a chance buy it.You'll love it.My name is Joseph.Drive carefully."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 1997
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 110 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
chevy guy,
January 12, 2011
By the judge
from new york
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i have owned all type of cars sport, luxury,trucks,suvs.When i found my couger i had already owned a lincoln wich i gave to my wife.at that time this was our first ford product .Just to let everyone know if u want style and luxury and performance by god go with a Lincoln amazing cars ford puts the best of the best in them.On the other hand i picked up a 94 couger XR7 limited edition and beleive it or not i only paid 200 bucks for it.Ya it needed work but who cares the motor and tranny was pampered and car lookes great.I gotta tell im sure this car was made to slap the Monte Carlo owners in the face.Iowned a Monte Carlo SS and im telling u the cougar is way better better handling more power and torque and just way more fun to drive"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 111 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
DIE HARD,
June 18, 2008
By Jeff
from Portland, Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"You know how they say the only thing left roaming the earth will be cockroaches.....This car will be right there along side of them....We have a 1996 3.8 V6 and it was purchased in 1998 with 30,000 miles on it and now it has 170,600. This car has been in 5 front end accidents and has been through all 3 of my kids using it. Now it's just an extra car that I let family and friends use when needed and it runs perfect. AC is freezing cold and seats are big and cozy. All that has been done to this car is oil changes. THAT'S IT! I swear I am waiting for it to die and it just wont. I finally broke down and bought 4 new tires today because the steel belts were coming out and I figured it was time. If you're looking for a reliable car to get you where you need to go...BUY ONE! Student driver approved! Ha!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 112 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Such a fun car,
September 7, 2011
By secret mercury fan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:74880
What's great about this vehicle?:power when you need it
What's not so great about this vehicle?:cheapie interior
"I love my 96 cougar! I got it because I was working on an 84 chevy caprice and it wasnt ready for the road yet. That caprice never was road worthy =[ but I got an 87 caprice to replace it and drive in the summer. I LOVE the caprice, and nothing will beat it, but dang does the cougar come close! The cougar has NEVER failed me or left me stranded. It has low miles and is in flawless shape. this is a very reliable, cheap to own, and fun to drive vehicle. I have driven two winters with it so far and never been in a situation where I needed to be pushed out of the snow, but being RWD its been stuck, just rock it. The only thing I dislike about the car is the transmission, ford trannys never impressed me, a chevy guy at heart. But for a mercury with all blue oval parts and design, this chevy guy is happy with it!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1996
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 113 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This car will NEVER quit!!!!,
October 10, 2013
By Cougar Fan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:322000
ReviewOriginationID:348c1c5eebf04169b1d00fb24c2c38f2
Make:Mercury
Model:Cougar
Vehicle ID:8107
"I bought my 1997 Cougar new and had it custom ordered from the factory. Man, am I glad I got it exactly the way I wanted it since I have had it now for 17 years and it is still going strong. I have a long commute each day (100 miles total) and I can't imagine doing it in any other car. I just clicked over 322,000 miles on it earlier this week. I haven't had any major repairs on it in all that time, just normal wear-and-tear items. The engine is original and I didn't have to have the transmission rebuilt until I hit the 290,000 mile mark. I do all the recommended maintenance and it runs as good today as it did when new. I keep it garaged both at home and work, so even the paint still looks good. The V-8 has ample power for freeway merges and gets surprisingly good mileage, but it's definitely not a hybrid! :) I absolutely LOVE this car!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 1997
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 114 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this car!!!!,
August 17, 2009
By Team lowes racing
from Brocktonn MA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I got this car as a gift for my very first car. I couldn't have gotten a better one. I'll tell you little bit of mine.
It's a greenish blueish coler, 117,388 miles, Pioneer cd player, 640W kenwood amp, Alloy wheels rear spoiler, (SPORT PACKAGE) 4.6 v8, 20 gallon tank, MINT condition!, rebuilt brakes, rotors, ac compressor, factory duel exughst (at least I think it is pretty loud) I got all of this for my first car and it was $3000. It's got a some good get up and go. The 1&ONLY thing that I didn't like about it is the 20 gallon tank. At $2.60 it was $30 for HALF A TANK. But other than that this car is really really great car. I will NEVER get rid of it unless is dies on me or it's worth a lot of money in the future because this was the last year for this big coupe style. Anyway if your in the market for a great used car with decent milage go and pick one up!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 115 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Phenomenal Car !!!,
July 23, 2007
By Annie
from Utah
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"If you can buy a 1997 Cougar, lucky you! My Cougar has 147,000 miles on it, and all it's required is new tires and brakes. It runs smooth. The pick up with the V-8 is outstanding, AND it gets good gas mileage.
Sturdy? Well, I hit a good size deer broad-side and the only damage was to the front driver's side headlight and yellow side light. The yellow side light bulb didn't break...just the glass around it!
Last night I hit a horse straight on. The damage was a long dent on my hood, a cracked windshield only to the left of the steering wheel, and some damage to the side mirror....and unfortunately the side window post. (which will probably affect the structure). The car held straight and true on the highway after the direct impact, and I was able to drive it to get to a phone.
This car is unbeliveable for safety and performance! If you have the chance to pick one up.......run...FAST...and grab it!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 116 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Cougars... Costly, but Reliable,
October 24, 2010
By M.O.D.
from Georgia
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"My first car was a 1993 Mercury Cougar XR-7 V8 5.0 with a digital dash. I purchased it in 2006, unaware that its previous owners did not believe in routine car care. I did my best to fix it up: ball joints, oil leaks, power steering leaks, major tune up, EGR valve, radiator, etc. Besides the obvious problems, my Cougar ran perfectly fine. I even raced a Corvette and almost won lol. I was almost finished restoring it and I got t-boned by a drunk driver! 4 years later, my 1998 Cadillac Deville suffered a similar fate, so I decided to purchase a 1994 Mercury Cougar V6 3.8 @ 107,000 miles with a flawless paintjob and interior. This Cougar doesn't leak or burn ANY FLUIDS!! It runs quiet and strong; the only major problem is the transmission. I'm not a big fan of Ford vehicles, but the Cougars are very reliable, stylish, and comfortable. I can't wait to rebuild the transmission so I can witness this car's true performance. I love my Cougar!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 117 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good car,
January 3, 2010
By XR7 Fan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I obtained a 94 Cougar XR7 from a co-sign gone wrong. As a result I took possession of the car. I owned it for 10 years. It had the 4.6 ltr V8 engine. I was amazed at how economical it was. I was getting 21-22 mpg mixed city/highway and on a trip to Vegas actually got 30 mpg highway driving at 70-75 mph! That's awesome for a automatic V8. Comfort and ride quality were top-notch. Handling was a bit mediocre, but this isn't a sports car. Car had plenty of power and at 105K miles it didn't burn any oil at all. As far as reliability is concerned, it was decent. I did replace the PCM and various sensors. The front brake rotors had a problem with warping every couple years or so. Also the transmission started getting the converter vibration when locking @ 75K miles. I installed a mild shift kit and fresh Mercon 5 fluid and that seems to solve the issue. Overall, I was very pleased with the car and only got rid of it because I had too many other vehicles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 118 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great dependable solid car.,
March 17, 2010
By djhaloeight
from Lansing, IL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"My Cougar XR7 is a great car. It currently has 203,000 miles on the original engine and transmission and it fires right up every day and runs smooth as silk. The transmission shifts smooth and tight as a drum as well. The 4.6L and 4R70W combo are bulletproof. Hundreds of thousands of police cars/taxis/limos are running around with this combo, you can't go wrong. I purchased this car off a friend who was planning on junking it, because it wouldn't pass emissions. A few replaced sensors later, and I had myself an almost free perfectly running vehicle to use as a work car. I believe that the '96 and '97 model years are the best because all of the bugs had been ironed out by then. Remember the MN-12 platform debuted in 1989, so by 96/97 it was fully matured and very reliable. The only thing that doesn't work anymore on the car is the A/C, but with 203k on the clock, I'm not complaining. It gets me where I need to go and does so without any muss or fuss."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 119 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very reliable,
September 21, 2009
By Mike
from Lincoln, NE
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is my 3rd Cougar. The first 2 were so reliable I purchased a 3rd. I used to average 50k/year mileage.
I bought this car with 50k and it now has 218k miles. The engine currently uses less than 1/4th quart of oil in 3k miles and runs perfectly. I did have to replace the Electronic Control Module at 210k ($250). That has been my most expensive repair except for tires. I have changed plugs / wires once. I have changed front brake pads twice. Rear pads still original. Exhaust still original. Engine and Transmission still original. All fluids stay good between oil changes.
I'd buy another but a substantial redesign with an engine that I don't like. I'll change my next vehicle to something else.
First Cougar (1988) I sold with 180k and was still running good. Second Cougar (1994) I sold with 204k and was running good. Third I still have with 218k.
Excellent reliability and dependability. I even drove it from Nebraska to Arizona last week (2400 miles in 6 days), and back, and I trused it enough to take the scenic route over the Rocky Mountains. Zero Problems. Not bad for a 218k car.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 120 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
21 YEARS OLD - Still Runs Like New Out Of Factory,
August 26, 2015
By XR7 Lover
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:111263
What's great about this vehicle?:Car never dies - Engine very strong to this day
What's not so great about this vehicle?:You might get tempted to push - milage DOWN
ReviewOriginationID:aa0ca7852bfd4ae7ada535a77fc97bf9
Make:Mercury
Model:Cougar
Vehicle ID:9483
"I originally purchased my 1994 XR7 in 2006 with 84K miles on it -> Intent was originally to buy a car that I knew would last me for at least 3 yrs (after a drunk driver totaled my then 2004 Audi A6 and owing $4K after insurance paid total value to get out of loan) - Well 9 YEARS later, I still own it and love driving it. Suspension on car is excellent along with handling around curves or coming off exits. Interior front dash, all side doors, seats(other than driver), & headliner are literally like new out of showroom to this day. With windows up, cannot here outside noise from tires, etc., unless large truck or motorcycle goes by. Also own a newer Lexus ES350 & the XR7 is just as quiet when driving. XR7 was ahead of it's time -> was 1st true 5 seat family sports car (not including 60's & 70's muscle cars). I say this, because it has options that my Lexus even does not have -> for instance, if bad accident & car rolls over, gas automatically shuts off so car will not ignite and burst into flames -> 2nd unusual feature (that my Lexus doesn't have) is that if you leave on interior lights, radio, or anything, the car automatically shuts off electrical power within 1 hr from battery so battery will not go dead. Has timed auto headlight shutoff. Also has a feature that you definitely want in a older vehicle -> let's say you lock keys in car or ignition (which I am guilty of more than once, now what do you do, call AAA - NO, car has a numeral security code entry to punch in (above drivers side door handle) and then you can unlock 1 or both doors, even trunk -> 2nd scenario, you can place all your keys, valuables you don't want chance of being stolen in trunk if they are to heavy and lock car by security code on door. Later open with code when needed afterwards. Plus more options.
I have as previously have mentioned owned car for 9 yrs now, in that,I had not had a MAJOR repair need in vehicle other than regular maintenance, tires, battery, etc.
I have one that has an imitation convertible roof -> sets car apart from any car on road. When I park it alongside any even all new cars with the rounded bodies that almost all look the same, the XR7 stands out with ALOT of CHARACTER that the auto industry left behind. Too bad.
I have the V8 in car and on highway only, I get more than respectaful mileage for an older V8 (4.6L) -> 25 - 27 MPG. Real decent for a V8 sports car. City - highway not as good 18 - 20 MPG.
Long story short - If you are thinking about and lucky enough to find an older XR7, I am telling you cannot go wrong for the money. These cars were so well built that they last and last and last."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location RI
Year 1994