Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar

Average Customer Rating:
8.354 out of 10
8.4
 out of 
10
144 of 158(91%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Review 81 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1996 Cougar,
January 17, 2008
By Mattie
from Northern California
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is the best car I've ever owned. I bought it when it was 5 years old, and have been driving it ever since. I've always felt safe in this car while driving my children around. I've had to replace a few hoses and belts along with general maintenance, but other than that it's been very reliable. The best part though is the powerful engine. I've always been able to accelerate quickly when necessary. Overall, it's been a great car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 82 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I own my 1996 Cougar,
November 26, 2011
By Mary
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:85700
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy and fun to drive.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Two doors ,low gas mileage.
ReviewOriginationID:c3f911a5-4965-43f5-a3a5-4e00ac0de326
"My Cougar is 16 years old now. I have had no trouble with it except normal wear and tear. Tires,brakes,battery,belts. I love this car. If they still made the oougar I would buy another one for sure.It's a very dependable and comfortable car. I will drive this car until it won't go no more.I am so happy with this car.So well made and solid. I really got lucky when I got this car.Not a big fan of 2-doors, but that's my only complaint. Love my car!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MA
Year 1996
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
its ok,
March 30, 2010
By N/A
from Des Moines, IA
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"i bought this car 2 years ago and every other week there is something wrong with it however when it does run it RUNS PERFECT, but thats when it decides to run good. i have kept up on all the maitnance. i have owned 2 and the first 1 was the exact same it had a mind of its own. this car was the most comfortible one except for the back seat-there is NO room for the passengers. however it being rear wheel drive-it was fun as heck in the snow, if your careful."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 84 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1995 XR-7 Great Driver,
July 13, 2009
By Cougar Driver
from Sumner, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Thione has the V-6 engine, with trac-control, and anti-lock breaking. Great car, since owning it new, I 've only had to put on brakes and tires. The AC needed recarging every 3 years. The V-6 has been a good worhorse. Not much acceleration, but don't miss it now that gas has gone up. It gets 23 MPG. Never had a head gasket issue like the 94's. Can't understand why this didn't continue selling for Ford. Good car, has a luxury feel to it, without the price tag!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Ride at a low Price!,
January 14, 2012
By Baybee27
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:117000
Reason for Sale:Doors wouldnt shut anymore..
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, Great Value, Even at High Miliage...
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Nothing special to look at, Door problems
ReviewOriginationID:d3354be4-cda1-4a8b-987b-672574e8a33d
"I have owned the kitty cat! I really really enjoyed this car and feel as if I got every penny worth. The engine and trans never failed or gave me a problem! It probably would have ran forever.. I sold it at almost 200,000 miles because the doors just would not shut anymore. I hear this is a common problem with the cougar. While in my care, I replaced a water pump, alternator, and brakes. It always drove smoothly.. This car will last past 200,000 easily if maintained!"
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location MI
Year 1996
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love this car,
May 28, 2008
By Boss
from Tulsa, Ok
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"It is the best car I have ever had. We have had only one big problem with the vehicle and it is the transmission doesn't last long in them. But they will still run for a very long time with the tranny acting up. We have been driving with it acting up for about 3 years and is still getting us from point A to point B. Don't get a v-6 the heads weren't made wide enough and the gaskets blow out after 100000 miles. over all though it is a car that we will keep no matter how old it is."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 87 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Its done its work,
December 27, 2008
By pranxstir27
from Celina,OH
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have a 1996 cougar xr-7 V6. It now has 215,000 miles on it and it just blowed the head. My aunt bought it brand new and took care of it and always put lucas in it.I've had it 6 years and I've had to replace both front ball joints. They both had snapped off on me at different times while driving. I got new brakes,tires and alignments and oil changes(normal wear and tear stuff).The trim off the back side window came off. The rubber sealing around the doors are falling off now too."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great vehicle to own,
December 9, 2011
By ZC
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:144000
What's great about this vehicle?:comfortable ride, great mpg, excellent AC,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Acceleration
ReviewOriginationID:7cd5de3c-7bf8-4e9c-a6c7-74a132c153b4
"Bought the car in 2010 for a steal of 1700 with a blue book value of 3700 at the time. Regularly maintanenced since bought and have had no major mechanical problems. Great gas mileage on the highway and city (when driven right). The v6 doesnt pump out to much power but has enough torque to do burnouts and get sideways. All together i plan on driving it until it falls to pieces(literally). I would suggest this car to just about anyone who doesn't mind a coupe, it has been nothing but good to me!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1997
Review 89 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Solid,
January 26, 2008
By c240
from Orlando, FL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This is a nice blend of luxury with performance. The V8 is strong and lasts forever. The interior styling is nice and the car is still beautiful looking. Runs strong and has few major problems associated with it. The prime problem with this model is the plastic intake manifold that Ford decided to use. It eventually cracks and was recalled by Ford with a higher quality non-plastic replacement. The repair will run around $1000 if Ford won't do it. Same engine as the same year Mustang. Good horsepower."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 90 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great cars,
June 21, 2009
By Catlover
from So. Calif
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Have owned 2 cougars: 1985 XR7 with the 4 cyc turbo for 10 years and 164K miles. Then the 1995 XR7 V8 4.6L engine. The 1985 overheated a lot but loved the car. Replaced the radiator with a larger one and that helped but didn't solve the problem. The 1995 has 216K miles now and I've replaced the transmission, cat converter, and am now looking at replacing multiple items. Has lots of spunk under the hood. I've definitely got my money's worth from this car. Why Ford stopped making them I'll never understand."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Best Car Purchase Ever Made!,
July 26, 2008
By Bonez
from Boca Raton, FL
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I sold my first car only to stumble upon my 1995 Cougar XR-7. I must say for a big car it can take turns with the best of em'. I bought mine with 58,000 and now have 65,000 on it and that number will sure exceed 100,000. Mechanically sound in every aspect, even though it was neglected by the previous owner. I spent around $300 on repairs and $300 on some new rubber. I have no regrets, just wish they made Cougars in a manual shift model... that would be some tire incinerating fun!!! Best car Ford ever made."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Love the big cars,
August 5, 2009
By hickchick
from Victoria, TX
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this car used when it was 4 yrs old. It was the last year they made this big of car. I like the spaciousness and can't stand to feel cramped like in the smaller cars. It has held up for me well and I only had one problem with it. The drivers side door was always hanging up. Other than that it got decent gas mileage and drove like a dream. Comfort was it's most important attribute. Now it's gone to "Cash for clunkers" because I can afford a new car is the only reason, otherwise I would have kept it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 93 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Absolute Best car ever!,
June 26, 2008
By Cat woman
from Atlanta
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Certainly wish Ford still made them, for I would certainly buy another! Had mine for 14 years, and over $220,000 miles! Paint has held up, w/NO rust. Never been wrecked. Best handling, suspension on any vehicle I've ever driven. Bought a Lincoln LS a couple years ago, and love it, as I just didn't want to keep putting miles on the Cougar. However, I've kept it to drive the dog around on weekends. She loves it! V-8 power sounds like the muscle cars of the '60's and boy can it haul! Great gas mileage. Highly recommend!"
Review 94 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Cougar, my Cougar,
September 16, 2009
By Karigan
from Michigan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car in 2004 for $3000 with 80K on it. It now has 155K and still is great. I have the V6 3.8L model with all the bells and whistles. I did have to replace the breaks, ball joints and I have to keep shimming the drivers side door because it gets heavy on the hinges. It drives OKAY in the snow, with some slipping and sliding (rear-wheel). I loved this car and the only reason why I'm giving it up is because I found a car at an offer I can't refuse. Unfortunetly, it's a Oldsmobile and not a Ford, I have always had good luck with them."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 95 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
89,000 miles,
June 19, 2009
By blkcat
from pasadena ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I own a 1994 4.6 v8 it has 89,000 miles on it, this is a great car gets 21mpg on highway air still blows cold car has never had a single problem, 1 brake job and 2 sets of tires thats all by far the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned v8 power is good but car is geared high for gas milage great handeling for a big car very comortable. large doors make it a lil hard to get out of car in tight parking not bad for a 15 year old car my father has a 97 t-bird with same engine and it has 220k miles and only has needed a radiator and alternator thats it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
well worth the headaches,
December 7, 2011
By the guy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:153000
What's great about this vehicle?:money saver if driven right
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not a race winner , cant do donuts in the snow
ReviewOriginationID:7abbfe21-9aea-4108-a1cf-54bbe15a5019
"i got lucky with a one owner car ,not always the way to go,but worth it in the long run. 4.6 great motor with its problems but nothing serious unless caused buy an idiot driver. bought for $600 put $1000 in it worth of upper control arms, fixed oil leak , control arm bushings , sway bar links and bushings. now car rides perfect no noises, the V8 is heavy on the front end, well worth a grand.paid $1600 for a $3400 kbb good rated value. interior alot of plastic and no storage or cup holding comfort. not expensive to own fun ride and no car payment . YEAH"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 1996
Review 97 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
111,100 aprox.,
October 14, 2011
By Mario
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:111100
What's great about this vehicle?:Fully independent suspension,good power,comfort.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Shifts to OD to fast.
ReviewOriginationID:f869200a-657c-4147-bf17-5f5dc40bf80c
"I have the anniversary edition Cougar XR-7 with the SOHC 4.6 V-8 and the 3 speed OD=4 transmission.I average 24mpg daily driving a mix of hilly roads and highways.I love this car it never lets me down starts without fail,hot, cold,snow,rain night or day.Corners excellent due to the rear independent suspension a BIG .Mine has the am/fm cassette,which is outdated,nothing to complain about cause it sounds AWESOME,really good stock stereo system.I would rate this car on a scale of 1 through 10 a 9.I'm 38yrs old and this is by far one of the most dependable and funnest car i'v yet to own."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 1997
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 98 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Vehicle They made!,
January 2, 2012
By PAPPY
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:230000
What's great about this vehicle?:I will drive it till the doors fall off
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Yep your right No cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:00b60ccb-d7d2-4892-a3f5-084b0463aa96
"I have owned many many cars this car has Never failed me one time I have 200000 Plus miles and runs like a new one Never uses any oil (change faithfully every 3,000 miles..thats the key to running it Forever) and getting about 25/28 miles to gal.I have only replaced brakes/drums/tires.Everyone that has rode in it says Wow how many miles you have on this thing they are shocked at the power it has and the smooth riding it's a V-8/4.6 little rust inside the bottom of the doors otherwise looks Great I also have a 2011 Chrysler 300 and My Old Couger will blow it's doors Off.Best car ever made !!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 1996
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 99 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Wish they still made em....,
November 21, 2007
By BjrCougar
from Tulsa OK
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this is my FIFTH Cougar since 1984 and my second 1996 never a major issue with any of the Cougar's through the years... batteries, tires, and oil changes seem to be all I've done. I just wish that Ford / Mercury would bring back a retro of the Cougar and T-bird for all of us who've been driving these through the years like they've done with the Mustang. Chevy still makes the Monte Carlo...... Bring back the Cougar! I have 105,000 miles on this one and it's purring like a top no body issues, no paint issues.....leather is like brand new and car sits in the heat of the parking lot at work daily."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 100 for 1989 - 1997 Mercury Cougar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Underestimated,
November 18, 2007
By marty
from Kansas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this 1994 Couger new and have had it for 13 years and 141,000 miles. It is in excellent condition. The car has been very reliable and excellent to me. It is still like a new car. It has the original exhaust with no rust. I have had no problems with the V8 4.6 engine except for the mass air flow sensor that cost $250.00 to repair ( compare that to the cost of repairing a VOLVO or BMW). The highway mileage has been very good at 27 mpg and sometimes better. Very economical car to drive easy to maintain. The brakes could have been better. I will probably drive it for another 100,000 miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more