Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kelley Blue Book.

1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Average Customer Rating:
8.463 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
190 of 218(87%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Review 1 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Stout Performer,
October 14, 2008
By S Class Pilot
from Orlando, FL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Most people will never experience the true joy associated with owning an S-class from Mercedes. My wife and I purchased our S-Class off of a one owner lease and we have never been happier. The car not only looks the part, but it is loaded with all types of creature comforts. You might assume that with all of these systems working together on a vehicle, that they might fail causing you headaches- but ours has been perfect. Not only does the car pamper you, but with a small push down on your right foot, the car transforms into a very capable sports car. Even with its added heft, she rockets straight and true- the brakes impress just as easily. But, the thing that impresses me the most is the safety of our S-Class. She is engineered from the ground up to be one of the safest cars ever built. It begins with an outstanding design, coupled with thicker steel, more safety features and out of the box thinking to create one truly safe car. One drive and it will make you a believer-"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Smoothest Yet,
February 21, 2008
By S500 Daily Driver
from NW Washington State
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned over forty cars in the last 20 years, both luxury street and race. My 2002 S500 Sport is like a combination of the two. Large, comfortable, quiet and a solid performer. Not of the S55 caliber for acceleration and braking, but still the smoothest 5L motor out there for regular street use. The fit and finish on this car is unsurpassed.
Even in heavy rain and the snow the ESP works great. About the only thing I don't like about this car is the throttle control. It is fly-by-wire and can give you some lag time in response if you want to romp on it based on how you were driving at the time.
The only issue I have had in the last three years is the battery draining after a few days if not driven. The problem was the integrated cell phone charger in the arm rest. Problem cured.
My choice was the Brilliant Silver exterior over Charcoal interior with the walnut accents. 19" 3 piece wheels with 275's in the rear and 245's up front handles great even when the suspension is set on soft ride.
My last vehicle just prior to this was the Lincoln Navigator, which when everything is working, was great to drive. Was in the shop every month for suspension problems, replaced the super noisy high amp drawing air compressor, shocks, wiring harness and the right head on the engine. DON'T BUY A LINCOLN.
It's a shame that their KBB values drop like a rock though. Buying one a year or two in though don't hurt so bad."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Excellent Auto,
September 8, 2008
By DanaT
from Goergia
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought used. Drives perfect, 26 mpg on hwy, 19 in town, paid 25% of a new one. Not as much upkeep (almost none except reg maintenance) than a BMW."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2002 S55 review,
November 25, 2007
By dvc
from Calif.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"the 2002 S55 rides nicely, is very fast, but it unfortunately breaks all of the time....just had a problem with the trunk locking mechanism cost $800 to fix, 2 months before the engine mounts failed $1780, various electrical problems/on going, I say set aside about $4500 a year for stuff that breaks plus normal maintenance on top of that and you will be fine"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
S55 Owns the road,
July 13, 2007
By Davie
from Charlotte, NC
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"After owning 5 BMW's with the most recent a 740IL, I purchased a used 2003 S55 three weeks ago. The car is a combination of amazing power and comfort in a 4-door big sedan. Styling is sleek and impressive with the body farings and flares to give the S55 a different look from its S500 cousin. When you start the car you can hear the rumble calling your attention to it’s nearly 500hp under the hood. You soon learn acceleration is a snap, virtually effortless at any speed. Mercedes Benz is known more for luxury styling, comfort and reliability (repair costs of BMW’s is the reason I sought a Benz). Even though this is more a trait of its S500 cousin it is still obvious in the S55, a little disappointing for a sports sedan. Although handling is good at lower speeds the BMW is still the ultimate driving machine in this department. I'm told the S55 was more so designed for the open road of the autobahn where higher speeds are typical. I soon found this is where the S55 comes into its own. Around 75mph the car comes alive with plenty of horsepower to reach well over 135mph in just a few seconds and handling just gets better as speed increases. I would say at these speeds handling is very good, as good or better than BMW's 7 series as well as other larger sedans I have driven. Thanks to AMG’s supercharger the S55 has substantial horsepower, certainly more than it needs. It is very fast off the line and will own the road when it comes to acceleration at any speed. I'm an airplane owner and have experienced g-loads (2-3) when fooling around. The S55 is the only “stock” car where I have experienced noticeable g-forces (-2) during acceleration from a dead stop. When it comes to raw power and high speed the S55 is untouchable and will rival many muscle or 2-seater performance cars with little effort. Despite the 500hp, you can experience reasonable economy if you can lay off the gas. I see 17 around town and 22 on the highway (at 80mph, less at slower speeds - ??). This is not much different than BMW's 740 with nearly half the horsepower. The S55 - an impressive machine."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Truly the sweetest ride in the world,
November 2, 2011
By Businessman3
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:133000
What's great about this vehicle?:smoothest ride, solid, classic looks
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders........ What do you expect?!
ReviewOriginationID:9c97ce71-10c8-4555-9b64-ed4bde1d5fe4
"This was a 7 year old car when I bought it, and it is running just as well 13 years later. Doesn't have the amenities of newer cars (cup holders, navigation, side air bags, etc.)but it runs like no other. Still as tight a car as I've ever been in. THIS is how a car should be built!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MD
Year 1991
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Great when it works,
May 26, 2010
By BfromMass
from Boston,Mass
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought a 2005 S600 pre certified with only 17,000 miles. Car looked great, rode even better, but then after 3 months car started having numerous electical issues. First message that gas cap is open, but it wasn't. The car wouldn't recognize the key. The ESP, ABC or other warnings would come up on he screen and then disapear. Tire sensor went out, ABC suspension went out 4 times once out of state. All fixes under warrenty until last month. Lots of sorries from the dealer, car is finicky, you bought luxury not reliability, cars are better since leaving chrysler excuses. Service is unreasonably expensive. Charges $176 to change the air filter (labor $150). Change spark plugs $1,600. Change two small light bulbs (not headlights) $56. So this is not the car for someone who can't deal with the car being in the shop alot or can't afford all of the extra costs. It's alot of fun to ride but a lot of work to own. You do get to experiance a lot of different loner cars and you do get the free water, apple and car wash. I've scratched my Mercedese itch and will probably not go back."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
More class than I need,
February 16, 2009
By Frosty
from Kansas City
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought this car used in August 2008. I totalled my G35 and needed to get a car. Quite honestly, in retrospect, I regret getting this car. It definitely has all the creature comforts that Benz owners rave about, but those comforts come at a price. Not long after buying the car, the Airmatic light came on and the car started lowering to the ground until the bumpers were almost touching the pavement. One of the "comforts" that I never used was the ability to raise and lower the vehicle. Even though this amenity was not used by me, I still had to repair it ($1,000). Now I have another $1,800 - $2,000 repair job waiting to fix the rattling from the catalytic converter. I will be selling the beast ASAP. One more thing....it's a land yacht. Parking takes forethought and sometimes, imagination. Those of you that are Benz diehards can have it. I appreciate the Benz reputation and the dedication to quality....I just simply can't afford when all that quality breaks down."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
MB's great lives on in S430,
January 27, 2008
By elixir
from Seattle, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Let's face it, Mercedes-Benz creates some fine variants, but the S-class (or the big Benz's) epitomize what has made Mercedes-Benz the legend that it is. I have a few high-end cars and added a S430 to use on a daily basis. In the year that I've had it, I have never had a problem of any type. It is a beautiful car to drive ... Or even to look at. There is no other luxury car that I know of that combines style, luxury, technology, legend and a sense of magic like a big Benz can. Do your homework on the cars. Be an educated buyer. A well maintained S430 could answer your dream. I will admit the S500 has a little more punch, but .. really, these are luxury sedans. If I want that I'll drive my Porsche! Mine, of course is black on black. IMO, it's the only color combo that fits. Good luck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
December 16, 2007
By George
from San Francisco
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"Hands down the worst car i ever owned. Completely unreliable. I'm 60 years old and this car has been into the shop more than all the other cars I've owned in my life - combined.
Examples: keys fail to open doors, start ignition, keyless go stops working, drive down freeway and stops dead. That's just the tip of the iceberg.
Unless you really like making friends with the service department, avoid mercedes"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
OUTSTANDING,
July 24, 2007
By RES
from NORTHERN VIRGINIA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"BEST CAR EVER BUILT. GET 27 MPG ON TRIPS. PLENTY OF POWER. RIDE IS GREAT! BOUGHT IT NEW SEVEN YEARS AGO."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very satisfied,
July 15, 2010
By MA Jack
from Gloucester MA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I read about a fair number of problems and unhappy owners, but I bought my S500 with 55K miles m 3 yrs. old. NO problems, now 5 years old and 80K miles. I did purchase an extended warranty just in case!
Only complaint, needed to fix small rust spots at the bottom of the front right door."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great, luxurious vehicle,
December 1, 2009
By winstar
from San Francisco, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car new in late 2005 and have now had it for 4 years. It's the longest I've ever kept a vehicle! The drive is quiet and smooth, the controls are easily accessible. Love the distronics.. I swear the car could drive itself. It keeps you a preprogrammed distance away from the vehicle in front of you. If it slows down, you slow down. If someone cuts in, it adjusts your speed. The seats are super comfortable. and mine has the massage feature. All in all, the best vehicle I've ever purchased."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Value, Great Styling,
August 4, 2009
By Big Blue Lefty
from Louisville, KY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've owned Mercedes and Cadillacs over the last 20 years and this is the best automobile I've ever owned. The 4.3 litre V-8 is one of the best engines MB has ever built. It is a shame that they are not putting them in the new S-Class. My car is MB Certified and there have been 2 minor issues over the last 2 years that I've owned the vehicle. So many electronics on this car. It is a good looking car for the value..."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Nice but costly.,
June 20, 2008
By Mr.Clean
from Las Vegas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this 3 yr. 2001 S430 lease return with 45000 miles, and good thing i bought the extended warranty. I replaced the strut seals, leaking caused vehicle to lower itself and stay there, changed ball joint, bushings and center link and windshield washer pump. Other than alot of gas, the vehicle rides smooth and commands looks due to chromed rims with 20's. Bose system is excellent, power is good at take off and fast acceleration on lane change and highway driving."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
October 24, 2007
By Westtexas22
from Colorado
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've owned this car since purchashing it new and don't plan to get rid of it anytime soon. It is excellent and I can recommend it to anyone looking for the ultimate in luxury and handling. It recently saved my life with its quick, steady, stable steering system. From inside the car, I could hardly tell that I executed a huge swerve to avoid road debris. Buy one of these if you can find it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
No nonsense,
August 9, 2007
By MPM77
from Philadelphia
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Pros: This car makes you forget how bad other drivers have it (until you need to drive someone else's car)! Extremely quiet cabin, very comfortable seats, stylish and loads of highway power make this car a dream to drive. Throw in the supurb handling (extremely stable around turns - very little sway) and you can have a very fun drive to even the most mundane places. Despite the controversy, the COMAND system, once learned, is very intuitive and is a dream to use for hands free phone use.
Cons: Some interior materials are very cheap (plastic seat bottom, COMAND control knob, etc.). Navigation is terrible compared to competition.
2001 S500"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
private jet on the road!!,
August 6, 2007
By steven
from san diego, ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this car is the most comfortable powerful stylish luxury sedan i have ever owned i am 110% satisfied with this car and i would say my 2000 s500 is better than 80% of brand new model cars today."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Still Feels New,
January 29, 2010
By sbk
from San Diego, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I purchased my 2000 S-500 new in 1999 and I'm still driving it at 159,000 miles. The car has been great. I swear it feels exactly as it did when I drove it home from the dealer. Key has been finding a good honest mechanic away from the dealer. Thus far I've replaced air shocks twice, front ball joints, thrust arms and motor mounts. Total repair costs after warranty in 11 years has been under $8,000. Engine feels and sounds the same as new, though I don't really know if I'm in for a major repair soon. Sure doesn't feel like it. I plan to drive it 250,000 miles or more. Checking KKB just out of curiosity to see current value."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1980 - 1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Great low cost luxury car,
January 22, 2010
By Pwrofjoe
from California
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this car 2 years ago. I have had problems with the car getting stuck in Park, had the transmission rebuilt by MBZ dealership ($3100), and the Traction Control sensor has gone out on me. Other than that, the car rides like a leather couch and bose theater sound system on wheels. Very comfortable. The 4.3L engine is not powerful enough for a 2 ton car. You should at least get the 5.0L. If you want luxury at $22k, then this car is a great choice. God forbid the airmatic goes out on you... $1100 minimum."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.