Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kelley Blue Book.

1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E

Average Customer Rating:
9.113 out of 10
9.1
 out of 
10
78 of 80(98%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Review 21 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best. Car. Ever.,
July 5, 2009
By Revwr
from Texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This car rocks. Seventeen years and it's had the following parts replaced; tires, battery and a water pump. It was a bit pricey new, but over the long-term, cost per mile and cost per year are at ridiculously low amounts.
Performance is decent, ride is comfy, and handling is decent for a sedan. The one area that could benefit from a change is the low ceiling when equipped with sunroof. My hair touches the roof unless I recline the seat a bit."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound Vehicle.,
June 13, 2009
By GQ
from Piscataway, NJ
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this vehicle for my wife and i have been droving it more than she. It's because of the comfort in the ride & permformance.
I definitely will recommend this vehicle to other customer interested in a mercedes benz.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
April 6, 2009
By alig189
from Palos Verdes, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"weve owned this car since it was new in 88. this car is older than my kids! weve had many BMW's and mercedes over the 21 year span since buying this car, but this is the only one out of all of them that has stayed. this really is an amazing car, it outlasted our 95, and 04 s classes and required WAY less cash to repair, and it didnt need reparing that often. this really is a piece of history and i reccomend buying one before the skyrocket in value."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car,
March 2, 2009
By James
from Marion IN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is a great Car. The ride is very comfortable. Not so great on gas mileage around town. In my opinion this car is build for the highway. I love the way it drives and the fact that hardly needs any maintenance. Worth every penny.
James
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 25 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
December 5, 2008
By Dman
from Middleton, ID
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"so i have a 1992 Mercedes Benz 300E 4matic,I LOVE this car for many reasons but the most import one of all SAFETY to make a very long story short my wife wrecked the car into a wall at 105mph she walked away with a small mark on her hip from the seatbelt, ya very safe, when it did drive it handled very well (4matic a big plus) smooth and quite.Its sitting in my garage and one day will be fixed."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
my expensive, classy tank,
November 25, 2008
By harmonyboo
from Signal Hill, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I currently drive a 1989 300E and i can proudly say my "old" car is so much better than most of my friends newer Japanese/domestic cars. Not only does my 300E look better, but take a ride with me and it's evident you're riding in a classy tank. My Odometer stopped working at 180,547, i'm guessing it has around 205k miles on it now. It's still smooth as silk. My interior is one of the best out there! No kidding! People can't believe the interior of an almost 20 year old car can look like mine. It's truly immaculate!!
So why am i looking to get a newer car next year?
Well for 1. a luxury car is a luxury car forever. Period. Repairs are not cheap on luxury vehicles. I bought the car almost 4 years ago for $2400 and recently took it to an ind shop where my father used to work (German car specialized only) and the repairs for my AC would run $1800. WHAT?! I think not. My 300 also burns oil, but it's minimal, especially considering the age of the car and the fact that it's still running on all original parts! (with the exception of my Behr radiator).
If my AC wouldn't cost what the car is currently worth to fix, i'd totally get another 2-3 years out of it. Cars aren't built like this anymore! My father has an 1986 420 SEL with 353,000! and it's still going! LOVE IT!
I would not recommend this car to my friends only because none of them would know how to take care of it or be able to afford the maintenance. The front seats are also incredibly uncomfortable, just awful for sitting in traffic or long commutes. No cup holders also makes life a little difficult at times. Gas mileage is impressively.....poor.
But with some money and a good mechanic, these classy tanks will run for ever!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very Safe Car,
November 13, 2008
By BB
from Los Angeles
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Better than most cars on the road. Very safe
& stable on the road. Excellent Brakes. Equal weight distribution back & front. The only problem with this car is the Wiring harness to the engine, which becomes very
brittle with heat of engine. Can be very expensive to replace. Also keep an eye on the temperature, as the water level drops
It can easily Overheat, which can be Very Expensive. Good car for Long trips rather than short city driving, stop & go. Will Easy
last for Over 300000 miles if taken care.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
solid vehicle,
November 5, 2008
By glinkz
from albany ny
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"its a great car the styling is a bit on the older side, but nonetheless is still a classic early 90s euro box style car they will run forever with proper care and they are decent on gas yet still has enough power"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great car,
October 10, 2008
By biggmike
from vero beach.fl
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i love this car"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
wonderful car,
September 14, 2008
By m
from cary, nc
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I inherited this car from my mother who bought it used in '93 w/ 40k miles and gave it to me when she started having some issues w/ it in 2005 170k miles. The a/c had to be changed and still doesn't work well. The head gasket is prone to failing on the '91 300e and she had to have it replaced twice; once by an independant (big mistake) an then by merecedes who actually did it cheaper. The car is decently powered and like most german lux sedans silky smooth. The car still looks handsome for it's age, and I believe mercedes puts more paint (or at least used to) on their cars than anyone else except maybe rolls. The male side of my family are genuine bmw fans; however, I have to thank my generous mom for such a nice sedan. thanks Mom."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
rides like a dream,
August 27, 2008
By jay
from Palm Springs, Ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had this car for about 7 years and it rides like a dream. It is heavier than it looks and sails on the freeway. I you can find one in good condition. Buy it! It will take you were ever you want to go...regular maintenace is a must, but....it's worth the time and money. Better than the newer Benz'."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
July 13, 2008
By tlc
from boston, ma
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I still have my 300 E I bought it last august for $950, when i bought it the odomotor was broken at 212,000 and it has quite the oil leak, I average about 1 quart a week. Originally I thought it was going to be bad in the snow I drive about 100 mi. a week just to commute for chid care reasons, and local traveling as well. Back to the snow I bought 2 snow tires for 200 bucks, and the car did great. I drive slow also. Since I bought it I found a much cheaper mechanic, and also you might have to be good at calling junkyards for parts.. as this will save you a fortune in repairs.
Other than the water pump, oil pan and brakes I had to repair:
the muffler ( had it welded back on ) $100
Wheel bearings ( new with installaiton $50)
Gas gauge is now fixed my mechanic fixed for free, said it was a short in the wire, as i also lost use of the water, oil gauge at the same time.
The odometor is still broken 212,000 but i have to have put at least 15k or 20k in the past year and the odometer was broken when i bought it so im guessing its got at least 240-250,000 mi maybe more.
The alternator also went, it cost $85 for a used one from a junk yard and $50 to install it.
The fan also broke and it was over heating i have not replaced yet, $50 for used fan from junkyard, but my mechanic used the fans from the ac, which is not working, since the relay switch or something broke and the motor for the fan / ac/ heat wont work, but i do have heat when driving on highway just not much.
Anyway I think once you figure out a good mechanic and call junk yards for expensive parts. Overall the car is very reliable. For such an old car. Gets pretty good gas, although I dont have an odomotor.
I am buying 95 c series now since i wanted something a bit newer. But the dealor only wanted to give me 300 bucks for my car, so i am just going to keep it and I might sell it for 1000k at somepoint in the future, I m not sure if I need a back up for the winter.
I am a total addict for these cars now they are amazingly, comfortable, stylish, and economical. I feel safe driving it and it always starts on cold days, this car will prob last forever, if i continue to fix it.
My friends told me to buy a toyota but I am so impressed with the milege on my 300 E I cant help but to buy another mercedes, they last longer than honda or toyota. And if u have a good mechanic your are all set."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Goodbye old friend,
July 3, 2008
By Bob
from Houston, Tx
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned this car for over twenty years; most of my driving life. My 300E has 350,000 miles on it and is still going strong. I have been waiting for it to die for five years and it just won't do it. Today I finally bought a E430 because I got tired of waiting for the 300E to die. I'll bet it still has another 100k in it. A Mercedes is expensive? Heck, a Mercedes is cheap! What other car is good for 350,000+?"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
dream car,
June 3, 2008
By skip
from newtown ct
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"reliable-good on fuel,great driver/road car"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 35 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One of the better Merceds I have owned.,
May 23, 2008
By Bob
from Graham, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The car is very comfortable for road trips as well as a daily driver. Excellent car all the way around."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Vehicle,
April 29, 2008
By Bob
from Oceanside, CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Keep an eye on the rear main seal. They start going bad after 200,000"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Getting started,
March 26, 2008
By ll
from Alberta
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"My second MB though the brand runs in the family.
Got a Japan import with 85000K on the odometer. Have been trying it and geting to know it and so far so good.
My first impresion is that it is an impresive, refined ride, and better no new subcompact get in front because tha car really feels and drives as a smooth tank! My kids complain the back seat is not very confortable thus the lower rating here!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
300e,
February 25, 2008
By jack
from Fort Myers, Fl.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"The 300e is acclaimed to be one mecedes best overall achievement comfort, durability, economy and performance to date. I am constantly comparing my standard 92' features to todays car and the are just now catching up."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Head Turner! Owned for 10 years & Love it,
January 22, 2008
By NeyNey
from Wichita, KS
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This vehicle is extremely reliable and the styling in second to none. It is also very comfortable and roomy. If you are looking for a safe vehicle you can't find anything out there for the money."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 1987 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Car Ever,
January 22, 2008
By Coco
from Atlanta, GA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This car has style, comfort and reliability. Once you have driven a Mercedes, you fall in love with the way it handles the road."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.