Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D

Average Customer Rating:
9.625 out of 10
9.6
 out of 
10
15 of 16(94%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Review 1 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
bullet proof,
December 23, 2013
By rick
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:259999
What's great about this vehicle?:super reliable and solid
What's not so great about this vehicle?:shoulder type harness can be annoying
ReviewOriginationID:31fd6f86fc654cc19a84622192c66f49
Make:Mercedes-Benz
Model:300D
Vehicle ID:10791
"This thing goes and goes and goes. Reliable brakes. Mechanics are in awe of it.
Idiot lights gradually dying. Does not seem to matter,
Safe."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 1993
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best car ever,
August 31, 2012
By lmc
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:solid, holds the road, classy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:little slow take off, little engine noise
ReviewOriginationID:c4b6bfe3966c4e70a1126fb09d63ea1f
"Purchased this 1992 turbo diesel Mercedes new. It still looks like a million dollars! It is the best driving car on the road. You cannot beat it. It is still a delight to drive. It has features that many of today's cars can't touch. Solid as a rock. Amazing car to be 20 years old."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 1992
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Fabulous,
February 1, 2012
By Billy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:210000
ReviewOriginationID:0073d1da-77b8-4372-8c69-d57eb9563ce9
"This car is a diamond. Have it checked out every so often, get the oil changed and you'll never have an issue. I have had a few minor problems over the years (minor electrical and mechanical engine mounts, etc.,) but it truly runs like a top. A marvel of German engineering."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MD
Year 1993
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"they sure dont make things like they use to",
October 19, 2011
By mb300d4me
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:300000
What's great about this vehicle?:close to perfect as a car could get
What's not so great about this vehicle?:My wife complains if i dont let her drive it
ReviewOriginationID:37d7ddee-f628-4d5b-892a-f90f61f537c8
"I have owned over 15 vehicles (half purchased new) and by far the 92 300D 2.5 turbo diesel is the MOST well designed car I have ever had the experience to drive. People say these are "expensive to repair." My response is always "well why did you take it to the dealer and not a private shop, or not open the repair guide." I have had the car for about a year now and have spent less than $100 in repairs/routine maintenance. Brake pads, full synthetic oil change, all filters, reran all vacuum hoses. Surprisingly I was able to change all of these parts with the "Mercedes emergency roadside kit" that has 2 screw drivers, 3 wrenches and the jack that came with the car. I couldn't even change my 88 gmc jimmy's brakes with out a 20 dollar tool. The 300d is amazing, handles great in emergencies, comfortable, you feel genuinely connected to the road with out feeling every bump in it. Mine was "slow" when I bought it, i spent 5 minutes re-adjusting the throttle-shift linkage cable (no tools needed) and caused the car to no longer shift early (common reason for the no power complaint.) I get about 33 mpg and I drive it hard. Stock sound system is awesome too. I have the MBtextile interior and its in fantastic condition! Has not faded or cracked in its 20 years. My next car will be another 300d. I know if i got another car every day would be a fight between my wife and I over who got to drive the Benz. I don't even mind rush hour traffic any more, it's like taking my favorite recliner and letting me relax in it on my way to and from work."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1992
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bulletproof car!,
August 31, 2011
By Flaneur
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:330000
What's great about this vehicle?:Super efficient, great ride.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Underpowered, repairs are expensive.
"I am just turning 330,000 mi and this car is going strong. I have only had 2 significant repairs. Rebuilt the transmission 20,000 mi ago (didn't start to fail until 310,000 miles!). The timing chain failed at 290,000 which necessitated rebuilding the top half of the engine and cost $3,500 but turned out to boost the horsepower back to near factory and eliminate the smoking that had come with the high mileage. Now it runs like a top and still gets 27/35 mpg. The leather is finally starting to go on the divers seat, understandable for a car with this many miles. A fantastic engine, one of the best ever made. Turbo has never failed. Brakes are excellent and the ride is superb. A keeper!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1991
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesomeness,
January 3, 2011
By bug
from ut
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Awesome ride, 36 mpg, engine will last another 700,000 miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome for the value,
November 30, 2010
By Marcos
from Coto De Caza CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car used for 1/3 its original price. It has been a outstanding car. The last over engineered vehicle built by Mercedes Benz according to Wikipedia. I drove it for 7-1/2 hours with very good comfort and handling. Average 32 mpg. Nobody beats the safety and engineering of a Benz. SAFETY first then reliability/fuel consumption all in one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Real Gem,
June 3, 2010
By BFlo
from Washington, DC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My mother passed last August leaving me with a 1993 300D Turbo Mercedes Benz. The car was in perfect mechanical condition with 76532 miles but needed a paint job. I was offered $8500 for it. After getting the paint job I have been offered $11000 for it. I would have never believed that the value would sustain itself like it has. I know in part it is because of the low mileage and that it uses diesel gas. Great car!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Solid Car,
April 12, 2010
By andreas
from Hughesville, MD
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had this car for 3 years, it runs great. Never had any major mechanical problems, only wear and tear. I finally replaced the original water pump that had 210,000 miles on it! Just an example of how reliable this car has been. I get about 28 mpg city and 35 mpg highway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent Diesel Mercedes...,
January 5, 2010
By N.W.
from Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Have owned many Mercedes Diesels and this one is by far the nicest of the lot... (had several 80s W123 Series Diesels and this one is far more spirited that the previous generation, also far more comfortable. A car that I will keep, hopefully until it hits 400K
It currently is very close to 200K right now and still purrs! I wouldnt hesitate to buy another one or reccomend this car to anyone!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
February 25, 2009
By LDC
from NH
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Great car, but lacking in power. Very dependable."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 12 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Mercedez Best,
February 1, 2009
By Professor
from Brentwood, TN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"A very durable and reliable automobile. I have had this automobile for about nineteen years. A gas saver, during the gas crump. Has a slow take-off."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1991 300D - AWESOME!,
February 27, 2008
By T
from North New Jersey
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This car runs awesome at over 200,000 miles. As a diesel owner, it breaks my heart to think about owning anything other than a Mercedes Diesel. I've owned this car since 2000 and have loved it! Great looking, great running, great great car for the money. For an older car, this thing will run me forever and I will have to run it until it dies on me. Great on the highway, wonderful on fuel, and can even run on bio-diesel (big plus with gas prices). If you have the chance to buy one - go for it. Still running great 17yrs later."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1992 300 D 2.5 L,
January 20, 2008
By jdougla4
from Morgantown, WV
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"One of the most desired older model diesels. The powertrain is bulletproof if regular maintenance is performed. It is expensive if you cannot perform maintenance and repair yourself. Has a stiff european style ride, but is very comfortable on long trips. It is one of those cars you never want to part with."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1990 - 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
They don't make 'em like this anymore,
January 2, 2008
By JD
from Lake Stevens, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Expensive to fix so make sure it has a solid service record before you buy. It's much faster than one would expect from a big diesel car and 30 mpg is a bonus so the performance should really be 5 stars. Runs well on biodiesel."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.