Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5

Average Customer Rating:
9.341 out of 10
9.3
 out of 
10
168 of 170(99%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Review 1 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
PURE DRIVING JOY,
March 27, 2014
By Joe
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:104000
What's great about this vehicle?:very fun, very reliable, tiny size, driver focused
What's not so great about this vehicle?:rough ride, wind noise, small size
ReviewOriginationID:b4c1b0f7520a4bbaa2558db04e61f2e5
Make:Mazda
Model:Miata MX-5
Vehicle ID:8030
"My 1997 Miata is an M Edition that is all original except for a very well done aftermarket dual-din audio deck and I think speakers (I bought the car with it, and it sounds AMAZING). This car is a blast to drive with it's near perfect weight distribution, limited slip differential and lightweight body, it's very agile and nimble and tiny enough to dart in and out of traffic with the greatest of ease not to mention slide it into any parking space available (though it's size is also one of it's faults, more on that in a minute). It is very reliable and easy to work on except for the placement of the most commonly serviced part, the oil filter. There's tons of space for even the largest of gorilla hands. The simplicity of the Miata adds to its reliability, with just enough technology to be reliable and modern, but not so much things break just to cost you money. The 1.8L 4 cylinder engine is by no means a powerhouse, but with the car's light weight and the engine's eagerness to rev, it is quick enough enter the freeway without a fuss. Though it is not without it's faults; The Miata's size outside makes it hard for other drivers to see you sometimes, and it's size inside means my friends over 6 feet can't comfortably enjoy a day of top-down motoring with me. I've discovered the low body line means the airflow through the cabin with the top down is alot; this means ambient temps below 55*F are a no go for the top down since the Miata's heater is about as effective as an asthmatic blowing through a straw. The car's simplicity means the ride isn't the most modern either; I think my grandfather's 1957 Ranchero rode better than this. The NA chassis Miata is a blast to drive, and has enough power to bring a smile to even the most serious of car enthusiasts' faces; It still brings a smile to mine every time I drive it. But, after a while, I've come to realize that this is not an everyday car; It is best as weekend fun machine or nice top down night around town. It is not comfortable for even short roadtrips, even for my short 5'5" frame. It is loud, and you really feel the road, which can be good or bad, depending on the quality of the roads available for you drive on."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1997
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One of the great cars of the 90's,
May 3, 2009
By 56westmoor
from Sunnyvale, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Have owned this since 1994, new. I know of very few cars that have such a large supply of parts and custom options after market. I've kept the OEM look, but my auto is way nicer than original in so many ways. I now have great auxiliary lighting from trunk to under the hood, which is an issue with this car. The reliability of the MX5 is outstanding. The only major expense I've had is major transmission work around 100k. Great fun factor, low cost to maintain. It's turned out to be a perfect daily driver. BUT, it worked well only as a second car in the family. I do not recommend driving long hours in the car because it is tiring for me after around 3 hours. Noise, road feel, tighter environment do not make for the perfect freeway warrior. This was built for curvy mountain roads, along the ocean or any scenic drive imaginable. I also own a Lexus coupe, and the Miata is a preferable drive as long as I do not need the extra space or for a long drive. Adding an optional wind screen in the back made driving above 80 mph much more comfortable and quiet for driver and passanger. Selecting the right tires is a must to appreciate the handling of the car. SP8000 and TS1's have been good choices in the past. I added an oil filter relocation kit early on and made it super easy to do changes. Otherwise, this is one of the more painful aspects of the placement of the oil filter. I'm enjoying doing my own oil changes now and avoiding the extra cost of taking it out to a shop."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Fun and affordable,
February 22, 2010
By Gar-Dog
from Detroit, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Love my 1990 sport-red Miata. Hating the thought of selling it, but with a growing family the 2-car garage isn't going to have room for it. The wife isn't fond of the noise (it's a convertible) and it can't carry more than one kid.
Super-reliable: with 80k miles, 30k on my watch, the only non-wear change has been that the water pump started making noise and needed to be replaced at 54k. The timing belt was coming soon anyway, so no real problem. I did the wheel bearings at about 65k/14 years. The engine gives a rare minor backfire when I'm driving hard, that sounds more like a burp than any sort of problem. There is a little rip in the zipper for the vinyl rear window that I'll attribute to misuse. Gets 30mpg regularly with any sort of normal driving.
Mine's got a couple mods (rollbar, 4 stiffeners, aftermarket wheels) and it handles like it's on rails. Very neutral steering with the mods. Gearing consistently keeps you in the power zone. Wish it had a sixth gear; it probably couldn't handle it for racing but it could for touring. Gets 18mpg on the race track!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
LOVE IT!!,
May 19, 2009
By FredWB
from Kenosha
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"97 Miata! Coolest car I have ever owned! Sporty, fun to drive and takes off when I need it to. Lots of torque. Wish it had a 6th gear, however I looked up the newer Miatas with 6 gears on the Goverment fuel web site and they do not get better gas milage! I get 33 mpg on the highway, not sure about city but I bet its not bad! My biggest complaint would be the SEAT BELTS! The "Female end" does not stick out far enough on either side and is a pain in the butt to get at and if you are a BIG gutted person you will really struggles to put it on, PLUS it will tighten up on you and not let go! I am used to the drivers side so it is not a problem for me. You can put a really tall person in it with no problem. I am 5'10" and I have to put the seat up in order to push the clutch in all the way. I put 105 miles per day on mine going to work and back from Southern WI to Chicago and I drove it all last winter."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 5 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Absolutely love my Miata!,
September 4, 2013
By deAnna
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:95000
What's great about this vehicle?:responsive, comfortable, easy driver, fun,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not enough interior lighting, cup holders wrong
ReviewOriginationID:308f1b11c16c4812a9b6d159f09fe005
Make:Mazda
Model:Miata MX-5
Vehicle ID:9384
"Just took my Miata on a 3050 mile trip from Northern Michigan to Florida and back. Never once did I feel like I had to stop and get out of my Miata for a break. It handles like a dream in the worst of traffic - rapid response and great reaction time make it a joy to drive. I made custom luggage that fits strategically in the trunk, on the rear deck, and in the passenger compartment. I was able to pack for a three week trip with no problems.
My only suggestions to improve the Miata would be to increase the amount of auxiliary lighting in the driving compartment, and design a cup holder that will handle a variety of cup sizes. I would also like to see an alarm that indicates when the lights are left on.
I plan on keeping my Miata forever - and soon it will be considered a "classic". Regardless of age - all Miata are both classic and a class act."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1994
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1995 Mazda miata,
July 10, 2007
By Limit
from Cary, Il
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This vehicle is the best i have ever owned. The car handles and drives extremely well and takes anything i can throw at it. My miata has 175000 miles on it and i take it to the rev limiter every day i drive it. The car drifts extremely well. If you are going to be driving this car in the winter i would recommend getting a set of steelies with blizzak snow tires. The car doesnt do well if the tires are bald in the snow or rain. I live in Northern Illinois and can tell you first hand that it doesnt do well in the snow on anything but fresh tread, or else you like to drift. The engine and drive line are perfectly engineered . Enjoy your miata, id highly recommend this car to anyone. Dont let the cars girly image stop you from getting it. I only have an intake and exhaust and i can take 07' v6 mustangs."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
20 years and still smiling,
April 7, 2010
By Mike
from Massachusetts
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My wife and I bought our red miata new in July 1990 and have enjoyed all 155000 miles. Still runs, rides and looks great. Had to replace the 1.6 engine at 146k because the shims were put in backwards at an earlier time when a timing belt was changed and wore out the cam. I had a 1.8 used engine rebuilt and installed. I liked the original 1.6 but the 1.8 really has noticebly more power but still delivers about 29-30 mpg. Last summer we decided to replace the soft top with a black sunbrella fabric top that had a glass window - very nice change. No rust and still has the original paint. Planning on upgrading orgin. headlights, audio, shocks and exhaust this summer. My guess is that they don't make them like this anymore or they might risk going out of business..."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great value, lots of fun,
May 24, 2008
By Longtime Miata Owner
from San Diego
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I purchased my first 1990 Miata MX5 when they became available in 1989. I originally bought it because I love the sports car feel and did not have time to maintain my parents' MG they offered to give to me. The fully loaded Miata has lasted throughout many phases of my life and now serves has my weekend morning errand car. The hardtop was an excellent investment. I've never had any problems mechanically and managed to avoid all accidents by driving as if I am invisible to other drivers. This is truly a fun vehicle but can easily be used on major trip; I've driven it across country two or three times. The value is great and I'd highly recommend MX5 to anyone who wants an affordable roadster. If I ever sell, I hope to replace it with another one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great zoom-zoom fun,
December 13, 2007
By CS
from ID
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought a Classic red 1990 Miata in the summer of 07, with 140,000 miles on it. It gets 31-32 MPG and is fun to drive with the top down when the weather is nice. It is very easy to work on, and the parts are reasonable to replace. I have replaced all hoses, and basic tune up, it runs like a charm. Once the shocks and wheels have been replaced it will be back to like new condition. Dont be afraid to buy a first generation Miata, they are a good reliable little car, that gives it's owner 100 smiles per gallon!! it's hard to have a bad day, when you go out to the garage, and see this tiny cute thing just waiting for its driver, it always turns heads! And it's ageless, I always get puzzled looks when I tell someone its 19 years old."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
the best sports car ever,
July 30, 2007
By el fiebr de PR
from PR
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I've owned a 1992 miata for five years, and it has been the best car I've ever had.Its a red package A and B with a five spd trans. Its a very reliable, dependable, no nonsense, no fuzz car. I've done its maintenance all by myself with no mechanical degree, including changing the timming belt once, which iincluded the water pump; brakes once, adapted braided lines; clutch kit once, and included a bronce clutch disc; differential and transmission oil changed to mobil 1; changed the top to a Robbins canvas top with glass back window. Car requires just maintenance things. Everything works fine and I think I'll never sell it!!! 25 to 28 miles per gallon... good stuff these days in a car with style."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
woooooooooohhhhhhhh!!!!!,
September 20, 2007
By Tommy
from Long Island, NY
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"At 5'11" i'm not sure if Mazda had me in mind when they thought up this car. My getting out is reminescent of a clown car at the circus!! The car fits like a glove!! A racing glove!!!! I live in NY and bought the car in NJ, so driving it home was a blast!!!! It drives like a real roadster should. Being a long time 4x4 lover it was a shock to see how low the car sits on the road. I feel like I'm driving an Indy car down the highway, and being its red and black it gets just the right attention!!! This car is just the right toy at the end of a rough day of work. Its hard not to smile behind the wheel. I can't wait for the New York fall with the top down!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Still love it,
November 22, 2013
By Treelady
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:85000
What's great about this vehicle?:good gas milage, FUN, zippy to drive, attractive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:small battery, small trunk
ReviewOriginationID:ea826d29b7b04cf3bd3c98ac6990f67f
Make:Mazda
Model:Miata MX-5
Vehicle ID:9386
"I leased this car new back in 1994. Then I bought it. It's been amazing. Fun to drive, very few problems... once had to replace the radiator, and had to fix one of the windows, the battery was a problem until I installed a disconnect mechanism, but overall, it's still a joy to own and I'd buy the exact same car if I had the choice to do it over. I bought a new car in 2009, but I still enjoy driving my nearly 20-year old Miata more than any car I've ever driven. Love its power and how it really hugs the road. Getting older, so getting in and out of it isn't as comfortable as it was in my early 30s, but I still don't want to part with this car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1994
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great first roadster!,
January 28, 2012
By Mac
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:82563
What's great about this vehicle?:Price, Cool to have, easy to maintain
What's not so great about this vehicle?:ride is a little bumpy; expected from a roadster
ReviewOriginationID:fe1b2517-3ff3-44b2-a8ed-626b40f0aa16
"I am 17 years old and this is my second car, this is a great car for many many reasons..the first being, its cool--plain and simple. This car has the benefits of the good looks of a sports car but isn't too fast or too expensive to own or insure, which mom and dad love(so if your a parent with a kid who wants one i would STRONGLY recommend it. This car also handles like a dream, it has a differential to keep the wheels from spinning giving you more control, it also gets 25 to 30 mpg!Despite its small size it is also very comfortable, this is one of the best cars to own, if you buy one i hope you enjoy it as much as i have!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1995
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Tiny TANK,
February 15, 2013
By June6821
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:250000
Reason for Sale:Transmission failure
What's great about this vehicle?:60 MPH turns & it wont flip!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:N/A
ReviewOriginationID:51acaff1e4c54ea3bd391599bc7f0d4a
"I owned the 1990 convertible, automatic. Amazing car, I loved it. Bought it used in '05. It was an old car by then, I had it for 3 years. First thing that went on the car was the head gasket, then finally the transmission. Even through all this, when it smoked like the bat mobile, when it sputtered and shook, this car kept going, it NEVER left me on the side of a road, it was a trooper! The tops on the convertible would leak when it rained, and the window motors would break so they couldn't go down. Even through it's major problems, the a/c kept working. Amazing. Sad to say I traded it in for a VW Beetle.. HUGE MISTAKE!!!"
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location FL
Year 1993
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Miata that Could,
March 11, 2008
By JetFuel
from Pittsburg, TX
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Bought my Miata from my mom at 116,000K. i had several problem with it at first because i couldent afford to catch the maitnence up, but after new tired, brakes, a vynil top, and a clutch i found out it did not need, this car kicks like a mule. there isent anything keeping this bad girl down. handles like its on rails, great performance after 4000 rpms, cant belive how low the blue book value is on it. 25-30 Mpg. noisy on the road,but makes up for that in performance. it has 150,000k on it and it runs EXCELLENT! Wouldnt give this car up for much. looks hot with the lights down ;)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
miatas are a true joy,
November 6, 2007
By ben-jamin
from columbia city. indiana
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my miata when i was 15 and absolutley love it still now that im 18 . the car handles very well. i have put 10,000 miles on it, now it has 6700, and had no problems with it. i would recomend an aftermarket exhaust or air intake to make it sound as good as it runs. i wish i could put subs or a system in it without the loss of space. i love to roast the tires with my posi rear end especially in reverse and show up other guys w/ front wheel drive imports. its a joy to drive my miata rear round in norhtern indiana. btw it does doughnuts very well on dry and wet pavement."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great car,
February 21, 2011
By Fred
from North Carolina
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"The Mazda Miata is a great little convertible. The thing is very durable and reliable, plus has required minimal cost for maintenance. It starts and runs without any problem and when a maintenance issue arises it has always been resolved with below average cost for vehicular repair. It is comfortable and handles well; able to accellerate, holds curves well, good stopping power and a comfortable ride. The convertible top can be raised or lowed with little time and effort. The only change I would consider is to add cruise control to increase driving comfort over long trips."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I've had for the price!,
September 7, 2011
By Cubby
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:106000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great Price
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Trunk Space
"This little car runs and handles like a dream. I've only had it for about 6 months, but so far I've really enjoyed driving it. It gets good gas mileage...which is very important these days. The only drawback is the truck space, but I guess when you have a small sports car, you should expect that. I'm a rather large man...6'0''-215 lbs- and I have no problem fitting comfortably in the cockpit.
She needs a paint job...which I intend to take care of soon, but other than that I have no complaints.
If you find one reasonably priced, you should buy it...you won't regret it.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1993
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Heaven,
June 4, 2009
By Chas
from New York, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"My wife has put only 32,000 miles on her 1996 Miata because, as good environmentalists, we use public transportation extensively (I don't even own a car). BUT when we need one, this car is a wonderful indulgence. I have owned expensive sports cars (MG, Mercedes, and even a Morgan), and each was a pleasure in its own way. But for the money there is simply no car that can compare to the Miata's craftsmanship, performance, and pure fun. This is certainly THE best value I have received from any purchase, of any sort, at any time in my long life. Love this car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1990 - 1997 Mazda Miata MX-5
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Simply fantastic,
October 29, 2008
By Krugmaster
from Cincinnati, OH
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"There is a reason why the miata is the world best selling sports car. It has 50-50 weight distribution. A small peppy 1.6 or 1.8 engine, a close ratio manual transmission, and subtle yet great styling. All this for an extremely reasonable price! You simply can't get better value for money. Driving a miata makes you feel connected to the road. The car gives feedback to how it handles making it feel like an extension of your body. The car has so much character. I could put the top down and drive around for hours at a time without a destination, just for fun."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs