Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander

Average Customer Rating:
6.129 out of 10
6.1
 out of 
10
138 of 256(54%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Review 121 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
December 3, 2007
By Rob
from NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The se3 is quite different from the Se version, is more sporty and it has a removable hard top.
The sunroof comes off too and it's cool.
I have a black one and I think it's the coolest color, I saw one in red and it was cool too, but the black is the best."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 122 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
June 17, 2010
By jakers
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have had no major issues. Looks sharp from the front. It was hard to find a local dealer to do work on the vehicle because they dont have nay manuals for repairs. I guess it is not worth the cost of buying them vs. what repairs they would potentially do?"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 123 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Awesome SUV with Guts,
August 2, 2007
By FreeLanderLover
from Scottsdale, AZ
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This SUV is awesome. It handles like a sports car while being a great off road vehicle. I have taken this SUV on off road trails other vehicles can't handle. It is reliable and fun. Using the triptronic gives it quick acceleration(for an SUV). I love mine."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 124 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
good choice?,
September 18, 2007
By no name
from WA
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Owned it for 2 weeks...have a mystery leak in my cooling system. Thanks to reading other reviews I won't take this problem lightly since it seems to be a common issue. I love it's looks and comfort plus all the bells and whisles.... hope it's worth it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 125 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Hmmmm,
April 21, 2009
By McMuffin
from Kansas City, MO
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I love the comfort and style. It is stiff in turning, slow excelleration and putters at 30mph. I have had it in the shop several times for several different issues form the cd player to the fuel pump, to the leaking roof. Maybe I just got a bad seed."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 126 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Waste of money!!,
February 11, 2009
By Freelander hater
from Buffalo, ny
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"This vehicle is overpriced and POORLY built. Do not waste your money, if it wasnt bad enought they constantly break down, the parts are twice as expensive cause it is an import. Stick to GM and help our economy, I strayed once and never will again."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 127 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Yes, it's a Land Rover!,
December 2, 2007
By Jimmy
from New York NY
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Very good SUV, never had any problem and other than oil changes it has never been at the shop.
I have a Caddillac Escalade that does 13 mpg, it's pretty awesome but my wife's Freelander does 21 miles per gallon.
Only 40 bucks to fill up the tank."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 128 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Pure Excellence,
April 19, 2008
By Brian
from New York
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Quality, that's all I have to say, this is the best vehicle I've ever owned, and I had germans, americans and japanese SUVs.
I love it and will never sell it, I've bought it new in 2005 and other than oil changes it has never been in the shop."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 129 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Has Never Let Me Down,
August 4, 2007
By Denise
from Philadelphia, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Never felt so secure during winter driving conditions - snowy, slippery roads - no problem. No reliability or performance issues - no major issues at all. Style and design of the vehicle knocked me out - it still does after all these years."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 130 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Small SUV,
February 14, 2008
By freelander lover
from San Jose, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I love this car and will be very sad when we grow out of it. Never had repair problems, drives like a car not a big truck, comfortable for 5 adults (even a few on the larger side). Awesome little SUV, it's perfect for our little family."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 131 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
January 7, 2008
By Lori
from Palmetto florida
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Moved from England and I couldn't resist to get one, it has been my favourite SUV so far, I had a chance to drive other suvs but nothing compares to a LR.
I have the SE3 with the removable top and it's very cool in the summer."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 132 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Nice SUV no problems at all,
December 2, 2007
By Michael
from Toronto
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i was looking for an SUV with a good mpg and I found this little LR, it's awesome and never gave me a problem.
The best is the windshield defroster that melts the ice on the windshield in 3 minutes.
Good car, very good car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 133 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome,
December 9, 2007
By Darma
from Rochester
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Couldn't get a better SUV, I love it and it's so cool they made only 234 SE3 in 2005.
I'm never gonna sell it!!!!
p.s. my mechanic misses me so much, since I got this Freelander 2 years ago I saw him only for oil changes!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 134 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Value,
June 29, 2008
By Kiki
from West Hartford, CT
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned my Freelander for almost four years and have been very pleased. I've never had mechanical problems and have enjoyed a safe and comfortable drive in some of the worst New England winters! Only downfall- GAS!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 135 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
December 23, 2007
By Rick
from Denver CO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Fun to drive and very reliable, I bought it 2 years ago and I'm very satisfied.
They don't make it anymore so the value will raise with time, like it happened with the Land Rover Defender.
I'll buy again if I had to."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 136 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Its just ok,
March 9, 2011
By BR
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"The best thing about this vehicle is that it performs well in the snow. Other than that you are just buying the name. I have not had any major problems with it, but it just is not as great as I was wanting it to be."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 137 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great car,
February 11, 2008
By newbie
from colorado
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had this car since the beginning and it is great no problems runs great and is very comfortable. It has had no problems and we have driven many trips great off road really fun we took it off road in colorado."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 138 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
nothing but fun and comfort and good work partner,
March 30, 2012
By cm
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:76000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price, comfortable, rock solid on the road.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:consciencious care
ReviewOriginationID:c0f550b98e074ffeb39b5cd931bb6657
"I was encouraged to get rid of it, but I have had a very wonderful relationship with this car since buying it used a year ago. Requires conscious care, but delivers excellent performance. No regrets whatsoever."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MD
Year 2003
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 139 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
my FreeLander,
April 15, 2011
By Jill
from Omaha, NE.
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I have never seen such a miserable car like this. Mechnanical, electrical problems. Euroepan versions do not have any of these problems, why US versions? Stay away from her, she will hurt your budget terribly."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 140 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best SUV I ever bought,
December 2, 2007
By Monica
from Maryland
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I had 3 other SUVs but I finally had a chance to buy a Land Rover, I couldn't afford a Range Rover so I picked a Freelander SE3.
In 2 Years I've owned it I never had any problems and I'm really happy with it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs