Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander

Average Customer Rating:
6.129 out of 10
6.1
 out of 
10
138 of 256(54%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Review 101 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Do not buy under any circumstances,
September 2, 2008
By Strand Rover
from Ohio
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
"Purchased 2002 LR Freelander from a family member. I have all service records dating to 2002. All services performed on time by LR dealer. Here is a list of items that are currently wrong with the vehicle: cracked coolant resivoir, leaking thermostat, broken rear window motor, broken sun roof, door seal falling off door (fixed 2x by dealer) and the "transmission is slipping." The vehicle is also due for $2600 service. Total invoice to make this lemon road worthy again: $12,000 w/o sales tax. You are a bigger fool than me if you buy this piece of junk. This vehicle was impeccably maintained and has still fallen apart. Dealer simply shrugged his shoulders and tried to sell me an LR2. All the horror stories about LRs are true."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 102 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love this SUV,
August 27, 2008
By Chiguy60640
from Chicago, IL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I purchased this SUV in March of 2006 and have put nearly 25,000 on it since. It is an amazing, competent vehicle. The AWD never skips a beat - giving me the most confident driving experience I've ever had. For a two-door SUV, it is quite spacious inside and when the top is removed, it feels like a completely new vehicle. What other luxury SUV gives you a "convertible" option?? If I had one wish for this thing, it would be for more power. The V6 is capable, but lacks any real "umph." Best thing about it - it only requires regular unleaded and has much better fuel economy than other SUVs in this class (I average 18 city/21 hwy). I never feel the pain of the pump with this SUV. Land Rover did an excellent job with this vehicle and I am proud to own it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 103 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
One of the lucky ones?,
August 21, 2008
By formerfreelader
from Oklahoma City, OK
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I've hardly had any problems with my Land Rover Freelander. I've just now surpassed the 83K mile mark and all I can say that has gone wrong is one window motor issue (which I fixed myself) and the oxygen sensor has gone out. I have the corky electrical problems every once in a while, but for the most part this rig has been pretty reliable.
The ride is smooth and nothing keeps this vehicle from getting where you want to go. I've never lost control in this SUV and OKC has had 2 of the worst Ice storms in history in the time I've owned it. I couldn't even goof off in the parking lots; the tires are absolutely glued to the road. The front seats give you a great view of the road. Plenty of room in the back seat as well.
The exterior build quality of this SUV is outstanding. I'm the 2nd owner. I've driven 50k miles in 3+ years and there's not a dent or a ding. The paint looks brand new and the plastic fenders have barely faded.
My main issue with this SUV and brand is that it is very difficult to keep up with cost of scheduled maintenance. It's just not worth $1150 to change a timing belt on a 6 year old vehicle that's only worth $7k (if I'm lucky). Scheduled maintenance every 12k miles usually runs me around $750.
Not worth it anymore.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 104 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not bad,
August 2, 2008
By whitness
from Frisco, TX
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I've owned an 04 freelander since it was brand new. I've watched it travel across the country several times from tx to ny and back and forth. The car has been really good. Its a tank, but the maintenance has been UNGODLY expensive and NOT worth it. Its a heavy vehicle so be prepared to go through brakes and tires fast (too fast). The car is ok, but the things that go wrong with it are absurd. I wont ever own a landrover again."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 105 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
July 30, 2008
By chuck
from norwalk, ct
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"too many small problems, in shop too much service was allways good though"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 106 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Smoothest Ride,
July 17, 2008
By Crona
from Horsheads, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The nicest vehicle I have ever had the pleasure of driving. A friend has one and let me drive it. If I could afford one, I would buy one. Its not bad on gas either..she said it gets ~18-23 miles per gallon (and its ALL WHEEL DRIVE)!!!! She is EXTREMELY pleased with it!!!!!-- And I was very impressed-- My friend says she'd never buy a different SUV. She's absolutly hooked on her Freelander and I can see why!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? I don't own this vehicle
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 107 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Value,
June 29, 2008
By Kiki
from West Hartford, CT
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned my Freelander for almost four years and have been very pleased. I've never had mechanical problems and have enjoyed a safe and comfortable drive in some of the worst New England winters! Only downfall- GAS!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 108 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Biggest headache of my life!,
June 24, 2008
By Prince
from Cleveland, Ohio
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I purchased this SUV certified used Dec 2006. I have had nothing but problems. In a nutshell, I have had several problems that has lead to a new engine replaced. Gas mileage is a pain. I thought that I was getting a good vehicle considering it's a Land Rover; NOT! In fact a Land Rover mechanic informed me that I should get rid of it, as there have been several problems with the Freelander in general."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 109 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Big Problems,
June 24, 2008
By C Man
from Chicago, IL
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"This is a nice car with one major fault: it has a defective transmission and engine that will give out somewhere around 50,000 miles. The Rover dealer will tell you thosoe two things combined will cost aroud $12,000. Loved the car when it ran, hated it when it had a negative blue book value because of all of the repairs it needed."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 110 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
June 5, 2008
By Totally Cashed Out
from boise, Id
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"I boutht this 2002 Landrover in 2005...used with an extended warranty thank God. I have replaced the transmission (at 56,000), all 5 window regulators, cruise control unit, dome light switch and electrical unit, and today I found out (warranty is now up by 2,000 miles) that the engine needs replaced!! I have spend the last year with a loaner car at least 7 times! Now I am getting rid of it!! $5,000 for a new engine and then you will have to replace it again at 60,0000!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 111 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Freelander,
May 22, 2008
By MegMeg
from Mammoth Lakes, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Amazing ride!
The AWD is incredible! I can plow through snow hills for days! The interior is so spacious that I feel I am just hanging out in the living room. This is a must have SUV! It's also great on gas for the size - about 20-25mpg!! Go get one for yourself!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 112 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
No problems, but little power,
May 21, 2008
By Mr. Blaze
from God's Country, Texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had pretty close to a perfect experience with this vehicle, but the power is extremely lacking. But, if you want more power, buy another vehicle. I don't need much, so it works perfectly for me and I'm averaging about 20-22 mpg on long cross country trips (in an SUV, which is hard to do)."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 113 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2004 SE3,
May 7, 2008
By Bgood
from Albuquerque, NM
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We've had the vehicle for 1 1/2 years so far. I haven't had to replace the breaks yet as I hear is a problem. Changing oil yourself is a pain...skid plate removal... Does excellent in snow and ice (New Mexico) and unbelievable off road. I have had it places I have only seen ATV's! Lacks power in serious hill climbing but hill descent kicks in for backing down and hitting it harder. Roof removal could be easier but still not all that bad. Fun to drive opened up. Alternator went out and radio antennae came off but that is the only issues so far. Great vision out windshield...perfect for offroading. Creepy cornering at high speeds but manageable. We love it. suggest full vehicle report and maintenance records if buying used."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 114 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
style and reliabilty,
May 2, 2008
By fatboy
from ri
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"looks and drives incredible, i put 20 inch chrome rims and a 4 thousand watt stereo system and the truck turns heads"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 115 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Freelander Rocks!,
May 1, 2008
By AZLandRover
from Scottsdale, AZ
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I use this vehicle everyday for work and family. On the weekends I take it on the trails in Arizona. Many times the big 4x4s look at me and say "How did you get back here?". This vehicle is awesome for off raod and highway travel. True, cylinder sleeves in engine had issues and Land Rover replaced the engine. They paid for it. If you can find one and like to have a small SUV for off road and smooth fast highway travel, Buy It!! The triptronic is awesome for passing people, extra acceleration and low gear control on trails. I'm getting ready to lift it and get it ready for hefty off road travels."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 116 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not so good,
April 20, 2008
By Ann
from Kentucky
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Bought pre-owned. Second owner. I have had to replace the engine (yes the engine), the fuel injector and other misc. issues. Mabye it's me, just bad luck. Land Rover dealer said this make and model have had many issues with overheating and causing the engine to burn out. When it is running, it drives smoothly and is fun. Make sure you knwo history prior to purchase."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 117 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Just like the Defender,
April 20, 2008
By Nick
from Boston
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My Freelander is a 2005 model and has the convertable top, they don't make it anymore and this makes it so much cooler.
When Land Rover stopped importing the Defender in 1997 the prices skyrocketed and a 1995 model cost today $38,000 and the same thing is going to happen to my Freelander SE3.
THAT'S WHY I WILL NEVER SELL IT :) !!!!!!!!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 118 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Fantastic,
April 19, 2008
By Linda
from Wilmington
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"with the gas prices you need to buy a SUV that can get you around without killing your wallet... with my Freelander I get 21-22 Miles Per Gallon City and 24-25 Miles Per Gallon highway.
AWESOME!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 119 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Pure Excellence,
April 19, 2008
By Brian
from New York
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Quality, that's all I have to say, this is the best vehicle I've ever owned, and I had germans, americans and japanese SUVs.
I love it and will never sell it, I've bought it new in 2005 and other than oil changes it has never been in the shop."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 120 for 2002 - 2005 Land Rover Freelander
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
FREELANDER - BETTER THAN YOU THINK,
April 15, 2008
By eagle one
from Eagle, CO
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i have had a 2002 FREELANDER SINCE PURCHASED NEW IN 2002. IN 81,000 MILES OF DRIVING i had 1 faulty sensor requiring a toe. OTHERWISE IT HAS BEEN NEARLY PERFECT. Service was covered for 50K MILES THEN A BIT PRICEY, BUT EXCELLENT WITH THE CAR RETURNED DETAILED LIKE NEW. The freeway ride is excellent for an SUV, the engine great for cruising bur revs in the passes. I average 20MPG mountain driving. Unlike other cute utes, this one can go off road, limited by eventual lack of power with no lo range, but helped by a manumatic tranny & hill descent control. A pre owned with excellent service records would be a very good buy!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.