Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage

Average Customer Rating:
8.789 out of 10
8.8
 out of 
10
281 of 308(91%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Review 1 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Vehicle I Have Ever Owned,
January 15, 2014
By 1SuperTrouper
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:95000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great price, excell quality, excell reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:I don't have any
ReviewOriginationID:a983586459344cf799ebfae777c81b4c
Make:Kia
Model:Sportage
Vehicle ID:1067
"I bought this vehicle new and honestly, I have never, ever had a problem with this vehicle. When I do trade for a new one I will feel sad to let this little jewel go. I have had Fords, Chevy's, Dodge, Mercury, Mitsubishi vehicles in my lifetime and none, absolutely none gave me the service this vehicle has. I usually have had to trade the others when they reached 70,000 miles because they started to nickel and dime me to death, not this vehicle. This vehicle has never so much as given me a rattle or squeak in its lifetime. Kia did a remarkable job in building this vehicle and when I trade, you can bet it will be for another Kia. I don't look to buy vehicles based on how expensive they are, because they only get you from point A to point B. So to have the flash and bells and whistles like many of the more high end and expensive vehicles do is just ridiculous. As it is if you want bells and whistles you can add them to your Kia. Kia has an excellent product and the right price for that product in my book. You can have a 40-50 thousand dollar vehicle and when it gets in a collision you just may well lose that. That's a big loss which I choose not to take, not to mention if it is your fault your insurance goes up and on top of that the premium you must pay just to have that expensive vehicle insured. No thank you, I'll stick with my Kia and a much lower insurance rate. Excellent vehicle, excellent price, excellent reliability, excellent quality. As I said, it only gets you from point A to point B to begin with so why does anybody want to pay 40-50 thousand dollars for a vehicle in the first place is beyond me. For a lot of people that live in cities (at least in my area) most of the city houses are valued below 100 thousand dollars, so you are saying their vehicles are on average half the price of their house. And it doesn't even come with a bed, refrigerator, stove or dishwasher. No, I'll stick with the Kia brand. One added note here. This little vehicle has had at least 1200 pounds in it as a load when I put the rear seats down, that is not counting two passengers. Yeah, it isn't a truck and yeah it did weigh the back end down so my headlights pointed up in the air a bit, but you know what? As long as I didn't act like I was on a drag strip it got me, my passenger and the load home without any problems. I would not recommend doing that on a regular basis though as it could be bad for the rear suspension. This just goes to show the excellent workmanship Kia put into this vehicle."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sportage Ex,
July 24, 2009
By geegee
from Indianapolis, IN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have had this vehicle since November 2005. We previously had a 1999 Sportage primarily driven by wife. When I started looking for a vehicle to replace my 95 Hyundai Elantra I first did not consider the Sportage because I thought they weren't being made any longer and I didn't like the body styling on Hyundai SUV or the other Kia SUV. So I looked at the Honda CRV, Rav4, Toyota Xterra, and Suzuki XL7. The Xterra was over priced and I thought the CRV and Rav4 were too compact. The Suzuki almost one out because of the 7th seat and it's beautiful body style. But on further look the 7th seat was way too small. Then I saw the Sportage and took a test drive and was very impressed. I have had almost no issues with car. I do think the maintenance, e.g. replacing the timing belt over $600 and the rear brakes $500 are way too expensive. Gas mileage has been a better than predicted at about 22 combined. Also wish I had gotten the running board, rear spoiler, and window guards at time of purchase. The stereo is pretty good and plays MP3 but wish an iPod port and a a telephone port for hands free was standard as well as a programmable garage door opener. Would also like to see a plug-in in rear seat. I really love the way the front passenger see folds all the way forward for a table top and the rear seats recline which is a feature my friends still marvel at."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
09 SPortage -Kia is doing it right,
June 14, 2009
By mrcar
from somersworth, NH
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I just purchased an 09 Sportage after much research. I traded out of a 07 Honda civic. Have to say Honda is not the perfect car its made out to be. I needed an AWD car, especially living in New Hamp. Also I needed something very safe, value packed economical to run and able to handle my kids gear. SPortage was the car. I have the LX amd witha 4cyl, 5 spd; Gas mileage ranges from 28MPG to 30MPG. The car is very smooth and comfortable. I love the satelite radio. Thee is plenty of storage behind the rear seat and the seats fold flat for even more storage. Driving position is nice with good ergonomics in the cabin. Exterior finish is much nicer than my honda. Even my neighbor who just bought a honda fit said the finish was exceptional. Great safty features, ESC, 6 air bags, traction control, 4 wheel disc, abs. I was looking at the subaru's, but the warranty sold me. This is my second KIA- the quality is great and your can't beat the value. KIA is doing the same business plan that honda has done, plus there building a billion dollar PLAnt in Georgia. Kia is here to stay.
Recommendations-Lights in the vanity mirrors (Honda doesn't have that either), daytime running lights, exterior temp gauage, heat temp guage for the engine"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Still a satisfied customer :),
November 19, 2011
By Jade
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:38000
What's great about this vehicle?:value, comfortable, motor, versatile
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No mp3 plugin, no GPS, too much plastic
ReviewOriginationID:db127c8b-b5eb-45af-8ff8-8bacbe57b2d3
"I've had my truck for about 3 years. I still like the style, inside and out. I have a 15 gallon tank and I fill up about twice per month, sometimes less. I do a lot of in-town driving with maybe one out of town trip per month, so I drive about 500 miles in a month. The plastic interior scratches a little too easily for my taste. The metal used on the outside isn't as strong as I'd have liked it. It dinged up some during a hailstorm when a neighboring truck didn't get a scratch. It is very versatile and I can move practically anything. It is a very comfortable ride. The music sound is pretty good, but I wish there was a plugin for my iPod or phone and that I could play more than cd at a time. There's an ashtray inside, which I only use for storing change or use the lighter for a power source. I'd rather that area had been something more useful to me. I do like the storage compartment in the console, though. There's very little road noise if any. It has a powerful pickup when I need it-- I can take on any hill or any surface and it performs great! I've had not had to take it in for anything other than regular maintenance so far. :) Overall I'm still happy with it. :)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love this SUV,
January 23, 2011
By RJthegirl
from Westmont, IL
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"When I was ready to buy a small SUV and had test drove and priced about 6 different ones I found that the Kia seemed to include the most for the money. My EX has everything... leather heated seat, power everything, sun roof, great sound system. I was worried about purchasing a Kia based off a bad situation with a Sentra a few years prior. So far it has needed no trips to the dealer and has been very reliable. I put a lot of miles on my cars because of work and family and find it perfectly comfortable for the 3-4 hours a day I spend in my car. I find it the perfect height to sit in and swing my legs in (being abnormally tall for a woman). This is so much less difficult for my bad back. The height is also perfect for my small dog to jump into the back without much effort. I have also used my Kia to move three times since I got it. The fold down seats make the back very open and easy for filling up with boxes. My only real complaint is the gas milage. Its not horrible but I feel that it really could be better. Overall I love my Kia."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Kia Sportage, is it worth the money?,
July 4, 2014
By Not an SUV guy
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Not At All
2
Definitely
Approximate mileage:50000
ReviewOriginationID:29b1a9a5f346415c81d87d5a2cc5bd70
Make:Kia
Model:Sportage
Vehicle ID:226763
"The pro's of this vehicle are...
Cheap SUV, great visibility of blind spots, nice dash and plastics, and a wonderful warranty.
The con's of this vehicle are...
Very weak V6, bad gas mileage, horrible pick up/power, rough cornering, and cheaper cloth seats.
Personal experiences with this vehicle....
We are occurring an electrical problem that will randomly lock the vehicle with out the use of the fob.
The pick up on the vehicle is utterly horrible, however to manage good gas mileage you have to endure a painfully slow start from a stop sign or a red light.
Cornering in the vehicle at 10-15 miles an hour provides a somewhat frightening experience.
The vehicle has a lot of "Body roll" and does not handle too well, however this is expected with SUV's.
Due to the wonderful warranty we have taken good use due to issues with electronics, and parts on the engine requiring maintenance/ repair some parts were not accessible and had to be ordered out.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2009
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great all around SUV!,
August 9, 2012
By Bekah
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:147500
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy to park!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Rear cup holder not very sturdy.
ReviewOriginationID:1c3ef52b968a4d1e9e54054f593172a7
"I purchased my Sportage new from the dealership in 2005. I have used it for long trips, camping, hauling leaves, driving up steep rocky mountain roads, moving friends and commuting just to name a few activities. The ride is very comfortable for the rear passengers as well as those in the front. With the roof rack I have been able to take as many items as needed on trips. I also have found the plastic backs on the back seats a life saver as I don't have to worry as much about damage to the interior when hauling wet or leaking items. The only issues I have had are when driving through long stretches of 1-3 inches of water the engine will catch and at times die. If you don't have to cross low water bridges regularly this would not be an issue. I would definitely recommend this vehicle to someone that wants an SUV they can really use for everyday life and fun!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2005
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sporty and So much interior space!,
November 25, 2011
By dolfyndance70
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:76500
What's great about this vehicle?:sporty,great mobility,power and many compliments
What's not so great about this vehicle?:can not use seat covers(airbags in seats)
ReviewOriginationID:3519bfe4-8630-4509-a0be-2399b5710d62
"I love my 2007 kia sportage lx! It has such a nice sporty look to it with out a large suv. I have so much space inside the back and almost as much as a small truck when I fold the rear seats flat! and with the hard shell on the back of seats and rear no risk of seat tears. The engine is powerful and quick, but no jerky takeoffs, I have plenty of power to drive the freeways in phoenix. The seats are comfortable and the layout of the interior is excellent, I love my adjustable armrest/storage compartment in the middle of the seats. The only drawback I have noticed are that I can not put cute car seat covers on my seats due to the air bags being inside the seat itself. Other than that I love it, I only paid 10,500 used! P. S. The stereo system is wonderful! A must buy for single or small family! (I can fit three kiddos into the back with three boosters."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
GREAT car for the money,
January 7, 2010
By WHM
from Pleasanton, CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned my '06 EX for a little more than 4 years now... about 28k miles. Runs great. I love the solid feel and sound when you close the doors.. no cheap car rattles... very quiet and smooth. Actually, my Sportage is far quieter and more comfortable on the road than my wifes BMW! I love the fold-flat rear seats and the huge amount of cargo room with the seats down. Love that the stereo will play MP3s (I can put 6 or full 7 albums on one disc.).
It's a bit underpowered for a V6 and the automatic transmission seems a bit sluggish to shift (hence my 3 stars on performance).. but I read that going in and knew I wasn't buying a sports car. I wanted it for the utility to carry both people and things.
The only problem I have had is that the power outlet plugs (both front and rear) went out. Doesn't seem to be a fuse so I will need to take it in."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Good for the money, but poor quality,
October 20, 2009
By SUVOwner
from Illinois
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I bought a new 2009 Sportage and traded it in after two months and less than 1,000 miles. I liked the styling of the vehicle and many of the features, I just could not take the poor quality. My bad that I did not test drive enough vehicles prior to purchase to compare it to, but after I started test driving other small SUVs I noticed the difference immediately. My wife had a good analogy... the others are made of steel, the Sportage is made of tin. I could hear every bump as if the doors were open and the small 4 cylinder engine sounded like a toy engine. As my title indicates, for the money it is a good SUV, but as the saying goes, "you get what you pay for." My advice is to test drive a lot of others before you purchase a Sportage so you know what you are getting. I ended up with a CR-V and am extremely happy with it compared to the Sportage."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
SPORTage,
August 24, 2010
By swazie
from Victoria Australia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Never expected this car to be as good as it is for what we paid. The competition have been blown away in this segment of vehicle. LEts face it, for the same money you can buy a beat up forrester which has the most fragile interior ever and just isnt a nice drive, or a RAv4 with its lagging performance and shoddy transmission, or a CRV that looks 100 years old...The Sportage kicks all these to the curb with more power, space, ride comfort, quietness, handling, looks and overall performance and reliability. I couldnt justify paying 30k for an SUV, mainly because theyre neither here nor there as a vehicle. The 07 v6 Sportage is as close to a drivers car as I could find, and believe me I test drove them all. The only car that had something on the Sportage was the Forresters XT model, which is slightly more powerful, but thats it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this car!,
January 6, 2012
By Barb
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:17000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, lots of room and easy to maneuver!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Can't really think of any cons.
ReviewOriginationID:dc73a847-6e85-47e4-a181-3ac1fb33d63b
"The Kia Sportage is fantastic. It's the perfect size for a single person, small family and ones with pets. I've previously owned trucks, and just love the way I can park this in a small place with precision. It handles great and takes hills with no problem at all.
I also love the way you get in and out of it. Don't have to step up or get down. You just sit right in!
The back window/door opening is perfect for groceries, etc. I love the way you can open the window without having to open the whole door. The back seats lay totally flat with the back so you can put larger things in it.
The usb and Ipod connections allow you to play music off of your phone or Ipod. The music will stop and allow you to talk if you're playing it off your phone.
I really can't think of anything that's not so great about it. I have enjoyed mine!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2009
Review 13 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best truck ever,
January 27, 2012
By LovemyKia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:49000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price
What's not so great about this vehicle?:wish I had heated seats with living in WI
ReviewOriginationID:d4f06a0a-338c-4913-a672-33498fb3a2e3
"I love my Kia Sportage. It's a 2006 and we've owned it for 3 years and I'd buy another one in a heartbeat. My husband even said if they make a full size truck he'd buy one too. We drove my KIA to Alabama from WI and had the air on the whole time and did alot of running in Alabama and it used only $240 in gas round trip. Also, my husband has a bad back and he says the ride is so great that even on our long trip he didn't have any back problems at all. We'd buy another KIA right away. I had to get the back brakes fixed last year but it was fairly inexpensive and only cost me about $150 but went back to my hometown of Clintonville to have it done as where I live it would have been more expensive. My truck as I call it is the best vehicle we've ever bought... We've always been Chevy people but the price of the KIA just won out."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my Kia Sportage!,
February 22, 2013
By Micki
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:135000
What's great about this vehicle?:Affordable, good fuel economy for an SUV
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Get the 4 wheel drive if you have harsh winters
ReviewOriginationID:116e150a81b0461b9356abc77095f2d6
"I bought this car in 2009 with 56000 miles. It has driven like a champ ever since! I did have to replace some sort of belt holder thing at one point, but it was a quick fix, and the mechanic said it was rare for one to go out, and I should never have to replace it again. It is not the greatest in winter snow and ice, but that is my fault for not springing for a 4 wheel drive. Other than being extra careful in bad weather, which is common sense anyway, this car is great! It is comfortable and roomy enough for my family and two dogs, and we have taken it on many road trips. It gets decent fuel economy (18 - 22) and is so much fun to drive. I am now a loyal Kia convert, and will be buying another when this one gives out, I will just be sure to get 4 wheel drive on my next one, and that should be just about perfect!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A finely made economy SUV,
January 4, 2012
By Barry
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:59999
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy on the eye
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Smaller and more clever is the best way to go!
ReviewOriginationID:7efb515a-0b87-4f0b-ae00-09a707e7c9c8
"I can't believe how little I've had to do to keep this KIA Sportage in excellent health.
Regular maintenance, oil changes and such - and that is it!
After 50,000 miles, I had to replace the front and rear brake pads - but even that could have gone a few thousand miles more, I'm just kinda cautious.
It's been a comfy ride, excellent road feel and superb starter from day one until now... and I expect it will continue this way for at least another five years... which will take it beyond that great 10 year warranty.
Just exceptional.
I do wish they'd kept it a bit smaller though. I can just imagine that, with a few less pounds and a four-cylinder under the hood, it would have been just as good for city and highway driving... and been even cheaper to maintain.
Small is in and cheaper is always good."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2006
Review 16 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
ADVISED OTHERS TO BUY ONE.,
December 21, 2013
By 65TDY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:40000
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy to drive. Great Price. Many Uses.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Location of some controls could be better.
ReviewOriginationID:4cf4e132b2a3446784e9cf07c3d0d3fa
Make:Kia
Model:Sportage
Vehicle ID:931
"I love this car. I bought it new in 2006. As soon as a few people saw me driving it, they started asking questions. My mail carrier (rural) bought one after seeing mine and talking about it. I retired in 2005 so have not put as many miles on it as I could have. It is around 40,000. However, it has been reliable and will be useful for me for many more years, I hope. I don't use the 4wd much as I live in an area without much snow. It has been useful a few times though. Lots of room inside for carrying. A little difficult for my Daughter-in-law to get in and out of (she has Cerebral Palsy); but really it is a great vehicle. Easy to control, park, etc. I do wish the buttons for 4WD and ESC were in a different location as I have often accidently pushed them when getting in the car...to my surprise later."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
They got it right!,
November 9, 2013
By EricR
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:135100
What's great about this vehicle?:great value, fun to drive, great design!
ReviewOriginationID:961d4e897052473dba35cbef439afba7
Make:Kia
Model:Sportage
Vehicle ID:938
"I bought this car used in 2009 and have loved it since day 1. With the V6 engine this car is very peppy. I get about 21 mpg which is normal for a V6. This has been a very reliable vehicle with no issues beyond normal wear and tear. There are a number of design features that make this vehicle a stellar value. I drive with headlights on all the time and I can just leave the switch on and the headlights automatically turn off when the car is off. The cigarette lighter is always on so I can charge my phone when the vehicle is not running. The back seat folds flat which allows better use of the storage area. The driver seat is very adjustable for driving comfort. This vehicle handles great on the road and is very fun to drive. It handles rough roads very well with adequate ground clearance."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
a lot of car with a modest budget,
March 18, 2011
By PR
from WA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Some time ago I did read 'KIA is the Big Mack of the lot, it gives a lot of caloreis for your buck'. I think that is a most fair observation. I have now been driving KIA Sportage (models 2006/2007)for almost 5 years and I have a troublefree history. Fuel economy is as good as or better than promised. General driving Charateristics are quite OK. It is a comfortable big car, ideal for family use and pretty save. As an advise; make sure you have good tires. That makes a lot of difference on the driving charateristics of the car. With lesser tires the car can be a little iffy with rainy weather. Dealer support is in general excellent (at least with the dealers that did serve me). If I had critic it is that the trade in value for the car is not soo excellent.
All in all a car I can recommed
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
great til 15000 miles,
August 7, 2007
By anonymous
from Alabama
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"No complaints about my 2006 Sportage EX until it hit 15K miles. Now it's having idle/rpm problems; been to the shop 4 times about it. Service dept can't seem to replicate problem, but I have issues every day. The worst part is when it won't hold idle coming to a stop sign and it flat out dies; have to restart and hope it doesn't happen at the next light! I don't feel safe driving in town with this vehicle any more.
On the plus side, there's plenty of room for a family of 4 - even on vacation. Seats are comfy. Fit and finish were impressive. Interior materials exceptional for the price. Lot of cubbies for stuff. Mileage is ok as long as you take some longer trips; city 18 hwy 23; avg about 21. Really enjoyed this sporty ride up until the mechanical issues.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2005 - 2010 Kia Sportage
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
I love my Sportage,
July 11, 2008
By linla
from Los Angeles, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I truly, truly love this car. If only I got better MPG. I get 16MPG, which I guess is normal for a SUV, but given gas prices... Otherwise, I haven't had one problem with in it 3 years of ownership, and I bought it slightly used already. I guess I should admit that I am not car-saavy, I'm not evaluating the motor in my spare time or whatever. I am a casual driver who loves the way this car looks, handles, and never lets me down. I get regular oil changes, and that is it. All my parts are still in top shape after 3 rough years. I used to have an Audi, which I had to get repaired regularly due to the beating it would take from the Los Angeles roads. But my Kia hasn't failed me once. I would buy a new one in a second if they came out with a Hybrid."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.