Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kelley Blue Book.

1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.804 out of 10
8.8
 out of 
10
51 of 51(100%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Review 21 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome 4x4,
November 30, 2007
By larlardad
from Charlotte, N.C.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"An absolute beast! 190 HO horsepower 4.0 Liter, long bed 1991 Commanche 4x4. Rare, PIoneer, 181k and strong as new. Still surf fishing 700 mile round trip, no concern about distance, truck is so reliable.
If you can find one, purchase! Parts readily available due to years of 4.0 engine. Won't need them, only replacement in 181k is water pump so far! Love this truck!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 22 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Truck made out of GOLD,
November 29, 2007
By jasonsjunk
from Nor Cal
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"345K miles over the last 17 years. Need I say more? Rebuilt motor @ 248K but all else is original. Never stranded. KBB undervalues this workhorse. 4.0 inline 6 is the only way to go. Don't even consider 2.3 or 2.6. You'll still get about 19 mpg with the 4.0 and scores of thousands more miles of life. They are somwhat hard to come by as only about #50k were produced between 1986-1992. 88' and on are fuel injected and 91-92 were "high output" but very scarce as only about #5k per year produced as Chrysler phased them out. This truck rocks and I plan to buy one for my kid when the time comes to do so."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome,
November 17, 2007
By dude
from ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Awesome truck i love it. Never had any problems with it, Maintain regualr oil changes and run mobil 1, Great great truck. Owned 5 years now 243k miles, 75k are mine."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 24 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck Built wish they still made them,
October 30, 2007
By RAZ
from Nebraska
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Bought this truck new in 1887, 2.5 litter engine, and 278,000 miles later, it uses no oil and I over heated it twice, because I hit a deer. Only replaced the alternater and starter once, this truck is tough and will handle about anything for that size vehicle. I wish they still made them, Id buy one tomorrow."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 25 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best jeep,
October 28, 2007
By jeep owner
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this is the best jeep that i have ever owned. slightly becuase they are so rare. but they are long lasting and they use the same motor as every other jeep that has a 4.0L. so that means you can find parts for them any where."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 26 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
320,000 and still going,
October 18, 2007
By themathwizard
from Riverside, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have a 92 Jeep Comanche with the 4.0l High Output engine with the 5 speed transmission. This thing is super fast. I replaced the clutch with a CenterForce clutch. Now I can shift into third at 85 MPH. I have never ran fifth gear all the way up. It easily reaches 120 MPH. All parts are original with Jeep logos and made in 1991. So far the engine shows no kind of rebuilding and previous owner had it since '95 and kept all receipts which I read and discarded. No rebuild or major problems. Had no problem passing CA smog. Highly recommend as a performance vehicle that is very reliable. I have put 50,000 miles on it in the last year."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 27 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
tough,
October 4, 2007
By chili
from rapid city, sd
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"170,000 and still going strong. drove it all through high school and now back and forth to college and never had any problems. plus, that 4L with a 5 speed behind is hard to beat in reliability and performance compared to other light dudy truck. i am very pleased with it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
BEST TRUCK EVER PRODUCED,
September 7, 2007
By Renegade
from Georgia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"most reliable truck around, had it since '88 and now its my daily driver. 146k still rollin good"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 29 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Multi-purpose truck,
September 5, 2007
By Offroad Comanche
from Burlington, WI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned three Jeep Comanches in my life. First was an 87 with 430k mi 2wd and that thing ran like no truck I had ever driven. Second was another 87 but a 4x4 with a 4.0L. Again that truck took what ever I could throw at it. It was stock and I maybe put $200 into it in the three years I owned it. I currently am driving a 91 with 4x4 and a 4.0L. Starter went out at 120k but it was the original so it lasted longer than it should have. If you are looking to purchase a Jeep Comanche I would strongly advise you to. With the unibody construction they handle more weight in the bed than a ranger or S10 and with the available 4.0L engine you have more than enough torque to tow 4000lbs or more."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 30 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good little trucks lite 4x4 rig,
August 22, 2007
By 88' 86' comanche owner
from montana
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I currently own two jeep comanche pick up one is a 1988 jeep sportruck 2-wheel drive and a stroker motor. the other is a 1986 comanche XLS with sun roof and bucket seats ect. all stock. I have used and abused both onf the truck and they hold up awsome 288,000 on the 88' and I bought it new the XLS has 152,000 and 50,000 of those are mine, watch out for the BA/10 trans"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 31 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
dependable and tough,
August 22, 2007
By coolhand
from jax
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"The inline 6 is tough and gives you power when you need it. I get 17 mpg with a full load at work. I'm at 160K miles and still going strong."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 32 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
grate 4-wheele drive,
August 5, 2007
By leeper
from pottsville, PA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"good fuel milage and no mechanica trouble because of religous matence"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
21-33 of 33