Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.804 out of 10
8.8
 out of 
10
51 of 51(100%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Review 1 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
YTT,
July 2, 2012
By pete
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:150000
What's great about this vehicle?:good gas mpg, fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:58c034eeed204c6f8058978a43d67c84
"Great bichon mobile very fun just wish it was a bit bigger so i could haul the kids around LOL"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1992
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Nice little truck, lots of power for its class.,
November 17, 2011
By Bagboy36
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:205000
What's great about this vehicle?:great all weather rig, fast and powerful
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no ext cab aval.
ReviewOriginationID:7522f567-ff42-466a-8364-c7c8ef8534c9
"I bought my 1992 comanche not really sure about it but it was priced right. I was impressed at its durability and power. Owned for 4yrs now and not 1 problem, drives fantastic in the snow/rain and meets all my truck needs. A ton of torque for a midsize and will climb a tree if needed. Im now a comanche lover and have been looking for another for my son as he wants mine ( not happening )."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 1992
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I own two,
August 31, 2011
By JpOwner
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:Never Dies, lots of power
What's not so great about this vehicle?:18 miles a gallon
"I got my first 1988 comanche as my first vechile in 1998. I have driven it everywhere from Ohio to Colorado several times and from Columbus to Cleveland many more times. I recently bought another one a 1989 for parts. I don't want to take it apart though because it runs great also. The parts I need mainly a front axle is because I wrecked it. I totaled the car I hit and only had to reattache my wheel and replace a fender. Love them Jeeps"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 1991
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Dang thing won't die!,
July 27, 2011
By Doo Doo
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
"My sister gave me this ugly green duckling she called "Gumby" a few years ago and I figured I'd drive it into the ground. Only problem is: it won't die.
My Comanche only left me stranded once (alternator) and that was because I ignored the check engine light for a few weeks. Another time the truck randomly stalled but a tune up fixed that.
Most people either love it or hate it right off the bat. In my experience the women in my family HATE this truck and have a personal vendetta against it.
But the kids can't wait to ride up front with Dad and beep the horn. Because it's not the prettiest truck around, I don't mind letting friends/neighbors borrow it. RWD with 6 cyl. 4.0 engine runs strong.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 1992
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Little 4x4,
March 4, 2011
By Erik
from San Diego, Ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The Comanche has a great frame/platform for off-roading, with excellent suspension & powertrain, particularly if equipped with the Dana 44 rear axle. Ours is a 1990 that has been all over the USA, including across the Rubicon Trail without a lift-kit (also w/o the oem rear bumper...Smittybilt) but with Rancho 5000's. Nothing exotic on a great truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
There is no truck like a MJ!,
November 24, 2009
By Doc2u
from Phoenix
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this great Jeep truck as second owner in '05 for 600.00 It is 6 cylinder 4x4 and has a 5 speed trans.
It made a loud squealing sound and the windshield visor clip broke on the way home. The ride and power seamed really good for the year and felt almost like new. Even though the faded red paint, torn headliner, ripped drivers seats and the badly dented bed, missing tailgate, and weathered 15" tires, I still think it was one of the best buys I ever made!
The squealing noise turned out to be a clogged sock screen in side the gas tank. I fixed it and the sound went away for good. I added 16' wheels and all terrain tires and it has helped improved the ride. I'll raise it up 3 or 4 inches and change the shocks which will improve it even more. This truck is is quick and tight and has the factory roll bar that really adds to it looks. I am slowly getting all the things fixed on it. One day I will finish it the way I want it and I know now that I would never sell it. I worked at this Docs house and he keeped asking me to sell it. He finally offer to trade his nice but older BMW car for it. His car is worth at least 5k. That was a hard one to pass up let me tell ya! A Pittsburgh guy who is a collector offered 2200 the way it sets. Whats funny about that is it books out at 16-1800. I guess some people just know a good thing when they see one!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
look no further,
November 6, 2009
By dan
from columbus nebraska
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"best darn vehicle ive ever owned, goes through anything, reliable, and just over all a great truck, i have the 2,5, we overhauled it, and now its better than ever, its only 2wd, but im gonna make it 4wd"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
My little Rock Crawler!,
July 10, 2009
By Taz
from Texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I love my little rock crawler. Looks like it's been through WWIII but still can get it with flare! Bought it used from a family member and am sure glad I did!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 9 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comanche...Last of the Mohicans,
May 20, 2009
By EB
from San Diego
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Jeep never really made many Comanches... 5,500 sold per year and only two commercials for it over the entire run. Yet, it was Chrysler's hot rod truck before the Dakota ever got a V8 and it was a very capable off-roader.
We've owned our '90 shortbed Eliminator 4x4 since it was new. With the typical Comanche "upgrades" such as Rancho 5000 shocks, new paint, Smittybuilt rear bumper, a K&N intake and Flowmaster muffler, and --since nearly all the OEM headers cracked over and over-- a Borla tube header, it's been a very capable off-roader, a utility vehicle and a commuter. It's no longer "powerful" in comparison to other small trucks that now commonly have over 200hp, but it's still strong."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
pleasantly surprised,
April 2, 2009
By lhsdriver97
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"i got my comanche last summer from our neighbor for $1300 and 95k miles. wasnt expecting it to last like it has! its quite the ugly truck going down the road in 2009, but that wasnt important. i had issues with the engine overheating a lot at first but once that was resolved its been completely fine. over the winter i hit the ditch pretty hard with it. the light weight truck does not handle well in snow, ice, rain, heavy wind, etc. very bumpy ride but i dont think anyone buying this truck is very interested in ride comfort. after i hit the ditch, there were no mechanical problems to fix. this truck is has surprised me completely"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great truck,
March 4, 2009
By j33p
from Newark DE
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This is a solid truck, I bought mine with 138000 miles, and it has had no mechanical problems yet with the 20000 miles I have put on it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
January 29, 2009
By 91comancheman
from Roanoke,va
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i hate i sold mine but it sold fast and easy and i got more than than KBB suggested was very happy with truck when I had it, excellent reliable and what can i say its a Jeep!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 13 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great truck: a classic!!!,
December 28, 2008
By Jeep Maniac
from Toa Alta, Puerto Rico
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I owned my 1990 SporTruck 4X4 with 4.0L for ten years now, and it don't want to quit!! With only 105k miles on it, have plenty of live to reach the classic designation at its 25 years and for its rarity. My Comanche is well maintained, runs in Mobil 1 oil and had a front suspension repair recently (roads in Puerto Rico are not the best). Now runs like new, and it looks very nice! I changed it from bench seat to buckets, and now its a lot more comfortable. Have no complain for its reliability, because was my daily driver for the last 10 years. Now its having light use to keep it in shape and the A/C working.
I was so pleased with my Comanche, that I bought a new 2002 Jeep Liberty for my wife six years ago, and it was the best choice ever! No parts replaced in six years, only the mandatory factory recalls and the battery two times. That's another road tank!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 14 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Unerrated: Great truck,
November 16, 2008
By dude
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This was my first vehicle, I've had it since I was 16. 4 years later I'm having to replace the steering column because I broke the tilt mechanism and ignition lock. Can tow a trailer with 5 dirtbikes to the races with all gear and tools and food in the bed, no problem. Engine and transmission has decent get up and go due to the loads of Jeep torque and off road gearing! Fun to drive, and great reliability if maintainance is kept up. Have replaced battery and alternator, but that's to be expected with a vehicle 20 years old. Have grown to love my Comanche like a friend, and will be sad when she's replaced. Recommend this truck to anybody looking for decent gas mileage, a fun truck to drive, and reliable and strong work truck in a compact size. Plus, having a little room behind the seats for lunch boxes or extra dry clothes or whatever."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
This trucks a beast,
October 7, 2008
By sunbaked1
from Phoenix,az
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is the timex of trucks,I have had it 20 yrs replaced 2 water pumps,bearings once,radiator 2 times altenator 2 times.Nothing else major.It has 167000 miles and still takes me anywhere I want to go."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 16 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Did me right,
September 17, 2008
By Fiver
from Pemberville, Ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I only ever had to replace 1 water pump and 1 radiator. With basic maintenance it will run forever."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 17 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Truck Ever!!!!,
May 20, 2008
By sirlancelot
from Orlando, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is the BEST truck ever made. It is highly reliable, great performance ( I have beaten Ford Mustang GTs) freezing cold A/C, the only thing I need is front brakes & wheel bearings. Parts availability is great since it shares the same underpinnings as a Cherokee. I would strongly recommend this truck to anyone looking for a good truck to drive around and carry a load as necessary."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 18 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I love,
May 15, 2008
By Bunnie
from Eugene,Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"this Truck is my life i can't imagin a better truck for me there are a few minor problems with it as would be expected with any older car or truck but i can't even lower my self to trade this one in Ilove it I love it
I love It Ilove it Iloveit................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................i don't feel like the seats are as comfortable as they could be but thats not a good reason not to keep it...............................................................................................................................................................................................
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 19 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Glad to be a Jeep owner after reading these review,
April 18, 2008
By neener
from California
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Bought my 1988 Jeep Comanche 4x4 truck, automatic, 1 1/2 years ago. It has 152K miles. Prev owner apparently didn't care of it, have had to put some work into it, but sounds like money well-spent after reading all these reviews. I live in a desert town of 25K and get compliments on it all over town (seems like its one of a kind here). Bottom line, IT IS a great small truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 20 for 1987 - 1992 Jeep Comanche Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
best truck ever owned,
December 13, 2007
By stretch
from columbia mo
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i have 89 jeep comanche that has just about 150 thousand miles on it now and it runs like it came off theshow room floor it has its problems but there just normal maintnice problems u have to take care of i would most deffnitly say that its the best truck that i have had and driven of its size and the power is incredible for a truck the size that it is i mean wow i cant belive how good these littlle trucks are on reliability"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs