Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kelley Blue Book.

1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6

Average Customer Rating:
9.162 out of 10
9.2
 out of 
10
73 of 74(99%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Review 1 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Value for the $$ You can get!!,
August 2, 2012
By Speedway Mike
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:Value for the dollar
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Minor trim and electric glitches
ReviewOriginationID:6afaf8260b01405bbfa164a17c0d1b10
"My '96 XJ6 is one of the finest cars I have ever owned. I now have just under 140k miles, with virtually no majior problems, just routine service. Yes, after a while the head liner sags, and the digital readout on the radio looks funny, but she doesn't leak or use any oil, runs cool, and is a blast to drive. I've been told the '96 and '97's were the best, and nearly bullet proof. What other car that listed for nearly $60,000 new, can you buy for around $6000, and have such a reliable, fun car that attracts favorable comments everywhere you go? I'm 64 years old, and have owned a great many cars, but very few could measure up to my Jag!! Everyone should own one once in their lives. Why drive a Kia???"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1996
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Most powerful car I haver had,
June 14, 2012
By Jimbo
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
5
Definitely
Approximate mileage:141000
What's great about this vehicle?:Power; only one of 170 of these ever made
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Maintenance/repairs
ReviewOriginationID:c66ec3948ab84d9db2bf0abff6a3108a
"Bought used with 129000 miles 1 year ago. Since then have had to spend 2000 on it for repairs....oil leaks,heating valve,loose bolt,and AC problems. Have been repaired. Cannot match it for passing power, acceleration,smooth ride still. Engine will last forever, if the rest of car can make it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 1996
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Still Love it after 15 years!!,
March 26, 2012
By Frank
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:163000
ReviewOriginationID:43602ab139eb4b349abf77c1f326cf7c
"Awesome car!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1996
Review 4 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Very good car but not practical with a family,
March 18, 2012
By BlackCat
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:90000
What's great about this vehicle?:Not many out there
ReviewOriginationID:06dfb04e-ac80-41e5-831e-d47f8ebcefd6
"We got this car used with 42k on the clock and have enjoyed it. We now have two young children and the car is not really a family car. It sits low to the ground and rides beautifully but is not very practical as a family daily driver. Nothing like a Jag out there. This is the last of the inline six cars and the repairs have been minimal."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location DE
Year 1997
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Best car I've ever owned,
February 4, 2012
By smajson
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:169000
ReviewOriginationID:c3122fa6-1a6a-48d4-a252-571d92b45857
"This car is a joy to drive. The comfort level is second to none. Until it reached 160,000 miles it was as affordable as any car I've ever driven. It still averages 22 mpg driving both city and highway miles every day."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1996
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Best Jaguar ever-comfort and style.,
January 23, 2012
By sbond
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:79000
ReviewOriginationID:56197c1f-1397-48a4-a056-a20cb1fa9fb9
"Great features, very good power, very very easy ride with all the bells and whistles...love this car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NV
Year 1996
Review 7 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
My 5th Jaguar,
January 9, 2012
By Jess
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:96000
What's great about this vehicle?:Once you drive a Jaguar, your hooked
What's not so great about this vehicle?:My cup holders are flimsy
ReviewOriginationID:0c162669-3d77-4d83-8e24-89a30dd4c837
"My 96 Van Ven Plas is my 5th Jaguar. I have owned BMW and Mercedes, I liked them both, but the Jaguar has that certain something that the others don't " Elegance "
It's not one thing, but the complete package that makes the jaguar a exclusive automobile.
They are reliable, drop dead gorgeous in a very stately manner, they are silky smooth to drive.
The wood , the leather, the styling. BMW , Mercedes , Audi, Caddilac has that too, but the Jaguar is just able to put it together in a classic and more beautifull way.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 1996
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
best car,
November 2, 2011
By Joe
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:80000
ReviewOriginationID:2b4fbcaa-8f6e-403f-839c-2ad0fd8df73f
"This is a great car"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1996
Review 9 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Never have a problem with this car.,
October 31, 2011
By Fuzzy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
ReviewOriginationID:4db1e830-7685-4619-8596-e48a494c881b
"I have had this car for over four years, and I've never had anything done to it other than oil changes. Well, I did have a big stereo put in."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 1997
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Very Fun to Drive,
October 25, 2011
By Tarheelblue
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:197500
ReviewOriginationID:2e4a4ecb-cc37-4955-ae8b-bfebcefc1103
"great handling, feel safe while driving, looks very classy"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1995
Review 11 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 YEARS OWNERSHIP,
October 21, 2011
By NIPPER
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:46000
What's great about this vehicle?:GREAT LOOKING LOTS OF SNOB APPEAL.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:NOT EASY ENTRY OR EXIT UNLESS YOUR A SMALL PERSON.
ReviewOriginationID:eac7785d-aba2-4d67-b87b-384f2e805b12
"46000 MILES MINT RACING GREEN. BEST JAGUAR EVER. LAST OF TWIN CAM SIX'S. 10 YEAR OWNERSHIP NO PROBLEMS AT ALL EVERTHING WORKS. PARTS EXPENSIVE WHEN YOU NEED THEM. ALWAYS DRAWS POSITIVE COMMENTS. WOULD NOT HAVE ANY TROUBLE SELLING. HAD A 1987 SERIES III LOVED THAT TOO BUT REQUIRED
APPROX $2000 A YEAR IN PREVENTED MAINTENANCE. THIS IS THE LAST OF THE SIX'S AND PROBABLY THE BEST EVER MADE. GOING TO KEEP IT TILL I DIE.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MA
Year 1997
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
have it for 5 years,very dependable and comfortabl,
October 12, 2011
By dd
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:135000
ReviewOriginationID:9e6384f2-d2f8-475e-a0f3-d30c0c3099a1
"very happy with it and cannot imagine what to replace it with thats even comparable"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1995
Review 13 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
great car best ever,
October 3, 2011
By lady c
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:148000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had a lasting interior/outside exterior
"best ever vehcile rides great good traveling car loves the gold bronze look likes the 4 door for easy access in and out of the car. like the many electronic controls with the windows, the seats like the cat on the hood."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1996
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Long live the cat,
January 3, 2011
By Hrfirearms
from Denver, Co.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought the '96 XJ6 w/traction control in '98. Beautiful, spirited, and quite reliable. With the proper tires, winter driving is a no drama event. Repairs and parts are expensive. Jaguar is very proud of their green box. Thank goodnes it rarely needs serious repair. Jaguars' former lack of reliability, pre '96, keeps the resale value low. Good for those who do not wish to spend a fortune on the purchase of a classic vehicle. The only complaints I have are that the E brake handle intrudes rudely into my thigh, the third brake light falls off and is nearly impossible to stick back on to the glass. An appropriatly colored rolled up hand towel solves the problem though, and the clip that keeps the head liner from drooping away from the sliding moon roof is cheap plastic and prone to breakage. Niggling complaints to be sure. I love the way this automoblie looks, handles, and sounds. I am a dog person, but long live this cat!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Simplest the best,
July 2, 2010
By Big D
from Newport Beach, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned many Jaguars over the last 30 years and this model is simply the best. Classic styling, incredibly comfortable, spirited handling and excellent gas mileage for a really roomy four door sedan. The car is still a head turner and if properly maintained will last you for 20 years. I have had mine for 15 and it's like the day I bought it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
BEST car for the money,
May 10, 2010
By Kyle
from Branford, CT
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought mine for $2,500 off of some guy I found on craigslist. Put new tires on it and fixed a small rear end problem, $750 later I have a brand new car! This thing rides like a dream, handles like a dream and looks even better! People still think the car is worth 70k! Beware though, you will get more glares than you ever thought possible in this car....especially if you're younger, people think you're a spoiled kid!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
sexy xj6,
February 25, 2010
By sexyxj
from illinois
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I had a xj6 95 it was the best car i ever had. When you press the gas pedal to the floor. That car would burn out. I bought it at 196000 miles. Sold it at 258000. This is a car will make peoples heads turn. The seats have so many settings. The car is easy to work on. But, if you do not know how to work on cars i would not buy any luxury car. The parts are a little more expensive but if you do the work your self you save. Now I am about to buy a 96 xj6 with 200000 miles and im not worried at all. if it needs a engine $1900 if it needs a trans 1350. having a car that has so much style and luxury priceless"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Car,
November 5, 2009
By Ambac1
from Stamford, CT
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned by 1996 xj6 jaguar for over three years now and I must say it's been a decent car. Please note if you own this car for over two years you WILL have problems. I have found it cost about 1k a year to keep the car on the road and I have less than 100k miles. That is with not the cost using a dealership repair shop which I have found to be twice the cost. If the car did not look so great after 13 years I would most likely gotten rid of it. But since the body style looks great I don't think I would ever be able to part with it (unless I replaced it with a xj8 from 1998-2003). Overall don't buy this car if you can't handle some steep repair bills once and a while but if you get past that it's a nice car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
A dream car to own and drive,
August 8, 2009
By silver fox
from Paso Robles, CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I love driving this car. For both short and long drives. And people still stop, admire and complement the beauty of its design even now as a 15 year old car. A real classic."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 20 for 1995 - 1997 Jaguar XJ6
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Nice ride,
July 22, 2009
By jagman82
from DC
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This car is serious. I get looks when I pass the honeys in this baby. Its SMOOTH. runs like a top. I gave 4 stars b.c there is always room for improvement. Too bad insurance is sky high in our nation's capitol. I hate all insurance companies."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.