Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo

Average Customer Rating:
7.943 out of 10
7.9
 out of 
10
145 of 157(92%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Review 41 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great truck,
February 12, 2012
By mudd man
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:200600
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive on and off road
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had to put aftermarket cupholders on the dash
ReviewOriginationID:a3893255-73eb-4281-af95-651e8eedf078
"there could be a little more room in the cab but other than that this truck runs great has a little knock in the rear end even after every last little part was replaced. but it runs great and drives pretty good. i took it off roading and had the mud comeing in the doors and she still kept going didint even cower down pure power!!!!!!!!!! this little 2.3 ltr is sick"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1993
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
reliable,
December 17, 2011
By k
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:268000
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy to drive. The 4wd will get you where you want
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poor gas milage for a v6.
ReviewOriginationID:a5a31f75-d3dc-43e1-8d65-e75ac5615aed
"I have owned this vehicle for many years. It has 268,000 miles on it and still running strong. It has the original engine and drive train in it. The 3.2 engine is quick and responsive however.... I feel it is not enough engine for a 5000 lb vehicle. The milage is under 20 highway. It seems the engine has too work too hard to move the vehicle down the road. Over all it is a good, reliable suv. If they still made them I would buy another one."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ID
Year 1997
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Small but good car to drive.,
December 12, 2011
By fred
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:132000
What's great about this vehicle?:price, fun to drive, dependable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:need cup holders and more room
ReviewOriginationID:7ea33dea-1dd4-4b1d-86ae-8c23209cb6cd
"This is a verry good car just need more room for the driver. I am 5'7" tall and felt that the seat needed to go back more as I was driving."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 1996
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
outstanding car,
August 25, 2010
By dboy75
from Pittsburg, PA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my Isuzu with 65000 miles on it and paid 2500 for it. never had any major problems with it. The pressure plate"clutch" went on it about 95000 miles. not bad considering i learned to drive a standard on it. getting it to run right after changin the clutch was a pain, seems like no one had a clue what to do but a little screw on the pedel needed adjusted. somethin so simple was such a major thing since dealers and mechanics didnt have a clue what was wrong, thank god for the internet. its amazing in the snow. being from pa we get some nasty weather and it handles it like a pro, rarley needing 4wd. when i bought it it had a little surface rust on it but the guy i bought it from let it sit for about a year and a half and was easy to fix. when i bought it the radio didnt work and the speakers were less then desirable but a good cd player and subwoofers fixed that. one of the best cars i have ever bought besides my lincoln mark VIII"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Rusted Mess,
February 14, 2009
By /sigh
from OH
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I loved my Rodeo, great SUV, ran like a champ. However, Isuzu didn't coat the frame well and now I have a very nice looking worthless vehicle. The frame is totally rusted through. Engine/trans and everything else is in wonderful condition but the frame makes it a lawn ornament.
Before you make any decision to buy one of these have it put up on a rack and the frame gone over well."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
95 Isuzu Rodeo,
May 30, 2008
By Larry
from Dayton, OH
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Bought ours new in 95 and it's been a reliable car. Fun in the snow in 4WD. The ticking arrived around 80K and there's now 118K on it. It's a little annoying (tried Rislone qt. w/each oil change and it helps a little). Got into a little fender bender a couple of years back and the insurance co. wanted to total it, offered me a check and I told them the car was worth more to me to fix (cosmetic front end damage--no frame), so they salvaged it, I took it to a body shop, they replaced the front bumper & grill, pulled out the rest and told me the ac and radiator were still holding pressure. The car is bulletproof. It handles like it's not an SUV, the shocks have been long shot, but running on the leaf springs isn't an issue with me anyhow. Fun car, still has styling that belies its age......"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
fun and reliable,
April 14, 2008
By duke
from Herriman, UT
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Fun to drive. Dependable. Never had a problem with it that wasn't completely my fault (like slamming into a curb going 20) got me through a tough winter. decent gas mileage."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best 4x4 I've ever had,
February 1, 2008
By One Rodeo
from Northern Virginia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I purchase a 97 4x4 with 113K over 2yrs ago. All the car needed was some TLC. Since I didn't know the history of the truck I did a major tun-up at 120K. Plugs,radiator flush, trans flush, H2Opump, T-Belt with all Cam seals, Tensioner ect. Differential oil chance, brakes, tire balance. This truck has been great since I purchase it. The only problem is that the rear right window will not open. And the confort is not the best and it could use more cup holders."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Darn Good SUV,
July 9, 2007
By Billy Bob
from Crestwood, MO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Bought new in October, 1993. Overall has been trouble free. Has only needed the usual repairs and replacement parts-tires, battery, starter, AC compressor, alternator, muffler-not bad for 13+ years. Paint and body in very good shape (I've had a couple of Ford products that had the paint die in about 2 years, even with regular washing and waxing-the Rodeo's paint is still smooth and glossy). I have had no major mechanical problems. Strong engine,reliable transmission.
I'd buy another if they still made them-now Isuzu is nothing but a tarted up, rebadged GM product. There goes the quality."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Better than expected!,
August 24, 2007
By nettie
from UT
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"For a '95 and with 166000 miles, I was very impressed with how it runs. I've had it for 2+ years now and still runs impressively well. Suspension could use some work but never gives me an ounce of trouble even when it is -0 outside. It has been able to handle anything off road that I can throw at it and it just smiles and keeps right on coming. Amazing vehicle for the price. Even the original clutch still going strong."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Dependable Vehicle,
July 17, 2007
By Steve
from Kansas
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"1992 Rodeo 4x4 Manual Transmission 3.1L
I bought this vehicle used about 4 years ago. I've delt with a few small issues (U-Joints, water pump, Rotor Module, Drive Shaft Bearing), but these were really due to age and mileage, not the quailty of the vehicle. It has never left me stranded, and always starts. The 4 wheel drive works well in the ice/snow. The only real complaint is the lack of power. The 3.1 litre engine only has 120 hp. My current gas mileage is about what the specifications stated back in 1992. 14/15 city and 18/19 highway. If you find one in good mechanical condition at a fair price, buy it, it won't let you down.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
worth every penny,
December 13, 2012
By festerfm
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:decent gas mileage, very reliable, easy to work on
What's not so great about this vehicle?:rough ride, parts hard to find, not many rust free
ReviewOriginationID:36b51eacdee14941857bb612ad237f4c
"this was my daily driver for 4 years now. never EVER been stuck. one of the most reliable vehicles i have ever owned. highway mileage was well above epa estimates. i own a 6cyl 5 speed 4wd model. 22hwy/17city. only parts replaced due to failure were the 4wd vacuum switches and front pass window regulator. was used originally as my daily driver. i bought a beater car and this became my toy hauler. at 165k i changed my timing belt and water pump only because i was nervous that it would eventually need it since the mileage was getting up there. never broke down in the 60k miles i have owned it. great for the snow also! when considering this truck to purchase, i also looked at the nissan pathfinder, mitsubishi montero, and toyota 4runner of about the same model year. chose the rodeo due to it had the most power from the factory to tow with and everything else was just an added bonus."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
a vid of the exhaust
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1997
19 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Even though this car is older I love it,
September 25, 2013
By Polly
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:175000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Sony Stereo with cd player, great sound.
ReviewOriginationID:5fcdce89049e4bf39cca44bba350856f
Make:Isuzu
Model:Rodeo
Vehicle ID:7876
"I bought this car for $1,500.00 and it has been worth every penny I put in it. I cant believe it was only that much. I have had it for about 6 years and it never fails. Ever. The only problem I have had with it is the power windows work kinda weird. One doesnt work. But it has Air so no problem. Love the car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1995
10 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Rodeo is the way to go,
October 2, 2008
By pmdc961
from Lawrenceville, GA.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I just have to review this vehicle, I have owned my '91 since it had 27 miles om it. I drove it off the showroom floor and never looked back. This truck now has 205,000 miles on it and I use it as a daily driver. I just made a 1,000 mile road trip to Florida(with the dog and loaded with goodies for the week). I had the spark plugs and wires changed and the differential changed prior to leaving(value casket too) and avergae an amazing 21.7 miles a gallon. If you have been paying attention to the gas shortage in the south, I really needed good fuel economy. My only complaint about this truck(and the newer ones too) is the driver's footbox. On longer trips when you use the gas pedal for extended times, you can get a nasty little cramp in you right upper thigh and buttocks. There just isn't a comfortable position to get into. But other than that nothing.
After 200,000 miles I have had to replace the brakes, rotors, clutch, tires and a value cover casket. And that is it. I have done regular oil changes and I'm not a hot rod driver(but the wife is). I plan it keep this truck if for nothing else, Buddy Roe(the dog) like to go for rides in it. That way he has his own window."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
its a fun car good gas saver,
September 28, 2011
By tt
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:yes
What's not so great about this vehicle?:yes
"its a very good car fun to drive and play in good on gas go in and threw things thats takes a 4x4"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1995
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Solid,
July 26, 2010
By Greg
from Denver, Colorado
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I've bought my Rodeo new in 1994 and have been driving it ever since (as a second camping/ski trip vehicle since 2007). Absolutely solid. 5 speed manual is still on the original clutch with 232k. Been to Mexico, Canada, Alaska (last year from CO with 227k at start), and most of the USA in this rig. Always solid. A few expected repairs along the way but nothing major thus far. Gas mileage is 21mpg averaged over variety of terrain (city, mountain, highway). Handles well in the snow. Cons - a handful to drive in gusty conditions at highway speed. No cupholder in my model (been clamping coffee cups between my legs for 16 years). Never going to get rid of mine - I expect another 5 years out it at least. Its a member of the family."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Best SUV for the money, period.,
October 22, 2008
By Mike
from Roanoke, VA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I've had this car for almost a year. It had 192000 on it and was barely leaking oil after I ran the tar out of it. It is much smoother than my previous car, a cherokee, has better horsepower, 20 mpg from my experience, is very roomy and all around the best deal I could imagine. Today, I t-boned a minivan doing 40. My car flipped, and while it is totalled, I am almost completely unharmed. I didn't even have a seatbelt on. It's one of the most reliable, well built, and safe SUV's ever made, and they're cheap."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I love this car,
April 2, 2015
By Jenn
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:158000
ReviewOriginationID:4e0f4a5de707405b8873c62d324374ad
Make:Isuzu
Model:Rodeo
Vehicle ID:7923
"I honestly love this car always have. Been in the family for years. So glad to have this vehicle. Its old and worn down now but its treated me well for many years."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 1997
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Very good SUV,
November 18, 2010
By Pebbles
from Phoenix, Arizona
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This vehicle was perfect for me for the longest time until I needed a vehicle for hauling horses, boats and things of that nature. Otherwise I would still be driving it. Very good SUV."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
my first 4wd vehicle,
August 11, 2014
By on
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Not At All
6
Definitely
Approximate mileage:126000
What's great about this vehicle?:gr8 in snow and on highway. highway mileage good
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Electrical problems the curse
ReviewOriginationID:47016ce177ed4f66bdd890c28d9e0a22
Make:Isuzu
Model:Rodeo
Vehicle ID:7876
"I bought this 8 yrs ago and the 2nd year of ownership I had to shell out $2200 for wiring harness at a dealer. The car loves the highway and the cold weather. Ran great. Unfortunately the past 3 years I have been plagued with electrical problems. Expensive repairs. The latest is all lights work with the exception of illumination (running lights, speedometer) Repeated $$ efforts to correct this have failed, I don't want to but I have to get rid of it. Too bad!! Other than a lot of rust and the previous mentioned issues this car was GREAT."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MA
Year 1995
8 of 14 people found this review helpful.