Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo

Average Customer Rating:
7.923 out of 10
7.9
 out of 
10
143 of 155(92%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Review 41 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
if you want your every penny back get this suv,
November 22, 2007
By jaydee
from new jersey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"ihave 96 rodeo ls with 98000 milage and it run like deer i never had major problem in last 2 year so igot a an other isuzu trooper98 if you are looking for low price great performance storng engine reliable suv that is my babes"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
energizer bunny,
November 10, 2007
By kanipshu
from Illinois
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I will tell you what! This may not be everyone's cup of tea, but at 15 years and climbing this vehicle has been dependible to the end. Never have I been stranded.
The parts are often pricey, but even with the few perks I have it runs as is necessary and likely beyond anyone's(including my own) expectations."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Off Road,
October 15, 2007
By newton
from Bozeman, Montana
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned my Rodeo for about 5 years now. This SUV is very tough and extreamly reliable! Mine has 190,000 miles on it and have not yet needed to done anything major to the SUV. Furthermore, this has been great off road and in the mud; living in Montana, I have taken this Rodeo up to the mountains and hunting and have not yet gotten stuck. Peforms good in the snow. I would recommend this to anybody!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Excellent,
October 5, 2007
By Traveller
from Norfolk, Va
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Rolled my 95 off the lot in 95. Been everywhere with it, in blizzards, -15 below, heater works great. Wider than my new Jeep Cherokee (2005) Overland model. I have 188,000 miles on it and it is still going strong. Off road travelling in the middle of winter in the woods in Michigan, to basking in the sun in Florida during the summer.... excellent. Wish they still made them like this....."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Better than expected!,
August 24, 2007
By nettie
from UT
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"For a '95 and with 166000 miles, I was very impressed with how it runs. I've had it for 2+ years now and still runs impressively well. Suspension could use some work but never gives me an ounce of trouble even when it is -0 outside. It has been able to handle anything off road that I can throw at it and it just smiles and keeps right on coming. Amazing vehicle for the price. Even the original clutch still going strong."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great SUV,
August 20, 2007
By Freak_Man
from Chico, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I have ownd 2 of these suvs. i really love these suvs they are great. i owned a 93 put over 220000miles on it and the transmision went out, that was the only major problem but after that many mile, it is to be expected. Soon also i bought a 95 isuzu rodeo i bought it with 100000 miles on it and now i have 150000 miles on it, these suvs are great, they are very reliable, have lots of power for a small 3.2 lt motor (175hp) ok mpg. THEY ARE FUN SUVS."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliable & Tough,
August 7, 2007
By Nikki
from Corpus Christi, TX
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I would definately purchase another Isuzu Rodeo. It has been a very reliable and tough truck!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very Great Vehicle for All purposes,
July 15, 2007
By modar
from Los Angeles, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I had one of these and it was great for me. Very minor service required for a vehicle. Great performance/power. Lots of room. Excelent choice."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliable Vehicle,
February 19, 2011
By Kellydog
from Olympia, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this Rodeo new in 1997. It now has 243,xxx miles and is still running strong. I've only had to replace the alternator, plus normal belts, etc. I will continue to drive this until it drops. Only downside is not much leg room in front seat and drink holders are difficult/impossible to use. I would buy this vehicle again in a heartbeat. No regrets whatsoever!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Most Reliable Vehicle I Have Owned,
November 26, 2010
By Badgerman
from Lakewood, Washington
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this vehicle new in 1994. It now has 110,000 miles on it and it is still going strong. The only substantial repair I have done on the vehicle is replace the clutch, timing belt & water pump(when due). Other than that, just put gas in it and drive. I purchased the vehicle in FL and drove it cross country to Alaska, where I drove it in the winters for six years. Affordable to maintain and easy to work on. I would get another one of these in a heart beat! Highly recommend!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I do not want to sell it but its time has come...,
October 29, 2011
By LaPrz
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:131000
What's great about this vehicle?:Minimal shop visits, just oil changes.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Hard to find original parts
ReviewOriginationID:b18de74d-3bfa-49ee-bb95-6e1962adf98f
"I would love to be able to find a newer one that would be as good as mine. This is a great car, perfect size, strong, reliable, I am a woman and I enjoy the feel of driving my Rodeo."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location International
Year 1997
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
worth every penny,
December 13, 2012
By festerfm
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:decent gas mileage, very reliable, easy to work on
What's not so great about this vehicle?:rough ride, parts hard to find, not many rust free
ReviewOriginationID:36b51eacdee14941857bb612ad237f4c
"this was my daily driver for 4 years now. never EVER been stuck. one of the most reliable vehicles i have ever owned. highway mileage was well above epa estimates. i own a 6cyl 5 speed 4wd model. 22hwy/17city. only parts replaced due to failure were the 4wd vacuum switches and front pass window regulator. was used originally as my daily driver. i bought a beater car and this became my toy hauler. at 165k i changed my timing belt and water pump only because i was nervous that it would eventually need it since the mileage was getting up there. never broke down in the 60k miles i have owned it. great for the snow also! when considering this truck to purchase, i also looked at the nissan pathfinder, mitsubishi montero, and toyota 4runner of about the same model year. chose the rodeo due to it had the most power from the factory to tow with and everything else was just an added bonus."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
a vid of the exhaust
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1997
14 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great SUV!,
September 24, 2011
By DiverBon
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:148000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun driving SUV
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage not the greatest
"This has been one of the most fun SUV's I have owned. It has enough power with the 3.9 V6 to get up into hiway transit and yet smooth for the urbanites that venture into the wilderness. Thought my Rodeo isn't a 4x4, It has taken me many places cars and lesser suv's would fear to go. Comfortable on long drives, it rides very well and is a very stable SUV..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1996
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Rusted Mess,
February 14, 2009
By /sigh
from OH
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I loved my Rodeo, great SUV, ran like a champ. However, Isuzu didn't coat the frame well and now I have a very nice looking worthless vehicle. The frame is totally rusted through. Engine/trans and everything else is in wonderful condition but the frame makes it a lawn ornament.
Before you make any decision to buy one of these have it put up on a rack and the frame gone over well."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Perfect for small farm use!,
March 12, 2012
By CC
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:220000
What's great about this vehicle?:The size is perfect
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cup holders or CD player
ReviewOriginationID:c6edd266-483a-4fc3-8b6a-0f3d3db4b507
"The Rodeo is the perfect vehicle for our small farm, we can lay the back seat down and have plenty of room for feed or even hay or put the back seat up and have room for the grand children."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 1997
15 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Even though this car is older I love it,
September 25, 2013
By Polly
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:175000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Sony Stereo with cd player, great sound.
ReviewOriginationID:5fcdce89049e4bf39cca44bba350856f
Make:Isuzu
Model:Rodeo
Vehicle ID:7876
"I bought this car for $1,500.00 and it has been worth every penny I put in it. I cant believe it was only that much. I have had it for about 6 years and it never fails. Ever. The only problem I have had with it is the power windows work kinda weird. One doesnt work. But it has Air so no problem. Love the car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1995
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
its a fun car good gas saver,
September 28, 2011
By tt
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:yes
What's not so great about this vehicle?:yes
"its a very good car fun to drive and play in good on gas go in and threw things thats takes a 4x4"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1995
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Best SUV for the money, period.,
October 22, 2008
By Mike
from Roanoke, VA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I've had this car for almost a year. It had 192000 on it and was barely leaking oil after I ran the tar out of it. It is much smoother than my previous car, a cherokee, has better horsepower, 20 mpg from my experience, is very roomy and all around the best deal I could imagine. Today, I t-boned a minivan doing 40. My car flipped, and while it is totalled, I am almost completely unharmed. I didn't even have a seatbelt on. It's one of the most reliable, well built, and safe SUV's ever made, and they're cheap."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
my first 4wd vehicle,
August 11, 2014
By on
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Not At All
6
Definitely
Approximate mileage:126000
What's great about this vehicle?:gr8 in snow and on highway. highway mileage good
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Electrical problems the curse
ReviewOriginationID:47016ce177ed4f66bdd890c28d9e0a22
Make:Isuzu
Model:Rodeo
Vehicle ID:7876
"I bought this 8 yrs ago and the 2nd year of ownership I had to shell out $2200 for wiring harness at a dealer. The car loves the highway and the cold weather. Ran great. Unfortunately the past 3 years I have been plagued with electrical problems. Expensive repairs. The latest is all lights work with the exception of illumination (running lights, speedometer) Repeated $$ efforts to correct this have failed, I don't want to but I have to get rid of it. Too bad!! Other than a lot of rust and the previous mentioned issues this car was GREAT."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MA
Year 1995
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
great styling, poor quality,
February 22, 2012
By bobby
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not At All
4
Definitely
Approximate mileage:177000
Reason for Sale:unreliable
What's great about this vehicle?:great styling, drives great
What's not so great about this vehicle?:poor quality, under powered, radio is too far away
ReviewOriginationID:23c931f4-65fc-422f-98aa-e4cb8c5d6510
"I bought a Rodeo because they look great and it seemed like a nice little SUV. After replacing the engine once and the transmission 3 times i am done with this vehicle. The build quality is just garbage. The transmissions are made out of tissue paper and the engines have a problem with the oil passages that cause an aweful lifter "tick" other than that i love the vehicle. It drives great, looks great and they are inexpensive. On a side note, the radio is way too low and impossible to reach while driving."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location UT
Year 1994
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.