Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo

Average Customer Rating:
7.923 out of 10
7.9
 out of 
10
143 of 155(92%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Review 41 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Most Reliable Vehicle I Have Owned,
November 26, 2010
By Badgerman
from Lakewood, Washington
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this vehicle new in 1994. It now has 110,000 miles on it and it is still going strong. The only substantial repair I have done on the vehicle is replace the clutch, timing belt & water pump(when due). Other than that, just put gas in it and drive. I purchased the vehicle in FL and drove it cross country to Alaska, where I drove it in the winters for six years. Affordable to maintain and easy to work on. I would get another one of these in a heart beat! Highly recommend!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I do not want to sell it but its time has come...,
October 29, 2011
By LaPrz
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:131000
What's great about this vehicle?:Minimal shop visits, just oil changes.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Hard to find original parts
ReviewOriginationID:b18de74d-3bfa-49ee-bb95-6e1962adf98f
"I would love to be able to find a newer one that would be as good as mine. This is a great car, perfect size, strong, reliable, I am a woman and I enjoy the feel of driving my Rodeo."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location International
Year 1997
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 years strong,
November 23, 2010
By guitarmissy
from New Mexico
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Comfortable ride. No mechanical problems. Great value for an SUV of this quality. Interior is still intact.
Only negative is the lack of soda holder.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great vehicle!,
April 13, 2008
By Colorado Chad
from colorado
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Thus far, this has ben a great vehicle. Went from a 1988 Pathfinder that I put 200,000K on so I had high expectations. Have not been dissapointed at all. The one issue as has been mentioned by others is the clicking sound from the engine. One mechanic said it is the rocker bars and the engine would eventually need replaced. Took it to another guy and he said that was crazy- common problem for these vehicles. started running 5w30 in it and helped alot. Others have suggested running high detergent oil, like 15w40.
Sluggish performance on mountain passes, etc. but still manages fine. Rear seat latch broke, but other than that, a great vehicle all around. Will likely keep for many years if the durability keeps up."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
worth every penny,
December 13, 2012
By festerfm
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:decent gas mileage, very reliable, easy to work on
What's not so great about this vehicle?:rough ride, parts hard to find, not many rust free
ReviewOriginationID:36b51eacdee14941857bb612ad237f4c
"this was my daily driver for 4 years now. never EVER been stuck. one of the most reliable vehicles i have ever owned. highway mileage was well above epa estimates. i own a 6cyl 5 speed 4wd model. 22hwy/17city. only parts replaced due to failure were the 4wd vacuum switches and front pass window regulator. was used originally as my daily driver. i bought a beater car and this became my toy hauler. at 165k i changed my timing belt and water pump only because i was nervous that it would eventually need it since the mileage was getting up there. never broke down in the 60k miles i have owned it. great for the snow also! when considering this truck to purchase, i also looked at the nissan pathfinder, mitsubishi montero, and toyota 4runner of about the same model year. chose the rodeo due to it had the most power from the factory to tow with and everything else was just an added bonus."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
a vid of the exhaust
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1997
17 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great SUV!,
September 24, 2011
By DiverBon
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:148000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun driving SUV
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage not the greatest
"This has been one of the most fun SUV's I have owned. It has enough power with the 3.9 V6 to get up into hiway transit and yet smooth for the urbanites that venture into the wilderness. Thought my Rodeo isn't a 4x4, It has taken me many places cars and lesser suv's would fear to go. Comfortable on long drives, it rides very well and is a very stable SUV..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1996
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great truck,
February 12, 2012
By mudd man
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:200600
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive on and off road
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had to put aftermarket cupholders on the dash
ReviewOriginationID:a3893255-73eb-4281-af95-651e8eedf078
"there could be a little more room in the cab but other than that this truck runs great has a little knock in the rear end even after every last little part was replaced. but it runs great and drives pretty good. i took it off roading and had the mud comeing in the doors and she still kept going didint even cower down pure power!!!!!!!!!! this little 2.3 ltr is sick"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1993
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
outstanding car,
August 25, 2010
By dboy75
from Pittsburg, PA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my Isuzu with 65000 miles on it and paid 2500 for it. never had any major problems with it. The pressure plate"clutch" went on it about 95000 miles. not bad considering i learned to drive a standard on it. getting it to run right after changin the clutch was a pain, seems like no one had a clue what to do but a little screw on the pedel needed adjusted. somethin so simple was such a major thing since dealers and mechanics didnt have a clue what was wrong, thank god for the internet. its amazing in the snow. being from pa we get some nasty weather and it handles it like a pro, rarley needing 4wd. when i bought it it had a little surface rust on it but the guy i bought it from let it sit for about a year and a half and was easy to fix. when i bought it the radio didnt work and the speakers were less then desirable but a good cd player and subwoofers fixed that. one of the best cars i have ever bought besides my lincoln mark VIII"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Rusted Mess,
February 14, 2009
By /sigh
from OH
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I loved my Rodeo, great SUV, ran like a champ. However, Isuzu didn't coat the frame well and now I have a very nice looking worthless vehicle. The frame is totally rusted through. Engine/trans and everything else is in wonderful condition but the frame makes it a lawn ornament.
Before you make any decision to buy one of these have it put up on a rack and the frame gone over well."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
95 Isuzu Rodeo,
May 30, 2008
By Larry
from Dayton, OH
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Bought ours new in 95 and it's been a reliable car. Fun in the snow in 4WD. The ticking arrived around 80K and there's now 118K on it. It's a little annoying (tried Rislone qt. w/each oil change and it helps a little). Got into a little fender bender a couple of years back and the insurance co. wanted to total it, offered me a check and I told them the car was worth more to me to fix (cosmetic front end damage--no frame), so they salvaged it, I took it to a body shop, they replaced the front bumper & grill, pulled out the rest and told me the ac and radiator were still holding pressure. The car is bulletproof. It handles like it's not an SUV, the shocks have been long shot, but running on the leaf springs isn't an issue with me anyhow. Fun car, still has styling that belies its age......"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
fun and reliable,
April 14, 2008
By duke
from Herriman, UT
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Fun to drive. Dependable. Never had a problem with it that wasn't completely my fault (like slamming into a curb going 20) got me through a tough winter. decent gas mileage."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Darn Good SUV,
July 9, 2007
By Billy Bob
from Crestwood, MO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Bought new in October, 1993. Overall has been trouble free. Has only needed the usual repairs and replacement parts-tires, battery, starter, AC compressor, alternator, muffler-not bad for 13+ years. Paint and body in very good shape (I've had a couple of Ford products that had the paint die in about 2 years, even with regular washing and waxing-the Rodeo's paint is still smooth and glossy). I have had no major mechanical problems. Strong engine,reliable transmission.
I'd buy another if they still made them-now Isuzu is nothing but a tarted up, rebadged GM product. There goes the quality."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
reliable,
December 17, 2011
By k
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:268000
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy to drive. The 4wd will get you where you want
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poor gas milage for a v6.
ReviewOriginationID:a5a31f75-d3dc-43e1-8d65-e75ac5615aed
"I have owned this vehicle for many years. It has 268,000 miles on it and still running strong. It has the original engine and drive train in it. The 3.2 engine is quick and responsive however.... I feel it is not enough engine for a 5000 lb vehicle. The milage is under 20 highway. It seems the engine has too work too hard to move the vehicle down the road. Over all it is a good, reliable suv. If they still made them I would buy another one."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ID
Year 1997
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Even though this car is older I love it,
September 25, 2013
By Polly
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:175000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Sony Stereo with cd player, great sound.
ReviewOriginationID:5fcdce89049e4bf39cca44bba350856f
Make:Isuzu
Model:Rodeo
Vehicle ID:7876
"I bought this car for $1,500.00 and it has been worth every penny I put in it. I cant believe it was only that much. I have had it for about 6 years and it never fails. Ever. The only problem I have had with it is the power windows work kinda weird. One doesnt work. But it has Air so no problem. Love the car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1995
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great SUV for the price!,
June 23, 2015
By shinobi75
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:183000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no a/c needs charge
ReviewOriginationID:f1d39119c0334774bb1849f6d19bd7bc
Make:Isuzu
Model:Rodeo
Vehicle ID:7876
"owned this rodeo for 2 weeks and love it so far, it was in a impound yard and i picked it up for $650 i plan on getting the a/c recharged, tinted windows and a new paint job in the future."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1995
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Rodeo is the way to go,
October 2, 2008
By pmdc961
from Lawrenceville, GA.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I just have to review this vehicle, I have owned my '91 since it had 27 miles om it. I drove it off the showroom floor and never looked back. This truck now has 205,000 miles on it and I use it as a daily driver. I just made a 1,000 mile road trip to Florida(with the dog and loaded with goodies for the week). I had the spark plugs and wires changed and the differential changed prior to leaving(value casket too) and avergae an amazing 21.7 miles a gallon. If you have been paying attention to the gas shortage in the south, I really needed good fuel economy. My only complaint about this truck(and the newer ones too) is the driver's footbox. On longer trips when you use the gas pedal for extended times, you can get a nasty little cramp in you right upper thigh and buttocks. There just isn't a comfortable position to get into. But other than that nothing.
After 200,000 miles I have had to replace the brakes, rotors, clutch, tires and a value cover casket. And that is it. I have done regular oil changes and I'm not a hot rod driver(but the wife is). I plan it keep this truck if for nothing else, Buddy Roe(the dog) like to go for rides in it. That way he has his own window."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
its a fun car good gas saver,
September 28, 2011
By tt
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:yes
What's not so great about this vehicle?:yes
"its a very good car fun to drive and play in good on gas go in and threw things thats takes a 4x4"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1995
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Best SUV for the money, period.,
October 22, 2008
By Mike
from Roanoke, VA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I've had this car for almost a year. It had 192000 on it and was barely leaking oil after I ran the tar out of it. It is much smoother than my previous car, a cherokee, has better horsepower, 20 mpg from my experience, is very roomy and all around the best deal I could imagine. Today, I t-boned a minivan doing 40. My car flipped, and while it is totalled, I am almost completely unharmed. I didn't even have a seatbelt on. It's one of the most reliable, well built, and safe SUV's ever made, and they're cheap."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I love this car,
April 2, 2015
By Jenn
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:158000
ReviewOriginationID:4e0f4a5de707405b8873c62d324374ad
Make:Isuzu
Model:Rodeo
Vehicle ID:7923
"I honestly love this car always have. Been in the family for years. So glad to have this vehicle. Its old and worn down now but its treated me well for many years."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 1997
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 1991 - 1997 Isuzu Rodeo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Perfect for small farm use!,
March 12, 2012
By CC
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:220000
What's great about this vehicle?:The size is perfect
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cup holders or CD player
ReviewOriginationID:c6edd266-483a-4fc3-8b6a-0f3d3db4b507
"The Rodeo is the perfect vehicle for our small farm, we can lay the back seat down and have plenty of room for feed or even hay or put the back seat up and have room for the grand children."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 1997
15 of 28 people found this review helpful.