Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird

Average Customer Rating:
8.134 out of 10
8.1
 out of 
10
292 of 321(91%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Review 1 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best vehicle I have ever owned.,
November 19, 2014
By Wrenchy61
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:139000
What's great about this vehicle?:Comfortable, climate control, and handling.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
ReviewOriginationID:ab7834ef73824290b7a5ca391440a7c0
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:7641
"1997 TBird LX was bought with $5500 miles on it in 2001. Still own it with 139,000 miles. Replaced the radiator, brake pads, front suspension bushings,intake manifold, and tires. I replaced the intake manifold as a precaution for $200 and sold the original for $40. I tow a 2250 12ft. self contained trailer in overdrive. Walks the dog through the Rockies while with trailer in tow.
I also drive straight through from Houston, Tx to my summer home near Green Bay, WI. Very comfortable car for cruising across country and being 5'9" I can sleep comfortably in the back seat. I have no negative comments about this car. Best car that I ever owned in 60 years of driving."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1997
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
good reliable auto,
November 14, 2014
By mike
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:138000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:milage
ReviewOriginationID:d8f748fcc0924cccbf35da68b5694f3e
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:7607
"handling/excellent-- gas mileage/14city,25 highway--paint/new--uses 1 quart every 2000 miles--tires/new Michelins--Sony am-fm-cd player-- cold a.c,--clear title"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1995
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
solid,comfortable,powerfull,smooth ride!,
September 13, 2014
By dave
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:104000
What's great about this vehicle?:affordable performance car
What's not so great about this vehicle?:stock wheels are not attractive
ReviewOriginationID:ff7658febea445779ab1c35410df274e
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:8981
"I paid 3 thousand for my 96 tbird 1 year ago. The only cash I have spent on it was for front brakes and I had the windows tinted. This car runs and drives better than any car I have owned. I drive a 2005 V6 Impala to work daily for the fuel economy but the Tbird is much more enjoyable and feels like a newer car in every respect. The V8 rear wheel drive on the tbird is silky smooth and has all the power I could ever wish for. Good luck finding any other car with this much to offer. This car is half luxury half sports car. Well done Ford!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1996
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
runs great,
June 25, 2014
By candy brown
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:102000
What's great about this vehicle?:runs great. reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:needs door rod clips
ReviewOriginationID:f2ea70994f3242d6a88046086e9cb26c
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:7607
"Its not a big family car . it will only fit four people ."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1995
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
MY BEST CAR, LITTLE COSMETIC WORK NEEDED,
June 2, 2014
By T.C.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:FUN TO DRIVE, HAS GREAT PICK UP, SMOOTH RIDING
What's not so great about this vehicle?:LOOSE REAR END AS IS IN ALL FORD CARS AND TRUCKS
ReviewOriginationID:dfe72b6c4a2547e98a6f234b641c13f0
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:7607
"I BOUGHT MY T-BIRD NEW IN 1996. I PUT $5000.00 OR MORE INTO IT OVER THE YEARS. IT HAS ALWAYS RAN FANTASTIC. IT NEEDS VERY LITTLE COSMETIC WORK DONE TO IT ON THE OUTSIDE.IF I HAD THE MONEY I NEED TO FINISH IT OUT I WOULD KEEP IT. IT IS A WONDERFUL CAR. NEXT YEAR IT WILL BECOME A COLLECTORS ITEM. IT STILL GETS LOOKS AND COMMENTS ON IT EVEN NOW.THIS CAR IS DEFINITELY WORTH MORE THAN THE SUGGESTED WORTH OF IT BY K.B.B."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1995
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
nice car for the money,
May 6, 2014
By 351cj
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:104000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price, nice ride, ample power
What's not so great about this vehicle?:cup holder located in center glove box
ReviewOriginationID:e487fdf542c74e4da3c581bf1297ea83
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:7607
"what i have replaced since I've had the car, both power window motors, both upper ball joints, all sway bar end links...that's it everything else still working......."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1995
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
great first time car,
May 2, 2014
By mickey
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
5
Definitely
Approximate mileage:80000
ReviewOriginationID:546fb0023f714a73abdf1682efa6f6e7
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:7609
"I got this car two years ago this September. It was my first car. I thought it was honestly a great car. Personally, I've been looking to get rid of it so we can get a new one safer for or child and bigger because two doors don't work with car seats. It hasn't let me down yet. Had some problems with the battery connection, but got that taken care of. Also there might be lose vacuum valve. The interior is good except for on the roof some of the material had torn off. And all the tires on it I replaced last summer. Including the spare."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1995
Review 8 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
paid 1500 for 93 t-bird,lasted 6 good years. WIN,
April 28, 2014
By jim
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:223000
What's great about this vehicle?:good motor and transmission
What's not so great about this vehicle?:my t-bird developed overheating issues
ReviewOriginationID:ae13e0a66f2742e495c07eb292b88a61
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:9020
"good cars if you are good to them. they can have overheating and head gasket issues if you don't bleed the cooling system properly, which I learned the hard way. Still, nothing but fond memories for my 93 ford thunderbird."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1994
Review 9 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I have never had a vehicle as good as this one,
March 30, 2014
By Paul
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:231900
What's great about this vehicle?:I drive 2014 cars but like this one best
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders they are in the console
ReviewOriginationID:09ee8cca3201435f9275a5423ef8556a
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:8981
"I bought this car with 187,000 miles on it a one owner car the owner pulled perfect maintenance on it the 44000 miles I have put on it the only thing I have done beside maint. is tires, shocks, struts and head gaskets.it still has the original water pump, original fuel pump, nothing has been done to the A/C Heat ,everything works like it should. I get 22-23 MPG in town and have gotten 33 MPG on hi- way using hi-test gas."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 1996
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
first American with rear independent suspension,
March 24, 2014
By tueleven
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:powerful, great body, reliable, fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:leaky intake manifold
ReviewOriginationID:1e6f59b90a3e46a687a79df0b6fe55ea
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:8981
"Starting off with the 96 ford thunderbird small block 289 ci 4.6L. durable, smooth, powerful,and quite, it moves the 4000+ lbs long coupe with ease. 16 city 25 highway very torqueie. With its rear independent suspension (a first for ford motor company) makes turning corners at 50 mph a breeze without losing control. With the traction assist turned off makes this big coupe drift like an import and it will embarrass its cousin the ford Mustang. Get alot of compliments for its stright body and clean stock paint job from 19 years ago for a american classic a/c and heater still works there is it flaw such as the plastic intake manifold leakage. It is on record that these vehicles were recalled because of this problem. However, the aftermarket manifold is reinforced with aluminum. The thunderbird earns its respect. This car is so fun to drive because people dont know what to expect"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1996
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Highly recommend!,
December 14, 2013
By Shelbie_Skates
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:Strong, reliable.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cup holder!
ReviewOriginationID:a6657d940a514eabbe17546d112d0311
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:10392
"Penelope is a beauty. My grandfather had helped me choose this car and she has never let me down. Despite some rough starts one in a great while, she runs tough and strong. I had gotten in a car accident with her recently, and only suffered cosmetic damage. She took it like a champ.Very strong frame and engine. As well as a overall great ride. My only complaint is that she lacks a cup holder..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1993
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
good, solid ride,
November 29, 2013
By oletimer
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:137000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:7c514c4d700d44feae92bdd48dad79cf
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:7641
"i've had this almost 10 years, which is a long timw with same car, but i'm a very low mileage driver. in fact, that has been the only issue: some component i've never even heard of needed to be changed a couple years ago when she began acting up. when ford fixed it they said to drive more! it handles well, accelerates onto hiway w/o a problem, and remains in pretty good cosmetic shape for an old car. i have really been happy with this car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1997
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This car drives really smooth for a 1994 model.,
October 18, 2013
By danielle
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:180000
ReviewOriginationID:613e34e861a247a882ceb9980f994e3f
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:9020
"I owned this car for 10 years and I have to say it was the most dependable and reliable car I've owned so far. No problems ever. I had high miles on it when I sold it and it was still driving really smooth,"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 1994
Review 14 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Certainly the best car I ever owned.,
October 2, 2013
By Walt
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:Strong V-8 engine, good highway car for long trips
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Fold down back seats would have been nice
ReviewOriginationID:0d199025bcc4409c933968012e769f7f
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:9020
"A workhorse over the last 19 years. Good engine, comfortable and lasting interior and generally reliable. I wish Ford had not discontinued some of the more important parts, like the clock spring which effects air bag operation."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 1994
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best car I ever owned,
September 29, 2013
By CNN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:38500
What's great about this vehicle?:Best value for money; very reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No high tech amenities
ReviewOriginationID:45fca06d68d44510bc4ed0c2489cdd90
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:7641
"Very reliable from the time I bought it. Low maintenance."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1997
Review 16 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this car!,
July 26, 2013
By PrimericaRVP2014
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:odometer and speedometer went out awhile ago...
ReviewOriginationID:40bc920817414e0e81fc3fa992ffb684
Make:Ford
Model:Thunderbird
Vehicle ID:10392
"Got mine in a walmart parking lot but hasn't stopped going since. LOVE the power(V8)!!! And so comfortable driving and riding."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 1993
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
best car i ever had,
April 28, 2013
By bar
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:158000
ReviewOriginationID:95192475230448e8a8a18123690de9f7
"Best car i ever had.Lasted longer than my x-wife. Ahead of its time for Ford.More options than some new cars today.Small v8 will get 23 mpg(better than a lot of v6's today). Daughter wants the car but don't have time or money now"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1995
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I BOUGHT THIS CAR BECAUSE IT WAS A BILL ELLIOTT LI,
April 8, 2013
By JAN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:14606
ReviewOriginationID:fd55095738574164ae2bd0773a344eec
"IT IS A BILL ELLIOTT LIMITED EDITION.IT RUNS ,BUT NEEDS SOME WORK DONE TO IT."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 1993
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best vehicle I have ever owned or driven.,
March 7, 2013
By Walt
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:98000
What's great about this vehicle?:Extremely reliable, very comfortable, beautiful
What's not so great about this vehicle?:cup holder in odd location - console.
ReviewOriginationID:7eb5d2f3fe834453907e368c29a057f2
"Wonderful, reliable car. Purchased mine with 40,000 miles on her. Had to replace alternator at 50,000 miles, and replace front end at 90,000 miles, (I drove her a little too hard - have eased up now). Other than that, I have only had to perform routine maintenance. I use only synthetic oil with high quality oil filters. She is Pearl colored - beautiful. GREAT 4.6L V-8 engine. Gas mileage not bad. Great moon roof and leather seats. She is an LX model, and I will never sell or trade her. Fast when you need her to be. Beautifully styled. Wish Ford would bring them back as this is my 3rd one and I have never owned any other kind of car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 1995
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1992 - 1997 Ford Thunderbird
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
fun to drive and powerful,
February 1, 2013
By thermo345
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
5
Definitely
Approximate mileage:133000
Reason for Sale:very bad gas mileage
What's great about this vehicle?:great power and roomy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:bad gas mileage and 2 door
ReviewOriginationID:6ff2edb40c9f498da1baf1fd22277bf7
"my mother got this 1995 Green thunderbird in 2010 for 900$. what a steal i drove this car for 1 1/2 years and i was very fun and roomy. i loved to race with this car to witch all i won with my 5.0lt V8. but when i met my future wife i started to spend money on her so i couldnt pay for the gas any longer so i went look for a new car. Now my old thunderbird sits in the back yard still a great powerful strong well built machine"
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location NC
Year 1995
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.