Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger

Average Customer Rating:
8.487 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
1,156 of 1,241(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Review 1 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
LOVE MY TRUCK!,
January 10, 2012
By MMILES
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:93000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive....has a potential for lift kit.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:turn radius is not as good as a car.
ReviewOriginationID:302b40e7-54b7-4506-b2ce-193606a4ca75
"I have wanted a truck for years and I bought this Ranger used and love it! It has a slight oversized tire on it and it looks good but I would like to do a 4 or 6 inch lift. The interior is solid black and no carpet in the floorboard which I love...it can be kept very clean and Armorall EVERYTHING! The turn radius is not as great, but that comes with the larger tires and any lifts. Over all...It's a Great Truck....IT'S A FORD!!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Just like a Timex!!,
December 18, 2011
By Shockey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:234000
What's great about this vehicle?:Takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:The physical looks really need to be updated!
ReviewOriginationID:01e3734e-b6a7-4eaa-a73c-9686cebf0fd9
"I bought my '99 Ranger in '02, with 42,000 miles on it. Due to some abuse by the first owner, I had to have the front end rebuilt soon after buying it. I own a small remodeling business and do a lot of hauling with this truck. Typically between 1000 and 1500 lbs before the rear end even begins to dip!The 3.0 liter engine has all the power you will ever need, and at 12 years old it still gets 18 miles to the gallon. It's time to upgrade to a newer truck, and I was convinced the the Chevy was the way to go, until I compared the Chevy to the Ranger. With the exception that the Chevys are more stylish, the Ranger is still the best value for the money. I will be picking up my new (07) Ranger this week and expect it to perform as well as "Old Faithfull". I'll let you know...."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great truck which I trust in back country,
August 25, 2011
By red rock
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:samll enough to get in tight places
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had to replace cruise control bridle on steering wheel
"FX4, 4x4-does great in red rock country., 4wheels beautifully...has plenty dents which means I trust it in outback. comfortable on long trips. tows well. wish it had built-in compass and outside temp gauge."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2003
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Very good condition for a 2005,
October 20, 2014
By Kimbell
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:146995
ReviewOriginationID:4354e4ca20c24204856a03fd375f1def
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:347859
"Nice ride"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2005
Review 5 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2011 4x4 Ranger - great all around truck,
October 8, 2014
By Ray
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:25000
What's great about this vehicle?:Can do just about anything
What's not so great about this vehicle?:It's not a full-size
ReviewOriginationID:964a0d84d5de49fd95866c04f32fd239
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:352876
"I'm very happy with this truck. It's like the 'Little Engine that Could'. Goes anywhere. Drives nice. Gas mileage has improved after a decent break-in period."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 2011
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
purchased '01 new, 158000 miles, never any problem,
October 6, 2014
By Motornut
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:158466
What's great about this vehicle?:very reliable and dependable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:poor mileage and wind noise in the 4 door.
ReviewOriginationID:c6d8d8b657664eddbedd7cfba6dd97fe
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4269
"Purchased 2001 Ranger Supercab new in '01, 4 liter engine, most all the bells and whistles, have pulled a camper all over the south, never any problems with this vehicle. Has 158000 miles, routine maintenance would not be scared to get in it right now and go across the U.S. Only kick I have is the mileage, w/o camper, about 18 to 21, depending on how driven, with camper, 14 to 16."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2001
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
For the age of vehicle, it is great,
September 28, 2014
By Jin
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:50000
What's great about this vehicle?:still looks great and drives smoothly
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none except age
ReviewOriginationID:3792fb7fd06d435185a34984f7ead555
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348056
"Truck in very good condition, has only required routine maintenance. The paint (red) has held up extremely well on truck and back cover. I only part with it because I don't have a need for it now."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2004
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very reliable pickup,
September 25, 2014
By Pam
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:275000
What's great about this vehicle?:bright yellow love color..
What's not so great about this vehicle?:could get better mileage hwy19-20
ReviewOriginationID:cac483bd228f4e31be9a40340b5ec597
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349120
"No major problems a great little pickup."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2006
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck Ford ever made,
September 24, 2014
By jzee
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
ReviewOriginationID:99bacf8586864a45ad03cebe619f11ec
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348121
"This truck was one of the best trucks Ford ever made why they stoped making it boggles my mind , since buying this truck in 2003 I have had it back to the dealer only 3 times for minor things it is now 2014 and this truck runs just like it did in 2003 start making them again!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2003
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
amazing truck!!,
September 15, 2014
By FX Level II
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:168000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliability and ease of driving
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas but i did recently get 21mpg going up to tahoe
ReviewOriginationID:b2e646c8765649199881f573fd65c148
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348121
"i actually own two! the first one is a 1994 with 280000 miles and runs/looks amazing still with the original engine and transmission never rebuilt. my other one is a 2003 FX Level II, both are daily drivers. this is the best/most fun truck I've ever had and would recommend it to anyone!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2003
10 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
RANGER IS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION.,
September 1, 2014
By CHIEF
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:75000
What's great about this vehicle?:LOVE THIS TRUCK, FUN TO DRIVE AND VERY HANDY.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:NON ELECTRIC WINDOWS AND LOCKS.
ReviewOriginationID:72f547e9bc1e47728643d9e46f266243
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4261
"REPLACED WATER PUMP AND TIMEING CHAIN GASKET. HAS HARD COVER OVER BED WITH BED LINER. HAS AN EXTENDED BED RACK. LED LIGHTS ON FRONT, REAR AND CAB LIGHT OVER BED. ADDED FOG LAMPS. ONLY DRIVEN IN TOWN AND TRIPS TO CHARLOTTSVILLE, VA."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2001
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This is my 2nd Ranger supercab, I loved the first,
August 30, 2014
By slinky926
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:9000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none for me
ReviewOriginationID:5f54879cd78e4808871984280503b194
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:256132
"AS I was saying loved the first one, very reliable, that is why when it got totaled by another vehicle I bought another. Had to get new, no good used ones available that I would consider buying. Very happy with this one, even though its 4 years old and I have only 9000 miles on it, VERY HAPPY with my Ranger super=cab. I call it my "tonka" bigger that a regular cab, (matchbox) but smaller that a full size truck, Gas mpg may be a little low, but I didn''t buy the 4L engine to get good mileage, I want my ZOOM when I step on the peddle, and its got Zoom!!!."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 2010
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
very nice vehicle,
August 25, 2014
By neen
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
What's great about this vehicle?:comfortable to sit in with plenty of room
What's not so great about this vehicle?:too pricy
ReviewOriginationID:6287a363f01544fdac3eea05085bbd5c
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348131
"It is the type I am looking for. Very nice color,plenty of room."
Ownership Status I want this car.
Location OR
Year 2007
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great ride good looking,
August 17, 2014
By BUDD 84
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:32000
What's great about this vehicle?:great to drive
ReviewOriginationID:5897ede6fe4f4b3c9cbb163bb3ad4283
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:352874
"dash board lights dark green glass with black lettering.
at night ok to see day time I use small flash light to see
time radio speedo is just ok
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2011
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4th Ranger OWNED and my last,
August 17, 2014
By mike
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:24000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Needs a little more HP.
ReviewOriginationID:9ccc512781a24663aae41e3dec3306c7
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:352876
"In short 4x4 XLT supercab, basically everything but remote start. 24k miles on it since purchased new. NEVER BEEN BACK TO THE SHOP for any problems! What more can you ask for?
It is my last Ranger because they've quit making them.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
This was my first vehicle, its been through a lot,
August 12, 2014
By Zach
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:117000
What's great about this vehicle?:Its a Tank! It never stops for anything
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Its not a 3/4 ton truck, gotta remember that
ReviewOriginationID:9c13969074bf4d5c8725b613e303230f
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:4031
"This was my first vehicle, its been through a lot, I have probably driven it beyond what it was created for, but it has never let me down. Its had all four wheels 4 feet off the ground, and just kept going (stupid high school days). I still drive it to this day, only problem I have had is the 4 wheel drive went out (to much beating on it) and the thermostat went out... I don't know why probably its age and sitting out side. This little truck is awesome for a first vehicle or for hauling stuff around in the bed, soon its gonna be a plow truck for snow removal as well. It never seems to quit."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NE
Year 2002
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great little truck,
July 22, 2014
By dusty
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:20000
What's great about this vehicle?:no problems with the truck
ReviewOriginationID:718e7f4680eb429bac9158d5d65a473e
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349123
"the only reason I am selling it is I have a leg problem and can't get into it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2009
6 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Super Reliable Utility Truck,
July 21, 2014
By Dave
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:82000
What's great about this vehicle?:Super slow depreciation
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Wish it had more modern drive train
ReviewOriginationID:56c0ce1d15544c61bd11dc0dc4df5eb4
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348131
"Just large enough with enough power to perform weekend warrior tasks. Fits in parking spaces. Decent mileage at 17-18 MPG in 4.0 Litre Cologne V6."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
this truck has never not started,
July 20, 2014
By papi
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:very reliable truck,and repair costs are low
What's not so great about this vehicle?:suspension and ride get low scores
ReviewOriginationID:e67cf0dad5b048fb98b9e3d1d66e83eb
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4269
"It really makes me wonder why ford discontinued the ford ranger in north america.
All ford had to do is increase the quality and craftsmanship just a tiny little bit,
Most ford ranger owners would buy another ford ranger.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2001
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Strong, dependable truck! A best friend in snow!,
July 18, 2014
By Slim
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:135000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very dependable, low maintenance work horse.
ReviewOriginationID:fab962d22f1c4387a05dbac6fb462ba2
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4035
"I've had mostly full sized trucks but bought my Ranger due to a smaller garage issue for a couple of years. Used to have a Chevy S-10 many years ago. The Ranger is hands-down a superior vehicle."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2002
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.