Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger

Average Customer Rating:
8.524 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
1,221 of 1,307(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Review 1 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
LOVE MY TRUCK!,
January 10, 2012
By MMILES
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:93000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive....has a potential for lift kit.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:turn radius is not as good as a car.
ReviewOriginationID:302b40e7-54b7-4506-b2ce-193606a4ca75
"I have wanted a truck for years and I bought this Ranger used and love it! It has a slight oversized tire on it and it looks good but I would like to do a 4 or 6 inch lift. The interior is solid black and no carpet in the floorboard which I love...it can be kept very clean and Armorall EVERYTHING! The turn radius is not as great, but that comes with the larger tires and any lifts. Over all...It's a Great Truck....IT'S A FORD!!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Just like a Timex!!,
December 18, 2011
By Shockey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:234000
What's great about this vehicle?:Takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:The physical looks really need to be updated!
ReviewOriginationID:01e3734e-b6a7-4eaa-a73c-9686cebf0fd9
"I bought my '99 Ranger in '02, with 42,000 miles on it. Due to some abuse by the first owner, I had to have the front end rebuilt soon after buying it. I own a small remodeling business and do a lot of hauling with this truck. Typically between 1000 and 1500 lbs before the rear end even begins to dip!The 3.0 liter engine has all the power you will ever need, and at 12 years old it still gets 18 miles to the gallon. It's time to upgrade to a newer truck, and I was convinced the the Chevy was the way to go, until I compared the Chevy to the Ranger. With the exception that the Chevys are more stylish, the Ranger is still the best value for the money. I will be picking up my new (07) Ranger this week and expect it to perform as well as "Old Faithfull". I'll let you know...."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great truck which I trust in back country,
August 25, 2011
By red rock
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:samll enough to get in tight places
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had to replace cruise control bridle on steering wheel
"FX4, 4x4-does great in red rock country., 4wheels beautifully...has plenty dents which means I trust it in outback. comfortable on long trips. tows well. wish it had built-in compass and outside temp gauge."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2003
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Nice small-sized truck,
January 26, 2016
By Jon
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:90000
What's great about this vehicle?:Useful, good on gas, perfect for light duty
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Bad in snow, lightweight, small
ReviewOriginationID:adc6a2c11b5d485eb6a21bd34985c181
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349506
"I've owned my 06 Ranger XLT for a while now and never had any problems with it. Just new brake pads, and a wire for the horn that maybe disconnected over time, very easy fix, however. This truck is a perfect truck for small duty/daily driving. Interior is a little compact but thats with any single cab pickup. RWD is obviously bad in snow, also as with any RWD truck (provided you don't get the 4WD variant.) I would recommend this truck to anyone looking for a decent small-duty pickup with good gas mileage. Same mileage as my previous car, which was an 02 Sebring."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2006
Review 5 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
A Great Truck to Have,
January 17, 2016
By Benjoh
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:111000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, easy to care for
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No outlet in bed for water to drain out
ReviewOriginationID:13cad05c2a4648bba10f5af4e612193c
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4261
"I have had this vehicle since 2004 and it was used. The next owner is getting a bargain from me. Where I prefer a truck to a car, I don't haul as much around as I once did. I think with the mechanical work on this vehicle the people buying it will get much use out of it. Ford Rangers are still best in class."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MS
Year 2001
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Excellent vehicle,
January 8, 2016
By Lee
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:108500
ReviewOriginationID:4338611f6f0e4a75b065e5ef8703ea19
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349683
"This vehicle has turned out to be a great value, very comfortable, reliable and has performed everything that it was designed to do-very well!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2003
Review 7 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great pick-up with lots of cargo room,
December 26, 2015
By Yoyo
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:103000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very dependable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:V6 engine fuel economy not good
ReviewOriginationID:e390768c8c7a4032a6b5a4af5676ea0b
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4035
"Bought it since new in 2002 and have no complaints about its quality and performance."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2002
Review 8 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Made Cheap!,
December 2, 2015
By LordOrion
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
6
Definitely
Approximate mileage:185000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive when it goes.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Transmissions arent built well.
ReviewOriginationID:908634168f6b4a9fba64c71cbf7006d0
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4269
"Everything about this truck is good except for its transmission, Will be selling mine for what ever I can get for it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2001
14 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great first vehicle,
November 20, 2015
By bilbo baggins
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:155000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great truck for the money, pulls big trailers
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage is average,minor cosmectic,not 4X4
ReviewOriginationID:c159f17d4a4840ee86fd41546b459f70
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4047
"I bought it about 1 year ago from family, and I love it! As a slight down side, a month or so after buying it, it needed $1400 worth of work. My brothers work hard and are very VERY rough on vehicles. since then It's been great! total repairs have been almost non-existent. I went through a time when I couldn't get it to start. But someone came and explained, that it wasn't all the way in park. And it's been great ever since! overall I would keep this vehicle until it dies, because it's dependable. Considering the beating it took from the previous owner, I'd say it is still in amazing condition. I did have to get the brakes worked on once, but then I accidentally drove a little with the emergency brake on. The only thing is.....I don't drive much, and therefore don't really need a truck. I need the gas mileage more than the truck. my situation has changed a bit."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2002
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
She just keeps going and going...!!!!! Great truck,
November 12, 2015
By Wallybanger
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:174000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, fuel effecient, fun to drive.......
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Tight cab..
ReviewOriginationID:289d3af490f14d8a855aebce313bd668
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349400
"I bought my 2004 Ranger in 2006 with just over 12K on it...it has been a super dependable little truck all these years. I drive about 70 miles per day to work and I continually get almost 30 mpg with the 2.3 4 cyl. No major repairs, couple sets of tires, brakes, did clutch at about 165K, other than that just oil changes etc. I take good care of her and she takes good care of me. It is a bit tight in cab but I don't think I'll ever be able to part with her. Great truck, can haul, run and do whatever I need it to do...Ford needs to bring these back."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2004
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great truck,
November 5, 2015
By pork chop
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:81022
ReviewOriginationID:1393537460884ff58cca0ef618a0b86b
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4261
"had to put upper and lower ball joints on it and a inter tie rod end other wise a great truck"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location LA
Year 2001
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck ever,
November 4, 2015
By mmderro
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:162000
What's great about this vehicle?:cheap and affordable, good motor, nice interior
What's not so great about this vehicle?:nothing
ReviewOriginationID:67b2fd596d494775aad30f301135e7e0
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:4266
"This is a great truck, I bought the truck with about 100,00 miles on it and put another 62,000 since(i've owned it for about 5 years). I never had any engine or transmission issues. If you are looking for a first car or just something cheap and reliable I would recommend buying this vehicle."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2001
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Good truck,
November 4, 2015
By Katie
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:138000
What's great about this vehicle?:Nice little truck, good shape, easy on gas
ReviewOriginationID:dd6bc8b45894463c8d9723fc9857dd7c
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349405
"No longer drive."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IA
Year 2006
Review 14 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Pick up,
November 3, 2015
By PRH
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:277000
What's great about this vehicle?:Felt very safe, handles road excellent.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:hard for tall person to be conforable
ReviewOriginationID:25fdc853187d45b083c30d5448f8e1b3
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349120
"Drove as work truck escorting oversize loads across the country. No problems. Best little pickup, gas mileage could of been a little better. About 19=20 on hwy.. Engine very strong still... truck loves rollin..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KS
Year 2006
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Really Suprised with this little truck!!!,
October 28, 2015
By LuVmY02Ranger
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:156000
What's great about this vehicle?:close to 400 mi on a tank of gas
What's not so great about this vehicle?:driver visor & radio not so good
ReviewOriginationID:1cbc21ab88f247ea93cc35a9cf80007e
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:4031
"I have owned this truck for 5 years and it has been great!!!!! when I bought the truck it only had 58k now it has 156k. I was an independent contractor for 2 1/2 years and I put about 90k on it in that time, it has never leaked or over heated. I have only used mobile 1 full synthetic since I've had the truck. The only parts I replaced were: ball joints upper and lower, radiator hoses upper and lower along with retention bottle, breaks and tires, just normal wear and tear.
Last November me and my wife drove the truck from Las Vegas to the Red wood forest in northern California, We had all of our camping gear and a camper shell, we stayed in the back of the ranger for a week and loved every minuet of it., it did pretty good for a 2.3L engine.
Either way, the point is that if you take care of your vehicle and invest some money in it from time to time it WILL! last you. These Rangers always get a bad wrap. exap: "what kind of truck do you own?" "Ford Ranger". "oh sorry." a common misconception. like I said before 156k miles and has never dropped a single spot of oil. TAKE CARE OF THE THINGS YOU OWN AND THEY WILL TAKE CARE OF YOU!!!!!
Thanks . Nick"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NV
Year 2002
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
BEST TRUCK I HAVE EVER OWNED,
October 24, 2015
By FX4RANGEROWNER
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:78000
What's great about this vehicle?:BEST MID SIZE TRUCK EVER MADE
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Bad fuel economy (excluding the 4 cyl.)
ReviewOriginationID:bb5b1cef454b489dbf1e9a4f94e42674
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349494
"I have owned new Ford and Chevy trucks, full size and smaller. This Ford Ranger FX4 has been the greatest truck I've ever owned. I am the original owner of my 2003 Ranger. I haven't had to do anything to this truck except for general maintenance. I get compliments all the time on how good it looks. Thats pretty good considering the truck is all stock except for the tinted side windows. I have put a K&N cold air kit on it, also a one inch throttle body spacer, and has a performance programmer. This truck really scoots when I want it to. The only drawback is fuel mileage. It sucks. People will try to sell you on the whole idea that a V6 will get better milage than a V8. Not true. And I get 10% better fuel mileage since I did the preformance modification. I would buy this truck brand new all over again. WAIT, Ford quit producing them in the USA. I guess I can't do it again"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 2003
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great truck,
October 20, 2015
By pbox
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:127000
ReviewOriginationID:5fb150d547f24d97afb02246db9eec25
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349419
"runs great very dependable"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
dependable, economicle, good looking vehicle.,
October 18, 2015
By rick
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:63000
ReviewOriginationID:8a3c519858da4a189b18d40b30753a1b
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349404
"drive 50 miles daily to and from work over hilly, winding, narrow roads (snowy, icy conditions 6mos. of the year). The only problems I've had with it: alternator needed replacement at 55,000 mi.; front bumper rusted out, and replaced with a new one at 60,000 mi.. Other than that just routine/scheduled maintenance by dealer. I really love this little truck, and plan to keep it as long as I can. Unfortunately the harsh NY winters shorten the life-span of all vehicles here, and eventually rust-out the under-carriage and frame (something that can't be fixed)."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2004
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I'm on my fourth Ranger, a 2010, and love it.,
October 17, 2015
By John
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:Comfortable, fuel efficient and the right size.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Rear space is a bit cramped.
ReviewOriginationID:93229929f82549b9b61db448b900b3f4
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349421
"Having now owned four Rangers, I can say they are reliable and very economical to operate. With the four cylinder engine I've averaged more than 30 mpg on trips and as much as 25 mpg in town. Wish they were still available in U.S."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2010
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
BEST TRUCK EVER 300,000 miles and still runs great,
October 9, 2015
By cheryl
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:300000
ReviewOriginationID:48589dc9d1004022ad32e5d0a510ad02
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349113
"Thanks Ford!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IA
Year 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.