Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger

Average Customer Rating:
8.48 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
1,147 of 1,232(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Review 1 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
LOVE MY TRUCK!,
January 10, 2012
By MMILES
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:93000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive....has a potential for lift kit.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:turn radius is not as good as a car.
ReviewOriginationID:302b40e7-54b7-4506-b2ce-193606a4ca75
"I have wanted a truck for years and I bought this Ranger used and love it! It has a slight oversized tire on it and it looks good but I would like to do a 4 or 6 inch lift. The interior is solid black and no carpet in the floorboard which I love...it can be kept very clean and Armorall EVERYTHING! The turn radius is not as great, but that comes with the larger tires and any lifts. Over all...It's a Great Truck....IT'S A FORD!!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Just like a Timex!!,
December 18, 2011
By Shockey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:234000
What's great about this vehicle?:Takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:The physical looks really need to be updated!
ReviewOriginationID:01e3734e-b6a7-4eaa-a73c-9686cebf0fd9
"I bought my '99 Ranger in '02, with 42,000 miles on it. Due to some abuse by the first owner, I had to have the front end rebuilt soon after buying it. I own a small remodeling business and do a lot of hauling with this truck. Typically between 1000 and 1500 lbs before the rear end even begins to dip!The 3.0 liter engine has all the power you will ever need, and at 12 years old it still gets 18 miles to the gallon. It's time to upgrade to a newer truck, and I was convinced the the Chevy was the way to go, until I compared the Chevy to the Ranger. With the exception that the Chevys are more stylish, the Ranger is still the best value for the money. I will be picking up my new (07) Ranger this week and expect it to perform as well as "Old Faithfull". I'll let you know...."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great truck which I trust in back country,
August 25, 2011
By red rock
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:samll enough to get in tight places
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had to replace cruise control bridle on steering wheel
"FX4, 4x4-does great in red rock country., 4wheels beautifully...has plenty dents which means I trust it in outback. comfortable on long trips. tows well. wish it had built-in compass and outside temp gauge."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2003
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
very nice vehicle,
August 25, 2014
By neen
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
What's great about this vehicle?:comfortable to sit in with plenty of room
What's not so great about this vehicle?:too pricy
ReviewOriginationID:6287a363f01544fdac3eea05085bbd5c
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348131
"It is the type I am looking for. Very nice color,plenty of room."
Ownership Status I want this car.
Location OR
Year 2007
Review 5 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great ride good looking,
August 17, 2014
By BUDD 84
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:32000
What's great about this vehicle?:great to drive
ReviewOriginationID:5897ede6fe4f4b3c9cbb163bb3ad4283
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:352874
"dash board lights dark green glass with black lettering.
at night ok to see day time I use small flash light to see
time radio speedo is just ok
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2011
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4th Ranger OWNED and my last,
August 17, 2014
By mike
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:24000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Needs a little more HP.
ReviewOriginationID:9ccc512781a24663aae41e3dec3306c7
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:352876
"In short 4x4 XLT supercab, basically everything but remote start. 24k miles on it since purchased new. NEVER BEEN BACK TO THE SHOP for any problems! What more can you ask for?
It is my last Ranger because they've quit making them.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
This was my first vehicle, its been through a lot,
August 12, 2014
By Zach
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:117000
What's great about this vehicle?:Its a Tank! It never stops for anything
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Its not a 3/4 ton truck, gotta remember that
ReviewOriginationID:9c13969074bf4d5c8725b613e303230f
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:4031
"This was my first vehicle, its been through a lot, I have probably driven it beyond what it was created for, but it has never let me down. Its had all four wheels 4 feet off the ground, and just kept going (stupid high school days). I still drive it to this day, only problem I have had is the 4 wheel drive went out (to much beating on it) and the thermostat went out... I don't know why probably its age and sitting out side. This little truck is awesome for a first vehicle or for hauling stuff around in the bed, soon its gonna be a plow truck for snow removal as well. It never seems to quit."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NE
Year 2002
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great little truck,
July 22, 2014
By dusty
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:20000
What's great about this vehicle?:no problems with the truck
ReviewOriginationID:718e7f4680eb429bac9158d5d65a473e
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349123
"the only reason I am selling it is I have a leg problem and can't get into it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2009
5 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Super Reliable Utility Truck,
July 21, 2014
By Dave
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:82000
What's great about this vehicle?:Super slow depreciation
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Wish it had more modern drive train
ReviewOriginationID:56c0ce1d15544c61bd11dc0dc4df5eb4
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348131
"Just large enough with enough power to perform weekend warrior tasks. Fits in parking spaces. Decent mileage at 17-18 MPG in 4.0 Litre Cologne V6."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
this truck has never not started,
July 20, 2014
By papi
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:very reliable truck,and repair costs are low
What's not so great about this vehicle?:suspension and ride get low scores
ReviewOriginationID:e67cf0dad5b048fb98b9e3d1d66e83eb
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4269
"It really makes me wonder why ford discontinued the ford ranger in north america.
All ford had to do is increase the quality and craftsmanship just a tiny little bit,
Most ford ranger owners would buy another ford ranger.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2001
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Strong, dependable truck! A best friend in snow!,
July 18, 2014
By Slim
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:135000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very dependable, low maintenance work horse.
ReviewOriginationID:fab962d22f1c4387a05dbac6fb462ba2
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4035
"I've had mostly full sized trucks but bought my Ranger due to a smaller garage issue for a couple of years. Used to have a Chevy S-10 many years ago. The Ranger is hands-down a superior vehicle."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2002
Review 12 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
my Ford ranger great truck easy to drive,
July 15, 2014
By touch down
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:easy to drive truck and many posable way to be use
What's not so great about this vehicle?:cup holders middle set compartment like glove
ReviewOriginationID:0e8bdd4cbda14ca9a979acfa3b5077b2
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4269
"not great gas millage but is dependable used for flagging job back in to tree passenger Side
near light has ding top of tail light broke off all works but need repair also driver side fog light does not work do not want to sell need to retire because of health
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 2001
Review 13 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great vehicle,
July 13, 2014
By Jerry
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:89000
What's great about this vehicle?:good driving truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:two cup holders, center console storeage, steel to
ReviewOriginationID:c82c2b3c94394994811ffe9d1b7ae87e
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:347180
"Two package on vehicle so it can be towed by another vehicle including two bar"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This is my 5th Ranger, and only want this truck.,
July 9, 2014
By jinxlee
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:everything about this truck is great!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:getting run over by an 18 wheeler.
ReviewOriginationID:573bc96796dd40ebbe761647499d2791
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349495
"Love my truck! This is the best one so far. I have an XLT supercab FX4 off road model. 4.0 engine has plenty of power, and the 4wd can go anywhere. I live around the beach, and have taken it out on the beach with about a 1500lb. payload, and had no problems. I have had the entire bed loaded as full as I could get it with firewood, and the suspension didn't even squat. Have towed very heavy loads with it, and had no problems with it. So far the only thing that has stopped my truck is a rookie truck driver who ran into it with her 18 wheeler. Have hopes that she can be fixed."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Fun truck to drive and easy to park.,
July 8, 2014
By Cakes
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:5700
What's great about this vehicle?:The price is reasonable and its fun to drive.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Can't haul heavy loads.
ReviewOriginationID:0e337430feda4453a88595b3ae71ce87
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:256130
"I drive only trucks that are American made. My first truck was a F-150 and now I mostly drive a Chevy Silverado. I really like this Ford Ranger because it's so easy to handle and park. I have had good mileage with it when I travel out of town. I put a Reino liner in the back and if I keep this little gem I will probably put a cover on the back also. I am looking to sell it because we own another Ford Ranger. In North Dakota we have to think about snow and I plan on putting sand bags in the back and winter tires on it if I keep it. I am going to try to sell it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ND
Year 2010
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
This Ranger XL has several extras.,
July 3, 2014
By BFD
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:110000
What's great about this vehicle?:More extras than ususal Ranger XL
What's not so great about this vehicle?:High mileage, but uses no oil
ReviewOriginationID:8db4d1351fd84e02b70e5207a6af7595
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:4251
"This Ranger was bought as a certified pre-owned from a Ford Dealer. It has a full set of gauges + tachometer, four mud flaps, special edition hub caps and 60/40 split bench seat with folding center console/storage. It has AM/FM stereo with clock, cassette player, and single CD player. It had 15,237 miles on it when bought from Ford Dealer in 2002. It came with factory installed towing package. I installed a frame mounted hitch. It has automatic trans. with overdrive. I am not interested in selling it. Just wanted to know what it is worth for insurance purposes."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2001
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
had an accident,
June 30, 2014
By SQUIRL
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:143000
What's great about this vehicle?:had a major accident
What's not so great about this vehicle?:needs repair
ReviewOriginationID:b170868a453f4dfa85f01301564904a6
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349501
"needs work"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 2003
3 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
fantastic small pick up!,
June 28, 2014
By mars
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:51000
What's great about this vehicle?:easy to park, easy to drive, drives great in traff
What's not so great about this vehicle?:would like 4 door, but small children in back ok.
ReviewOriginationID:81c9ad3668464bf59ebf8b3b01487f96
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:352884
"bought new. has extended warranty to 70,000. gets between 22-24 mpg (city) highway ( unknown) no extended driving."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2011
5 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love the size,
June 27, 2014
By Scottishlady
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:35000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great in snow and easy size to park.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not fond of the XLT fabric option... black
ReviewOriginationID:6f971f74468248d084964ec5daebfb83
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349509
"I wanted a truck for safety and use. I love the size and reliability of this Ranger. I actually bought a second one with a smaller engine for everyday errands to save on gas and wear and tear on my primary Ranger."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2007
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
This is my second Ranger. I Love my Ranger,
June 23, 2014
By Roger
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:21000
What's great about this vehicle?:Well made little truck.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None from my perspective.
ReviewOriginationID:feb29668a877412c9bbab559e19e1ec5
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:256132
"This is my second Ranger. I ordered this one for my retirement years. It does everything, I ask of it. Great gas mileage, fun to drive, good load capacity, easy to maintain and it looks good. I would buy another Ranger if they were available. I have had many opportunities to sell it and my dealer really wants it. I will keep my Ranger until one of us drops."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2010
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.