Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger

Average Customer Rating:
8.496 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
1,168 of 1,253(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Review 1 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
LOVE MY TRUCK!,
January 10, 2012
By MMILES
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:93000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive....has a potential for lift kit.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:turn radius is not as good as a car.
ReviewOriginationID:302b40e7-54b7-4506-b2ce-193606a4ca75
"I have wanted a truck for years and I bought this Ranger used and love it! It has a slight oversized tire on it and it looks good but I would like to do a 4 or 6 inch lift. The interior is solid black and no carpet in the floorboard which I love...it can be kept very clean and Armorall EVERYTHING! The turn radius is not as great, but that comes with the larger tires and any lifts. Over all...It's a Great Truck....IT'S A FORD!!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Just like a Timex!!,
December 18, 2011
By Shockey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:234000
What's great about this vehicle?:Takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:The physical looks really need to be updated!
ReviewOriginationID:01e3734e-b6a7-4eaa-a73c-9686cebf0fd9
"I bought my '99 Ranger in '02, with 42,000 miles on it. Due to some abuse by the first owner, I had to have the front end rebuilt soon after buying it. I own a small remodeling business and do a lot of hauling with this truck. Typically between 1000 and 1500 lbs before the rear end even begins to dip!The 3.0 liter engine has all the power you will ever need, and at 12 years old it still gets 18 miles to the gallon. It's time to upgrade to a newer truck, and I was convinced the the Chevy was the way to go, until I compared the Chevy to the Ranger. With the exception that the Chevys are more stylish, the Ranger is still the best value for the money. I will be picking up my new (07) Ranger this week and expect it to perform as well as "Old Faithfull". I'll let you know...."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great truck which I trust in back country,
August 25, 2011
By red rock
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:samll enough to get in tight places
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had to replace cruise control bridle on steering wheel
"FX4, 4x4-does great in red rock country., 4wheels beautifully...has plenty dents which means I trust it in outback. comfortable on long trips. tows well. wish it had built-in compass and outside temp gauge."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2003
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Tough little truck,
December 10, 2014
By Skipper
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:213000
What's great about this vehicle?:Tough, sturdy, good stereo, good for hauling
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Small seats, cooling system problems.
ReviewOriginationID:ed45ee552e5041c58b3ca958ecc48b6a
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:4266
"Have 213,000 miles on it. Have hauled stuff over the years. Have been rear-ended 4 times. It needs some TLC but still runs. The one major problem I've had in the cooling system. I've had to replace most of it twice......and the parts aren't cheap. Also, had the PATS system shut down a few months ago. Overall, it's a tough little truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2001
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Very reliable, no major problems at all,
December 8, 2014
By American Joe
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:132000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Needs a few more "comfort" details.
ReviewOriginationID:04d0e4f804164fbb8145c467f5c62191
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4047
"Well made, no majors problems with correct maintenance. One thing ford needs to do is NOT integrate mechanical systems. ie. New front end parts needed when changing struts adding cost to the struts."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2002
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best small truck I have ever owned,
December 6, 2014
By Topcat
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:70501
What's great about this vehicle?:Ease of handeling and dependability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Must use load leaveler to pull real heavy objects.
ReviewOriginationID:69560cfc3ce34165b37734fa098c2616
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348129
"I would buy a new one if Ford still made it..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2007 Ford Ranger XLT Supercab 2wd,
December 5, 2014
By John
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:103000
What's great about this vehicle?:Well built and never lets you down
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
ReviewOriginationID:d761ab359ac64cd1bd888f8497fa75ff
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349509
"I have owned five rangers and this by far is the best. Has a nice ride and is smooth on the road at any speed. Gets about 20-23 mpg with 3.0L V6. Can pull up to 4500 lbs. with no trouble. Sad Ford stop making the Ranger. I have always owned the 2wd. you only need the 4wd if you go off road. Great truck for the money, built like a full size truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2007
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Have owned several Rangers,
December 2, 2014
By Jim
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:17000
What's great about this vehicle?:Size, Four wheel drive, price, reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:1bcb194305e44fa2aef8d0124b1bccfd
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:352876
"Pleased with this truck (my 5th Ranger) I like the size and the overall ride. Gas mileage is not great, back seat is not for passengers but for what I use it for it is great."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2011
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great small truck no traction 2wd,
November 20, 2014
By Don
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:42500
What's great about this vehicle?:inexpensive dives nice has room decent payload siz
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no traction poor gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:08e5bf294ab7485c9c084bdd83c7c3de
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348130
"Nice little truck if it was 4wd Id probably keep it till it dies. Don't like ford motor company and not paticularly found of my dealer but truck is nice"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2006
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This is my second Ranger - I owned,
November 13, 2014
By Biller
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:88000
What's great about this vehicle?:Tough and reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poor fuel economy for a vehicle this size.
ReviewOriginationID:d6359816180749068b9cbe149d44e808
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349683
"This is my second Ranger - I owned a 1993 XLT 2 wheel drive for 12 years and upgraded to this one in about 2005. Both have been very good to me with little repair or maintenance necessary. On my third set of tires and second set of brakes - wears well.
The only major maintenance I have had to do so far is a repair of the ABS system in one of the back brakes.
Two of the best vehicles I have ever owned and at great value..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2003
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck I have ever owned...,
November 12, 2014
By James
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:165000
What's great about this vehicle?:Good looks, reliability, inexpensive to operate
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage could be better...but I can't complain
ReviewOriginationID:b89f54f5fc5546ddbec0229430afa826
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4047
"Ordered this truck in Dec 2001. The 3.0L engine hasn't the power of any other trucks but it has been dependable beyond my wildest dreams when I ordered it. The looks and styling are still outstanding. 165,000 on the clock and the truck has never had a wrench on it outside regular maintenance every 7500 miles. Overkill? Maybe...but I would not hesitate to take this truck anywhere with confidence. Mine is 2WD so I don't use it for mud bogging and the like. But if you want a ride that is stylish, comfortable and dependable...you just can't beat a Ranger."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
reliable comfortable easy to drive,
October 28, 2014
By sunnyshirl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:25000
What's great about this vehicle?:every good thing there is about a pick up
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cons
ReviewOriginationID:0db2ff2fd07746acb8531dbec9dd825a
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:348273
"my ranger is the most reliable i have ever owned. i am bummed ford does not make Rangers any more. I cant think what I will buy next"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2004
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great looking & running,
October 24, 2014
By Kim
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:118000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive
ReviewOriginationID:ffe857382a4045ba8aef763b81daa7fc
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348279
"I have owned this truck for 6 years with no major problems. I now have 118,000 miles on it. The gas mileage isn't great at maybe 14 or 15 city driving. It does have all the bells and whistles on it. The body is still in great shape.
We get a lot of snow up this way and this little 4X4 is excellent.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2004
5 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
excellent vehicle,,
October 23, 2014
By stoli
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:95000
What's great about this vehicle?:dependable and rugged,easy and cheap to repair.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not a lot of power on highway,ok gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:3b3f525b99d8425bb78ba883b034285e
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:4266
"dependable,cheap to repair,great a/c.this vehicle has always
ran well,i love my truck and would recomend it to anyone,it
would make a great first vehicle
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MA
Year 2001
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best possible first vehicle I could have had,
October 22, 2014
By Clay
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:208000
What's great about this vehicle?:High durability, forgiving gear shift, low maint
ReviewOriginationID:2dbad39d717741a895003a07f02984cb
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4261
"My dad bought me this car for my first vehicle and it was the best decision. I pushed this truck during high school and it has stayed dependable all the way past 200k miles. The only problem she ever gave me was when the transmission suddenly gave out around 150k miles. Dependable non-flashy vehicle great as a first car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2001
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Very good condition for a 2005,
October 20, 2014
By Kimbell
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:146995
ReviewOriginationID:4354e4ca20c24204856a03fd375f1def
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:347859
"Nice ride"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2005
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2011 4x4 Ranger - great all around truck,
October 8, 2014
By Ray
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:25000
What's great about this vehicle?:Can do just about anything
What's not so great about this vehicle?:It's not a full-size
ReviewOriginationID:964a0d84d5de49fd95866c04f32fd239
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:352876
"I'm very happy with this truck. It's like the 'Little Engine that Could'. Goes anywhere. Drives nice. Gas mileage has improved after a decent break-in period."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 2011
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
purchased '01 new, 158000 miles, never any problem,
October 6, 2014
By Motornut
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:158466
What's great about this vehicle?:very reliable and dependable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:poor mileage and wind noise in the 4 door.
ReviewOriginationID:c6d8d8b657664eddbedd7cfba6dd97fe
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4269
"Purchased 2001 Ranger Supercab new in '01, 4 liter engine, most all the bells and whistles, have pulled a camper all over the south, never any problems with this vehicle. Has 158000 miles, routine maintenance would not be scared to get in it right now and go across the U.S. Only kick I have is the mileage, w/o camper, about 18 to 21, depending on how driven, with camper, 14 to 16."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2001
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
For the age of vehicle, it is great,
September 28, 2014
By Jin
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:50000
What's great about this vehicle?:still looks great and drives smoothly
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none except age
ReviewOriginationID:3792fb7fd06d435185a34984f7ead555
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348056
"Truck in very good condition, has only required routine maintenance. The paint (red) has held up extremely well on truck and back cover. I only part with it because I don't have a need for it now."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2004
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very reliable pickup,
September 25, 2014
By Pam
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:275000
What's great about this vehicle?:bright yellow love color..
What's not so great about this vehicle?:could get better mileage hwy19-20
ReviewOriginationID:cac483bd228f4e31be9a40340b5ec597
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349120
"No major problems a great little pickup."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2006
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.