Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger

Average Customer Rating:
8.512 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
1,196 of 1,282(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Review 1 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
LOVE MY TRUCK!,
January 10, 2012
By MMILES
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:93000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive....has a potential for lift kit.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:turn radius is not as good as a car.
ReviewOriginationID:302b40e7-54b7-4506-b2ce-193606a4ca75
"I have wanted a truck for years and I bought this Ranger used and love it! It has a slight oversized tire on it and it looks good but I would like to do a 4 or 6 inch lift. The interior is solid black and no carpet in the floorboard which I love...it can be kept very clean and Armorall EVERYTHING! The turn radius is not as great, but that comes with the larger tires and any lifts. Over all...It's a Great Truck....IT'S A FORD!!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Just like a Timex!!,
December 18, 2011
By Shockey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:234000
What's great about this vehicle?:Takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:The physical looks really need to be updated!
ReviewOriginationID:01e3734e-b6a7-4eaa-a73c-9686cebf0fd9
"I bought my '99 Ranger in '02, with 42,000 miles on it. Due to some abuse by the first owner, I had to have the front end rebuilt soon after buying it. I own a small remodeling business and do a lot of hauling with this truck. Typically between 1000 and 1500 lbs before the rear end even begins to dip!The 3.0 liter engine has all the power you will ever need, and at 12 years old it still gets 18 miles to the gallon. It's time to upgrade to a newer truck, and I was convinced the the Chevy was the way to go, until I compared the Chevy to the Ranger. With the exception that the Chevys are more stylish, the Ranger is still the best value for the money. I will be picking up my new (07) Ranger this week and expect it to perform as well as "Old Faithfull". I'll let you know...."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great truck which I trust in back country,
August 25, 2011
By red rock
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:samll enough to get in tight places
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had to replace cruise control bridle on steering wheel
"FX4, 4x4-does great in red rock country., 4wheels beautifully...has plenty dents which means I trust it in outback. comfortable on long trips. tows well. wish it had built-in compass and outside temp gauge."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2003
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
too bad they dont make them anymore,
July 28, 2015
By third ranger
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:good ride-never stranded me
What's not so great about this vehicle?:poor oem tires and shocks
ReviewOriginationID:7c799822a85f489c82f295e0eb7c6e61
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348278
"been a pretty good ride-original tires and shocks very poor and 2 tires gone at 20K-all gone at 50k.
Michelin all around since then and no problems at 134k
would buy a new one if they still made them
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Starter,
July 20, 2015
By Peanut
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:133847
What's great about this vehicle?:Easily managed, great size for light duties.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not a lot of cab storage, small center seat.
ReviewOriginationID:c0761e79b0cc4cecbec85d5144b87ab9
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349113
"This is a great sized vehicle for someone's first. Mine so happens to be a 5 sp. manual, and the shifting is not difficult to manage. Occasional problems arise as with any vehicle, but tend to be simple, easy fixes that require little shop time or you can do yourself (i.e.: changing spark plugs and wires). Also great for new drivers that you don't want to haul dozens of people around, as it only seats two with a small center seat. All around great truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2006
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
The reliability of an aircraft,
July 16, 2015
By norb
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:128000
What's great about this vehicle?:Best snd most practical truck I've had
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Need better seats, better radio and speakers.
ReviewOriginationID:6e2c4008cc5d426ab50c9c5f3c079ee3
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349507
"Mine has the small V6 which has all the power I ever ask for. I have towed a car trailer with 2600 # on it over Nebraska's hills, driven in deep snows and driving rain. It is a plain Jane two door with 2 wheel drive, automatic. A practical truck. All that I have done is replace belts, hoses, tires and the safety cables on the tailgate. I had it tuned up twice which is to be expected over 128 K miles. I always classed the mileage as very good for the model year. if you want very good gas mileage get a two wheel drive -- not 4 wheel! I also towed a canoe trailer about 5 time over a total of somewhere over 2000 miles -- only problem was flat tires on the trailer! I'll bet engineers didn't have a say on dropping it from production-- other people probably thought it was not flashy enough to keep it's market position. It more than likely had to do with the younger set's need for glitter instead of substance."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NE
Year 2004
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bought new and never a problem...,
July 14, 2015
By Cheeks
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:148000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable. Durable.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
ReviewOriginationID:5f1793eba2fb426198b1fcf1d18a96ea
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349402
"Got over 147,000 miles and never have had any problems. Great truck. Sorry they stopped making them because I would sure buy another one!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2003
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my Ranger,
July 11, 2015
By LadyUte
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:40000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive and easy to park. Great in the snow.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:f565760552bc442297ea080e85a50259
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349509
"I had my heart set on a Ranger so that's what I got. I purchased it new and haven't had any issues. Perfect size."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2007
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Little workhorse.,
June 20, 2015
By RM
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:10000
What's great about this vehicle?:Good fuel economy, carry a decent load.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Uncomfortable for trips over 200 miles.
ReviewOriginationID:b8fc94fdd5534d10b34947a1a967d45f
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349508
"Reliable little truck; always starts in any weather. work on the farm or wash it and go to town; easy to maintain and easy to DIY - replace service items."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2005
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love this truck,
June 5, 2015
By Sammy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:29000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great handling. Fast. Powerful.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cruise control
ReviewOriginationID:f99eda86838d43a29f5e35b43120e150
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:352892
"This electric blue PU looks like it just came off the new car show room floor. Tonneau bed cover.
Love my manual trannys. This is my 3rd Ranger and probably the last since Ford is pushing their F150.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2011
7 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
best overall truck i have owned,
May 31, 2015
By proffesor
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:32000
What's great about this vehicle?:Bullet proof!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Wish the turning radius was a little tighter.
ReviewOriginationID:b6199428506440acb5697b4e1405a687
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348325
"This little truck goes like a tank. GETS 20 MPG. Ordered truck in 2008 with 5 speed Fx4 package.Have 32000 mi. With no problems what so ever."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WV
Year 2008
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
'02 Ford Ranger - F150 in Sheep's clothing,
May 25, 2015
By bassmansteven
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:101000
What's great about this vehicle?:Best truck I have ever owned
What's not so great about this vehicle?:better seats would be nice. and, a manual 2 to 4WD
ReviewOriginationID:65d50409b4644769a3085edb7ddb5f8b
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4035
"I have owned this truck since 2002 when it had 19 miles on it. I have always ran full synthetic in the engine until 150K, when I went to synthetic mix. This truck has never left me stranded. I have replaced: Water Pump, Alternator,and 4x4 transfer case motor. Upgrades include: 165 degree Temp regulator, K&N Filter in standard airbox, 2.5" cat-back exhaust with flowmaster, Enhasnced coimputer mapping for torque, shift points and shift duration (set for HARD shift), 3 inch bodylift, 265/75/16 off road tires, Rancho-9000 adjustable shocks, 4.56 gears front and rear. I have pulled more trucks, cars, and a school bus out of ditches with this truck. It seems that no task is too great. It is much easier to navigate on dirt/sand/muddy trails that my 2000 F-150 4x4, and with a similar set up. I now have 201,000 miles, and when this engine time is through, I will get another Engine/trans/ECG and replace it and start again. I LOVE MY TRUCK."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2002
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Nice truck,
May 19, 2015
By Red
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:56500
ReviewOriginationID:cefe8115f82940d7b015942159a46e5c
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348275
"friend in car business checked by carfax, clean, looks good"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent Vehicle,
May 13, 2015
By PGPugsley
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:94000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very Reliable, Will go almost in 4 wheel drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Cab is a little small
ReviewOriginationID:6761c563fc4a46f88982321bee949473
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349129
"The only issues I have had with this truck are basic preventative maintenance, Brakes, Fluid Changes, Filters Etc., Etc, Etc."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 2008
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
ok but not the best,
May 11, 2015
By pittfitter
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
3
Definitely
Approximate mileage:53000
What's great about this vehicle?:4x4, color, extended cab, overall appearance
What's not so great about this vehicle?:fuel economy, ride, transmission shifts, rear seat
ReviewOriginationID:5ef29d4440d548c893b9c815ac559499
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349130
"had truck for just about a year, put close to 15000 miles on it, overall, not really impressed by vehicle at all, no problems, just basically unremarkable driving experience, stiff bouncy ride and about 16-18 mpg . i bought ranger because of great reliability record and truck has been that, just can't beat the ride of full size trucks, but still very peppy and agile, can sorta see why they lost favor with public."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2010
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
April 12, 2015
By Dude
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:29000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Ford discontinued this model ...why is mystery
ReviewOriginationID:2aa9396cafee49028e90ae23184a3826
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349498
"Very reliable and fun to drive. Lots of power...mileage ok. No major problems at all. Ford should still make a small fun truck like this. Ayah"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ME
Year 2006
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
This is a very reliable and great on gas truck.,
April 1, 2015
By timthetoolman47
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:67000
ReviewOriginationID:9de6cb8f761c4bc18489654f26d10e40
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:4043
"You can't go wrong with owning this truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2002
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Only minimal carpet wear under pedals,
March 28, 2015
By Sharon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:27000
What's great about this vehicle?:like new
What's not so great about this vehicle?:18 to 20 mpg highway
ReviewOriginationID:06035352db8f41569ecda678bff4653f
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349495
"easy driven pickup. No towing or off roading."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2004
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Ranger,
March 26, 2015
By brnunn
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:162000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:door and tailgate handles are worthless
ReviewOriginationID:39ce84ce852543cd9d06d1522a26d10b
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349402
"I've been very pleased with the reliability of the Ranger. No real mechanical issues. The normal replacement of belts, oil, etc that goes with owning a car or truck. Only complaint is that they placed plastic handles on the doors and tailgate of a truck. Really!!? It's a truck, not some kid's toy. I've had to replace 2 handles on the tailgate and would be more, but it cost $200 every time to go in and have it done. I'm too cheap to keep replacing it. Otherwise, I'm very pleased with it. I plan on running till the wheels fall off."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2003
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I DRIVE THIS TRUCK ON WEEKENDS IN THE SUMMER.,
March 23, 2015
By J.J.
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:47000
What's great about this vehicle?:22 MPG. GREAT TRUCK TO DRIVE
ReviewOriginationID:e51009bc372149299cd372d99e0c2cc8
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4035
"MY TRUCK SITS IN THE GARAGE FROM SEPT UNTIL APRIL. HAS NEVER BEEN ON SNOW OR ICE.OIL CHANGED EVERY 3 TO 5 THOUSAND MILES.EVERYTHING ORIGINAL EXCEPT THE BATTERY."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 2002
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.