Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger

Average Customer Rating:
8.504 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
1,176 of 1,261(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Review 1 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
LOVE MY TRUCK!,
January 10, 2012
By MMILES
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:93000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive....has a potential for lift kit.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:turn radius is not as good as a car.
ReviewOriginationID:302b40e7-54b7-4506-b2ce-193606a4ca75
"I have wanted a truck for years and I bought this Ranger used and love it! It has a slight oversized tire on it and it looks good but I would like to do a 4 or 6 inch lift. The interior is solid black and no carpet in the floorboard which I love...it can be kept very clean and Armorall EVERYTHING! The turn radius is not as great, but that comes with the larger tires and any lifts. Over all...It's a Great Truck....IT'S A FORD!!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Just like a Timex!!,
December 18, 2011
By Shockey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:234000
What's great about this vehicle?:Takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:The physical looks really need to be updated!
ReviewOriginationID:01e3734e-b6a7-4eaa-a73c-9686cebf0fd9
"I bought my '99 Ranger in '02, with 42,000 miles on it. Due to some abuse by the first owner, I had to have the front end rebuilt soon after buying it. I own a small remodeling business and do a lot of hauling with this truck. Typically between 1000 and 1500 lbs before the rear end even begins to dip!The 3.0 liter engine has all the power you will ever need, and at 12 years old it still gets 18 miles to the gallon. It's time to upgrade to a newer truck, and I was convinced the the Chevy was the way to go, until I compared the Chevy to the Ranger. With the exception that the Chevys are more stylish, the Ranger is still the best value for the money. I will be picking up my new (07) Ranger this week and expect it to perform as well as "Old Faithfull". I'll let you know...."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great truck which I trust in back country,
August 25, 2011
By red rock
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:samll enough to get in tight places
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had to replace cruise control bridle on steering wheel
"FX4, 4x4-does great in red rock country., 4wheels beautifully...has plenty dents which means I trust it in outback. comfortable on long trips. tows well. wish it had built-in compass and outside temp gauge."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2003
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
amazing truck,
February 28, 2015
By ranger0473
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:121000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable, dependable, peppy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:3380458ad9e44aac8271f8484c91ef8f
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348276
"I have owned this truck for 4 years it is the best truck I have ever owned I love everything about it. for a truck it gets decent gas mileage does everything I need it to do and hasn't really ever let me down. I wish they would have never stopped producing rangers"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2004
Review 5 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2003 Ranger excellent small pickup for light duty,
February 28, 2015
By Mike
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:38000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable affordable transportation.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Location of heat control awkward with trans in 5th
ReviewOriginationID:d3becbd39fe1413fb2dc96f95a0e7ed9
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349399
"I bought this truck 3 months ago in like new condition, only having 38,000 miles. It is minimalist, with few to no options and is exactly what I was looking for. 4 cylinder engine, 6 foot bed, manual trans, 2wd. Gas mileage is right at 30 mpg, measured with 75% highway and 25% city driving. Visibility is excellent. The AM FM radio gets great reception, and has surprisingly good sound quality.
The truck will likely serve me well for at least the next 10 years."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great little truck,
February 22, 2015
By SgtSteve
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:20000
What's great about this vehicle?:price,long lasting,very reliable,looks good,size
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not good gas milage-no longer made by Ford
ReviewOriginationID:651166d43e634ca9ab9d5296387ff27d
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349130
"My only regret with my Ranger is I can not buy a new replacement Ford dropped the ball and quit making them.These things last forever it will probably rust apart before you can wear it out,look around still many Rangers on the road today but the small Chevy and Dodge trucks where are they at????? I think we know. My only knock on it for a small truck gas mileage not great but to have a Ranger I can live with that."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2010
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck I ever had,
January 19, 2015
By Tommy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:38000
Reason for Sale:Selling was big mistake
What's great about this vehicle?:Great truck, right size, dependable.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:4c92701fa5854a1da7af5185a755aa9e
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348160
"This was one great truck, I had two rangers, both great bullet-proof drive train..big mistake in trading it."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location PA
Year 2009
13 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2004 68,877 miles Best Truck Ever!,
January 16, 2015
By missjet
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:68877
What's great about this vehicle?:Tough, great value.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Drives best with a load. a deffinate hauler.
ReviewOriginationID:9c86930eb3eb4a3f867bf520128a8b9b
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348276
"I loved my little truck. had her from day one. Only replaced tires and brakes. Nothing ever broke. I just lost her to my first accident. Skidded on overpass ice and flipped her. I came out without a scratch on me. She held up well and protected me. If i ever get another vehicle it will be a Ford Ranger."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2004
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2003 with only 72500 miles.in great shape for its,
January 4, 2015
By yt
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:72500
ReviewOriginationID:e14825ced1ad4e5d813716dfe14a71bd
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349494
"everything works great.four wheel drive.spray on bed liner since New,been oil undercoated every year.air conditioning,CD player,power windows ,power door locks.interior in great shape.exterior,one small dent in box,minimal rust.trailer hitch.needs grill."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NH
Year 2003
9 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
All highway miles.,
January 3, 2015
By Dave
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:240000
ReviewOriginationID:9f60f22e348246d79b387e31f80ebd56
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349508
"Great workhorse vehicle, Excellent mechanical. Would look great with a few minor bondo repairs on box."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Small Truck,
January 2, 2015
By Steve
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:110000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Rear seat too small.
ReviewOriginationID:317fe67ced5d43c29d52aba6014a5fd5
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349497
"This is the second Ford Ranger I have owned, and I have loved them both. When I sold the first one I had, it had 180000 miles on it and the only work I had done on it in all that time were one brake job (about $200) and a rear seal replacement (about $400). Other than that you just change the oil every 3000 miles and you're good to go. Great truck! I'll never own another type of small truck. And if I buy a full size truck it will be a Ford just based on the Ranger's reliability alone.
If I were to make an improvement, I'd like to see a quad cab like the Dodge Durango, but I'll stay with the Ranger and wait for the bigger cab. I do like the 4 doors on the super cab Ranger though. It makes getting stuff from the back seat area a lot easier.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AK
Year 2005
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Tough little truck,
December 10, 2014
By Skipper
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:213000
What's great about this vehicle?:Tough, sturdy, good stereo, good for hauling
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Small seats, cooling system problems.
ReviewOriginationID:ed45ee552e5041c58b3ca958ecc48b6a
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:4266
"Have 213,000 miles on it. Have hauled stuff over the years. Have been rear-ended 4 times. It needs some TLC but still runs. The one major problem I've had in the cooling system. I've had to replace most of it twice......and the parts aren't cheap. Also, had the PATS system shut down a few months ago. Overall, it's a tough little truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2001
20 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Very reliable, no major problems at all,
December 8, 2014
By American Joe
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:132000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Needs a few more "comfort" details.
ReviewOriginationID:04d0e4f804164fbb8145c467f5c62191
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4047
"Well made, no majors problems with correct maintenance. One thing ford needs to do is NOT integrate mechanical systems. ie. New front end parts needed when changing struts adding cost to the struts."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2002
7 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best small truck I have ever owned,
December 6, 2014
By Topcat
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:70501
What's great about this vehicle?:Ease of handeling and dependability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Must use load leaveler to pull real heavy objects.
ReviewOriginationID:69560cfc3ce34165b37734fa098c2616
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348129
"I would buy a new one if Ford still made it..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2005
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2007 Ford Ranger XLT Supercab 2wd,
December 5, 2014
By John
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:103000
What's great about this vehicle?:Well built and never lets you down
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
ReviewOriginationID:d761ab359ac64cd1bd888f8497fa75ff
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349509
"I have owned five rangers and this by far is the best. Has a nice ride and is smooth on the road at any speed. Gets about 20-23 mpg with 3.0L V6. Can pull up to 4500 lbs. with no trouble. Sad Ford stop making the Ranger. I have always owned the 2wd. you only need the 4wd if you go off road. Great truck for the money, built like a full size truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2007
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Have owned several Rangers,
December 2, 2014
By Jim
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:17000
What's great about this vehicle?:Size, Four wheel drive, price, reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:1bcb194305e44fa2aef8d0124b1bccfd
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:352876
"Pleased with this truck (my 5th Ranger) I like the size and the overall ride. Gas mileage is not great, back seat is not for passengers but for what I use it for it is great."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2011
7 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great small truck no traction 2wd,
November 20, 2014
By Don
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:42500
What's great about this vehicle?:inexpensive dives nice has room decent payload siz
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no traction poor gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:08e5bf294ab7485c9c084bdd83c7c3de
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348130
"Nice little truck if it was 4wd Id probably keep it till it dies. Don't like ford motor company and not paticularly found of my dealer but truck is nice"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2006
4 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This is my second Ranger - I owned,
November 13, 2014
By Biller
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:88000
What's great about this vehicle?:Tough and reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poor fuel economy for a vehicle this size.
ReviewOriginationID:d6359816180749068b9cbe149d44e808
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349683
"This is my second Ranger - I owned a 1993 XLT 2 wheel drive for 12 years and upgraded to this one in about 2005. Both have been very good to me with little repair or maintenance necessary. On my third set of tires and second set of brakes - wears well.
The only major maintenance I have had to do so far is a repair of the ABS system in one of the back brakes.
Two of the best vehicles I have ever owned and at great value..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2003
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck I have ever owned...,
November 12, 2014
By James
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:165000
What's great about this vehicle?:Good looks, reliability, inexpensive to operate
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage could be better...but I can't complain
ReviewOriginationID:b89f54f5fc5546ddbec0229430afa826
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4047
"Ordered this truck in Dec 2001. The 3.0L engine hasn't the power of any other trucks but it has been dependable beyond my wildest dreams when I ordered it. The looks and styling are still outstanding. 165,000 on the clock and the truck has never had a wrench on it outside regular maintenance every 7500 miles. Overkill? Maybe...but I would not hesitate to take this truck anywhere with confidence. Mine is 2WD so I don't use it for mud bogging and the like. But if you want a ride that is stylish, comfortable and dependable...you just can't beat a Ranger."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2002
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
reliable comfortable easy to drive,
October 28, 2014
By sunnyshirl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:25000
What's great about this vehicle?:every good thing there is about a pick up
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cons
ReviewOriginationID:0db2ff2fd07746acb8531dbec9dd825a
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:348273
"my ranger is the most reliable i have ever owned. i am bummed ford does not make Rangers any more. I cant think what I will buy next"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2004
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.