Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger

Average Customer Rating:
8.508 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
1,185 of 1,270(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Review 1 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
LOVE MY TRUCK!,
January 10, 2012
By MMILES
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:93000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive....has a potential for lift kit.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:turn radius is not as good as a car.
ReviewOriginationID:302b40e7-54b7-4506-b2ce-193606a4ca75
"I have wanted a truck for years and I bought this Ranger used and love it! It has a slight oversized tire on it and it looks good but I would like to do a 4 or 6 inch lift. The interior is solid black and no carpet in the floorboard which I love...it can be kept very clean and Armorall EVERYTHING! The turn radius is not as great, but that comes with the larger tires and any lifts. Over all...It's a Great Truck....IT'S A FORD!!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Just like a Timex!!,
December 18, 2011
By Shockey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:234000
What's great about this vehicle?:Takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:The physical looks really need to be updated!
ReviewOriginationID:01e3734e-b6a7-4eaa-a73c-9686cebf0fd9
"I bought my '99 Ranger in '02, with 42,000 miles on it. Due to some abuse by the first owner, I had to have the front end rebuilt soon after buying it. I own a small remodeling business and do a lot of hauling with this truck. Typically between 1000 and 1500 lbs before the rear end even begins to dip!The 3.0 liter engine has all the power you will ever need, and at 12 years old it still gets 18 miles to the gallon. It's time to upgrade to a newer truck, and I was convinced the the Chevy was the way to go, until I compared the Chevy to the Ranger. With the exception that the Chevys are more stylish, the Ranger is still the best value for the money. I will be picking up my new (07) Ranger this week and expect it to perform as well as "Old Faithfull". I'll let you know...."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great truck which I trust in back country,
August 25, 2011
By red rock
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:samll enough to get in tight places
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had to replace cruise control bridle on steering wheel
"FX4, 4x4-does great in red rock country., 4wheels beautifully...has plenty dents which means I trust it in outback. comfortable on long trips. tows well. wish it had built-in compass and outside temp gauge."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2003
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
April 12, 2015
By Dude
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:29000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Ford discontinued this model ...why is mystery
ReviewOriginationID:2aa9396cafee49028e90ae23184a3826
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349498
"Very reliable and fun to drive. Lots of power...mileage ok. No major problems at all. Ford should still make a small fun truck like this. Ayah"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ME
Year 2006
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
This is a very reliable and great on gas truck.,
April 1, 2015
By timthetoolman47
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:67000
ReviewOriginationID:9de6cb8f761c4bc18489654f26d10e40
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:4043
"You can't go wrong with owning this truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2002
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Only minimal carpet wear under pedals,
March 28, 2015
By Sharon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:27000
What's great about this vehicle?:like new
What's not so great about this vehicle?:18 to 20 mpg highway
ReviewOriginationID:06035352db8f41569ecda678bff4653f
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349495
"easy driven pickup. No towing or off roading."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2004
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Ranger,
March 26, 2015
By brnunn
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:162000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:door and tailgate handles are worthless
ReviewOriginationID:39ce84ce852543cd9d06d1522a26d10b
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349402
"I've been very pleased with the reliability of the Ranger. No real mechanical issues. The normal replacement of belts, oil, etc that goes with owning a car or truck. Only complaint is that they placed plastic handles on the doors and tailgate of a truck. Really!!? It's a truck, not some kid's toy. I've had to replace 2 handles on the tailgate and would be more, but it cost $200 every time to go in and have it done. I'm too cheap to keep replacing it. Otherwise, I'm very pleased with it. I plan on running till the wheels fall off."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2003
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I DRIVE THIS TRUCK ON WEEKENDS IN THE SUMMER.,
March 23, 2015
By J.J.
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:47000
What's great about this vehicle?:22 MPG. GREAT TRUCK TO DRIVE
ReviewOriginationID:e51009bc372149299cd372d99e0c2cc8
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4035
"MY TRUCK SITS IN THE GARAGE FROM SEPT UNTIL APRIL. HAS NEVER BEEN ON SNOW OR ICE.OIL CHANGED EVERY 3 TO 5 THOUSAND MILES.EVERYTHING ORIGINAL EXCEPT THE BATTERY."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 2002
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
VERY DEPENDABLE TRUCK!,
March 18, 2015
By Puddleglumm
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:123000
ReviewOriginationID:b48d381c1d684de6bb403d34417e9116
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348279
"This has been a great little truck! I have had to do very little to keep this truck running great, mostly just routine maintenance. Although it is not the roomiest and most comfortable vehicle I have ever owned, it is definitely the most dependable and the one needing the least repairs of any that I have owned in the past 40 years!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AR
Year 2004
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Amazing Truck. Especially Considering the Mileage,
March 16, 2015
By Dylan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:278000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, Hardworking, and good on gas
ReviewOriginationID:b3a1efec6aa34a25a963056e5d52b6b8
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349415
"I have an 2008 Ford Ranger and it has a large number of miles on the engine. I haven't done any engine work to it and it still runs great. Most of the miles are highway miles but still anything over 150k is pretty amazing. I love this truck and will most likely stay with the Rangers after this one bites the dust."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 2008
7 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Very good small truck, with great reliability,
March 16, 2015
By Bob
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:70000
ReviewOriginationID:842abe1a7ea144e2bcc13a82daaa7bcc
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349120
"This was a replacement for another small truck that had an engine that failed. The reliability has been excellent. The gas mileage is fair but this is a truck. The finish has been very durable and still looks new.
Yes this is a 4 door but only very small people could fit in the rear. But having the rear door is very handy when shopping.
The engine has more than adequate power.
This has just been a very good truck
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2006
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliable and Rugged Vehicle for work and commuting,
March 15, 2015
By Alex
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:141000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great Price, Reliable, Rugged, Tough
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Rocker panels rust out.
ReviewOriginationID:768861c3375a4cf286f75dabcd39dbb7
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4269
"I purchased the 2001 Ford Ranger XLT 4X4 4.0 V6 in 2012 with 97,000 miles. The truck was and is still in good condition. It presently has 140,000 miles on it. Since the purchase, I have had to make minor repairs such as break replacement (rear drum and front disc), fuel tank line(rust), and front differential (replaced with used) at 140,000. The truck is reliable, relatively good on gas for a 4.0. It gets about 20 mpg highway. I am generally satisfied with the vehicle and can rely on it for towing, off-roading, and commuting to work daily. Would recommend to any looking for a good deal on a reliable truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2001
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
amazing truck,
February 28, 2015
By ranger0473
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:121000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable, dependable, peppy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:3380458ad9e44aac8271f8484c91ef8f
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348276
"I have owned this truck for 4 years it is the best truck I have ever owned I love everything about it. for a truck it gets decent gas mileage does everything I need it to do and hasn't really ever let me down. I wish they would have never stopped producing rangers"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2004
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2003 Ranger excellent small pickup for light duty,
February 28, 2015
By Mike
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:38000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable affordable transportation.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Location of heat control awkward with trans in 5th
ReviewOriginationID:d3becbd39fe1413fb2dc96f95a0e7ed9
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349399
"I bought this truck 3 months ago in like new condition, only having 38,000 miles. It is minimalist, with few to no options and is exactly what I was looking for. 4 cylinder engine, 6 foot bed, manual trans, 2wd. Gas mileage is right at 30 mpg, measured with 75% highway and 25% city driving. Visibility is excellent. The AM FM radio gets great reception, and has surprisingly good sound quality.
The truck will likely serve me well for at least the next 10 years."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great little truck,
February 22, 2015
By SgtSteve
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:20000
What's great about this vehicle?:price,long lasting,very reliable,looks good,size
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not good gas milage-no longer made by Ford
ReviewOriginationID:651166d43e634ca9ab9d5296387ff27d
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349130
"My only regret with my Ranger is I can not buy a new replacement Ford dropped the ball and quit making them.These things last forever it will probably rust apart before you can wear it out,look around still many Rangers on the road today but the small Chevy and Dodge trucks where are they at????? I think we know. My only knock on it for a small truck gas mileage not great but to have a Ranger I can live with that."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2010
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck I ever had,
January 19, 2015
By Tommy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:38000
Reason for Sale:Selling was big mistake
What's great about this vehicle?:Great truck, right size, dependable.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:4c92701fa5854a1da7af5185a755aa9e
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348160
"This was one great truck, I had two rangers, both great bullet-proof drive train..big mistake in trading it."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location PA
Year 2009
14 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2004 68,877 miles Best Truck Ever!,
January 16, 2015
By missjet
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:68877
What's great about this vehicle?:Tough, great value.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Drives best with a load. a deffinate hauler.
ReviewOriginationID:9c86930eb3eb4a3f867bf520128a8b9b
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348276
"I loved my little truck. had her from day one. Only replaced tires and brakes. Nothing ever broke. I just lost her to my first accident. Skidded on overpass ice and flipped her. I came out without a scratch on me. She held up well and protected me. If i ever get another vehicle it will be a Ford Ranger."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2004
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2003 with only 72500 miles.in great shape for its,
January 4, 2015
By yt
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:72500
ReviewOriginationID:e14825ced1ad4e5d813716dfe14a71bd
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349494
"everything works great.four wheel drive.spray on bed liner since New,been oil undercoated every year.air conditioning,CD player,power windows ,power door locks.interior in great shape.exterior,one small dent in box,minimal rust.trailer hitch.needs grill."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NH
Year 2003
10 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
All highway miles.,
January 3, 2015
By Dave
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:240000
ReviewOriginationID:9f60f22e348246d79b387e31f80ebd56
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349508
"Great workhorse vehicle, Excellent mechanical. Would look great with a few minor bondo repairs on box."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Small Truck,
January 2, 2015
By Steve
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:110000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Rear seat too small.
ReviewOriginationID:317fe67ced5d43c29d52aba6014a5fd5
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349497
"This is the second Ford Ranger I have owned, and I have loved them both. When I sold the first one I had, it had 180000 miles on it and the only work I had done on it in all that time were one brake job (about $200) and a rear seal replacement (about $400). Other than that you just change the oil every 3000 miles and you're good to go. Great truck! I'll never own another type of small truck. And if I buy a full size truck it will be a Ford just based on the Ranger's reliability alone.
If I were to make an improvement, I'd like to see a quad cab like the Dodge Durango, but I'll stay with the Ranger and wait for the bigger cab. I do like the 4 doors on the super cab Ranger though. It makes getting stuff from the back seat area a lot easier.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AK
Year 2005
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.