Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger

Average Customer Rating:
8.523 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
1,231 of 1,318(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Review 1 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
LOVE MY TRUCK!,
January 10, 2012
By MMILES
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:93000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive....has a potential for lift kit.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:turn radius is not as good as a car.
ReviewOriginationID:302b40e7-54b7-4506-b2ce-193606a4ca75
"I have wanted a truck for years and I bought this Ranger used and love it! It has a slight oversized tire on it and it looks good but I would like to do a 4 or 6 inch lift. The interior is solid black and no carpet in the floorboard which I love...it can be kept very clean and Armorall EVERYTHING! The turn radius is not as great, but that comes with the larger tires and any lifts. Over all...It's a Great Truck....IT'S A FORD!!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Just like a Timex!!,
December 18, 2011
By Shockey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:234000
What's great about this vehicle?:Takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:The physical looks really need to be updated!
ReviewOriginationID:01e3734e-b6a7-4eaa-a73c-9686cebf0fd9
"I bought my '99 Ranger in '02, with 42,000 miles on it. Due to some abuse by the first owner, I had to have the front end rebuilt soon after buying it. I own a small remodeling business and do a lot of hauling with this truck. Typically between 1000 and 1500 lbs before the rear end even begins to dip!The 3.0 liter engine has all the power you will ever need, and at 12 years old it still gets 18 miles to the gallon. It's time to upgrade to a newer truck, and I was convinced the the Chevy was the way to go, until I compared the Chevy to the Ranger. With the exception that the Chevys are more stylish, the Ranger is still the best value for the money. I will be picking up my new (07) Ranger this week and expect it to perform as well as "Old Faithfull". I'll let you know...."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great truck which I trust in back country,
August 25, 2011
By red rock
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:samll enough to get in tight places
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had to replace cruise control bridle on steering wheel
"FX4, 4x4-does great in red rock country., 4wheels beautifully...has plenty dents which means I trust it in outback. comfortable on long trips. tows well. wish it had built-in compass and outside temp gauge."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2003
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I drive 3 miles per day.5 day wk. never a work tr.,
June 6, 2016
By eric
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:48000
What's great about this vehicle?:4 cyc/ would recommend to any one
What's not so great about this vehicle?:4 cyc
ReviewOriginationID:2523936d0f924c0abe99b0fbfce942be
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349418
"have had NO problems with it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2010
Review 5 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
It was love at first sight.,
June 1, 2016
By ken
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:85262
ReviewOriginationID:7127300f23304b6ebbedfa1cfe1b17fe
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:348123
"custom paint / metallic gray
4/4 (never used)
4 doors / jump seats
Bed extender
Tinted windows: extended cab area and back slider
AM/FM 6 Disc CD w/ MP3 cap (great sound)
Trailer tow, Class 111
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Very nice,
May 13, 2016
By C & B Signs
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:129000
ReviewOriginationID:c58bcd186ca34d96a2f2e2820324738f
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4269
"Dependable little truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2001
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2001 Ford Ranger GREAT CONDITION,
May 6, 2016
By Matt
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:222073
What's great about this vehicle?:Valuable, well taken care of- Great Price!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Center console arms rest needs bolt to be attached
ReviewOriginationID:d8213068a0d9461f89a965af40146c0c
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4261
"2001 Ford Ranger XLT V6 4 liter, 4x4, 4 door, flare sides, power-steering, power windows, rear sliding door, fold down bench seats, new alternator, new brakes, new brake lines, K&N custom air filter, chrome step-ups, CD player & AM FM radio, tilt steering, tinted windows"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2001
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I love my truck,
April 25, 2016
By cotricia
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:45000
What's great about this vehicle?:Low maintenace and insurance, decent MPG.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Two seater...3 if you are close friends.
ReviewOriginationID:c3e70133c56f4ec8997cd6cb3facb145
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:352876
"It's right outside.........this little guy will do everything a full size can do and still drives nicely. The interior is still like a car, not a cockpit and you have room to breath. I've never had a problem in 45k miles and it looks respectable. It's holding it's value and has the desirable insurance rates for safety. I get a respectable 22 MPG for this 6 cylinder."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2011
8 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good A to B vehicle,
April 6, 2016
By CJ
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:128000
What's great about this vehicle?:MPGs, fits in small places, can still haul things
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Horsepower, accelereation
ReviewOriginationID:f884495ce32c499491a17e7bdc95ff7a
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349418
"I paid $8k last June for this truck. It had 112,000 miles and I now have 128,000 and I've been to NH 3 times and to the western mass a couple times. It has never broken down. I drive it to work 5 days a week which is about 30 miles both ways. All I've done is change the oil every 3,000 and put all new rotors on, pads, front wheel bearings which you have to replace on these trucks if you get new front rotors, one caliper and air filter.
The only problem is these 2.3L engines only have 143 hp so getting up to highway speeds takes about 1 mile and hills are hard to climb, but these engines can go up to 300,000 to 400,000 miles and they have a timing chain, not a belt like the older Rangers.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MA
Year 2010
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Rust,
March 16, 2016
By Geo
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Not At All
2
Definitely
Approximate mileage:114000
What's great about this vehicle?:Nice color
ReviewOriginationID:cb0b892315db423ba79bdba41d6c9b89
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4035
"The undercarriage and frame is rusting away. It passed inspection this time, however, I was told that it may not pass the following year because of the rust to the frame."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2002
6 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
depenedable,
March 13, 2016
By joe
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:80000
ReviewOriginationID:be99b0c391e04c628d5fe299f8c415e8
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349114
"alum tool box in bed"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2007
Review 12 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best for the money I ever spent.,
March 10, 2016
By Newtoo
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:201000
What's great about this vehicle?:Never a problem with normal maintence.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cons. Perfect for what I paid for.
ReviewOriginationID:e2bd876d89254f699791ece6691ceea8
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349400
"Bought new. Best value for the dollar ever spent on transportation. Still excellent. New tires, no rattles or wind noise. Drives perfect. Been maintained perfectly from the day it was purchased."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2004
8 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
great truck 51122 miles,
February 19, 2016
By butch
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:51122
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:c2e239411998498fbe5dc6946d479f5b
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4035
"red owned since2003 erviced every 3000 miles"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 2002
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very reliable,clean look,
February 16, 2016
By joe
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:100000
ReviewOriginationID:dbd1291250004ac09b4d24b555fb8de9
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349406
"alum tool box"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2007
Review 15 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Nice small-sized truck,
January 26, 2016
By Jon
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:90000
What's great about this vehicle?:Useful, good on gas, perfect for light duty
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Bad in snow, lightweight, small
ReviewOriginationID:adc6a2c11b5d485eb6a21bd34985c181
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349506
"I've owned my 06 Ranger XLT for a while now and never had any problems with it. Just new brake pads, and a wire for the horn that maybe disconnected over time, very easy fix, however. This truck is a perfect truck for small duty/daily driving. Interior is a little compact but thats with any single cab pickup. RWD is obviously bad in snow, also as with any RWD truck (provided you don't get the 4WD variant.) I would recommend this truck to anyone looking for a decent small-duty pickup with good gas mileage. Same mileage as my previous car, which was an 02 Sebring."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2006
16 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
A Great Truck to Have,
January 17, 2016
By Benjoh
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:111000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, easy to care for
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No outlet in bed for water to drain out
ReviewOriginationID:13cad05c2a4648bba10f5af4e612193c
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4261
"I have had this vehicle since 2004 and it was used. The next owner is getting a bargain from me. Where I prefer a truck to a car, I don't haul as much around as I once did. I think with the mechanical work on this vehicle the people buying it will get much use out of it. Ford Rangers are still best in class."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MS
Year 2001
5 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Excellent vehicle,
January 8, 2016
By Lee
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:108500
ReviewOriginationID:4338611f6f0e4a75b065e5ef8703ea19
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:349683
"This vehicle has turned out to be a great value, very comfortable, reliable and has performed everything that it was designed to do-very well!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2003
8 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great pick-up with lots of cargo room,
December 26, 2015
By Yoyo
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:103000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very dependable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:V6 engine fuel economy not good
ReviewOriginationID:e390768c8c7a4032a6b5a4af5676ea0b
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4035
"Bought it since new in 2002 and have no complaints about its quality and performance."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2002
Review 19 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Made Cheap!,
December 2, 2015
By LordOrion
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
6
Definitely
Approximate mileage:185000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive when it goes.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Transmissions arent built well.
ReviewOriginationID:908634168f6b4a9fba64c71cbf7006d0
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4269
"Everything about this truck is good except for its transmission, Will be selling mine for what ever I can get for it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2001
14 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2001 - 2011 Ford Ranger
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great first vehicle,
November 20, 2015
By bilbo baggins
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:155000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great truck for the money, pulls big trailers
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage is average,minor cosmectic,not 4X4
ReviewOriginationID:c159f17d4a4840ee86fd41546b459f70
Make:Ford
Model:Ranger Super Cab
Vehicle ID:4047
"I bought it about 1 year ago from family, and I love it! As a slight down side, a month or so after buying it, it needed $1400 worth of work. My brothers work hard and are very VERY rough on vehicles. since then It's been great! total repairs have been almost non-existent. I went through a time when I couldn't get it to start. But someone came and explained, that it wasn't all the way in park. And it's been great ever since! overall I would keep this vehicle until it dies, because it's dependable. Considering the beating it took from the previous owner, I'd say it is still in amazing condition. I did have to get the brakes worked on once, but then I accidentally drove a little with the emergency brake on. The only thing is.....I don't drive much, and therefore don't really need a truck. I need the gas mileage more than the truck. my situation has changed a bit."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2002
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.