Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2000 - 2007 Ford Focus

Average Customer Rating:
7.752 out of 10
7.8
 out of 
10
1,676 of 1,987(84%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Review 101 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
nothing works,
April 2, 2014
By salvage
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:250000
ReviewOriginationID:5d915276ed504add9af5f88a1906401f
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:500
"the cruise control doesnt work , the power steering went out the air conditioner does not work or the defrost it was in a terrible hail storm"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OK
Year 2006
2 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 102 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I have ever owned!,
April 1, 2014
By John
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:40153
What's great about this vehicle?:Handling, control, braking and acceleration
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Long throw shifter (correctable)
ReviewOriginationID:505f4dc1734c4a36a6d17da9f9d6589d
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:492
"I am 60 years old and have owned over 2 dozen vehicles. My 2006 Focus ST is my favorite. I have enjoyed it so much that I added a turbocharger with intercooler, 19" wheels, Goodyear F1 tires and coilover suspension. It is very powerful and handles like a go cart. I love it!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 103 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love love love this car!,
March 31, 2014
By shirls
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:156250
What's great about this vehicle?:gas efficient, compact for easy parking, great car
ReviewOriginationID:ca6dc022033c4e5e9922399c5bdd084e
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:575
"My car is 8 1/2 years old and the only repair that has been remotely expensive was the wheel bearings! I have put my little girl through the mud and she came out smilin'! That's the power of a FORD, baby!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VT
Year 2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 104 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great car for its age.,
March 28, 2014
By Zobub
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:51000
What's great about this vehicle?:Holds up well, reliable, comfortable ride.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Cup holder position
ReviewOriginationID:9beed24bb141490baa8f18513855c9c3
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:3904
"I leased this car when new, then bought it outright. Besides maintenance costs, I haven't been out any outrageous repairs. It has been reliable from the start. Even the paint has held up well. In the future, I plan to purchase another Focus."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OK
Year 2002
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 105 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Loved car when I first bought it,
March 27, 2014
By jen
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:206000
ReviewOriginationID:30c96a331830465782fafe3304ab18e3
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4119
"I loved my car when I first purchased it in 2011 (a 10 year old car still running with 100,00+ miles is a rare find). Unfortunately it's had a few collisions (one prior to ownership and one after). Other than the damage to the car it has been running smoothly. I know some have had problems with the aluminum head but mine is still running decently. MPG is not great but ok for the year. Currently there is a problem with the idling. It will turn off unexpectedly at red lights.
Overall great buy at the age/mileage. Would buy again (hoping accidents don't happen)!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2001
Review 106 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
lots of repairs,
March 27, 2014
By lme
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not At All
4
Definitely
Approximate mileage:164586
What's great about this vehicle?:good price fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:high maintenence
ReviewOriginationID:7b36aa879ec547cbbb935a28bb37b897
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2228
"Bought this car with 20k miles. have had to replace the right rear wheel barring 9 times, stabilizer bar links have broken 7 times, not to mention rough on tires and wears them out before the recommended mileage. The maintenance on this year has been massive. head gasket blew at 139k put in rebuilt engine. Besides that, I love this car. If I knew they fixed all the maintenance problems I would buy another"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2003
Review 107 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Unfortunately electrical issues,
March 27, 2014
By tae
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not At All
2
Definitely
Approximate mileage:80000
ReviewOriginationID:6d95ab65ae644977a0a7a51309700b27
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4122
"electrical issues started w door then ttrunk then headlight now dashboard & engine keeps running after ignition turned off. Had 2 wheel bearing replaced on same wheel. Reliability is therefore rated low.
Otherwise looks are good comfort is aws well and handles great."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2001
Review 108 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
well taken care off,
March 24, 2014
By frank
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:118000
ReviewOriginationID:3a8bfe736e604176945f1e8f0c8e18b9
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2232
"excellent condition well taken care off did all suggested maintenance"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2003
Review 109 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Worst Car I have ever owned!! Do not BUY~,
March 23, 2014
By MRiggle
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:NONE AT ALL
What's not so great about this vehicle?:EVERYTHING
ReviewOriginationID:8c9931c86c1447be90d6dd40d8c35e78
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:5883
"I have had this car for about two years and bought it with about 80k on it. I have replaced almost everything imaginable, including an entire new engine! I have heard nothing good from any mechanic on this car and regret everyday that I sadly still own it! I am finally getting a new car and even though it had nothing major wrong at the time I just want to drive it straight to the junk yard so no poor soul has to deal with it anymore....STAY AWAY FROM THIS CAR"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2000
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 110 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Fantastic Car, brought me back to Ford,
March 23, 2014
By Greg
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:114000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great Value
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Won't tow a boat.
ReviewOriginationID:7b17b4928ace445fa57e1e87fff76392
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4119
"Have had this car since new and really love it. Have recommended Focus to several friends."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2001
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 111 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love this car, even aproaching 200k,
March 22, 2014
By fordnotchevy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:Dependable. Great mileage. Very comfortable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:It is a bit underpowered with the 4 Spd auto
ReviewOriginationID:e4493d3e4c3b41ee9c48007d21af17b4
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:5879
"2000 Ford Focus SE. Bought in 05 with 60k on it . now shows 170k and has had No issues beyond Strut replacement and a burst coolant hose. Even with the auto it can be very fun to drive if you stroke the trans a bit. Ride and comfort are amazing. I'm looking to buy a new car now and looking at another Focus or Fiesta. We will be keeping the 2000 and trading my 2002 Taurus to get the new one. Thats how much we love this car"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 2000
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 112 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I LOVE this little car.,
March 20, 2014
By FordFocus17
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:89000
What's great about this vehicle?:gas mileage, easy driving, comfort, style,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none :)
ReviewOriginationID:7f00dbeb0d0e4c8a89dfe2639e435467
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4110
"I had a chevy colbalt as my first car and it was a little stinker. I got a ford focus afterwords and fell in love. It's comfy, cute, convienent. This car has given me no problems, I've done regular oil changes and kept up on the maitnence and this car has given me no problms. It handles amazing in the snow, rain, and just about anything else colorado throws at it. The only complaint I have, out of everything, is the lack of get up and go the 4 cylander has. Yes, I know it's a four cylander and it's not going to have much get up and go anyway. But this car has taken me everywhere. It's amazing, I would deffanitly recommed it! The gas mileage is amazing as well. I ususally round about 400 miles per tank, which pays me in the long run."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 2001
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 113 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Awesome car,
March 18, 2014
By ford guy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:137000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great gas mileage, average 30+
What's not so great about this vehicle?:the exterior isn't as tough
ReviewOriginationID:781d6505c9f4404da5a6daa14cfeab2f
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2228
"I love my car. I am the 2nd owner, bought it from my brother. I bought it at over 100,000 miles and it has been awesome to me the whole time. I average around 30 miles a gallon with combined city and freeway miles. (On my best tank of gas i averaged 36, happened only a few times) My complaints are the exterior, I am in and out of my trunk often and the truck broke very soon after i bought it, and also just recently the front door handle also broke. But i'll take this over engine repairs, No repairs, only normal preventative maintenance."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 114 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great vehicle for those starting out,
March 15, 2014
By rfitts
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:67450
What's great about this vehicle?:great price, fun to drive, great mileage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no electric seats, not intended for taller people
ReviewOriginationID:68dcecc47af0446083765b3f480e523f
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:83693
"I've had this vehicle since 2010. It was my first vehicle and it has handled great all of these years. The gas mileage is fantastic and the comfort and convenience has always put a smile on my face. I would keep it but my family has expanded to such that I have no choice but to upgrade to a bigger vehicle this year. The multi-disc cd player does need to be fixed, there is a small dent in the rear bumper; I have the estimated repair value for both if you would like to see them, and the lifting hatch for the trunk needs to be tightened (will be done before selling), but otherwise the car runs great and it is in good condition."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AK
Year 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 115 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Just keeps going,
March 14, 2014
By dadof7
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:216000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Funky dash/ radio design
ReviewOriginationID:5171024ffccf45d5b267c791b21c6271
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4129
"Bought the car at 178,000 miles from a private owner. College aged daughters have driven it up to its present 216,000 miles and still going. It creaks and groans but it keeps on going."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2001
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 116 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best vehicle ever = ford focus wagon,
March 14, 2014
By lovedmyfocuswagon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
6
Definitely
Approximate mileage:121000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great value, reliable, perfect fit, 29 mpg
What's not so great about this vehicle?:0
ReviewOriginationID:3020389890fb4c32b21b49c0cf62c2db
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:83694
"I have to get a new car - at 120,000 miles, my beloved Ford Focus *station wagon* is starting to rust. If the body would hold up, I'd go until 200K or the engine blew up.
The VW Jetta wagon is the only similar vehicle -- heated seats, tons of cargo space for dog/canoe gear/christmas tree, roof rack with crossbars perfect for canoe.
Oh how I wish I could buy another one! This was my second; it never once got recalled. Ford, I love you but I feel like my love is unrequited. Why won't you make a car for the single and two-person household that needs less than a SUV but more than a sedan?
Brokehearted in Buffalo"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2007
Review 117 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
This is a great car! Affordable, fun, and reliable,
March 7, 2014
By Kendell
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:87000
What's great about this vehicle?:Inexpensive but not Cheap.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Fuel economy should be better for a 4-cylinder
ReviewOriginationID:74c43cf2ba6b4aa4ab38ff2964263e4a
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:589
"My wife and I purchased our 2005 Ford Focus 2.3L ST model new. It has been a very reliable car that has not left us stranded once. The car went through its first set of Pirelli tires very fast. I think we got 20,000 miles out of the original set of tires before we started shopping for a new set. The Pirelli's were excellent handling tires but they surely didn't last long. Rear set of brakes pads replaced at around 24,000 miles but haven't been replaced since. Car sometimes hesitates before starting. The 6-disc in dash CD MP3 player is getting very delicate. Sound qaulity of the factory stereo system is quite impressive. Build quility of the entire car is top notch. The ST model has traction control and ABS brakes and this little car does exceptional in the snow. The 5-speed transmission shifts nice and crisp and each of the 5 gear and reverse are very well pronounced ( notchy). The 2.3L Mazda derived engine has lots of get-up-and-go power and does moderately well on fuel. Overall fuel mileage is not one of the cars strong points considering it is a 4-cylinder. In the 86,000 miles that we have owned the car the only things that have needed replacement other than regular maintenance items have been the clutch master cylinder and now going on the second alternator. Both of these items seem to be very common "problems" that other owners have experienced. Overall this is a great little car that is a ton of fun to drive and is inexpensive to maintain and easy to work on for the do-it-yourselfer. Ford has really stepped up their game. Cars like this can go a long way in changing an auto makers bad reputation. If the Focus was designed to be the replacement for the discontinued Escort model they hit the ball out of the park as far as I am concerned."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2005
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 118 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
very good vehicle,
March 3, 2014
By Jim
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:64000
What's great about this vehicle?:great value and gas mileage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:fed32a33901241d685426699f3926a30
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:83687
"I've owned my focus for almost 7 years, and have had very little trouble with this car. The water pump needed replaced while under warranty. Cost me 100 dollars and I needed to replace the tie rod links. Cost me 130 dollars. That's about all except for routine maintenance."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 119 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Inexpensive to drive & very reliable,
March 3, 2014
By VTB
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:Desent mileage, reliable, good college kid car
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not for someone 6' or taller, plenty of road noise
ReviewOriginationID:d32a0c068a2a4884a6b1d42c637fef5a
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:83687
"My car has over 190000 miles and has been very reliable. Other than keeping up with oil changes, brakes, tires and of course gas, I've put almost no money into this car. Gas mileage is consistent at 27-28 mpg in the winter and 31-32 mpg in the summer. Personal note: 90-95% of my driving is on the highway and I'm not easy on the gas pedal. This car can pass anything on the freeway and do it quickly. Tire note: don't skimp on the tires. Cheap tires will wear out quickly. Also, rotate tires every 5000 miles."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2007
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 120 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
good reliable car,
March 1, 2014
By nsam5
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:149000
ReviewOriginationID:df72b21173c24a80ae69462ad9c1e216
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4110
"i owned this car since 2005 and it is a very reliable car. other then normal maintenance, it has performed well. the back windows don't work anymore, but i am only driver so it doesn't matter."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2001
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.