Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2000 - 2007 Ford Focus

Average Customer Rating:
7.764 out of 10
7.8
 out of 
10
1,696 of 2,008(84%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Review 101 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
I bought this car new. She has been very reliable,
June 6, 2014
By floridagirl
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price, fun to drive, reliable
ReviewOriginationID:26f0f7b982e44ac5a3ab3d94e10cd43b
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2236
"gives a good ride, love to drive this car. Have enjoyed this car very much. I have mechanical repair paperwork. Great as a first car or family second car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 102 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Very good car.,
June 5, 2014
By TishDaDish
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:115000
ReviewOriginationID:e222b15b2241428db313869274199445
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:590
"I didn't really drive this car on the highway too much. I purchased it used in 2010. I kept it maintained very cheaply. Just had a flat tire once in a while. Highly recommend for reasonable price and transportation for soccer moms. It's not the most comfortable seating, but it's all I needed to get around town."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MD
Year 2005
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 103 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Been a very good car. Minimal repairs,
June 4, 2014
By bulletbuilder
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:187000
What's great about this vehicle?:fairly comfortable, good economy, fun to drive,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:road noise,
ReviewOriginationID:1ab728f8920f4ab8a6bd3117f55eab65
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:3904
"This is our 2nd generation one ZX3 Focus. First one was 'tee boned' at 85000 miles. I did buy back the salvage. With the insurance money we bought an 2002 ZX3 with 94000 miles. Now has 187000 miles. The needed repairs (other than spark plugs, oil changes, brakes and tires) are; Clutch master cylinder, alternator, timing belt and water pump.
Still runs well and still fun to drive. It's also simple without all those modern dashboard screens, knobs, buttons that distract me.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2002
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 104 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great pick up for passing/ Great on gas mileage/,
May 29, 2014
By sdm
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:great get up & go / great on gas/ fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:to low to ground
ReviewOriginationID:35016f06900b4fc296efad41e6532282
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4119
"This is a perfect auto for a college person to get around in . I'm only looking to get another vehicle because I'm up in age & it's getting difficult for me to get in & out of . I love the car it's been a reliable one It's paid for so I might just keep it to fall back on in future ."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 2001
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 105 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great car,
May 28, 2014
By Sparkle
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:190000
What's great about this vehicle?:gas saver,
ReviewOriginationID:4bf21c6967c1408e8cd56ce6eb2d6197
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2365
"this car has been taken care of, and at 190,000 miles it runs great. i love this car mostly traveled in it thats why the mileage is hig but its still better than a stratus. smooth car"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2004
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 106 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I've owned, and I have had many,
May 21, 2014
By msandiej
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:150000
What's great about this vehicle?:economical, manual tran is fun to drive, reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no legroom in back, lots of plastic in the LX
ReviewOriginationID:a525e8aff9ea49c5801d7ae07e568ba3
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4119
"To be fair, I am a Ford aficionado. I own several, including a classic Mustang. This is my second Focus. My first was a 2000 LX which I bought too young and foolishly and was repo'd. Shameful! But as an adult, I now have a 2001 ZTS. I gave it an 8 in design because the 00' LX was pretty cheaply made. The 01' ZTS is two steps above the LX and it would get a 10. If you have the option, go for the ZTS...the ZTEC is worth a few extra bucks. Also, the automatics trans are terribly expensive to replace. Get the manual if you can drive one. The power a manual gives to this car is noticeable when merging onto freeways. They're tiny, lightweight little guys so the more oomph you can get, the better. The design of the Focus, first appearing in the US in 2000 was innovative, to say the least. Even after 14 years, the original design is unique and stylish. I have a 2003 VW Jetta 1.8T and 97 Wolfsburg Passat VR6 in addition to this car and so I can tell you the difference in the cost of maintenance. My Focus had the ignition seize once (a seemingly common problem). The part was $60 and I replaced it myself. My VW's are not so friendly to my wallet. Other than that, I have had only standard maintenance on my Focus. I maintain my vehicles for longevity (64.5 Mustang still runs like a champ). The ZTS comes with all the extras: power everything, leather, etc. Mine is in "excellent" condition and I drive it daily. Love this car and if you can find one that has been adored in the way I adore mine, you can't go wrong. I still get 30+ mpgs on the freeway."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 2001
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 107 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 Years and Still Going.,
May 19, 2014
By red75
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great on gas, super reliable, fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:rocker panels will rust eventually
ReviewOriginationID:6d2a2b8c63c24ad78edb9a6af5d27830
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2237
"The 2003 Focus is, in my mind, one of the best deals of the decade (and beyond.) The car we own has 134,000 miles and the engine and transmission seem to be in excellent condition. The car has required little to no repair, other than routine maintenance. That little 4 cyl. engine just goes and goes. Even at its age, the car started right up on the bitter cold, minus 30 mornings we have here in Vermont. After 12 Vermont winters, the rocker panels are giving out, and we are going to have to decide if we are going to repair them. It's hard not to do it, when the car is still running so strong. This little hatchback deserves a 10 in my book. There's not much to complain about. The salt on these New England roads has eaten many a great vehicle with fewer miles and years on it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VT
Year 2003
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 108 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
reliable and gets good mpg s,
May 14, 2014
By wt
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:155000
What's great about this vehicle?:MPG S
ReviewOriginationID:32938e9cd728420481a6397c573fcad2
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:3896
"CAR RUNS STRONG AND GETS GOOD MPG S"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2002
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 109 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Has been a great car for commutes up north,
May 5, 2014
By mac bridge runs
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:150000
ReviewOriginationID:7d4940eaf6f74ead8b1c17bca1aaaf8c
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:503
"Can not understand why Ford dropped station wagon option from Focus offerings. Provided good gas mileage with plenty of space for belongings. Have seen these same wagons all over in Europe. Have interested people stop and ask about the wagon option (not knowing that Ford even offered Focus wagons at one time -- but not anymore)."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2006
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 110 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great Value, gas milage, ride and handeling.,
May 3, 2014
By "K"
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:95000
What's great about this vehicle?:Price yes drive yes (we named ours Zippy)
What's not so great about this vehicle?:See comments to ....engineers.
ReviewOriginationID:40125b57381246e79793666842015e0d
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:3900
"The Focus was a step up from the Escort in style, size and comfort. the engineering not so much. Motor mounts a fail, thermostat housing a double fail, engine cooling system sketchy. Engine and transmission very good; survived two male teenage drivers! Would I buy another yes, would I buy the 2014 very tempting...What could be better? Have the engineer who designed the motor mounts and/or thermostat housing put his home phone number (or cell) on the part. I would have been glad to ask "Just what were you thinking...?""
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2002
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 111 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great fuel mileage, handles well.,
May 1, 2014
By Charlie
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:110000
ReviewOriginationID:4120e73a218f4dbf8e0add5850ea1dfc
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:83693
"I like this car for traveling around town. It does get great mileage on the road, but it is a little small for extended travel. It has a few extras that you usually don't find on smaller cars like, heated seats and heated side mirrors which are a plus."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2007
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 112 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gets the job done - every day!,
April 28, 2014
By sash
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage, reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Goes through tires quickly, somewhat loud
ReviewOriginationID:ea4abdbb49b24b2aa633cf9eaea69b0a
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:83695
"Bought this car new 7 years ago and have only done basic maintenance to it. I get 30 mpg regularly (maybe a little less with studded tires and/or heavy loads). I drive it like a jeep - beat the snot out of it. Put concrete and dirt in it. Take it on construction sites. It handles snow comparable to my old Subaru Outback (as long as tires are decent.) I think I paid in the ballpark of $17k and I have gotten that out of it and more! My two negatives are it is pretty loud (especially with studded tires) and it eats tires! Something about the rear alignment. I just get my local tire guy to keep decent ones from people that care to have theirs matching!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ME
Year 2007
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 113 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
fun to drive, brakes upgraded to SVT, stops great,
April 26, 2014
By drivemylifeaway
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:171000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun and easy to drive, good on gas
What's not so great about this vehicle?:brakes better after SVT upgrade
ReviewOriginationID:fe14030538034a41a1e51437a9f0a110
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2363
"fun to drive economical car, good on gas, and great value."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 114 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Ran it to DEATH,
April 24, 2014
By Sluggurnutts
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:218000
What's great about this vehicle?:No oil burn like sooo many other cars.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:ignition coil failed twice. cheap replacement part
ReviewOriginationID:a6cbdf94115540389d22e856cb48bb98
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:3910
"$16,000.00 loaded car in 2002. 200+ thousand miles.
Typical wear and tear troubles. Original shocks and struts lasted 120,000 miles. NEVER used / burned oil...to this day. Transmission still going with only semi-annual filter and fluid changes.
Buy GOOD tires and GOOD spark plugs, no worries.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2002
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 115 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car!,
April 23, 2014
By Nick
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:240000
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy maintenance, great value
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Too noisy on the freeway
ReviewOriginationID:72cb17981eba4a72ade0b7baf2457502
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2235
"Almost 240,000 miles. Still on the fist clutch and no slipping yet! Not one major issue. I bought the base model. No power anything. The only two things I would change are adding are A/C and making the car a little (lot) more quite. Paid under $11K new and worth every penny!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 2003
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 116 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
drive good,
April 22, 2014
By gg
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:35900
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:yes cups holders
ReviewOriginationID:095c57718de742a5847972760910104c
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:5874
"whit and new tires"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2000
Review 117 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car for the Money,
April 22, 2014
By stanggtt
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, Versatile, Great Value
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Replacement parts are hard to find these days.
ReviewOriginationID:42f2b898875747ebb498d621184a1f1a
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2252
"The transmission has great feel and the engine has just enough power to be fun. Being a hatchback, it's super versatile and the rear seats fold completely flat. Decent fuel economy and FANTASTIC handling. My next daily driver will be another Focus."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2003
Review 118 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
It is what it is.,
April 8, 2014
By Franimal
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:great all around car
What's not so great about this vehicle?:rust
ReviewOriginationID:2d6df950136a49ce92e4c8e3509005b5
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:5883
"Good car to own! Never gave me trouble"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2000
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 119 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Commuting Car I've Had,
April 7, 2014
By Lauren
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:188000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great handling, gas mileage and motor longevity.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Manual windows (LX, duh), not much pickup.
ReviewOriginationID:ecb4ccdcd46746b691663fbcb1f67a1b
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4107
"I bought this car 6 months ago with 175,000 for $1500. I feel like I got the best deal! I drive this car 100 miles a day and I plan to do so until this little car can't go anymore. I find myself pricing newer Foci all the time! When this car doesn't run anymore I am DEFINITELY getting a newer one! I love this car even if it doesn't have all the creature comforts of a 2010+ model year. I get great gas mileage (only $35 to fill up!) I get ~335 miles per tank. I wish they made this car in a v6, because the only thing I don't like is the pick up power. There isn't much. :)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 2001
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 120 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
fun to drive,
April 5, 2014
By carl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:79000
What's great about this vehicle?:sporty, reliable, good on gas
What's not so great about this vehicle?:picky with transmission fluid (NO Mobil 1 ATF)
ReviewOriginationID:f9d9db19586c420ab3fab6493425b27e
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:83693
"this car is simple to maintain, cheap to drive, handles well, has a powerful enough engine, has lots of cargo room inside, and is durable"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2007
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.