Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2000 - 2007 Ford Focus

Average Customer Rating:
7.757 out of 10
7.8
 out of 
10
1,687 of 1,999(84%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Review 101 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great Value, gas milage, ride and handeling.,
May 3, 2014
By "K"
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:95000
What's great about this vehicle?:Price yes drive yes (we named ours Zippy)
What's not so great about this vehicle?:See comments to ....engineers.
ReviewOriginationID:40125b57381246e79793666842015e0d
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:3900
"The Focus was a step up from the Escort in style, size and comfort. the engineering not so much. Motor mounts a fail, thermostat housing a double fail, engine cooling system sketchy. Engine and transmission very good; survived two male teenage drivers! Would I buy another yes, would I buy the 2014 very tempting...What could be better? Have the engineer who designed the motor mounts and/or thermostat housing put his home phone number (or cell) on the part. I would have been glad to ask "Just what were you thinking...?""
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2002
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 102 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great fuel mileage, handles well.,
May 1, 2014
By Charlie
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:110000
ReviewOriginationID:4120e73a218f4dbf8e0add5850ea1dfc
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:83693
"I like this car for traveling around town. It does get great mileage on the road, but it is a little small for extended travel. It has a few extras that you usually don't find on smaller cars like, heated seats and heated side mirrors which are a plus."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2007
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 103 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gets the job done - every day!,
April 28, 2014
By sash
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage, reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Goes through tires quickly, somewhat loud
ReviewOriginationID:ea4abdbb49b24b2aa633cf9eaea69b0a
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:83695
"Bought this car new 7 years ago and have only done basic maintenance to it. I get 30 mpg regularly (maybe a little less with studded tires and/or heavy loads). I drive it like a jeep - beat the snot out of it. Put concrete and dirt in it. Take it on construction sites. It handles snow comparable to my old Subaru Outback (as long as tires are decent.) I think I paid in the ballpark of $17k and I have gotten that out of it and more! My two negatives are it is pretty loud (especially with studded tires) and it eats tires! Something about the rear alignment. I just get my local tire guy to keep decent ones from people that care to have theirs matching!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ME
Year 2007
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 104 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
fun to drive, brakes upgraded to SVT, stops great,
April 26, 2014
By drivemylifeaway
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:171000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun and easy to drive, good on gas
What's not so great about this vehicle?:brakes better after SVT upgrade
ReviewOriginationID:fe14030538034a41a1e51437a9f0a110
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2363
"fun to drive economical car, good on gas, and great value."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 105 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Ran it to DEATH,
April 24, 2014
By Sluggurnutts
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:218000
What's great about this vehicle?:No oil burn like sooo many other cars.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:ignition coil failed twice. cheap replacement part
ReviewOriginationID:a6cbdf94115540389d22e856cb48bb98
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:3910
"$16,000.00 loaded car in 2002. 200+ thousand miles.
Typical wear and tear troubles. Original shocks and struts lasted 120,000 miles. NEVER used / burned oil...to this day. Transmission still going with only semi-annual filter and fluid changes.
Buy GOOD tires and GOOD spark plugs, no worries.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2002
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 106 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car!,
April 23, 2014
By Nick
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:240000
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy maintenance, great value
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Too noisy on the freeway
ReviewOriginationID:72cb17981eba4a72ade0b7baf2457502
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2235
"Almost 240,000 miles. Still on the fist clutch and no slipping yet! Not one major issue. I bought the base model. No power anything. The only two things I would change are adding are A/C and making the car a little (lot) more quite. Paid under $11K new and worth every penny!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 2003
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 107 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
drive good,
April 22, 2014
By gg
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:35900
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:yes cups holders
ReviewOriginationID:095c57718de742a5847972760910104c
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:5874
"whit and new tires"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2000
Review 108 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car for the Money,
April 22, 2014
By stanggtt
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, Versatile, Great Value
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Replacement parts are hard to find these days.
ReviewOriginationID:42f2b898875747ebb498d621184a1f1a
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2252
"The transmission has great feel and the engine has just enough power to be fun. Being a hatchback, it's super versatile and the rear seats fold completely flat. Decent fuel economy and FANTASTIC handling. My next daily driver will be another Focus."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2003
Review 109 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
It is what it is.,
April 8, 2014
By Franimal
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:great all around car
What's not so great about this vehicle?:rust
ReviewOriginationID:2d6df950136a49ce92e4c8e3509005b5
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:5883
"Good car to own! Never gave me trouble"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2000
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 110 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Commuting Car I've Had,
April 7, 2014
By Lauren
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:188000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great handling, gas mileage and motor longevity.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Manual windows (LX, duh), not much pickup.
ReviewOriginationID:ecb4ccdcd46746b691663fbcb1f67a1b
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4107
"I bought this car 6 months ago with 175,000 for $1500. I feel like I got the best deal! I drive this car 100 miles a day and I plan to do so until this little car can't go anymore. I find myself pricing newer Foci all the time! When this car doesn't run anymore I am DEFINITELY getting a newer one! I love this car even if it doesn't have all the creature comforts of a 2010+ model year. I get great gas mileage (only $35 to fill up!) I get ~335 miles per tank. I wish they made this car in a v6, because the only thing I don't like is the pick up power. There isn't much. :)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 2001
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 111 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
fun to drive,
April 5, 2014
By carl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:79000
What's great about this vehicle?:sporty, reliable, good on gas
What's not so great about this vehicle?:picky with transmission fluid (NO Mobil 1 ATF)
ReviewOriginationID:f9d9db19586c420ab3fab6493425b27e
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:83693
"this car is simple to maintain, cheap to drive, handles well, has a powerful enough engine, has lots of cargo room inside, and is durable"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2007
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 112 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
You get what you pay for,
April 5, 2014
By organist
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:110000
ReviewOriginationID:706d2897fd924a9293106554a36a332a
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:83689
"Over all the Ford Focus motor makes this a reliable car. Other features though need quality improvements. The interior arm rest, shifter arm, heater airflow adjustment dial, radio antenna, and drivers side door lock all broke before 100,000 miles."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MA
Year 2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 113 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
nothing works,
April 2, 2014
By salvage
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:250000
ReviewOriginationID:5d915276ed504add9af5f88a1906401f
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:500
"the cruise control doesnt work , the power steering went out the air conditioner does not work or the defrost it was in a terrible hail storm"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OK
Year 2006
2 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 114 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I have ever owned!,
April 1, 2014
By John
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:40153
What's great about this vehicle?:Handling, control, braking and acceleration
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Long throw shifter (correctable)
ReviewOriginationID:505f4dc1734c4a36a6d17da9f9d6589d
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:492
"I am 60 years old and have owned over 2 dozen vehicles. My 2006 Focus ST is my favorite. I have enjoyed it so much that I added a turbocharger with intercooler, 19" wheels, Goodyear F1 tires and coilover suspension. It is very powerful and handles like a go cart. I love it!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 115 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love love love this car!,
March 31, 2014
By shirls
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:156250
What's great about this vehicle?:gas efficient, compact for easy parking, great car
ReviewOriginationID:ca6dc022033c4e5e9922399c5bdd084e
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:575
"My car is 8 1/2 years old and the only repair that has been remotely expensive was the wheel bearings! I have put my little girl through the mud and she came out smilin'! That's the power of a FORD, baby!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VT
Year 2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 116 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great car for its age.,
March 28, 2014
By Zobub
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:51000
What's great about this vehicle?:Holds up well, reliable, comfortable ride.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Cup holder position
ReviewOriginationID:9beed24bb141490baa8f18513855c9c3
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:3904
"I leased this car when new, then bought it outright. Besides maintenance costs, I haven't been out any outrageous repairs. It has been reliable from the start. Even the paint has held up well. In the future, I plan to purchase another Focus."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OK
Year 2002
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 117 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Loved car when I first bought it,
March 27, 2014
By jen
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:206000
ReviewOriginationID:30c96a331830465782fafe3304ab18e3
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4119
"I loved my car when I first purchased it in 2011 (a 10 year old car still running with 100,00+ miles is a rare find). Unfortunately it's had a few collisions (one prior to ownership and one after). Other than the damage to the car it has been running smoothly. I know some have had problems with the aluminum head but mine is still running decently. MPG is not great but ok for the year. Currently there is a problem with the idling. It will turn off unexpectedly at red lights.
Overall great buy at the age/mileage. Would buy again (hoping accidents don't happen)!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2001
Review 118 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
lots of repairs,
March 27, 2014
By lme
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not At All
4
Definitely
Approximate mileage:164586
What's great about this vehicle?:good price fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:high maintenence
ReviewOriginationID:7b36aa879ec547cbbb935a28bb37b897
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2228
"Bought this car with 20k miles. have had to replace the right rear wheel barring 9 times, stabilizer bar links have broken 7 times, not to mention rough on tires and wears them out before the recommended mileage. The maintenance on this year has been massive. head gasket blew at 139k put in rebuilt engine. Besides that, I love this car. If I knew they fixed all the maintenance problems I would buy another"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2003
Review 119 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Unfortunately electrical issues,
March 27, 2014
By tae
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not At All
2
Definitely
Approximate mileage:80000
ReviewOriginationID:6d95ab65ae644977a0a7a51309700b27
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:4122
"electrical issues started w door then ttrunk then headlight now dashboard & engine keeps running after ignition turned off. Had 2 wheel bearing replaced on same wheel. Reliability is therefore rated low.
Otherwise looks are good comfort is aws well and handles great."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2001
Review 120 for 2000 - 2007 Ford Focus
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
well taken care off,
March 24, 2014
By frank
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:118000
ReviewOriginationID:3a8bfe736e604176945f1e8f0c8e18b9
Make:Ford
Model:Focus
Vehicle ID:2232
"excellent condition well taken care off did all suggested maintenance"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2003