Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2003 Ford F150

Average Customer Rating:
9.179 out of 10
9.2
 out of 
10
1,247 of 1,289(97%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Review 101 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Dependable and Durable,
April 6, 2012
By Road Warrior
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:205000
What's great about this vehicle?:dependable and durable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:lowering the spare tire requires a special key
ReviewOriginationID:3308089b37244b0181079bb3b8ff1b20
"In 2006 I purchased my 2003 F-150 XLT regular cab when it had 35,000 miles. It is now 2012 and I have put an additional 170,000 miles on it. I have changed the oil every 5,000 miles, i've changed the air filter as needed, and only used 87-octane fuel at every fill up. This truck has never been in the shop for any repairs. It still gets 17.5 mpg on the highway and doesn't burn any oil. I will be putting my 3rd set of new tires on it next month and plan on giving this truck to my 13 year old son when he turns 16."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2003
15 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 102 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
MOST DEPENDABLE VEHICLE EVER,
August 24, 2011
By BERLY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:268000
"I PURCHASED THIS TRUCK IN '05 WITH ONLY 55 THOUSAND MILES ON IT. I HAVE DRIVEN IT DAILY 79-MILES A DAY FOR THE LAST 6 YEARS. I HAVE ALWAYS KEPT THE MAINTENACE UP ON THIS TRUCK AND IT HAS NEVER FAILED ME! I HAD THE OIL CHANGED REGULARLY, TUNE-UPS AND TIRS AS NEEDED OVER THE YEARS AND IT HAS TAKEN ME AND MY KIDS EVERYWHERE. IT WAS WASHED AND CLEANED WEEKLY AND TO THIS DAY PEOPLE TELL ME IT STILL LOOKS NEW. I CANT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THE QUALITY AND COMFORT OF THE TRUCK, PLUS THE DRIVABILITY IN THE RAIN, SLEET, SNOW"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OK
Year 2001
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 103 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
F150 Supercrew - 4x2,
April 19, 2010
By djgloverv
from Texas
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This truck is very comfortable, gets fair gas mileage. It is a big truck, I traded a compact truck, so the driving of a bigger truck can be different to get use too. The power of the v8 is nice too. Compared to a small truck, this one space is no comparison. 6 passengers with comfort.
The bed of the Short bed, is well short. It can hall things around. I have a bed cover, Tenau cover. It is a bit heavy but this has nothing to do with the truck it self.
This truck is good for an everyday driver and is reliable.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 104 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this TRUCK,
July 12, 2007
By Mom of 2
from Toney, AL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We have had our F-150 Lariat for 2 years and I would NOT take anything 4 it. It has been through everything imaginable and still runs like new. Even our kids love it- there is plenty of room and it gets pretty good gas mileage for a truck. I would defintely say go for the leather if you have kids--it wipes clean everytime and worth the small extra expense. The only thing I would change is the carpet--vinyl would've been better,since my husband is in construction and the red mud hasn't been nice to the carpet."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 105 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Always dependable,
March 18, 2012
By John
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:131000
ReviewOriginationID:a5a09986-4b47-41e9-909b-157f34793da9
"3rd F150 (76, 97, 03)...always reliable. This King Ranch has held its good looks and I always have compliments on the interior..."like sitting on a saddle" or "like sitting in a baseball glove". Both are true. Got a crack in the intake manifold at 125,000. Manifold was plastic. Seems odd, but whatever. Good as new now and feels great at 131,000. I know it's time for things to start going wrong, and not looking forward to it, but I can't get a truck this nice for anything close to what I could sell it for."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 106 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
wow,
March 20, 2008
By vermonter
from vemont
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"bought this truck new and haven't stoped having problems with it. if it wasn't the transmission it was electrical or wouldn't start or would start but wouldn't stay running. im so disappointed. the truck looks nice but its not reliable. my wife also has a ford SUV and that also has problems left and right. i bought a Chevy k1500. its more reliable up in Vermont and gets a little better fuel mileage with it, but i wont buy another ford until someone i know has one for 10 years without any major problems."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 107 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
All I Can Say is WOW,
June 10, 2010
By az mom
from Phoenix, AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We bought this vehicle new and have put 230,000 miles on it. The only problem ever was at 215,000 miles when A/C sprung a leak. We have hauled, 4 wheeled, camped, you name it..in this truck and are so pleased. We have 4 kids and the truck is roomy enough for all and still handles like a car. With regular maintenance, this has been the best vehicle we have ever owned and we are very pleased with its performance and power. We are going to be buying a newer F150 because we are so pleased with this one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 108 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Ain't nothing like my Ford150 4x4,
December 20, 2007
By ras410berry
from Mississippi
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have always been a Ford truck woman. My truck is 2002 just turned over to 80,000 miles. Not a lick of problems with it at all. Folks, use the high grade Chevron textron and your gas mileage will be better. I know. When I switched to the different gas, I get much better gas mileage. I would never own nothing but a Ford truck. Silly boys, trucks are for girls too and older women. I LUV MY TRUCK. It still looks brand new and I can go anywhere and do anything with it. What more is there to say?"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 109 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Truck,
March 24, 2008
By VAtrucker
from Virginia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Ford F150 Supercrew Lariat FX4, 86000 miles now and no problems ever. Hauled out 31 tons of downed trees on a trailer behind this truck after a hurricane gave us a tornado and no problems. Hauls the family well and make frequent trips to home depot for loads. Very sure footed in the snow and ice with shift on the fly 4WD. Better gas mileage with my 5.4 liter engine than my friends 4.6L and better pickup. A great suburban family vehicle that doesn't mind getting dirty for hunting or working."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 110 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this truck!,
January 22, 2010
By jay
from SAN DIEGO, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've owned my truck since 2003. I bought it for it's combination of enough seating for 6 and the ability to haul/tow for my trade. It has all the feel of a King Ranch without the extra price. Everybody compliments the ride, saying "It doesn't feel like a truck" and "It's so quiet". It's a great car for around town as well as long trips. It's very economical, low maintenance and repairs are cheap, i.e. tires, brakes, etc. I would definitely buy another one if I ever got rid of this one, if."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 111 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love it!,
November 5, 2007
By Mel
from Des Moines, IA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've had a 2001 Ford F150 for 4 years. I love it! It handles well, rides smooth, sits comfortably on long trips, looks sharp, and was worth the sticker price. In the last 4 years the only thing I've had to replace were the shocks and brakes. Fantastic even on snow and ice.
Only negative aspects about this truck: Premium gasoline prices and 14mpg.
If I wasn't driving 40+ miles each day, I'd never part with it. It's been the best vehicle I've ever own. Takes a lickin' and keeps on kickin'!!!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 112 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
ok i guess,
January 12, 2009
By barry
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i bought this truck used about a year ago with 68k on it i was very pleased for the first couple months but i had to change the brakes twice already had to change a few ignition coils all in under a year. the truck is very comfortable but i wouldnt plan on it being that reliable as it has given me quite a few big problems in the past 2 months. my four wheel drive motor went, changed brakes and a few ignition coils with by the way are very expensive. i think im going to switch to chevy."
Review 113 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Most Reliable Truck,
March 7, 2008
By Dan
from Rochester, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My F-150 XLT-2x4 extended cab truck with 4.6 liter V8 and limited slip rear...has been the most reliable truck I have ever owned. I have done nothing but change the oil every 2500 miles (I only put 7000 a year on it) and the standard brake work slash new tires...... The paint is like new, still 7 years later (I use Isulator Wax-Colinite)... I would recommend beefing up the suspension for those times when you put a ton or more in the back....The motor has all the torque you need........"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 114 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2003 F-150 6 cyl 5 speed,
December 14, 2007
By original owner
from Austin, TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought it new in December 2002 and have put nearly 94,000 miles on it, most of this highway miles. At 85,000 miles I had to have the ignition coil replaced. The dealer advised me that worn spark plugs were the likely cause of the coil's failure. He offered to replace them but he also advised me how much money I could save doing this myself. Other than the coil, it's been a very reliable and comfortable truck with a smooth ride. I'm getting 17-18 mpg highway and 14-16 driving in town."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 115 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good Average Truck,
August 19, 2013
By Sodbuster
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:122000
What's great about this vehicle?:It's a Ford
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Repair bills
ReviewOriginationID:ace874f238cc4edda7c0bfe06b9743e7
Make:Ford
Model:F150 SuperCrew Cab
Vehicle ID:3960
"I have a 02 F-150 Super Crew that I bought from the original owner. I've put about 50,000 miles on it myself and have put in more new parts than I would have liked. Some of the thinks are normal wear and tear but others (because of the factory lift kit) were not so normnal. I would advise that you buy this truck without the lift and plan to replace the following after 70,000 miles; Fuel pump, master cylinder, spark plugs, and the Mass Air Flow sensor to the tune of about $3,500.00."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2002
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 116 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best truck I have ever owned, by far!,
July 16, 2008
By chuck
from Holland, MI
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this truck 4 years ago and the only problem I have had with it was I had to replace the battery because I do not drive it in the winter and the right rear wheel bearing was making more noise than I like so I replaced it. This is the best performing 300 HP engine and drive train I have ever driven in a truck. It is very stylish, it turns heads all of the time. The Harley Riders always give me the thumbs up. I would buy one again (used) when I am ready to trade this one in."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 117 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best vehicle I have ever owned!!!,
September 21, 2011
By Kotton
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's great about this vehicle?:great to drive, FX4 is the best ever built
What's not so great about this vehicle?:its a 2003 its not new, take care of it and it WILL return the favor!!!!!
"My truck has been in the mountains of Colorado hauling generators and light plants
the desiel trucks couldn't handle in the terrain. Ethenol is the only problem I have encountered.
Along with hauling 30' cabin boats, bass boats and more for shows. This truck had 32000 miles when I bought it and by far the best anyone could ever ask for. Oh and I get 14-16 city and 19-22 hwy depending on traffic and what way the wind is blowing. An amzing vehicle and highly recommended to anyone.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2003
15 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 118 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
( Great truck and extremely tuff ),
August 13, 2011
By fig
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:0
What's great about this vehicle?:( very reliable, extremely tuff truck, sits up high for view of road, great all around )
What's not so great about this vehicle?:( missing front bumper, has minor dents in a few places, needs a new spark plug )
"This is a 2001 f-150. Has 35" tires with 17inch rims. Inside is in good condition. Has 109,000 miles on it. I am looking to trade it in on a 2005-2010 vehicle. I owe around $2,800 on it still. The exterior is not perfect and has minor dents in a few places, along with a missing front bumper, paint is great, wheels tires are great, under carriage is normal for a truck of this age. Never been off road. Looking at trading this 2001 f-150 in on a vehicle from $15,000 to $20,000"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location LA
Year 2001
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 119 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great work vehicle,
December 1, 2010
By Lippy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Have had the truck about 6 years and has never let me down. Have used as a work truck hauling lumber/materials/tools, and now use it to haul around the wifes horses. 4x4 shifts smoothly works great in snow, sand, or mud. Use it now to haul around the wifes horses. Tows smooth even on long trips. Will be very sad when I have to replace this truck. Have 115,000 miles hope to get another 100,000. Only issue is the back seat is a bit small for an adult, and I'm only 5'10"."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 120 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
BEST 4X4 I HAVE OWNED,
January 5, 2010
By furor17
from Tennessee
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This by far has been the best 4x4 that I have owned. I love the body style and everything about it. I have 98k miles on it and everything works like a champ. I change the oil and finally had to put a battery in it a couple of months ago. The battery i pulled out was the original motorcraft battery from the factory!! The four wheel drive works great and this truck really climbs well. Overall this has been a good truck and i plan on driving it till the wheels fall off!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more