Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2003 Ford F150

Average Customer Rating:
9.168 out of 10
9.2
 out of 
10
1,323 of 1,365(97%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Review 101 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Truck!!!!,
November 2, 2007
By Doug from Tennessee
from Knoxville, TN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I Love my 2001 XLT F150 4X4 Super Crew. Great ride, Plenty of power for pulling our 6500 lb travel trailer. The 5.4 is awesome. I have 120K miles on mine and no problems. Does not use or leak oil. Rides great on Michelin tires. Good for hauling the family or just cruising around town. It does love to drink the gas. About 13.5 around town and 8mpg pulling the travel trailer on the highway. It passed everything but the gas station. But it is worth it to have the comfort and dependability of this truck. Would highly recommend."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 102 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Good, Dependable truck,
March 2, 2008
By Rainman5530
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had my F-150 for a year and a half, and I haven't had really any trouble at all with it. The only thing I've had go wrong with it is the sensor for the Door Ajar light doesn't work right sometimes. It gets a little annoying sometimes, but nothing major. Also, some things like the oil filter aren't in a very convenient place, but its no big deal. Other than that, it has over 120,000 miles on it and still runs like its pretty much brand new without ever having any major work done on it other than normal maintenance."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 103 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
MY DREAM TRUCK I LOVE IT!!!!,
July 31, 2008
By Bighue43
from Washington DC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have a 02 F-150 SVT BLACK u know with the 390 hp and i had the left valve head replace 3 drive shafes and 3 sets of spark plugs replace. For some reason the plugs keep poping out of the socket, but this was my dream truck and i would not trade it for the world i love!!!! this truck. I'v had people til this day say that must be the truck of the year, and i say yes back in 02, I wash and wax this truck every week. it only has 55k on it i do not drive in the winter at all I LOVE THIS TRUCK!!!! I DO HAVE 3 OTHER VEHICLE."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 104 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Truck, But!!!!!,
July 6, 2007
By Kickstand
from Corona, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This truck has been good overall except for the transmission. I needed a new trans at 35K miles, than at 90K miles and than again at 103K. I now have approx 118K on the truck and the trans is acting up again. Lucky for me I bought the extended warrenty. The dealer repaired it for free the last time because they did not do a through job fixing it and it was still under their repair warrenty. I ordered the truck with a towing package with the trans cooler. i am surprised I am having so much trouble with the transmission."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 105 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Nice Truck,
March 14, 2015
By SmittyDick
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:136500
What's great about this vehicle?:4WD excellent, roomy, great driving position
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage, loud cabin
ReviewOriginationID:8643e265bb854c1381b4f576222aeaba
Make:Ford
Model:F150 Super Cab
Vehicle ID:3959
"Only owned the truck for about a year (just purchased an '08 F150) and I was very happy with it. WE got a ton of snow this year and my truck was a beast in dealing with it. The 4WD works excellent. The cabin is nice and roomy and the gauges are easy to read. Plenty of storage throughout the vehicle. I have the 5.4L and it has plenty of power. Never towed anything with it so I can not comment on that aspect. I think it is an excellent truck. You just have to worry about the regular issues of rust with a truck this old."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NH
Year 2002
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 106 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
ONE OF THE BEST PICKUPS IVE OWNED,
September 14, 2014
By MR BILL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
ReviewOriginationID:d9b45dae8d924fada583313259837a32
Make:Ford
Model:F150 SuperCrew Cab
Vehicle ID:4189
"TRUCK HAS BEEN RELIABLE SO FAR.HAD AN INTAKE MANIFOLD FAIL A FEW YRS. AGO.WAS ABOUT AN $1100 REPAIR WITH AN AFTERMARKET PART.I ENJOY THE TRUCK BUT THE SEATS ARE THE HARD AND UNCONFORTABLE AND THEY ARE LEATHER WHICH I LIKE.NOT FUN ON A LONG RIDE AND I DONT KNOW WHY THEY WOULD DESIGN THEM LIKE THAT.MY DODGE RAM HAD VERY COMFY SEATS AND THE CENTER ARMREST WAS MUCH LARGER THAN MY FORD[GOOD FOR WORKING A LAPTOP OR WRITING.MY FORD ARMREST IS SO SMALL AND SORT OF TOO FAR BACK TO BE USEFUL BUT THESE ARE MY ONLY COMPLAINTS."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2001
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 107 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Ford 5.4 engine has problems,
March 30, 2012
By Mike
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:Good Ride, towed well when it works, comfortable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:crummy engine, a lot of plastic on the inside.
ReviewOriginationID:f2b107e8956744a09b9a09cfd23cb6fa
"This truck has been pretty good until the ignition coils starting going out, the first 2 under warranty at 35K and 55K miles, we have replaced 3 sets of 8 coil packs now at $50 per coil plus labor. Just had the spark plug strip out of the head of the engine and it turns out the 5.4 is known for this problem that Ford refuses to fix. All 2003 and earlier have this problem I was a solid Ford guy, 2 cars and a truck, but after this truck I have a more open mind about other brands and will never buy a Ford Truck again."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2002
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 108 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Better than a great truck,
April 4, 2012
By Ric
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:126000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great hiway driver. Comfortabel and quiet. Roomy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Thirsty.
ReviewOriginationID:ef205dbeb3c74c2da0ac2513aaa77e74
"We have owned this truck since 01 and have driven it on long trips mostly. It is a very comfortable vehicle for the highway. Extremely reliable, but a little thirsty. With just passengers, it will get 19mpg hiway. With a trailer it get just 12mpg. It's able to haul quite a bit if you can afford the gas. At 68000 miles needed a complete tune up. $750.00 At 120000 miles needed A/C recondition. $1300.00. Have gone thru 2 sets of tires, and lots of oil changes. Truck runs line new. No leaks of any kind, very reliable."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2001
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 109 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great truck - and looks good, too,
September 8, 2012
By Dan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:235000
What's great about this vehicle?:Looks, reliability, drivability, power
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:6634a2083879498e989f4039c9b55abe
"I've had my '03 Heritage Edition for about a year now, and it's probably the best automotive buy I ever made. It drives great; the 5.4L V8 is smooth and has excellent power. The trim, paint, and overall build quality are quite good. The styling is excellent - I get compliments on it all the time. The only thing more I could wish for would be better gas mileage. I get about 13 - 14 mpg in town, and maybe 16 on the highway. Still, though, it's a full-size truck, not an economy car, and I knew that when I bought it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2003
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 110 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great truck,
March 26, 2012
By john
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:fast and comfortable for family
What's not so great about this vehicle?:short bed, not the best gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:fc1a1cde032d4e6480e54c8fb4f0408d
"bought used in 2005 w/70,000 miles on it ( honest hiway miles. contractor friend who drove from sc to virginia every week for a year.) I had to have the rear end rebuilt about 3 years ago. I pull a trailer in the mountains so that might be the reason. no other problems, just normal maintenance. Very comforable for my family on long trips. have drove it to SD several times. Lots of leg and head room. Sometimes wish it had a longer bed but thats what my old p/u is for. 275/60r18 tires are a pain to find in my area."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 2003
Review 111 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Dependable and Durable,
April 6, 2012
By Road Warrior
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:205000
What's great about this vehicle?:dependable and durable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:lowering the spare tire requires a special key
ReviewOriginationID:3308089b37244b0181079bb3b8ff1b20
"In 2006 I purchased my 2003 F-150 XLT regular cab when it had 35,000 miles. It is now 2012 and I have put an additional 170,000 miles on it. I have changed the oil every 5,000 miles, i've changed the air filter as needed, and only used 87-octane fuel at every fill up. This truck has never been in the shop for any repairs. It still gets 17.5 mpg on the highway and doesn't burn any oil. I will be putting my 3rd set of new tires on it next month and plan on giving this truck to my 13 year old son when he turns 16."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2003
15 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 112 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I love all the bells and whistles esp seat warmers,
February 11, 2015
By Mj
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:188000
What's great about this vehicle?:Smooth ride, seat warmers, 4 bucket seats
What's not so great about this vehicle?:14 miles to the gallon ugggg!
ReviewOriginationID:a2e727a190064085b71f743c5f1a8763
Make:Ford
Model:F150 SuperCrew Cab
Vehicle ID:3974
"I never thought I would buy a ford, but the Harley davidson model truck far exceeded my expectations. This truck has the smoothest ride of any vehicle I have driven. Love the seat warmers, great visibility, love the front and back storage areas between the seats, I could go on and on. The only thing I don't like is the gas mileage I don't know if it is because mine has a blower but I average 14 miles to the gallon- mostly highway mileage. Wish I knew if there was something I could do to get better gas mileage?"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2002
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 113 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
MOST DEPENDABLE VEHICLE EVER,
August 24, 2011
By BERLY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:268000
"I PURCHASED THIS TRUCK IN '05 WITH ONLY 55 THOUSAND MILES ON IT. I HAVE DRIVEN IT DAILY 79-MILES A DAY FOR THE LAST 6 YEARS. I HAVE ALWAYS KEPT THE MAINTENACE UP ON THIS TRUCK AND IT HAS NEVER FAILED ME! I HAD THE OIL CHANGED REGULARLY, TUNE-UPS AND TIRS AS NEEDED OVER THE YEARS AND IT HAS TAKEN ME AND MY KIDS EVERYWHERE. IT WAS WASHED AND CLEANED WEEKLY AND TO THIS DAY PEOPLE TELL ME IT STILL LOOKS NEW. I CANT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THE QUALITY AND COMFORT OF THE TRUCK, PLUS THE DRIVABILITY IN THE RAIN, SLEET, SNOW"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OK
Year 2001
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 114 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
F150 Supercrew - 4x2,
April 19, 2010
By djgloverv
from Texas
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This truck is very comfortable, gets fair gas mileage. It is a big truck, I traded a compact truck, so the driving of a bigger truck can be different to get use too. The power of the v8 is nice too. Compared to a small truck, this one space is no comparison. 6 passengers with comfort.
The bed of the Short bed, is well short. It can hall things around. I have a bed cover, Tenau cover. It is a bit heavy but this has nothing to do with the truck it self.
This truck is good for an everyday driver and is reliable.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 115 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this TRUCK,
July 12, 2007
By Mom of 2
from Toney, AL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We have had our F-150 Lariat for 2 years and I would NOT take anything 4 it. It has been through everything imaginable and still runs like new. Even our kids love it- there is plenty of room and it gets pretty good gas mileage for a truck. I would defintely say go for the leather if you have kids--it wipes clean everytime and worth the small extra expense. The only thing I would change is the carpet--vinyl would've been better,since my husband is in construction and the red mud hasn't been nice to the carpet."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 116 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Always dependable,
March 18, 2012
By John
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:131000
ReviewOriginationID:a5a09986-4b47-41e9-909b-157f34793da9
"3rd F150 (76, 97, 03)...always reliable. This King Ranch has held its good looks and I always have compliments on the interior..."like sitting on a saddle" or "like sitting in a baseball glove". Both are true. Got a crack in the intake manifold at 125,000. Manifold was plastic. Seems odd, but whatever. Good as new now and feels great at 131,000. I know it's time for things to start going wrong, and not looking forward to it, but I can't get a truck this nice for anything close to what I could sell it for."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 117 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
wow,
March 20, 2008
By vermonter
from vemont
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"bought this truck new and haven't stoped having problems with it. if it wasn't the transmission it was electrical or wouldn't start or would start but wouldn't stay running. im so disappointed. the truck looks nice but its not reliable. my wife also has a ford SUV and that also has problems left and right. i bought a Chevy k1500. its more reliable up in Vermont and gets a little better fuel mileage with it, but i wont buy another ford until someone i know has one for 10 years without any major problems."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 118 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
All I Can Say is WOW,
June 10, 2010
By az mom
from Phoenix, AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We bought this vehicle new and have put 230,000 miles on it. The only problem ever was at 215,000 miles when A/C sprung a leak. We have hauled, 4 wheeled, camped, you name it..in this truck and are so pleased. We have 4 kids and the truck is roomy enough for all and still handles like a car. With regular maintenance, this has been the best vehicle we have ever owned and we are very pleased with its performance and power. We are going to be buying a newer F150 because we are so pleased with this one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 119 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I loved my truck. Owned it for 10.5 yrs.,
January 14, 2015
By Paul Bunyan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
ReviewOriginationID:8f1662710e3c44069d875384fa12c713
Make:Ford
Model:F150 SuperCrew Cab
Vehicle ID:3960
"This truck was a great fit- very comfortable ride for our family of four.Very, very reliable. Extremely Smooth ride - this truck ate up the miles - it loved the highway and handled great. pulled trailers of firewood and a 35' manlift easily. Ice storm last week totaled the truck while my daughter was driving. The truck protected her! I am very sad to see my old friend go. We had a lot of great memories on family camping trips, vacation, etc.. Good job Ford - I plan on buying another SuperCrew."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2002
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 120 for 2001 - 2003 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Ain't nothing like my Ford150 4x4,
December 20, 2007
By ras410berry
from Mississippi
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have always been a Ford truck woman. My truck is 2002 just turned over to 80,000 miles. Not a lick of problems with it at all. Folks, use the high grade Chevron textron and your gas mileage will be better. I know. When I switched to the different gas, I get much better gas mileage. I would never own nothing but a Ford truck. Silly boys, trucks are for girls too and older women. I LUV MY TRUCK. It still looks brand new and I can go anywhere and do anything with it. What more is there to say?"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.