Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kelley Blue Book.

1987 - 1991 Ford F150

Average Customer Rating:
7.956 out of 10
8
 out of 
10
167 of 180(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Review 1 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Does what it is designed to do.,
December 12, 2011
By colcat
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:83000
ReviewOriginationID:9b775f69-b8a4-4a39-827a-a326f59a6158
"It is a rugged truck which has done all I could have asked it to do. It occasionally needed repairs, but generally was trouble free."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KS
Year 1991
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great truck. Go anywhere,
November 27, 2011
By countryboy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:awesome to drive and looks really cool
What's not so great about this vehicle?:fuel mileage
ReviewOriginationID:18c6dcf4-e210-49c1-b669-8f025349e54f
"i have this truck with 35x12.5 tires and this truck will go anywhere. i have a five speed manual transmission with a dual disk clutch. Engine is very reliable with plenty of power. its only a 5.0 and i hooked up to a supercharged 5.3 chevy and walked all over it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 1991
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
My F150 has been the best truck I've owned,
November 25, 2011
By celllman
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:240000
What's great about this vehicle?:Engine
What's not so great about this vehicle?:rear seat to low, arm rests to flimsy.
ReviewOriginationID:7b1e338b-fed2-44eb-9063-432f44bd8deb
"Bought this pickup used, 5 yrs old. Was in excellent condition, black with matching camper shell. Lariat style with electric windows/locks etc. Fair gas mileage and very reliable; it has never stranded me! Fit and finish left a little to be desired; arm rests tore off, and the paint on the hood went bad. One bad design was the low back seat, very uncomfortable for an adult to sit in. One good thing about the back seat is it folded down into a hard surface cargo area. rear window opened and the shell was open so you could crawl through on the go, a good thing with kids! Now has dings and dents (a deer tried to come in the drivers door!) but still very usable. The engine has never failed me, still starts and warms like new! Camping, trailering or just going to town; this pickup was always there for us!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ID
Year 1991
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
It a good truco,
October 20, 2011
By Tony
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:188000
ReviewOriginationID:70e99bb7-dd65-4ab7-969d-175f26d2812c
"451 winzer"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1991
Review 5 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great truck,
October 5, 2011
By blueovallover
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:138000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:single cab sucks!
"my f150 is a great truck i love driving it! It does every thing i need it to do weather its taking me on fireroads during buck seasion or driving to school daily i love this truck. every thing you see is what you get with the f150. It runnes well but at times can be costly considering the fact the truck is almost 20 years old."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1991
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
thishas been a great vehicle,
August 27, 2011
By mannn
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:275000
What's great about this vehicle?:good to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
"I bout this vehicle new 1991.It has been a great vehicle. Ihave not done anything to the motor.Ihave change the oil regular,put plugs and plug wiresI did have to put a clutch in it not bad for 275000miles Ilove my truck"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1991
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
91 f150,
June 18, 2011
By chaz
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:240000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders
"Excellent preformence for the past 5yrs, very little maintance problems. The 300 Inline 6 is the best engine I
have came across in years. Ford needs to put this engine
back in to service. the truck i drive every day .and the second owner of this 22yrs truck
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 1991
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
F-150--HIGHLY RATED FOR YEARS,
March 21, 2011
By ROUNDBABY
from CORNELIA, GA.
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I JUST BOUGHT THIS TRUCK--1990 FORD XLT LARIAT SUPERCAB AND HAVE BEEN DOING A LOT OF HOMEWORK ON IT BEFORE I PURCHASED IT. THE 302 -5 LITER MOTOR WAS THE THING IN ITS TIME AND STILL SEE A LOT OF THESE TRUCKS ON THE HIGHWAYS NOW. THATS 20 YRS, OF GOOD TRUCKING . PARTS AND ACESSORIES ARE EASY TO FIND, ESPECIALLY THE MOTOR AND TRANNY. VERY GOOD FOR THE FARMER OR THE HUNTNG AND FISHING MAN. I'LL REVIEW IT SOME MORE LATER ON BECAUSE THIS IS MY FIRST VEHICLE TO DRIVE MYSELF IN NEARLY 20 YRS. GOOD TRUCKIN'!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
91 f150,
March 11, 2011
By fred
from California
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned this truck since 1995.
Fantastic work horse. towed a trailer it did very well for 20k towing miles. Very conservative truck. Very comfortable very very reliable. Over the mountains across the rivers or stuck in LA traffic. Only issue, gas mileage that could be better. When I bought this truck gas was $1.25 per gallon. Dailer driver, need to move to something new. Don't want to continue funding OPEC
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 10 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
realistic review,
February 8, 2011
By a hard working man
from PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i bought my truck from the original owner. he custom ordered it with the 5 speed transition , 308 gears, inline 6. he retired the old girl to the woods for hauling fire wood because he was afraid the box was to rusty to pass pa inspection. i bought it for $350 bucks, i used it for a work truck, driving out to farmers houses and fixing their tractor tires. i made on average $700 a week for 2 years straight. not bad for a $350 dollar truck. i bought another ford a 1993 and sold my 1989 for $250 to a friend and he uses it to travel to an oil rig in Tennessee. i sold it with 296000 miles it still had 50 lbs of oil pressure."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
ford tough,
February 8, 2011
By miller
from texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"the last of the ford tough models. there isnt anything this truck wont do!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 12 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
February 4, 2011
By RedRider
from OK
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I got this truck from my grandpa with 73,000 miles on it. it has ran strong and outperformed many new trucks ive seen on numerous occassions and continues to do so."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 13 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
ford forever,
December 31, 2010
By farmboy
from wausau wi
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this truck to do work around the farm. Well, it is still working around the farm and I am tired. There are a few things that are going bad with this truck. But, look at the age. The truck just keeps on working hard for me. It surprises me sometimes."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Old Faithful,
December 8, 2010
By Nameless supporter
from Asheville, NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I'm the second owner of this vehicle, bought it at under 30k miles. Currently has 160k miles. It is as faithful as they come. It is nice to know I've a reliable truck parked out back."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Truck Ever,
June 23, 2010
By Revan
from Clay, WV
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The 300 Stright Six is the easiest engine to work on...Just put oil,tires and change the fillters and she will run forever"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 16 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
omg,
April 21, 2010
By rik flare
from kansas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this vehicle is a great work car. never had any problems with it. runs like a champion."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
towing,
April 2, 2010
By ford freek
from westbend wi
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"asome 1/2 ton 2 wheel drice with a 4.9 and a 4 speed i have towed 16,000 pounds bone stock with aftermarket tires and rims"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 18 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great truck,
March 30, 2010
By josh
from delaware
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this truck wont die very dependable"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
good truck,
January 5, 2010
By joe
from lonoke AR
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"its a good reliable truck runs like a scolded dog i was 18 when i first got mine still got it and i love it if you do basic mantinance on it itll last forever not great gas milage but its got alot of muscle behind it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1987 - 1991 Ford F150
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Can't beat it!,
November 23, 2009
By Yankee
from VA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 1990 F150,4x4, 4.9L 5 speed used in 94 and it has been a great truck. It has always been dependable when I needed it and hauled me around for many years. The only things that I have had to replace in it are the window motor on the driver side a couple times but it is used A LOT, pump on the rear fuel tank and the starter a couple times. I did have to replace the clutch once but I burned it up pulling someone out of a ditch, my fault! All have been do it yourself fixes. If you keep the oil, all filters and fluids clean and I think they will run forever."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.