Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Average Customer Rating:
8.881 out of 10
8.9
 out of 
10
418 of 438(95%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Review 81 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
DOESN'T LET ME DOWN,
February 3, 2010
By RON
from Knoxville, TN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Keep waiting to break down but never happens! 175k, bought it with 51k and only repair was ball joints. Only design flaw is rear doors won't open from inside. Before buying, read these reviews - it changed my mind about buying a smaller car for the better economy! (save in repairs) I also own a 97 Mustang GT - performs flawlesslly with no non-routine repairs other than a broken odometer @ 83k, must have 125k by now."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great family truck,
January 3, 2008
By Cj
from New Hampshire
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We bought this so we'd have a truck (needed one when we bought a house!) but also a 4 door car (because of kids) and it's wonderful. It's not the best on snow/ice, but with a good set of tires and some weight in the back it does just as well if not better than any sedan would. We bought this used with 50K miles on it and over 18m later it's still great. No major problems now at 75k miles, just the basic maintenance."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliable,
March 28, 2012
By Great SUV
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, good power, tows very well, comfortabe
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Havent found anything yet.
ReviewOriginationID:bb75ab8f7a9341ba8df2894235c9ccbc
"I have to say i have had my sport trac for 6 years now, and have put alot of miles on it and taken it just about everywhere. After 134,000 miles i have'nt had any issues with it. It has done everything i have needed it to and gone beyond expectations. I feel it still has another 150,000 miles in at least. Im hopeing to beat my last truck an F-150 and it had 268,000 miles on it when i sold it. I believe it will!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 2004
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 84 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very nice and reliable,
October 1, 2007
By pdiddy
from frederick, md
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i have had my truck for three years although it is a 2001 and jhave never had any problems with it! the only thing i had had done is having the alternator replaced but that was due to the acruing mileage. this is a very nice car from the inside to the out and has tons of features... i would not traded it for anything i hope to have it for a mcuh longer time!!! i will be a ford man for the rest of my life now"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Vehicle Ever,
May 26, 2008
By Sassafras
from MINNESOTA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I purchased a used 2003 Sport Trac last year. It is a great vehicle. I love everything about it. The one I have even has heated seats. An awesome feature in a northern climate like MN.
We tested several years. Do not buy one made before 2003. The suspension was improved in 2003 making a much smoother ride. It has the practicality of a truck and the comfort of an SUV all wrapped into a perfect sized package.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Survived a rear end,
December 7, 2007
By Big Tex
from San Diego,CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"This vehcle in my opinion saved me and my families life. We got rear ended by a lifted dodge ram 1500 and that caused us to slam into a lifted F-150. The our vehcle sustained sufficient damaged to the front and rear but it kept us safe and we we still able to drive about another 3 miles to satefy, I loved this vehicle I had 169,875 miles on it and it still ran like a champ, too bad its life was cut early."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 87 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
getting stronger,
February 25, 2009
By jpt
from Hillsborough, NJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I used to trade in my fords after about 2-3 years to keep a new car going and get the most return on a trade but my 2001 sport trac has 118k miles and seems to be getting better and stronger all the time. I have had a tranny issue at 36k but ford fixed it and since then just normal wear and tear repairs. Great truck for a DYI for the daily Home Depot & Lowes ventures. I'm gonna keep her till the end now."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 88 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Absoltly best ever in 56 yrs,
June 10, 2008
By FISHDO
from Phoenix AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Had this 3 yrs, 87k miles. Third Explorer with the 4.0 engine & get 150k & up before trading in. I like the Sport Trac better as has better ride than the straight Explorer. I put Goodyear Silent Armour's on for softer ride & do after market cold air intake & dual flowmaster exhaust to increase to 16-18 MPG city. BE SURE TO SERVICE (FLUSH) TRANSMISSION REGULARLLY, IT IS THE ONLY WEAK LINK ON THIS VEHICLE."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 89 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
good family vehicle,
August 25, 2007
By diddy
from St. Louis
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Nice vehicle..roomy interior and outside bed for hauling..has flex fuel option which is nice when prices sky rocket but very difficult to find flex fuel..I just happen to live near farm service station that has E85 fuel pumps. Prices run on average about .38 cents less a gallon..helps but gets slightly less gas milage with flex.I run half and half. Makes great family car-mixes luxury of SUV with Truck.."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 90 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
LOW MAINTENANCE/GOOD VERSATILITY,
July 29, 2007
By PANZNER
from CANTON, OH
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I HAVE DRIVEN 50K MILES AND NO PROBLEMS. ASIDE FROM AIR FILTER/FUEL FILTER AND NORMAL BRAKE AND TIRE WEAR, THERE IS NO REQUIRED MAINTENANCE FOR 100000 MILES. THIS COUNTERS THE LITTLE EXTRA PAID IN GAS. THE RIDE IS NICE, DEFINITELY BETTER THAN AN F-150, BUT STILL A TRUCKISH FEEL. GREAT ENGINE TORQUE, HAULED 1500LBS OF STONE IN SHORT BED...NO PROBLEM. WOULD RECOMMEND AS FAMILY VEHICLE AND UTILITY VEHICLE."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent vehicle,
June 22, 2010
By Matthew
from reno, nv
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Love this vehicle. One of the best trucks/suv's we have ever bought. Some minor issues, but still Ford makes a great truck. We have almost 95K on the vehicle...Transmission issues...most repair places say the transmission has a life expectancy of 100k miles. We will need a new one soon, but as far as the rest...its an awesome vehicle. I would buy another especially one with a V8 next time...can't wait."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Excellent Vehicle,
May 1, 2009
By Steve
from Phoenix, Az
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"My 2004 has 80,000 miles. Was in the shop one time, under warranty. Other than that, I've changed the oil, tires, and wipers; nothing else.
Plenty of leg room front and back. With tailgate up, bed is shorter in length, but bed extender helps to make it standard length, and it's taller than compact pickup. I drive the speed limit and avg 20 mpg combined city and highway.
Very little to complain about.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 93 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
been through it, done that.,
December 4, 2011
By Jake
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:195000
What's great about this vehicle?:obscenely reliable, and capeable off-road. 18 MPG
What's not so great about this vehicle?:weighs more than it looks- 4200 lbs empty.
ReviewOriginationID:04d1235d-b7ae-46ff-b348-7b68d19b1d47
"This truck has spent more time off road than on, and has been misused, abused, ridden hard and put away wet, but still goes like the day it was bought brand-new. I put a new tranny in it at 120,000- new shocks, cv boots, ball joints and control arms at 170,000. Otherwise I have always done scheduled maintenance, and nothing else.
I would say overall a great buy, and I would definately do it again!!
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 2001
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
If it's for you...,
October 20, 2007
By luv4miniz
from Little Rock, AR
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This truck is the perfect vehicle for me..just make sure it's what you want. I didn't want a fullsize V8...if you need a fullsize bed or v8 you don't want this. This has plenty of bed for what I need and power to tow what I need. I love the styling and the 4 doors. Perfect for me...
The only bad thing I can say about it is the turn radious is pretty bad...especially compared to my wife's 4runner."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 95 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great, except for space,
June 30, 2009
By Familyof4
from Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We bought our Sport Trac NEW in 2005. It has been wonderful with NO money for repairs! My husband uses it to commute to work and gets decent mileage... I'd guess at least 20/HWY. Our only complaints are the space--- the cab is small and the back seat isn't spacious enough for our carseats. The short bed is functional, but we'd prefer a standard size. Overall, it's been very dependable."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 96 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality since day 1,
July 30, 2008
By MrMe
from Dacula, Georgia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Quality for quality, I'd put my Ford Explorer sport trac against any import. This vehicle has been nearly flawless for 6 years. Only had normal wear items to maintain.
I've put 115,000 miles on this vehicle without it ever spending a single night at the shop. It is driven every day, rain or shine.
the Sport Trac doubles as our family car, hauling kids and gear everywhere we go."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great all around vehicle (except gas mileage),
April 16, 2008
By mn truck owner
from Minneapolis, MN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i have been impressed with the vehicle from driving around the city to pulling 4000 Ibs on a trailer with 4 guys in the truck. the gas mileage is similar to full size truck and the ride is not the smoothest (as to be expected with a small truck and ridged tires). but i am currently at 130K miles with no issues to speak of, very much considering buying another explorer sport trac."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 98 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great truck,
January 17, 2008
By ron from alabama
from tuscaloosa alabama
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought 2001 model used with 36 k on it. had to replace idle air control at 125000 and upper control arms / ball joints at 140000 but only normal items other than that...have 220000 miles on it now - only on second set of tires! Getting about 19 mpg. Transmission shifts funny occasionally, but I really cant complain sisce everything else works. I'd definitely recommend it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 99 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love it!!!!,
March 30, 2008
By VT Hokie
from Roanoke, VA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Bought mine new in 2004. Loved my Mustang, but no room. Too many outdoor activities. The interior is quite spacious and even with the 4 foot bed, it will still carry a Suzuki 400 Quadrunner ATV with the tailgate down. Plenty of power to haul a small tractor on a trailer. Would definitely recommed to someone who wants a full size interior and the flexibility of a bed."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 100 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
February 14, 2008
By Bunny Rabbit
from Winchester, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This truck saved my life and my son's when I hydroplanned on the hwy on a rainy day. I would recommend this SUV to anyone. This inside of the truck remained intact when the airbags went off we remained safe as the vehicle spun in circles across the hwy to to center divider. I have owned this ford exploxer sport tract for 7 yrs now. I now want to purchase a new one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.