Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Average Customer Rating:
8.897 out of 10
8.9
 out of 
10
437 of 457(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Review 81 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Truck,
May 21, 2008
By Gravy
from Atlanta, GA.
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I was always a diehard GM man until I got my ST. It's an 01 & I bought in 03 with 18k on it. I now have 160k on it & this has been the best vehicle that I've ever owned. I have less than $400 in repairs in this truck. It still has the orginal plugs & wires in it ( never has had a tuneup) & runs great. I'll drive until it blows up & then I'll have a new engine installed & keep on trucking. I'll never part ways with this truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Loves it!,
January 9, 2012
By will75
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:100300
ReviewOriginationID:05a0d677-4807-4f57-972a-80f864c2041b
"This has been a great truck for anyone with kids to get to where they need to be. It's 4x4 capablities are excellent. It has never let me down in the snow, even 27 inches of it! The ride could be a little better; it drives and rides like a truck! Very versatile and will haul anything you want. The downside is it seems I have put brakes on this truck way too much! It could use some shocks right now, but that is the next move."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2001
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Little truck,
July 28, 2009
By Heidi in Texas
from Houston, TX
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have a 2001 Trac that I bought brand new. It has stood up to a teenager learning how to drive, towed a pop-up with ease, moved several people, lots of garage sale stuff and gardening stuff. It has 98K miles and is going strong. Only major repair was a seal on the transmission. If Ford would sell just the seal it would have cost a lot less to fix it but you have to buy the entire casing. Would buy another in a heart beat."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 84 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great vehicle!,
March 14, 2012
By Joe
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:120000
ReviewOriginationID:c59cb58a-147a-40cc-8e73-10a5522d3b08
"Bought this vehicle with 13 miles on it in 2004, and am at 120,000 to date. I love this vehicle, not an suv but not a full size truck. This vehicle does everything from towing trailers to a 4-wheeler in the back. Fits with ease in the garage and with matted floors, keeping it clean is a breeze! I have owned several vehicles in the past but I love this vehicle. Mother-in-law loved mine so much she went and bought one too!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I got talked into this truck and I now love it,
October 26, 2011
By jjbeaufort
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:50000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive and like a Ford always dependable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:would have liked it to pull a bigger boat
ReviewOriginationID:066707f0-94c9-49e3-9454-8b3d4d01132f
"I had never owned a truck and this felt like a car once I was in it so we bought it and the 4 wheel drive has been a blessing here in the Texas mud. It has never failed to operate and I love that the most. All it has ever needed is it's oil changes and one new battery. Can't beat that for being dependable. The truck has a lot of comfort to it when making long road trips which is nice. Lots of leg room in the back seat."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2004
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
DOESN'T LET ME DOWN,
February 3, 2010
By RON
from Knoxville, TN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Keep waiting to break down but never happens! 175k, bought it with 51k and only repair was ball joints. Only design flaw is rear doors won't open from inside. Before buying, read these reviews - it changed my mind about buying a smaller car for the better economy! (save in repairs) I also own a 97 Mustang GT - performs flawlesslly with no non-routine repairs other than a broken odometer @ 83k, must have 125k by now."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 87 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great family truck,
January 3, 2008
By Cj
from New Hampshire
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We bought this so we'd have a truck (needed one when we bought a house!) but also a 4 door car (because of kids) and it's wonderful. It's not the best on snow/ice, but with a good set of tires and some weight in the back it does just as well if not better than any sedan would. We bought this used with 50K miles on it and over 18m later it's still great. No major problems now at 75k miles, just the basic maintenance."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliable,
March 28, 2012
By Great SUV
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, good power, tows very well, comfortabe
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Havent found anything yet.
ReviewOriginationID:bb75ab8f7a9341ba8df2894235c9ccbc
"I have to say i have had my sport trac for 6 years now, and have put alot of miles on it and taken it just about everywhere. After 134,000 miles i have'nt had any issues with it. It has done everything i have needed it to and gone beyond expectations. I feel it still has another 150,000 miles in at least. Im hopeing to beat my last truck an F-150 and it had 268,000 miles on it when i sold it. I believe it will!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 2004
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 89 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very nice and reliable,
October 1, 2007
By pdiddy
from frederick, md
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i have had my truck for three years although it is a 2001 and jhave never had any problems with it! the only thing i had had done is having the alternator replaced but that was due to the acruing mileage. this is a very nice car from the inside to the out and has tons of features... i would not traded it for anything i hope to have it for a mcuh longer time!!! i will be a ford man for the rest of my life now"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 90 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Vehicle Ever,
May 26, 2008
By Sassafras
from MINNESOTA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I purchased a used 2003 Sport Trac last year. It is a great vehicle. I love everything about it. The one I have even has heated seats. An awesome feature in a northern climate like MN.
We tested several years. Do not buy one made before 2003. The suspension was improved in 2003 making a much smoother ride. It has the practicality of a truck and the comfort of an SUV all wrapped into a perfect sized package.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Survived a rear end,
December 7, 2007
By Big Tex
from San Diego,CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"This vehcle in my opinion saved me and my families life. We got rear ended by a lifted dodge ram 1500 and that caused us to slam into a lifted F-150. The our vehcle sustained sufficient damaged to the front and rear but it kept us safe and we we still able to drive about another 3 miles to satefy, I loved this vehicle I had 169,875 miles on it and it still ran like a champ, too bad its life was cut early."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
getting stronger,
February 25, 2009
By jpt
from Hillsborough, NJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I used to trade in my fords after about 2-3 years to keep a new car going and get the most return on a trade but my 2001 sport trac has 118k miles and seems to be getting better and stronger all the time. I have had a tranny issue at 36k but ford fixed it and since then just normal wear and tear repairs. Great truck for a DYI for the daily Home Depot & Lowes ventures. I'm gonna keep her till the end now."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 93 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Absoltly best ever in 56 yrs,
June 10, 2008
By FISHDO
from Phoenix AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Had this 3 yrs, 87k miles. Third Explorer with the 4.0 engine & get 150k & up before trading in. I like the Sport Trac better as has better ride than the straight Explorer. I put Goodyear Silent Armour's on for softer ride & do after market cold air intake & dual flowmaster exhaust to increase to 16-18 MPG city. BE SURE TO SERVICE (FLUSH) TRANSMISSION REGULARLLY, IT IS THE ONLY WEAK LINK ON THIS VEHICLE."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
good family vehicle,
August 25, 2007
By diddy
from St. Louis
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Nice vehicle..roomy interior and outside bed for hauling..has flex fuel option which is nice when prices sky rocket but very difficult to find flex fuel..I just happen to live near farm service station that has E85 fuel pumps. Prices run on average about .38 cents less a gallon..helps but gets slightly less gas milage with flex.I run half and half. Makes great family car-mixes luxury of SUV with Truck.."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
LOW MAINTENANCE/GOOD VERSATILITY,
July 29, 2007
By PANZNER
from CANTON, OH
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I HAVE DRIVEN 50K MILES AND NO PROBLEMS. ASIDE FROM AIR FILTER/FUEL FILTER AND NORMAL BRAKE AND TIRE WEAR, THERE IS NO REQUIRED MAINTENANCE FOR 100000 MILES. THIS COUNTERS THE LITTLE EXTRA PAID IN GAS. THE RIDE IS NICE, DEFINITELY BETTER THAN AN F-150, BUT STILL A TRUCKISH FEEL. GREAT ENGINE TORQUE, HAULED 1500LBS OF STONE IN SHORT BED...NO PROBLEM. WOULD RECOMMEND AS FAMILY VEHICLE AND UTILITY VEHICLE."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent vehicle,
June 22, 2010
By Matthew
from reno, nv
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Love this vehicle. One of the best trucks/suv's we have ever bought. Some minor issues, but still Ford makes a great truck. We have almost 95K on the vehicle...Transmission issues...most repair places say the transmission has a life expectancy of 100k miles. We will need a new one soon, but as far as the rest...its an awesome vehicle. I would buy another especially one with a V8 next time...can't wait."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Excellent Vehicle,
May 1, 2009
By Steve
from Phoenix, Az
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"My 2004 has 80,000 miles. Was in the shop one time, under warranty. Other than that, I've changed the oil, tires, and wipers; nothing else.
Plenty of leg room front and back. With tailgate up, bed is shorter in length, but bed extender helps to make it standard length, and it's taller than compact pickup. I drive the speed limit and avg 20 mpg combined city and highway.
Very little to complain about.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 98 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
been through it, done that.,
December 4, 2011
By Jake
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:195000
What's great about this vehicle?:obscenely reliable, and capeable off-road. 18 MPG
What's not so great about this vehicle?:weighs more than it looks- 4200 lbs empty.
ReviewOriginationID:04d1235d-b7ae-46ff-b348-7b68d19b1d47
"This truck has spent more time off road than on, and has been misused, abused, ridden hard and put away wet, but still goes like the day it was bought brand-new. I put a new tranny in it at 120,000- new shocks, cv boots, ball joints and control arms at 170,000. Otherwise I have always done scheduled maintenance, and nothing else.
I would say overall a great buy, and I would definately do it again!!
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 2001
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 99 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
If it's for you...,
October 20, 2007
By luv4miniz
from Little Rock, AR
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This truck is the perfect vehicle for me..just make sure it's what you want. I didn't want a fullsize V8...if you need a fullsize bed or v8 you don't want this. This has plenty of bed for what I need and power to tow what I need. I love the styling and the 4 doors. Perfect for me...
The only bad thing I can say about it is the turn radious is pretty bad...especially compared to my wife's 4runner."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 100 for 2001 - 2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great, except for space,
June 30, 2009
By Familyof4
from Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We bought our Sport Trac NEW in 2005. It has been wonderful with NO money for repairs! My husband uses it to commute to work and gets decent mileage... I'd guess at least 20/HWY. Our only complaints are the space--- the cab is small and the back seat isn't spacious enough for our carseats. The short bed is functional, but we'd prefer a standard size. Overall, it's been very dependable."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more