Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer

Average Customer Rating:
8.129 out of 10
8.1
 out of 
10
318 of 372(85%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Review 21 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Perfect For Me,
September 30, 2009
By JILL
from Lower Michigan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Excellent SUV, unstoppable in deep snow (high road clearance was a factor). Very comfortable seating and good visibility make it a good road car. Only problem in 4+ years was a chronic/mysterious problem with fuel quantity system that gave false "sensor failure" indications. Dealerships worked with me, eventually finding damaged factory wire harness above fuel tank. Trouble free since. Great usable cargo space does not require high lift to clear tail gate."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great SUV!!,
July 2, 2009
By luvmysuv
from TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've had my 2007 Explorer for 2 years, it's my 2nd Explorer and I wouldn't own any other SUV. It's reliable, has great styling and rides like a car. I drove from NY to TX and the ride was comfortable. It did pretty well on gas considering I only spent $340 for gas when it was $3.69/gal and I drove 1800 miles. I have friends that are on their 3rd or 4th. We love this SUV. Great job Ford!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
One of best vehicles owned,
May 16, 2009
By Pete
from Merritt Island,Florida
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This is the 2nd Explorer I have owned is thye best yet. I owned this one for 2 1/2 years. I have had no major problems. It is a pleasure to drive. The V6 has all the power and performance I need and is very good on gas mileage."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
comfortable ride,
December 20, 2008
By Doogie
from Bad Axe, Mi
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my 2006 Ford Exlporer Eddie Bauer ed approximately 6 months ago. The ride is extremely comfortable and handles well. I have a small boat and it hauls it with no problems. I have been experiencing ignition/electrical trouble where often times the vehicle wont start. The vehicle is still under warranty however the problem is annoying. Other than that the gas mileage is great 22-24 mpg highway miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Pick!,
December 18, 2008
By JANK
from St. Johnsbury, VT
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We needed an 'upgrade' as far as power and room and this fit the bill. Has ample power to tow our boat and camper and all our 'stuff' and w/the third row, it can carry our kids and their friends too! The split bench seats fold flat which is also a big plus w/our ski equipment. Nice looking vehicle (we have the V8 limited edition) with fun comforts for long travels. Handled our Northern Vermonts' recent weather (snow, ice, snow...)very well - we do have snow tires. There are a few 'bells & whistles' we need to get used to but that's b/c wer'e used to the 'basic models'. We chose to add an extended warrenty b/c we bought this used (40.000 miles one owner). The vehicle is as good as the dealer and we have a great dealer up here. Did a lot of research re: SUV's before we chose the Ford, and when buying used, this was the best deal. Read several of the reviews before buying and if you notice, many of the positive reviews come from folks like us who live in rural/mountain areas - the Explorer has more truck like qualities vs. other SUV's which is what we needed. Happy w/our recent purchase!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best all-around vehicle,
June 22, 2008
By Mk7
from Alaska
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Great all-around rig. I live in rural Alaska, 3 children, with long distances to travel during very cold winter temp. of 40/50 below. My truck has never been garaged; (I plug it in at night during the winter) I've put over two thousand miles a month on it- still runs smooth as ever. The engine's so quiet I have almost restarted it thinking it was not running. Comfy cloth seats, 2 extra flip-up seats in the back, Powerful front and
back heater, tinted windows, A/C, CD player -lots of storage compartments, cupholders, easy to load/unload, nice, quiet ride. Almost 19 mpg on the highway, which isn't too bad! Of all the trucks I've owned, I like this one the very best!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Top of the line,
April 15, 2008
By Ray
from Asheville, NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've had 17 Fords in my lifetime and this
Explorer Limited is the best ever. Not a
problem so far. For a V8 it gives me 20.8
mpg doing 80 mph on the Interstate and
an excellent ride. Very quiet with great
safety features. Handles very nicely and
a comfortable ride. Recommend highly.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliable and ough,
August 23, 2007
By Weekender
from Atlanta, GA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought the '07 Limited in January. This is the third Explorer I have owned. This one was quite hard to find with the options I wanted. Only complaints are with the gas mileage and transmission (shifting is suspect at times). Ford has done a great job with suspension, comfort and noise level on the later models. I would highly recommend getting an Explorer!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Love it except for the gas mileage,
August 20, 2012
By Deanna
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:92500
What's great about this vehicle?:handling, turning radius, comfort, sync
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:b589836762d04be59974d9083561ee26
"I absolutely love this vehicle. It has all the "bells and whistles" and it is extremely comfortable to drive. Has an amazing turning radius for a big vehicle and is very easy to drive. I love the sync and the keyless entry. I can't say enough about how much I love this vehicle, I just wish it was better on gas!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great family all season car. Able to tow 23' camp,
March 7, 2014
By bob
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:7500
ReviewOriginationID:8e1381a04bc34fa39e90b62e67dabf0f
Make:Ford
Model:Explorer
Vehicle ID:349552
"Wife loves visibility while driving. 3rd row seating for grand kids! Wanted pickup, wife wanted car. Explorer was in between."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ND
Year 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent, reliable car,
September 26, 2012
By Susan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:56400
What's great about this vehicle?:4 wheel drive, leather interior
ReviewOriginationID:b14a1bf377af4852a6387fb5084ab04d
"I had only one problem with the computer in the car which was fixed quickly. I had to replace the battery. the 4 wheel drive gave me a great sense of security during the winter months. The little extras on the Iron Man package made it stand out and findable in parking lots. It's time to start looking for a replacement and it will be very difficult to let this one go!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Very Reliable and Fun to Drive!,
August 19, 2012
By Coach Karl
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:79000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable - Performance - Room
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Leather seats not of the highest quality
ReviewOriginationID:c98e172387ba46d7b560880abd5802f1
"Have a large family, also Coach football where we are hauling a lot of kids around town. This truck has plenty of room for 7 and the equipment to go along with them. Never had it stuck in the snow as I pass many other SUV's sitting on the side of the road stuck. Gas mileage not terrible - not great! average around 21 highway and 16 city. Smooth ride for a truck. Would purchase again."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car, bets ever value,
December 14, 2011
By hippohood
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:37500
What's great about this vehicle?:Good look
What's not so great about this vehicle?:third row of seats is marginally comfortable
ReviewOriginationID:e723f3ab-756d-4437-bd67-18ce3e76d8a6
"I have chosen this car becasue I wanted a comfortable SUV with foldable 3rd row of seats (when my in-laws are coming to US we can travel together). The 3rd row served it's purpose, providing spacious trunk of two addiitonal seats. Although the additional seats are not as comfortable as 2nd row, they are good enough to use them for an occasional trip.
What I like most is that even basic XLT has a lot of goodies, which in other makes are found only in higher level of trims (like, SYNC, fog lights, powered seat, etc.). The car is dynamic and well-controlled even 2WD 4.0 liters.
Had no problems, except leaking (slightly) front window seal (replaced under warranty). Only now (37k miles) my tires threads are coming to the point when they need replacement."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Don't buy,
December 9, 2011
By ham
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:78000
Reason for Sale:junk
ReviewOriginationID:815e1f6a-4874-4e46-a577-19d685d47f09
"All I need to say is read consumer reports before you buy wish I would have JUNK!"
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location IL
Year 2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Un-explodable,
May 12, 2011
By Far Rider
from Michigan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is my 2nd Explorer, I bought it with 26,000 miles, It now has 226,000 miles. I just replaced the original alternator at 220,000 and the original front brake pads at 195,000, and front wheel bearings at 200,000. EVERYTHING ELSE on the car is completely original and working flawlessly. I average 19-20 mpg. I tow heavy trailers all the time and even take her off road."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very dependable,
October 26, 2010
By julie
from Rising Sun, MD
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had my explorer for nearly 5 years. I have had no major repairs, only basics tires, brakes and oil changes. It has taken me through what ever snow storms we had in Maryland. I drive it about 60 miles a day and average MPG is about 16.5 combo city and highway, it gets 21 + on the highway. It still looks great inside and out."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2007 Exp Limited V-8,
August 10, 2010
By foggyone
from SF Bay Area, California
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is my 3rd Explorer, and I got one of the first. The first lasted 11 years (to death), the second died early (lemon), but the Explorer has been the best car I've ever had, bar none. This 2007 is the BEST of all, beautifully designed and balanced, with NO STABILITY ISSUES WHATSOEVER, and I use it in the Calif. coastal hills. It is also incredibly comfortable for traveling, and of course the bells-and-whistles are great if not absolutely necessary. The engine has plenty of power. I purchased a pre-paid service contract also, and that has taken care of everything, I highly recommend that, EVERYTHING except new tires is covered. Pays for the gas! I'm worried now---I read a review that Ford will start making the Explorer a cross-over in 2011, DON'T DO IT, FORD! Don't mess with a great car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent SUV,
October 19, 2009
By Jay
from New York
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is the only good quality SUV out there, nice useful features, the v6 has plenty of power, tows like a beast, comfortable, loud stereo, excellent Navigation system and excellent SYNC features. This is one beautiful truck, go ford !"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very Happy,
March 20, 2009
By Crack
from Columbus, Ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had this 06 E/Bauer Exp for 2 years. Its loaded and I bought it with 9,000 miles on it as a one owner lease trade in. I researched and the same vehicle new was at $40,000. I dont think it was worth that but it was worth every penny of the high 20's that I paid. Great ride, lots of compliments on the appearance and its a beast in the snow. Love the suede seats and the DVD player with the wireless headphones. I wish it seated 7 but the large 2nd row console holds all my kids junk and they can still each bring a friend on vacation. Im not getting super gas mileage (18mpg or so) but it what I expected. Overall one of the best vehicles I have ever owned."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2006 - 2010 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Love my Explorer,
January 6, 2009
By Susan
from Clearwater, FL
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I've had my 2006 Explorer XLT for over 2 years now and bought it as a demo with 6000 miles. We now have over 33000 miles on it and use it mainly for vacation. It's quiet, reliable, and comfortable and we've had no real issues since purchasing it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.