Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition

Average Customer Rating:
8.777 out of 10
8.8
 out of 
10
748 of 789(95%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Review 1 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
My Family Truckster,
March 29, 2012
By Family Truckster
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very Comfortable for trips and day to day
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Tendency to wear dwn frnt tires if you dont rotate
ReviewOriginationID:d6c263c496a447de8f5c8aece3bcc847
"We have owned ours for 7 years and put 120,000 miles on it. It has 180,000 on it now. We have NEVER had a problem. NEVER left us stranded. Easy to maintain. My family has grown from 2 of us to 5 of us. We take cousins and aunts and uncles and grandparents, and never seem to run out of room.
I am a firefighter and seen several of these in head on collisions and rollovers. It has done a terrific job in the safety category for the occupants in those collisions.
The seats are comfortable for the long trips and it is NOT so big that you can't park it. Room for the kids to spread out. Even though it has 4.6L V8, it has never lacked the get up and go power I have needed. My only complaint is that the suspensions design is rough on front tires and you have to rotate your tires if you want to get a decent tread life out of your tires.
A great choice. Now that they are getting old enough that they aren't very expensive, any 1997-2002 Expedition would be a good choice for a family looking for safety and comfort without spending $40,000 for a new SUV."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2001
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This Expedition is the best car I've ever owned.,
July 18, 2012
By Bob
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:450258
What's great about this vehicle?:Great Great Great Great!!!!!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Coils need to be replaced too often.
ReviewOriginationID:945a7c0709bf4ed8985c2a5ef4c6839a
"I use the Expedition everyday and average 250 miles per day.
There isn't a place I wouldn't take my Expedition. Its in great shape and most of its original parts.
It doesn't look like it should have the mileage that it has, its held up that great.
If more cars were made like this, we would all have more money in our pockets.
The Expedition has a 5.4L engine with 2 wheel drive and I average over 20 mpg..
The new ones average price is over 50K and everytime I take a test drive I realize I don't see or feel any difference.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1998
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Very reliable vehicle,
April 6, 2014
By mojo
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:154000
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy to drive. Drives alot smaller.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Hard to find suitable parking spots sometimes.
ReviewOriginationID:f7343efa2b8245bc8ac7349882fac2e7
Make:Ford
Model:Expedition
Vehicle ID:5945
"Have owned car for 11 years. Don't need this big of a vehicle any longer. Gets decent gas mileage on freeway,65-70 mph,about 18-20 mpg. That is pretty good considering how big,and heavy the expedition is."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2000
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
drives like a dream,
March 8, 2013
By carnut
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:192000
What's great about this vehicle?:Room and comfort
What's not so great about this vehicle?:mpg is 16,not bad for big suv but w/gas price,tuff
ReviewOriginationID:5ba7787d37db403c85ff758944784b7a
"Best driving vehicle i have driven, and i have drove a Lot, one of my favorite used cars i have bought. It's like sitting in your recliner holding a steering wheel, bout effortless to drive. my wife even says it's more comfortable than her '12 pathfinder..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2000
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great driver,
December 16, 2011
By tbreck
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:very reliable, doesnt get stuck, great truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:could use better gas milege, a bit big
ReviewOriginationID:26ab7a1e-a059-4907-a76f-ca4705eaf7fc
"this truck is very reliable and nothing has gone wrong with it, i love this true. its great for winter, ive never gotten stuck or slid around. its a very stable truck. i will be running this truck until it doesnt work any longer. the heated seats are very convienent. and it has no problem being a work horse."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 1999
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Ride Yet!,
March 5, 2010
By MsAttyTude
from Crossville, TN
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned this 99 Expedition 2wd Eddie Bauer Edition for 3 years. When I got it it had 110,000 miles on it. It now has 160,000 on it and is still going strong. Only problem I have ever had with it was due to the cad. converter and brakes. Before getting this vehicle I searched and searched for a good spacious dependable vehicle and after seeing this one I decided to get it. What a wise choice!! The gas mileage is only about 15 mpg, but hey the comfort makes up for that tri fold. The value of this SUV went down the tubes after everyone started "going green" but I don't expect to sell my expedition any time soon so that does not matter to me either. I LOVE MY EXPEDITION!!! In my opinion, you can't go wrong when buying one. My next vehicle (after my current Expedition dies) will be another Expedition."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
expedition review,
March 18, 2008
By miss
from des mones ia
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We are still the first owner's on this vehicle. It has been through numberous road trips. We have drove it from Iowa to Florida and back with no problems with four kids. It has enough room that they all can have their own space. I love the fold down cup holder in the second seat row. It is great for kids that are in a car seats. They can actually reach the cup holders. I do not like how the third seat was design on this model. It is very heavy and bulky to take out if you need to remove it. I wish that the third seat would have fold down like the second row does. Also if you put in two car seats in the third row, the car seat on the passenger side will lean towards the window since their is a gap between the seat and the window."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2000 expedition,
February 15, 2008
By Gordon
from Wilmington NC
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"A workhorse, pulls heavy loads with ease. 11-14 mpg with 4wd and tow package. Cabin space is huge and confortable. Ride is pleasant and quiet."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I couldn't ask for more!,
October 16, 2011
By Lee
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:241000
ReviewOriginationID:8dd373f7-ff0c-4dda-90f4-d8b0ab70f30f
"After 240,000 miles, all I've done is tires, shocks, ball joints, an alternator, two sets of plugs and regular oil changes. Whether around town, towing, highway miles, hauling heavy loads...it's been, by far, the best vehicle I've ever owned."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 1998
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Incredible vehicle!,
August 23, 2011
By Oregon Logger
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:171000
What's great about this vehicle?:Perfect vehicle.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas, but worth every gallon!
"I will never own another vehicle! My 1999 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer edition is the one. 170,000 and ZERO problems. No matter what happens to her in the future, she will be repaired, rebuilt whatever it takes to get her back on the road. This is a great SUV, get one!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1999
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
one of the best SUV's created,
February 7, 2009
By exped4x4
from lincoln CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is no doubt one of the best family sport utility vehicle created. It has a powerful and "torquey" V8 5.4L engine and the stock off-road capability is quite superb for an outdoors kind of family. Even for someone who might like to get a little mud on the tires it does pretty well. Trust me, I've put this thing to the the test. It has an extremely good turning radius for a mid-size SUV and if I didn't know any better I would say it has the best. I've never had any major problems with this car. Just the occasional bearings that need replacing once you pass that 150,000 mile mark. I do all the work on the vehicle myself and since it's not too new i dont have to worry about all the electronics like cars today. Yet its not too old that it doesn't have the same luxuries as the newer ones. Overall it's a great vehicle and I'd recommend it to anyone... As long as its one that has been taken care of, such as mine. I hope my review has helped and take care."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
My Experience,
February 11, 2008
By Dee
from El Paso, TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Very reliable vehicle.
3 kids and they did not do anything to it other than the carpet mats. Very sturdy. Still rides extremely smooth on the road, especially when I compared it to my 2006 F150.
Engine is solid, no work necessary at all. Have only changed out the battery, tires, and the vehicle security module ($300).
I am keeping this vehicle until it drops dead on me because I have not had to invest more than $1000 in the 7 years of using it.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
An Awesome SUV,
December 22, 2007
By Charles
from Frisco
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned a Ford Expedition every year since 2000 and purchased the first one used. Traded for a new one with around 150,000 miles on each one and had no problems with any of these other than having to get tires and brake pads.
I used to be a GM person, being all I would buy and once I purchased this Expedition, I have been buying Fords ever since. They are reliable, very well built, and use less fuel and oil than the two Cheverolet Pick-ups I owned. I looked at the Hummer and liked it, but for the money, quality, and reliability...the Expedition is the way to go. For the size of the vehicle, it has plenty of power and does pretty good on fuel...I get about 14.5-15 in the city and around 18 on the highway and that is with 75,000 on a 2000 model I just purchased used. I also purchased a new Ford Pick-up that I have 90,000 miles on and I am really wanting a new Expedition. But as with any vehicle you do have to keep up with the taking care of them. Stay away from old gas stations than have cheap or bad fuel, use good oil, and change all of the filters as recommend by Ford. I wish they would offer a desiel in this model. For overall reliability I would say if you take good care of it, that you can look at running 200,000 miles on this truck, perhaps more, but I trade up around 150,000.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Family Truckster Ever,
November 30, 2007
By Bob H
from San Diego, Ca.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Bought my white XLT with Tow Package, rear air and third seat new in late 1996. It now has 126000 miles. Two unexpected repairs needed: $700 for A/C part and $500 for lower ball joints - both were done just beyond the warranty somewhere around 45000 miles. Other than normal brake (2 replacement sets of pads with new rotars at 90k) and tire replacement (every 45-50k with michelins ) it has been a very reliable vehicle that has never left us on the roadside. It still looks good (when waxed) and passes the California test with good numbers. The A/C is icy cold, it doesn't burn oil and has never leaked a drop on the driveway. The interior is roomy and comfortable. It still looks almost new (3 boys and lots of soccer and little league teams later!) with no rips, fades or thin spots. It towed our 4500# camp trailer with ease and accelleration is reasonable for a big vehicle. It never got better than 12-13 mpg around town but will get 17-18 mpg on highway if you let it just cruise at 65. If you do push it on the highway it will still get 15 -16 mpg at 70-75 mph.
We liked it enough to buy a new 2004 EB and keep the old XLT. The new EB rides and handles better but the old XLT has fewer rattles and creaks - and it gets better mileage. If we ever get rid of the old one I will be sorry to see it go. Maybe because there are so many good family memories with this vehicle.
If you are thinking of buying a used one I'd recommend you find one with tow package for the heavier duty engine, transmission and cooling system that have been so reliable for us.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
September 8, 2007
By mm
from Northern Virginia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is a terrific vehicle: very reliable, comfortable, responsive, powerful, and big! Despite the poor gas mileage, it is a wonderful SUV for transporting up to nine people, dogs, crates, building materials, gardening materials. It is very versatile. This has been my favorite car ever."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Top Notch Performance,
September 7, 2007
By Vermont
from Vermont
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"As a woman, I feel completely secure driving my Expedition in snow storms. I feel like I am in total control.
Hauling four snowmobiles is a sinch! You don't even feel like you are hauling anything."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Can't part with it,
August 27, 2007
By natblnd
from San Antonio, TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had my 2000 Eddie Bauer Exp since 2002 and had made a decision that I would buy a new vehicle when I reached 120K miles. I hit that 2 weeks ago and had been looking for another vehicle...but I just can't part with it. Originally, a great vehicle to haul a volleyball team on road trips, now all in college...I know it makes no sense for me to drive this large a vehicle when I am usually alone...but the strength, visibility, view of the road and plenty of room are very hard to part with! I have just a few minor problems with cosmetic items, like the in dash cup/coin holder. I love the in-door keypad...I never have to carry keys with me!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Good solid performer,
August 27, 2007
By Shnacko
from Middle Georgia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Purchased this vehicle with 69K miles, now has 165K. Only major problems: Air Conditioning - have spent $1500 to repair twice (compressor and rear evaporator). Very roomy, front seats are great, middle seats Ok, rear seats ok for small kids - not adults. Engine performs well with sufficient power. Arerage mileage: 14-15 combination city & highway. Have gotten as much as 17.5 on highway, 13-14 around city. I would buy another one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great (after year1),
August 22, 2007
By sf95070
from SFBay Area, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought Eddie Baur new in 1999. Terrible 1 st year. Everything electronic failed including compass! All fixed under warranty. After 1 st year no problems at all.
This beast will pull anything. I have pulled a 25 ft sailboat with no problems. AWD is great, I put it in 4wd low once to test it, after that I have been through snow, mud, dirt in auto AWD setting. Never needed low range.
Milage is 13-17mpg which isn't terrible for 5000 pound beast. We routinely make drive bay area to San Diego and climb out with no aches or pains. Leather still looks great after 8 years.
Every Ford I have bought has had first year problems. Buy one used. Its great after the burn-in that Ford doesn't do."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Most Reliable Car Ever Owned,
July 2, 2014
By Mr. Mooster
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:235000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, roomy.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:It's a large SUV so it uses more gas.
ReviewOriginationID:d81d3627c7404022bcc684ce8efc2ab6
Make:Ford
Model:Expedition
Vehicle ID:5433
"I can't even count how many cars I've owned through the years. I do know I've owned this one longer than any other. It has been absolutely reliable and has required only basic maintenance and upkeep."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1999
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.