Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition

Average Customer Rating:
8.767 out of 10
8.8
 out of 
10
723 of 764(95%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Review 1 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Solid, Dependable, Strong,
December 23, 2009
By Willie G
from Houston, TX
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This is my fourth Expedition. I have driven all four vehicles over one million miles collectively. The main draw back is the brakes. They seem to by "under engineered", meaining I have replaced more pads and rotors than I care to count. Otherwise these vehicles are good value, strong running and good looking."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
My Family Truckster,
March 29, 2012
By Family Truckster
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very Comfortable for trips and day to day
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Tendency to wear dwn frnt tires if you dont rotate
ReviewOriginationID:d6c263c496a447de8f5c8aece3bcc847
"We have owned ours for 7 years and put 120,000 miles on it. It has 180,000 on it now. We have NEVER had a problem. NEVER left us stranded. Easy to maintain. My family has grown from 2 of us to 5 of us. We take cousins and aunts and uncles and grandparents, and never seem to run out of room.
I am a firefighter and seen several of these in head on collisions and rollovers. It has done a terrific job in the safety category for the occupants in those collisions.
The seats are comfortable for the long trips and it is NOT so big that you can't park it. Room for the kids to spread out. Even though it has 4.6L V8, it has never lacked the get up and go power I have needed. My only complaint is that the suspensions design is rough on front tires and you have to rotate your tires if you want to get a decent tread life out of your tires.
A great choice. Now that they are getting old enough that they aren't very expensive, any 1997-2002 Expedition would be a good choice for a family looking for safety and comfort without spending $40,000 for a new SUV."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2001
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Love my Expedition,
April 1, 2012
By Mmjohnson
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:Spacious, feels safe
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Bad gas mileage.
ReviewOriginationID:e4c33b0ade9342a2b8103232ca91f720
"I have had my Expedition for 11 years and LOVE it still. I now have two boys and the vehicle allows me to take them and all of their friends/gear wherever they need to go. Comfortably seats 8 with room to store things. I also used it to commute to work for many years. Great in bad weather with 4WD.
Only problem is the gas mileage. While commuting it was 14 mpg, but around town gets only 11.
Other than that I would definitely buy this car again!
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 2000
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 Years and still chugging,
June 6, 2012
By firedawgy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:213000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability, Size, Towing, Roomy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:GAS !!!!
ReviewOriginationID:24a9e8aef2c6480ea939802bac2c38af
"Bought my Eddie Bauer Expy 7 years ago used with 90k on it. Now with 213k on it I can honestly say I love this thing. Have replaced 3 things in all the years, 2 alternators and 1 rear air suspension bag. Non were tough to do and reasonable. With the towing package I have towed everything from cars, boats, campers, trailers and even 11,000 lb food trailer, yes I knew that one was on there but it pulled and stopped fine. I would love to keep it with one exception, the gas, I average around 13 and thats a stinger when you fill up at $120 weekly. For a large family though they are awsome, I know people that have suburbans and tahoes that have replaced much more then me, gotta love a Ford."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 2001
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
The best car I've ever owned--no problems at all,
June 20, 2012
By PJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:175000
What's great about this vehicle?:dependability, roominess, comfort
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage ok but not great
ReviewOriginationID:7106b36fecd44bda97aa3d9bd343c5e9
"I bought my Expedition new in 2001, so it is now 11 years old and has 175,000 miles. It has had no problems whatsoever. We've done routine maintenance throughout the years. This spring we bought a new battery, re-did the brakes, and charged the A/C (for the first time). It has hauled lots of stuff and lots of people over the years. We drove home from St. Louis to North Carolina in one day and didn't even feel tired from the drive. The Expedition is so big and roomy that long trips are possible and comfortable. Gas mileage has ranged from 15-17 mpg, depending on conditions. When the Expedition is cleaned up, it is still a sharp looking vehicle. We plan to drive it another 175,000 miles. Judging from some of the reviews here, I think we'll be able to do just that!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2001
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
BEST VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED!!,
November 12, 2011
By jlp2003
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:174000
What's great about this vehicle?:Everything, No Complaints here!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Nothing- Has everything I have ever Wanted!!
ReviewOriginationID:84ba832c-0fa8-4d5a-b090-b8b4940b7563
"I traded me 2000 Ford Windstar SEL for this 2001 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 4x4 and I was instantly in LOVE. Rides so smooth, Comfortable. Seating with our Baby is still 7 other people. Sound system is AMAAZING!
I Love Everything about it! Reliable, Incredible.
Best Decision I ever made to Trade my Van for it. I was so attatched to my Van and then this came along.
I am SOOO LUCKY!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2001
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great SUV !!!,
June 22, 2010
By 302PONY
from Upstate NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 2000 Expedition XLT off ebay sight unseen in 2005 with 64K miles. Scary deal that worked out great ! what a great truck, the wife and kids love it for long trips , no one feels cramped , rides great , it just turned 100K and still runs and drives like new. paint looks good but I have the common problem with the bottom edge of the doors rusting. I treated the rust but it will need to be repaired. I was considering selling it for a newer one but after reading all the great reviews about 180K plus on the 5.4 I see no reason to sell it. even if I have to spend a grand here and there I still save big time in the long run. I really have no complaints with this truck!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
SUV Powerhouse,
January 19, 2008
By Bubba
from FWB, FL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Yes, I'm a ford fan. I've owned lots of Fords (T-Birds, Trucks, SUVs, etc); but my 01 EB Expedition takes 1st place everytime. Me and the wife bought ours in Spring of 2004 with 33K miles; now has 72K miles. Done most of the maintenance myself. There have been two things that I've taken this vehicle to the shop; cracked head gasket at 46K and now EGR solenoid, EGR valve, PCV valve at 72K. I'm still running on the same Good Year Eagle GTs tires and I have many more miles left in them. The Expedition is a great family vehicle. We have taken it all over the Southeastern US with zero problems. We're gearing up for another trip to North Carolina in about 14 days. Gas mileage could be better! We get 13MPG city and about 17MPG highway. I'm debating on Jet Performance Module; possible a cold air intake to assist in MPG. Towing isn't a problem and typically...nothing will get in you way. My wife has torn down Mailboxes, Garage Doors, and ran over trailers and the expedition unstoppable! I wouldn't get rid of our expedition even if the gas did get to $5.00 a gallon!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my Expedition!,
October 28, 2013
By Lady L
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, handles well
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cons
ReviewOriginationID:76f868909c954c3e93786e8e5940de05
Make:Ford
Model:Expedition
Vehicle ID:3948
"I could not ask for a more dependable vehicle. I take care of it and it takes care of my family and I. I take frequent trips and my vehicle has never broke down during the entire 8 years that I have owned my vehicle. It is a pleasure to drive and it delivers power on demand. It is equipped with a nice factory sound system to help with long drives. My family likes to be able to stretch out while traveling without giving up luggage space. Ford has really excelled with this vehicle."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2002
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Best SUV in its bracket.,
October 23, 2012
By JackBP
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:320000
What's great about this vehicle?:Essential Reliability, Cost, Operation
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Ford Window systems not exactly the best.
ReviewOriginationID:aa27f3bb712f463c918f56f606ceb10b
"First bought in 2004 with 78000 miles. In 2012 reaching 320000 with very good preventative maintenance she's still looking good. Trying to keep her going well with few system problems. Good for me because my credit is not good enough for a new vehicle; at this time. Modified almost every thing on the vehicle from standard XLT version. Sound system is absolutely the best, added 20" dia. wheels & upgraded suspension system. Lighting system upgraded for hazardous foul-weather night driving."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location DE
Year 1998
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Car I Ever Owned! I hated to let it go...,
September 26, 2012
By MJH
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:165000
Reason for Sale:Heater Core began leaking
What's great about this vehicle?:Wonderful, durable, long-lasting family vehicle
What's not so great about this vehicle?:lousy gas milage for city driving
ReviewOriginationID:36d92824d44b41e2b2ad78d9261571fe
"This was my favorite car of all time!! I would have driven this car FOREVER if she could have held up that long. It had a few issues early on in the 10+ years I drove it, and a couple of costly repairs, but it was well worth the money I put into it, and it rarely had problems day to day. The first thing to go out was the compressor on the rear end air conditioner, and it had failed due to some interior foam breaking off inside the air ducts. We were not happy to have to fix it, but the air conditioning worked great for years after that. The water pump was replaced at about 100,000 miles, the alternator was replaced once, and it had to have a re-keyed ignition once. The smooth ride of this family travelling car was absolutely wonderful! We went on several cross-country trips in this car and loved to travel in it. Unfortunately, the air-ride bags on the rear suspension began to leak at about 145,000 miles, and that is an expensive ($2500) fix, so we opted to replace the air-ride with struts and springs. It was still pretty comfortable after that, but not quite as smooth. We never had transmission or radiator problems with this car at all. It was a good, solid, dependable, ride. My only complaint is that it had somewhat lousy city gas mileage (14-15 mpg) but was better on the highway (17-20 mpg). Considering the amount of gear we have hauled over the roads on vacation (including camping trailers) I can't really complain too much, though. We experienced one wreck in this car when the driver of a car lost control and hit us in the rear driver's side-- her car was absolutely totalled and we literally drove home with only a dented tire rim and slightly damaged running board. We finally had to give this car up when the heater coil began leaking-- it just wasn't worth the money to patch her up again. So, we went straight down to our local Ford dealer and traded it in on another Expedition (same color in fact!) and are hoping that the second Expedition will run as long as our first one did."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location TX
Year 1999
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
good dependable vehicle,
September 7, 2010
By Antone
from Tennessee
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned this car for 13 years. great vehicle. dependable. at 170,000 miles alternator failed. Been in two accidents, no one in the expedition was hurt."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Very reliable vehicle,
April 6, 2014
By mojo
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:154000
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy to drive. Drives alot smaller.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Hard to find suitable parking spots sometimes.
ReviewOriginationID:f7343efa2b8245bc8ac7349882fac2e7
Make:Ford
Model:Expedition
Vehicle ID:5945
"Have owned car for 11 years. Don't need this big of a vehicle any longer. Gets decent gas mileage on freeway,65-70 mph,about 18-20 mpg. That is pretty good considering how big,and heavy the expedition is."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2000
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
AWESOME TRUCK,
May 23, 2013
By mikemc422
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:570000
What's great about this vehicle?:EVERYTHING BUT THE GAS MILAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas milage
ReviewOriginationID:e3337f7a771a43dc8a0f00651a2dafa1
Make:Ford
Model:Expedition
Vehicle ID:6481
"I LOVE my truck, except for the bad gas milage it is awesome. I bought it new in 1997. Up until it hit around 520,000 miles, I had no problems. I drive fast, rough, and use it to go mudding all the time, and everything in/on it is still factory. I beat this truck, and always have. I don't wash it too often, so the paint is faded and it has a little rust on the roof, but the paint problem is probably being that it has never seen a coat of wax. I hit 512,000 or so, and had a bad cylinder. other than that, I have not had a single problem. I only put oil in it when it hits 15,000 and don't put gas in it til' the fuel light starts flashing. I have some friends out in the sticks, and I go mudding everytime it rains hard enough. I have driven it to and from Jersey several times, and have never had a problem with the cold, heat, or any other water (except for the time I went on vacation and accidentally left the windows open in the rain for a month). But all in all it is the best truck I have ever had, and trust me, I have had a lot."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1998
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
A Strong Truck!,
August 5, 2009
By trailerguy
from Denver, CO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We bought our '99 5.4L XLT Expedition new in 1999. We've put 152,000 miles on her since then. Trips have included many, many long distance popup trailer tows, some offroad excursions, and emergency blizzard travel. She has never let us down. She has gone through several major hail storms with zero damage. She effortlessly tows our 3200 lb. popup trailer up and down major mountain passes. She emerged from a rear ender with a barely noticeable 1/2 inch scratch on her rear bumper--no dent! The other car had major bumper damage. The only major issue was a warped right head at 65k which was covered under extended warranty. A few minor things have cropped up in her life: a leaking front transmission seal at 145K ($175); anti-sway bar bushings at 130k ($250); jammed CD Cassette at 120k (not repaired). We give her full synthetic oil and change it every 5k miles. Overall, the truck has been much more reliable than our previous Volvo and Dodge Grand Caravan.
The only drawbacks: poor gas mileage (14MPG city) and difficult to park in tight spots in urban areas.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great for trips, not good for commuting,
September 18, 2008
By Mister Ribbs
from Modesto, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Well I've had my Expedition for three years now. I have never had any mojor problems and would recomend this vehicle to anyone who can afford the gas. It is LARGE, COMFORTABLE, and you can pack all your friends or family in this thing because it sits 8 people. It can turn a boring weekend into an event when you get this bad boy rolling on freeway. It has lasted uncountable camping, fishing trips and trips to the bay area. It never had any engine problems. The only stuff I did was regular maintenance (Breaks, Plugs, Oil) So if you can afford the 10-15 mph on this bad boy i recomend it to anyone."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I will buy another one THE BEST,
November 27, 2007
By SUV Lover
from Collins, GA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"For a growing family of three boys, this vehicle has been excellent. I will buy another Ford Expedition in an heart beat! There has been plenty of room for my sons and their friends plus sports equipment; also great for family trips. With regular vehicle maintenance, I still get 18 miles per gallon mostly highway miles since I live in the country and my vehicle still dosen't use oil even with mileage close to 200,000. My SUV still rides smoothly and quietly. The BEST BUY I ever made!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
drives like a dream,
March 8, 2013
By carnut
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:192000
What's great about this vehicle?:Room and comfort
What's not so great about this vehicle?:mpg is 16,not bad for big suv but w/gas price,tuff
ReviewOriginationID:5ba7787d37db403c85ff758944784b7a
"Best driving vehicle i have driven, and i have drove a Lot, one of my favorite used cars i have bought. It's like sitting in your recliner holding a steering wheel, bout effortless to drive. my wife even says it's more comfortable than her '12 pathfinder..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2000
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This Expedition is the best car I've ever owned.,
July 18, 2012
By Bob
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:450258
What's great about this vehicle?:Great Great Great Great!!!!!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Coils need to be replaced too often.
ReviewOriginationID:945a7c0709bf4ed8985c2a5ef4c6839a
"I use the Expedition everyday and average 250 miles per day.
There isn't a place I wouldn't take my Expedition. Its in great shape and most of its original parts.
It doesn't look like it should have the mileage that it has, its held up that great.
If more cars were made like this, we would all have more money in our pockets.
The Expedition has a 5.4L engine with 2 wheel drive and I average over 20 mpg..
The new ones average price is over 50K and everytime I take a test drive I realize I don't see or feel any difference.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1998
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1997 - 2002 Ford Expedition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Ol Faithful!,
March 15, 2012
By Carguy727
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:205000
What's great about this vehicle?:Powerful engine, comfortable ride, reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Bad fuel economy, blown spark plugs, thats it!
ReviewOriginationID:c2c7dd4e-f986-4a97-94a8-61a68c5a4f70
"Ten years ago, my dad bought our 1999 Ford Expedition with 40,000 miles on it. For eight years he used it to commute through a steep mountain pass to get to work through every condition imaginable. In 2010 I started driving it and it now has 205,000 miles on the original engine and transmission. People find it hard to believe we've never even given it a tune up! The only problem I've had with it was a blown spark plug (which apparently is pretty typical on the Triton V8 engines) and my dad broke a valve spring once. Other than that it has been a perfect and reliable vehicle. The 5.4 L V8 engine puts out amazing amounts of power while being in a smooth comfortable ride. In the snow this car drives better than anything else I've driven. It's a great SUV and I would definatly suggest this vehicle to someone looking for an SUV."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NV
Year 1999
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.