Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid

Average Customer Rating:
7.254 out of 10
7.3
 out of 
10
614 of 806(76%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Review 381 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliable car,
September 3, 2014
By Mike
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:132000
ReviewOriginationID:9848f64a24724c8a8c03145220195d62
Make:Dodge
Model:Intrepid
Vehicle ID:5724
"Intrepid 2000 (2.7) is a great car for daily driving to and back from work. Has not given me any engine issues. 2.7 is known for sludge. Always changed oil every 3000 miles and engine is responsive.
Car is very heavy, so driving dynamics may vary. With new suspensions car is very smooth, however.
Is not a gas hungry car, I actually saved money on road trips, has good highway MPG.
This car recommended for intermediate drivers looking for some trunk space."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2000
Review 382 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
makes a good second family car,
April 15, 2014
By vince
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:114000
ReviewOriginationID:60330a495a8a477398e2a490f0e1e040
Make:Dodge
Model:Intrepid
Vehicle ID:2250
"I have had this car since 2006 with minor repairs. it gets good mileage and a smooth ride."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2004
Review 383 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
makes a good second family car,
April 15, 2014
By vince
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:114000
ReviewOriginationID:60330a495a8a477398e2a490f0e1e040
Make:Dodge
Model:Intrepid
Vehicle ID:2250
"I have had this car since 2006 with minor repairs. it gets good mileage and a smooth ride."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2004
Review 384 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Treat it well it will treat you well in return,
January 18, 2012
By GGStylin
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:Surprisingly well on gas, great deal, good style
What's not so great about this vehicle?:a lot of inside noise, not durable
ReviewOriginationID:713e1d2a-c260-4db3-9433-521ed51b982a
"My 1998 Intrepid was my first car, and for a first car I can't complain. At first it takes some getting used to, such things as the blind spots, and just how plain big the features are. Everything on this car is big, the windows and the windshields, as well as the doors and bumpers not to mention the trunk is extremely roomy. All together though this car is nice and roomy and very comfortable, treat it well and this car will be nothing short of a great deal. I fell in love with this car but that's probably because it was my first."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MT
Year 1998
Review 385 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
awsomely reliable car,
January 12, 2012
By slawdog
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:great power, good handling, very reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:road noise
ReviewOriginationID:6a46b119-3649-4ca3-a0ca-2033eae2ea11
"this is by far one of the most dependable cars ever built. i have owned this ride since 1998 and except for routine sceduled maint. it has been almost trouble free. the 3.2 is powerful and the auto stick enhances the driving performance greatly. it is great on gas (31mpg) on the hwy. the road noise is a little loud but all in all it is a comforatable ride with a stiff sporty suspention. over all its a great family car with a cavernas trunk and power to spare"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 1998
Review 386 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
happy with purchase,
December 31, 2011
By nate
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:82000
What's great about this vehicle?:decent gas mileage and mine is reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:trade in value
ReviewOriginationID:652835bf-f0d4-4d6c-b125-921ef535b34c
"I know there is a lot of negative stuff about this car but I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2004
Review 387 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Best car so far,
December 26, 2011
By B.A.
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
ReviewOriginationID:c8e5a037-d3dc-41f7-8136-2b50c0631429
"College Student and I have owned 3 cars previously and this has been the most reliable car yet! Hasn't given me major problems. Drives well and is pretty good on gas."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2000
Review 388 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I've owned in 50 years.,
December 18, 2011
By summersun
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:44000
What's great about this vehicle?:Everything
ReviewOriginationID:bbe7998b-4a3e-46bc-bb01-8c8ea12bc772
"Bought new. No repairs, very comfortable, still get complements on style. Using tach, I get better than rated mileage highway and city. Big trunk."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2004
Review 389 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
nice car,
December 2, 2011
By cc
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:92000
ReviewOriginationID:9140b2a8-5fc7-4506-8509-628797a308da
"really spacious car, good gas milage"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2004
Review 390 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Decent/bad gas mileage,
November 16, 2011
By LizTurtle
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:118000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive, comfy seats.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:weather stripping falls apart, bad gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:8aeb7ac7-0418-4b7a-aea1-a56ddd377597
"It's a decent vehicle. Gas mileage isn't very good. I only recieve 15-16 miles per gallon (city). Speakers are poor quality and started to go very quickly after getting the vehicle. The weather stripping on all the doors except the drivers door have fallen apart and fallen off the door frame within 3 years of owning the vehicle . The way the engine is designed makes it cost more in labor. The battery is placed in a very hard to get spot (which makes it difficult to change). However the car rarely has problems if you keep up with routine maintence. I like the fact thats it's a heavy weight vehicle. It handles very poorly in winter and rainy conditions. It survived diesel fuel accidently being put into it so it is a trooper. I would not recommend it to someone though. It has an oversized engine for a car and you spend a lot of money at the gas pump."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2001
Review 391 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
very reliable vehicle,
October 31, 2011
By cassie
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
ReviewOriginationID:17c2f8c9-18bb-4d0b-815f-8f22442a2f61
"great car, very spacious, smooth riding vehicle ,all maintenance is kept up , clean inside"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2002
Review 392 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Save yourself a whole lot of money and do not buy,
October 31, 2011
By bsecress
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:185000
What's great about this vehicle?:very roomy and comfy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders,not that great on gas
ReviewOriginationID:4be3452f-8a61-4bca-a50a-996ab329deac
"I bought this 2000 dodge intrepid used. I have had it a week and it seems like the tranny is going out and a short in the wiring harness/ I have spoke to sevral people who all say that the tranny in these cars are always having problems. Really reconsider if your thinking about buying one."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2000
Review 393 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
good car overall,
October 26, 2011
By rae
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:185000
ReviewOriginationID:b19bb541-188c-46a9-ac66-c6e4f6496f8c
"very dependable car"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2001
Review 394 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
it is a good car,
October 23, 2011
By blue wagon
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not At All
6
Definitely
What's great about this vehicle?:nice ride
What's not so great about this vehicle?:to big
ReviewOriginationID:16fade90-bf2d-4911-ac21-8bbfa0494add
"it is a good car"
Ownership Status I don't own this car.
Location OH
Year 2002
Review 395 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this car.,
October 15, 2011
By nan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:148000
What's great about this vehicle?:Comfortable, good vsiibility, good gas mileage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:They don't make them more
ReviewOriginationID:b81d68e2-4221-46d0-bbed-bea8121d8164
"Owned Dodge and Chrysler cars for years. It is the most comfortable car we've owned. If Dodge would make it again I'd buy it immediately! It gets great gas mileage, better than most so called "effenciency" cars. Still looks great. Last great body type car until the new Charger was produced. All other cars look like cookie cutter styles. Too bad the new Chrysler 300 is rear wheel drive and has bad visibility in the rear window. It's the only new car I like."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2000
Review 396 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality Comfortable Cruiser for the Money,
October 13, 2011
By Green ES
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:A Blast To DRIVE!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:maintenance intensive over 100k miles.
ReviewOriginationID:89b32963-5440-4c70-a3bb-98b3c918c463
"For what I paid, the quality and comfort of this Intrepid far exceeded my expectations.
I got the 3.2L engine with the Autostick transmission.
Had some minor electronic issues with the tranny at 65k, but it was easily fixed. Other minor issues with the electronics havent bothered my overall experience too much.
Radio, AC control, speakers: a previous owner must've nearly drowned this particular car, but even with all that, I LOVE THIS CAR.
Word of experience, when doing 100k maintenance, replace all suspension elements at the same time. Failure to do so will cause old and new to not mesh smoothly and give a rough ride.
Becasuse of this car, my next new car WILL be a Dodge product.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2000
Review 397 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car.,
October 13, 2011
By Mouse
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:112563
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Few interior problems
ReviewOriginationID:fb8fb30b-352f-454b-a520-dab252efbe5b
"I've had no problems on it. It has new brakes and rotors."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2000
Review 398 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
not the best vehicle i've had but i hate it!,
October 3, 2011
By c88da
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
6
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:125000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive, nice looking
What's not so great about this vehicle?:engine knocking problems, oil sludge, bad problems after certain amount of milage,
"ive had my dodge intrepid for a year now and about a week after i got it ive had to spend so much money on fixing it. ive had engine knocking problems with it, overheating, and my air conditioner has went out on me a few times. i would fix something and it still would not help the knocking and ive took it to mechanics and i would have it fixed but about a week later it would start knocking again so i would so not recommend a dodge intrepid like mine. and since mine is on high milage it is just getting worst and worst."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2001
Review 399 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfortable, roomy, smooth ride,
October 3, 2011
By spencer
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:145800
What's great about this vehicle?:visibility, comfort, reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no backseat cupholders, looks like a large sedan
"1998 Dodge Intrepid with 2.7L 4 speed automatic.
Regular oil changes and routine maintenance, transmission fluid, coolant, battery and pcv valve replaced @60k and @120k.
Only a few "major" repairs: ignition switch replaced (@85k), broken coolant line (@135k).
Uses a little bit of oil (about 1/2 quart every 2,500 miles)
Vehicle has been a relatively trouble free bargain."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 1998
Review 400 for 1998 - 2004 Dodge Intrepid
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Treat it well and it will return the favor,
October 3, 2011
By Snoman27
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:236500
What's great about this vehicle?:Very dependable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Front headlamps are "fogged" - discolored
"Owned car 10 years. Have over 235,000 miles on it. Only major repair was a re-built tranny at 145,000 miles - $1200. Have the 3.5L and still get 25 to 26 MPG on the freeway and I don't drive slow. No engine repairs, A/C still works. Oil change with standard oil every 5 to 6000 miles. Couple of minor items - driver's door lock sticks and replaced the hood release. Other than that, car has been solid."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2002