Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango

Average Customer Rating:
8.486 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
619 of 693(89%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Review 421 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good SUV,
April 26, 2008
By Ian
from San Diego, CA.
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my Durango Limited with the Hemi engine in 2004. I liked the body style and the fact that it was not as large as the Expedition or Suburbans and it had a unique style. Quality of materials is a little sketchy. Build quality also not up to par. Reliability has been excellent. With a Hemi, gas mileage is not that good and that is to be expected. On a recent trip to Utah, I averaged about 20 miles to the gallon on the interstate with an average speed of 75 mph. A/C works great and the premium sound system is well worth the money."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 422 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Pretty Good,
March 18, 2010
By Candace
from Houston, TX
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"So Far it has been a pretty good truck. First let me say I have over 201,000 miles in this sucker. Ive replaced tires 3 times and I'm good with maintnance. I have only had to have the rear end rebuilt after the first year and this was not covered under warenty, because i missed the dead line by about 100 miles, They said that the problem was from faulty seals (not my fault) other then that it is just a ticking. For the size of truck I average about 21 miles per gallon, Mostly Hwy driving, And I do a lot of it with a 1 hr commute one way."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 423 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2005 Dodge Durango,
November 27, 2009
By lizard
from New Mexico
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This is the best vehicle we have ever owned. The Hemi V8 4wd has all the power we ask for and we tow an 18 ft enclosed trailer in the mountains regularly. The gas mileage is the only drawback to the vehicle, but for daily use I drive 12 miles r/t to work. It COMFORTABLY seats my 6'4 300# husband and all seating for 7 is wonderful (lots of head/leg room). Luxurious/smooth driving. Excellent feeling of space and ample storage when either is needed. We are Devastated the Durango has been discontinued. This would have been my lifelong vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 424 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
not so impressed,
April 3, 2008
By whathappened
from Lubbock
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"we purchased my 05 durango in 06 with 15k miles and loved it at first and then things started to go wrong and breaking, driver side seat started to crack and my cd player quit working right after my warrenty went out and have had alot of problems with the throddle spacer and not to mention the gas mileage isn't that great but considering it is an suv it's not that bad either and compared to the new tahoes and yukons there's tons of cargo room.
I do love my durango but i wished they would have gone alittle better on the quality of the interior.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 425 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great, tough family vehicle.,
February 9, 2012
By gixxermom
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:48000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great in snow, lots of room
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Side to side rocking over bumpy turns.
ReviewOriginationID:5188ecc3-0c30-4144-9eb6-2790e5f9b34d
"This is a great vehicle for the family who doesn't drive in the mini-van lane. We use it to tow quads and motorcycles. Took a vacation with 4 adults and a toddler comfortably. Has a lot of side to side rocking going around a bumpy turn. Gas mileage really isn't bad for the size of the vehicle. It's a tank in the snow(should be for it's weight). Model with chrome trim can really look classy and you don't mind going out to dinner in this SUV. Doesn't deserve the bad wrap some people give them, a second one is a definate possibility in this house."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2007
Review 426 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Love it - some problems,
December 6, 2011
By Rightwingnut
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:120000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very roomy and comfortable, lots of room for cargo
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas efficiency, some mechanical problems
ReviewOriginationID:04e86262-1422-4f33-bb7d-4cc5018e98e3
"We had a few problems with This vehicle over the last few years. We bought it used. It was a program car, so had very low miles. We have driven it cross country several times and it is very comfortable on extended drives. The one major issue we had was that a rivet or bolt came loose inside the engine. It was a major repair, but the mechanic was able to work with Dodge to get it fixed. Overall I have been really pleased with the comfort and drivability. The only thing I would change is the gas consumption, but it is a large SUV. What do you expect?"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2005
Review 427 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Bang for the Buck,
September 2, 2013
By MoparMan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:50126
What's great about this vehicle?:Hemi, Great in Snow, Exterior Styling
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Fuel Mileage, Cheap Interior Plastics
ReviewOriginationID:8fe92297e10f48858971ea215b8a0311
Make:Dodge
Model:Durango
Vehicle ID:347782
"I've owned my 2005 Dodge Durango SLT 4WD Hemi for 6 years and it's been one of the best vehicles I've ever owned. In that time, the only issue I've had was a bad EGR Valve (easy fix). Other then that, it's just been basic maintenance. The Durango has plenty of power and drives smooth. Fuel economy isn't great, but I knew that when I bought it. Winter handling is the best I've ever experienced. Total confidence driving in the deepest snow with the AWD selected. If you need a vehicle that is great in snow, can seat 8 and tow/haul, then this is the one."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KS
Year 2005
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 428 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love it,
July 23, 2008
By mom of 4
from Billings Mt
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I traded in an Escalade after having nothing but problems... well , i have only had ot change the oil and put gas in this one!! It has room for 7, but out 4 kids are all under11, and its a smaller sqeeze than the escalade, even though it held only5, it was roomier and much more comfortable, do miss the size of the last one, but love the relaibilty and performance with theis. We took a trip to the mountians in Montana, and got 25 mpg!!! It look nice, a smal rust spot showing on the trunk and color wear on the runners, but other than that ~~~ wonderful~~"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 429 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Test Drive and See,
August 25, 2007
By Hawaii D
from Kona, Hawaii
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"For the money this is the best SUV in its class. It has so much room compared to its competitors, very stylish, Great on Gas and has enough torque to pull everything I want. I purchased the Durango in Oregon and had no problem traveling on Mount Hood in the winter. The one I have is all wheel drive with 4 wheel drive at the turn of a switch. Has no problems traveling to and on the beach in Hawaii. I would not only recommend it I would definitely continue to buy this SUV as long as they make it. You can't go wrong Test Drive One Today and you to will agree."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 430 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
I love it but!!,
October 2, 2008
By greene
from Johnstown Ohio
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i do love my durango, i did lose my air conditioner this summer and its gonna cost a lot to fix it, also i had a rust spot on the back hatch and dodge gave me a run around on fixing it so i have to fix it myself even though the mechanic says it is dodge's fault that it is rusting,and my plastic pieces around the passenger seat belt broke,and the one on the back seat belt but other than that it does have a lot of power and has pulled some stuff that i wasn't sure how it would handle but it did awsome!!there is plenty of room for whatever you need it to do!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 431 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Problems,
June 15, 2009
By Txcop
from Allen Texas
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I purchased an 04 Durango v6 during the last gas cruch. For the first few months, it was problem free, then came the engine light, fuel cap problem, then and now the air conditioner blower motor runs when it wants. dealer says that its a resistor under the dash,but he would have to put it on his computer to be sure. I didn't pay too much for the truck, but it has to have air that works all the time. Those in Texas know that you just cant drive anything without air for long here. We'll see how this turns out, i'm thinking that i should have gone with a Tahoe."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 432 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
ok suv,
July 8, 2007
By Just like a new car every 2 years!
from Pensacola, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"There are a few things that need to be perfected on the Durango. For example, the air conditioner doesn't cool the vehicle fast enough. It has a really bad blind spot, and It is not easy to get in and out of, even with running boards. Very important! The air conditioner vents keep falling apart. We have had to repair ours several times. They should be fine as long as you don't touch or adjust them. NO JOKE. In addition, there has been a recall pertaining to wiring in the dash catching fire. All in all, it has been the best vehicle for the money, in it's class."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 433 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
WOW! A terrific, reliable, efficient automobile!,
March 18, 2012
By Artful Dodger
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:145000
What's great about this vehicle?:Economical Hemi, AWD, Seats, Spacious interior
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:b4737a67-abb7-4f43-9754-f4eeb91c1d75
"Bought used to replace my beloved FJ Cruiser (another GREAT ride) when economics dictated losing the car payment. Never disappointed in the Durango, in fact the longer wheelbase on the Durango is a smoother ride. Gas mileage is about the same for both: 18.5 mpg overall with the Hemi Durango (20 hi-way only). Bought with 90M miles, now have 145,000 replacing tires and an A/C hose only. AWD makes winter or rain driving a non-event. Started out thinking I could make due with the Durango until my finances improved...ended up experiencing a stout, comfortable, efficient,"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2005
Review 434 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love it!,
August 17, 2007
By Bobbie Jane
from Harwood, MO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Never thought I would but i love it. I use mine for many uses, from flea marketing to treacherous dirt roads covered in ice with steep inclines, to long distance family drives. I can fit anyone or anythign into it at a moments notice. It drives wonderfully, lots, power when I need it, and over all comfortable, except that the drivers seat is a little hard for my taste, but I can adjust it any way I want. I love the rear air, my mechanic husband was dubious about owning one but he is happy i bought it now, (he's never had to work on it) I will probably never go back."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 435 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Vehicle,
January 23, 2010
By LjStang
from Outer Banks, NC
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"One word: AWESOME
We went from a Jeep Grand Cherokee to this, and have never looked back.
Pros: Style, Comfort, Size
Cons: Dodge resell value
Many complain about fuel economy, but what do you expect when you are driving a LARGE SUV!! If you need to worry about what it's going to cost you @ the pump, then you probably shouldn't be buying a Durango, maybe you should consider a minivan or something!
We bought ours new in 2007, only thing I wish we may have done different is shopped around a little longer to find one with more of the options installed that we wanted."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 436 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Absolutly have loved it!,
October 5, 2010
By Dawny
from Horseheads, NY
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my 04 Durango back in 05 From a Dealer that ended up not being the type to disclose all information. (would never recommend them to anyone). I have had some front suspension issues very recently but I have 130000 miles on it now. Regardless I have been in love with my vehicle since I bought it. I love the power of the Hemi, I have towed a 32' camper with it for years. I love the look and the room. I do wish it had more comfortable seats. Also if a rear window is cracked or down you have to open a front window or your ears will pop! I would buy anouther in a sec."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 437 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love it! Hate putting gas in it, though...!,
July 29, 2008
By Gee1
from Redding, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I love everything about my 2004 Durango SLT, except the gas mileage. It gets a paltry 13-17 mpg in combined city and highway driving. Yeah, I could probably ease up on the gas pedal a bit to improve the mileage, but it's still a guzzler. I have had no mechanical problems - I have only had to change the oil, brakes and tires. The interior space is fantastic, leather seats clean up like a dream, and the premium stereo sounds fantastic. I much prefer it to my friends' Tahoes and Landcruisers. It's parked right now, since the gas prices are so painful. But it's still a GREAT car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 438 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
The best I ever had,
December 16, 2007
By Tiger
from Lakewood, Wa
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I purchased the 06 Durango Limited 13 months ago. We have five in the famly and it's very roomy. We love to go Campning, Fishing, and Boating when ever we can. Our favorite place to go is the Ocean. I have two SUV'S ,but the Durango is my kids favorite one to take, it keeps them busy w/ the DVD ,and video games. They can watch or play w/ out disturbing the music my wife and I listen too. I love all the options the Limited has to offer. We are thinking about trading in our Ford Explorer for another Durango, so we both have one to drive. All in all I'm very happy w/ our Durango."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 439 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfortably numb,
January 29, 2008
By Sarka
from Yuma, AZ
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"2005 Durango Adventurer. I guess the best description I can give is the title. It's just okay. Okay performance, decent ride, been dependable so far.... AC needed servicing at 187 miles and again 3 months ago. Annoying wind noise on drivers window. 14-17 mpg, not great but 30% better the the Expedition we traded in. Nothing really stands out, we'll trade it in a year or two for something else.
No major reason to keep or get rid of it. If I had paid the 38k window I would have been disappointed, at 30k out the door I'm just okay. Decent value for that price. Depreciation is steep."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 440 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great SUV, A steal at the used prices of today,
October 18, 2008
By sdbohica
from Rehoboth, Ma
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've bought several new vehicles and this one was used, 3 years old when i bought it with 42000 miles. Not even broken in yet. This vehicle has power, comfort, toys, everything that you want in a SUV. This is a real SUV not some lousy crossover. Yes you can drive this truck like its meant to be driven. Great in the weather. i have the Limited version with the AWD and its great in the snow when you lock in 4WD. Gas mileage could always be better but with 70,000 miles i'm still getting 14-15 city and 17-19 highway with about 15-16 overall. Not bad for a full size SUV with the 5.7 L Hemi."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs