Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango

Average Customer Rating:
8.513 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
635 of 709(90%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Review 421 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great value,
January 19, 2008
By camperfam
from Lenexa, KS
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Great value (IF bought used) and drives good for a big SUV. Perfect size for 90% of us - smaller than the Suburban/Expedition crowd but bigger than the Pathfinders/Explorers out there. We have 4 kids and bought to pull a trailer, which it does a fine job doing (we have the HEMI). The back seat and rear storage is a bit tight but certainly adeqaute. Mechanically very dependable but some minor quality issues. Lots of vehicle for the money, but don't buy new because of the enormous initial depreciation!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 422 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great ride and hauler,
February 10, 2008
By Geno
from Iola, Ks
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had some problems with the waterproofing of the spark plugs and the coil packs but it was covered by the warranty and efficiently taken care of. Other than that it runs great and has more power than you will ever need. It also hauls a tremendous amount of stuff. The in town gas mileage is not great but if you want a big SUV you know that is part of the package. Also the ride is surprisingly smooth and comfortable at any speed for a big ride like this. I will probably keep this one for a long time."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 423 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love the room,
August 9, 2007
By Sam
from Murphy NC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We bought our Durango in Nov 06 for 12000 under invoice to begin with we really loved it have nad some problems with airbag light ,seat belt covers falling off. oil light not working properly But all in all a great suv OH yeah they really loose value fast we payed 26000 new loaded and now it is worth only 19000.00 with only 18000miles need to concider this if you trade often like we do because now we are kind of stuck for at least three years in it! so plan on keeping it a while! all in all Its a good Suv"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 424 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Still Dodge after all these years,
April 23, 2011
By Chaster
from Bentonville, AR
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"1st was '69 Dart GT in HS. Several since then and have been through ups and downs. My Durango has preformed flawlessly for 7 years now and despite low MPG, it is my vehicle of choice to go shopping, pick-up passengers at local AP, and on occasion long distance where I have achieved 22MPG with a Hemi.
This vehicle is under rated for the quality and reliability it provides. Glad I bought when I did as I no longer need a vehicle like this since mine will last ad infinitem. Just need a small "git around" now."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 425 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great vehicle!!!,
April 11, 2008
By Josh
from St. Albans Maine
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We have owned our Durango for almost a year now and have had absolutely no problems with it. Our service guy at the dealership (separate from the place that we bought it) told us they have very few problems in gerneral with Durangos. Great amount of room for kids, wish it had more room behind backseat. Have AWD model and it goes very well. Getting around 16 mpg which is the same that we got with our smaller Jeep. Overall very impressed with the Durango, would like to see them make one with more cargo room."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 426 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Expensive Vehicle,
August 8, 2007
By Wayne
from tucson,Az
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I like the comfort, the Sound system and the look. The gas milage could be better in SLT 4.7 liter. I would expect 10 mpg. with a Hemi, but not a 4.7. The wind noise while all windows are up is anoing. The vibration a horrible when 1 or 2 of back windows are down. The doors rattle when driving over a bumpy road. It also Stalls when you stop suddenly. The last thing is after 1 yr. of ownership, I went to trade it in on a van for my wife and they told me I could only get $20,000 in trade. I still owe $32,000."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 427 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Extremely Happy!,
February 16, 2010
By IRONDAD4
from Illinois
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I love my 2004 Durango. I bought mine new in '04 and have put 155,000 miles on it so far. The only thing I don't like about it is the lack of storage when the 3rd row is being used. It is easy to get the kids in the back and it's fairly comfortable for adults. Beware of the maintenance cost. I haven't had to do much to mine however, routine maintenance does cost$$$. I was able to get 110K miles on the origional spark plugs but it cost me almost $300.00 to change them. Tires over $200ea. Overall GREAT VEHICLE!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 428 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Just Totaled My 2005 LTD,
January 6, 2009
By Fastline
from wi
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Just Totaled My 2005 LTD fully loaded with a hemi 5.7. I should not have walked away from this accident if you see the outside. I spun out on ice and caught solid ground and rolled it 3-4 times. The roof was crushed in and the sides looked like they were hit with a 10,000 lb bolder 3 or more times. Other than the moon roof blowing up, no other window broke. The inside was a little shorter, but other than that no internal damage. The structure of the vehicle held together, and i know thats how i walked away from it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 429 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Larger SUV,
November 25, 2009
By Cid95
from Knoxville, TN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We have had our 07 Durango for over 2 years and 35k miles. It has not required any service other than standard fluid changes and tire rotation. It is very comfortable, and versatile in its seating configuration. Even with the 3rd seat up, there is decent cargo space behind it (especially compared to Tahoe/Yukon) The power from the 5.7 V8 is excellent. I have no complaints with this vehicle. It replaced an extended length Trailblazer, and there is no comparison. The Dodge is by far the superior vehicle in all aspects."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 430 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Fabulous Overall,
March 6, 2008
By HEMIrocks
from Phx,AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Granted, the "resale" value for the vehicle isn't that great, but the actual "value" is great. Driving a 2007 HEMI 4x4 SLT and the handling, comfort, and power are fantastic. Have 25,000 miles and never seen the dealer for any repairs. When comparing the price tag to other suv's, the Durango is the best value. It's an easy to drive vehicle that can go just about anywhere and do just about anything. The other option is to buy a smaller underpowered better resale value vehicle for the same money. I'll stick with the Durango."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 431 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
EXCELLENT SUV,
November 6, 2007
By BOBO
from Des Moines, IA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is the sixth Dodge truck that my wife and I have purchased---- all of them new. This is the first one that has depreciated so much. That doesn't matter since we love this '06 Limited. Love the HEMI, styling, ride, comfort, and reliability. I will keep this one for a long time if it remains reliable. Can't imagine traveling in anything but this Durango. And for those that complain about the mileage-----what in the heck are you buying a heavy V8 powered SUV for? Go buy some econo box and hope you don't get in an accident."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 432 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my Durango!,
August 3, 2008
By Dodge Durango Fan
from New Castle, Delaware
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I'm a proud owner of a Dodge Durango. I love my car and feel safe driving in it compared to driving smaller cars. If I drive my car when it's cloudy or rainy I know my car will be more noticeable to other drivers because of it's big size and it's flame red color. I'm short so I love the fact that I can raise my seat up to a higher comfort level. It's got plenty of room for passengers and the 2nd & 3rd row seats fold down to make lots of room for cargo space. Try driving a Durango, you'll be surprised at how much you'll love it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 433 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome,
February 24, 2008
By Durango Lover
from Arizona
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Though I wasn't impressed with the gas milage, it is to be expected in any SUV. It rides like a champ and looked great. I bought my 06 Durango (used) with 23K miles for about $19K. I felt very safe with my family. Last month I hit black ice, spun around, off the road, down a ravine, and into a tree, gliding over rocks and stumps all the way down. I totaled the vehicle, but walked away without even a sore neck. Now I'm back in another Durango (07) and still very impressed with its performance. I'll have it for some time to come."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 434 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good SUV,
April 26, 2008
By Ian
from San Diego, CA.
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my Durango Limited with the Hemi engine in 2004. I liked the body style and the fact that it was not as large as the Expedition or Suburbans and it had a unique style. Quality of materials is a little sketchy. Build quality also not up to par. Reliability has been excellent. With a Hemi, gas mileage is not that good and that is to be expected. On a recent trip to Utah, I averaged about 20 miles to the gallon on the interstate with an average speed of 75 mph. A/C works great and the premium sound system is well worth the money."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 435 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Pretty Good,
March 18, 2010
By Candace
from Houston, TX
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"So Far it has been a pretty good truck. First let me say I have over 201,000 miles in this sucker. Ive replaced tires 3 times and I'm good with maintnance. I have only had to have the rear end rebuilt after the first year and this was not covered under warenty, because i missed the dead line by about 100 miles, They said that the problem was from faulty seals (not my fault) other then that it is just a ticking. For the size of truck I average about 21 miles per gallon, Mostly Hwy driving, And I do a lot of it with a 1 hr commute one way."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 436 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2005 Dodge Durango,
November 27, 2009
By lizard
from New Mexico
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This is the best vehicle we have ever owned. The Hemi V8 4wd has all the power we ask for and we tow an 18 ft enclosed trailer in the mountains regularly. The gas mileage is the only drawback to the vehicle, but for daily use I drive 12 miles r/t to work. It COMFORTABLY seats my 6'4 300# husband and all seating for 7 is wonderful (lots of head/leg room). Luxurious/smooth driving. Excellent feeling of space and ample storage when either is needed. We are Devastated the Durango has been discontinued. This would have been my lifelong vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 437 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
not so impressed,
April 3, 2008
By whathappened
from Lubbock
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"we purchased my 05 durango in 06 with 15k miles and loved it at first and then things started to go wrong and breaking, driver side seat started to crack and my cd player quit working right after my warrenty went out and have had alot of problems with the throddle spacer and not to mention the gas mileage isn't that great but considering it is an suv it's not that bad either and compared to the new tahoes and yukons there's tons of cargo room.
I do love my durango but i wished they would have gone alittle better on the quality of the interior.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 438 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great, tough family vehicle.,
February 9, 2012
By gixxermom
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:48000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great in snow, lots of room
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Side to side rocking over bumpy turns.
ReviewOriginationID:5188ecc3-0c30-4144-9eb6-2790e5f9b34d
"This is a great vehicle for the family who doesn't drive in the mini-van lane. We use it to tow quads and motorcycles. Took a vacation with 4 adults and a toddler comfortably. Has a lot of side to side rocking going around a bumpy turn. Gas mileage really isn't bad for the size of the vehicle. It's a tank in the snow(should be for it's weight). Model with chrome trim can really look classy and you don't mind going out to dinner in this SUV. Doesn't deserve the bad wrap some people give them, a second one is a definate possibility in this house."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2007
Review 439 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Love it - some problems,
December 6, 2011
By Rightwingnut
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:120000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very roomy and comfortable, lots of room for cargo
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas efficiency, some mechanical problems
ReviewOriginationID:04e86262-1422-4f33-bb7d-4cc5018e98e3
"We had a few problems with This vehicle over the last few years. We bought it used. It was a program car, so had very low miles. We have driven it cross country several times and it is very comfortable on extended drives. The one major issue we had was that a rivet or bolt came loose inside the engine. It was a major repair, but the mechanic was able to work with Dodge to get it fixed. Overall I have been really pleased with the comfort and drivability. The only thing I would change is the gas consumption, but it is a large SUV. What do you expect?"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2005
Review 440 for 2004 - 2009 Dodge Durango
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great all around vehicle,
August 21, 2014
By rvn69
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:94000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fantastic for towing
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None that I can think of
ReviewOriginationID:0fafa13d1ed9456ebf0a66b915b41dc8
Make:Dodge
Model:Durango
Vehicle ID:347783
"We have used this vehicle to tow our 28' trailer, the Hemi engine package with the factory towing package preforms perfectly. It has a very smooth ride, handles well in snow and wet conditions. Plenty of room inside for 6 people, but will accommodate 7. Fuel consumption while not towing is around 17 to 18 mpg on the highway, city and highway combined is around 13 to 14 mpg. Fuel consumption while towing is 9 to 10 mpg. The only parts I have replaced since owning the vehicle (we bought it used in 2008) is the alternator, shocks and brakes and battery."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2004
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.