Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota

Average Customer Rating:
8.311 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
1,250 of 1,383(90%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Review 301 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One of the best vehicle I have ever owned,
August 27, 2011
By Buscarz
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:82500
What's great about this vehicle?:Drive, dependable,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
"I really like this small truck it has a lot of room is a dream to drive and I have never had any problems. My husband has to use a wheelchair and there is plenty of room for his wheelchair. This truck has a v8 engine which has plenty of getup and go!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2004
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 302 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good vehicle,
August 24, 2011
By Jeremy
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:88000
What's great about this vehicle?:Towing, Easy to maitenence, good 4 wheel drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Fuel economy
"Ive owned this truck for almost 2 years, its been very good to me. Its been amazing off road and the 4wheel drive is very good. Its done pretty well towing in town, will tow a lot for the motor size. The only thing thats been a con so far is the gas, it has decent economy on the highway but not in town. Overall, I would recomend buying this truck if youre looking for a nice pickup."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2002
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 303 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
No Comment!!!,
August 23, 2011
By Andy
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:40300
What's great about this vehicle?:None! I am sorry I wasted my hard earned money.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Its a small truck with a V8 13m/gal. city and highway.
"The worst value for the money! The front brackes both rusted out and failed while in motion. The transmission pan rusted out. All of the seals leaked. Had to replaces the boots. The sound system had blown speakers in less than a year,etc. What this truck has cost me in repairs is close to what I paid for it new. Like I said, it only has 40,300 miles on it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MD
Year 2003
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 304 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Overall a good truck,
August 22, 2011
By Joe
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:137000
"This truck has been great for me. I bought it two years with 107000 miles on it. I've had several minor repairs less than $200. But I have also had two major repairs (fuel pump and A/C evaporator core) that cost about $900 each. Other than those repairs and the less than desirable gas mileage this has been a great truck for me. The four wheel drive works great..got me through several snow storms and many snowy gravel roads while visiting family in Wisconsin."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2000
Review 305 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I Love My Truck! I would buy another just like IT!,
August 21, 2011
By CJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
"I have been four wheeling with it burried in mud and still came out of it, backing up in 4WD low lock. It has over 200,000 miles and I haven't needed much more than an oil change and standard maintenance. I get 22mpg on local mountain roads and stop and go traffic and almost 30 mpg highway on long distance trips. I am fortunate to have a V6 Magnum manual transmission."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2000
Review 306 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my truck!,
August 18, 2011
By MoparMan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:54000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, I never got tired of this truck, I always fall in love with it over again.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Single Cab middle glove box causes me to only be able to seat me and 1 passenger.
"For a "little toy" It has more then enough power to play with the big boys! I've gone through some mud with this thing a couple of times, go through snow past the tires, up the the bumpers, if I get stuck in 4HI, all I gotta do is pop it in 4LO, and it gets right out no trouble. It went through the blizzard's wet snow last winter no problem. My truck is stock, except my tires are wide. Only thing that's not stock is my wider tires. I put my truck through a lot, and I just recently changed the spark plugs and let me tell you. It's like a brand new truck. This truck is amazing. The only thing I don't like about mine is the middle glove box don't give me any room, but I don't really need that much, it's usually just me. AMAZING TRUCK, unless you get a beat up one, then again that's your fault. Just cause it's small don't mean it's underpowered.
Personal opinion don't get a color that's hard to keep clean.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 307 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
LOve it,
August 17, 2011
By ap
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not b4x4
"Great Dependable truck"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2000
Review 308 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliable, great ride, not great gas mileage,
July 10, 2011
By RP
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:109000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very reliable, as much room as full size trucks. More backseat room than some of them.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not great gas mileage, have replace all 4 automatic window motors. Cost over $1K.
"Bought it brand new in 2002. Very reliable vehicle. Only knock I have is I've had to replace all 4 motors for each electric window on the quad cab. Other than that just normal maintenance."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2002
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 309 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bought new,
June 6, 2011
By Balljack
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:90000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive very fast.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:poor mpg.
"This is a great truck never had any thing go wrong with it.Only bad gas mpg. in 5.2
R/T.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1999
Review 310 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good truck,
May 19, 2011
By rob
from chicago
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"never stranded me, cost are normal for wear and tesr"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 311 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
good solid truck,
May 18, 2011
By dodge
from williston nd
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"so far one of the best trucks i have owned. even after i laid it on its side once i got the all the fluids change i started it right up and drove it away"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 312 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
happy camper,
May 10, 2011
By seadog
from Port Charloote,Fl
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"purchased new [2004] good gas mileage v-6 20+ city / 22+ highway.No repair problems.very easy on truck,but it will tow & haul.standard Goodyear tires replaced with better General Grabber tires.Now rides with less noise & handles better.Its a keeper with only 52000 miles on it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 313 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
tank,
May 10, 2011
By jonny
from carthage ,nc
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have a 1997 dakota club cab and it has 242000 miles on it. Still starts every time, runs good, rides good and everything in it still works. last year I PUT OVER 2000 LBS OF VCT TILE IN THE BED!!!! Over 2000 lbs and you could only tell it was loaded back there during braking. this truck is the single strongest , most reliable truck i've ever owned.
3.9 V-6
long bed
long wheel base
the practical mans workhorse of a truck"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 314 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very good/one of the best,
May 4, 2011
By Wentzy
from Hanover,PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned this vehicle for 8+ years and it's one of the best I have ever owned! Shame the V6 don't have much power at the wheels."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 315 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
nice truck,
April 29, 2011
By candie
from Iola Kansas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"it just keeps going and going, just change oil and put new tires on and no problems"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 316 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
April 26, 2011
By Gin Blossom
from Sonoma
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Awesome truck- third one I have owned. Fits the the whole family and has been very reliable. Watch out for exactly the things the year/model warns of, pcm just cost a fortune! Still an amzing truck with lots of power, style, and usefulness. Great for landscapers, moms, and dog owners =). Engine on the V8 is a bit too crazy for the repairs needed- parts difficult to come by inexpensively."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 317 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
April 26, 2011
By Weston
from Kalispell Mt
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"The 3.9 lt v6 is terrible. The truck is too heavy for the tiny engine. That explains why i get awful gas mileage."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 318 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Good all around truck,
April 25, 2011
By Jim
from Omaha, NE
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 98 Dakota new. It has been very dependable and easy to work on. I had to replace a fuel pump which was pricey ($800.oo installed). At 140,000 miles, replaced the Transmission ($1,300.00) for a warranteed remanufactured one + my time to install it. Keep the maintainence up on it and it will go and go. I will probably buy another Dakota V6 Club cab when this one finally wears out. It has 160,000 miles on it now. I figure it should go to 200,000 miles before having to replace it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 319 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great truck, Ok mpg.,
April 23, 2011
By Girthy
from Oak Harbor, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is a great truck. It has been nothing but dependable. 100,000 miles and still running strong. The only issue is gas mileage. I get an average of 15 miles per gallon. 13 mpg on a bad day. In all honesty, if I had to do things over again, I would by a full size P/U beacause the mpg difference is minimal. With gas prices hitting 4 dollars a gallon, You would have to be rich to own this vehicle. 70 dollars a fill up every week hurts the wallet."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 320 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
reliable and functional small truck,
April 22, 2011
By Wanfried
from NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Bought this truck (4.7l, 2WD, V8 Crew cab) in 09 with 140k hwy. mls. locally. Some small things (loor lock, light bulbs, spark plugs...) needed attention. Besides this I had only issus with the hvac system (~$250) and a water leak on the front passagers sides when it rains. Now at 160k the auto tranny sometimees slips a little bit when cold. Compared to the next generation Dakota (we have at work) the ride is even better.
Roomy enought to travel with 4 adults- the luggage though has to go in the bed (underneth a Tonneau cover).
The winter driving need some weight in the bed to enable the rear weels to get the torque on the road.
Concidering it's age it is performing well and way too nice to become a work truck...
I would buy one again.
"
Year 2003