Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota

Average Customer Rating:
8.322 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
1,232 of 1,361(91%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Review 301 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Worst truck ever,
April 16, 2011
By Brokedown
from Hollywood, MD
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I bought this truck about 6 months ago. Had nothing but problems since. so far replaced both front brake calibers, DS window regulator, PS window switch, and to had the keyless entry reprogramed. The dealer claimed to have replaced the cluster wiring and some type of body control module before i bought the truck. As of right now the truck has no power once so ever, the motor feels flat. Transmission feels like it is sliping which i heard is a problem and it sticks in 3rd gear every once in a while. Over all very unhappy with this truck"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 302 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Keep it but I got another SUV,
April 7, 2011
By Bert
from Cathedral City, CA.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Good Performance specially long distance driving with 2000 lbs towing package, less gas consumption with Magnum Engine"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 303 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Great truck!,
March 30, 2011
By Zicka
from Baltimore, MD
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought her with 14K on the Odo. This truck has worn many hats for me and never complained. I've moved numerous friends, myself and my now wife too many times to count. Hauled 1100lbs of broken up concrete, mulch and big boxes with no trouble. Trailered a fully packed full size U-haul trailer 750 miles with no issues. Take it out on the beach to fish. Used it as a daily driver. This truck is the perfect size for those who don't ALWAYS need a truck but often find themself wanting one around in certain situations. The V8 is gutsy and quick and the ride is pretty composed for a truck. The interior has maintained itself pretty well over its 10 years. I will drive this truck until it either start to nickel and dime me to death or the doors rust off. Great lil truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 304 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
March 27, 2011
By patches
from minn
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"poor vehicle very poor tranny went out within 2 weeks! water pump next. blew a spring 6 months.
later air cond went to out in 8 months,
nightmare of a truck.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 305 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this truck - reliable, versatile,
March 24, 2011
By txdodgefan
from Texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We bought this truck new from the dealer and I'm still in love with it! We added camper shell, which has been invaluable. We have to haul merchandise, landscaping and household supplies, groceries, animals, you name it. There's always plenty of room in the bed for the stuff we need to haul and room for passengers and crated critters in the back seat. The Dakota is comfortable for long distance driving. We've had no major mechanical problems, but we've kept up on oil changes and routine maintenance. My husband asked me recently what car I would want if I could buy one right now. I told him I would prefer to keep my Dakota!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 306 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great little truck,
March 18, 2011
By crapshooter
from Wilmington, NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Purchased this little jewel new with the idea of having a "tow vehicle" if I needed to transport any of my cars - I just haven't gotten around to putting a trailer hitch on it yet. I like the size, it's easy to park and manuver around, fairly economical, gets 21 (+or-) mpg. Wife drives it 90% of the time, I think it's become hers."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 307 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Junk,
March 14, 2011
By Waynen
from Nevada
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
"Worst truck I ever owned. It wouldnt let me select 0 stars."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 308 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Truck In Its Class,
March 12, 2011
By Jo-D'n
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"If you're looking for a midsize truck that gets good gas mileage yet still has the power to tow and has the horsepower to race if you wanted to, this truck is it. Mine personally is under one ton, yet has 175 HP, which gives it quite a bit of zip. And get this, after ten years and 130,000+ miles, it still gets 22.5 MPG on the highway! Awesome!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 309 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
forget a sports car,
March 4, 2011
By twpage99
from Lynchburg, Va
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"for a truck this thing handles the road with no problem with loads of torque you can spin the tire on the drop of a dime. I love mine and hope i don't ever have to sell her."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 310 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great Mid size truck,
March 4, 2011
By Stratsman
from Manning, SC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have a 2000 black club cab SLT. Bought it in 2003 from a dealer. As of today I have just over 80,000 miles on it. Haven't had many problems with it. I've replaced the battery once.
Had to recharge the AC twice. Had to get the drivers side window put back in the trac, but that was partially my fault. The belt is due to be replaced soon.The headliner needs to be re glued near the rear window. All in all it's been a good truck. It has made a weird noise in the rear end when turning while backing but it's done that since I bought it. My next truck will be the 4 door v8 4wd Dakota.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 311 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good Truck,
March 3, 2011
By N8
from Texas
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I got this truck because of the motor it had in and the fact that they are no longer made. I really like slight lowering package with the 17" wheels and 360 motor how can you go wrong? I have owned for the last 30,000 miles and had to replace water pump and get the oil pan fitted with a new gasket other than that all has been good, Love it and will never sell or trade"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 312 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
February 28, 2011
By towbrat1
from rhode island
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"good running truck, needs little tlc, done some work on this truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 313 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
My truck,
February 25, 2011
By dakota boy 92
from Indiana
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"it's a sweet truck, mine looks like it's lifted it can go off road and hang in there with the big boys. It's a v6 never had any problems with it. Only think I don't like about my truck is it's a 2 seater but thats okay I don't have to give everyone a ride."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 314 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
February 24, 2011
By bob
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Its a great mid-sized truck. Gas mileage is poor, but that is expected from a mid-sized truck that'll tow 6500 lbs. I've owned mine since it had 80K miles on it... and just in the last 20 K has it needed any significant work (rack and pinion and balljoints/tie rod ends)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 315 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
well worth the money,
February 18, 2011
By whitey
from Harrisburg,pa
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought the truck used for $5,000 and that was nine years ago. I got my money out of this vehicle. It is now rusting out a little, but the vehicle is 13 years old and I never did anything to it except general maintenance."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 316 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
February 9, 2011
By denny
from NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Great truck, does everything I need it to do. I have the V6, but wish I had a V8."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 317 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
wonderful truck,
February 7, 2011
By T-Bone
from Duncan, SC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"mid-size is perfect for me. roomy inside, but not too big outside. I have 4.7 V8, lots of power! rides very smooth. Great truck!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 318 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very reliable,
February 5, 2011
By Moffy
from Ashland, Ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this truck brand new and have had it for 12 years and over 222,000 miles. This truck has been extremely reliable for me. With regular oil and filter changes (every 3,000 miles) this truck will last you a long time. A common problem with these is the intake manifold pan gasket leaking. Mine was using oil (about 1.5 qt every 3,000 miles) but not smoking or leaking and this gasket was the culprit. The stock ball joints only lasted about 90,000 miles with mostly highway driving. Another problem with mine was the throttle position sensor. It seemed that the transmission was occasionally slipping in overdrive, but it turned out to be this sensor which was only about $25 (much cheaper than a rebuilt transmission)."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 319 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
does the job,
February 4, 2011
By Cork-y
from Redding, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought one of these in 2003. It was a great truck for a long time untill I had a family, then we just out grew it. I realy enjoyed having the truck but the back seat was only good for holding the clutter, it was just to small."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 320 for 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
has some issues but great truck,
February 2, 2011
By nj
from nj
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i have owned my truck since 2000 and it is a realy reliable truck. the paint is realy bad looking because the clear coat flicked off. headlights are yellow now. had to replace trans once and it needs a new one again at 150000. engine is very strong and starts up every time. even with a bum trans in it i trust it more than any other vehicle. gas milage isnt good at all in the v8 4x4. keep up with the oil changes it will run forever...cant say the same about the trans though"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more