Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota

Average Customer Rating:
8.305 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
319 of 341(94%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Review 81 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Project well worth it,
September 5, 2010
By 92projecttruck
from Lakeland, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"When i bought this truck, she was dead red, runnin on four bald tires, and smokin like a train outta the wild west. She was "born" with a v6, which had a minor crack, no biggie, we just rebuilt another 3.9 and gave her some new paint, tires, and open exhaust. I use her as a daily to and from school on the interstate daily, the v6 ran great, and it tore some locals a new one at each red light, however, not much is made for v6 engines, so i naturally upgraded, got a donor truck and pulled the engine, harness, and computer, after a total rebuild, a .030 bore, and a crane competition cam later, i was "encouraged" to deepen the monsters voice. this little beast has swallowed 5 mustangs, 2 altimas, some mazdas, and a handful of ford trucks. I only have one complaint, my sound system hogs the back seat so she is just a two seater, not much of a friend hauler. But a burnout beast... yes."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
August 18, 2010
By Tiger
from Dothan, AL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I have a 1995 Dakota with 179000 miles, and the only problem I have had is the a/c compressor went out. The paint looks rough but overall the truck still runs like it did in 95. It has taken alot of abuse in its lifetime but still runs."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
MOST RELIABLE VEHICLE OWNED,
August 9, 2010
By 1GOODTECH
from Akron, Ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"The Dodge dakota is an unbelieveable truck.It handles like a car but is strong like a half ton truck.There are no known weak points and it is extremely reliable. This is a vehicle you can't possibly go wrong with.One can work out of this vehicle, go home and wash it up, and then go out on the town! Most people know the worth of this truck and you will have no trouble selling it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 84 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Reliable 4x4 truck,
August 3, 2010
By shandon
from San Fransisco bay area
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"It's pretty nice 4x4 truck. It's got a mean v8 engine and I like the king cab with the seats in the back. Mine has a custom camper shell and custom bench that can easy take out with the bedliner. The biggest draw back for me is really the miles per gallon of gas at less than 10 miles but as with all older big engine trucks thats what it is. I dont use it for hauling or work just my primary vehicle although it can be used just for that as well."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 85 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great work truck,
July 24, 2010
By big j
from lansing my
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"awesome truck for work, real seal leaks, but it isn't bad after it gets about a quart low, takes alot of abuse
GrEAt
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 86 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great Dodge pickup,
July 18, 2010
By Don't have one
from Iowa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I only have 105,000 miles on my Dakota but I couldn't expect anything more from a vehicle. it's been low maintenance and very reliable."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 87 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Solid truck, great performance.,
June 24, 2010
By Carpy
from Wapello,Iowa
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I had not thought about dodge pickups before, but now after owning one I wouldn't have any other. Great quality and performance. Thank-you DODGE!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 88 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good Overall Vehicle,
June 21, 2010
By Joe
from Alabama
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"1995 Dodge Dakota Sport regular cab 175000 miles and still running good. 2 mechanical problems: Trans Fluid leak, rear differential leak. fixed both and now good."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 89 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
great everything vehicle,
June 20, 2010
By larryzdude
from missouri
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"it's good for family truck, mpg truck, farm truck, sport-like truck, and offroad truck"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 90 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Solid mid-sized Truck,
June 7, 2010
By Liddyb
from Sacramento, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I got my 1993 Dodge Dakota when I first got my driver's license and 17 years later it still runs great. The paint started flaking off after a decade, but mechanically it has been a sound vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Dam good truck,
May 22, 2010
By Billy D
from Jackson, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"This was my 4th vehicle i have ever owned and by far the best one i have ever owned. It has out lasted both my parents trucks and is still running like a champ. Dodge you have my support."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 92 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
owned since 1994,
May 19, 2010
By the wook wagon
from mammoth lakes, ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"had this truck from day 1 off the lot! running 290,000 + miles and still going strong. i have had this truck stuck doors deep in mud and driven from san diego to whistler canada. has never let me down other than cooling issues which a radiator swap fixed.
Great truck!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 93 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
May 16, 2010
By LITTLE JR
from SPRING MILLS, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"WE BOUGHT OUR LIL DODGE DAKOTA WHEN IT ONLY HAD 100K ON IT AND I WAS 14. EVEN THEN IT RAN AWSOME. WE HAULED METAL, CARS, TRAILERS, WE EVEN PULLED TRUCKS OUT OF DITCHES, BANKS WITH IT. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TRUCK BECAUSE NOW IT HAS OVER 250,000 MILES AND STILL HAS 99% OF THE ORIGINAL PARTS ON IT . AND WITH THE DRIVETRAIN STILL ORIGINAL IT WOULD STILL OUTPULL, OUT RUN, AND CAN TAKE ANYTHING EVEN I THROUGH AT IT. FOR ME BEING A FIRST TIME DRIVER AND MY SISTER ALSO DRIVING IT, ITS THE BEST TRUCK I AND U WILL OWN"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Right size,
May 14, 2010
By dave
from Va beach Va
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"A true mid-sized pickup...
Never a major issue. Have had the truck for 20 years and I beat the daylights out of it almost daily. It just keeps on going and going.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great little truck,
April 27, 2010
By HummaHah
from Manassas, VA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my 1993 in 1996, and it is still going strong in 2010. The paint deteriorated, but a Maaco job returned it to looking good. I perfer the classic lines on this truck to the newer "lumpy" models. Hardly anything ever goes wrong on it. One electrical short some years ago, and the head liner now sags, otherwise it just keeps running like the day I bought it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
I Love This Truck,
March 31, 2010
By Brad
from Baytown, Tx
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"1992 Dakota 2wd 5.2l V8 ive owned this truck for 4 years and havent had to hardly put any money into it except for a couple months ago i had to put a new transmission in it but other than that ive had no problems out of it. It also has 208000 miles on it and still runs like a champ"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
March 25, 2010
By pickupguy
from monroe, michigan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i have a 91 dakota with a 3.9 5speed 2wd. its a great little truck. performance was lacking untill i did quite a bit to get more power, but i got what i was after, in doing so i lost A LOT of mpg. the paint chips and flakes on these truck very badley, the fenders rust out like you wouldnt believe, if ur in the market to buy one take your hand and put it up inside of all the fenders by the outside of the body on the back side of the trim of the truck. most of these trucks look good and if they dont have rust there someone took extremley good care of the truck. i bought my truck with just over 200k miles on it heasitantley, because i needed a truck right then and funds were low, little did i know i was buying one of the best trucks ive ever had, it now has over 300k miles and still runs strong without any engine or trans rebuilds."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 98 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
March 23, 2010
By afmazerba
from Bloomington, MN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned my 5.2L Dakota for going on 5 years now and i absolutely love it! I have tuned the engine so i get around 350 HP out of it and it moves like no other on the highway. i would recommend this to any truck enthusiast because dodge was on crack when they put a 5.2L V8 in that Dakota"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 99 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Dodge Dakota Sport V.6L 4X4,
February 13, 2010
By Ranchhand
from Monte Vista, Colorado
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I love this truck has a 3in lift and sits on 235 M/T. This truck can get me any where it may not have the power of the 5.9L but it can get me anywhere, surley but slowly. I love my truck I get 17mpg in the City and 20-24 on the highway, depends if im floorin it everywhere, or if im tryin to beat the chevy off the line. But this truck has 196XXX and I bought it with 191XXX wihtout worries, just taker care of her and she'll do the same for you."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 100 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Still Running Great,
January 30, 2010
By Mopar-in
from Madison, WI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I've owned this truck for 10+ yrs, 5.2 V8, 4x4. Bought w/ 60K, now at 150K and still running strong. Had the transmission re-built at 110K, possibly for the second time. Have kept up on replacing worn out parts but for a 17 year old truck nothing you shouldn't expect. Paint peeling off in big chunks but engine & drivetrain are bulletproof. Only gets 10 mpg in town but still 18-20 on highway tanks. Thought about trading it in on the "cash for clunkers" but couldn't bear the thought of sending it to the crusher."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.