Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota

Average Customer Rating:
8.32 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
325 of 347(94%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Review 81 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good dependable truck,
November 1, 2010
By owner1
from Coffeyville, KS
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We bought the truck new in 1994. It has always ran well and never broke down. The only negative is the turning radius. Other than that can't complain. Has been a daily driver and we just maintained it. No major repairs have been needed in 152000 miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great pickup,
September 24, 2010
By Topdolla
from Cornelius
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my Dakota a couple of years ago from its original owner who must of baby this truck because with nearly 120k on it it look almost like new. I have since put 30k more miles on it and this thing starts and runs wonderfully. I had to replace the master cylinder but those things wear out normally the other thing that I had done was replaced the turn signal switch but that was my fault because my trail light plug was touching my bumper and shorting it so again it a gad and go oh and oil change type truck. Now it does lumber about a little but its a truck and not a sports car, very functional"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Most reliable truck for your dollar,
September 22, 2010
By 93 4x4
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Cant break them, extremly fast, lots of power, go anywhere"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 84 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
awesome,
September 15, 2010
By Italian Stallion
from norwalk, CT.
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"bought it NEW on SEPTEMBER 11, 1992
for 11k.
started STALLING 2/2010
can NOT find cause !!!!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Overall good truck,
September 9, 2010
By jg2172
from Arlington, TX
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"these trucks are great trucks. General mechanical issues over the years. Dokotas generally have some sort of transmission issue when in the high milage due to that Overdrive feature on the automatic transmission. Some are also known for minor electrical issues. But the engines are solid. Its the dodge 318 block essentially just missing 2cyl to make it the v6. So a very goo work truck"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
like a best friend,
September 6, 2010
By walt
from Eugene, oregon
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought it new and drove it for everything. never had any problem except pealing paint, which seemed to be a common problem. ride was comfortable, handled good both on road and off, althogh I never did any serious off road playing."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 87 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Project well worth it,
September 5, 2010
By 92projecttruck
from Lakeland, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"When i bought this truck, she was dead red, runnin on four bald tires, and smokin like a train outta the wild west. She was "born" with a v6, which had a minor crack, no biggie, we just rebuilt another 3.9 and gave her some new paint, tires, and open exhaust. I use her as a daily to and from school on the interstate daily, the v6 ran great, and it tore some locals a new one at each red light, however, not much is made for v6 engines, so i naturally upgraded, got a donor truck and pulled the engine, harness, and computer, after a total rebuild, a .030 bore, and a crane competition cam later, i was "encouraged" to deepen the monsters voice. this little beast has swallowed 5 mustangs, 2 altimas, some mazdas, and a handful of ford trucks. I only have one complaint, my sound system hogs the back seat so she is just a two seater, not much of a friend hauler. But a burnout beast... yes."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
August 18, 2010
By Tiger
from Dothan, AL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I have a 1995 Dakota with 179000 miles, and the only problem I have had is the a/c compressor went out. The paint looks rough but overall the truck still runs like it did in 95. It has taken alot of abuse in its lifetime but still runs."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 89 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
MOST RELIABLE VEHICLE OWNED,
August 9, 2010
By 1GOODTECH
from Akron, Ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"The Dodge dakota is an unbelieveable truck.It handles like a car but is strong like a half ton truck.There are no known weak points and it is extremely reliable. This is a vehicle you can't possibly go wrong with.One can work out of this vehicle, go home and wash it up, and then go out on the town! Most people know the worth of this truck and you will have no trouble selling it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 90 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Reliable 4x4 truck,
August 3, 2010
By shandon
from San Fransisco bay area
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"It's pretty nice 4x4 truck. It's got a mean v8 engine and I like the king cab with the seats in the back. Mine has a custom camper shell and custom bench that can easy take out with the bedliner. The biggest draw back for me is really the miles per gallon of gas at less than 10 miles but as with all older big engine trucks thats what it is. I dont use it for hauling or work just my primary vehicle although it can be used just for that as well."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 91 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great work truck,
July 24, 2010
By big j
from lansing my
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"awesome truck for work, real seal leaks, but it isn't bad after it gets about a quart low, takes alot of abuse
GrEAt
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 92 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great Dodge pickup,
July 18, 2010
By Don't have one
from Iowa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I only have 105,000 miles on my Dakota but I couldn't expect anything more from a vehicle. it's been low maintenance and very reliable."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 93 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Solid truck, great performance.,
June 24, 2010
By Carpy
from Wapello,Iowa
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I had not thought about dodge pickups before, but now after owning one I wouldn't have any other. Great quality and performance. Thank-you DODGE!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 94 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good Overall Vehicle,
June 21, 2010
By Joe
from Alabama
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"1995 Dodge Dakota Sport regular cab 175000 miles and still running good. 2 mechanical problems: Trans Fluid leak, rear differential leak. fixed both and now good."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
great everything vehicle,
June 20, 2010
By larryzdude
from missouri
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"it's good for family truck, mpg truck, farm truck, sport-like truck, and offroad truck"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 96 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Solid mid-sized Truck,
June 7, 2010
By Liddyb
from Sacramento, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I got my 1993 Dodge Dakota when I first got my driver's license and 17 years later it still runs great. The paint started flaking off after a decade, but mechanically it has been a sound vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Dam good truck,
May 22, 2010
By Billy D
from Jackson, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"This was my 4th vehicle i have ever owned and by far the best one i have ever owned. It has out lasted both my parents trucks and is still running like a champ. Dodge you have my support."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 98 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
owned since 1994,
May 19, 2010
By the wook wagon
from mammoth lakes, ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"had this truck from day 1 off the lot! running 290,000 + miles and still going strong. i have had this truck stuck doors deep in mud and driven from san diego to whistler canada. has never let me down other than cooling issues which a radiator swap fixed.
Great truck!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 99 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
May 16, 2010
By LITTLE JR
from SPRING MILLS, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"WE BOUGHT OUR LIL DODGE DAKOTA WHEN IT ONLY HAD 100K ON IT AND I WAS 14. EVEN THEN IT RAN AWSOME. WE HAULED METAL, CARS, TRAILERS, WE EVEN PULLED TRUCKS OUT OF DITCHES, BANKS WITH IT. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TRUCK BECAUSE NOW IT HAS OVER 250,000 MILES AND STILL HAS 99% OF THE ORIGINAL PARTS ON IT . AND WITH THE DRIVETRAIN STILL ORIGINAL IT WOULD STILL OUTPULL, OUT RUN, AND CAN TAKE ANYTHING EVEN I THROUGH AT IT. FOR ME BEING A FIRST TIME DRIVER AND MY SISTER ALSO DRIVING IT, ITS THE BEST TRUCK I AND U WILL OWN"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 100 for 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Right size,
May 14, 2010
By dave
from Va beach Va
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"A true mid-sized pickup...
Never a major issue. Have had the truck for 20 years and I beat the daylights out of it almost daily. It just keeps on going and going.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.