Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad

Average Customer Rating:
7.509 out of 10
7.5
 out of 
10
88 of 118(75%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Review 21 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
what can I say???,
January 6, 2012
By firethatwalks
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:156000
What's great about this vehicle?:Super fast....
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Back seat kinda of small...
ReviewOriginationID:cd7a7577-af4c-45d8-a239-0ba56677b6a8
"This is an awesome car! You get what you pay for... This car rocks!... Top speed in the USA is 130mph.. I have had it to 131mph in Yukon Territory, Canada.... Wuf!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AK
Year 2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Nice Ride but lots of costly repairs,
December 31, 2011
By DPM
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Not At All
4
Definitely
Approximate mileage:67000
What's great about this vehicle?:Powerful V8
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Costly repairs, air ride suspension issues
ReviewOriginationID:6946d4fe-0e6d-4c27-861e-9b1023599214
"bought this one owner Allroad from an older couple who had all scheduled maintenance completed at the dealer they purchased it from. Within the first 1000 miles if replace the following: crank position sensor ($1000), valve cover gaskets ($450), upper control arms on passenger side ($650), transmission/propeller shaft seal.
I put $3k into repairs before I even made my first payment.
Doesn't have the ride quality or handling of an A6, but it I like the power in the 4.2 V8. I've owned lots of Audis, but I won't be buying another used allroad.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2004
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Awesome driver's car !,
December 17, 2011
By euromarine
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:145000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great car to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Very expensive in maintenance and repair
ReviewOriginationID:58787950-f402-4d70-9457-1cc30a78a229
"When the car is older than 5 years is becomes less reliable, and repairs are very expensive."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location RI
Year 2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Solid vehicle with nice features,
December 14, 2011
By Sloop
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:120000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great performance and nice ride
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not fuel efficient
ReviewOriginationID:139189ad-348a-478a-9c34-0363bda24d04
"With the exception of the air suspension and leaking turbo seals this is a great car. I did the coil overs to avoid the high cost of air suspension repairs. My son is a mechanic and therefore I avoid the high labor costs from a dealer or other shop. Parts are not cheap."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2001
Review 25 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Still feels new every time I drive it.,
December 10, 2011
By Chas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:150000
What's great about this vehicle?:Timeless styling, high quality materials
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Maintenance is costly
ReviewOriginationID:c290604d-1111-489f-9c7d-b7e4e89a89db
"This is proabably the most satisfying automobile I have ever owned. The styling has proven timeless and I continually have people express surprise that it is 10 years old. The fit and finish is superb and the luxury amenities are awesome. It is well thought out, from the lighted door handles and controls to the heated rear seats and rear window shade. Everything has been thought of in this vehicle. I find it feels new every time I get in it and take a drive. The performance is plenty good for me and seems to impress my passengers when the turbo kicks in. Just an extremely satisfying car. I wish they still made it here in the states as I would buy another."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Nothing but a money pit,
November 4, 2011
By Penny
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:139000
What's great about this vehicle?:Excelleration, comfort, great in the snow
What's not so great about this vehicle?:repairs are so expensive.
ReviewOriginationID:c3216756-e9e1-4092-aec0-19577e48a210
"I used to love my Audi. I know officially hate it!!!! I will never buy another Audi as long as I live. This car has nickle and dimed me to death. Whenever anything goes wrong it costs a fortune for the labor. The O-ring will cost you $50, but the labor, well that'll cost you $1,600.00 - The labor is unbelievable. Not to mention a battery is $150.00 - This car is a piece of German engineering at it's worst!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2004
9 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2005 Audi Allroad 2.7 w/ nav,
September 28, 2011
By mickey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:0
What's great about this vehicle?:great car... lots of power and can go anywhere with 4 level suspension. Comfort A
What's not so great about this vehicle?:expensive front end cost...bought new at 55k.
"I have owned this car for 5 1/2 years. It is the best car I have owned in this category. We go skiing all winter and hiking and camping in the summer. This car has the power to pass any vehicle on long road trips... it handles excellent in snow, great heated seat feature...warm and cozy. I have had great experience with all maintaince and reparis... car came with full factory warranty and then i bought an extended warranty...only had to use it for air suspension...car has treated me well...I am sad that they stopped bringing it to the usa... would buy another one."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2005
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Fun money pit,
April 30, 2011
By Someroads
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Fun, capable car with great interior. Terrible reliability and expensive to maintain."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Great handling car, but not very reliable,
April 24, 2011
By Hemlock
from NY
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Owned two of these, had a 2001 that got totaled in an accident, not my fault, but still, everyone in the car was safe, car got hit by a ConEd (Gas company) truck while I was sitting in it and i was barely shaken, even though the car was destroyed.
Bought a 2002 within a week of the accident, which was in 2005, within two years the transmission disintegrated, one of the turbo chargers blew up and the air suspension started acting crazy. Unfortunately the turbo died a week after the warranty had expired, I found a local VW/Audi shop to do the repair, but it was still way too expensive.
Those were the main troubles but over the 3 years there were many trips to the mechanic. Various sensors would go bad etc.
I did love the car though, as everyone else said, fun to drive, better in snow than my Explorer, everyone loved how comfortable it was, esp the front and rear heated seats.
Traded the car in for a 2008 STI and 5 days after the trade the subaru dealer called and asked me if there was a secret to starting the car since the mechanics couldn't get it started, turns out the starter had died...."
Year 2002
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great winter car!,
April 5, 2011
By penelope52
from Northern Wisconsin
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Drove this car for 6 yrs and grew to love it more with time. It handles like a sports car but plows trough deep Wisconsin snow with ease. I never had this car stuck in the snow. After 111K miles everything still works and it runs like new!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
love my allroad,
January 19, 2011
By momof2
from IN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Bought this car mildly used 5 years ago and there is not a finer cross over around. Comfortable, capable, and classy. Yes, the air bag suspension needed to be fixed once, but well worth it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Love Hate Relationship,
October 26, 2010
By Frank The Tank
from WA
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I love this car for so many reasons, but I hate it for its horrible reliability.
The interior and exterior fit and finish is outstanding. My allroad is nearly 10 years old and it still looks like it came off the showroom floor. The cockpit was well designed and the extra well planned accessories were cutting edge at the time. Performance for a sports wagon is excellent. I am cutting this way short because there are too many good things to list. The meat is below...
The downside is the pneumatic suspension bags get holes frequently and it costs $1100 every time it happpens. The brakes always involve new rotors + pads. My transmission is going out after only 95,000 miles. The dual catalytic converters are going out too. Many electronic sensors need to be replaced and the car won't pass emissions as a result. It's a nightmare. If you buy this car, say goodbye to an early retirement."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliable performance car,
October 5, 2010
By Irishtarheel
from Chapel Hill, NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We own the 2004 3.0 Quattro wagon. It handles like a dream sportscar and has been very reliable, only heading in to the dealer for its routine maintenance for 6 years. It's comfortable, but the fit and finish, although attractive, is pretty stark. Everything on the dash is easy and quick to use; makes sense. Only wish that Audi had made it a little more plush. But all other more important features outweigh this aspect. Overall, a great practical performance car with terrific agility and safety."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 34 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Money pit,
August 25, 2010
By Kevin
from Reno, NV
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"This is an awesome car until it breaks down an you. And it will. You'll learn words like torque clutch converter, air bladder suspension system, and serpentine belt and learn to hold onto your wallet.
When the torque converter clutch failed - a part that I've read Audi went cheap on when designing the transmission - I had to get a new transmission. That was $6,000.
When the first air bladder went out on the front end, I replaced it for $3,000. Then it happened again, so I replaced the whole suspension for $3,500.
I've had the car for three years. Bought it for less than $15,000 and put at least that much back into it for repairs.
Beware the Audi Allroad. It's performance will grab you; the repairs will shake you."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bring the Allroad back!,
August 18, 2010
By Idua
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Probably the finest sport wagon ever produced! Audi, please bring this amazing vehicle back to the US and keep the Q5...the Allroad is hands down superior in every way!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2001 Audi allroad wagon,
August 13, 2010
By Jeanie
from Maine
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought used at 73,000 for $13,000 have put at least 7K$ in it, figured so far in 48 months cost me 400/month to drive. Snow conditions this is tops, turbo on a 2 lane route tops for passing old farts, but reliability yikesssss. Lucky to have audi mechanic with own business the dealer was killing me with repairs. I wouldn't have bought this car if I knew what I was going to have to pay to fix-suspensions air system is really costly. Too many repairs to list."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Vehicle,
July 13, 2010
By Izz Kube
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Other than normal wear and tear of the tires, this has been a wonderful car to drive."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 38 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
June 25, 2010
By J
from Anchorage, AK
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Perfect for all-season and all around Alaska driving"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 39 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Car,
June 21, 2010
By Edolink
from NEW MEXIXO
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This is a follow up from the person who bought the Audi and had to have the front end fix. This car is PERCECT in every way. If you follow the MAINTANANCE SCHDULE religiously you will have NO PROBLEMS at all. When I bought this car it had 80,000 miles on it. It now has 199,000 miles on it and in still PERFECT CONDITION. Runs perfect, perfect condition inside and out.
If you follow the maintenance plan, you will have very little cost to take care of the Audi AllRoad, I learned very fast to stay away from the Dealership, they are expensive and the one in this state are crooks, and will take you to the cleaners, returns the car dirty, do not return phone calls, all they care about is how much they can screw you out of your money, and if you complain they tell you to go somewhere else if you do not like it, so I found a great Mechanic who has treated my car well.
Maybe I just got one that was built on a day where employees where in a good mood, but I have had NONE OF THE PROBLEMS that some owners have discussed. Gas mileage is unacceptable in town, about 15-17 when I bought it, and still around 15 in town with all these miles on it. On the FREEWAY I am averaging between 28 - 31 MPG . WHich I was suprised for the weight of this car. I reccommed this car to anyone, and would reccommend this car to people who likes luxury that stays in style."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
a really nice car to go camping,
April 23, 2010
By vic
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"good fort a trip to nh,ny and much more small but strong a good car for familes"
How long have you owned this vehicle? I don't own this vehicle
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.