Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad

Average Customer Rating:
7.441 out of 10
7.4
 out of 
10
82 of 111(74%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Review 21 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Fun money pit,
April 30, 2011
By Someroads
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Fun, capable car with great interior. Terrible reliability and expensive to maintain."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Great handling car, but not very reliable,
April 24, 2011
By Hemlock
from NY
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Owned two of these, had a 2001 that got totaled in an accident, not my fault, but still, everyone in the car was safe, car got hit by a ConEd (Gas company) truck while I was sitting in it and i was barely shaken, even though the car was destroyed.
Bought a 2002 within a week of the accident, which was in 2005, within two years the transmission disintegrated, one of the turbo chargers blew up and the air suspension started acting crazy. Unfortunately the turbo died a week after the warranty had expired, I found a local VW/Audi shop to do the repair, but it was still way too expensive.
Those were the main troubles but over the 3 years there were many trips to the mechanic. Various sensors would go bad etc.
I did love the car though, as everyone else said, fun to drive, better in snow than my Explorer, everyone loved how comfortable it was, esp the front and rear heated seats.
Traded the car in for a 2008 STI and 5 days after the trade the subaru dealer called and asked me if there was a secret to starting the car since the mechanics couldn't get it started, turns out the starter had died...."
Year 2002
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great winter car!,
April 5, 2011
By penelope52
from Northern Wisconsin
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Drove this car for 6 yrs and grew to love it more with time. It handles like a sports car but plows trough deep Wisconsin snow with ease. I never had this car stuck in the snow. After 111K miles everything still works and it runs like new!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
love my allroad,
January 19, 2011
By momof2
from IN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Bought this car mildly used 5 years ago and there is not a finer cross over around. Comfortable, capable, and classy. Yes, the air bag suspension needed to be fixed once, but well worth it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Love Hate Relationship,
October 26, 2010
By Frank The Tank
from WA
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I love this car for so many reasons, but I hate it for its horrible reliability.
The interior and exterior fit and finish is outstanding. My allroad is nearly 10 years old and it still looks like it came off the showroom floor. The cockpit was well designed and the extra well planned accessories were cutting edge at the time. Performance for a sports wagon is excellent. I am cutting this way short because there are too many good things to list. The meat is below...
The downside is the pneumatic suspension bags get holes frequently and it costs $1100 every time it happpens. The brakes always involve new rotors + pads. My transmission is going out after only 95,000 miles. The dual catalytic converters are going out too. Many electronic sensors need to be replaced and the car won't pass emissions as a result. It's a nightmare. If you buy this car, say goodbye to an early retirement."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliable performance car,
October 5, 2010
By Irishtarheel
from Chapel Hill, NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We own the 2004 3.0 Quattro wagon. It handles like a dream sportscar and has been very reliable, only heading in to the dealer for its routine maintenance for 6 years. It's comfortable, but the fit and finish, although attractive, is pretty stark. Everything on the dash is easy and quick to use; makes sense. Only wish that Audi had made it a little more plush. But all other more important features outweigh this aspect. Overall, a great practical performance car with terrific agility and safety."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 27 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Money pit,
August 25, 2010
By Kevin
from Reno, NV
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"This is an awesome car until it breaks down an you. And it will. You'll learn words like torque clutch converter, air bladder suspension system, and serpentine belt and learn to hold onto your wallet.
When the torque converter clutch failed - a part that I've read Audi went cheap on when designing the transmission - I had to get a new transmission. That was $6,000.
When the first air bladder went out on the front end, I replaced it for $3,000. Then it happened again, so I replaced the whole suspension for $3,500.
I've had the car for three years. Bought it for less than $15,000 and put at least that much back into it for repairs.
Beware the Audi Allroad. It's performance will grab you; the repairs will shake you."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bring the Allroad back!,
August 18, 2010
By Idua
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Probably the finest sport wagon ever produced! Audi, please bring this amazing vehicle back to the US and keep the Q5...the Allroad is hands down superior in every way!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2001 Audi allroad wagon,
August 13, 2010
By Jeanie
from Maine
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought used at 73,000 for $13,000 have put at least 7K$ in it, figured so far in 48 months cost me 400/month to drive. Snow conditions this is tops, turbo on a 2 lane route tops for passing old farts, but reliability yikesssss. Lucky to have audi mechanic with own business the dealer was killing me with repairs. I wouldn't have bought this car if I knew what I was going to have to pay to fix-suspensions air system is really costly. Too many repairs to list."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Vehicle,
July 13, 2010
By Izz Kube
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Other than normal wear and tear of the tires, this has been a wonderful car to drive."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 31 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
June 25, 2010
By J
from Anchorage, AK
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Perfect for all-season and all around Alaska driving"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 32 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Car,
June 21, 2010
By Edolink
from NEW MEXIXO
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This is a follow up from the person who bought the Audi and had to have the front end fix. This car is PERCECT in every way. If you follow the MAINTANANCE SCHDULE religiously you will have NO PROBLEMS at all. When I bought this car it had 80,000 miles on it. It now has 199,000 miles on it and in still PERFECT CONDITION. Runs perfect, perfect condition inside and out.
If you follow the maintenance plan, you will have very little cost to take care of the Audi AllRoad, I learned very fast to stay away from the Dealership, they are expensive and the one in this state are crooks, and will take you to the cleaners, returns the car dirty, do not return phone calls, all they care about is how much they can screw you out of your money, and if you complain they tell you to go somewhere else if you do not like it, so I found a great Mechanic who has treated my car well.
Maybe I just got one that was built on a day where employees where in a good mood, but I have had NONE OF THE PROBLEMS that some owners have discussed. Gas mileage is unacceptable in town, about 15-17 when I bought it, and still around 15 in town with all these miles on it. On the FREEWAY I am averaging between 28 - 31 MPG . WHich I was suprised for the weight of this car. I reccommed this car to anyone, and would reccommend this car to people who likes luxury that stays in style."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
a really nice car to go camping,
April 23, 2010
By vic
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"good fort a trip to nh,ny and much more small but strong a good car for familes"
How long have you owned this vehicle? I don't own this vehicle
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Very Comfortable Car,
April 8, 2010
By JollyWally
from Nashua, NH
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I love driving this car until it needs repairs. It took me a while to find a repair shop that was both good and fairly priced. When it needs something it is usually in excess of $1,000. for the repair. The car is comfortable and roomy. The biggest response I get with it though is that people who see it think that it is new. Audi does a good job of giving their cars a good durable finish. Mine is black and when it is clean it looks great!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best station wagon,
April 5, 2010
By sany
from san jose, ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Excelent car I have this car for 3 years I pay just $1500 to fix some problem.Car have 150.000 and still run like new."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Flexible, fun, family friendly,
March 12, 2010
By dmeister
from washington,dc
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Its a great car to drive around suburbia or in the country. Plenty of room for family trips and the six-speed manual keeps it interesting. So far maintenance is as expected without any major problems. Mileage could be a bit better as it averages around 21mpg or so, but as expected for the twin turbo even with a manual..."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 37 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
avoid,
March 10, 2010
By badcar
from new mexico
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"beautiful and fun car as long as you have deep pockets. you will love this car untill you hate it with all your heart. spend your money elseware"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Highly reccomend this used vehicle,
February 14, 2010
By wolfeboy
from Central, Michigan
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Best station wagon on the market. Sorry, Audi does'nt make a down-scale model of the their Q7.
Bought this Audi used and have done very little to it over the last 2 years of owner ship. Will soon take car to dealer to have routine transmission service. Yes, the vehicle requires lots of maintence. If you are a weekend do-it yourselfer mechanic like myself, you can repair many of the repairs w/o expensive dealer intervention.
It is difficult to find a dealer with knowledgable technicians to explain and repair "Check Engine Light Issues or mechanical issues". For me I am better off doing research first then giving the tech the TSB for repair. It seems to me that they prefer to continue to replace parts until they got it fixed. Without much troubleshooting intuition. Pretty much the same for all brands though. Of course all this is done "At your expense".
I agree, if you bought this vehicle with an optional warranty package availible. BUY THE WARRANTY, it will pay for itself. At 100,000 miles routine maintence is needed...you need timing belt, water pump, belts, hoses, plugs, and Oxygen sensor (4) changed out ,and trans fluid changed to keep your ride running smooth and faithful. This service at the dealer will run you $2000 bucks.
This car is great. But, remember all the gadgets will eventually require servicing.
Overall, very nice ride and performing car for my family. The kids really enjoy the rear heated seats in the Michigan winters. Gas mileage overall is about 21mpg. BY a USED Audi Allroad and Have Fun!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
All around champ,
February 8, 2010
By plb
from Washington, D.C.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Amazing all-around performer. The adjustable suspension allows you to drive comfortably for daily driving, hit twisty roads at full speed on the week-end, or pack the car for a road-trip. I travelled 1,000 miles with the car full, trunk full of luggage, and 4 bikes on roof and rear rack, and the suspension managed to handle any instability. In terms of snow handling, haven't hit a storm the Allroad could not handle, even without snow tires. Only down-side: the feel of the manual, but I never regretted opting against the automatic."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2001 - 2005 Audi Allroad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent Value,
January 31, 2010
By plv
from Albany, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Best value car in it's clas. Excellent peformance and comfort. Good reliability."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr