Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.84 out of 10
8.8
 out of 
10
2,741 of 2,928(94%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Review 1,181 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
good power and mpg great truck all around,
March 21, 2012
By rob
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:133280
What's great about this vehicle?:good mileage and very reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:small bed
ReviewOriginationID:702b5313-038d-4370-8c07-d3d5e1c3216f
"I bought this truck second hand. have had to do minor repair but everything in these trucks is easy to work on. the 5.3 is the perfect balance of power efficency and indestructable the same goes for the transmission. this truck turned me from a Ford guy to a Chevy guy."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 1999
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,182 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Most Reliable Truck Ever,
June 28, 2010
By chevyman
from Vernal, UT
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This truck has been used for almost everything that I do. We also own another Chevy that is the same year with the same mileage on it, and it is an 8.1 engine and the Allison Transmission, but this truck can still keep up with it with the pulling power and reliability."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 1,183 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
best truck,
September 9, 2009
By joe
from nebraska
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"even tho its not valued as high as I would like it to be, this truck has done more, and does its job better than any vehicle I have owned. Plenty of power, cabin room, excellent ride, great 4wheel drive system, room for people, room to haul stuff, and still looks good."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 1,184 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Good overall vehicle,
May 10, 2009
By model 870
from Perham, MN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This vehicle has been very good to me. Its simple to work on for the most part, stylish enough for me and as an all around vehicle very sound. Only issue is the passenger side door seal header molding is difficult to keep in place. Pleasant experience owning this truck!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,185 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sturdy efficient luxury truck,
November 20, 2008
By ursuscanine
from new port richey, fl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Everything on this truck is solid with a very comfortable ride. Well thought out systems and controls: automatic headlights, electric lock system, control placement, vision through windows, strong suspension, efficient 5.3 V8 gets 25 MPG in 2-wheel drive on the highway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 1,186 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Nothin Better Than a Chevy,
November 17, 2008
By Devon
from Valliant, OK
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is a great all-around truck. Not to mention it's a Chevrolet, the most dependable truck there is! Mine has got dual exaust, and boy does she purr with that 5.3L V8 Vortec in her. Smooth riding and very comfortable inside. Couldn't ask for much more. GO CHEVORLET!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 1,187 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great truck,
October 4, 2007
By Lakers661
from Ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Have owned truck since it was new and It has never been in a Mechanic for anything besides oil changes and we bought it about the same time when our neighbors bought a ford and wow. they cant touch the engine you cant even change a spark plug in a ford their is no room."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 1,188 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I love my truc,
September 15, 2014
By Mrs.B
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:68700
What's great about this vehicle?:dependable , drives great
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not for a short person like me haha!
ReviewOriginationID:ec336a6913844953a55f4adf5b15da1f
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Silverado 1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:348524
"I love my truck. I would not be selling it if it wasn't for being retired and just do not drive it enough. The Silverado is one of the best trucks around and you can not go wrong with it. I bought it for my husband and he passed away 5 years ago. It was an excellent buy."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2004
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,189 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Excellent Truck,
March 15, 2012
By Chris
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:93000
ReviewOriginationID:eb79f009-eb2f-41ed-9fb5-80013ad5b11c
"I have had my 2004 Chevy Silverado Z71 since new and it has held up and performed great. I have hauled a boat, atvs, snow-mobiles, etc, etc. and it has been perfect for the job each time. This is also my daily driver.
Great running 5.3 V8, Chevy has a great motor there."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2004
Review 1,190 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best truck out!,
October 30, 2007
By pope.03 chevy
from McHenry, IL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I love this truck, its the best. on and off road its great exp. with the 5.3L engine.it has plenty of power I have already had to pull my buddys ford out twice while we were hitting the trails and had know problem doing so, with enjoment. i would recomend this truck 100%"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 1,191 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One of the absolute best cars i have ever driven!,
April 1, 2014
By Justin D
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:127600
ReviewOriginationID:2facab5fabeb4763a8000972d67fcf3e
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Silverado 1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:5601
"This car is so easy to drive it pretty much drives itself. The sleek design of it makes it not only the best car to drive, but the best looking as well. I highly recommend this car to anyone that is seeking a well built, good looking easy to drive chick magnet of a truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2000
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,192 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bought new, Best truck I've ever owned,
March 7, 2014
By ntel55
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:124000
ReviewOriginationID:a3ea678d33c1461d827cf248d9faeaa0
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Silverado 1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:5601
"First used as daily driver first 80k, job gave me vehicle, so it has only been used to tow RV trailer. Tows close to max cap., never breaks a sweat! KBB shows as 3 door, but it's production date was June 2000, so it has some crossover w/2001 model year, including 4 doors."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2000
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,193 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Cost of owner ship is high.,
January 10, 2014
By Hwms
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:61000
What's great about this vehicle?:Nice ride. Interior is nice.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Terrible truck. Broken down way to many times.
ReviewOriginationID:d2edbd653e0e451f930310cae11f090c
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Silverado 1500 Crew Cab
Vehicle ID:348488
"My truck has 61000 miles on it. I have spent over $6500 in the last 14 months in repairs. Some of them I have done myself. Front & rear brakes, three rotten out brake lines, both front wheel bearings, master cylinder, front differential and it still has a front end noise."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2006
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,194 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
worst vehicle,
September 18, 2010
By ray
from MA
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"Major rust problems. Brake lines and frame
rusting out. Replaced all brake lines. I planned to have frame sand blasted, primed and painted but my mechanic advised not to waste my money and get rid of the truck . Read the web for other peoples evaluations and GM responses.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,195 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very Reliable Truck,
August 23, 2008
By Bryan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had my 2006 silverado 4x4 for 2 years now and love it. It has been very reliable and performs great. The four wheel drive works perfect. I had a 99 siverado with the 5.3 before this one and this has been a better truck overall so far. I highly recommend this truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,196 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
love my Chevy,
August 21, 2007
By corky
from San Diego, Ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had my '05 for over 1 1/2 years now and I love it. We are desertrats and I will never won anything other than a chevy seeing as my friends own tundras, and fords, and all they manage to do is get stuck in the sand and I go everywhere!!! Love it Love it Love it!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 1,197 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Handsome Outfit,
August 8, 2007
By Sable
from Fenton, Michiagn
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"With the new(2006) topper, which matches the exterior of truck, it makes a very handsome statement. Truck is a very good performer, high quality accessories. It has been maintained on a very regular basis and has extremely low mileage. (All maintainance reports available)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 1,198 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Love the truck...,
February 16, 2012
By mutt
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:48000
What's great about this vehicle?:Good truck it will tow, but still rides nice.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:it is not good on gas..
ReviewOriginationID:96fc5b6e-63b8-4ce8-a9bb-4e18ff8bf961
"hate the gas mileage..the Z71 tow package is just what I want, the truck looks nice and rides nice, a little bumpy but not a problem out in the desert, have had both Fords and Dodges, and always come back to Chevys, just wish they could do something about the gas mileage.."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2006
Review 1,199 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
March 4, 2011
By JLew2
from Texas
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"TONS of power! Great truck. Bought mine used with 91k miles on it. Very reliable even at high mileage. I would give it 5 stars except for the fuel economy. This 6.0L gets about 14 hwy and I have never seen worse than 12 even on rough country roads in first and second gear."
Review 1,200 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
January 31, 2010
By Unsatisfied
from Idaho Falls, ID
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"It was a good truck until the speedometer quit working. It cost me $600 because it was a dealer only item. My friend has the same truck and the same thing happened to his truck. Gas milage is only 15 mpg on the freeway and 12 if I even think of putting anything in the bed."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs