Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.843 out of 10
8.8
 out of 
10
2,707 of 2,892(94%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Review 1,181 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Handsome Outfit,
August 8, 2007
By Sable
from Fenton, Michiagn
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"With the new(2006) topper, which matches the exterior of truck, it makes a very handsome statement. Truck is a very good performer, high quality accessories. It has been maintained on a very regular basis and has extremely low mileage. (All maintainance reports available)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 1,182 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Love the truck...,
February 16, 2012
By mutt
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:48000
What's great about this vehicle?:Good truck it will tow, but still rides nice.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:it is not good on gas..
ReviewOriginationID:96fc5b6e-63b8-4ce8-a9bb-4e18ff8bf961
"hate the gas mileage..the Z71 tow package is just what I want, the truck looks nice and rides nice, a little bumpy but not a problem out in the desert, have had both Fords and Dodges, and always come back to Chevys, just wish they could do something about the gas mileage.."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2006
Review 1,183 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
March 4, 2011
By JLew2
from Texas
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"TONS of power! Great truck. Bought mine used with 91k miles on it. Very reliable even at high mileage. I would give it 5 stars except for the fuel economy. This 6.0L gets about 14 hwy and I have never seen worse than 12 even on rough country roads in first and second gear."
Review 1,184 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
January 31, 2010
By Unsatisfied
from Idaho Falls, ID
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"It was a good truck until the speedometer quit working. It cost me $600 because it was a dealer only item. My friend has the same truck and the same thing happened to his truck. Gas milage is only 15 mpg on the freeway and 12 if I even think of putting anything in the bed."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 1,185 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very roomy and comfortable,
April 19, 2008
By squa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"comfortable seats, smooth ride, never had mechanical issues, tough and durable, plenty of room for whole family (ext. cab)
our Ford truck got stuck in the mud and our chevy silverado was the only thing that could pull it out, no lie! Ford might be tough, but Chevy is Buff!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 1,186 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Brakes, Engine, Transmission were very reliable,
September 4, 2011
By Robert
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:98000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Smaller profile compared to other trucks of same size.
"The Silverado had great pickup for a 6 cyl engine. Very little problems over life of truck. I'm facing a lot of regular maintenance issues at 98000 miles after just changing oil and fluids on a regular basis. I just replaced brakes and gave it a 100k tune up. Belts, Gaskets"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2003
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,187 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Motor and Tranny,
October 24, 2010
By Cee
from Waseca, MN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I love my truck! It is everything that I want it to be however I did have to put a new motor and Tranny in it. i figure that now it will go for ever. There was something wrong with the head gaskets and I soon developed a sludge problem which eventually ate my bearings away."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 1,188 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
good truck,
March 7, 2009
By jay jay
from il
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"180400 miles and still drives like a new truck. i do have the floating fuel gage problem and my shifter has been jacked up for a while but these are minor issues. i have the v6 and it feels a bit under powered but thats not why i bought this truck. would definetly buy agin."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 1,189 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome Truck,
November 30, 2007
By Ginny
from Humboldt County, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This is a great truck. I wanted a Tahoe but I let my husband talk me into the 04 Crew Cab. I am so glad he did! This truck does everything we need it to do and has tons of room in the cab. Just wish we had gotten heated seats. It rides more like a car than a truck. Love it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 1,190 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I have owned this truck since new,
April 12, 2014
By jim
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:62000
What's great about this vehicle?:enjoyable to drive,reliabe
What's not so great about this vehicle?:I live in N.Y. so it does have minimal rust
ReviewOriginationID:9771012d110f474797d90f73025cbf7a
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Silverado 1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349282
"This truck has never let me down I've always enjoyed driving it.I love the 8 foot box for picking up materials.And for a full size truck it gets decent gas milege.You can't buy a new truck with a standard so I will probably never by another chevy for that reason it's to bad."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2006
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,191 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I have owned this truck since new,
April 12, 2014
By jim
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:62000
What's great about this vehicle?:enjoyable to drive,reliabe
What's not so great about this vehicle?:I live in N.Y. so it does have minimal rust
ReviewOriginationID:9771012d110f474797d90f73025cbf7a
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Silverado 1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349282
"This truck has never let me down I've always enjoyed driving it.I love the 8 foot box for picking up materials.And for a full size truck it gets decent gas milege.You can't buy a new truck with a standard so I will probably never by another chevy for that reason it's to bad."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,192 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I have owned this truck since new,
April 12, 2014
By jim
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:62000
What's great about this vehicle?:enjoyable to drive,reliabe
What's not so great about this vehicle?:I live in N.Y. so it does have minimal rust
ReviewOriginationID:9771012d110f474797d90f73025cbf7a
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Silverado 1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:349282
"This truck has never let me down I've always enjoyed driving it.I love the 8 foot box for picking up materials.And for a full size truck it gets decent gas milege.You can't buy a new truck with a standard so I will probably never by another chevy for that reason it's to bad."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2006
Review 1,193 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great truck,
January 4, 2012
By Chris
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:150000
What's great about this vehicle?:very dependable, good power, comfortable to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:cupholders dont hold the cups very well,
ReviewOriginationID:a08a6ebb-36a0-4e97-8fa0-68c39ddcbef0
"I have owned this truck for a few years and absolutely love driving it. It has been resonably dependable for a 10 year old truck and the 5.4 v8 has plenty of power for the jobs that you should be using a half ton pickup for. I have overall been very satisfied with this truck"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 1999
Review 1,194 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
It's been my workhorse,
June 25, 2008
By a
from FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've owned my Chevy for 6 years now, and not ever had a hiccup. It hauls like a champ, is great on gas, has never failed me on a roadtrip, long or short, and I'd recommend it to anyone I know. It's been the best investment as far as a vehicle, and I'd get another if I could."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 1,195 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great 2WD,
April 4, 2008
By Ed
from Everett, WA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Has been a very reliable vehicle for five years. Brakes were the only issue so far. Had to have total replacement. Other than that, would highly reccomend.
I would not buy an extended cab again if I plan to carry more than two people. I would buy the full size chevy version.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,196 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Don't Buy,
December 24, 2007
By Howard
from PA
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Absolutely the worst truck I've owned and I've had them for over 30 years. Can't keep front end parts from failing. Dealership has replaced everything from steering shafts, to tie rods, to ball joints. Now it needs bearings in the front axle. I can't wait to sell this thing."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,197 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Thumbs Down!,
November 26, 2007
By xrayspex
from Northeast Ohio
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I bought a brand new Silverado 4x4 in 2001.This year with only 59000 miles total its back in the shop with major transmission issues for the THIRD time!! I have always babied this truck, never driven offroad or abused at all.
I dumped it and bought a 2007 Tacoma and LOVE it!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,198 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Truck,
May 16, 2009
By Big Al
from Arizona
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had many Chevrolet and Ford pickups over the last 15 years and this one is the best of the bunch. It gets much better mileage that the Fords (16 VS 21 on highway) and still has plenty of power with the 4.8 Ltr engine. Over all just a great driving, comfortable vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 1,199 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Good solid truck,
June 1, 2008
By hdryderfl
from Pensacola FL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Got this truck brand new for a work truck. It has only been in the shop for maintenance and several minor items. Front end goes through tires faster than I would like 50K but very reliable. Typical headlight problem with chevy..had to replace. Hope my next truck is as good..."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 1,200 for 1999 - 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Power, MPG and Reliability...,
August 21, 2007
By Love A Chevy
from Nashville, TN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought our truck new in 2000-Just rolled 205,000 miles without one day in the shop, except for maintenance. Haul horses with it and work out of it daily. If you want a reliable truck with a V8 and good fuel economy you can't beat a Chevy...Love ours and will own nothing else."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more