Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER

Average Customer Rating:
7.406 out of 10
7.4
 out of 
10
1,088 of 1,335(81%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Review 181 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
good for awhile,
October 28, 2007
By Dannyboy
from Marshall, MN
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought this Blazer with 70k on it, was a good truck for a few years. I have owened it now for just over 4 years. I am looking to trade it off on anything i can. the last couple of years have been nothing but problems with this thing, had to replace both front bearings, distubotor cap seems to get wet in rain, gas guage is all over the place, and now i have a short in the elertrical system and my interior lights and 4 wheel drive don't work, won't take another if it was given to me!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 182 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Substandard comfort and materials,
July 25, 2007
By Eric
from Phoenix, AZ
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"Suspension is weak at best. I feel every bump on the road. They use a very cheap plastic piece on the rear tailgate lock attenuator that breaks on 99% of the vehicles out there. Dealer wants $457 to replace a 10 cent piece of plastic. Fuel gauge doesn't work. I run empty with about 1/3 tank showing. Overall poor quality and my last time buying GM or any American car.
Oh yeah, I had to replace the engine at 89,000 miles because a ring inside it wore down. That's just poor design too."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 183 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Mid-size SUV Ever!,
August 9, 2008
By mange98
from Lugoff, SC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I got my blazer for christmas `07 and I love it! I have upgraded the performance qualities of it and have brought the the HP & Torque to: 227/260. I have even made some personal upgrades to my interior. It was a great vehicle when i got it, it had 164,000 miles and it was in perfect condition, the only things wrong were the passenger visor mirror flap was broke, and the driver door didn't shut to well, but they have both been fixed. I personally couldn't be happier with my truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 184 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
very disappointed,
November 5, 2007
By Shelly
from Richmond, Va.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have had my blazer for 2 yrs now and I have had too replace the whole rear, shocks and the fuel pump at 90,000 miles. The fuel pump was 300.00!! Oh yeah and the fuel gage stopped working at 80,000 miles. Although my truck is pretty and looks good it runs awful even w/ regular upkeep and maintance. I have too cut the air condition off too get enough power too take off so I wont get hit my another car. My neighbors laugh because my blazer is always coming home on a wreaker truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 185 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
February 8, 2008
By Topper
from Grosse Pointe, MI
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I have a 2004 blazer 2 door 2wd with 35,000 on it. this is a fun car to drive because it is so "upgradeable". i'm yet to have problems with it. i've replaced the tires, brakes, wipers, and bulbs. the headlight bulbs are the only problem i've had with this car, it seems that it will take the bulb and blow it up once a year. other than that and the fact that you have to be very careful on snow/ice because of no traction(i fixed that by putting 200lbs of sand in bags in the trunk.)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 186 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good ride,
January 9, 2008
By blazerboy
from WestbyGod NY
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This was my first GM product, It has fit my needs and preformed well for me. I like the seats and I can do long trips in the blazer with little discomfort from the back. I tow a 14 ft enclosed trailer and the 4.3 handles the duties well on the flats, in the hills it falls off the pace and struggles to keep up
without putting it to the wood. I have 109,000 plus and it has not missed a beat.
I wish it would get better gas mileage I get 17 and 20 mpg, towing it hangs around 13 mpg.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 187 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
What a great SUV.,
February 16, 2012
By Blazeruser
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:Built to be used! Great car.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage, even though it's good for an SUV
ReviewOriginationID:710e7b97-0314-4120-a3e6-7c01a65f84a4
"This car: Averages 20 mpg; has a roof rack for storage; a bench seat up front which means I can fit 6 adults in the car in a pinch; is 4WD; has been very reliable overall.
The best part of the car is the way the back seats fold down flat, which basically makes is a truck with a camper shell. I can fit a twin mattress in the back and sleep in it. If you're going to buy a used SUV, this is the one- I've been so happy with it. I wish all vehicles were designed to be this dynamic."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1997
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 188 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Was a great first car !,
January 19, 2014
By CamBam
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great for winter, fun to drive, reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not a lot of features, low quality parts
ReviewOriginationID:1802cab4eab84673b4d6d06521cf88fb
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Blazer
Vehicle ID:6289
"This car was tons of fun and handled a ton of punishment but things kept going wrong with it that shouldn't be going wrong of a car this age...blower motor, pitman arm, 4 wheel drive actuator and fuel pump all went out in the 6 months i had it. I only had it 6 months before it was totaled by a guy that ran a red light. This truck was great in the snow and a very cheap buy. If you want a small SUV and you wanna save money but know how to work on cars this is the truck for you!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 1998
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 189 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
My Second ZR2 Blazer,
August 22, 2009
By Sunny
from Denver CO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This 2004 is my second Chevy ZR2 Blazer. I gave the first to my son with 80,000 miles on it. This one has 80,000 miles on it and runs like new. I had to replace the water and fuel pump on it at 65,000 miles, also the ball joints, but all were covered under the extended waurentee I had. My only complaint is why can't Chevy fix the ball joints on these cars in a 10 year period - both mine had bad ones. I plan on keeping it, there is nothing better in a snowstorm in Colorado!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 190 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
I Miss My Blazer,
August 19, 2009
By Shelly
from Durham, North Carolina
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"My 2000 Blazer finally died after only 238,000 miles. I wasn't the first owner, but I certainly got my money's worth out of this car. I never had a moment's problem with it until the day it died - no advanced notice, just all the sudden it dropped a cylinder. My only issue with the vehicle and one I certainly got used to very quickly was a horrible blind spot. I guess it made me a better driver, what with having to make sure exactly what was around me as I changed lanes."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 191 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
October 3, 2010
By Dan
from Dayton Ohio
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"This a good reliable vehicle. Does however ride like a truck (which it is) and only gets 14 MPG in town. Fuel mileage increases greatly in a cruise control situation though. Looks great and has a very nice interior setup and appearance. Had it for 2 years now and only major expense has been the "multi function" switch which is the turn signal/cruise control/wiper lever assembly. $320 ! Also, the fuel gauge sometimes acts silly by going from full to empty for no reason."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 192 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
still going strong,
January 10, 2010
By firstcar
from Pittsburgh, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car used with only 18,000 miles on it. It is my first car and still going strong after 8 years and 140,000 miles plus. The body is still beautiful and it runs great. My only complaint would be the constant replacing of the ball joints. One actually snapped while I was driving!! The dealer says they are notorious for bad balljoints. If this is a known problem maybe the people at Chevy should look into making some better parts! Reguardless I love my Blazer!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 193 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I Love This Blazer,
September 8, 2013
By Lil Red
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:137232
What's great about this vehicle?:Nice ride on the road and fun to drive off ride.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:GM quit making the Chevy Blazer. Big Mistake.
ReviewOriginationID:3a59e115326349978539cb2fc3dc4598
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Blazer
Vehicle ID:6289
"After 137,000 miles, the engine still purrs like a kitten. My mechanic said, "This engine will run forever as long as it is maintained. GM doesn't make them like this anymore." This vehicle is great for on and off road driving and snow. I never worry about getting stuck or when there is ice on the road. Nice comfortable ride with 4 wheel drive option. I love the 4 DR all leather interior. Leather interior has held up very well on this 98 model. Love the privacy glass."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AR
Year 1998
Review 194 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
American Greatness,
August 2, 2009
By Yoda
from San Diego, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had virtually no problems with this vehicle ever & it has over 130,000 miles on it. I would recommend the Blazer to anyone. The engine has get up & go (not like these stupid foreign cars out there that get in my way on the road & can't get going!) I have had a 1967 Camaro with over 500,00 miles on it & still going when I sold it & a 1977 Monza V-8 that had over 300,000 miles on it & I sold it for more than I bought it for. BUY AMERICAN FROM AMERICAN COMPANIES!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 195 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Problem after Problem,
February 17, 2009
By Kelly
from Alma, MI
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have had my 1998 blazer for 3 years now and I have only had problem after problem with it. It has 96000 miles and I have had to flush the radiator and heater core atleast 5 times. I never know if I will have heat or not. We have had problems with the 4wd. The switch does not want to click in to 4WD. We have put more money in it than it is worth. Our mechanic has told us that he fixes a lot of blazers with the same problems. I dont recommend this vehicle to anyone."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 196 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
It's no sissy SUV,
August 18, 2010
By Quincy's Mom
from Massachusetts
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I love my 2004 Chevy Blazer. I've had it for almost 3 years, and it is very reliable. In New England winters, it handles great, is a "truck" when you need it to be, yet gives a very comfortable ride. Love, the outside temperature feature, and now that I have that, I wouldn't want a vehicle without it. Lots of room to go to Home Depot, or travel with family. Outside of gas mileage (got the truck right before a new job with a longer commute) I really like my truck!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 197 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great value,
June 28, 2010
By BlazerFan
from western NYS
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I love my Blazer! It's not great at anything but it's good at many things, towing boat trailer, vacation road trips, hauling family on outings, good in snow. Worst part is poor gas mileage, 16 average, 20 hwy. Been very reliable, NO engine or trans work ever, just the 4WD control board has failed a couple of times, that's it for 130K miles. Even wears tires well. Just a bit of surface rust on the bottom edges of the doors from road debris and that's in the NE US."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 198 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
black ZR-2,
March 19, 2009
By D-MaN
from Edgartown mass
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i have a 98 ZR-2 off road package its 3inches higher 4 inches wider with size 31X10.5 tires and has limted slip rear end and is the LS package all this comes stock. it looks very good but rides rough and the interior rattles the 4.3L V6 offers decent power and troque about 195 HP and 250 pounds of troque. all in all its a very good stock off road package and looks very styleish but if you dont have the ZR-2 then your blazer doesnt look as good but rides smoother."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 199 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not bad for a small SUV,
February 7, 2014
By blazer man
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:135000
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy to drive, gets into tight parking spots.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:small cup holders needed a locker rear end.
ReviewOriginationID:c6f981f7584041889b8203f941de69b7
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Blazer
Vehicle ID:348565
"Chevy you need to bring the S10 blazer back. This vehicle has never left me stranded in the four years that I Have owned it. Not a beast at four wheel drive should of had a locker rear end instead of the limited slip. This blazer gets into tight spots, whether on road or off. Transmission had to be rebuilt at 120,000 but I had the unfortunate mileage of being a rental vehicle before I bought it. I would buy another one and I have really enjoyed driving this one."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2004
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 200 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
I love my blazer!,
September 30, 2011
By Brittmumzy
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:12000
What's great about this vehicle?:All sorts of things (read the review)
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none that I can think of
"I have had my little turquoise blazer for a while now, and I love it. The ride is smooth, engine runs great, the gas mileage is fantastic (I only have to pay about $60 at the pump once every two weeks, where my dad has to pay about $150 for his truck) the electric seats are nice, I like to raise up my seat high so I can see the front of my vehicle since I'm so short. It's fairly easy to change the oil, and it's small enough to fit into smaller parking spaces. :)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ID
Year 1995
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.