Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER

Average Customer Rating:
7.438 out of 10
7.4
 out of 
10
1,133 of 1,384(82%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Review 181 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
great truck.,
August 31, 2008
By mandyy
from pittsburgh, PA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i've had my '98 blazer for about a year, it has almost 119,000 miles on it and is still running great. the squeak from the spare tire was annoying at first but i have gotten used to it. I had my gas tank replaced a few months ago be cause it was leaking, something my mechanic said is common in some chevys. my gas gauge isn't always correct but i have gotten used to this too and know how much gas to keep in it. my boyfriend and i took it to the Allegheny mountains this summer and it handled excellent."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 182 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Worth the Money,
August 17, 2007
By Joe in Ga
from California
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Overall, pretty good.
Had typical Blazer issue with brake, signal, and hazard light switch failure at 48,000, but mine wasn't among those covered by the recall (repair was $500; had to fight for partial reimbursement). Driver side window motor also failed prematurely, at 50,000 (another $450).
On the plus side, engine and drive train (including clutch) are fine. V6 lacks power for acceleration, however.
In general, poor visibility through the back and developing lots of squeaks and rattles at 60,000.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 183 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2000 TrailBlazer,
March 14, 2010
By TDQ
from North Huntingdon, Pa.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Overall can't complain much. Replaced ball joints (seems like a common problem with these) at 60000 miles, belt tensioner, altenator, head gasket and now front hub assemblies....again, seems these are all common problems with the Blazer. These issues should have been addressed long ago by Chevy but I guess most cars have problems specific to each it seems.
Goes through anything with the right tires, still looks like brand new, both interior and exterior.
Think I'll be holding on to it a bit longer.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 184 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
only good new,
April 1, 2009
By slick50
from Albany, NY
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Good truck until it hit 140k miles. I had to replace all 4 ball joints and both wheel bearings in front ($650), a fuel pump ($700), u-joints and thermostat ($300) all within a few of weeks. The 4 wheel drive went out in the same time, haven't bothered to fix that yet. It's got an electrical short somewhere, blinker keeps randomly going off, already replaced the relay, still can't find the issue. Some other issues too. I never had any major cost until the ball joint popped. Nice truck before hand."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 185 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Excellent all around 4X4,
December 17, 2007
By Cheesebrick
from Central Illinois
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I've had my blazer for a year now and i love it. Off road performance when it was stock was excellent and with some aggressive tires and small lift it is nearly unstoppable! (I have 2dr. zr2 model) The gas mileage is a little hard at 15-17 mpg but it is well worth the smooth ride and tough exterior. I had only one problem with the vehicle and that was a leaking intake gasket at 102,000 miles. Other than that it has never let me down!!! I'll continue to drive this blazer till it won't go anymore."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 186 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Still loving it,
April 2, 2009
By tom
from Walpole, MA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought mine over 11 years ago! In that time it has needed a fuel pump, alternator, U joint, intake manifold gasket and a few minor things. I have probably spent between 2 to 3 K on it in that time and most of that within the last 5 years...nothng goes forever! But all in all the body has held up perfectly as well as the interior. We get about 21mpg on the open road. My daughter is driving it now, we replaced it with a Yukon and I'm looking for another blazer for kid #2! They are great trucks."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 187 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
not bad,
November 10, 2007
By carolina blaze
from cola. sc
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I have a 2000 blazer 2wd w/127,000 miles. I have had no problems until recently. Lots of viberation at higher speeds (front bushings,controlarm?) I think the main bearing is going it rattles when first cranked up in cold weather. I added lucas oil additive and has helped. My dad owned an 89 and had no major problems at 259,000 until tree fell on it. I like the 4.3 engine I might consider buying another. Just luck of the draw with vehicles,some great some junk. Overall mine has been pretty good."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 188 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great vehicle for singles.,
September 2, 2007
By kypress
from Florida
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"The Chevy extreme Blazer is a great vehicle for a single couple. The inside is very compact. The two seats in the back fold down for hauling items. I have personally used it for everything. The only complaint that I have is that It doesn't cut sharp turn abouts very well, and it is very compact in the front seats. It is also hard getting in and out of the back seats as well. But over all, I love my Blazer. I purchased it used And have traveled out of state a couple of times. It drives great."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 189 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I Really Loved this Truck.,
October 11, 2011
By Dolly
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:165000
Reason for Sale:Needed a smaller car, no more kids
What's great about this vehicle?:Hauls anything anywhere, lots of extras inside
What's not so great about this vehicle?:handles like a big boy
ReviewOriginationID:1c349020-b53b-4e1d-bef4-dffeb47bf9e6
"The room was incredible, the interior was very comfortable, and the realiability - awesome. I hauled kids,dogs, sheetrock, plywood, bricks, rocks. Towed a two-stall horsetrailer, with horses. No problems. My kids are gone, my dogs are gone, and now I am road tripping to visit kids and other relatives. I needed an economy car otherwise I would never have sold it. Just be aware that this truck handles like a truck, not an overgrown station wagon! Always surprised my husband when he drove it."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location ND
Year 1998
Review 190 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
UNreliable!,
April 22, 2012
By becki
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's great about this vehicle?:Was cheap at the time we bought it
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Uncomfortable, bad mpg, breaks alot...horrible car
ReviewOriginationID:a89e1f070160451a880c570911f69f05
"We bought this car new, but it is HORRIBLE! everything breaks on it...we've had to replace the feul pump, battery (4x), almost every hose, the radiator, transmission...everything. It is hard to handle on the road, the wind blows you every which way, and teh backseat in just awkward. It is so uncomfortable unless you are in teh front seat and can adjust it however you want (At others expense of course), and it should have a lot more room than it really does.
I would never buy this again."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2001
4 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 191 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
S10 blazer trash,
November 15, 2007
By auto repair
from upstate ny
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"owned it for 6 years and I would never buy another because the exhaust pipes are wraped around the transmission pan and cook the trans plus the wheel bearings wipe out every 40K and the disc brakes wipe out quick, the power steering pump leeks along with tons of electrical problems and the vacuum switch on the transfer case hangs up so the truck is locked in 4 wheel drive. the bottom line is the 1995-2004 S10 blazers are junk. nothing but problems and the truck has less then 65,000 miles"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 192 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Do not Buy,
January 6, 2008
By Blazer Hater
from Birmingham, AL
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I got this vehicles when I married my wife. The first year we got married I had to put 2000 dollars worth of repairs into it. First I had some brake problems...not just the pads. Then the wheel bearings went bad. Then the radiator and then the manifold gasket. I know these things eventually do fall apart on high mileage vehicles (mine now has 130,000) But do yourself a favor and buy a Toyota. That is what I am used to and they don't start having these types of problems until 200k miles"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 193 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
good for awhile,
October 28, 2007
By Dannyboy
from Marshall, MN
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought this Blazer with 70k on it, was a good truck for a few years. I have owened it now for just over 4 years. I am looking to trade it off on anything i can. the last couple of years have been nothing but problems with this thing, had to replace both front bearings, distubotor cap seems to get wet in rain, gas guage is all over the place, and now i have a short in the elertrical system and my interior lights and 4 wheel drive don't work, won't take another if it was given to me!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 194 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great SUV,
March 13, 2015
By mckenney5
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:72000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great 4x4, a lot of torque, great ride hight
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Radio is a pain to replace, weird cabin
ReviewOriginationID:67ca7e0b77d44bc09938be54438da07e
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Blazer
Vehicle ID:3890
"My Blazer is a lot of fun. The electronic 4x4 allows easy shifting from 2HI to 4HI when it is needed. I picked my Blazer up for around $4700 from a dealer. The only issue I have had with it is the ABS went but since there are so many of these vehicles, the parts are cheap. With all this snow this winter I get about 15MPG, the lowest I had was 13, highest of 16. This SUV isn't too big nor is it too small, it is just right. Also, who doesn't love that old style automatic truck shifting?"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2001
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 195 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Substandard comfort and materials,
July 25, 2007
By Eric
from Phoenix, AZ
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"Suspension is weak at best. I feel every bump on the road. They use a very cheap plastic piece on the rear tailgate lock attenuator that breaks on 99% of the vehicles out there. Dealer wants $457 to replace a 10 cent piece of plastic. Fuel gauge doesn't work. I run empty with about 1/3 tank showing. Overall poor quality and my last time buying GM or any American car.
Oh yeah, I had to replace the engine at 89,000 miles because a ring inside it wore down. That's just poor design too."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 196 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2002 s10 Blazer,
July 14, 2014
By Nelson
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:113000
Reason for Sale:Broken Engine
What's great about this vehicle?:Comfort for driver.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Passenger comfort, gas mileage, door pins
ReviewOriginationID:826a358352714c3d936a011e97e4b574
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Blazer
Vehicle ID:3569
"Car was well maintained. Ran well until I had a leaky intake manifold gasket which developed into replacing the intake manifold. I don't know what happened when it was fixed, but it has never run correctly since being worked on. It misses and shifts terribly. Oil pressure has dropped from 40 psi to 5 psi. The dealer has spent days trying to fix the car replacing almost everything electrical on the engine with no avail. Now they say it is an internal problem. I just sold it for $600."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location PA
Year 2002
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 197 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Mid-size SUV Ever!,
August 9, 2008
By mange98
from Lugoff, SC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I got my blazer for christmas `07 and I love it! I have upgraded the performance qualities of it and have brought the the HP & Torque to: 227/260. I have even made some personal upgrades to my interior. It was a great vehicle when i got it, it had 164,000 miles and it was in perfect condition, the only things wrong were the passenger visor mirror flap was broke, and the driver door didn't shut to well, but they have both been fixed. I personally couldn't be happier with my truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 198 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
very disappointed,
November 5, 2007
By Shelly
from Richmond, Va.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have had my blazer for 2 yrs now and I have had too replace the whole rear, shocks and the fuel pump at 90,000 miles. The fuel pump was 300.00!! Oh yeah and the fuel gage stopped working at 80,000 miles. Although my truck is pretty and looks good it runs awful even w/ regular upkeep and maintance. I have too cut the air condition off too get enough power too take off so I wont get hit my another car. My neighbors laugh because my blazer is always coming home on a wreaker truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 199 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
February 8, 2008
By Topper
from Grosse Pointe, MI
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I have a 2004 blazer 2 door 2wd with 35,000 on it. this is a fun car to drive because it is so "upgradeable". i'm yet to have problems with it. i've replaced the tires, brakes, wipers, and bulbs. the headlight bulbs are the only problem i've had with this car, it seems that it will take the bulb and blow it up once a year. other than that and the fact that you have to be very careful on snow/ice because of no traction(i fixed that by putting 200lbs of sand in bags in the trunk.)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 200 for 1995 - 2005 Chevrolet S10 BLAZER
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good ride,
January 9, 2008
By blazerboy
from WestbyGod NY
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This was my first GM product, It has fit my needs and preformed well for me. I like the seats and I can do long trips in the blazer with little discomfort from the back. I tow a 14 ft enclosed trailer and the 4.3 handles the duties well on the flats, in the hills it falls off the pace and struggles to keep up
without putting it to the wood. I have 109,000 plus and it has not missed a beat.
I wish it would get better gas mileage I get 17 and 20 mpg, towing it hangs around 13 mpg.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.