Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Average Customer Rating:
8.152 out of 10
8.2
 out of 
10
250 of 269(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Review 161 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good, reliable car,
September 12, 2007
By sjo
from Bella Vista, Ar
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I love my Monte Carlo. It's very comfortable and I feel secure driving it. I don't feel like I'm driving a tin can. I don't recommend it if you have very small children, you'll need a 4 door. Great car for moms of older children or for a teen's first car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 162 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Monte on a roll,
August 1, 2007
By Wig
from Galesburg, Illinois
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"MY COMPLAINTS: One cup holder. The rear winshield defrost broke soon after I bought the car new. They replaced it. It broke again. Still broke. The rear of the car is too high for my liking. It's painful to back up as I can't see too well over the rear. The fuel injectors have been replaced and continued trouble with those misfiring. The tire jack rusted shut. The paint peeled from the spoiler and the front bumper.
MY COMPLIMENTS: After 174000 miles, the car looks good and runs good. Well worth the money.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 163 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Best car Ive Had,
July 27, 2007
By Tomar
from Arkansas
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"My car has 229,000 miles and Ive only ever replaced the water pump...wonderful..."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 164 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
95 monte carlo,
July 24, 2007
By trofrnk
from minneapolis, MN
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this vehicle as a repairable due to there being a dent on every panel. I started driving it and liked the ride, so I completely repaired the body with new panels and paint. The drivetrain in this car has put up with 158000 miles of driving by high school students and still runs good. The 3100 is not exactly exhilirating, but it is still reliable. Thats better than some of the hondas i've had with similar mileage! And fuel mileage is ok too. It gets 24-26 mpg for me driving to work, about 70 miles per day round trip with plenty of stop and go traffic. For some reason, this monte carlo averaged 2-3 mpg better than my wifes 03 malibu with the same engine and only 68000 miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 165 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
95 z34 monte,
February 17, 2012
By blake j
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:152000
Reason for Sale:needed work
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:dash and shifter take away from the look
ReviewOriginationID:3018d6c4-f35f-4105-9f11-8271447b9103
"Nice car for the right price, good looks, mine was white with the z34 body parts, white rims ws a nice looking car, didnt really like how the dash came apart though and the shifter is tacky looking"
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location MI
Year 1995
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 166 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
I LOVE THIS VECHICLE,
September 15, 2011
By D
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:17000
What's great about this vehicle?:DRIVES NICE VERY DEPENDABLE
What's not so great about this vehicle?:NO CUP HOLDERS
"ITS NEVER LET ME DONE YET..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1998
Review 167 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Pretty good car,
February 26, 2009
By Mr. G
from Northeast PA
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"No major quibbles with this car. I bought it used, with 102,000 miles on it, and drove it to 184,000 in two years, before deciding to upgrade to something with less miles on it.
I have a strong feeling that if I had bought it new, or with fewer miles on it, I would have gotten more "value", "reliability", and "quality" from the car.
I had to put in a fuel pump, new plugs and wires, re-charge the AC both summers I owned the car, get the brakes done, and replace the power window switches for both doors.
On top of this, there are so many minor things wrong with it at this point, it makes more sense to move on and get a newer car.
That said, I will miss the Monte Carlo. I think it looked great, never lacked for power (except when the plugs and wires were in need of change), and it was always a pretty smooth ride. A solid car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 168 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Awesome Vehicle,
December 20, 2008
By jj
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"It was a very good car for the time I had it. It had minimal problems and ran pretty well."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 169 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
fun car,
May 2, 2008
By 96monte
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my 96 Z34 in 2000 with 63,000 miles on it. Now, at 176,000 it sits in my back yard with busted tranny, engine problems (will not pass emission test), oil leaking etc. etc. It amazed me how many local mechanics didn't want (or know)to fix the engine light problem. Driver side window regulator was replaced 3 times. As much as I would like to fix all the problems, the car isn't worth the $ I would have to spend. Selling it this weekend for about $400. Overall this car was a blast to drive, very comfortable. Sporty, classy with a touch of luxury. It will be missed!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 170 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Classic 3800,
March 5, 2008
By FlyinBrian
from Brookfield, Ohio
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"1999 Monte Carlo Z34, 100,699 miles
I have owned the car since Spring 2003. I have not had to put a ton of money into the car yet. Seems as though the back brake rotors like to warp everyother year, buy the 2 yr warrenty, and take back. Transmission TCC started to slip. Deffect in the design. Changed the tranny fluid and added Lucas Tranny fluid, and stopped the problem almost entiirely. 3800 is a GREAT engine. Change the oil every 3000 and no problems. Surface rust has begun on driver side quarter panel above the plastic bumber. Great car, just make sure the tranny does not get really bad. That is a 1800-2500 dollar repair.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 171 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Great vehicle for young adult,
August 14, 2009
By Nate
from Tampa, FL
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Monte Carlo Z34 is a good design, good engine and transmission. Owning a Monte Carlo is an experience like owning a Mustang, Charger, Camaro or Firebird ect. You always feel like your car is one of the most capable and nicest looking on the road, it is a good feeling, especially if your Monte Carlo is taken care of. Nowadays finding a car with just about everything for a good price seems hard, but the Monte Carlo is sharp looking, pretty quick and interior wise, is pretty sleek. Alterations are something to look into as there is always ways to personalize your Z34 to your liking, be creative, you are adding onto a nicely designed vehicle suitable for any age or gender.
DISLIKES: Brake system is meteoker, sound system could have been better and different seatbelts."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 172 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Monte Carlo Mischief,
August 3, 2009
By Daddy88
from Indio, California
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"This 1999 Monte Carlo has the 3.1L Engine with 140K miles. Let me start by saying my a GM guy from a GM family. If you have to do work on this car, it's a nightmare! Thermostat replacement, wow that took four hours! Not to mention the battery location! The waterpump and alternator were relatively easy to access, but be ready for a task to remove additional parts to replace the defective one. The gas mileage is pretty good and she'll get up and go when you need her to! The trunk is huge and the back seat is nicely sized for a two door car. The door lock and window switches take a pretty bad beating from the sun along with the fabrics, but none have ripped yet! She's been a blessing to our family, but the hirer miliage has been a death sentence and she's ready for retirement."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 173 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
good car,
November 29, 2007
By Dee
from wichita, ks
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I bought this car used in 2002 (40,500 mi on it at the time) and didn't have any problems with it until last year where I had to replace the alternator and battery, brakes, intake manifold gasket TWICE(design flaw should have been a recall but I digress) but other than that, just normal wear and tear. I hope to drive it another 5 years."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 174 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
best vechile ever,
October 12, 2011
By ang
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:201390
ReviewOriginationID:a5e08df9-ef13-40cd-a9be-a7a8a6efedf6
"its smooth riding"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 1998
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 175 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
great car,
September 19, 2011
By linda
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:225000
What's great about this vehicle?:strong
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas guzzler
"good strong comfortable reliable car"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 1997
Review 176 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
worst car ever,
May 8, 2010
By fluffy
from lancaster, PA
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"This car is a nightmare, many many problems. Oil leaks everywhere, over heats, electrial problems. I fix one thing and something else breaks right away. Very hard to work on for anything. run away from this car dont walk."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 177 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
October 1, 2007
By Bob
from Buffalo,New York
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Bought vechile new and did all required maint and oil changes - Antifreeze into oil from leaky intake manifold@ 78000(common GM problem)- fixed$$$ then blown engine @ 85000 miles- Stearing radius too large poor linkage design - had engine replaced and am selling had enough - no love loss!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 178 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
worst motor ever made,
July 25, 2007
By wes
from IOWA
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"104,000 MILES AND THE 3400 MOTOR BLOWS A CAM APART AND THE WHOLE ENGINE IS NOW JUCK."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 179 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
gutless,
July 23, 2007
By snapper
from westmo, new york
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"3.4liter engine gutless my 3.1 beretta had more power, car rides good and seats are comfy overall not that bad, hard time trying to sell"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 180 for 1995 - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
JUNK,
September 7, 2007
By Froglady1961
from Columbus, ohio
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"bought a 1999 monte carlo for my 16 year old, it had 69,000 miles on it and I payed $5500 for it, the intake manifold seal has been replaced, the seal at the timing cover chain has been replaced, the drivers window is off track. Would like to run this car over a cliff....it has been much more trouble than it is worth"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.