Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala

Average Customer Rating:
8.26 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
823 of 942(87%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Review 21 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Fine Automobile,
January 4, 2008
By Slick
from Fargo, ND
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I purchased my 2006 Chevrolet Impala LT with 45,000 miles. Two days later the power steering hose needed to be replaced. Nothing out of the ordinary.
Ride: My in-laws have a Cadillac SRX. The Impala rides the same.
Styling: The styling is all I wanted in a sedan. It's sporty (I plan to buy chrome rims & new tires) and very economical.
Comfort: As others have said, the seats could be redesigned to hug the occupants. They are 'flat' and offer little comfort. Especially for long drives.
Performance: I traded in a '99 Pontiac Grand Prix that I thought was exciting to drive. However, the 3.1 engine in my Grand Prix holds no fun factor to the 3.5 engine in my Impala. The power is exceptional!
Quality: The interior of the Impala is very presentable. The medalian logo and the similated wood grain work well with the car. The factory stereo system sounds good and the controls are easy to change while driving.
Seating: I have three nine-year-old children and they ride in the back very nicely. I especially like the side impact air bags and the rear center seat - seat belt. Nice touch.
I'm happy with my purchase."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
One of the best cars I have ever owned.,
September 3, 2012
By Wes The News Guy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:172000
What's great about this vehicle?:23-30 mpg, comfort, convenience, durability,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Computer in radio, not interchangeable.
ReviewOriginationID:628e6b662a1d4f53b8ac70b09cf27374
"First, the icing on the cake is the 30-mpg on trips, 25 in town for a car of this size, comfort and convenience. I like lots of room. The split bench seat without console makes for more comfort and room. Fold down back seats allow for loading long cargo when necessary as well as opening for AC to reach electronics stored in the trunk.
Mechanically, this car has not given me any cause for concern in the three years I have owned it. Don't mix anti-freeze. It will turn to mud and engine will overheat. That happened to my 2001 Impala.
My first car was a full size Chevy. I have owned other cars, Ford, Toyota, Buick, Pontiac, Dodge, and Impala models '59 '65, '69, 72, 74, in my 50 years of driving. Only now I realize I keep going back to Impalas. A Cadillac or Lincoln might seem more luxurious, but expense of repair and fuel economy doesn't make it worth the difference in price. I am now shopping for my next and probably last Impala. I am now in my 60's. My 2003 still ran good until a Mustang lurched from its lair and bit off the front leg and shoulder (tire & wheel assembly). My insurance said its a total loss.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2003
13 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Too many problems with this car.,
October 14, 2013
By Alice
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
2
Definitely
Approximate mileage:184893
What's great about this vehicle?:Fast.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:High maintenance vehicle.
ReviewOriginationID:868091b27c044e69963a44b117db294f
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Impala
Vehicle ID:1918
"I bought the car with 153,000 miles on it. Within the first year, the car was great. I love the way it handled, it was fast, and the factory sound system was awesome. Then one day, as I was driving, I came to a complete stop for a red light, and it felt like the car jumped when I gave it gas. I found out that my transmission went bad. Then it started going haywire. The interior lights, power locks, and trunk would go on and off as I'm driving. I fixed the transmission which was $3,000, but I have not been able to fix the crazy lights and so on. I tried to replace the ignition to see if that would stop the craziness but it only made it worse. I used to be able to wiggle the key with the old ignition and it would stop. The new ignition does not allow me to wiggle the key, so I just have to deal with the power locks and lights going off. I had to disable my trunk button so that the trunk would not open as I'm driving. I've put so much money into this car and for what? A new catalytic converter, new O2 sensor, new transmission, new ignition, etc. I'm just tired of dumping money into this car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MD
Year 2003
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Make sure you look this car over before buying!,
October 26, 2010
By cmunley
from PA
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"My dad originally bought this car when it was fairly new. I then got it from my sister, and everything seemed to be alright with it for a year or so. I just had to get minor work done on it. I have replaced the wheel bearings 3 times in the past year and a half (which I was told that it was typical for this car, and it's a defect as it ages), had the blinker switch replaced twice(even know someone who had the same car, and had the same issue.). It heats up easily, and had to replace coolant in it many times. The fuel pump went, and now I need to get a new car, due to it being in such bad shape, it's too expensive for me to constantly maintain this car. Maybe it's just my experience, but I would definitely ask lots of questions and the history of this brand of car before buying it. It was a nice car, but I was told that the previous owner (before my dad and sister) may have done something to it that noone knew about until now. So, it goes through wheel bearings like candy. Again, ask questions, and make sure you know the issues with the car before buying it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Third Strike for GM,
December 28, 2008
By Rolf
from Michigan
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"Bought the car from a fleet sale -2 years old - well maintained, though high mileage (60K).
Within the first year had major brake work ($800), engine work ($900), fuel pump ($500), coolant system($500), heater blower quit ($200) - trans blew this past spring - did not repair ($3K est), plus the engine problem repaired before had developed again that would have cost another $800 (repair shop said this engine is FAMOUS for this problem when I got it fixed the first time - that it would happen over and over).
Third, and last GM car I will ever own (Strike Three!) - have a Ford Mustang bought new in 1980 that looks rough but runs like a top. Driving 2 Chrysler mini vans - 89 Voyager and 92 Caravan. Small repairs on all, as can be expected based on their age, but never any as crippling as the repairs needed on the Impala. It's sitting in the street today waiting to be donated - at least I'll get some kind of tax deduction for it! No resale value at all with a blown trans.
All three of the older vehicles MUCH more reliable (even now) than ANY GM car I've had."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Top Notch Performer,
July 19, 2008
By Senior
from Connecticut
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have a 2008 Impala LT 3.5 with 30k miles on it. I work as a salesman and get a new vehicle every year or two and the Impala is probably the best all around performer I've had in the last 10 cars. I traded from a Chrysler 300 Touring into this car and much prefer driving this car. I am averaging 32mpg in mainly highway driving. The sound system, AC, and general ergonomics are terrific. I'm 6'3" and my only major complaint is that you really can't fit adults in back if the front seats are all the way back. The trunk room is excellent and the seats are very comfortable. The only issue I've had is a "squeaky" headliner on hot days (over 90 degrees). Other than that, the car has been flawless. It's a nice car and I am going to buy it at the end of the company lease for my son in college. I would highly recommend this car as it combines decent room and quality with solid performance and very nice styling. I'm not a "GM" guy but this car has made me a believer that they are turning it around. Overall a very capable car that won't disappoint."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
GREAT CAR,
November 7, 2013
By CJ
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:216997
What's great about this vehicle?:comfortable, reliable, luxurious
What's not so great about this vehicle?:hideous steering wheel,
ReviewOriginationID:fc1d52d2243248cb972d3e4d26f4d384
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Impala
Vehicle ID:2064
"I have a 2005 Impala with the 3.8L V6 (it's the LS trim). I absolutely love this car. It's sporty, very luxurious, comfortable, and has unbelievable and unbeatable reliability (w/o going into the Honda market). I got my impala in 2011 and was only expecting to beat it thru winter (only reason I got it), but turned out I liked it so much, I kept it. My car (as of Nov 2013) has about 216,000 miles on it, and runs like it's fresh of the showroom floor. It's still in excellent condition (no dash cracking nor showing any signs of age or wear). My neighbor's boyfriend had one an 03 and it lasted him 10 years and then he bought a buick. but his impala had 427000 miles (YES, YOU READ THAT RIGHT 427K), he took it on several road trips and ran and still looked great (with very little rust on it) when he got rid of it (he just wanted a newer car). Bottom line, I would highly recommend this car. It's one of the most reliable American cars that I can possibly think of. All I can say is, buy one and you will NOT be disappointed."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2004
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Nice family sedan,
August 7, 2007
By Jandulio
from suburbs, Illinois
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my Impala LT September '06, and I love it. It's roomy, has all the creature comforts that I need, and is classy on the inside & out. GM's 100k powertrain warranty sealed the deal. In the past I have owned coupes, but I decided on a sedan after our 1st child. I looked at the accord & the camry, they were both nice, good F&F, comfortable, etc... but the dealers wouldn't BUDGE on the prices, like at all. I told them I would go to another dealer and get a better deal, nogo... so I went to my trusty GM dealer, told them I wanted it at invoice + rebates, and they said sure. I want them to make money, but at the same time I want to feel I got a good deal on the car. I paid $18k for a brand new LT with the traction control/ABS package, folding rear seats, and the chrome trim interior. The car looks great, feels great, and I feel I got a great deal for my money. I'd buy another in a heartbeat, but I plan on keeping this one until 200k miles (like our '96 blazer is now :)) Chevy, keep em coming!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 29 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
100,000 miles in 4 years,
April 17, 2010
By BostontoAustin
from Austin, TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I drove ALOT for work...this car has driven through blizzards with no problems always giving me a comfortable ride with plenty of power (3.4l)
Purchased an '05 in 2006 with 27k for $11k. I put 100k on it in 4 years all over New England on city streets and wide open highways. Great gas mileage, very reliable, VERY COMFORTABLE and ROOMY.
The only mechanical problems I had with this car was a bad instrument cluster ($300) which didn't affect use and a poorly designed shifter cable ($200) which broke and has subsequently been redesigned by GM. Also the O-ring around the ABS plug connecting to the wheel bearing wore away and caused my ABS to short out ($0.50 fix). For 100k miles I think this is acceptable.
I started having minor transmission slip after a transmission flush but it has since gone away. I wouldn't be surprised if it needs replacement after another 75k miles, but you can be sure I will be replacing it because this car was a steal when I bought it and has been worth every penny."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
It is best to shy away,
August 1, 2014
By TravMatt
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
What's great about this vehicle?:Impala reputation
What's not so great about this vehicle?:low-quality vehicle, unreliable
ReviewOriginationID:63a861a26037482c9bbce7f12d73d6c4
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Impala
Vehicle ID:2071
"I have recently been searching for a new car to replace my first car, and I have probably come across a dozen Chevrolet Impala's ranging from 2002 - 2005, and they have been consistently similar. I joke that I always liked Chevy's... until I could drive. I tried the Malibu's but nobody could sell them because they were recalled, and I tried the Impala's because of their reputation, but I was disappointed every time. I drove one with 97k miles on it, drove nice, until it hit an incline, then it was pedal to the floor, and only reaching 35 mph. With countless other occasions, the best one was when I met a nice honest man at a dealership (who turned me on to a 2004 Pontiac Vibe) stated he would not even try to sell their 2004 Chevrolet Impala to me (around 130k miles on it I believe) because it had too many problems with it, and it was just a piece of junk. I think it is best to shy away from any Chevrolet Impala around this make year, because the newer ones 2008-up seemed to be improved."
Ownership Status I don't own this car.
Location WY
Year 2004
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Safe, Reliable, and Tough!,
August 5, 2013
By Brandon
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great performance, Indestructible engine, Safe
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Plastic coolant hose defect
ReviewOriginationID:d3f5d22d12d2481294ddd4ecabbd0891
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Impala
Vehicle ID:252
"I have owned 2 Impala's in the past 4 years. My first one was a 2002 LS, and my current one is a 2005 LS with the sport appearance package. So far I have had no major issues with the powerful 3800 Series 2 engine, on both cars. My current one did have an issue with a plastic coolant hose that is located near the water pump. It cost 6 dollars and about a hour time to repair. Other then that the engine is basically indestructible. I love the response when accelerating and/or need power immediately. The powered and heated seats offer a lot of comfort. Leg room in the front and back is not a problem at all. The interior seems to have cheap plastics but that's really not a problem when it comes to the overall look and performance of the car. I feel safe in the car because of its safety features like On Star, Side air bags, and the overall "tough" feeling and stability of the car. Overall the car is a great buy and I plan on sticking with Chevrolet's Impala for many years to come!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2005
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great new look, but leaking head gasket...,
March 10, 2008
By JT
from Travesre City, MI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had this vehicle for just over a year now and it has been great. Recently I was changing my oil and noticed a build up of oil at the base of my engine. So I followed to oil trace up to discover that my intake manifold was leaking oil! I was a little shocked to see this! This car has been nothing but great to me thus far. So I took it into a GM Certified shop and they verified that it was in fact leaking. They also informed me that GM was investigating this problem on several other vehicles as well. If you already own one, remove the plastic cover on top of the engine and check to see if there is any oil leakin anywhere. If you are concidering buying one, keep on eye on it for the first year or so. From what I was told I am not the only Impala owner to have this happen. Other than that, this car has been the best vehicle I have ever owned. Great style, comfort, driving, and performance. Get 28 mpg highway avg. and around 20 city! Not bad for a V6 and a sedan this size!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2001 IMPALA,
September 9, 2009
By BIG RICH PHIL
from CUDAHY,WI
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"WE BOUGHT THIS USED IN 2002 WITH 12000 MILES
LETS SEE,THANK GOD FOR WARRANTY DIRECT
INTERMITTENT NO START,3 VISITS TO SHOP FOR NEW IGNITION SWITCH,STARTER,MODULES,ECT.
AND ONLY $300 DEDUCTIBLE FOR $1200 IN REPAIRS;THEN NO PROBLEMS FOR 3 YEARS
TRANSMISSION SEASED IN ALLEY,WHEEL NEARING,ENGINE GASKET;2000$ IN DEDUCT.AND EXTRAS TO GET A GM TRANS NOT REBUILT;THEN NEW BATTERY,DRIVERS WINDOW MOTOR $200,
9 MS LATER ANOTHER BATTERY,AGAIN
DRIVERS DOOR WINDOW TRACKS FOR AND PASSENGERS WINDOW RUSTED OUT,LOCK MECHANISMS,MISC
WOULD HAVE BEEN $1200;BUT ONLY $400
FOR "SHOP TESTING",THEN JUNKYARD PARTS
AND A GOOD FRIEND MECHANIC.
ALREADY STARTING TO HAVE SURFACE RUST
I MEAN COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE I GUESS
BUT ITS A BIG CAR .GREAT ON GAS AND WILL HIT YOU HARD WITH REPEAT PROBLEMS OCCASIONALLY,AND WE DID ALL THE MAINTENCE TO KEEP THIS UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY,AND THE TRANS STILL DROPS DEAD AT 80,000 MILES,WHEEL BEARING
MOAN MOAN,
I GUESS IT COULD AHVE BEEN WORSE
I DONT KNOW ANYMORE
SORRY GM
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
07 Impala SS,
August 10, 2007
By Johnboy
from Orlando, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Excellent car. I own a standard 07 LT Impala and a 07 Impala SS. Both vehicles are great. The SS obviously provides far more fun. The 303 hp aluminum block (detuned vet engine) is ready to go and emits a great sound from the pipes when pushed. Very reminiscent to my youth, but with drivability and safety we require today from cars. The backseat is a little tight for adults. The front seat passengers need to move their seats all the way the front to make room for rear passengers. The car rides extremely nice in city streets and highway. The active fuel management system helps and is virtually invisible to the driver. You have to look at the digital read out to see what mode you are driving in. Great car and very happy I own it, but I wish GM would have put a little more bling into the interior. The black SS stitched leather seats are beautiful and very comfortable. Fun car for under $25,000 that is capable of blowing away 90 % of the cars on everyday roads."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not the best car I have owned.,
September 23, 2014
By Charles
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
2
Definitely
Approximate mileage:230000
ReviewOriginationID:385b846cde7d41de9574eaac45ca023f
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Impala
Vehicle ID:3547
"2002 Impala bought used in 2008, had 94000 miles on it. I had the transmission fluid changed soon after. I'm always concerned about the transmission. It was a great car was getting at best 33 mpg. Almost all miles we put on it were highway, at 120000 miles the tranny expired, at 130000 new wheel bearings on left side, at 140000 new wheel bearings on right side. at 150000 new cooling fan motor and intake manifold. 170000 new rotors and i'm easy on the brakes. 200,000 new ignition switch. now at 230000 I.m told the tranny is slipping, and traction control is acting up and not allowing us to get down the street in the car without braking, grinding and groaning. The car is untrustworthy and undrivable, no it has not been abused and has been cared for at regular intervals. Aside from purchase price and regular maintenance , I have spent approximately $1000.00 in repairs yearly since our purchase. We like the car and how it drives but it is a money pit."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2002
5 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
It was okay at first...,
May 20, 2014
By Nikki
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
5
Definitely
Approximate mileage:165000
ReviewOriginationID:b6da76f720de488ca1340e9e5b8057e9
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Impala
Vehicle ID:1918
"I bought this car a few years ago with about 140,000 miles on it. It started off great, but after the first year I had it things started to go bad. At first it was minor things like new tires, new battery, but then I started having problems with the security lock and I'd be stranded in a parking lot for about a good 15 minutes until the security lock was up. I also began to have problems with the A/C. I believe I had to get that fixed twice within a year of both times. Then the coolant started leaking. I've had to take it in at least 3-4 times to get the leaks fixed and eventually the prices started to pile up too high that now I'm looking for a more reliable car. On the other hand it is spacious and does have a comfortable interior as well as a decent trunk space, but other than that it's been nothing but one big money guzzler for me. Maybe I just got the black sheep of the Impalas. All I know is that I would hesitate to get another one."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2003
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I would buy 18 of these,
February 20, 2012
By Stephthegirl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:190000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable. Safe. Beastly.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage has gone from avg. to poor over time.
ReviewOriginationID:c4198974-5695-4531-b110-71e7c8d8db62
"I bought this car used. It already had 160,000 miles on it (mostly highway miles--I know the previous owner). I have had it for four years and it is now an 11 year old vehicle. Outside of normal wear and tear/maintenance (oil changes, replacing worn break pads) I have put exactly $60 into this car. I replaced the resonator which had a hole in it and had gotten very loud over a long period of time. The car's performance has been phenomenal. I have never had a problem with it that did not allow me to drive it. It has had minor electrical problems--but considering the age of the car and the price I paid for it, I'm not worried about those kinds of things. The point is, if you are looking for reliability, safety, durability and endurance, this is your car. The thing is a tank. It thinks it is a truck in the snow. It will win in a fight with any other car. I would joust in this thing. Incredible. Superior. Runs like a dream. LOVE THIS CAR!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2001
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love my Impala,
April 13, 2010
By lovingreen
from Madison, WI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my Impala used and have had it for 2 years now. I originally bought the car because I liked how it was styled and it was a larger car. I have grown to love my car so much that I'm almost in tears now that I have to get a minivan or suv to fit my entire family. The car is staying in family, since my parents love the car after borrowing it a few times. I love how roomy it is and how easy it is to drive. This car is so easy to get used to driving- the moment you sit it you feel comfortable. The only thing I did not like about the car is that I accidentally scratched some of the paint on the knobs and it is now kind of peeling of and doesn't look so great. But that was more my fault than anything, and I'm just sad to see my car look anything but great. I highly recommend the impala to anyone who is looking for a reliable, stylish, and affordable car. I have never had to get anything replaced or fixed on the vehicle. Go Chevy!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Looked 3 yrs. love fld dwn bck st grt value,
November 19, 2014
By David
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:220000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun, Fld Seat, sunroof, 5 persn, Ok MPG,Reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Frnt drs closing, location of Pwr Strg Fluids
ReviewOriginationID:593b374331c04710a8c4553ee9c118c9
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Impala
Vehicle ID:1923
"From studying this vehicle and others in its class, I can say that the 3.4L didn't hold up as well. They got 130K-160K. My 3.8L is going strong at 220,000. It's comfortable, handles pretty well, holds a ton of stuff including 16 ft. wooden boards.
Weaknesses are an annoying noise inside cabin, front doors that don't stay in place on a hill and close on you, a bit of static electricity and back safety belts that over-tighten. Only mechanical issues in 220k include power steering (in part because PS dipstick is located in an impossible location) and Water Pump.
Just got 4th set of breaks and 4th set of tires. Ready for tune-up #2. Love my sunroof, love the touch dials although the paint wore off. I love the storage in the vehicle. Power connect in the front is poorly placed. Very easy to spill into the car. Yes, I've done it several times. The pick up of the 3.8L is a tad slow but to be expected for gas saving. Average 23.5 MPG."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2000 - 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Vehicle I've Ever Owned.,
September 19, 2009
By Jeff64
from Green Bay, WI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. My 2001 Impala has 89,000 miles. I bought it in 2004 when it had only 17,000 miles on it. This car has been very reliable for me the last 5 years. Other than tires, I've replaced the battery, thermostat, rear shocks, and alternator. Not bad for an 8-year old car. The only rust on the car is a 2-inch section of surface rust just now showing up in the left rear inside door on the tire hump. I love this car!! The 3.8 liter engine is extremely quiet, yet just a touch on the gas pedal sends this car rocketing down the highway. The AM/FM stereo with cassette and CD players is so powerful, it makes my 16-year old son JEALOUS! There are so many switches, buttons and controls, the interior lights up like an airplane cockpit at night. This car still turns heads, and the paintjob still shines. I faithfully change the oil every 2500 miles, and the car is garaged. One of GM's finest achievements."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.