Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala

Average Customer Rating:
8.476 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
455 of 515(88%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Review 21 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Car I've Ever Owned,
July 25, 2007
By KBuzz
from Indiana
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've had my 2001 Impala LS since I bought it new, and have put over 120,000 miles on it. Hands down, this is the best, most reliable, most comfortable vehicle I've ever owned. Not only is it roomy enough for a big guy like me (6-1, 350), but the V6 3800 has the power I need when I need it, while still delivering over 23 MPG in combined city/country driving. The MPG has been consistently strong, averaging 23.2 over the life of the car, and 23.9 over the last 15,000 miles I've driven.
The car has used nothing but synthetic oil since day 1, and I have to believe that the engine performance and lack of wear-and-tear has to be due (in a large part) to the decision to spend a little more on oil. In the long run, I've probably saved hundreds or thousands of dollars in repair bills.
Except for replacing the Catalytic Converter at 92,000 miles, my Impala has been solid as a rock with no failures or other replacements. Just remember to stick to the manufacturer's recommended maintenance schedule (Air Filter every 15K miles, Fuel Filter every 30K, Transaxle every 50K, Drive Belt every 60K, Fuel Injectors, Cooling System Flush, Plugs and Wires every 100K), and change the oil when the engine asks for it (approx every 7K) and you'll be fine."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best auto ever,
July 25, 2007
By Jack
from Huntsville, TX
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Rides well, Smooth engine. Sufficient performance. Smart design. Outstanding, even unbelievable mileage for a full sized car. Who needs a compact?"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
02 Impala / Good Value,
July 25, 2007
By Very Happy
from NW Ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We bought our Impala new in the fall of 01 and overall my wife and I have been very happy with the car. It has plenty of room and I am not a small guy. It also handles very well and is a comfortable ride. We have the 3.4 V-6 and get 30 miles on the highway. We hope to have this car for a few more years and then will probably get another Impala. So far so good going on 6 years!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love my Impala,
July 25, 2007
By ELB
from Austin, TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Not the car I would have chosen for myself at age 19, but it was given to me and it has been a wonderful car. It has been reliable, never died on me. Plenty of room for tall passengers, both in the front and the back. Trunk is huge. Car is comfy. Love my car!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Solid City/Highway vehicle!,
July 28, 2007
By Satisfied Impala owner
from Kansas City, MO
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I highly recommend the Chevy Impala 2004 for anyone who desires comfort, class, and muscle. With 27 mpg in the city and 33 mpg on the highway,* this full-size sedan is the king in its class.
*Under ideal conditions with minimal starts/stops."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 26 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great car,
July 28, 2007
By Big D
from Topeka
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Nice car....Bought it new with no problems at this time. I would buy another Impala, but at a different dealership than here in Topeka. Not the most honest financial people to do business with."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 27 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good to go,
July 30, 2007
By ultiplayer
from NC
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We bought our Impaler new in '01 and have had only one issue- the engine started losing coolant and the mechanic said it was a common problem with a gasket. Other than that, it has been a real trooper."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 28 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
saved my life,
July 31, 2007
By happy
from Wheaton, MD
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I had a 2003 impala prior to having my 2005 and it saved my daughters and my life when a man ran a red light and t-boned my car and flippled us over. because of all safety precausions that are made with this car, we were able to walk away with only a few scratches from broken glass. love this car so much that i replaced it with the 2005 a few days later."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love this car,
July 31, 2007
By sportyma
from Kansas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I love my Impala. We had it in the shop for a couple of weeks and we had a Dodge Charger for a rental. i hated the Charger. Our Impala had so much more power and a smoother ride and better handling. I don't want to give up my Impala for anything."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car,
August 1, 2007
By madanthony
from In.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I love it! It is a great Car!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 31 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I hope this doesn't jinx me...,
August 2, 2007
By 'Pala Balla
from Los Angeles, CA (via Detroit)
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This car was purchased a little over two years ago with 60,000 miles from it's previous use as a properly maintained company car. I had some concerns when I heard rumors about a faulty brake rotor design while researching my purchase, but this was too good of a deal to pass up. I've put on 45,000 miles as an outside sales rep, including a cross country drive from Detroit,MI to LA,CA. For those of you that doubt American engineering, especially in the reliability realm, all I can say is, this is one SOLID vehicle. Still handles great, nice smooth ride, and I've done only the proper maintenance. I also get a lot of compliments and incredulous looks when I tell them how old it is (due to it's classic, subtle style).
It will be a sad day when my beloved Paula dies (which I don't see happening for at least another 80,000 miles), but until then...I love my car!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
August 4, 2007
By Cruiser
from Columbia City, IN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We have really enjoyed driving this vehicle and highway fuel usage is around 29 mpg."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 33 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Quality and Value,
August 6, 2007
By Matt
from Detroit, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have over 90,000 miles on my '03 Impala and besides routine maintenance, she still runs great. I like the huge trunk (holds 4 golf bags easily) and the smooth ride. It has good power and very respectable gas mileage (over 30 on highway)."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Fantastic Car!,
August 6, 2007
By luv_my_chevy
from Chicago, IL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I am a very tall individual and this car is great for leg room. Every time that I think I need a new car I can never justify it because my impala is so nice. It performs well and has a very smooth ride. And the trunk room is outstanding... it holds everything. With over 80k miles on it I haven't had any major maintenance work on it yet. When the time comes I will probably replace it with the same thing because this car has been so reliable. Also it handles well in the chicago winters."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
August 9, 2007
By a
from Mpls, MN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"It has been very reliable for us. It is very roomy, with a large trunk and fold down rear seats for hauling. It looks good, too. We have never had mechanical issues with the car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
A "value" car with weak quality,
August 9, 2007
By Ex-Impala owner
from Colorado
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Bought an '00 in July '99, shortly after their introduction. A base, but with all the options (wanted the bench front seat, which was not available with the LS). Huge discount due to GM card, plus getting sub-invoice pricing. Effectively $17k with taxes for a $24.5k MSRP car.
It was a good value. Big, reasonably comfortable, safe. Lots of quality issues along the way. Many electrical issues, the common passenger side vent leak (fixed after warranty -- $600 + for replacement fan and rheostat). But even with repairs still was a good value.
But @ 8 years and 80k miles I can no longer trust it. Rattles, steering suddenly getting vague and clunky, and intermittent stalls -- even after two repairs following long diagnoses by Chevy experts. This car has had it.
Would NOT recommend as a used car for anyone."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very nice car,
August 10, 2007
By Gee
from Otis, CO
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"As a 16 year old i love this car, i am 6'5" and there is plenty of room for me in the front seat and still a lot of room in the back seat with me in the front. Heated leather seats are very nice and the sound system is great for being factory installed. I drive a lot of dirt roads and it handles exceptionaly well for being a car, and having driven trucks all the time before that i wasn't sure of having a car on the dirt, but it works great. I have 108,500 miles on it and it still runs fantastic. I would recommend this car to anyone who is tall and looking for a big, safe, and fun car to drive!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One great car,
August 11, 2007
By Jacko
from Michigan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We own a 2004 Imapla and we love it. We love the roomy back seat area, we love the body style and we love it being a Chevy! We right now are looking for another 2004/2005 Impala with low miles. We like this body style better than the 2006 up."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Can't Live without it!,
August 12, 2007
By Can't Live without it!
from Washington, DC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I previously owned a 2000 Impala (base package) which was great on gas and had over 72k miles on it.Witch regular maintenance, I'm sure it would have lasted for many more years. Unfortunately, another car ran into me head on and my car was tottaled. It saved my life. I waled away from that crash without a scratch on my body. The other car ran into me head on at 60+ miles an hour. The paramedics were in disbeliefe when I told them I was fine (looking at my car you would have thought I was roadkill). They flew me to the Trauma center when they too were in disbeliefe but soon realized that NOTHING was wrong with me. I replaced my baby with a 2004 Impala SS that is everything you could ask for. I know it will save my life again if needed. It's stylish, good on gas, has great power and steering and will hopefully last for years to come. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 1994 - 1996 Chevrolet Impala
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great car, but...,
August 12, 2007
By Tony
from Tennessee
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this car new. I'm sold on the comfort and excellent fuel economy. There are two things that sour the whole experience however: it fails to start at times (Passlock system) and I have to wait 10 minutes minimum before it will crank. And the other day, it started running like it had a potato up the tailpipe. Am scheduled to have the dealer test the catalytic converter next week. There is a TSB on this problem which extends the warranty on the catalytic to 10 yrs/120K miles. Other than that, it's been a solid car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.