Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica

Average Customer Rating:
7.692 out of 10
7.7
 out of 
10
111 of 130(85%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Review 21 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
hey,
January 5, 2008
By slim jim
from Milwaukee Wi
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I bought a 96 with 78k on it and sold it with 110k on it. During the time I owned it I had to spend $900 to fix an antifreeze leak. The alternator also went bad and it needed a new exhaust system. I sold it when the transmission started to slip in overdrive and the service engine soon light was on all the time. It also didn't run as smooth as when I bought it. I think I made a good decision to get rid of it when I did and I would not buy another one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
November 14, 2007
By me
from chicago, il
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought the 19993 corsica for $650 as a work car in 2004. At the time all my friends thought it was a joke, 3 years later and the car was still going with a minimal amount of money put into it, and everyone I know is amazed with that car. It's not flashy, stylish, and fast, but I would recommend a Corsica to anyone looking for a reliable economy car or someone that's on a budget"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
October 7, 2007
By RTD
from Catonsville, MD
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought it in 1998 with 19,000 miles on it. It has been a very dependable vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
best motor pound for pound,
September 3, 2007
By larsman66
from Hart, MI
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"this car might not be best looking but the 3.1 is the best motor ever. mine's got 211000 miles on it and it still runs like it's brand new. strong too... a very under rated vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love it want them back!,
May 1, 2010
By chevy rules
from minburn, ia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i paid $900 for the car with 100,000 miles flat now with 116,000. i have drivn this car hard. and now finnaly starting to fall apart its a 1994 though...so....its ben a good car to me. the only cars i have had that havn't put me on the side of the road are my corsica's i love this things...ive had the 3.1 and the 2.2...i likem both lots of power for a 4 banger...but miss the 3.1 v-6 rumble...lol"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Solid Car,
April 8, 2010
By Joe Mama
from Willmar, MN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"My Corsica has 196,000 miles on the original 2.2 4 cyl engine and transmission and it still gets a solid 30 mpg. Everything still works including the cruise and AC. The only flaw of the Corsica which I see in alot of them is the paint is poor and flakes off. Other than that a good solid body, no rust even after 14 years of Minnesota Winters."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great,
October 11, 2009
By Yankee
from PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have a 90 corsica. it is now 2009 and ive had this car for only a year..it had 77K on it when i bought it now has 95K. i have had to about a grand into it, brakes and such...but it runs strong, starts everytime. ive drivin from PA to chicago and back a few times. no trouble! best car ive had so far!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best $500 I ever spent on a used car!,
February 19, 2009
By Ms T
from Croswell, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This has been a love/hate relationship as my beautiful Hyundai Sonata 3.9 turbo custom So Cal car got repo'd in June 2008. I needed reliable transportation and QUICK! $400 for title, $100 in new tires. Long story shortened;This is one FAST car as is and that's the ONLY consideration-keeping within the speed limit. MINIMAL maintenance required (oil changes, tire rotations, etc), this is the vehicle you want for your kids in college or your spouse to fetch groceries and children in. Confidently drives over long and short distances; ice, snow and beaches alike. Gas mileage could improve with some major bumper to bumper rubber/seal maintenance (after all it IS 14 years old). In the eight months I've had it, not ONE problem. I HIGHLY recommend this as a winter-land "family" car. (Aside; Windshield wipers: Previous owners replaced blades with incorrect size therefore stripped "knuckle" on passenger side wsw motor=$40 fix)."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
VERY Happy Corsica Owner!!,
August 3, 2008
By GirlieK
from NJ
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my Chevy (4 cylinder, 2.2) in 2006 with 129,000 miles on it.I read some reviews how horrible the paint is(chips off) on these cars. NOT ONE paint issue with mine. It will need front suspension work very soon and maybe some front brakes. At times, I've let her just sit, being she's my 2nd car, like a back-up for an emergency. Parts I've replaced in over 2 years: water pump, serpentine belt, new Die hard battery, driver side cv joint, new windshield, starter, and rear wheel cylinder. I LOVE the (4) Goodyear tires!! They'll last darn near forever! Could use a tire rotation, whereas the rear tires look almost brand new. It also needs motor mounts. Was diagnosed. That will take care of the vibration at idle (traffic lights). I put it in neutral and it smooths right out. GREAT on gas and for a 4 cylinder, has TONS of power!!! Love the comfy seats all around and even though it's quite a bumpy ride over the bumps and potholes, she drives real smooth down the road!! TO ALL CAR OWNERS: KEEP UP with the regular, routine maintenance on these cars, such as ALL fluid levels and conditions!! Always change oil/filter EVERY 3,000 miles!!! It'll pay you back big time!!! Some disadvantages: no cruise control, no cassette, and too far of a reach for the radio and a/c/heater control knobs. Love the car otherwise!!! VERY highly recommended to anyone in need of cheap, ultra-reliable transportation!! Corsicas ROCK!!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
November 11, 2007
By mburg
from miamisburg, oh
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"bought from cousin at 140,000 miles, still runs great, no major problems."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
nice family car,
November 7, 2007
By mikey
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"very depenable very comfy"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
good car,
October 2, 2007
By caleb
from interlachen fl
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"very good reliability and preformance."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
good car,
September 23, 2007
By anon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"reliable even at its old age- had mine for over a year now and it runs great. minimum maintenance considering its age"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Vehicle Ever,
August 20, 2007
By corsicamister
from 04662
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"my knobs broke too!! but i fear at 170000 miles if i do not write a kind review the corsica will exact its revenge"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Best miles for the buck,
January 21, 2008
By Rockyman
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my 1995 Corsica (Cory) with 110,000 miles on it. Changed the oil every 3000 milles; 65% Highway miles; 30% county roads; 5% mud/gravel roads; overhauled transmission at 175,000; replaced alternator, belts, radiator, and air conditioner .. twice; rarely washed it cuz I was afraid the paint might continue to flake off; consistant 31 mpg; remains a nice quiet cruise at 70+ mph; been a nice work-car with a current mileage of 350,254 miles. There will be a party when this ole (Cory) quits. Until then. I can't conplain much."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
ATTN Chevrolet: Make more like these,
July 26, 2007
By wheels84
from Palmyra, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This car is great! 11 years old. 193000mi. No major repairs needed yet. Slow coolant leak and possibly new thermostat soon. heater knobs also broke easily. biggest beef - when I had to replace the drivebelt had to work around engine mount...however was only my first one. had to have a mechanic take care of it. Hope I find a thousand more just like it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Corsica Fan,
May 10, 2008
By tess
from Tyler, TX
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my 1995 Corsica before I headed off to college with 34,000 miles. Now I'm 30 and still driving it....not out of necessity, but by choice. It has 169,000 miles on it and is one of the most comfortable and powerful cars (for the price) I have driven.
The only problem are the coils and ignition wires, which have gone bad on me twice. This last repair was pretty spendy ($750). Apparently, there was a manufacturing problem with these wires and this problem is common. However, the first time this happened was with about 40,000 miles and I haven't had any problems with it until now. I hope to drive mine for a few more years.
Unlike some of the reviews I've read, my paint job looks brand new when I get it washed. About 30 mpg on the highway.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Surprises Me Day After Day,
January 14, 2008
By Brian in Boise
from Boise, ID
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Bought this car sight unseen from a co-worker at lunch one day for $300. It needed a fuel pump and I had never owned a sedan. That was six years and over 50k miles ago. It has 168k miles on it and seems to still have a lot of life in it.
In the time we've had it, we've had minor mechanical repairs including the fuel pump. water pump, alternator, cooling fan, and several coolant leaks. This may sound like a lot, but I owned it from 115k to 168k miles, a period when most cars die completely.
Here's what I don't like. even though I rated the car high in reliability, I rated it low in quality. All of the paint peeled off. The interior has a lot of pieces that rattle or are loose. The upholstery didn't hold up well. All of the seats have seat covers.
Here's what I love about the car: 1) The 3.1L gas has lots of get up and go. Passing, merging, and driving winding roads to go skiing are no trouble. 2) Fuel economy is great with 20 in town and 28 on the highway at 70-75mph. 3) Cold A/C! 4) SUPER COMFORTABLE SEATS! 5) Really big trunk. 6) I can always trust the car to take me where I'm going no matter how far it is or how hot or cold the weather may be. It will start when it is 10 below in north Idaho and won't overheat in traffic in 105 deg in Boise.
My wife and I just bought a new Inifiniti and we had every intention of selling the Corsica. It didn't pass emissions and I have been working on it. Every time I get behind the wheel to test drive it I don't want to sell it. This car is so much more comfortable that my new luxury car!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
The Boat,
November 19, 2007
By Skinnycraig
from Minnesota
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"At 180,000 miles it rides like a boat. I refuse to spend money to replace the struts so i just pretend she's a speed boat when it starts to bob up and down on the freeway.
If you weigh the gas mileage, reliability, and cost of ownership, this is the single best vehicle in the world. My goal is 225,000 before i give it to some lucky person. Oh, i started an experiement about 20,000 miles ago. I am not going to change oil until it dies. I'll add oil to get er up to the line, but never gonna change it again, this car don't need it.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 1987 - 1996 Chevrolet Corsica
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great used Car,
July 31, 2007
By Keith
from Salem, Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I own a 96, and my friend owns a 92. The only work I have had to do in 4 years is a water pump, battery, intake gasket, and at 140K mi a transmission. The V6 is pretty balsy, and has great torque output for a transverse engine/tranny setup. Car governs out at 113mph. TXV & scroll compressor A/C system keeps you super cool even in mid summer, has under-seat vents to keep back passengers feet cold/hot. Only downside is that legroom is lacking in the back due to seat design. I get anywhere from 18-24 mpg, depending on how heavy my foot is. Overall this is a great car, I almost bought one for my wife the other day. I would reccomend to anyone who is looking for a good car on a budget."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.