Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado

Average Customer Rating:
7.794 out of 10
7.8
 out of 
10
772 of 929(83%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Review 441 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Very Practical,
June 4, 2012
By Accidental Gentleman
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:85000
What's great about this vehicle?:Most everything
What's not so great about this vehicle?:turning radius is horrible
ReviewOriginationID:3ca0e904b5c04956a5bc5ffc82f1f005
"Fits more than 2 people comfortably. The truck is small enough to park anywhere really. Heated seats are always nice when you have leather interior. Can tow up to 2,000 lbs which is jet ski's, medium boat, and trailer.
Only downfall to this vehicle I have noticed in the 2 years I have drove it is the turning radius is horrible. If you can live with that then this is the vehicle for you."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IA
Year 2006
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 442 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
I would buy one,
April 8, 2012
By CRP
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:40000
What's great about this vehicle?:Good power, looks good, sounds great
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not too comfortable, gas millage
ReviewOriginationID:db2c9ef3f0074446ab29816ba39d5517
"My father bought this last year when he traded in his Cobalt. He wanted a 4x4 pickup but did not want a gas guzzling V8. I wanted him to look at a Toyota but he saw this and liked it. It is a very nice looking truck inside and out. Not the most comfortable vehicle to drive, my legs start to hurt after about 30 minutes. The inline 5 cylinder has a little more power than I thought it would and the exhaust sounds really nice. The doors on the extended cab are a nice feature too. I rated the value low because he paid too much for the truck. He paid $23K for the truck, 3 or 4 thousand too much. With only 40,000 miles on it I cant speak for the reliability either. Also we have not driven it in snow yet as this winter was very mild. I will say the gas millage is worse than I would have expected. I still would have rather seen him buy a Toyota but all in all a pretty nice truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 443 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good on gas, very little problem,
February 13, 2012
By Ray
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:125000
What's great about this vehicle?:gas savor, suspension, durable,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:interior, i didn't get a 4WD
ReviewOriginationID:81046a0d-eddc-4dc2-ab95-94e5552a4f61
"I have had this truck since 2007 used, and has been reliable, with only a about 2 recalls, i can't remember it had to do something with the lighting system, explains why I was always changing my signal lights. Besides that transmission, engine, main electronics have never gone out, only trouble would be with the map sensor.
Been off-roading and performs well for only being 2wd,
interior could have been better designed...
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2005
Review 444 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Look over the vehicle before make your desicion,
February 13, 2012
By bubba
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:35000
What's great about this vehicle?:fair price (depending on market ) fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not driver friendly on inside
ReviewOriginationID:e770cd66-2913-4dc6-9260-31a35cecdb75
"There are many of good qualities to the truck it self but for driving comforts not so much while there are plenty of cup holders there are no ( just on the doors) arm rests if you had the full bench seating, i personally own the 2,8 liter model automatic trans . and the power the truck has for the model size . and is fun to drive ...."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2006
Review 445 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
04 z71 4x4,
January 13, 2012
By Colorado K
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:65201
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, 4x4 is great, gas mileage for truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Interior components (plastic)
ReviewOriginationID:d9a402ab-507f-4512-84a5-af2d2248b243
"Bought this truck with mediocre expectations, heard a lot of good things, and bad things about them. I have been nothing but impressed, love this truck. The 4x4 z71 is awesome, gets me ANYWHERE i need to go, gas mileage is good, about 17 city 21 highway, and thats driving aggressive. I installed an aftermarket exhaust system and it really makes that 3.5 5cyl motor sound a lot stronger and meaner, although this motor is no joke, i have plenty of power and regularly tow a 3500 pound camper with ease."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MA
Year 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 446 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Tough reliable truck,
December 29, 2011
By Jim
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:112000
What's great about this vehicle?:Tough, reliable multi-purpose truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Fan motors bad. Orig battery was junk
ReviewOriginationID:c64eff19-396c-4762-803c-3a24f9611e5e
"I use this truck for commuting to work, towing a boat and going off road to hauk wood. Only problems have been with f an motor and original battery."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 447 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great truck; Only selling to upgrade to fullsize,
December 12, 2011
By Dad Colorado
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:61430
What's great about this vehicle?:gas mileage, engine, reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:parking; turning radius; seats
ReviewOriginationID:935e743b-8b33-4cc0-b3bd-86c7eefdd3ac
"This is a great truck. The 5 cy engine is a nice engine. Gas mileage was good for a truck. The turing radius was not good. It was worse than my Trailblazer. The truck was hard to park for a small truck. It drove good in the snow. The 4x4 selector was easy to accidentally press. This put you in 4-wheel drive inadvertently. The bucket seats are ok but they do not provide much side support. We are only selling this truck because we upgraded to a Silverado. I would definitely recommend this truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 448 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
really good value and a pretty decent truck,
December 11, 2011
By Jeff T.
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:162000
What's great about this vehicle?:works hard for size and engine, good fuel economy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not the most comfortable interior configuration
ReviewOriginationID:5ad717cb-543e-4581-aa3e-8b334ce073e0
"I've had this truck for 5 years, and put quite a few miles on it. It has been relatively trouble free until the last few months when it has needed a lot of the wear and tear stuff repaired or replaced. Brakes on this vehicle are especially expensive compared to other vehicles in its class, and some of the electrical issues have been more expensive than I thought they would be. However, overall, not a bad truck for the money, and worked harder for me than most people said it would. I would buy it again, but I am ready for "more truck". This one will be passed down to the next driver in the family, we are certainly not done with it yet. But it is time for Colorado "golden years"...she's earned it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2007
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 449 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Ol' Truck,
December 10, 2011
By ORColorado
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:69000
ReviewOriginationID:07628f65-b34c-4f3b-b5c3-6963c68747a4
"This has been a very good truck and I have had no issues to date. Not quite as nice as my Tacoma but still a good value in the mid-size truck market if you are looking. I would buy another but would opt for the quad cab 4 door with my growing family. With the z71 off road package it does great off road and is smooth on the highway."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 450 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
I bought this new in 2005,
December 4, 2011
By steveloveshunting
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:54000
ReviewOriginationID:5462c61d-68fc-467d-9632-6f564ab47581
"2005 chevy colorado 4x4 3.5 cylinders,, great running truck maintence free and no problems what so ever I would tell everyone out their to buy this type of truck great gas mileage and great in the snow if I would to see this I would sell it around 12000.00 Thanks Steve"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MD
Year 2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 451 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
I have the 04 ZQ8 Regular Cab.,
October 31, 2011
By SaltyDogg
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:91000
What's great about this vehicle?:Looks Awesome
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Made for a bachelor - two seater
ReviewOriginationID:67e6cc38-2969-40ca-8aad-84a60729bab8
"Truck Looks awesome but isn't really functional. The ZQ8 model limits the truck bed use, and I usually slam the rear of the truck coming off a slope. The wide tires and light rear end make it a challenge to drive in the snow. The traction control usually kicks in and leaves you stranded on a snowy hill. The truck handles great on dry roads. It drives like it should be raced.
So far I have had to replace the wiper motor, wheel hub and ABS sensor, O2 sensor, catalytic converter, battery, serpentine belt, and there was a factory recall on the engine where they replaced some small part inside. The truck is currently at 91K."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location RI
Year 2004
Review 452 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Awesome for a compact truck,
October 13, 2011
By Big Bob
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:86000
ReviewOriginationID:c05dce73-effd-40db-b80e-f100423157d1
"Very few problems in 7.5 yrs and 86,000 miles."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2004
Review 453 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Dependable,
September 4, 2011
By Rich
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:155000
What's great about this vehicle?:Plenty of room at an affordable price.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:turning radius!
"With 155,000 miles, I have had no major problems. I do have a malfunction with the heater blower. Not that bad. I have had to deal with rusting around the window trim. I have had it profesionally touched up twice now. Handles well in heavy snow with good quality tires. Average 19 - 20 mpg overall."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2005
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 454 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great handlling little truck,
April 29, 2011
By jinks
from va
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"The extrem is great for the money good on gas and as for a long trip its a good ride not bumpy like a full size truck id buy another one"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 455 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good overall truck,
March 31, 2011
By cowboy
from Huntsville AL
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Very good truck overall. I will start with issues i want all other 2004 modle owners to know about. If you have compression issuees IE stuttering bad idle and starting issues. Be advised there are some tech notes at the dealerships to get these fixed. Do not go to a non deal mechanic as they wont know about them, they arent recalls. The dealers have notices and there were known issues that if you have them can have your heads redone and computer brain replaced, if they fall in those guidelines. so be sure and ask your dealer service writers. I don't know if there was a mileage or time limit, but ask can't hurt.
Other then that i have loved the truck and heck most of the issues they paid for so i haven't paid out any exorbatent repair bills.
Not sure how they pull a max load but a 2500 pound popup fully loaded was like pulling air, even uphill. If this lasts as long as my old workhorse ford range did I will be super happy, it still has 10 years to reach that milestone so fingers crossed.
Dont ask me why after having a super great FOrd truck experience i bought a chevy, cuz i couldn't tell ya. I am so far glad i did, but time will tell."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 456 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great Basic Truck,
March 25, 2011
By GEOFF
from FL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have owned alot of trucks over the years. The truck before this was a full-size. I love the smaller yet still capable size of this truck. I have the I-5 engine with at almost 250 hp and Tq makes plenty of power for most people. Great looking exterior but the interior is very plain and basic. But its also alot cheaper than its foreign competitors. Its a shame GM has forgotten and abandoned this truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 457 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
February 21, 2011
By Danimal
from Dayton, OH
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Expensive and poor cornering ability. But more than makes up for these in reliability, utility, and MPG. Never any service other than maintenance."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 458 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
KEEPS ON KEEPIN ON,
February 17, 2011
By benh
from colorado
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i bought this 2004 colorado reg cab 4wd in 08, i have had a few problems with this truck but nothing that costs too much to fix it gets great milage and the 4wd and the short wheel base make it ideal for offroading. the styling is great and the ride comfort was average. power is great i have the 4cyl 5speed. i would recomend this vehicle to anyone it takes a beating and i am not afraid to give it one"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 459 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Chevy colorado,
January 25, 2011
By color radio man
from Broken Arrow Ok
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had my 05' colorado for 7 months now and have had a few issues with it that my old ford neve gave me and i put 200000 miles on it. Like after the first month the ign switch malfunctioned and kept comeing on and running the battery dead. I replaced and re programed it, good to go. I really hate where the 4x4 buttons are, I accidently drove from Galveston Tx to Fort Worth in 4x4 and burned up the trans oil... Also the alignment just started wearing the tires wrong and kept getting worse and worse.... too much wear on the steering componets for such a low mileage truck. The 4x4 and rear diff locker is awesome truck gets around in snow and ice really well. 5 cylinder vibrates alittle at idle but has way more power than I thought it would. Fuel mileage is 18 around town and 21 hwy. Hope this helps you decide what to buy, i told you every thing i have found wrong and over all its a great buy, holds good resale value too."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 460 for 2004 - 2012 Chevrolet Colorado
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
04 Colorado,
January 18, 2011
By Devkett
from Mason, MI
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought mine new in 04. If I had it to do over again, I would have gotten a full size pickup. They cost almost the same and I never have seen the fuel savings that the sticker promised. It's a pretty rough ride, and any aftermarket items are a pain with this model. That being said, it has been very reliable with 139k. Since it's paid off, I plan on keeping it for a long time."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.