Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier

Average Customer Rating:
8.325 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
187 of 203(92%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Review 81 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A+ car,
August 28, 2008
By miller
from bluntsville
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've driven many different cavaliers, and know alot of people who own them. I've got 2 of them, and never had a problem, besides a bad alternator. None of My friends have had a problem with theres either. A good bang for Your buck!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great little cars!,
August 10, 2008
By Franky
from jbody heaven
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've owned several cavaliers. I still own 3 to this day. Two of them are the Z24 models. I have never had problems with any of the 5 I've had. The only reason I don't have 2 of them anymore is due to bad drivers who wrecked Me. The z24 models are nice because they are pretty powerful engines in them, and the cars don't weigh much so it keeps up with the big dogs. The 4 cylinders are good on gas and reliable! I have honestly never had to do any maintnance on My cavaliers in the 15 years I've owned them, besides routine maintenance(plugs,wires,oil,filters,tires, shocks) Actually My 94 z24 still has the original shocks, and struts on it. Still rides as smooth as can be. I would definetly reccommend these cars to anyone."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great A to B Car,
August 9, 2008
By Speedy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Driven in all kinds of NY/NYC conditions. Uncluttered engine - easy access. Great trunk with fold down seats. Has provided fine get you to point B from A.transportation."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 84 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliable,
August 7, 2008
By sp
from Chicago, Il
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Runs good in all weather. Nearly 30 mpg highway and 22 mpg city. Engine is easy to service fluids. Handles great on the highway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 85 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great,
August 2, 2008
By ELF
from san angelo texas
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Can't wear it out...like the energizer bunny....keeps going and going..."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best little cars,
July 17, 2008
By scribies
from oklahoma
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"bought it in 95 with 99k heater cores last 140k trans sol. was unpluged rep trans other than that reg maint comp defect craked circuit board gm bad design in 89
just rolled 30000 when water leak let engine run hot now i need another one
HAVE LOVED THIS CAR for 13 years repainted wi custom stripes following body lines wish chevy hadnt quit building
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 87 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very sporty,
July 15, 2008
By night2insight
from Lincoln, Nebraska
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The Z24 is sporty and fun to drive! It has some zip, and is quite the head turner."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 88 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best every day driver you could hope for,
July 8, 2008
By Bob
from Aiken, SC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Well I got my fisrt Z24 when I was 17, now 23 and I own 3 Zs. These cars are not the fastest or best handaling but they are very fun to drive. The 0 to 60 time is around 7 sec. But the fun factor is definetly a 10 for anyone that gets one as a first "sport" car.
That said its not a true "sports car" (corvettes, camaros,ect) but going back and forth to school, work, town, or just riding around they are great cars.
ps:They also have good cargo and leg room.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 89 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
reccomend for everyone,
July 7, 2008
By superstud45
from fredricks
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"These cars are unreal at what they can do. My buddies have all driven cavaliers since I met them, and always talking about how reliable they were. I drove theres, and they drove pretty good had some decent power too, and I thought they were V6's and theres were the 4 bangers. Well needless to say. I ended up finding a 93 Z24. It does have the V6 in it. Wow You talk about power, it has soo, much low-end torque, and top-end power is good too. It will stay right with my 89 Mustang 5.0. They are defintely cars You'll want to look at."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 90 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great car,
July 7, 2008
By darcy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Got it cheap, saves me gas, looks great, and has power!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 91 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Amazing Vehicle,
May 31, 2008
By BlindBat
from Joplin, MO
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I got this car from my sister, who bought it used when she turned 9 years ago. It's a great car. Always starts up, has great power, gets great gas mileage, and is a lot of fun to drive!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 92 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love IT!!!,
May 27, 2008
By bpeterson82
from Tucson, AZ
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This car is so fun to drive and it gets pretty good gas mileage!! I love the torque this baby puts out!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 93 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
My Baby,
May 27, 2008
By Clance
from Kearny, NJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car in 1992 with 7 miles on it. It was my first car, bought and paid for by myself. This car has taken me everywhere. It now has 139k on it (5/2008) and is still running strong. It gets used everyday to and from work. It has excellent gas mileage, always starts right up, still looks amazing and has never let me down. Besides for the regular maintainance, i only had problems with the fan belt and tensioner (had to reaplace 2x). I LOVE THIS CAR, 16 years old and i will never let her go. This car is amazing in everyway and i will be sad to see her (if every) have to go. Highly recommend it!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 94 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great Gas mileage,
May 26, 2008
By tim51989
from catlettsburg, KY
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"If you drive the speed limit (I know it is hard) then you get great Gas mileage. I pay $37 to fill up this car from 1/2 tank at $4 a gallon. I calculated my gas mileage from that and figured in 27 mpg at highway speeds (35-55mph).
i recommend this car for economy lookers and those who just want a car to get them from point A to B."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
My first car,
May 23, 2008
By bj
from seattle, wa
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"When i didnt have money for a new car this is what i got used and it was the greatest little v6 ever. it got me from point a to point b as fast as i wanted."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 96 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I buy AMERICAN,
May 17, 2008
By eagle 1
from MIAMI ,FLORIDA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i've owned a 1992 maxima( for three yrs),and it was a great car. but like all machines they tend to brake down ;the repair bills and the parts for these imports are very expensive even if you decide to do it yourself .
ever since the ownership of my 1993 Z-24 (two yrs) the only thing Ive had to do to it the brakes,and of course reg. maintenance,other than that ,it has been smooth sailing;when bought the car had 144,000 miles ,it now has 182,000
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 97 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 yrs. and still running,
May 6, 2008
By raenboe
from Augusta, GA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"My Cavalier and I have been all over the place. It's been in hot weather, cold weather, rain, snow...the Cavalier out performed many other (newer vehicles) in the coldest of extremes. I didn't even put a head-bolt heater on when I lived in Alaska. The A/C still cold and it's never been maintenced. I'm actually disappointed to find out it's only worth about $475...it's worth that times 10. (Here's hoping I get another 10 out of her!)"
Review 98 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
disapointed,
April 25, 2008
By shiner
from ohio
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this car new. I just sold it because it had some electrical problems shortly after replaceing the (ecm) computer. The GM dealership had the car for 6 days and couldnt find the problem with it turning over but not starting.I didnt know what else to do so i sold it for 1500 dollars. I really loved this car. It was a fun car to drive,good on gas and was sharp ."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 99 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
good car,
April 19, 2008
By chris
from clanton alabama
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"me and my parents have a '94 cavalier with the 5 speed in it and its been pretty good for having over 221,250+ thousand miles on it we use it for hauling scrap off with it but so far its not given us any problems except for having to replace the fuel injector and the starter on it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 100 for 1988 - 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very Reliable Car,
April 10, 2008
By Maggie
from Northwest & Central Indiana
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car used with 23,000 miles on it and in excellent condition. The car has been extremely reliable! It only left me stranded once and that was only because someone had put a cigar in the gas tank and plugged it up. I have never had to have any major repairs except for the normal maintenance repairs. Plus it has been a fun little car being a convertible. I highly recommend Chevy Cavalier to everyone!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more