Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice

Average Customer Rating:
9.032 out of 10
9
 out of 
10
90 of 93(97%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Review 1 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Glad I Had One,
February 15, 2014
By hihat
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:Comfortable, powerful, roomy, handles well.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Fair to poor gas mileage, its old.
ReviewOriginationID:02d744e76539410a8ac0af217c42ebaf
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Caprice Classic
Vehicle ID:8720
"I bought this beast around 8-9 years ago with 120k+ on the odometer for around 3 grand. Fellow I bought it from said it had a rebuilt engine put in not too long before. It was in good to fair condition when I bought it. Honestly, I never took good care of either the interior or exterior. But, although the interior is now in poor condition, the exterior has held up remarkably well...paint (when I bother to wash it) is still unfaded and shiny. Tiny areas of rust. I have gotten it what it needs, mechanically e.g. regular oil changes every 3k miles, new parts when the old ones wore out...radiator, water pump, alternator, starter, distributer cap...all very pricey, by the way. But it has never seriously overheated, has started almost always and today, runs as smoothly, powerfully and quietly as the day I bought it. Never touched the brakes but they stop on a dime. I've always felt safe in this wagon, and not just because it is bigger than any other "car" on the road, but it handles like a much more nimble vehicle. Going 55 on US 1 (4 lanes with a turn lane in the middle) I started passing a female driver in a sedan who started pulling into the passing lane at about the point my hood ornament was
parallel to her trunk. She never looked...just shot over.
I braked hard, swerved into the turn lane and thought I was going to flip the wagon. But this elephant kept all 4 wheels on the black top and was never out of control and, after a bit of skidding, the front end came back like a sports car. Of course, the lady never looked back. But I was impressed. Anyway, I've towed boats, crammed it to the roof with stuff, gone on long trips and excursions out into the boonies where this vehicle did not belong...and it never let me down. Comfortable, mileage not too bad for a V8, easy to handle, powerful and reliable. And space enough inside to hold a fancy dress ball. They don't make em like this anymore...and they should. My youngest son still drives it full time, even after the a/c quit. A wonderful big wagon.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1994
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very good car,
August 29, 2011
By H-Man
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:120000
"I bought mine from an elderly lady back in April 2009 with only 63,000 miles on it. Now in August 2011, it has 120,000 and still runs as strong as it did when I got it. The paint is cracking on the hood because they parked it outside, but I wax it all the time and it has not chipped off. This has been an amazing car for me, because I travel so much in my business. I consistently get between 22-25 mpg and the power is sufficient to paqss people on the freeway and keep up with 85mph traffic. The interior is nice and soft and plush, even though the marron color is fading from the seats due to it being out in the sun. I take very good care of my car with oil changes and such. I also detail my car all of the time and this helps keep the rust off. Any repair that I have done to it is for the first time because of the mileage on the car (brakes, muffler, alternator, stabilizer bar bushings).
These are hard to find in good condition and without any modifications that the young kids are doing to them. It has been a great car and I hope that it will continue to.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IA
Year 1993
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving comfort and performance on a budget,
April 26, 2014
By BigCarFan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:194000
What's great about this vehicle?:For less than $150 a month in repairs, the Best!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Often get offers from strangers to buy them.
ReviewOriginationID:78fcabc609bb45328da127f60bb8e243
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Caprice Classic
Vehicle ID:7293
"I currently own a 1993 and a 1995, I have owned them for 19 and 15 years respectively. They both have nearly the same mileage about 194,000 mikes. I hope to continue driving them another 5-10 years. The 93 was. Stripped down model with a cloth interior & a front bench seat. The only thing that would have made this car more perfect would have been hand-crank windows. The 93 has a 302 cu inch engine. In the 19 years of driving this used car I bought in 1995, for $11k, I have only put about $10k into repairs & maintenance (average $500/year). That s why I think the low-end Caprice is the best of all of them. My 1995 Caprice also cost me $11k to buy, but if easily costs about $1,200/year to maintain. The 350 cu inch engine provides nice torque and a more sporty driving experience. Problem areas have been Power a Steering Pumps and engine cooling. All said; they have been two great cars. I never planned on owning a car for more than 5 years, but I don't want to give either one up."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MD
Year 1995
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Car to own,
March 25, 2012
By snatchmn1
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:165000
What's great about this vehicle?:good gas milage, 21 hywy - comfortable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:optispark and spark plug wire routing
ReviewOriginationID:ec82977e49614943be6e1e7d03606bc5
"I have driven this wagon over 14 years. Only 3 major factory design flaws presented itself. 1, the electronic speedometer flickers then goes out. Easy fix though through the internet - do not send it out to be fixed. This can be done by anyone and save yourself the 350-450 dollars. 2, the optispark fails, very expensive to fix and better left to the pros. There are too many other problems that can happen if tried to replace yourself. 3, the stainless steel exhaust is just that but the connections that hold nit together are NOT. They rust away and need to have custom connectors made to use existing exhaust or replace the whole exhaust pipe with new pieces. Cheaper to have custom pieces of flat 1/4" steel plate made for connectors. Dash has finally cracked after 12 years and the passenger side arm rest pulled off at 11 years. Lower quarter rust appeared 12 years after driving as main vehicle. I love this wagon....................."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 1994
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best tank ever!,
March 16, 2008
By 58102
from fargo n.d.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i own 4 of these tanks, (plus an 84 with 8,200 granny miles) asides from minor issues (back window roller nuisance,easy fix) and those cursed 700-r4 transmissions you can't kill these cars, i have learned over 20 years of caprices that maintaining them is the best medicine. the fuelies get 23-25 on the road (5.o carbs get 14-21)and a respectable 16 around town, they go thru unbelievable amounts of snow if you run snow grips and 2 sand bags and will never leave you standing by the side of the road! ask any cop who had one and they will tell you a crown vic is a junk heap compared to these, i have one of the rare LTZ models and at 75 mph it pulls a steady 26-27 mpg, as long as i can find these babies i will have at least 1 in the stable!
OH YEAH can you pull a trailer 1,000+ miles with your car and still average over 17 with an identical 2 ton car on it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
29MPG TANK!,
December 16, 2009
By Paul
from Live Oak, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"4.7L will do 108mph at the governor with over half a pedal left. Tows 7,000Lbs just watch the hitch weight. Runs without the serpentine belt for any amount of miles until the battery dies. (AKA Limp Mode, due to the water pump being shaft driven) Have had to replace Radiator core support, water pump, radiator, starter, shocks, alternator and fuel pump. Only paid $1200 and around $800 work put into it. $2000 ~5 Years of ownership and around 37K miles put on it. Running light with 2 suitcases in the rear and 220lbs of man driving averaged 29.7MPG over 500 miles at 73Mph Split-4 Plugs and fully synthetic oil are the only 'Upgrade' over stock.
These cars are dependable, they will not leave you beside the road. Overheat them, blow the valve gasket out, they still run. 153K when bought now 190K and when i floor it she goes hard. No regrets on this car.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Can't say enough good things,
May 23, 2009
By BIGNQWK
from Lynden, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I just sold my first Caprice (a '94 with 185,000 miles), when someone came up to me and offered me $3,500 for it. That's what I paid three and a half years ago, and 75,000 miles ago. I was thrilled with the car, and I loved it. I've owned 10 different cars, and this was the best of all of them (I've also owned an Infiniti Q45, a Ford Taurus SHO (which was a close 2nd to the Caprice) and many others). The Caprice was dependable, and easy to work on. Parts are cheap, and the car drove like a dream. I'd made many performance modifications to my car, and the car responded very well to relatively inexpensive modifications.... fuel mileage was good for such a large car. I liked the first one so much, I'm looking for another (or a Cadillac Fleetwood with the same drive train!) I could go on lots longer, but I think you get the idea!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Wagon beats my Sedan hands-down!,
December 29, 2011
By dave48328
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:95000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fast, cheap, reliable...classic Detroit Iron!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:VERY expensive to tune-up ($400 dist cap!)
ReviewOriginationID:7497db69-bddd-4aad-a15b-24a601c1dea0
"I have a '95 Sedan with 4.3L; great car, very reliable. I;ve averaged about $80 a month (total...maintenance and repair) to keep it going A '95 wagon came up for sale and I had to have it. 60,000 less miles (than my sedan) means years of almost trouble-free driving; 'Vette LT1 motor is a hoot to drive and I only give up 1 mpg over my 4.3L! Smooth as silk on the highway and quick and nimble - unusual for a 2 ton beast! Lots of parts still available (cop cars and taxi cabs) make this a "get is while you still can" classic. Big bang for the buck! I got mine for only #2500 with only minimal body work needed to bring it back to "like new" condition. You've got to drive one to see what I mean!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 1995
Review 9 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A great car,
September 30, 2007
By RickK
from Cleveland, OH
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 1994 Caprice LS with 55k miles and it now reads almost 185k. Excessive underside body rust is causing me to look for a newer vehicle (rotted floor pans, rear wheel wells, etc.). Has the 4.3L V-8 which has been trouble free and still has a good amount of punch. This car was very comfortable (I'm 6'4" tall), reliable and inexpensive to own. No major repairs needed, just the usual brakes, shocks, etc. Chevy really did this one right! Used Mobile I from the time that I acquired the vehicle. It still averages on either side of 20MPG with a good mix of local and highway driving. Wished that GM didn't stop making this vehicle in 1996 or I'd certainly buy another."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
outstanding,
July 4, 2011
By ddb
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:270000
"I bought the car use with 52,000 miles 12 years ago and now at 270,000 it runs the same was as when i got it. I have put alittle money into the car but with maintance and repairs total about $8,000 in 12 years. Less then $700 a per year makes it one of the best cars I have ever owned. I have had many cars as I used to own a limousine service. Tune up with an LT1 engine are costly, but I only do it once every 100,000 miles I to plan to keep this car only 304,000 to break the record miles on a car i have ever had. Then plan to give it to a friend in good condition and use my father's 98 Olds which just sits and is driven 1000 per year."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 1995
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
An "Oldie but Goodie",
March 10, 2014
By Mike N AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:113000
ReviewOriginationID:9b22073d15314b14b2fb094ce8c8fc7c
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Caprice Classic
Vehicle ID:8720
"I have owned it for several years now and love it. I am retired now and only drive 3 to 4 thousand miles a year and it always gets me where I want to go and back - what else can you ask of a car at my age? As with any old car there are mechanical issues but even with those it is still a lot cheaper than payments, higher insurance and taxes, etc so it is a lot cheaper in the long run. It is a large car with big doors but I had both knees replaced so it suits me fine (it turns and parks better than my wife's '99 Lincoln Town Car. All it needs now is a paint job to be really spiffy."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 1994
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
November 20, 2008
By 96Caprice
from St Paul, MN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The 96 Caprice that I have with the 5.7LT1 V8 has been an excellent car since buying in 2002. The car has only required a set of new tires, routine oil changes, and a good wax job each year. The car is very comfortable for long trips with the leather interior and couch-like seats. Surprisingly, it is easy to manuver in the city. On highway trips, I'm averaging 25mpg and in the city I average 17mpg; not bad for a car weighing in over 2 tons. The LT1 V8 makes this car quick considering the size and always has had plenty of power for a pulling a 3500lb boat at 70mph on the freeway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
They don't make 'em like this anymore.,
December 10, 2007
By luvmy9c1
from Chesterfield, VA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Was a former police cruiser and was well maintained by that department. Fully loaded with all the power one could ask for. Real smooth on the highway and plenty comfortable on any length trip. Although the car is not aesthetically pleasing, it was a great car. In and around town I got over 300 miles to a tank and over 400 on the highway...not too shabby for a 2 ton vehicle with a 5.7 V8. Too bad it got totaled out or I would have had it for another 100K miles. Very reliable vehicle with little maintenance required. Great value for what it was. RIP."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great family car,
October 11, 2007
By L99 V8
from Northeast
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This car has been very reliable and I love the Caprices, but because of rust on the bottom of the car I do not think my car is going to last much longer. The overall interior quality is not as good as the Caprices before 1991 in my opinion. The L99 and LT1 engines in the '94-96 Caprices were good engines, but in my opinion some of the parts on the engines could have been placed in better areas. I would have liked to keep the car for a long time, but the frame and floor pans are too far gone to try and think it will last another 5 years."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I Own 3!,
February 3, 2013
By MrVaughn
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:77237
What's great about this vehicle?:Fast, Reliable, Comfortable, Inexpensive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:I don't own enough of the ;)
ReviewOriginationID:0cb9e0acf0b248c9ab3ae0ac84e6a3eb
"I Own a 1994 Chevrolet Caprice with the 9C1 Police Package and the detuned Corvette 5.7L LT1 V8, A 1992 Chevrolet Caprice With the 5.0 305 and a 1993 Chevrolet Caprice Police Package with the 5.7L LO5 V-8. I will say the Revision that GM gave these cars in 94 definently was impressive. My 94 is my daily driver and Let me tell you this thing has a TON of power. I have flat out walked a few cars on the road like they wern't even trying. they are so reliable and If I can continue to keep these going I will never buy another Vehicle!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 1994
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
The Best GM had,
April 7, 2010
By Chevy Boy
from Atlanta, Ga
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have a 1994 LS and have owned my Caprice for about 8 years now, and I have never had a major problem with it. I drove 30 miles with a malfunctioning intake and two bad plugs and It still would hit 90 mph's!!! I bought it with 177k miles and now have over 350k miles and still going. I have driven it everyday since i bought it. I fall in love with it every time I drive! I have the 5.7 liter and I think I get about 25 mpg on highway. This car and the 94-96 Impala's are an investment, one of GM's best productions."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Cop Car - Great Value and European Handling!,
November 6, 2011
By William
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
Reason for Sale:Too many cars
What's great about this vehicle?:Solid and capable: excellent handling
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Compact cars sip less gas, odd cupholders
ReviewOriginationID:9b6f55bc-cad8-49e7-b189-71eaf1b76776
"This was my first former law enforcement vehicle (I didn't have a chance to buy a new Caprice after discontinuation in 1996). I owned a Caprice Classic (for over 5 years) with 5.7L V8, dual exhaust, no speed limiter, V-rated police issued tires. This was a completely stock vehicle down to the spotlights, pushbar and gun/electronic racks (which I removed).
Many domestic vehicles are disappointing, but this car would amaze anyone: excellent and controlled handling, comfortable"
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location AZ
Year 1995
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this car!!,
August 7, 2008
By CHEVYLADY518
from NY,12306
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Best car I ever owned! Have had it for 10 yrs now. Its at 115,000 miles and my goal is to get it to 200,000 miles and beyond. Has the 5.7 liter SF1 350 engine, the power will plaster you back in the seat. Its amazing! Have not really had to do much to the engine , just routine matainance. Tune Up can be pricey. Studded tires and sandbags for addedweight in winter a must. Body has held up great,No rust. Family & friends refer to it as "The Land Yacht""
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
the last good car gm made,
June 4, 2009
By led
from ma
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i only have the 4.3 motor. but thats good because it gets 27 pmg on the highway, and it has enough nut to move right along. I have always had gm vehicles and this is the best one by far. i have 150,000 miles on it and all that has gone wrong was the water pump let go. But thats expected. I have been in crown vics and have worked on them many times. When it comes to looks, quality, and performance the caprice is the better car by far."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 20 for 1993 - 1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
great car with great power,
August 29, 2010
By Bob
from south jersey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"The chevy caprice with the detuned 5.7 liter corvette motor is an excellent buy. One of the last real full size cars. great power and acceleration. decent gas mileage, about 20 mpg. large car so much safer than the plastic junk of today. very reliable, starts every time. styling is not the greatest, but it is reasonably comfortable. overall a good buy for the money. mine has 270000 miles and is going strong. would highly recommend."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr