Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice

Average Customer Rating:
8.866 out of 10
8.9
 out of 
10
79 of 82(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Review 21 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great car,
July 16, 2007
By drlove
from newphila ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"the car rides smooth and will get 18 in the city and 25 on the open road plenty of room in side"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Don't make em like this anymore...,
September 14, 2007
By Anonymous
from PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Learned to driver on a 1977 Caprice Classic. Bought this 1991 Caprice Classic in 2001 and it's still going strong. Body has a lot of wear and tear on it, but the guts are still going strong. Very safe, very reliable, very roomy and can really cruise on the highway. It's not bad for it's size on gas (~17 mpg), but I need something newer. If they still made new ones, I would buy one in a heartbeat. An overlooked benefit is that when something does go, the parts are cheap, relative to new cars."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best comfort & performance,
May 19, 2011
By Emer
from Philadelphia suburbs, PA.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This car is a pleasure to drive long distance. The adjustable seat is like a recliner. This care is huge and gives plenty of hip room inside ;)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car,
September 14, 2008
By Dan
from Michigan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"17 year old car with a V8. Bad gas mileage right! Wrong! Even when it was in need of a tune it it still got over 20 mpg in town. It's still on the road today!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car For Big Guy,
November 14, 2007
By Big Guy
from Fl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Great Big Car"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliable and Dependable,
March 25, 2009
By Woodward Avenue
from Macomb, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've had this car for well over 4 years, and this wagon has served my four children and me well. The left quarter panel is now rusty, but the rest of the car is rust free. The seat material is still intact, has held up well, and the seats are still comfortable to sit on during long drives. After over 220,000 miles, the old small block shows no signs of quitting. Parts are still available, and it is fairly easy to service, and it has been routine maintenece. I highly recommend this car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Caprice Classic,
September 26, 2008
By Joey
from Cleveland Ohio
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have driven mine for over two years and its been great. I am glad I've had this trusty car to take me through the best times of my life."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
like driving a couch,
January 13, 2012
By ror
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:96000
What's great about this vehicle?:very comfortable to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:needs more HP!!!
ReviewOriginationID:3e8f22e3-224d-42ce-8aa6-a2ab747456ec
"I love this car. Gets great fuel mileage for its size. I haven owned it for very long but it looks like everything hasn't worn much for having almost 100k on it. Mine has the 305 V8 so i would like to have a touch more horsepower, but i guess you have to sacrifice something when you get 25MPG on the freeway"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 1992
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car,
April 11, 2011
By Rusty Shakelford
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Runs strong, lots of power, RWD, V8, very compfortable, Looks cash, it actally has a frame, steel from this year holds up alot better than the later years, handels well at high speed persutes, old cop cars"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
the classic is a true classic,
October 19, 2010
By cgizzle
from Springfield, Mo
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I love my caprice classic... she gets me where ever I need to go just fine and with style. Sure things may break or need replacing but since it is a chevy, I can either do it myself or its fairly cheap to have it done. my advise, if you want style, and a clean ride, get a classic. Big Motor Boys!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome vehicle,
December 8, 2010
By Miguel
from Tucson, AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Our familiy owns one. It was purchased off the lot new. At about 113000 miles it has had the radiator replaced and serpentine belt. Rides smoothly. Good mpg on hiway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
July 29, 2007
By ABS
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Car has held up well over the last 15 years. Only let me down once. Armrest pads tend to break. Wiper blades chatter. ABS pump also likes to go out on these vehicles(not cheap to fix). Windows like to fall out of their guides making it hard to roll them up. Body shows no rust but the underside and frame are rusting quite well. I'll give this car another 5 years before rust takes it. This car was good back in the 90's, but the cars they make today are far better value for your dollar."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best chevy ever,
November 19, 2009
By caprice on 8's
from indianapolis,IN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"very good"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great car,
November 1, 2009
By yo
from Il
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i love the car best choice i ever made"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very reliable and easy to work on,
February 10, 2012
By shortyross
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable,inexpensive and easy to fix, powerful
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not so great gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:4d4edd42-e5e0-4206-85de-6b65b59e6c3f
"The only dislike is the gas mileage but its not that bad, really reliable and very comfortable."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 1992
Review 36 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love it,
January 8, 2012
By yamaha man
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
ReviewOriginationID:270fb2a9-b6a2-46fc-a328-e63fec9fa0c2
"28 mpg"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 1992
Review 37 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
love it!,
January 6, 2012
By Josh
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:150000
What's great about this vehicle?:seats are extremly comfortable,good for long trips
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none!
ReviewOriginationID:4eb5df95-9b10-40f8-a3ea-d1fa8c47f9ef
"i absolutly love this car best car i have ever driven so comfortable!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MA
Year 1992
Review 38 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
galactic transport,
June 11, 2010
By big bob
from georgia
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i am the second owner of this car and just sold it tonight. it had 152.500 miles and last week was the first time i had to put any major work into it. a year ago, the plastic fuel tank developed a crack next to the metal strap that holds it to the chassis (a typical design flaw) and i had the gas tank replaced with a used one. unfortunately, the metal portions of the inside of it had rusted and i had continuing problems with the fuel filter clogging. this past weekend, the fuel pump gave out the day after i had bought an 8-cylinder rear wheel drive replacement car to pull my boat, so i had the fuel pump and filter replaced. i put it on my front lawn wednesday, and it sold today, friday.
this has truly been a fun car to own. i bought it in january, 2002. it has power and good handling, and the a/c is great. i replaced it with an '05 mercury, and i don't think i'm going to have as much fun."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 39 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Love this car,
August 20, 2009
By JLR
from Buckhannon, WV
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I've had my car for three years. It was given to me for graduation. It does have it's hiccups, but what car doesn't? 134000 miles and it's still running great. a couple of new parts now and then, and it's ready to go again, i would hate to have to give it up."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 40 for 1986 - 1992 Chevrolet Caprice
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
August 4, 2009
By tee
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"can use a paint job,need minor repair,has fluid leaks,interior can use refurbishing,both passenger and driver windows don't roll down,runs good,is driven to work every day."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more