Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro

Average Customer Rating:
8.753 out of 10
8.8
 out of 
10
924 of 969(95%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Review 1 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Third Vehicle,
November 10, 2007
By drumr2790
from Fort Wayne, Indiana
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My '95 Camaro Z-28 is the third car I have had (first was a'99 Dodge Dakota, second was a '88 Camaro RS). It has the six speed, oil coiler, t-tops, limited slip, most of the options you could get. The transmission shifts really nicely (mine has an after-market shift knob and shifter because the stock shifter is about ten feet tall). I also can get up to 25 MPG because of the tall gearing.
Performance: The performance is nice to say the least. I can usually burn the tires through the first two gears and sometimes squeak them going into third and that's with wider after-market wheels. It handles like it is on rails (pulls a little above .9 g's). Stops quite quickly, the only complaint about the breaks is that they can fade rather quickly (still better than most of the cars out on the road though). Because the Camaro has the SBC in it if you wanted to do any performance modifications then the sky is the limit. From stroking it to supercharging it, even twin turbo-charging not to mention all the other doo-dads. Also, the gearing in the six speed (T-56) coupled with gearing in the rear end and tire size (drag not included) makes potential top speed of the Camaro 202 MPH, but it doesn't have nearly the power or down force to do it so don't go trying it anytime soon. However, it does have a good top speed with it topping out at about 160 MPH. 0-60 is in the higher 5's with quarters running in the higher 13's. The only complaint I have is that you can't run it through the gears before going over the speed limit. Often times it's first, second, sixth.
Comfort: The interior is comfortable with everything nicely positioned, my single complaint about the interior is that it only has one cup holder. Also, if you're a fan of marshmallow cars with soft rides, this car may be somewhat uncomfortable. However, if you've been driving a third gen Camaro going to a fourth, it's a major improvement. And this slight discomfort pays off when going around a turn. It has plenty of leg room and head room (I'm 6' and have no problem fitting it it) and the seats are very comfortable. Leg room (or space at all) in the back is very limited but if you want you can throw your two friends in the back that you like the least and it's do-able.
Reliability: So far I have had no problems with reliability. The only problems I have had with it are because of age and high mileage (150,000 and still going strong). The first was the through-out bearing going through the clutch but that was because the last person who owned it didn't install it right and used old parts, didn't resurface the flywheel, etc. The other problem I have had with it is some minor oil leakage. It's very minimal but from what I've read these fourth gen Camaros can have some problems leaking some oil when they get into higher miles. Another problem to consider has to do with the windows. Because they don't have a frame around them they can get off track more easily than other framed windows can. In the end it's a Chevy small block; the design has been around since 1917 and is still being used today so they must of done something right. That mated to a stout transmission (T-56, used in the Viper, Mustang and Corvette too) and a sturdy rear end will probably outlive you.
Styling: I love the styling on it personally, but that's really up to an individual to decide upon.
Quality: It's a Chevrolet. Don't expect it to be a Maybach. Nevertheless, it does have a good fit and finish and I'm not all that picky.
Value: I don't think that these will decrease in value as long as you take care of them but I also don't foresee them becoming big classics all of the sudden. If you want one that will hold a higher value try going for some of the last ones ('00-'02). They usually have a higher price tag. They are really good bang for the buck and I have thoroughly enjoyed mine.
In conclusion the Camaro is a great car, I've really enjoyed mine (my second now) and would recommend it to just about anybody. It has performance, comfort, reliability, style and overall it's just fun to drive.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
A blast to drive, but a burden to maintain..,
September 24, 2012
By Joe
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Not At All
2
Definitely
Approximate mileage:220000
What's great about this vehicle?:They are cheap and fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Labor costs, overall design flaws, lack of quality
ReviewOriginationID:14db9a183c0146d6b974c71d52d35263
"I received the car when I was 16. At the time, I was in the market for a camaro, and I decided on a red 1997 Camaro (V6)with approximately 150,000 miles. I fell in love with it from first glance. However, it spent most of my high school years in and out of the shop. I ended up paying three times as much on repairs as I did on the original purchase price of the car. I should have done some research before getting the car.
Cons: It has had issues with the wiring harness and issues with the wiring in the key-lock cylinder. The car has an ongoing issue with the daytime running lamps. I have replaced the timing cover; timing chain; timing guide (which is capped with nylon, which wears out and causes the chain to rattle and wear against the timing cover); rear end; radiator; fuel injector gasket; head gaskets; drive train (the factory piece consists of two separate pieces which have a connecting joint in the middle that wears out); water pump (3x); Thermostat (2X); Window motors (3X); window guides; front driver's seat (rebuild); three wiring harnesses; trunk pistons; Brake lines; brake master cylinder; fuel lines; EVAP canister with solenoids; Rear main seal gasket; and transmission lines.
Cons (continued): The interior is cheaply crafted of plastic. There are cracks in the handle inserts and dash. The clips in the switch panels break. The center console top rots off. The left rear-view mirror does not operate. The sun visors are cardboard covered with thin fabric and cost over $100 for a new pair. It causes me shame to even look at my visors. The cigarette lighter socket busted inward. The trunk latch button fell off. The A/C has not worked since I owned the car but blows air. The engine rattles terribly. Lastly and most importantly are labor costs/time. The way that the car is designed makes it a nightmare to repair in all aspects. This also means higher labor costs.
Pros:
The visibility is unbelievable (Thanks to large windows).
It is wonderful to drive (It is not super smooth, but better than a comparable mustang).
The engine is literally bullet proof (other than the few moronic design flaws).
It has a decent amount of power.
It gets decent gas mileage.
It handles well with responsible driving even under poor weather conditions.
It has a uniquely attractive body style.
Conclusion: To conclude, I write this review as friendly advice. I spent time labeling out each issue to be thorough and to effectively convey my point: I love the car even with all of its quirks. If you do not mind shoveling money out the window on repairs($8,000+), then by all means, get one. On the other hand, if you are strapped for cash, invest in something more durable. In my opinion, GM's negligence of quality during the 90's caused the issue-ridden fourth generation Camaro to be discontinued and caused GM to go bankrupt. My ultimate verdict: I WILL NEVER buy a fourth generation Camaro again!
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1997
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Fun to drive!,
August 2, 2013
By Jay
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:64000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great Performance, great looking and Fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poor interior quality, some quirks
ReviewOriginationID:a221d26bdeaf4bb3b95914e9079c4040
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Camaro
Vehicle ID:7377
"This is a performance car for a cheap. So you tend to not get great interior quality or fit and finish. However, the exterior does look awesome. I have owned this car for 9years now and I still love the look of it. From the factory the 97 Camaro is a very good performance car by todays standards. 285hp isn't much today, but this is the lightest Camaro since the 1st generation. So it accelerates to 60 in 5.7sec(man) and 5.5(auto) and both transmissions will run a 13.9 in the quarter and top out just over 165mph. This is also I very reliable drive train if its not meddled with the wrong way. The LT-1 will out last a LS-1 nearly every time. That being said the power window motors do go WAY to often. The LT-1 also has a small oil leak. It will never harm the engine, it is simply to small, and if driven daily it will be hard to tell. The T-tops will leak if out in a bad enough storm, but I still wouldn't trade them for the world.(it doesn't leak that bad)
The handling is much better than you would expect. It is able to pull .98gs with a good set of z rated tires, and the breaks are very good as well. The handling takes some getting use to, but when you do it is capable. I had a C4 Vette and I know that should be the better handling car. The ride was to firm for comfort, but I still found the Camaro gave me better feed back. Simply I felt it was better and the ride is much more comfortable.
Now my car is modified and makes 390-410hp and 440-450 torque.(depending the weather)These are from all bolt ons, and this is obviously not a wild tune. Though you want to be careful not to run it to lean. This it has tiptonic internals, that do not take to detonation. So you need to be careful and tune the car properly by a trained mechanic.
My car wasn't there yet, but it is still very fast. It runs 12.8 in the 1/4 and the 0-60 us 4.3-4.5sec(pending how I shift and the temperature) Still its not bad for a very reliable car, and I still get 17city and 24highway.
So for the price this is a great performance car!
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 1997
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Car for Summer,
January 24, 2009
By Miranda
from Brentwood, TN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Mine is 2002 V6 35TH anniversary edition w/ t-tops. So far just under 160,000 miles on it. It seems as the car has aged, the sensors tend to go out... this has happened twice. It was still under warranty when this happened. Last year, when it was 6 years old, the power steering and some other stuff had to be fixed among typical routine maintenance such as brakes, etc. The power steering plus other miscellaneous things (I think one of the things was also the rear differential?) on that one repair bill was like $2,000. It ran beautifully for about 12 months until just this week, actually... when it stalled at an intersection. This time it was the fuel pump. To have the fuel pump and the filter replaced, $1075. Mostly labor costs, as it's pretty time consuming and difficult to get to, they say.
Overall, I have a sentimental attachment to this car. I love it. I think I've taken good care of it, and it's just getting to the age/mileage where stuff is tearing up on it. But now that it's been paid off, the repairs are definitely cheaper than replacing Camaro with another car and having a payment. It's a beautiful car, fun to drive. The t-tops also leaked at one point. I had the weather stripping replaced. It helps to Armor-All the weather stripping in my opinion. The trunk is weird... you have to sometimes pop the remote twice to get it to open, or it will sometimes not shut properly. I've heard other Camaro owners mention this before, so I don't think it's just my car in particular. The car sits low and is prone to scrape or 'bottom out' on certain surfaces... and you don't want to drive it in the snow. It's not terribly comfortable for passengers, especially the back seats. I love this car and have a lot of great memories with it. Fun for road trips... remove the t-tops, turn up the radio (also makes that workday commute MUCH more enjoyable).
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great summer fun car...,
February 21, 2012
By Doug D.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:193000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive, good gas mileage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:top replacements
ReviewOriginationID:d37fa720-dc47-4311-83cd-fe98763a4218
"Great mileage with the top up in 6th gear - gets 30mpg at 65mph - outstanding for a 5.7L V8. OK mileage around town - 17mpg. Mileage drops about 5mpg on the interstate with the top down.
Attractive car to look at.
Lot of fun to drive but not all that comfortable on long trips.
Poor back seat and trunk room. Back seat not suitable for anything but small children or small women.
Outstanding performance - 0 to 60 <6.0, great braking and cornering - used to live in rural east TN on a road that was so winding that Car and Driver used to use it to test drive cars themselves. A lot of fun to drive on winding roads.
Handles reasonably well in winter weather - had the car in Detroit for a winter and drove it there daily.
Like all convertibles, sooner or later the top always leaks. Have to replace them about every 5 years.
Dash is subject to cracking. Have replaced it twice. If it cracks again, I don't know where I could get it replaced.
Speed (Z) rated tires are expensive about $1000 for a set of 4 and they wear out about every 40,000 miles even if you take care of them.
Driver side window motor wears out regularly - have been through 5 of these. I think the window motor was undersized and the driver side gets used much more than the passenger side so it wears out.
Opti-spark module placed behind water pump almost impossible to service, have to rip the entire front of the engine off to get to it. Terrible design too hard to service.
I am an experienced (although not professional) mechanic who did a lot of his own repair work in the past and I am an engineer but I don't work on this car because it is too hard. Engine compartment leaves no room to work on anything, takes forever to tear car apart if you work on it yourself. Leave this to the pros if you can, it just isn't worth the effort."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1995
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
A good car,
March 6, 2009
By Forcemaster
from United Kingdom
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Idealy suited to longer drives on major roads, it has ample power with around 300bhp and drop dead looks.
Handling is good, though on bendy European roads a little caution in tight turning should be advised. Ive had Double Diamond Subframe connectors added to stiffen the frame that makes cornering easier.
The assisted braking can sometimes make stopping feel a little spongy, but they do a good job of shedding all that speed in a controlled manner.
The dash is well presented with everything in a convenient place, and it is something else to sit in the drivers seat and see that dash stretch out to meet the windscreen, then flow out over the acres of hood.
The greatest asset of this car has to be the engine. Just crusing along at 40 gives you a warm feeling in your guts hearing the engine barely tick over at 1500rpm, but when you press down that throttle, feel the front rise up in the air and press those rear wheels into the tarmac, its almost like riding an animal that rears up to to show its fangs. The rev counter surges up, and so does the speed. 0-60 in a tad over 5 seconds is possible, and ive had mine to a top speed of 149 before i had to slow down (was on a private road and it just wasn't that long) though i hadn't redlined it and was still accelerating.
Fuel consuption for the V8 OH16v engine is also quite reasonable... the official figures state
MPG (city) 17
MPG (highway) 26
MPG (combined) 20
Persoanlly these are a load of rubbish... these are mine averaged for the last four months (in winter but with careful driving and a light right foot)
MPG (city) 22
MPG (highway) 30 (have gotten this up to 36 in past)
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good for a while,
April 13, 2014
By Chris
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:110000
Reason for Sale:Repairs
What's great about this vehicle?:Fast! Mostly reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Expensive maintenance, 100k miles major repairs
ReviewOriginationID:58310fe1c9034144ab4b193c647ff800
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Camaro
Vehicle ID:3846
"I had a 2001 Z28 model. It was quite reliable, and I owned it for 8 years. After going back to school, the fuel economy and repair costs were way too high for me to hold on to it. Here are the issues I had:
Shock mounts in front rusted. Need replacement when replacing the front shocks. Expensive. Common problem. $200 for new mounts, and a pain to replace.
Replacement master cylinder at 100k. Brakes didn't work very well anymore.
Replace wheel bearings at 90k. I ran too long on bad bearings, and had to replace the rear axle. $1200.
Body control module need replacement. Power windows and radio would sporadically cut off. $200 plus labor.
Trunk leak. Common problem. Had a pool in my trunk every time it rained. Rear glass needs to be removed and reseated. $1-200.
Squeaky AC belt. Not sure here... Replaced it, but still squeaked.
Engine knock. No clue here either. Car started to lose power, and the engine sounds bad.
Oil leak drip pan. Not sure on this, because it was the last straw. This was my brothers guess without looking more into the leak.
Service engine light. Supposedly catalytic converter, which the car has two, and they're freaking expensive.
Overall, I had this car for 8 years, but around 100k, these problems popped up left and right. I decided to trade it in when it needed a couple grand in repairs, along with new tires.
It was reliable for the time I had it. No major engine problems up until 100k, and I had regular maintenance done, but it then became a money pit.
If you're looking at one of these, know that it could require a couple grand to fix all the issues. It seemed to be falling apart."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location FL
Year 2001
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good for a while,
April 13, 2014
By Chris
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:110000
Reason for Sale:Repairs
What's great about this vehicle?:Fast! Mostly reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Expensive maintenance, 100k miles major repairs
ReviewOriginationID:58310fe1c9034144ab4b193c647ff800
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Camaro
Vehicle ID:3846
"I had a 2001 Z28 model. It was quite reliable, and I owned it for 8 years. After going back to school, the fuel economy and repair costs were way too high for me to hold on to it. Here are the issues I had:
Shock mounts in front rusted. Need replacement when replacing the front shocks. Expensive. Common problem. $200 for new mounts, and a pain to replace.
Replacement master cylinder at 100k. Brakes didn't work very well anymore.
Replace wheel bearings at 90k. I ran too long on bad bearings, and had to replace the rear axle. $1200.
Body control module need replacement. Power windows and radio would sporadically cut off. $200 plus labor.
Trunk leak. Common problem. Had a pool in my trunk every time it rained. Rear glass needs to be removed and reseated. $1-200.
Squeaky AC belt. Not sure here... Replaced it, but still squeaked.
Engine knock. No clue here either. Car started to lose power, and the engine sounds bad.
Oil leak drip pan. Not sure on this, because it was the last straw. This was my brothers guess without looking more into the leak.
Service engine light. Supposedly catalytic converter, which the car has two, and they're freaking expensive.
Overall, I had this car for 8 years, but around 100k, these problems popped up left and right. I decided to trade it in when it needed a couple grand in repairs, along with new tires.
It was reliable for the time I had it. No major engine problems up until 100k, and I had regular maintenance done, but it then became a money pit.
If you're looking at one of these, know that it could require a couple grand to fix all the issues. It seemed to be falling apart."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location FL
Year 2001
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best bang for the buck at the time!,
January 14, 2014
By Gene
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:65000
What's great about this vehicle?:Best performance car at the price in 1998.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Some may consider the ride a bit taught.
ReviewOriginationID:f0e4538954e547a3a7be8f5529de65fc
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Camaro
Vehicle ID:6221
"I bought the '98 Z28 new to use as a commuter car, replacing my '86 Corvette. I just couldn't see wearing out another Vette commuting to work and back. While the Z28 didn't handle near as well as the Vette, it did have perhaps a bit more power. I have 64K miles on it now and have not had any problems, except for air conditioning loss of Freon and a leaky clutch slave cylinder. The slave cylinder is a bid deal on a Camaro, as it is an integral part of the throwout bearing. That means that the transmission has to be removed to replace it! IMO, this was a big mistake on GM's part, just to save a couple of dollars in manufacturing.
That said, the power of the LS1 engine is impressive and published dyno tests indicate that the horse power was underrated. Rear wheel HP is typically around 290. Considering that the car is light by today's standards, it is quick. The driveline is tighter than the '86 Vette and the body far more solid, with very few rattles. Handling is not anywhere as good as the Vette, but better than most cars. Gas millage is very good, considering that the engine is 5.7L, and I average around 24MPG commuting and 27MPG on trips.
For a quick, go fast, good handling car, I don't think there was any competition at the time. The brakes are stellar! BTW, I searched hard to get my Z28 with a solid top, as I had my fill of flexing bodies and water leaks. All in all, a great car at the price. Unfortunately, now at 74 years of age, I am not so forgiving of the low entry and firm ride. I'm sure though that a younger person will enjoy it as much as I did."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1998
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my Camaro!,
March 23, 2009
By Layla
from Austin Texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I'm a proud Camaro owner! I bought this car brand new & customized some aspects of it as well. Its such a kick to drive.It came with everything,including the Premium sound system,interior,wheels,etc. I would like to upgrade the speakers now,and I need some new floor mats. But other than that I wouldn't change a thing.I love the nice rumble of it! It's a gorgeous black, and I had a thin hand painted metallic silver pinstrip placed down both sides that flip up towards the rear spoiler. I also had them professionally tint the windows. All that Camaro glass can make the interior extremely hot inside, so that has been a lifesaver to my interior,though I do garage it 99 percent of the time. Yes, It's an eye catcher! I have only good things to say about it's performance and reliability. I get compliments on it all the time. It's hard to keep clean because it is a darker color, but so worth it. I actually had someone ask me yesterday if my car "was the new Camaro?" that was coming out? LOL. I had just shined her up! It still looks almost as pretty as it did when I pulled it out of the dealership's lot. There is a certain pride in owning a Camaro.I wouldn't compare it to the vette and wish I owned the vette instead. Both are great cars for their own specific reasons! I love my Camaro,and I love it because that's what it is. I hope I will have this car when I'm very old. I will still drive down the road feeling like I'm 17. There's nothing better than owning a part of America's car history and heritage. Yes, I'm a girl that's proud to own her Camaro!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not too shabby,
February 3, 2008
By KW
from OKC, OK
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I bought the car when it was a year old and had ~14500 miles. I have driven it for the last five years. Other than a few maintenance-type repairs (belt, tires, brakes), I have not had any mechanical problems. However, the top leaks. Pretty badly.
The car looks and runs well, but it's really noisy and the ride is a little bumpy. It also does NOT do well in bad weather, particularly snow/ice. The SGS option helps in the rain.
The trunk space is almost nonexistent (on the convertible). You can't fit a suitcase in the trunk.
The passenger seat doesn't have as much legroom as the driver's seat. It is possible for 4 adults to fit in the car, but it's difficult.
Operation of the convertible top is easy and foolproof. The steering wheel controls for the radio/cd are awesome. The factory speakers, though, leave much to be desired - they don't have enough power to keep the volume audible with the top down, and when you crank it, it distorts and blows them.
The windows in the convertible rattle a little, and don't roll up or down very fast, even with brand new motors. Seatbelt retractors are useless.
With the top up, you have blind spots the size of Texas. Angled parking is particularly bad. It would have helped if they had done split windows like other convertibles.
All that said, it's a comfortable car to drive, even for long distances. The seat has good lumbar and leg support, and the gauges and controls are easy to operate. I have not had any problems with the heat or AC, and I live in the South, where it's hot from April to October."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Fun and great on gas,
December 4, 2007
By Big Red
from New York
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my '99 Z28 in October of '06 with 105,000 miles. From the day I bought it, it has been a dream to drive...it's got power to spare (90 mph in 6th gear at less than 2000 rpm) and it's actually GREAT on gas! I've left it stone stock, other than a K&N air filter. It takes the bumps pretty rough, but that's OK since it handles very well (aside from nose dip on braking). And where else will you find a 5.7L V8 with over 300 hp getting 23 mpg on the highway? (And almost 20mpg local.) As for the negatives, the car is almost impossible to work on under the hood. The sleek style, i guess, forced Chevy to make parts such as the passenger side spark plugs and the alternator very difficult to get to. The plugs are buried under the dash and the alternator is at the BOTTOM of the engine compartment. I used to do almost all of my own repairs, but I've moved away from that with this car. I just don't need that kind of aggravation. As far as comfort, I find it tough to get in and out of, since i'm a 6'1", 260 pound ex football player with bad knees. But once i'm in, it's just fine. Even the back seat isn't as bad as I expected. As far as I'm concerned, it was a great deal, and it's turned out to be a great car. Just watch parking it on a sharp decline in the rain...the tailgate will leak badly, as I found out last week. The good news is that the interior and carpet is really easy to rip out and put back, which I found out just after i encountered the leak."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good 2nd car,
September 10, 2009
By Zuul
from Champaign, IL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"My current Camaro is a '99 Z28 purchased from a repossession auction. Even with 93k miles on it, the car still runs out strong. The LS1 motor has always been solid, holding up well to whatever a normal driver can throw at it. Every time I punch the throttle, I get a little adrenaline rush. If you're easily seduced by the sound of a pushrod V8, this car will get you to do things that your insurance company would cringe over.
Now for the problems. Since I've had two of these, I'll just list the commonalities here: The interior is a bad joke. The front-left turn signal keeps burning out for no reason. I wouldn't force anyone (that I like) to sit in the back seat for longer than about 15 minutes. If you drive it in the snow, you will be very sorry. Parking this long, low car can be a frustrating task. It's probably not the best choice if a silky smooth ride is a primary concern. Over rough roads, this car will rattle the fillings out of your teeth. While driving the Camaro, you aren't likely to forget that it's a sports car (ever!).
Overall, however, these vehicles are excellent values for their drivetrains alone. The engines respond well to bolt-on components, and will provide years of faithful service even under harsh conditions. If you're looking for a used car with monstrous base power and a tremendous upside, there aren't many better choices at this price point."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
97 Z28,
July 23, 2009
By carguy
from Philly, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my Z28 over five years ago. Man, I saved for two years for the 97 z28. I saw it on Gran Turismo 3 and had to have it. T bar, attitude, and performance. This is what I came to love. I bought it stock and the 0-60 is 5.5 sec(auto), which makes it quicker then the manuel at 5.8. But looking back I would have went with the manuel. Easier to control. Now my car hits 60 in 4.3sec and has around 415hp. Has an upgraded GS Vette suspention, and a few other goodies that set me back around 4g. So heres the thing, try getting a 400+ car for under 11,000. You only have Camaro, firebird, or Mustang for that money. I've owned two mustangs and hands down the Camaro would eat them up and still retain decent gas. It always brings a smile to my face as if I only owned the car a month. This car caught my eye because it could do over 165 stock! The areodynamics make it an idle car for speed freak, but a wild car to those seeking just to be cool. I would recomend this car to anyone who wants a second car for weekends or good weather; but not to those seeking an everyday driver. The car feels cumbersome in parking lots, but like a true sports car on the highway. Bless the LT1 and all of its torque. Oh, also to know before you buy is oil leaks are very common and are usally from the manifold and can leak down the engine if parked to long. Still I would 100% recomend this car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
30th Z28,
April 14, 2010
By carguy Jay
from Philly, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have owned mine for 6years now. I havn't put a ton of miles on it, but it been more of a weekend car for me. With about 4grand over 6 years in upgrades the car is making about 415-430hp at the flywheel. So for me this is a performance car, pure and simple. But I'll talk stock camaros. The Z28 is the way to go. The reliability from what I have seen is the better then the V6s(though they are also very reliable); I have seen LT1 camaros with 270k+ still all original. The gas milage is decent as well. And performance can't be touched for the money. 0-60 for auto 5.5sec/man 5.8, both clear a 1/4 in 13.9 and the top speed is really is just over 165. This is the last year of no rev limiter and if you love the 93-97 camaro the 97 is the one to buy. Its the first year for the new interior(lasted till 02) and daytime running lights, and a different style rims. Among many little changes, if you dont pick a 97 a 96 is the next pick. The 285hp is a underarted detuned engine that can get amazing gas milage for the power. The only downfall is all LT1(93-97Z28/Firebird/92-96Vette) have a small oil leak. Its small enough that it burns off if you drive it enough. This should not stop you from getting this car. It has minor ectronic window issues, but these are the biggest things. Trust me, one hard press on the gas or take a hard turn, and you'll agree. Its really awsome."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
get LS1 camaro and you are not going to forget it,
April 20, 2014
By MoisesMC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:124000
What's great about this vehicle?:awesome $ per HP, Fun to drive, great MPG
What's not so great about this vehicle?:electrical issues
ReviewOriginationID:b4c9b14b06064545b9b48fc1090837a8
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Camaro
Vehicle ID:3853
"the 4th gen F-body (camaro and Firebird) is one of the most underrated cars in the history of muscle cars...
large windows and mirrors, 4 seats, hatchback trunk style, ABS, traction control and air bags, are just a few of the features of those cars, also on those cars you can get up to 25 mpg with the V8, the F-body is a really nice car, you have to keep in mind this is a car made almost 8 to 10 years ago and still can keep up with a SS camaro in straight line.
the weak point of this car? they have some electrical-related issue but nothing to really be afraid about if you take care of it, other important aspect you have to keep in mind is those cars have rear axe suspention
but at the end you have a truly sport car capable of smoke 80% of cars in the street and get a beautiful MPG.
finally I have to say those cars are the best white canvas for any kind of mod or crazy project you have in mind
my recomendations if you plan to get one
get a good tires
get her check by a good Chevy or Camaro chop
create an acount in LS1tech.com or other camaro related forum so you can know everything you want to know about your car
install a good cold air intake
get a tune to get mot hp and better mpg
and go and hit the road!!!!!!
sorry for my bad english, but you can take trust my word I had mine for over 8 years and going to keep it for much more time"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2001
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lovable car in spite of flaws,
February 27, 2013
By Albany Park
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:59000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, fairly reliable, holding value
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Uncomfortable seating, not completely relliable
ReviewOriginationID:89b55f6c954f46a293aea751b0b30322
"Bought this 2002 Camaro in 2009 with 30,000 miles for $8,150 at a dealer; KBB says that's what it's worth more than three years later, and at 59,000 miles in excellent shape, which it is. V-6 Coupes were not sports cars; suspension was soft by Z28 standards, though not as lush as Buicks (thankfully). Car is very smooth and steady at highway speeds, though - passengers have commented on how it rides like a larger, heavier car on the highway. Gets a true 27-28 MPG on highway, but far less in city. Car has been reliable for me, except a shamefully expensive ($1,000 plus) fuel pump replacement at 40,000 miles. Gas tank must be removed, and rear axle must be partly disassembled (!) to get at gas tank. And, of course, power window motors have gone out twice already - I never use the power windows unless absolutely necessary. I probably would not have purchased this car save for the T-tops - they're just too cool, and you do get a convertible feel in the car when they are removed, yet there absolutely is no cowl shake in the car at anytime. T-tops and targa roofs are, all around, better than soft convertible tops. But car continues to look nice, though it's unbelievably cheap on the inside, worse even than the late Saturn Ion, for example - the plastic comes off of toys, I think. But, for all this, I like the car! And it is mostly reliable."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 2002
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Amazing Car,
March 17, 2010
By TheZ28Guy
from Chicago, IL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought by Camaro in 2005 and it is the best car I've ever owned. It has 75,000 miles and still runs extremley strong and smooth. The only things I've had to replace are the water pump, optispark, and starter- which is completley understandable for a 13 year old car. The LT1 is simply a torque monster. If you want top speed power, buy a LS1 (98-02), but if you perfer more low end torque over top speed go with the LT1 (93-97). When I purchased my Z28 it drove great and had a lot of power, but after I had performance cold air intake, throttle body, headers, and exhaust installed the 5.7 increased atleast 20 horse power, but more importantly to me ran much more responsive and smoother. I highly recommend using 92 or higher octane gasoline as well as a top brand full synthetic motor oil and oil filter. The negative aspects of this car are the poor gas milage, don't even think about driving it in the snow or you will regret it, high repair costs, and the unconsistant gas gauge. I've ran out of gas 5 times in my Camaro by letting the gas gauge go past the 1/4th tank. The 1997 model has no low gas light warning and may read that you have more or less gas than you accually have, so don't let it go past the 1/4th tank. Other than that, its a great car- had it up to 147 once and it still could have gone faster."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Fair,
February 26, 2011
By JC
from SW Florida
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I've had this '99 Z28 (with the LS1 engine) for the past 6 years, and have 126,000 miles on it. It's a beautiful car and I get lots of compliments on it, but it's basically a plastic car around a great engine. I've blown the Monsoon speakers twice, and I'm not a kid. I've replaced the drivers side window motor once and it needs to be replaced again. The passenger side window motor also needs to be replaced. I know that this is a fairly common problem with the camaro, but it is frustrating. The T-tops leak. On a more serious side, I now have an oil leak, and the rear end is weak and "clunks". Plastic parts inside the car are breaking off, but of course, living in hot southwest Florida does not help. I also drive in heavy traffic daily and I feel like this car is choking to death. It is slowly falling apart and I can't decide whether to get rid of it, or keep it and start pouring money into it. Also, at my age (48) it's getting harder to get in and out of it, but there's NOTHING like getting your rear end planted in the seat when you "get into it" with the LS1 engine. This car will move. I have the performance handling package and it corners like it's on rails. It's great for getting ahead of the traffic where it belongs."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 20 for 1993 - 2002 Chevrolet Camaro
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Unusual emotional attachment,
September 18, 2013
By TravlinTeacher
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:300000
What's great about this vehicle?:looks great, super performance, handles remarkably
What's not so great about this vehicle?:keeps the mechanic in business
ReviewOriginationID:2601c59fc6714a8e8e376a602813e4bc
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Camaro
Vehicle ID:8717
""Unusual emotional attachment." That's what I call it. This is the second Camaro I have owned. The first was a 1984 V6. I loved it and had a mild mental breakdown when I tried to trade it in on another car. Until, I saw this car on the used car lot. It was Christmas 1999, had about 75,000 miles on it and cost me $9,000 with my trade-in. The new sticker price was well over $20,000. I felt I had robbed the bank. I didn't understand why anyone would give up this car, but I found out the young man that bought it new had just had a baby and traded it on a mini-van. His loss, my treasure. As you can see it is still a beautiful car. I have loved driving it every minute. It has great horsepower and anti-lock brakes, which for me go together! It does break a lot, though. My husband hates the car for that reason. Everything on it is high performance. I've been told high performance parts don't always last as long. I don't mind the sacrifice. It has been a very good car for me. Right now we are looking for a mechanic to replace the engine and transmission. A new Camaro would cost a lot more than keeping this one going. I wouldn't mind a new one, but just don't want to pay for it. That's why I say this car is a good value."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 1994