Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD

Average Customer Rating:
9.237 out of 10
9.2
 out of 
10
38 of 38(100%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Review 1 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Great truck great condition for its age.,
October 11, 2011
By Ty
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:good for offroading
What's not so great about this vehicle?:very very low gas milage
ReviewOriginationID:c4013268-29b6-45b6-a3ff-dfa15a3d1874
"great truck drives amazingly and humps up huge hills."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NV
Year 1991
Review 2 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best truck i have ever had,
June 7, 2010
By pickles
from el paso , texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"my blazer has 177000 miles on it and it still runs like a champ. this truck is as good on the road as off of it.Never had any problems, would buy another one if i can"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Ever,
October 10, 2009
By jake
from katy,tx
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this by far is the best chevy i have ever owned"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 4 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
The name said it all.,
September 14, 2009
By 4 Play
from Mobile,Al
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"1991 K5, with over 295,000 miles. All original equipment,with routine maintenance and minor repairs. No rust and very few dings.I have taken this Blazer in two wheel drive where others would have to use all four.I am only the third owner and I knew the first two owners.When Chevrolet had the commerical where Bob Saeger was singing "Like A Rock" this is the vehicle he was talking about."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 5 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great for the tall of stature,
March 20, 2009
By Fox
from Phoenix, AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"While shorter people may also enjoy it, the benefits are most apparent for those with longer legs. On most cars my knees bump painfully into the dash or console, but on this truck I have at least 6 inches of clearance from my knee to the dash.
I love my 1990 Blazer K5, with its vintage styling (styling changed in 1992), half cab with removable top and 4 speed manual transmission.
These trucks were used by the U.S. Army virtually unchanged before they adopted the Hummer and that speaks volumes as to the durability of this truck.
I will keep this truck until I can find another 1981 to 1991 Blazer K5 with less rust issues and keep my current Blazer for parts.
Value: The last Blazer was made in 1994, then replaced by the Tahoe. All are very inexpensive to own, maintain and insure.
Reliability: I have spent a few thousand on repairs but most are rust related (my Blazer in particular survived 18 winters in New Jersey). I have had to replace the rear window electric regulator and the rear U joint off the differential; both I hear are common issues with this truck and both are fairly cheap to locate parts and replace. The slave cylinder on my manual 4 speed transmission recently went, causing the clutch pedal to slowly sink to the floor before it would engage but this was a cheap repair as well. My Blazer has never left me stranded on the side of the road and has been properly maintained with the correct level of fluids and frequent scheduled oil changes by both myself and the previous owner.
Quality: Its a Chevy truck. The more modern Chevy cars leave much to be desired (up until most recently) but the trucks have always been spot on.
Performance: The 5.7 liter V8 can move this heavy truck around with gusto, and paired with the 4 speed manual is entertaining to drive.
Styling: They just don't make them like this anymore. The Blazer was the last of the trucks to adopt the new platform so the 1991 was styled very similarly to the 1980s Blazers and has a vintage look and feel, right down to the stainless steel trim and metal underdash.
Comfort: The capitains chairs are very comfortable and have a rocking action going for them, very bouncy, like a chair you may own in your home. The rear seat is comfortable and the side cushions attached to the wheel wells provide a nice pillow for naps between classes. The Blazer is the roomiest vehicle I have ever ridden in, due in part to it's large size as well as the hollow fiberglass roof in the pre-1992 half cab design."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love it!,
January 1, 2009
By 90-2faqoffn
from Cali
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"The best suv ever made. People dont realize what SUV stands for "Sport Utility Vehicle. This truck is all of the above. It will climb anything, tow just about anything, go anywhere truck. I have a 90 blazer and will never get rid of it. Great gas mileage around 18-19mpg which is way better than I expected. Plenty of power, Handles great, and looks nice. Everyone loves these trucks. I think the bring back memories for everyone. Truck has never left me stranded and has never dissappointed me. Cheap and easy to fix if ou ever have to fix it but dont plan on it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 7 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Trusty steed.,
December 31, 2008
By jhough
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"My parents bought this vehicle new in 90' and I inherited it 15 years later. The plan was to run it into the ground, but here we are at 335,000mi and I still can't shake it! The interior is falling to pieces and it's road noise is loud as ever, but I love this old girl."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Tough TRuck,
April 23, 2008
By Rob
from Colorado Springs, Co.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Owened a 1989 K10 and was rear ended by a car at about 35 mph and suffered minor damage to the rear end. Sad to say it bent the frame at the very end where the bumper attaches and shifted the rear cab forward alittle. The Grand Marquise suffered a total front end re arraingment. I loved this Blazer and would buy another for the right price and shape."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 9 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best trucks ive ever owned,
March 10, 2008
By hi tech redneck
from montana
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i have owned 2 blazers in my life and have immensely enjoyed them both my current vehicle is a 1990 chevy k5 blazer with 6 inches of lift and 38 inch toyo mud terrains."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 10 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great SUV,
January 16, 2008
By char91
from Colorado
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned my 91 Blazer for 12 years. It has never left me stuck anywhere... My family and I have really enjoyed owning it. It is still in perfect condition at 167K. if maintained this will last easily another 167K. Way to go Chevy, this truck is a keeper."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 11 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
grat vehicle,
January 13, 2008
By boggin81
from southwest, va
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"this is one of the most agile vehicles ever produced. these things are tanks!!! and the granny-gear 4 speed is awesome. and they have all kinds of power! i would reccomend this vehicle to any one looking for an everyday driver or for those tricky off-road trips."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 12 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
fresh truck clean,
December 17, 2007
By hoffinator
from C.C. TX
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"this vehical has new upolstery, eng has been replaced by a GM CRATE ENG. ENG HAS 35,000 MILES AND THE TRANS WAS OVER HAULED APROX 500 MILES AGO. TRUCK HAS R-134 RETRO FIT UPGRADES. GOOD TIRES AND FOG LIGHTS ARE INSTALLED."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
My Best Vehicle,
November 29, 2007
By Jmurray
from Havre, MT
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this truck years ago and I have put 171000 miles on the original motor and it is still running strong the only major thing I have done to it was change the tranny about a year ago and thats it I would have to say that Chevy lives up to its reputation"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
very good suv,
November 14, 2007
By rick
from reno ,nevada
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"this is my third blazer. I have enjoyed this 1988 the most, because of the improved gas mileage and overall proformance."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 15 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great Stock Mud Machine,
November 5, 2007
By Mud Moose
from Quahog, RI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I love my truck. My parents got me it for my first car and I thing it's perfect. Since it is a SWB truck it is great off road and has good handling. I think the best feature of the Blazer is that it has the removable top which is great for those hot summer days. In my opinion the 1989-1991 K5 Blazers are the best Chevy has come out with and they blow the Bronco's doors off!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 16 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Outstanding former USMC truck,
October 26, 2007
By M1009
from Houston, Texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my M1009 at a federal auction for $300, swapped the batteries, changed the oil and drove it home approximately 150 miles away. It has the 6.2L diesel in it. I average 19 m.p.g. in Houston, Texas city traffic and 26 out west on open highways. Top speed is around 62 to 65 m.p.h. with the three speed tranny. The truck HATES the cold until it warms up about 20 miles down the road. Acceleration is average for a N/A diesel - sluggish. However, the fuel efficiency more than makes up the difference. I average a 17 gallon fill-up a week with a total commute distance (to and from work) of just over 50 miles a day plus two trips from one end of Houston to the other (about 400 miles a week). So far I have spent $200 on a new interior (a tan cloth interior from various totalled out trucks at the junkyards around Houston that goes well with the woodland camo paint job), modified several small parts to hold up to severe off-road service, and begun a rustproofing program on the body. I have added tilt, delay wipers, cruize control, an FM CD player from Chevrolet ($25 for the deck AND speakers), a military radio tray-table, and a CB radio. This truck should outlive me and my son. The value for the money is a ten out of five. That was the best $300 I ever spent!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Truck,
October 22, 2007
By Beck
from WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"All around great truck, only thing that gets to me is the MPG. Its a bit bumpy, but thats kinda fun. The K5 can pretty much do anything you require of it, MPG and Comfort cant matter when it comes down to it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 18 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
88' chevy K5 blazer,
October 16, 2007
By mikey
from chubbuck, ID
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have a 88' K5 and i love it i took it to the mountains and took it up the steapest mountain I could find and never hit 4wheel great performance gas is iffe but worth it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 19 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
just me and my blazer,
September 28, 2007
By pambler
from nh
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"and I do love it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 20 for 1987 - 1991 Chevrolet BLAZER 4WD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Blazer Ever,
September 21, 2007
By K5 Blazah
from South Kingston, Rhode Island
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I love the grille on this year truck, I think they look the best of any Blazer. The K5s are possibly the best off the line 4x4s you could get next to the Hummer H1. I also have a K10 pickup with the front clip off a 90' K5 Blazer and those don't look to bad either."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.