Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo

Average Customer Rating:
6.966 out of 10
7
 out of 
10
568 of 765(74%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Review 41 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
So far, quite good.,
September 13, 2007
By Bryman
from OKC, OK
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"2005, red, 4-door sedan, 5 speed manual tranny, no AC; bought new on the employee-discount promotion for $8866. Gas mileage @ 16,000 miles over 2 years: 28.29 MPG; mostly short-trip city. I keep a continous spreadsheet on that so for this vehicle that is a completely accurate valuation.
I reccommed that you replace the stock tires with a high end set of tires (of presicely the same dimensions on the stock steel wheels) immediately because the ride and handling with great tires is superb. I was able to do that for just under $600 and seeing the performance improvement, especially in high crosswind and wet driving circumstanses it is worth twice that. If you like the handling and "zippy" aspect that this car has with the tires that come on it, you'll absolutely cherish it after you upgrade your tires. I always put the most expensive tires I can find that match the vehicle sizeing specs and I always see a great improvement in ride and handling along with no flats for the life of the tires. You have to try it to belive it but a few hundred dollars spent on great tires makes a huge difference in the overall driving experience on all vehicles.
With an egine so small AC is a no-no, as well as an automatic tranny. This car can rock without those unnecessary encumberances.
Have not had to do anything but wash it and change the oil. Roominess is unsurpassed in the two front seats and trunk for a sub-compact.
This car can't be beat for the price I paid.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Better Than Most,
August 26, 2007
By Cradlequeen
from Baltimore, MD
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I haven't has this car long but have had several different types and makes of cars in my 15+ yrs driving. While the luxury is not there the reliability and economics fully makes up with todays gas prices that is SUPER important.
I bought an '05 w/ 40,000 mi on it, the ride isn't as smooth as i'd like it but it's a great little car. I was uneasy at first having heard some bad stories of unhappy buyers, but after more extensive research the reviews of actual owners tells the story, out of 29 rev. on this site only about 5 were bad and 2 borderline. I would definitly recommend this vehicle! Great for a 1st car or a 10th!!
I would definitly recommend this car to anyone who enjoys driving and likes small cars, great buy!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Never Again,
August 24, 2007
By peanut
from North Carolina
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"I just recently purchased my third aveo back in May and am not planning on purchasing another one. My second one was in the shop with air conditioning problems and my most recent one is currently in the shop with the oil gasket and pump busted at 3067 miles. I thought I was getting a good deal for the price but I realize now that is worth paying a little extra to get better quality in a car. Yeah, the gas mileage was great but it wasn't a very big tank so I was filling it up quite often. I have not been a satisfied customer and will not purchase another one. It has been nothing but trouble for me."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
OK Car,
August 11, 2007
By Yugles
from Canaseraga, NY
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought my 2006 Aveo new, Nov 06. Gets 38 mpg on my hour drive to work, all highway.
Only problem - N.Y. WINTER
1) If car is outside, hasn't been started in 6 to 8 hours, temp is below 10, WILL NOT START!!!
Couldn't start it for 4 straight days last winter and several individual mornings
Once temp goes above 30, starts with no problems
2) If temp 30 - 45 and car is cold, auto transmission will not shift into final gear until tack has been up to almost 5 for 30 to 45 seconds. once car is warm, no problem.
Can't find anyone that can tell me why for either
Future issue - the aerodynamics creates gunk buildup just behind the back doors, future rust spots.
Overall, a good car for the buck, just a winter frustration
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
August 1, 2007
By al
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"owned this car for a year now and have 24000 miles. no problems yet. the car rides decent and handles the same. gas mileage has been 33-36 mostly hiway . good ac, bad radio. had to get an alignment at 20000 and new tires, but for a cheap car pretty good."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
July 29, 2007
By trouble free
from Los Angeles, Ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I purchased my Aveo in May of 2004 and I drive it daily on Los Angeles streets. I have never had any trouble. This little car works like a charm!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I LOVE this car!!!,
June 26, 2007
By Karen
from Detroit, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Great car!!! It's inexpensive to own but a blast to drive! The seats are the most comfortable I've ever had, it's peppy around town and very fuel efficient. If you're looking for a nice car at an unbeatable price, this is it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
nice vehicle,
June 24, 2007
By jz
from milwaukee, WI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"All around solid vehicle.
comfortable to drive.
Great value compared to the Honda or Toyota.
I have driven it for 40K miles and would buy one again.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best deal for the money,
June 23, 2007
By Madmax
from Indianapolis
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"For the money great car. If you like a car that feels like you are driving a car this is the one. Most cars have that feel like your driving above the road this one you feel attached to the road. I would have given it all 5 stars but performance is not what it feel for it is a small fun car and you won't be speeding away from things in a zoom but it fun to drive"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
dependable.,
March 24, 2015
By Momma
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:76000
ReviewOriginationID:7b68f3c7bdd44421bb0e8ad6482d980f
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Aveo
Vehicle ID:142
"In nine years about 1k in repairs. not including oil changes, tires and tires"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Totally usable commuter car. Very RED in color,
April 11, 2014
By Rod
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:19900
What's great about this vehicle?:Great overall economy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not a family car. The back seat is tight.
ReviewOriginationID:d5c31796164044b899c2ebfc87639cb7
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Aveo
Vehicle ID:237118
"I bought this vehicle as a commuter car and have driven it for four years. My commute is relatively short, hence the low mileage. I have had zero problems, that's ZERO problems with this vehicle. It is no race car but can deliver surprising punch when ask to. It is a small car and not really suited for long cross country trips."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Dependable and affordable,
November 23, 2013
By Colorado Gal
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:68000
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy to maintain, fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not much storage in console
ReviewOriginationID:faead3369f304036a11f2541af4c41fa
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Aveo
Vehicle ID:83522
"I knew this wasn't a luxury car when I bought it, so I wasn't expecting that sort of ride, however, I've been very happy with it. I typically get 36 mpg, and sometimes a bit more on long road trips when I can use the cruise control. It's fun to drive, and easy to maneuver around town where parking can be tight. It's larger inside that you'd expect, seating three adults in the back fairly comfortably. Being able to put the rear seats down enables me to load up my skis, or carry large items home from the store. In almost 8 years, I've had virtually no maintenance expense aside from regular oil changes. I finally had a tune up and got a battery this year (2013). Perfect as a commuter car, and thrifty on road trips, I really have felt I've gotten a huge amount of value for a very affordable price!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Cheap car, you get what youpay for.,
September 12, 2013
By zafroman
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
3
Definitely
Approximate mileage:61000
What's great about this vehicle?:Seats stay comfortable after hours of driving, mpg
ReviewOriginationID:fa75aca85c5e420bb0a1ad2c2326c8de
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Aveo
Vehicle ID:237118
"I bought this car a year ago and have put 25,000 miles on it. When I bought it, it seemed like a nice car, and was really the only thing I could afford at the time. So after purchasing it, and driving it home I started noticing problems. First of all that bugged me was shifting. I own a 5 speed manual transmission and quickly came to the conclusion that the transmission was not in the best condition. Even with the clutch all the way down when switching to second, third, and fourth at a moderately high rpm the gears will catch and grind together (making hill starts and acceleration a pain). Second of all it doesn't do a good job of sound insulation, so it is a loud ride, even with music. Third, I encounter problems with the sensors (oil pressure, engine, and tire sensors) decide to light even with nothing being wrong.
Some pros are, comfortable seating, aux. jack, decent mpg ( I average 28.5-30)
It is a cheap car where you get what you pay for.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Very Happy With Car,
August 28, 2013
By walt
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:85000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great value. gas mileage. nice ride
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Cheap tires. Some quality lacking
ReviewOriginationID:8e1bb90572eb4f779f3d420b3c70b2cf
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Aveo
Vehicle ID:196973
"Bought the car in 2009 and it had 12,000 miles on it. We wanted a better gas mileage car for our second vehicle. We have had very little problem with car. had a tail light replaced because it because water as getting in it. And had to have a vacuum hose replaced due to a small split down the seam of it. Have made several long distance trips in and have been quite comfortable with it. We realize it does not ride like a caddy but we know we did not buy nor pay for one. The ride has been quite impressive to be honest. The gas mileage has been terrific, between 38-40 in open road and around 35 in city. My biggest complaint was the Korean tires on the car. They completely wore out at 28000 miles. But after complaining to GM they split the cost for a new set of tires. NOT the Korean ones by the way. The only other complaint is the cheap plastic when covers which the paint is pealing from. While there are some areas of the car you can tell have been cheaply made the overall performance of the car has been great."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great little car! Handles better than I expected.,
April 9, 2013
By NFfarrell
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:54000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great all around, very much fun to drive.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No power windows & locks.
ReviewOriginationID:9b0b596913cb4685b141241e7ec34e02
"I've had this car about 2 months and I like it much more than I expected. I had shopped for a hatchback or small SUV but decided the Aveo sedan suited my needs better. I really like everything about it except that it does not have power locks & windows. This is really a hassle for me as I have arthritis & mobility problems. I really recommend this car for a great all purpose ride; lots of storage, 3 positions for child car seats, good mileage - 30 MPG with mostly highway driving, great visibility, high driver's seat, tough kid friendly upholstery. Chevy scores again!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
more for a beginner driver, business trips,
January 5, 2013
By yolo
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Not At All
4
Definitely
Approximate mileage:52000
What's great about this vehicle?:nice to drive on highway
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no auto locks,ac,tiny hatchback area
ReviewOriginationID:65be9a3951e0496d85ad77d04c247f69
"great little summer vaycay car for a single person.comfortable for the long haul.go easy on them corners.pack light when travelling with more than yourself....not a whole lota room for disorganization."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location Canada
Year 2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One of the best cars I have ever purchased!,
December 18, 2012
By Lor
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:86000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun, quick, inexpensive to own
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poor cup holder/ashtray placement.
ReviewOriginationID:02b7fb1fb04949e7b513de23e511a833
"Bought new and had never heard of the car before the day I first saw it. I have loved owning this car! No mechanical failures, no pesky problems, never a break down!I have never owned a Chevrolet and was very surprised by the value this car gave me. And, the mileage exceeded my expectations. Lots more room than it looks: The trunk is very large and we have even gone camping, with all gear, kids & dogs, no difficulties. Feel I have really gotten my money's worth on this vehicle and then some!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Most reliable car,
November 8, 2012
By Gray Girl
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:75000
What's great about this vehicle?:great value, lo maintenance costs, good gas mileag
What's not so great about this vehicle?:small cargo space
ReviewOriginationID:015596a9ceae48d89d28ae92d1d71bbf
"This has been the most reliable car I have ever owned (and I am 67 yrs old, having owned just about every brand there is). NO breakdowns, just regular maintenance: tires, battery, fluids, etc. My car was totaled, salvaged and rebuilt twice before I bought it used in 2006, and I cant believe what a good little car this has been. Would highly recommend this to a youngster, first car, college car....no worries and no expensive repair bills. If I fill 'er up with non-ethanol gasoline, I get 33 MPG city and 44 MPG Hiway."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Car was OK as long as there was one driver.,
August 30, 2012
By Ms. A V O
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
3
Definitely
Approximate mileage:98000
What's great about this vehicle?:Saved gas money, in/out of tight places, USA parts
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Made in Korea, something w/ties, Leaked@1st.
ReviewOriginationID:b0233159b5384c3a8bc5880a017c8389
"This car was OK as long as I was the only one driving. It served the purpose for which I bought it, commuting, and saving on money and gas. Now I have some problems with the wheels, but that could come from the way others drove my little car. It was Fun!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 2004 - 2010 Chevrolet Aveo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
i love this car!,
August 23, 2012
By shopgal71
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:81000
ReviewOriginationID:6ae6a3f6076f4f9aaf503ca5f2a5b2a7
"This car is great with gas and looks nice. Mine is silver with a spoiler. I have a 2007 Aveo and I bought this car brand new. Other than an oil change, I never had to do anything to it until the fifth year I had the car. This year I seem to be spending more on parts and such. The most expensive was the ac unit. I would definitely get this car again. I don't know how long I will keep this car, but my teen daughter drives it too and she likes it better than my husband's Toyota."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.