Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro

Average Customer Rating:
8.063 out of 10
8.1
 out of 
10
74 of 79(94%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Review 1 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Amazing Vehicle,
September 14, 2008
By DuffmasterFresh
from California
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This van is built like a rock. The big engine serves me well, I tow a big trailer with dirt bikes and quads. Bought it new back in 91 and it now has 191K miles on it. Only major issues were with Chevrolet customer service, in its current condition it runs solid, starts like a champ and I know it could go till 250K miles strong. Have replaced the motor mounts and steering gear and a radiator because of a few accidents. Its build like a tank and is great for taking all your friends to the beach. I would buy another one in a heart beat. I might sell mine right now, if I do it will be a sad day for me. I know i could keep it for another few years with no problems. Original engine and transmission. I hope to give mine to a good friend who's kid is starting to drive, it can take some damage which we know how new drivers are. Professional mechanic owned for 16 years and the seats were covered so it looks like the interior is brand new! Engine is clean no leaky fluids or oil, its never had that problem. It handles like a dream for such a big vehicle, parking and driving are no problem. I can do a full 360 in the middle of my street to turn around, no other van can do that. Great torque, its geared differently then the newer models are so its more for towing. This van has been through many road trips, dirt bike trips, kids to soccer and high school, commuting to work every day, errands and groceries. I like taking out the back and middle seat, it has as much room as a truck bed but climate controlled, great for taking your bands equipment to practice. there is nothing else like it, I recommend it highly!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Vehicle Ever Owned,
October 23, 2009
By ksrigg
from Bristol, VA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this 1987 LT Astro new from the dealership, and have had it for over 20 years. I have changed the oil every 3,000 miles, and at 50,000 miles had the spark plugs replaced, and the other recommended maintanence done. Sure, there have been things that have needed fixing, mainly little electrical things, but this van has taken me from VA to FL so many times, it knows the way. It has carried cargo to Chicago with the seats removed. It can not be beat. But after 20+ years, I'm going to sell her to get a 2004 Astro with more miles on her. The air conditioner finally gave out on the 87 and I've had about everything replaced, but can't get it cold enough for the Summer trips to FL. I hate to see her go, but she will be replaced with a 2004 with front and rear air and I hope I can keep this Astro 20 years. I love them. (I also bought a 1989 Cargo version for real cheap to use for hauling stuff)...so for a short period of time, I will own three Astros. You can't go wrong with this vehicle. The 4.3l Vortec is a workhorse, the van extremely well conceived, and executed wonderfully. If you have any question, buy it...I still get 23 miles per gallon on the highway, down from 25 MPG when she was new, but gotta love that mileage for a big hauling monster. Actually took a golf trip with 6 peole with clubs, luggage, etc to Williamsburg, and she was a dream. The LT has built in coolers in the rear for ice cold beverages, and a gas tank that hold about 100 gallons of gas. I think you can drive about 600 miles without a fill.
Just a great vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
horible vehicle,
February 5, 2008
By psychocarney
from michigan
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"ive owned this car for 5 years and have had nothing but problems with it. ive had to replace the trans 2 times although it just died again for the 3rd time. the radiater has been replaced 2 times. the whole front end was replaced 1 time. and the entire exuast system behind the manifold is gone. on top of that i didnt have the money to repair the locks passenger window which is stuck closed. the radio, seats, or the windshield which is cracked everywhere litteraly. there was no reason for it to crack either. then there is the rust. all i need to say is any where you look you dont need a window to see outside. gas mileage was great though i guess thats the only thing it had going for it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
my best friend,
November 27, 2011
By jac
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:375700
What's great about this vehicle?:awesome vehicle for reasons stated above
ReviewOriginationID:874b4366-15a1-4a4a-8c94-95a3fb06c465
"This is my 6th Astro van. The first one had around 750000 miles on it before she died. The others have been in wrecks and not once did I get hurt. The engine parts are cheap and easy enough that I can work on the engine myself and I am a grandma. Unfortunately in '94, that was the last year for the 4.3L. I believe after that they only have the vortec? engine which most parts are not interchangeable between the 2 and the vortec only has one injector. I used all of them for long distance deliveries and drove thousand of miles and not once have I had to have then towed. Great ride, plenty of room and has 2 bench seats and extremely dependable."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1994
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
November 11, 2007
By stick
from lyman, s.c.
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"bought our sister in law's '87 after she had it since new. she later told me she had the transmission replaced twice , the ac and brakes. we have driven in part time for two years and had a window motor go bad, interior light dimmer wheel , door latches , the rear axle seal, the paint blistered off off the hood and roof, water pump, and finally the transmission started slipping. i did however enjoy the versatility of it. not too bad on gas, good ride, leaned in curves, and not enough room for the left foot. and changing the plugs and wires will cause you to curse the designers. finally gave it away , but i miss it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 6 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love My Astro!,
June 17, 2009
By Mary
from New Port Richey, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We purchased our 1993 Extended Astro in 2000 with 110,000 miles. Our odometer now reads almost 220,000 miles! Yes, we've had to replace brakes, radiator, drivers side window motor, repair on A/C fan, etc. All repairs are to be expected on a vehicle of this age. Repairs never exceeded the equivalent of 2-3 months car payments. We tried to replace ours with another Astro, but couldn't find one in decent shape. I guess those who own Astro's like to keep them. Ours was great for family trips and carting the wrestling team to tournaments. Always had enough room. Wished they still kept making them."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 7 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
FAMILY STYLING!!! CAMPING, SURFING, ROAD TRIPS,
November 19, 2007
By SLICK
from FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"WE HAVE OWNED THIS VEHICLE SINCE IT WAS NEW IN 1994...HATE TO JINX IT, BUT IT'S BEEN A GREAT FAMILY RIDE...FIVE OF US PLUS OUR SMALL DOG...IT'S HELD UP TO 8 PEOPLE AND 11 SURFBOARDS...ALL INSIDE!!!
A GREAT ALL AROUND TOWN VEHICLE, ROAD TRIP, AND CAMPING...HOLDS A TON OF STUFF PLUS US!!!
WE'VE NEVER USED THE LUGGAGE RACK...HAVE ONLY STUFFED OUR STUFF INSIDE...WE OWN THE GLADIATOR CONVERSION MODEL...NICER INSIDE...FOUR CAPTAIN'S CHAIRS (ALL RECLINING) AND BENCH IN BACK...GREAT GOING...OTHER KIDS WANT TO RIDE WITH US BECAUSE OF THE COMFORT...
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
monet well spent,
July 29, 2009
By jdizzle
from strasburg, IL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i bought my 1990 astro in 2005 from my parents with 200,000 miles on it for $900...i couldnt have asked for more out of it...i have had no problems with it other than basic maintenance....i recently had it painted orange....i have had it for 4 years and it still runs great with over 286,000 miles on it and it still has the original engine...trans...and rear end in it....my advice to any one who comes across an astro van in decent condition is..."buy it"....they r one the most reliable vehicles out there."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Two-time-Winner,
September 14, 2007
By Eagle
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 1993 Astro van used in 12/93, with around 8000 miles on it. We now have over 131,000 miles on it, and I still drive it to work on a regular basis. This van is dependable, comfortable, easy to handle, and powerful. The engines and transmissions in these things are beasts. If I ever get another minivan, I will certainly look at something similar from Chevy. We bought a second one ('96) used, in 1998. It had high mileage, and we have since gotten rid of that one, but the original rolls on."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great all around vehicle,
October 22, 2007
By firebird
from Bedford PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have owned my 92 Astro EXT AWD for 8 yrs now and having owned 5 other 4 wheel drive vehicles I can honestly say this van is by far and without a doubt the hands down winner both offroad and in the snow. weather conditions have NO effect on the handling or confidence of these vans and I have driven through 28 inch snow falls and the Astro just bulls through anything in its way. Gas mileage is better than one would expect in the upper teens and mid-twenties."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Amazing reliability!,
November 21, 2011
By Jim
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:225000
What's great about this vehicle?:Awesome reliability and versatility.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:They don't build them anymore.
ReviewOriginationID:e9f3b385-9684-4366-945e-3a36203c4f41
"I paid $800 for this van 6 yrs ago. Other than regular maintenance items there have been no major costs. This is the most dependable vehicle I have ever owned. The old girl uses no oil whatsoever after 225,000 miles! I love this van and have recommended them to everyone. My mother even bought a 92 model. She loves hers too. Always starts and runs. Nothing but Chevy in my driveway. Period. They truly are the Heartbeat of America."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1994
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Old Astro still good. Buying a newer one.,
February 14, 2009
By Chaz Man
from Cincinnati
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Got the 1992 Astro in 2000 had 99000 on it.Put new brakes on it.Over the years I put new tires battery things that wear out. It never broke down on me. Now in 2009 with 148000 miles and still running good. Goodwill will get this one.For I just picked up a new to me 2002 awd Ls astro with 67000 miles. The only thing bad is rear wheel drive goes nowhere in the snow. Gas milage is fair. 14 to 18 mpg."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love it!,
January 7, 2010
By Pompy
from Indiana
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Bought it used in 1998. Have run it all over the US. Went to Arizona and back for the winter 9 times pulling a 18' travel trailer. I love it, but now am at 230,000 miles and worried about pulling the TT to Az next year. So am looking for another one with less miles on it. My only problems have been the doors and windows, which the consumers guide said was it's main problems. I have handled that."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1992,
September 13, 2009
By PJ
from Annapolis, MD
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought this new & have never had a problem with it. bought the $700 extended warranty & only used it once when an oil sensor sire disconnected. Performed yearly maintenance & keep truck tires on it. No power items in mine to wear out so the only things that I've replaced are the rear door handle & an alternator. original motor, transmission are fine, Would buy another if they still made them."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
BEST EVER,
May 14, 2009
By ASTRO
from IOWA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"PURCHASED MY 1989 ASTRO IN 1997. RELIABLE AND PLENTY OF POWER. ONE OF THE BEST VEHICALS I EVER OWNED. WOULD HAVE LIKED TO UPGRADE TO A 2003-2005 ASTRO, BUT THE ONES I TEST DROVE WERE CLUNKERS COMPARED TO MINE. I JUST TRADED IN AT 189,000 MILES FOR A CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY AND AM VERY PLEASED WITH MY NEW PURCHASE. IF I EVER COME ACROSS A 1989 RESTORED ASTRO I WOULD BUY IT IN A HEARTBEAT."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 16 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
I love my Astro.,
July 2, 2009
By Coalcracker0
from PA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I inherited my '87 Astro from my dad when he passed away in '97. I think he owned it for 4 years before this. I love it! I can haul anything in it, except a load of dirt! I throw the seats in for vacation, and haul myself and 7 of my friends all over DC. I've had very little trouble (knock on wood) with it; fuel pump, tires, etc. No major issues."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 17 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great running for an old girl,
November 9, 2011
By happy owner
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:142545
What's great about this vehicle?:runs like a champ and starts every time
What's not so great about this vehicle?:takes more gas than the newer ones
ReviewOriginationID:b7564529-bd8e-4aca-bf2d-6983d95d42d4
"I paid $800 for this van almost 3 years ago, put $400 in it in repairs since then and she still runs like a champ. How many people can say they only paid $1200 for a vehicle over a 3 year period.Won't give her up until it turns to dust no matter how old she gets or how nice the new ones are. I might add a new chevy to the family though..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 1993
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Excellant car,
June 18, 2009
By rtunas
from Wyoming Michigan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Bought my 1994 CL RWD Astro brand new. Had minor problems when new but only main repairs were brakes, belts and new trans cooler lines. That was due to Michigan salt on roads. Only other problem was induced by a tree thanks to my daughter. That was just a replacement steering box. Not bad for wheel hitting a tree stump."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 19 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
On the Road Again,
July 29, 2008
By tourist
from Virginia
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This vehicle has been great for trips. The interior is comfortable for up to 6 on long trips. With the AWD we were able to travel on snow covered roads without any problems. There is a good amount of storage room also. We are able to fit the skis under the seats and the snowboards in the back.
We usually get 21-22 mpg."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 20 for 1985 - 1994 Chevrolet Astro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great little workhorse,
July 30, 2008
By astrobabe
from ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i have 261000 miles on my astro mini cargo van. always starts and runs good. Put a lot of miles on it, 20-23 mpg with the 6 cyl. engine. Handle broke off the passenger side (grandkids!!) and the left side rear door won't open any more. Now the engine is starting to leak oil, I'd buy another one like it in a minute!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more