Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.487 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
174 of 187(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Review 21 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
I have had better,
November 21, 2011
By longrider
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not At All
2
Definitely
Approximate mileage:175000
What's great about this vehicle?:Good ride
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poor fuel milage, troublesom fuel injection system
ReviewOriginationID:ebae10aa-e4ad-4761-9d57-05a52bfbd14d
"There are some design issues with the early eletronic automatic transmissions. The Diesel fule injection system is poorly designed. The ride of the truck is good. Load capicity is good. Fuel milage is lacking"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 1994
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A good looking, great driving, hefty hauler,
October 22, 2011
By JP
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:150000
What's great about this vehicle?:I would rather drive it than a Corvette.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Other than its getting old, None!
ReviewOriginationID:1080a403-e673-4ade-b4c7-c3d2fcfc6b78
"I bought this truck in 2004 from original owner and have put 50k on it and it still is beautiful and great dependable truck for hauling my camper and horse trailer to mountains, horse events, or shows. A new truck like it would probably be $37k. Taking care of your vechicle and respecting your property keeps your investment your pride for years."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1996
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Fun to drive!,
October 20, 2011
By Jim
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:157000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, reliable, pretty
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage (or lack thereof)
ReviewOriginationID:a3af530e-8c7e-48fb-8fb3-0fa4d268fd5a
"Bought the truck new and had it lowered 5/8 inches at the dealership and a Gaylords bed top installed. The truck has a big block, so there's a ton of power, combined with the low center of garvity, really hugs the road and looks great hauling your boat or bike trailer. The interior is very roomy, with plenty of storeage space. With the truck sitting so low, it's like sliding in and out of an old Caddie. You won't hit your head on the doorway like on most of the newer small cars."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1996
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Love my truck,
October 16, 2011
By horseygirl
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:can haul anything, anywhere
What's not so great about this vehicle?:poor gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:4b4e85b1-ceea-4de3-a9d2-6be51bad1c64
"Love this truck for hauling horses and cattle. The gas mileage isn't very good, and it's a large truck, so it's not that great for every day use - but if you need to haul, it's great!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2000
Review 25 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
good dependable work truck,
October 15, 2011
By jr.
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:135000
ReviewOriginationID:3bdac23c-93fd-4c21-b591-234cd896aab0
"this truck has a few rust area at the base if the doors and around the wheel wells in the bed of the truck. the truck has a small tear on the driver seat and the carpet is dirty from foot traffic in the front seating areas. all the interior is in good overall condition. the motor is sound snd runs well down the road. transmission is good with no problems as is the four wheel drive system."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1996
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
torque monster,
April 22, 2011
By Hank
from ft myers fl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"truck will pull anything. it is not fast but has plenty of power. i have only owned for 1.5 years but have driven 40k mi with a 10k lb trailer behind it all over the us. it has never let me down. never left me stranded the seats are vinyl and not the greatest in comfort but not bad considering i drive it 20 hrs at a time without stopping except for fuel."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
12 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bought used, but so far been good.,
April 10, 2011
By Cowboy817
from Fort Worth, Tx
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I purchased this vehicle Jan. 2011 ive put 5k miles on it since with the exception of two new front tires and new front brakes havnt had any other real problems so far!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
93 Chevy 3500 EXT Cab Single rear wheel,
March 12, 2011
By jayg
from Treasure Island, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I painted a house in Florida for this truck. I have owned other trucks and SUVs, but there is absolutely no comparison. It is the first diesel I have owned. She had 200,000 when I first got her. 2 years later 310,000 and running strong. I have hauled just about everything from dirt and gravel to heavy machinery and she seems to drive better under stress. I have driven her up and down the east coast. Very reliable! Did have a clutch replacement in the first month that I owned her. Also replaced the starter in my second year of ownership. Very easy to maintain."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good all around working vehicle,
February 19, 2011
By rej
from Santa Barbara County, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Excellent work truck with great room and capacity for hauling. The 7.4 L (454 CID) is heavy on fuel but is an excellent puller for work or trailer or 5th wheel trailer. Cab is very comfortable with the exception of leg room both front and back. Ride is good when carring a load as little as 200 pound in the back, but jarring when empty. With the box empty the rear is very light and the rear tires slide easy when braking on slick surfaces causing the anti-lock brakes to activate. Good visability, quiet, comfortable and easy to drive."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
clean,
January 17, 2011
By dufus
from Tyler Tx, and serounding areas.
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Ivedriven this vehicle sinceit was bought new.
Ive never had it let me down on the road.It has cold air, 2 new front tires but needs four on the rear. Right rear fender needs some repair after a tire threw a cap off an broke the fender. equipped with gooseneck hookup including the brake control. It has 87000 miles on it today after I got home from work. It has been very dependablefor me since I bought it new in jacksonville.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great truck,
January 13, 2011
By happy owner
from tx.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had this truck for 10 years the only problem was the injectors leaking most likely from sitting, the 454 is a overall good motor"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 32 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
really good buy,
June 20, 2010
By angelito
from CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Good all around vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 33 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Just bought it,
May 30, 2010
By Digger
from Grants Pass, Oregon
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I just bought a '97 Silverado 3500 dually today. So far I'm fairly impressed. I did pay a bit more than the KBB suggested price but not enough to feel like I got taken.
I really like the 1 ton aspect as I will be towing a 37' trailer and it will do the job in spades.
Overall, I'm glad I purchased this truck and hope to have it for some time to come.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 34 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Get What you pay for,
May 29, 2010
By Buffalohunter79
from The Captial of "TRUCK COUNTRY" Houston, Texas
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have a 2000 Chevy C/K 3500 Used with a 5.7 liter Gas, Crew Cab total mileage is 92000. It took me a year to find this car used with such low mileage. They are hard to find because they are still in service and rock'n and rollin on the streets,freeway,and back roads of America.. Even though the Vehicle does not have the 454, the 350 does more than I asked.. I don't haul alot just a boat and trailer and it does just fine. "GAS MILEAGE" The big "CON" Lets be honest These trucks are not exactly designed for the best intreset of the conservationist. These trucks are designed to serve one purpose and one purpose only.."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my truck,
May 28, 2010
By Dag Nasty
from Billings, MT
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Great truck does everything I want it to, plus has nice styling and is very comfortable to drive."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 36 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best vehicle ive owned,
May 11, 2010
By chevy man
from fort scott, ks
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i love this truck and would never want to give it up. The only down fall is...It loves to eat gas. lol I wouldnt recomed for an everyday driver."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 37 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Like a Rock,
February 24, 2010
By Horse Owner
from Michigan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"As a 10+ year owner of multiple Chevy/GM trucks from 1500's to 3500's. The 88-98 models have never let me down! Do proper maint work on them and they keep going! I have a 92 Crew cab single wheel 454 that had been sitting for 4 years before I got it, a little TLC and its a champ. I also have a 93 GMC Seirra 1500 2wd 305 with 294,000 original miles on it that I can drop a fully loaded 2 horse trailer on it and still get 14mpg pulling. With absolutly no acting like its losing power. treat these trucks right and have a life long partner!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great tow rig,
January 28, 2010
By Bowtie Fan
from Eagle Pass, TX
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I have a 2000 C3500 with the 6.5 turbo diesel and single rear wheels. There's nothing this truck won't pull. With simple upgrades to the air intake and exhaust system, this truck can compete with newer diesels at a fraction of the cost. Without a load, it rides like a stagecoach. But with a loaded trailer behind it, it smoothes out and rides like a Caddy. As long as you perform the necessary maintenance at the proper intervals, the Chevy 6.5 will run forever. I purchased this truck solely to use as a tow rig and so far I couldn't be more pleased."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
best truck,
January 17, 2010
By Cam
from TN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this truck 1 year old from a rock drilling compant at auction with 80000 miles on it. Its a 4x4 with the 5.7 crew cab single wheel. Gas mileage is what it is, so what. I work this truck, towing heavy loads, its in 4 whl drive a lot. Paint started chipping off the bed a little. Still has its original a/c charge. Original vinyl bench seats started to deteriorate so I swapped front and back from a wrecked tahoe. I love this truck and want it to be buried with me in 50plus years!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 1990 - 2000 Chevrolet 3500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
KING of the road,
January 5, 2010
By REDEYE
from San Diego, CA So-Cal
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have only owned this truck for a few years but had older silverado which retired on family farm @ 400k. This truck (88 454 3500 crew-dually) has practically unlimited power, I'm afraid to floor it,, for fear the throttle will stick, but have never had to. MEGA-power with the 454. I haul waste for a living and have loaded the bed full and never a problem with overloading. I have also pulled out large tree stumps with it. It reminds me of our JD 4020 when pulling.... no problems. Not sure of the weight cap. but have had 2.7 tons in bed and still handles good. The only faults I have found are the cheap plastic interior parts, the M.P.G. poor at best even when empty( 10-12 tops), and the ride when empty is bumpy. Still get lots of looks- manly eye candy. But I must say I feel like the king of the road when driving this truck. Hats off to G.M."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.