Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.729 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
1,531 of 1,587(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Review 461 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love it, never getting rid of it,
September 21, 2009
By glock22brent
from San Antonio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had this truck since 2001 and I have simply fallen in love with it. I will likely never get rid of it. I unfortunately have to go in tomorrow and get the transmission rebuilt but with 161000 miles and 35 inch tires, it is nothing less than one would expect. I believe the 350 is hands-down the best motor ever put into a regular duty pickup truck. I have had standard problems that one would expect to have at this many miles, with the trannsmission being the first problem to cost more than 400 dollars. If you manage to find one for a good price from a dealership, snatch it up and be prepared for a lifetime of enjoyment. The performance received 4 stars because at 255 hp, it does leave a little to the imagination. Comfort received 4 stars only because the room in the back seat of the extended cab version can tend to be cramped. The style received 4 stars simply becaues as newer vehicles come out, you get to see everything you never had in your 98 but want anyways. I plan on buying a new pickup in the near future, but plan on keeping this one forever. I will likely put some 37" tires on it and install HD front and rear axle replacements in the near future in order to make it my weekend fun truck. Even with the lift I have right now measuring at 9" and 35" tires, I am pleased with the in town mileage of 12.5 mpg. This, of course, with the standard 3.73 gear ratio."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 462 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
September 13, 2009
By Tuff Bowtie
from Tulsa Oklahoma
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Great Truck. 217,000 miles and still dependable and running strong"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 463 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
September 11, 2009
By mike
from hartford, ct
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"i have had my chevy silverado for about a year and a half and cant wait to sell it. i had a fresh motor put in it and had the trany rebuilt and it runs good. i dislike this truck because the paint job is garbage and the interior is falling apart. i am friends with the past owner and he never beat on the truck its all just falling apart. every time i drive it i hear a new squeeking sound from the dash. i am just going to go back to fords."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 464 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
I love it.,
September 7, 2009
By Ck
from Decatur, AL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I love the way this truck rides extremely comfortably. The only problems I'm having are pretty much easy fixes."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 465 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
America's best 1/4 ton,
September 6, 2009
By sleeper
from Alabama - ROLL TIDE
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We've owned this truck for 11 years and got it in '98. It has the good ol 5.7, and they way these trucks are built....well they just don't make'em like this anymore. Just can't beat them. Ours has pulled horses, hay, machinery, and even those foreign jobs that are said to be better than what hauled it to a shop!!! That 5.7 V8 doen't hesitate when you drop a gooseneck in the bed. And come heck or high water the Z71 package gets you out of the worst mud holes. To put it simple, I wouldn't trade this 13 year old truck with 151685 miles for 5 2009 tundras!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 466 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great truck,
September 6, 2009
By bottlefed944
from south lyon
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have 2 of this generation trucks, ones a 96 and the others a 98 and both have over 160,000 miles and are still going strong. I would recommend these trucks to anyone ! clealy these are the best trucks ever made !"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 467 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great All Around Truck,
September 1, 2009
By GMCReid
from Salt Lake City, UT
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We've bought this truck new and it is still going strong. With over 100,000 I have not had a bit of trouble with the engine and Transmission. Vortec 350 provides plenty of power and you can still work on them. The only 2 problems I know with these trucks are the water pump and the power steering. If you do donuts with the variable power steering you will blow the pump. and the water pumps seem to go out around 100,000 miles but those are cheap and easy fixes. These are great trucks and I love mine."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 468 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great truck,
August 29, 2009
By bill
from redding: ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"never leave you stranded"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 469 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
tvr taz,
August 22, 2009
By smurf
from mech, pa.
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"great truck for towing,easy to work on decent fuel mileage, easy to do modifications to, and get more horsepower out of."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 470 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent Vehicle,
August 16, 2009
By Rick
from Manitoba
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Have had this vehicle since 100000 miles and now has 215000 miles and is still going strong. Has the older TBI 350 4 spd auto which has decent power and excellent reliability. Drive it to northern Manitoba (Thompson, snow lake, the pas) at least 5 times a year in the middle of winter. No problems starting or running even in -50 C. Put in a posi when I first got the truck which was worth the money since I drive it lots in the winter. Have done brakes, radiator, alternator, tie rod ends, one ball joint, one wheel bearing, and some other minor repairs. Never had tranny or engine problems, runs great, regular mtce. is the key. Still performs as good as the new trucks plus if you like to do some of your own wrenching its fairly easy to work on. One of the best trucks made. Period."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 471 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
greatest truck ever,
August 9, 2009
By puggs
from oldtown md
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i've had this truck for 11 years and have over 250,000 miles on it's original 4.3 engine. this truck has been with me since i turned 18. i live in the woods and work construction so it was run very hard and put away wet!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 472 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Good Truck,
August 8, 2009
By Gus
from 87801
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Ive had this truck for 2 years and never had a problem. The 5.7 litre is one of the best engine chevy ever made . Even with 175,000 miles this truck can pull and haul all day no problem. It will take a beating and never skip a beat. 4 wheel drive is relible and strong. over all a great truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 473 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Work Truck,
August 8, 2009
By Mac
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My Paw-Paw drove this truck for years working at his construction company, now I've got it and it's still running strong as the day he got it. Great, reliable, and durable work truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 474 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
August 7, 2009
By psdareme
from Palm Springs
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought this truck new in 92 off the lot and have done very little to it since then, now at 195000 miles and runs like new!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 475 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
very poor condition,
August 7, 2009
By angel
from oh
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
"severe machanical and cosmetic defects poor running condition,problems that cannot be fixed, rusted all through body and frame"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 476 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
August 6, 2009
By mike
from Springfield, IL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i have owned this truck for many years and have had no major problems with it. It is a very reliable truck with good horse power. i have had it on a strip agianst a 2006 dodge ram with the hemi. The 350 kept up with it and i have it bone stock."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 477 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very nice,
August 5, 2009
By flash
from indanna
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i have one like this and its still like new and nevery had no pormblems with it i had it sents it was new"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 478 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
been great,
August 4, 2009
By comfort
from north .Texas
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I think it has been one of the best chevy trucks, the 1999 350 motor has power and get 18mpg."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 479 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
AWESOME TRUCK,
July 31, 2009
By nessa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Absolutely love my truck it is beautiful and incredibly reliable for its age..couldnt ask for anything better!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 480 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Fantastic Truck!,
July 30, 2009
By Akkitten
from Alaska
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this truck new in 97' it went from Alaska to Texas, twice with no problems. Had to replace a fuel pump and problems with the sun circle in the transmission, thats it. Regular maintenance keeps this girl in top shape. People still comment what a nice looking truck it is and can't believe it when I tell them what year it is."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.