Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.733 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
1,562 of 1,620(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Review 1 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Clearly the vehicle has more than paid for itself.,
January 12, 2012
By Jamie
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:Price, Fun to drive, Distance between fill ups,MPG
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:c419011a-6b4e-4e64-bf6b-459878b89581
"In reliabilaty and ease of use this is the best vehicle I have ever owned or even used. The only part of the vehicle that seems to have fault is the paint. other then that, I concider it bullet proof. 17mpg in the city in a 20 year old 4x4 is stunning to me. So when people look at me funny for sitting in my ugly truck, I know I have the last laugh."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1992
Review 2 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Amazing truck,
December 28, 2011
By lou
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:will do anything you ask it to
What's not so great about this vehicle?:likes gas!
ReviewOriginationID:37846d05-ac1d-4bf9-9196-5f4426456307
"I have owned it since new and aside from changing the engine and transmission oil, all I have ever done is change a water pump (for a minor drip) and the alternator due to a singing bearing. I changed the Bilstein shocks because they were 13 years old and I figured they MUST need changing though I never had any problems!
I have hauled TONS of stuff and pulled a 21 foot boat for years with it, it never let me down
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1998
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A Family Heirloom,
December 11, 2011
By Little Tony
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:203000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great work truck, good mpg for a truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:some repiars can be costly
ReviewOriginationID:85da45d5-96bf-4e28-b4a6-4d4010b0553d
"I own this truck the 1996, 6 cylinder, 5 speed manual tran work truck model, My A/C finally went this past summer but I got it replaced with a dummy pulley and now I get even better gas mileage, mostly highway driving 20-21mpg with regular maintenance. I have replaced many parts but the engine is perfect and no leaks. Most parts are easy for the ameteur driveway mechanic to replace. I have taken it to the mechanic for only 3 things; fuel pump, a/c, slave cylinder and clutch replacement. Everything else on my own; brakes, belts, pulleys, alternator, oil changes, etc. I bought it off my Dad in 2005 I will own it until it is dead since I have no one to will it to."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 1996
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Truck Ever!,
May 21, 2011
By CTNative
from Irvine, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this 1991 truck in 1992 for $10,600 when I was 19. I drove it out to California and I've been here ever since, for 18 years, and so has my truck.
The clutch didn't need replacing until about 295,000 miles. It's almost never broken down and when it has, it's never been major and luckily, always close to home.
When I was younger, and a bit dumber, I took this 2WD off-roading in the Mojave desert, through 4X4 trails at the top of Big Bear, CA and all over the place beating it up and it never let me down.
I drove it across the U.S. seven times with a cheap shell on the back to sleep under while I was in college in CA to visit my parents in CT.
The odometer stopped working but I calculated it has about 327,000 miles on it. I burn just a little oil when it starts in the morning but otherwise it still runs great.
I just spent a few thousand getting the paint and bodywork done, the interior restored, a new clutch and some minor engine overhauling.
Now that I've long since graduated and have a good job, I could go out and buy a new fancy car, but why would I do that when this truck just won't quit and it's been with me for so many years and so many memories.
For all the money this truck has saved me, it was worth every penny. If the engine lets go, I plan on putting in another one and I'll just keep right on going........"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love my 96,
May 21, 2011
By BJ
from Pearland texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this 96 in 99 with 85k miles.It now has 185k miles. I have had no major problems with it.It has never failed to get me home. It has hauled heavey trailer lods. It has been to the smokey mountains several times hauling motorcycles behind. It has been to new york state and toronto canada. I naever babied it. It has the original motor and trany. Never been rebuilt. my only complaint is the arm rest storage is poorly built and the hinge broke. (same with my 99"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 6 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this truck. Will never sell it.,
December 25, 2015
By chevman
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:191000
What's great about this vehicle?:value, power, 4x4, reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:big motor so gas mileage isnt the greatest.
ReviewOriginationID:907b4c65205a42718ac25915972da544
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:6266
"Great engine z71 for extra capabilties. Strong motor with plenty of power. Reliable, cheap parts. Gas mileage 14 highway. Throaty exhaust, always fires up. With good tires it can go anywhere. Only broken item is the windshield wipers, nothing a little rain x cant fix."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NV
Year 1998
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Over 300,000 Miles and still hasn't broken a sweat,
November 4, 2015
By Randy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:306000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun, Fast, and Great
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
ReviewOriginationID:c728a698d1c34252bd2be39e4958155c
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8702
"I love this truck so much. Very dependable and good looking. Never had any major problems, sep for maintenance. Its fun to drive and overall I would buy it again."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1996
11 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love my z71,
September 29, 2015
By Bryant86
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:191000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:just like every truck rust on cab corners & rocker
ReviewOriginationID:3227eac8829d4c62a22ab0b1f6060520
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8768
"Easiest most affordable Truck I've owned, to maintain.
Can fix everything in it with ease.
Decent on Gas milage for a truck.
Drivability is great on and off road.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 1994
17 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very Dependiable Truck with 121,000 Miles,
September 24, 2015
By Holstein Farmer/VML
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
What's great about this vehicle?:Has every thing that I need in a bacic truck.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Minor Rust
ReviewOriginationID:6055645d4dad4f9895d0232c06a635ba
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:6261
"I will be strongly consider this vehicle. It has the ample towing power that I need all around the dairy farm that I work at. This truck I viewed in Southwest Wisconsin, has a clean motor (with minor wear), great interior, and VERY decent body."
Ownership Status I want this car.
Location WI
Year 1998
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
excelent truck,
August 25, 2015
By willy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:ea10dd3d7d004a92b366de162232c554
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8702
"I've had this truck for 18 years and it has never given me any trouble. The stepside bed, 4-wheel drive, and its bright red color gives it a sporty look. I constantly have people wanting to buy it from me but it's not for sale"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1996
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great Truck,
August 12, 2015
By Shooz
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:172354
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive, disc brakes up front, V6 4.3 ,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:towing limited, gas should be a little better
ReviewOriginationID:dceb727cee804f89b97e1d630fa7887a
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:10046
"Got this with 171,000 miles on it, 4th owner, after a new egr valve, transmission wire issue solved, new tires this is a great truck.
Just so simple to drive, easy to work on, inexpensive parts, 4.3 V6 has plenty of power and torque for driving around town or dumping stuff. Freeway is really nice and smooth for any vehicle and this is a full size 21 year old truck
Love this truck"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1993
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
best truck i have ever owned,
July 31, 2015
By Aaron
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:280000
What's great about this vehicle?:ok gas millage,mostly steel,best engine ever
What's not so great about this vehicle?:transmission are bad, terrible interior
ReviewOriginationID:e214ecd227ea40d08f17cd4f0b514b98
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:11575
"my truck has the original 350 with 280,000 miles and still going strong. interior is ripped to pieces but she is very reliable."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location HI
Year 1992
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Clean N.Carolina rust free truck. Ex-cab 4x4,
July 14, 2015
By Art Attack
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
ReviewOriginationID:e8026228ee084c08939f3ad809688715
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8760
"Truck originated from N.Carolina. Rust free !!! Very Clean engine compartment & rear bed."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NH
Year 1994
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Truck Ever,
June 25, 2015
By sleeknight
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:85000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive, convenient for hauling.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:3e6185c1db5a466d9a153187a552d61b
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:8700
"I bought this truck new in 2-96 and have had it in garage when not in use. It is black with the Mark III conversion added. Running Boards, Over rails on truck bed, fender skirts, long front fender, overhead inside lights, leather console, over window frames, tail light covers, beautiful original paint job, spare tire never been on ground, and only 85,000 original miles. Almost a classic. Runs like a top. I love it and I am a 72 year old female."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1996
21 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best vehicle I have ever owned,
June 25, 2015
By lalala
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:231100
What's great about this vehicle?:solid, powerful. reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not great gas mileage, no cup holder
ReviewOriginationID:73761d90015244f9a622bc2b57145f93
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:11562
"This truck is solid, powerful, reliable, great in snow and rough road conditions. I bought this truck used from the forest service, so it has been well maintained by them and me. Never had any major repairs required, just basic maintenance like brakes, hoses,new battery etc. We call it The Beast because nothing can stop this truck, it just keeps going. I would never sell it but I became disabled and can no longer drive it so I have to let it go. :( This truck is a REAL hard core truck, in my opinion it is better than anything that could be bought new these days."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 1992
8 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best truck ever,
June 21, 2015
By Mike
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great ride plenty of room and Good gas mileage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Couldn't think of any
ReviewOriginationID:45ca022dfab44c96be9339292a97c25f
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:11575
"Had 1988 just got this one owner 1992 with only 105 k couldn't pass it up runs great rides great all works but radio"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KS
Year 1992
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great pickup, like new shell,
June 14, 2015
By bill
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:26000
ReviewOriginationID:86db1e91c76847298973fbb5d31503c5
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:7416
"would make great work truck"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 1997
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
I HATE this truck,
June 11, 2015
By lea
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:Not bad to look at
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Everything else
ReviewOriginationID:e77ca5f60f194905bf33008f1943af28
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:7408
"This is the worst vechicle I've ever owned or even drove. I've had to replace the engine once and the transmission three times. The airconditioner was rebuilt last year and will NOT work this year, the heater barely blows but atleast it does sort of work. My father has a 1996 and its almost as bad as mine. I would NEVER recommend these trucks, the only reason me and my dad still own ours is because we can't afford anything else. I will NEVER buy another chevy as long as I live."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AR
Year 1997
4 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I used in Constr and could not have been better,,
June 8, 2015
By Country
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:301000
What's great about this vehicle?:Love the drive of it, Power, maneuverability
ReviewOriginationID:0814f0e0e88144e1a799ffd27fdb4dcf
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:11575
"This has been one great Automobile I use a Truck hard and the Chevy has held up wonderfully. Very few repairs have been neccessary. I am still driving this vehicle, sometimes wish I could afford to get another but i think this one is still going so why change? I bought the Chevy truck when it was 2 years old and now it's 23 years old and some still left so I will keep until further notice."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 1992
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent, in every way.,
June 7, 2015
By Jack
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:99000
What's great about this vehicle?:excellent dependable truck that you can depend on.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
ReviewOriginationID:80467568da6341b2a1998e23838fdcfa
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:6266
"I purchased this truck when it was one year old. the only thing its needed is brakes and a fuel pump. I have keep it serviced. I did all the work my self never trusted anyone else."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 1998
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.