Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.728 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
1,523 of 1,579(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Review 1 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Clearly the vehicle has more than paid for itself.,
January 12, 2012
By Jamie
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:Price, Fun to drive, Distance between fill ups,MPG
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:c419011a-6b4e-4e64-bf6b-459878b89581
"In reliabilaty and ease of use this is the best vehicle I have ever owned or even used. The only part of the vehicle that seems to have fault is the paint. other then that, I concider it bullet proof. 17mpg in the city in a 20 year old 4x4 is stunning to me. So when people look at me funny for sitting in my ugly truck, I know I have the last laugh."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1992
Review 2 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Amazing truck,
December 28, 2011
By lou
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:will do anything you ask it to
What's not so great about this vehicle?:likes gas!
ReviewOriginationID:37846d05-ac1d-4bf9-9196-5f4426456307
"I have owned it since new and aside from changing the engine and transmission oil, all I have ever done is change a water pump (for a minor drip) and the alternator due to a singing bearing. I changed the Bilstein shocks because they were 13 years old and I figured they MUST need changing though I never had any problems!
I have hauled TONS of stuff and pulled a 21 foot boat for years with it, it never let me down
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1998
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A Family Heirloom,
December 11, 2011
By Little Tony
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:203000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great work truck, good mpg for a truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:some repiars can be costly
ReviewOriginationID:85da45d5-96bf-4e28-b4a6-4d4010b0553d
"I own this truck the 1996, 6 cylinder, 5 speed manual tran work truck model, My A/C finally went this past summer but I got it replaced with a dummy pulley and now I get even better gas mileage, mostly highway driving 20-21mpg with regular maintenance. I have replaced many parts but the engine is perfect and no leaks. Most parts are easy for the ameteur driveway mechanic to replace. I have taken it to the mechanic for only 3 things; fuel pump, a/c, slave cylinder and clutch replacement. Everything else on my own; brakes, belts, pulleys, alternator, oil changes, etc. I bought it off my Dad in 2005 I will own it until it is dead since I have no one to will it to."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 1996
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Truck Ever!,
May 21, 2011
By CTNative
from Irvine, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this 1991 truck in 1992 for $10,600 when I was 19. I drove it out to California and I've been here ever since, for 18 years, and so has my truck.
The clutch didn't need replacing until about 295,000 miles. It's almost never broken down and when it has, it's never been major and luckily, always close to home.
When I was younger, and a bit dumber, I took this 2WD off-roading in the Mojave desert, through 4X4 trails at the top of Big Bear, CA and all over the place beating it up and it never let me down.
I drove it across the U.S. seven times with a cheap shell on the back to sleep under while I was in college in CA to visit my parents in CT.
The odometer stopped working but I calculated it has about 327,000 miles on it. I burn just a little oil when it starts in the morning but otherwise it still runs great.
I just spent a few thousand getting the paint and bodywork done, the interior restored, a new clutch and some minor engine overhauling.
Now that I've long since graduated and have a good job, I could go out and buy a new fancy car, but why would I do that when this truck just won't quit and it's been with me for so many years and so many memories.
For all the money this truck has saved me, it was worth every penny. If the engine lets go, I plan on putting in another one and I'll just keep right on going........"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love my 96,
May 21, 2011
By BJ
from Pearland texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this 96 in 99 with 85k miles.It now has 185k miles. I have had no major problems with it.It has never failed to get me home. It has hauled heavey trailer lods. It has been to the smokey mountains several times hauling motorcycles behind. It has been to new york state and toronto canada. I naever babied it. It has the original motor and trany. Never been rebuilt. my only complaint is the arm rest storage is poorly built and the hinge broke. (same with my 99"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 6 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Outstanding Vehicle!,
July 20, 2014
By Mike
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:interior room, reliablity, offroad prowess
What's not so great about this vehicle?:costs a fortune to fill tank completely
ReviewOriginationID:1b2a5ffd076045ceb984e003b1f5255a
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:6273
"This is an outstanding vehicle. Very reliable, has decent power, gets decent fuel mileage, and can go anywhere."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1998
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
It is worth the money!,
July 13, 2014
By Petulia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:81500
ReviewOriginationID:3e0e808d53dc4fb38a38bc48338df84b
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:7338
"This truck has always been in the shed. It was bought brand new. No rust. We added stainless steel running boards and the stainless body strip. Seats are not worn at all. Has a hard cover on it that locks. Tires put on new just last winter. Only gets driven approximately 4000 miles a year. Must see to appricate. Only reason considering selling it is because we bought our daughter truck from her and won't need both of them."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IA
Year 1995
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck for the price!,
July 9, 2014
By Cheyenne master
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:1200
ReviewOriginationID:713dc898df2e491db0dbe8db739bf708
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:6261
"I bought my 1998 Chevy C1500 Cheyenne for 1200 bucks and it's the best money I've spent! Drives well and is extremely reliable. The only flaw is that it's not the most beautiful nor the most popular truck in the world, however it more than makes up for it. Best full-size I've ever driven."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1998
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Solid, Reliable and Safe,
July 8, 2014
By Cowboy Jack
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
ReviewOriginationID:1f6f03305a964063aa7a8d1ba988d1d8
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8760
"Second owner, and have never had a problem other than the normal wear and tear maintenance and "fix-its". Four wheel drive is easy to use and the truck will go anywhere you want it to go on and off road. It is not an economy car as the large engine uses lots of fuel, but it is a full size 90's truck. If you need reliability, versatility and ruggedness, you can't beat it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1994
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best I ever owned and still going strong! :),
July 1, 2014
By Mikey
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:118000
What's great about this vehicle?:Plenty of power for towing, drives and rides great
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:96bff713e4254885b5cd1003da0b4355
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:8757
"This has got to be the best Chevy ever...Regular maintenance is all I have done to it and it is still going strong. I get 15mpg in the city and 19mpg highway! I am a happy camper. :)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1994
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Outstanding vehicle, reliable and great milage 18m,
June 30, 2014
By Huck
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:dependable, resale
What's not so great about this vehicle?:a bit high for my wife to get in and out.
ReviewOriginationID:d412a320e4c14f09999422fadbfdc423
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:7408
"Solid vehicle, dependable, great ride for a pickup. Milage 18 on the express way. nothing to brag about in city 12-14. 4WD drive still works great never had a problem."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1997
Review 12 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great truck, nice ride.,
June 26, 2014
By Dave
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:85000
What's great about this vehicle?:Smooth ride, nice for long trips or rough roads
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Trans has clutch pack design flaw. Can be fixed.
ReviewOriginationID:74b5e79bffee40078b72bd1925537c03
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:7338
"Transmission reverse went out under warranty then again around 40k with little towing. Put in aftermarket shift kit and solved problem. Never had any other problems."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1995
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I like this truck,
June 23, 2014
By matt
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:156000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive lots of power
What's not so great about this vehicle?:eats alot of gas
ReviewOriginationID:a7945e80678e4e2297ee5069cf41b7a7
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8702
"its always there when I need it"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 1996
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Beauty is Only Skin Deep. 1994 Chevy 1500,
June 16, 2014
By Angel
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:161788
What's great about this vehicle?:Excellent running condition, maintained.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Needs body work. Headliner.
ReviewOriginationID:60de13177bcc4542a435bda16b332a01
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8760
"This truck does not look pretty but what is under the hood that counts.Excellent running condition. Good tires. Low mileage for the year, great air conditioner. Would make a nice Hunting, Yard Worker or just a good knockaround truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1994
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Runs great I had no problems with it.,
June 1, 2014
By Freddy
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:267000
What's great about this vehicle?:very pepy and fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:needs tint
ReviewOriginationID:145c55c36c8643f0acdcaa2dc43057e9
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:8704
"The engine has been rebuilt in 2012 and the transmission was rebuilt in 2010. i have had not problems with it. The ball joints are bad and it needs new front tires. but other than that its a super truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 1996
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this truck,
May 27, 2014
By frank
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:72000
What's great about this vehicle?:confort
What's not so great about this vehicle?:back seat isnt made for child car seats
ReviewOriginationID:8535b2acb73d44a8a1327d4586364f77
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:6273
"brought new and have really enjoyed this truck, it still runs like it did the day I bought it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OK
Year 1998
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Its been a great truck,
May 21, 2014
By CarloPel
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:189000
What's great about this vehicle?:great work truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas milage
ReviewOriginationID:d9c7c5a809e94795acda8c3a9b669402
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:6273
"This truck has gone through a freezing Idaho winter, blistering hot Nevada deserts, driven across the United States, driven daily to work, and never misses a beat. It's super comfortable and looks great. The single and only draw-back is the gas milage."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1998
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
just bought it,
May 10, 2014
By bobbie jr.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:awsome!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:cant get a chevy to break down:(
ReviewOriginationID:45e536581b344526853ecf6b79309636
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8702
"Chevy for life!!!! if you want to fix a ford the only way is to buy a Chevy"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 1996
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
This truck has a rust problem in the frame work,,
May 8, 2014
By Yankee
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:168000
What's great about this vehicle?:Runs super
What's not so great about this vehicle?:bad frame rust problem
ReviewOriginationID:540bad7868334770931dea942140e08e
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:8753
"has a rust problem in the frame and less in the body. The rest of the truck is in good condition This truck is a 1991 silverodo instead of a 1994, your chart only goes to 1994. I would sell this truck for parts because of the frame damage"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 1994
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1997chevy 4 x 4,
May 1, 2014
By Mia
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:167682
What's great about this vehicle?:The d sm medium dent
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cons
ReviewOriginationID:c85050ad7c2a4d3989dacedea95bdc9b
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:7416
"This truck is in great shape the engine is in excellent condition, no rust 2 doors with back seat Ac, cd 4x4. Inside cab, radio, heater and all works, brush guard, tinted windows, door side runners , Chevy emblem on bk side windows, also has a bed liner... Now the bad parts. Dent on passengers side, no power window, or door locks. There manual sry folks."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 1997
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.