Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.729 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
1,531 of 1,587(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Review 1 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Clearly the vehicle has more than paid for itself.,
January 12, 2012
By Jamie
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:Price, Fun to drive, Distance between fill ups,MPG
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:c419011a-6b4e-4e64-bf6b-459878b89581
"In reliabilaty and ease of use this is the best vehicle I have ever owned or even used. The only part of the vehicle that seems to have fault is the paint. other then that, I concider it bullet proof. 17mpg in the city in a 20 year old 4x4 is stunning to me. So when people look at me funny for sitting in my ugly truck, I know I have the last laugh."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1992
Review 2 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Amazing truck,
December 28, 2011
By lou
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:will do anything you ask it to
What's not so great about this vehicle?:likes gas!
ReviewOriginationID:37846d05-ac1d-4bf9-9196-5f4426456307
"I have owned it since new and aside from changing the engine and transmission oil, all I have ever done is change a water pump (for a minor drip) and the alternator due to a singing bearing. I changed the Bilstein shocks because they were 13 years old and I figured they MUST need changing though I never had any problems!
I have hauled TONS of stuff and pulled a 21 foot boat for years with it, it never let me down
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1998
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A Family Heirloom,
December 11, 2011
By Little Tony
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:203000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great work truck, good mpg for a truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:some repiars can be costly
ReviewOriginationID:85da45d5-96bf-4e28-b4a6-4d4010b0553d
"I own this truck the 1996, 6 cylinder, 5 speed manual tran work truck model, My A/C finally went this past summer but I got it replaced with a dummy pulley and now I get even better gas mileage, mostly highway driving 20-21mpg with regular maintenance. I have replaced many parts but the engine is perfect and no leaks. Most parts are easy for the ameteur driveway mechanic to replace. I have taken it to the mechanic for only 3 things; fuel pump, a/c, slave cylinder and clutch replacement. Everything else on my own; brakes, belts, pulleys, alternator, oil changes, etc. I bought it off my Dad in 2005 I will own it until it is dead since I have no one to will it to."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 1996
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Truck Ever!,
May 21, 2011
By CTNative
from Irvine, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this 1991 truck in 1992 for $10,600 when I was 19. I drove it out to California and I've been here ever since, for 18 years, and so has my truck.
The clutch didn't need replacing until about 295,000 miles. It's almost never broken down and when it has, it's never been major and luckily, always close to home.
When I was younger, and a bit dumber, I took this 2WD off-roading in the Mojave desert, through 4X4 trails at the top of Big Bear, CA and all over the place beating it up and it never let me down.
I drove it across the U.S. seven times with a cheap shell on the back to sleep under while I was in college in CA to visit my parents in CT.
The odometer stopped working but I calculated it has about 327,000 miles on it. I burn just a little oil when it starts in the morning but otherwise it still runs great.
I just spent a few thousand getting the paint and bodywork done, the interior restored, a new clutch and some minor engine overhauling.
Now that I've long since graduated and have a good job, I could go out and buy a new fancy car, but why would I do that when this truck just won't quit and it's been with me for so many years and so many memories.
For all the money this truck has saved me, it was worth every penny. If the engine lets go, I plan on putting in another one and I'll just keep right on going........"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love my 96,
May 21, 2011
By BJ
from Pearland texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this 96 in 99 with 85k miles.It now has 185k miles. I have had no major problems with it.It has never failed to get me home. It has hauled heavey trailer lods. It has been to the smokey mountains several times hauling motorcycles behind. It has been to new york state and toronto canada. I naever babied it. It has the original motor and trany. Never been rebuilt. my only complaint is the arm rest storage is poorly built and the hinge broke. (same with my 99"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 6 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
This is a "Travel Time Conversion" pickup. Custom,
November 12, 2014
By Papajop
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:137000
ReviewOriginationID:597a90b8b60842d59ca6ef64c3263d84
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:7416
"Travel Time Conversion: Custom headlights, taillights, ARE bed cover. Custom chrome wheels, premium Sony sound system with amp component front spkrs, two 12" sub woofers, overhead console and bucket seats center console folds up for middle seat. Truck has been very reliable, gets 20 mpg. New tires with 6K miles"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1997
Review 7 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Classic,
November 2, 2014
By Leon
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:120000
What's great about this vehicle?:A proud driver.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:2 doors and seats move forward to load back seat
ReviewOriginationID:76c8bc0c1d92474f9cfda1d05b9d2ee6
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8702
"Second owner since almost new. Transmission replaced. Long block, radiator and components with only 2,000 miles. Tires like new. Lots of power with the 5.7 liter engine. Ready for RV hook-up with brake control. Hitch attached to frame and not to just the bumper. Turned wheels for style. Lid for the bed. People ask me if it is for sale all the time but so far I haven't decided what I would take for it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1996
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this truck!,
October 18, 2014
By davis28905
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:107685
What's great about this vehicle?:Amazing sound, drives smooth, very reliable.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not too great on gas.
ReviewOriginationID:f54ee427ba6a45c9b077be4366f952ea
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8760
"My grandpa had and my dad and I have one of these trucks and they were super reliable! I love the sound of the old school V8's also! Main problem I have had was the clear coat coming off my paint but that was only because it sat for about a year in my field."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1994
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
50,000 miles on new motor,
September 10, 2014
By ray
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:240000
ReviewOriginationID:6ebc1dbe8b2142158ce524f59216d011
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:8757
"This is a great truck. 20 years old and pampered. Strong, strong motor."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1994
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great pickup,
August 26, 2014
By tony
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:155000
What's great about this vehicle?:motor, body built like a tank, 4wd, long bed,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:turning radius
ReviewOriginationID:9d80c175dc684a7bb11bcb7a1cf17415
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8705
"I own a 96 Silverado extended cab long bed 4wd absolutely love it only bad thing I have to say about it is the turning radius, it is a hard to maneuver in a parking lot without having to back up to pull into a parking space and hard to back a trailer in tight spaces. I have my own carpentry business and getting my trailer were I want it can be a challenge when you cannot turn sharp enough. I have a 5.7L automatic with performance upgrades done to it and I have no complaint about power while pulling a trailer or running empty. Not to mention there are few electronically ran components on it which make it a breeze to work on. I know several people who own them and have over 200,000 miles on them. Overall great pickup love it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ND
Year 1996
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I really like this vehicle, very reliable and easy,
August 22, 2014
By ted
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:175000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great to drive and comfortable.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage could be better,nothing is perfect.
ReviewOriginationID:6b792d94859148d98dad29831b8fb3c4
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:6266
"I bought this one in 2000 when it only had 40,000 miles on it. It has the 350 engine, which is plenty strong enough to pull my 18 foot trailer with car on it. It still has the original equipment,including A/C, everything still works good. I have always had regular service. Will most likely drive it forever."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1998
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
made an excellent first vehicle,
August 21, 2014
By jackitup
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:248000
ReviewOriginationID:a2dc5704b7074545b548e85c00bb4222
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8702
"i bought this truck as my first vehicle. since purchase i have maintained it to the T and the vehicle has returned the favor. although i dislike that it has the 4.3 in it, the motor did not disappoint, even with heavy use on our farm. Truck has 248xxx on it and i have no fears of getting many more miles on it. she might not be very pretty, rusted out, dings and scratches, but i would take this truck to florida and back tomorrow from Connecticut and infact just a couple months ago drove to Connecticut from Wisconsin with it. 4.3 does offer pretty good gas mileage (17-18 mpg)but Ive seen 350's get close to 15 so could be better. extended cab is useful, but dont be expecting to sit anyone back there and have them be comfortable. comfortable drive for shorter trips, handles well in the snow and mud, never gotten stuck to date. parts are very easy to find and resonably cheap due to the numbers that were built"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CT
Year 1996
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
pretty goood straighy body little rust, weak trans,
August 2, 2014
By gene
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
6
Definitely
Approximate mileage:150000
ReviewOriginationID:d30510cae8a047c4bab7fbaa81354a18
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:6261
"pretty good"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 1998
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Outstanding Vehicle!,
July 20, 2014
By Mike
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:interior room, reliablity, offroad prowess
What's not so great about this vehicle?:costs a fortune to fill tank completely
ReviewOriginationID:1b2a5ffd076045ceb984e003b1f5255a
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:6273
"This is an outstanding vehicle. Very reliable, has decent power, gets decent fuel mileage, and can go anywhere."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1998
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
It is worth the money!,
July 13, 2014
By Petulia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:81500
ReviewOriginationID:3e0e808d53dc4fb38a38bc48338df84b
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:7338
"This truck has always been in the shed. It was bought brand new. No rust. We added stainless steel running boards and the stainless body strip. Seats are not worn at all. Has a hard cover on it that locks. Tires put on new just last winter. Only gets driven approximately 4000 miles a year. Must see to appricate. Only reason considering selling it is because we bought our daughter truck from her and won't need both of them."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IA
Year 1995
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck for the price!,
July 9, 2014
By Cheyenne master
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:1200
ReviewOriginationID:713dc898df2e491db0dbe8db739bf708
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:6261
"I bought my 1998 Chevy C1500 Cheyenne for 1200 bucks and it's the best money I've spent! Drives well and is extremely reliable. The only flaw is that it's not the most beautiful nor the most popular truck in the world, however it more than makes up for it. Best full-size I've ever driven."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1998
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Solid, Reliable and Safe,
July 8, 2014
By Cowboy Jack
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
ReviewOriginationID:1f6f03305a964063aa7a8d1ba988d1d8
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8760
"Second owner, and have never had a problem other than the normal wear and tear maintenance and "fix-its". Four wheel drive is easy to use and the truck will go anywhere you want it to go on and off road. It is not an economy car as the large engine uses lots of fuel, but it is a full size 90's truck. If you need reliability, versatility and ruggedness, you can't beat it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1994
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best I ever owned and still going strong! :),
July 1, 2014
By Mikey
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:118000
What's great about this vehicle?:Plenty of power for towing, drives and rides great
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:96bff713e4254885b5cd1003da0b4355
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:8757
"This has got to be the best Chevy ever...Regular maintenance is all I have done to it and it is still going strong. I get 15mpg in the city and 19mpg highway! I am a happy camper. :)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1994
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Outstanding vehicle, reliable and great milage 18m,
June 30, 2014
By Huck
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:dependable, resale
What's not so great about this vehicle?:a bit high for my wife to get in and out.
ReviewOriginationID:d412a320e4c14f09999422fadbfdc423
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:7408
"Solid vehicle, dependable, great ride for a pickup. Milage 18 on the express way. nothing to brag about in city 12-14. 4WD drive still works great never had a problem."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1997
Review 20 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great truck, nice ride.,
June 26, 2014
By Dave
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:85000
What's great about this vehicle?:Smooth ride, nice for long trips or rough roads
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Trans has clutch pack design flaw. Can be fixed.
ReviewOriginationID:74b5e79bffee40078b72bd1925537c03
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:7338
"Transmission reverse went out under warranty then again around 40k with little towing. Put in aftermarket shift kit and solved problem. Never had any other problems."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1995
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.