Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.728 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
1,509 of 1,564(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Review 1 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Clearly the vehicle has more than paid for itself.,
January 12, 2012
By Jamie
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:Price, Fun to drive, Distance between fill ups,MPG
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:c419011a-6b4e-4e64-bf6b-459878b89581
"In reliabilaty and ease of use this is the best vehicle I have ever owned or even used. The only part of the vehicle that seems to have fault is the paint. other then that, I concider it bullet proof. 17mpg in the city in a 20 year old 4x4 is stunning to me. So when people look at me funny for sitting in my ugly truck, I know I have the last laugh."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1992
Review 2 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Amazing truck,
December 28, 2011
By lou
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's great about this vehicle?:will do anything you ask it to
What's not so great about this vehicle?:likes gas!
ReviewOriginationID:37846d05-ac1d-4bf9-9196-5f4426456307
"I have owned it since new and aside from changing the engine and transmission oil, all I have ever done is change a water pump (for a minor drip) and the alternator due to a singing bearing. I changed the Bilstein shocks because they were 13 years old and I figured they MUST need changing though I never had any problems!
I have hauled TONS of stuff and pulled a 21 foot boat for years with it, it never let me down
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1998
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A Family Heirloom,
December 11, 2011
By Little Tony
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:203000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great work truck, good mpg for a truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:some repiars can be costly
ReviewOriginationID:85da45d5-96bf-4e28-b4a6-4d4010b0553d
"I own this truck the 1996, 6 cylinder, 5 speed manual tran work truck model, My A/C finally went this past summer but I got it replaced with a dummy pulley and now I get even better gas mileage, mostly highway driving 20-21mpg with regular maintenance. I have replaced many parts but the engine is perfect and no leaks. Most parts are easy for the ameteur driveway mechanic to replace. I have taken it to the mechanic for only 3 things; fuel pump, a/c, slave cylinder and clutch replacement. Everything else on my own; brakes, belts, pulleys, alternator, oil changes, etc. I bought it off my Dad in 2005 I will own it until it is dead since I have no one to will it to."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 1996
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Truck Ever!,
May 21, 2011
By CTNative
from Irvine, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this 1991 truck in 1992 for $10,600 when I was 19. I drove it out to California and I've been here ever since, for 18 years, and so has my truck.
The clutch didn't need replacing until about 295,000 miles. It's almost never broken down and when it has, it's never been major and luckily, always close to home.
When I was younger, and a bit dumber, I took this 2WD off-roading in the Mojave desert, through 4X4 trails at the top of Big Bear, CA and all over the place beating it up and it never let me down.
I drove it across the U.S. seven times with a cheap shell on the back to sleep under while I was in college in CA to visit my parents in CT.
The odometer stopped working but I calculated it has about 327,000 miles on it. I burn just a little oil when it starts in the morning but otherwise it still runs great.
I just spent a few thousand getting the paint and bodywork done, the interior restored, a new clutch and some minor engine overhauling.
Now that I've long since graduated and have a good job, I could go out and buy a new fancy car, but why would I do that when this truck just won't quit and it's been with me for so many years and so many memories.
For all the money this truck has saved me, it was worth every penny. If the engine lets go, I plan on putting in another one and I'll just keep right on going........"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love my 96,
May 21, 2011
By BJ
from Pearland texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this 96 in 99 with 85k miles.It now has 185k miles. I have had no major problems with it.It has never failed to get me home. It has hauled heavey trailer lods. It has been to the smokey mountains several times hauling motorcycles behind. It has been to new york state and toronto canada. I naever babied it. It has the original motor and trany. Never been rebuilt. my only complaint is the arm rest storage is poorly built and the hinge broke. (same with my 99"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 6 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best truck I have ever owned,,
April 7, 2014
By texasjrt
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:220000
What's great about this vehicle?:lots of power(it is modified, great gas mileage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:door handles weak
ReviewOriginationID:9bc0a2e7d63248539ebf9d1e95cc75a3
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:7408
"at these miles, it still doesnt use a drop of oil,and gets 24 to 25 mpg on highway,i have owned tis truck as the 2nd owner since 08 and all I have done is a fuel pump,and a set of brakes.Never once has it broke down on me except when transmission went out after 205000"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1997
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
This is the best truck overall I've ever had...,
March 31, 2014
By Gypsy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:224000
ReviewOriginationID:e959c4f73ec64219a76443fbfafd7a18
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8702
"Everything, including MPG (up to 22 hwy.) is superior. Door handles/locks have issues."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1996
Review 8 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Kept for 18 years and still going,
March 19, 2014
By Al
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:150000
What's great about this vehicle?:Total workhorse with absolute comfort.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:seems to have a problem with reliable fuel pumps
ReviewOriginationID:04b1289525e0477f83e168059a97b2ad
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8702
"I have driven from Portland and Seattle to Key West a couple of times. I have always done routine maintenance and it has paid off. I have in the last 6 months rebuilt the transmission and this week the engine goes in for rebuild. There have been relatively few issues of any coincidence since I bought new in 1996. It has always been comfortable and reliable. Still starts immediately. This has absolutely been the best vehicle I have ever owned. This is why I elected to rebuild rather than replace."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1996
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
A real workhorse,
February 27, 2014
By Markhere
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:173000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very confortable interior
ReviewOriginationID:da7ee3116b3540cf9e871746ada585d5
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8760
"A great firewood hauler and the 4 wheel drive has saved my butt more than once!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1994
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
It is the heartbeat of Amercia series,
February 23, 2014
By bud
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:22231
ReviewOriginationID:2b9cf794f9924091a21f2f67ed017c3c
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8768
"It has the heartbeat of americia package luxuary interior custom paint custom wheels."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1994
Review 11 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best truck i have owned,
February 9, 2014
By roy
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:240000
ReviewOriginationID:a30583baeabf425090cb32cc5f6c53b1
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:7416
"very useful"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 1997
Review 12 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
my first truck,
February 7, 2014
By Hot Rod
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
5
Definitely
Approximate mileage:315965
ReviewOriginationID:1d364b7932fd4737b56f214f2a2efb84
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:7328
"I have own this vehicle since i was 15 and it wasnt pretty but putting some hard work adn a lot of money. THe truck got my everywhere i wanted to go. The truck I bought for 1900, the paint need to be resprayed the interior need to be replace but the mechanical was in good shape. I start with the engine and transmission. I had the 5.7 rebuilt and recently put the Holley ternimator EFI and edlebrock carburtor. The truck gets approx 302 horsepower and 319 ft ib of torque. The interior I went to LMC truck fro the seat and the dash. I painted it a midnight purpler blue and the intor is a dark blue. I get 14 mpg cause i have the 5 speed in it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 1995
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best all around truck ever made,
February 4, 2014
By Chuck
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:RELIABLE, RIDES SWEET
ReviewOriginationID:bb24835b1fff4c128c0753b1d2e8df99
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8702
"Best truck I've ever had. I call it old faithful. Over the years I had only done regular service(myself)Oil change etc. The only somewhat major repair was the fuel pump. It rides better than most cars. The 5.7 vortec has plenty of giddy-up and gets about 18 mpg on the freeway. I wish I could buy a brand new one just like it! Take a look around and you will see how many of these are still on the road"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1996
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Most dependable vehicle I have ever owned.,
January 20, 2014
By Retired Traveler
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:97000
What's great about this vehicle?:Everything
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
ReviewOriginationID:151834257b884e489d023d0b5d6add36
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:7408
"Bought the truck new in August 1997. I love everything about the truck. Very comfortable ride and drive. The 5.7 is a proven engine and is more than capable of doing anything that a 1500 series is designed for. The truck has been garage kept and pampered like a baby. I have been offered far more than the blue book price, but have not been able to part with it. Maybe I will just keep it and let them bury me in it.LOL"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OK
Year 1997
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck!,
January 17, 2014
By Myriamw
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:195000
ReviewOriginationID:519f5ceb3f1b461483d1d4f2a93b2bf5
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:7408
"My truck has 195,000 miles on it and it still starts up like its new! Never had to replace anything on it and changing the oil on it was simple. There's room for 6 people in my truck and comfortably, the seats are so soft! It has the option to either go 2 wheel, 4 wheel and rear 4 wheel. The only downside about this truck is it only gets 12 miles to the gallon. but otherwise its an AWESOME truck!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 1997
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck to own!,
January 13, 2014
By Jay B
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:185000
What's great about this vehicle?:Powerful 350, great design, simple to work on
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage isn't great but come on it's a 350!
ReviewOriginationID:a3c8b0a02c204bf79442b3cc4bc90a9c
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8760
"This review is based on a 94' silverado ext. cab short bed 350 and 3.73 gears, adult owned. I'm the 2nd owner of "Big Red" and it has been the best most reliable and strongest truck I've owned. I searched and found the exact one I wanted. The truck is great to travel in and pull many toys without breaking a sweat. It's all about taking care of it. The gas mileage is poor, around 15mpg or so but there has to be give and take with anything. The over all ride is smooth, handles well for a truck, brakes are descent, has rear ABS. The Headlights are bright, installed silverstar ultras and often mistaken for high beams being on! After market stereo and speakers a must because they didn't come with premium sound.
Even though the truck has 185,xxx it's still going strong and everything works great. I've seen these 350 engines go well over 250,000 miles. Big tip: change the oil every 3,000 no matter what they tell you.
My best friend liked mine so much, he bought him one! These trucks are the last of the well built ones.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1994
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great truck!,
January 13, 2014
By HSK
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:92000
What's great about this vehicle?:It was fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
ReviewOriginationID:94957ba55d7d4dab83b7beca7b8bd8f6
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:8753
"With more people donating cars to Veterans and others it would be nice if you could obtain that value. Plus you need to go further back in years, I had to take a year closest to mine."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NV
Year 1994
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Chevy dependability is very much true.,
January 12, 2014
By yanni
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:275000
ReviewOriginationID:3a16a8f157a346c29a6b3619fe3c829a
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Regular Cab
Vehicle ID:7328
"This truck just keeps going, with minimal upkeep (other than regular maintenance) needed. It has the original transmission, and engine and fires up each morning.I'm pretty sure it'll keep going another 275,000 miles with no issues. Chevrolet makes the best trucks on the road period!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 1995
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I bought this in 2000 and loved it for 13 years.,
November 18, 2013
By Ted
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:Good solid transportation and looks doing it.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:It could use a little less fuel.
ReviewOriginationID:751487cac5ec48508b38e23ce00e8fbe
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:6266
"I have put 140000 miles on this pickup.I have had little trouble out of it. Original A/C plenty cold and motor and trans solid. Pull 18 foot flatbed a lot and 350 engine does an excellent job and still gets 15 MPG. Keeper."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1998
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1990 - 1999 Chevrolet 1500 Pickup
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
transmission may go out soon,
November 7, 2013
By Alicia
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
4
Definitely
Approximate mileage:260000
What's great about this vehicle?:4-wheel drive works, motor runs good, decent frame
What's not so great about this vehicle?:rust under cab on both sides, interior stained
ReviewOriginationID:717aed993bc64727a7778fc8a7a4be6e
Make:Chevrolet
Model:1500 Extended Cab
Vehicle ID:8702
"transmission may go out soon, good motor, wouldn't take much to make it look nice, little rust under cab, decent frame, interior stained, nothing hanging, green, Z71 sticker still intact, rusty bumper, good bedliner, good rims, seat controls still work, interior lamps still work, 4-wheel drive still works"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 1996
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.