Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville

Average Customer Rating:
8.29 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
262 of 304(86%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Review 1 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2002 Cadillac STS (Seville Touring Sedan),
November 14, 2008
By submariner
from Annapolios, MD
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"The 2002 STS represents the culmination of the Seville series. Production ceased in mid-2003 to make ready for the totally new STS platform. The late (post-Jan. 02) STS uses the highly advanced MagneRide suspension as used on Corvette and Ferrari. This system turns a sedan into a true sports sedan/road car; an absolute pleasure to drive. By 2001 the Northstar engine had undergone an extensive mechanical and electrical redesign, with the result being a spirited, reliable powerplant that is perfectly happy to crank out 300 hp on 87 octane pump gas without complaining, while averaging over 24 mpg at 70 mph highway cruise. The 17" chrome spoked wheels offer styling, comfort, and great road handling manners. 11.9" front discs and 11.7" rears provide exceptional braking ability. The bodywork is well done, but a few assembly flaws creep into body panel fit and finish. Paintwork is first class. Interior appointments are many and elegant. The seats have unlimited adjustment ability and are supremely comfortable on long trips as well as assuring on twisty country road runs. The front seat heaters suffer from less than great service life. Trunk space is cavernous, and the rear seat pass-through allows long articles (skis ?) to be carried inside. Normal maintenance for oil, filter, accessory belts, brakes, and air filter changes is simple, while in-depth maintenance will test the mechanic's patience. Overall, a well-made domestic fast sports sedan which will raise a lot of eyebrows in the appearance and perfromance departments. Current late model examples in good to excellent condition represent good value in the market for a car which originally had a sticker price of $56,000+."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
costly repairs,
August 22, 2010
By blondie
from Lexington, KY
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I loved this car! But when it came to repairs it was a nightmare. Everything even the battery is hard to get to. So it has to be put up on the rack for any repair work.
The car light came on, so we took it to the shop, they checked everything and still couldn't find anything wrong. The mechanic said, drive it for a week and see what it does.
I kept driving it and it started to stall, but it would restart right away. So we went back to the shop and he said it was the battery so a few hundred $$ later" new battery" it seemed fine for few days. Finally I got it home one day and it just stopped running.
We took it back to the shop and they fixed the water pump and a hose & clamp Well this wasn't it, so we had to drive back to the shop 10 miles each way again, and they put it on the machine and still nothing showed up.
The mechanic said keep driving it till you have problems so I did and we kept the oil and antifreeze full and checked it at least 3-4 times a month for a few months and finally the car just quit.
We had to have it towed this time back to the shop and they said this time it was the starter so they changed that, but when they started it again it blew that out and that is when they said the headgaskets were shot.
Now the car is so old that it's not hardly worth fixing it , the mechanic said it would cost $2000 to fix it, but said $4000 would give you a new engine and he really didn't think it would be worth my time to do either.
So now I have to find a buyer for my car
The car is 9 yrs old so I would rather have a new car, but never again a Caddy."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 3 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Last year made. 2003 SLS,
January 1, 2014
By Caddy owner since 1986
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:102000
ReviewOriginationID:2c481559c73946a192d20ac24c825f16
Make:Cadillac
Model:Seville
Vehicle ID:1890
"low, sporty, 30 mpg highway it has a sts gear ratio for mpg., not acceleration like the STS. Had a lot of problems. All were assembly mainly. Fit and finish. The usual seville problems, crank position sensor, over drive lockup solenoid. trunk leaked from below. Seams not welded or sealed. Spare tire space filled with water. Got the bugs worked out at dealer under warranty. Drove 5 loaner cars for about a year. Also wrote a letter and called to try to get another car under the "lemon law" but because the problems were not safety related. Cadillac motor Division would not exchange for another new car. But they sent a check for $ 980.00. to ease the pain and suffering. Now it runs great, every thing works and guess what the speedo tops out at 155 mph. Then the computer limits the speed. Same thing for the Corvette. I have had it top out at 155. Just like my S10 drag truck, Which had the factory limit set at 95. Have the speed limit limiter turned off, just like the EGR and a few other items (all it takes is money) and these SLSs might go? Of course a private road is the only place you can do stuff like that unless you live out in the middle of no where. Now my White Diamond is only worth about $4k max. So now I will keep driving it. But what do I do If the engine goes. The cost to repair will exceed the value of the car. Cadillac Owner since 1986 and 60s muscle car owner including one 32 street rod. Turn 68 next year so what is left a new CTS-V would be nice. Sticker $73. No trade in here."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Power and Prestige at a paltry price,
December 20, 2011
By CarConnoisseur
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:110000
What's great about this vehicle?:Used price, power, prestige, classic looks, roomy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:cupholders for pop cans only, GM quality materials
ReviewOriginationID:3a76b495-0b5a-4574-823c-7952044a40f8
"How can you argue with a $50,000 car for only $4,000? This year of Cadillac has one huge difference over previous Northstar powered Caddies...it can run on 87 octane unleaded fine and dandy. The market being what it is, this gives the 2000 Cadillac Seville STS big bonus points over it's used competition. The all aluminum Northstar is a high-performance engine that is happy with sedate cruises or wide open thrills. Driving this car makes you feel good about a lot of things: Patriotic, Power, Prestige, Comfort, and even a bit of Nostalgia. It feels like a modernized muscle car from the sixties: it sits really low like a Challenger, runs smooth and quiet like an old Caddy 429 yet brings it on with much ado when the throttle's mashed like a high-winding 383 Magnum. And still cradles you in heated leather seats, auto climate control, and a very nice Bose sound system. Reliability? It is one of the most solid engine/transmissions out there. Of course it has a few quirks due to the extensive electronic array of computerized systems (ABS, Stabilitrak, adaptive transmission, etc), yet very few of the glitches encountered actually stop the car from going from point A to point B. Quality? That is a different story. It looks really good design-wise, but execution is lacking. Better than a Jetta, but less than any high-end Jap auto. It is all forgiven though knowing what you paid for a nice used STS."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2000
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
What a Underrated Vehicle,
November 7, 2012
By White Night
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:137400
What's great about this vehicle?:Great car to drive,good gas mileage,great style
ReviewOriginationID:c67b2d5899f640b18b9af507b292f7ee
"I have had a lot of cars over the years from Lexus GS300,Lexus LS400,Cadillac Fleetwoods,Impala SS's,Honda's you name it I have more than likely had it. Now as for this 2002 Cadillac Seville STS this has to be the most Under Rated Luxury Sports Car I have ever had. This car has 300hp,loaded with options,Mangna Ride suspension which is only avalible on the upper high end of sports cars like Corvettes,Ferriries and so on. The first time I drove this car I had the biggest grin on my face that I have not had in years.I have not found a car on the market that has this power,these options with leather,power sunroof,heated seats and so on for this kind of money. I bought this 2002 STS with 130000 miles for $2800. The body is mint,the interior is almost perfect. I did have to spend a few hundred dollars to repair the ABS/Traction control,a front wheel bearing and the normal manitence.This car will flat out stroll and the Magnetic Ride control is the best thing I have ever riden in. This car will carve the best Mountain roads (which I have done) and still give you a Cadillac ride.
I have read a lot of threads about these cars and I feel for the money it is one of the most outstanding values on a vehicle out there. Like always try to find a car with a repair history and one that has been taken care of
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2002
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Disappointed with Cadillac,
January 3, 2011
By AtlGuy
from Atlanta, GA
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Cadillac may build a luxury car, but not a quality car! I own a 2000 Seville SLS that I bought in 2000. Over 10 years of ownership and never went a full year with no problems... This car only has 106,000 miles on it. Under Warranty Issues: Radio had to be replaced, seat problems (electrical), engine oil leaks (2 times), replaced power steering pump, replaced crankshaft position sensors (3 times), trunk light bracket had to be replaced. Out of Warranty Issues: It still leaks and uses lots of oil, replaced crankshaft position sensors (4th time), replaced power steering pump (2nd time), replaced mass air flow sensor, replaced broken drivers side window regulator & motor, replaced leaking power steering hoses, replaced broken motor mount & motor mount bracket, replaced broken brake pad wear sensor, replaced leaking valve on A/C system and replacement of all freon, replaced radiator due to leaking coolant caused by a split in a seam on the radiator tank. I contacted Cadillac customer service 2 years ago, concerning all of these issues (specifically the repeat issues), but Cadillac was not concerned or supportive and they offered me nothing. I have finally decided that enough is enough and I am new car shopping now. You can be guaranteed that my new car "will not" be another Cadillac!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliable,
March 16, 2009
By Dean9895
from Western New York
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"1999 STS - purchase in 2001 - lease vehicle. Overall - extremely pleased. Good looking - powerful - comfortable - reliable. After 125000 miles - small issues have arisen. Leather is painted, not dyed, and it did not take long to start peeling. The dashboard started to lift due to the glue failing. Repairs tend to be expensive such as wheel bearings and water-cooled alternator. Do not replace the struts and shocks unless absolutely necessary. Plastic parts started breaking after 100000 miles. As I said - small issues that add up if you do not keep after them. Overall - I am very pleased with the vehicle. After 125000 miles, the engine is still strong, transmission is smooth, and ride is still comfortable. Have not had any work done in the engine itself. Have replaced the water pump, belt, idler pulley and alternator after 120000 miles. Only the water pump was necessary - the others were preventative maintenance. Oil consumption is one quart per 2500 miles - the same now as when I first acquired the car. No work done at all on the transmission except for an oil and filter chage at 75000 miles. Very pleased with the vehicle. If the current STS was more stylish - I probably would not have purchased a BMW 750i to replace it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
My HOT white STS,
October 13, 2009
By thunderbump
from California
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had many cars in my years. When the non-american cars arrived and their quality was awesome I purchased them. They were so quite and peppy. BUT....oh man, not even a chance against my STS. I love this car and have had it now for 5 years. Sunroof, fully loaded, awesome BOSE sound, WHite, tinted, premium wheels and this car runs......I mean runs. I can blast past most any other car I have ever run into. Yes that means the sports cars that cost three times this much. This comfort is unlike anything else. I have had no trouble just routine maintenance. Style is so cool and I wish so bad that they would never have changed it. Please....maybe in 2010, 2011, 2012....they will bring it back once they understand what an icon it has become. People turn their heads. On the road people are blown away when I out pace them with little effort and the low growl of those chrome headers and this 300hp v-8 is one of a kind. NOTHING COMES CLOSE. I am shipping mine overseas as I just can't part with it. I am not sure what to do when mine is ready to retire. I just hope they bring back the champ of American Luxery at it's best."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Best kept secret in America...,
September 22, 2007
By JP
from Pensacola
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my Thunder Gray '02 SLS two years ago. The original owner placed a special order for all options save the multi CD changer. He paid $51,400. The car needed some work so I put $1,500 into it with my own labor, new Toyo TPTs, new water pump, belts, hoses, and upgraded rotors, pads, all fluids, filters, and plugs.
Northstars use oil. About 1 qt. every 1,500 miles (aluminum engines). 26-27mpg at 70mph. 32mpg at 55mph. 18mpg city. IF you are shopping make sure you buy a Seville that has had the Road Force Balance done vs. a spin balance on the tires. Makes a HUGE difference in ride comfort and smoothness on the road.
BOSE Sound System is awesome. 8 speakers and a subwoofer with DSP that is second to none.
Check the trunk for leaks. I test drove 17 before buying this one. Make sure you know about how to check the OBD II for any codes that are current and how to reset the PCM after doing so. Go to the Cadillac Owner's Forum on line for free advice and great tech support.
Also, very inexpensive to insure because the SLS is NOT an STS and it has a great safety record.
Enjoying immensely....
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
my first car, so much luxury,
October 30, 2011
By Jared
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:125000
What's great about this vehicle?:luxury amenities, lumbar, northstar
What's not so great about this vehicle?:reliability
ReviewOriginationID:45b51034-f6a2-4fa5-a7cb-6c2ce768d57c
"such an amazing piece of work, it has so much luxury, its a great used car to buy if you want a full size sedan. gets pretty good mpgs if you drive it right, the northstar has such a crisp and refined exhaust node, its muscular but at the same time not raw, its just perfect. the cabin is very quiet and the bose sound system is immaculate, can hit the deep bass noises and at the same time make graceful noises. its so relaxing to drive, it is a car i would own just to go on sunday drives for. with the northstar, when you set into it, it will really go, its just as fast as a current day base cts 0-60( 6.7 seconds). cons- my car was not in very good condition when i recieved it, i took good care of her and got her into better shape, but we ran into quite a few problems. coolant leaks, oil leaks, o2 sensor out, radiator fan broken, the battery dying, the battery relay needed to be replaced, but dont let what i tell you impede you from buying this car. mine was just not taken care of at all by the previous owner, if you take good care of it, it is a world class car and a bargain to own."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2000
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good full-size sedan for the money,
December 21, 2011
By Rob
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:76000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great price, smooth ride, Classy, rich and sporty
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Spendy repairs, and some duriblity concerns
ReviewOriginationID:680f6dc8-9eef-49a6-9cf4-612368226c26
"I've owned this 2003 Seville STS for 2-years. The car has been solid for the most part, but I am starting to pump some money into it now for regular maintenence. I've dropped around $2,000 in repairs while I have owned it on various items. Ie: Coolent resivor, Wheel bearing, Tie rods, Stability bars, bulb replacements and a steering module. I'm curently battling a service air-bag error and a squeeling secondary blower motor that assists in heating the cadilladic converter. Some interior cosmetic issues... Dash adhesive is letting loose by the defrost vents and the drivers seat frame broke.
Much of these items are normal wear and tear on a vehical that is almost 10-years old, but unfortunately these repairs are getting spendy. I love the look of the car and the extras that are standard on it. It is a very classy vehical for a reasonable price. Comfortable ride and great excelleration on the road. Milage is good considering the High performance V8 engine.
I would consider buying this car again, but would recommend doing a full inspection first because repairs can be expensive."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2003
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Wonderful car up to 100,000 miles.,
August 20, 2009
By Teddog
from Fort Smith, AR
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We now refer to our 2000 "STS" as an "SES" (for its "Service Engine Soon" light). We learned quickly from a $2,750 head gasket replacement that anytime the SES light comes on, we immediately pull over and have the car towed.
We developed a leak in the coolant reservoir and got stuck in the middle of nowhere with an overheating engine. The head gasket had to be replaced at 104,000 miles. If you read the reviews, failed head gaskets are a common repair for this vehicle and they are an expensive repair, as the engine must be removed (lots of labor).
Since then, a second coolant resorvoir developed a leak and had to be replaced, the seat heaters have stopped heating, the car remotes have stopped remoting, one of the speed sensors has ceased to sense.
We are replacing the speed sensor, as the transmission shifts rough and erratically without it, but the other little things we have given up on.
We'll probably part with it now. It was a great ride, but its not nearly as much fun when all the bells and whistles stop working and repairs become frequent and expensive."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
EXCELLENT,
February 26, 2011
By caddylover32
from Milwaukee, WI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've had this car for 6 months now and I bought it used. I haven't had any problems it rides wonderfully, when I ride with my friends it really makes me miss my car just because it just does compare to how smooth a cadillac runs. I keep it well maintained and go off of the dash till when I need my next oil change, and I always use lucas oil stabilizer in with my oil changes just to keep the engine running smoothly. It is a fantastic car and the seats in it make you fall in love with it because how soft the leather is or even if its cold you can turn on the heated seats. And the sun roof makes a nice summer day very enjoyable especially on a country ride. I have debated about getting a cadillac for sometime now and when I came across this one I liked it, I was going to get a newer one but this one just seemed to stand out to me more because of comfort and the shape that it was in. I baby it and keep it garage kept just to keep it pristine so if there is that day that I actually sell it, the buyer will enjoy it as much as I did."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 14 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
A maintenance nightmare,
May 11, 2010
By Hope yours is more reliable than mine
from Eastern Pa
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I wasn't as lucky as some of you. I bought the car with 10,000 miles on it and it was 2 years old. I had the following problems at the approx mileage:
Failed a crank position sensor 15,000
Broke front motor mount 25,000
Failed the other position sensor 35,000
Both front seat heaters failed before 50,000
left rear level sensor 60,000
right rear door lock
left front door lock
left rear window motor
both front wheel bearings 75,000
Broke front motor mount 84,000
Blew head gasket 92,000
Replacement engine uses oil at 350 mi/qt
Radiator cracked tank 100,000
Sensor in steering wheel 110,000
TCC solenoid 125,000
The car is fun to drive and I hate to get rid of it, but it is the worst car I have ever owned.... and I've owned a lot of them. It drove me (both literally and figuratively) to a foreign car. I own a Toyota hybrid now. I never had a foreign car before this and I collect cars. I still have 11 cars, 10 of which are american. Funny thing is, I wrote to GM and had they offered me anything, I'd still be driving a GM of some type.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Keep your wallet open,
December 31, 2010
By Elvira
from Raoid City, South Dakota
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Where do I start? How about an exploding sunroof? That is right, to the tune of $500, plus $1000 for paint damaged from glass shards. Cadillac now has only 81,000 miles and I had to make repairs to engine mounts (front and rear), both crankshaft position sensors, water pump (twice), belt tensioner, Ride height position sensor, both transaxles, tie rod ends, all for a total of about $1500. Now the ABS sensor is going bad ($1000), front struts are wearing out (electronically controlled-$1200 each-plus installation), makes this car the least reliable, most expensive in vehicle repairs, I have ever owned. I do 35K-40K miles a year on a 150 mile daily commute. Owned 1 Mercury, 2 Fords and 10 GM cars, and this Cadillac and my previous car, a 2000 Buick Regal GS (which also had horrific repair costs) are driving me to look at foreign cars next. It is no wonder GM went bankrupt. If you want a Cadillac, keep your wallet open."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value Sport Luxury,
June 4, 2014
By KiRin
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:Power, Handling, Comfort, Stereo, Space
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Head bolts, brakes, leaky trunk
ReviewOriginationID:96d4b0a00d7a4d4ca72517943a6deaa5
Make:Cadillac
Model:Seville
Vehicle ID:5471
"The 2000-2003 Cadillac STS (and SLS) is hands down one of the best values out there in luxury sport sedans, IF it has had the head bolts replaced properly with the permanent studs. Not the "TimeSerts" for head bolts, but the stud kits. The engine is an engineering masterpiece with the exception of the head bolts. This engine is smooth, powerful and very efficient. When the head bolts have been properly replaced at a reasonably early mileage (before loose head bolts have caused any permanent damage caused by overheating), this engine will easily run 250-300k miles. The transmission is bulletproof to begin with, and will typically keep up with the repaired engine without a rebuild.
The engine is designed to burn some oil, which is typical and necessary for the efficiency (up to 28 MPG on highway).
A few other small items tend to fail, but are not expensive to fix. Overall I think was one of GMs best attempts.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2000
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Never Buy A Used Cadillac,
September 13, 2007
By CCruz
from Chicago, IL
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I had to learn the hard way when I got this car. I thought it was a nice car. Smooth ride, it's got navigation, ok sound system. Until less than a week after I bought the car. Engine shut down on me on a red light. For a five-year old vehicle, it shouldn't shut down for no reason. It's not a cheap car, either, so for the price that I pay for the car, it's not worth for it to shut down on me like that. I want to return it to the dealer and tell everybody not to get any car from this particular vehicle for they may get ripped off and give a non-reliable car to their customers. I've only had the car for two weeks and I have no air conditioner/heater fan and there's a bunch of mechanical problems... such as the navigation system's "tilt" function is defective (it took me two hours forcing it to go back the way it was, since it doesn't want to close)
Overall, I hate this car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Best Cadillac I've owned,
May 2, 2008
By Most Powerful FWD. Car Of 1998!
from Northeast PA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I own a '98 Seville STS. I love the car. I bought it a little over 2 years ago. People stare and it makes you feel good, when you pull up in this car ppl will stop and tell you how nice it looks. It just has a presence of its own. I currently have just over 314,000 miles on this car(original motor and trans)!! And to this day, with it now being a 10 yr old car... I can still feel every bit of those 300 horses. It does have its little problems.. I have a leaking rear main seal and my service suspension system flashes on the dash when I start the car. Both I have found are common problems. Also, while doing a tune-up, I found that the head gasket must've gone in the past and repaired... also a common problem with the Northstar motor.
Even with the gas prices sky rocketing, I don't see me getting rid of this car. Once you own one of these cars, it's very hard to part with.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Beautiful Money Pit,
February 15, 2013
By Black Beauty
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
5
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:126000
Reason for Sale:Overheating
What's great about this vehicle?:sexy, fast, powerful, rarely see one
What's not so great about this vehicle?:overheating, cheap cup holders, money pit
ReviewOriginationID:8a3578267cc14f1ba05951ae1d5097ea
"I bought a 2000 STS Seville the most beautiful thing I ever laid my eyes on 27% tint black leather inside wood grain accents black outside it was love at first sight I turned it on there was a terrible shake but I ignored it drove it and it was powerful shaky still though but I had to have it I had it maybe two months when the overheating began everyone said headgaskets but I refused to believe that paid the chevy dealer to put it on a machine he said its the water pump I replaced cost me 400 overheating still I put so much money into the car I took it back to the dealer and said I can't pay for what I can't drive they took it back and I had to put more money down and now I'm driving a 2000 buick lesabre with 50k more miles on it and it drives like a dream no issues so far but my lac will always have a special place in my heart"
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location NC
Year 2000
13 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1998 - 2004 Cadillac Seville
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2002 seville,
August 12, 2008
By dlrobi
from small town Michigan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is a great car one of Americas finest. It is loaded not only tilt but telescope wheel as well. memory heated seats multi disc sound system, not the bose but still good sound quality. It has been very dependable and runs great. The only quality issues have been minor so far. both rear window regulators 300.00 each. My wife didnt want to buy another car yet, but it quickly became her car. She likes the heated seats, and the air suspension. It rides like a dream. I would recommend buying used as this car listed around 43,000. new. we bought it in great shape in 2006 for 15,000. After driving this it would be hard to go with any thing else. It get 20-25 mpg constantly, Not bad for a big V-8 car. Great in the snow with traction control. Overall very happy with it would buy another ."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.