Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2003 Acura TL

Average Customer Rating:
8.693 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
438 of 486(90%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Review 141 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best vehicle I have ever owned.,
May 14, 2012
By Win
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:219000
What's great about this vehicle?:great reliability and best $/mile I have ever had.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Wish there was an AWD option.
ReviewOriginationID:7317b0fdfe474930ad2b751c1a0f71d4
"I bought with 80k miles, and I am up to 219k. It has had regular routine maintenance, with a couple other small issues (park safety switch, cruise control, cabin fan, CV joints) but it has never had a major problem, never stranded me, and has been close to perfect. Has plenty of get up and go, great handling, good gas mileage, fun to drive with the shiftable automatic."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 2000
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 142 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Just bought another 2010 TL,
November 2, 2010
By Commuter
from Chicago
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Drove 130K miles in last 7 years, still runs great. Not a single problem, just regular maintenance at my local Acura dealership.
Gave it my 16 year old and bought another eye catching 2010 TL with tech package. Really happy with Acura TL's reliability, ride, standard options, sound system, quite ride and its quality. Best price/ performance ratio in mid luxury class.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 143 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
TL earns respect,
November 13, 2007
By NitPicky
from Tampa, FL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"After 5 yrs and 83000 miles, nothing but routine maintenance and a dealer replaced tranny (no cost even though out of warranty period due to recall) - the car still runs like new. Smooth, quiet, good (not great) on gas and very reliable. I'd buy another but they've gotten smaller, sportier and pricier. Move to the new Accord next and give this gem to one of the kids."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 144 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car,
August 2, 2007
By Rudd
from Harrisburg, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This car has been extremely reliable. It is a very comfortable ride with great acceleration and handling. The exterior, although not as sporty as the newer TL's, has a distinguished look and the interior (which should be the most important part of buying a car) is elegant yet sport and extremely comfortable. Great car for the money and will be buying an Acura again."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 145 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I LOVE this car!,
April 5, 2012
By ktora
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:98000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive, lots of features
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no aux jack
ReviewOriginationID:30ba93d135b04288be2abb1e808be1de
"I have the 2002 fully loaded TL type-S and I absolutely love it. It has everything I need and still runs like a charm after 10 years. I have babied this car so it still looks and runs like it's brand new. I would keep this car forever if I could. No problems whatsoever so far. Great family car but also very fun to drive with its 260hp and sports-tuned suspension."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 146 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfortable, fun to drive and very reliable,
November 23, 2012
By Kandy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:All around performance car with great comfort
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage and using premium is costly.
ReviewOriginationID:98d72f49cbcf46a98628115f171c198b
"Purchased my 2002 Acura 3.2 TL in 2005 w/23,000 miles. Now has 130,000. Hope to keep it forever as so reliable and so much fun to drive! I'm tall and the seats are deep so gives great support for lengthy road trips. Only negative for me is the gas mileage and that it needs premium gasoline. Tried switching to the mid-level octane but performance was not as good."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2002
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 147 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I have owned,
December 5, 2011
By TC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:88000
What's great about this vehicle?:Looks great, fun to drive!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Road noise a little loud...
ReviewOriginationID:54b640b3-f5c5-499c-8f6f-df18eb9e2dca
"I've had several BMW 325 and Volvo cars. This car is the best all around car I've owned by far! It's great looking (body style changed after 2002 and is not as cool), the interior is elegant and comfortable. Great Boze sound system totally rocks out.
Car has excellent acceleration and handles well in the corners with sport suspension. Very fun car to drive!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ID
Year 2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 148 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Car I ever owned,
May 10, 2008
By FastDriver
from S. E. Michigan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have put 120,000 miles on my Acura TL and had only two problems I can remember in 8 years. (1) The Transmission was replaced under warranty at 25,000 miles at no cost to me, with a new warranty bumped up to 100,000 miles. (2) Had to replace the Heater/A-C Fan motor after about 90,000 miles. Other than that, only normal maintenance and I still love the car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 149 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
outstanding vehicle,
May 7, 2010
By jiggs
from Montgomery, AL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car for my wife in July 2003 fresh off the showroom floor. We have kept the recommended service schedule faithfully.
Never had a problem with the car and except for service visits, never any repairs. Replce original battery and tires. It has 80,000 miles on it and still original brake pads. When and if we sell it, we will buy anoter Acura.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 150 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent Car,
May 27, 2008
By sailex3
from Naples FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my car with the extended warranty 100k. A sound investment, the transmission conked out at 41k. Acura Gave me a loaner while a new tranny was put in. It works Great. Really no problems with the car. It handles well & the ride feels like you are floating on air.
Not to mention the car has excellent resale value. Can't go wrong with this model.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 151 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2000 Acura Great Car,
February 12, 2008
By Ream
from Philadelphia, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have a 2000 Acura TL, bought in 2004, luckily no major problems. Great on gas, Bose system is awesome and fits a family of 5 with comfort. When purchased the car had 70,000 miles now it has 135,000 miles with no major problems to date. Driven from Philly to Atlanta more than 5 times. The best car I ever owned, would get another Acura in a heartbeat."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 152 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Vehicle I ever owned,
July 9, 2008
By c
from Medford, MA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The TL S type has to be one of the best cars I have ever owned. Its got class and style. I have not had any problems with the car yet...except for the CD changer gets jammed...other than that all good. I bought it certified with 43K now has 73K. I paid it off and will not trade it in for anything else. I have to give Honda\Acura a round of applause."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 153 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Car!,
August 21, 2007
By D.
from Albany, OR
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 03 TL 3.2 used. I had an uncomfortable sports car. When I drove this car for the first time, I fell in love. My mother loved mine so much she bought a brand new 07' TL. Luxury all the way. I have to be careful when I pass on the road. It has so much power that my tail can spin due to the front wheel drive and the "get up and go" it has."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 154 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Fun, Comfortable, and beautiful,
November 9, 2011
By Nate
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliability, fun to drive, comfortable ride, mpg
What's not so great about this vehicle?:ignition switch recall
ReviewOriginationID:697c69ac-5237-48de-bfb9-cad5f82cd853
"I love my tl, owned it and daily driven for about three years now. Religeously maintain and I did some modifications to it (exhaust, air intake, coilover suspension) and it demolishes the little 2 door tuners. Very fun and suprisingly quick for a luxury car, I am not too impressed with the value of it considering it is a honda witch last forever."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location HI
Year 1999
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 155 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Awesome! Expensive to Fix,
February 28, 2008
By gi4now
from WI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've owned this car for over 2 yrs with NO mechanical problems. However, be wary when front lights go out. Paid $1100 to replace the inverter (these cars use the High-Efficiency lights). Another guy complained of same thing. No problems with trans or rotors yet. Have 75K miles and going strong! Intend to keep until engine rots through the frame!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 156 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
horrible transmissions,
September 2, 2007
By 2000 acura 3.2TL
from colorado
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"these cars look awsome and are very comfortable. the only problem is the transmissions are very prone to failure. acura extended the warranty to 7 years and 100,000 miles. there is a safty recall for the transmissions and there are numerous people who are on there third and fourth transmissions.
i will be staying away from acura from now on.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 157 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Still going strong at $160K,
November 14, 2009
By ginnystu
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this car at 80K and it is still going strong. Minor concerns: paint could be a little better, and the 6 cd changer jammed, but mechanically, it's flawless and still takes off like a rocket on a freeway ramp. Handles extremely well in Wisconsin winters.
With a kid leaving for private college, I plan on driving this into the ground.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 158 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
not sure,
May 16, 2010
By laid
from la quinta, ca
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i had my tl type s since 2002 for the 2003 model. i had 175000 on it until my transmission went on on hwy 60 in southern california. it was replaced with a rebuilt transmission that cost me $1900. i can't sell for anything now for the high miles. i plan to keep it. hopefully the transmission won't fail on me again for another 60000 miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 159 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Above average vehicle,
June 16, 2008
By Trust
from Houston, TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"50 percent family car, 50 percent sport car.
Running likes sport car. Comfortable as a family car.
Having trouble with ignition if starting abruptly.
Transmission gear sometime has minor problem when applying brake.
Got the car brand new, now is 90000 miles, just check oil, water, battery and tires. Never do maintenance, never. Good car.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 160 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best comfort and drive,
September 28, 2007
By gearingo
from Palisades Park, NJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I will always stay with Honda/Acura. Nobody can go wrong with this. Trust me when I say that you can't go wrong. It's the best decision I made at my early thirties. I've had this car for over 5 years and NEVER a problem. I replaced the Zenon lights once and that's it. Maintenance is 180 bucks and oil change for 5 years. CANT BEAT THAT!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.