Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2003 Acura TL

Average Customer Rating:
8.67 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
414 of 460(90%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Review 141 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2000 Acura Great Car,
February 12, 2008
By Ream
from Philadelphia, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have a 2000 Acura TL, bought in 2004, luckily no major problems. Great on gas, Bose system is awesome and fits a family of 5 with comfort. When purchased the car had 70,000 miles now it has 135,000 miles with no major problems to date. Driven from Philly to Atlanta more than 5 times. The best car I ever owned, would get another Acura in a heartbeat."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 142 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Vehicle I ever owned,
July 9, 2008
By c
from Medford, MA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The TL S type has to be one of the best cars I have ever owned. Its got class and style. I have not had any problems with the car yet...except for the CD changer gets jammed...other than that all good. I bought it certified with 43K now has 73K. I paid it off and will not trade it in for anything else. I have to give Honda\Acura a round of applause."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 143 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Car!,
August 21, 2007
By D.
from Albany, OR
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 03 TL 3.2 used. I had an uncomfortable sports car. When I drove this car for the first time, I fell in love. My mother loved mine so much she bought a brand new 07' TL. Luxury all the way. I have to be careful when I pass on the road. It has so much power that my tail can spin due to the front wheel drive and the "get up and go" it has."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 144 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Fun, Comfortable, and beautiful,
November 9, 2011
By Nate
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliability, fun to drive, comfortable ride, mpg
What's not so great about this vehicle?:ignition switch recall
ReviewOriginationID:697c69ac-5237-48de-bfb9-cad5f82cd853
"I love my tl, owned it and daily driven for about three years now. Religeously maintain and I did some modifications to it (exhaust, air intake, coilover suspension) and it demolishes the little 2 door tuners. Very fun and suprisingly quick for a luxury car, I am not too impressed with the value of it considering it is a honda witch last forever."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location HI
Year 1999
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 145 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Awesome! Expensive to Fix,
February 28, 2008
By gi4now
from WI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've owned this car for over 2 yrs with NO mechanical problems. However, be wary when front lights go out. Paid $1100 to replace the inverter (these cars use the High-Efficiency lights). Another guy complained of same thing. No problems with trans or rotors yet. Have 75K miles and going strong! Intend to keep until engine rots through the frame!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 146 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
horrible transmissions,
September 2, 2007
By 2000 acura 3.2TL
from colorado
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"these cars look awsome and are very comfortable. the only problem is the transmissions are very prone to failure. acura extended the warranty to 7 years and 100,000 miles. there is a safty recall for the transmissions and there are numerous people who are on there third and fourth transmissions.
i will be staying away from acura from now on.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 147 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Still going strong at $160K,
November 14, 2009
By ginnystu
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this car at 80K and it is still going strong. Minor concerns: paint could be a little better, and the 6 cd changer jammed, but mechanically, it's flawless and still takes off like a rocket on a freeway ramp. Handles extremely well in Wisconsin winters.
With a kid leaving for private college, I plan on driving this into the ground.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 148 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
not sure,
May 16, 2010
By laid
from la quinta, ca
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i had my tl type s since 2002 for the 2003 model. i had 175000 on it until my transmission went on on hwy 60 in southern california. it was replaced with a rebuilt transmission that cost me $1900. i can't sell for anything now for the high miles. i plan to keep it. hopefully the transmission won't fail on me again for another 60000 miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 149 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Above average vehicle,
June 16, 2008
By Trust
from Houston, TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"50 percent family car, 50 percent sport car.
Running likes sport car. Comfortable as a family car.
Having trouble with ignition if starting abruptly.
Transmission gear sometime has minor problem when applying brake.
Got the car brand new, now is 90000 miles, just check oil, water, battery and tires. Never do maintenance, never. Good car.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 150 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best comfort and drive,
September 28, 2007
By gearingo
from Palisades Park, NJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I will always stay with Honda/Acura. Nobody can go wrong with this. Trust me when I say that you can't go wrong. It's the best decision I made at my early thirties. I've had this car for over 5 years and NEVER a problem. I replaced the Zenon lights once and that's it. Maintenance is 180 bucks and oil change for 5 years. CANT BEAT THAT!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 151 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Just an excellent Car,
January 6, 2012
By PWells
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:101000
What's great about this vehicle?:Really fast and quiet ride.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Requires premium fuel
ReviewOriginationID:ecf04446-3f5c-437a-9c61-00a46744d91e
"This is my second Acura TL and it has been super in every way. Acura had an issue with transmissions but they stepped up to the plate and put in a new transmission under warraty. Best ride and quietest car ever for the price.
I only wish it did not require premium fuel but the fuel mileage is good enough that becomes less of an issue.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2003
Review 152 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love, love, love,
October 18, 2011
By Vicki
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:138000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
ReviewOriginationID:8fdd3353-afee-45bd-956b-061371c96288
"Except for a couple of recalls early on in my ownership, that i did not have to pay for, I could nto be happier. There is something to be said when you know your car is going to start every time. I have had my 2002 for 8 years, and do not forsee buying a new car soon. I cannot see buying anything other than a Honda or Acura brand."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2002
Review 153 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Stay away,
August 18, 2009
By bighirt
from Anchorage, AK
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Be aware! Transmissions fail regularly on these models. 2000-2003 Acura TLs have safety recall on them for transmission failing. This is extremely expensive if it is out of the extended warranty range that Acura put out on these. Plus they replace them with rebuild faulty ones and it will happen again within the next 50-60k miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 154 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love this car,
August 16, 2008
By kr
from Danvers, MA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 99 TL 2 years ago after having 4 Hondas. I get better gas mileage than my previous Accord 5 speed. The dealer replaced the transmission this year at no cost on the recall. I get many compliments on the ride and looks of the car. I hoping to keep it for many years to come even though I'm just about to turn 100K miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 155 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
7 Years and I Still Like It,
June 5, 2008
By LJM
from Denver
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have been very pleased with my Acura TL. The transmission was replaced under warranty, but other than that I have had only minor repairs. It is very reliable and has enough oomph to get over mountain passes in Colorado just fine. I wish it were more sexy, but I wouldn't trade the reliability. It has been a good investment."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 156 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome Car!!!!,
March 26, 2012
By Mike
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:183000
What's great about this vehicle?:price, Engine, Transmission, Honda Reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Acura Price for repairs
ReviewOriginationID:15fdef20a8944515b6fa4a74ce4668c2
"This vehicle is Phenomenal!!! I have owned this car for sometime and yet no issues. Typical maintenance stuff, Brakes, Rotors, Oil Changes, Radiator Flushes, O2 Sensors, etc. been done as normal and this car just keeps running smoothly. Transmission is still very strong as well as the Engine. Definitely worth every penny!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 1999
Review 157 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car,
February 23, 2009
By KJ
from Dallas, TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have a yr Model 2000. I have had the car 7 yrs. Have had NO trouble with this car. I have heard about the transmission. You can manually shift or let it stay in automatic. I do not shift manually ever. Not sure if this would have made a difference or not. I will drive this car another 7 years if it holds up. Great Car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 158 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Worst car ever owned,
September 29, 2007
By busymama
from San Francisco
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
"Bought a used 2oo3 Acura TL that has 30,000 miles on it.After 4 weeks and 1 day,transmission failed as I was driving my family,the car stalled and has no power,I was so glad there were not a lot of cars that day!Called Acura and was told my car's VIN no.does'nt apply on the recall. I'm stuck with an expensive lemon!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 159 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Excellent,
January 11, 2008
By Fulano De Tal
from SoCal
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Plenty of power from S-Type. Nice looking without being snobby. Nav system is one of the best that I've used. Plenty of bang for the buck. Looks great in the silver color. No complaints except for a little bit of noise from the valves from time to time, but I'm told this does not affect performance. Overall, great."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 160 for 1999 - 2003 Acura TL
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
I enjoy driving,
December 30, 2011
By SM
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:138000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, Fun to drive, excellent boss audio
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Expensive parts, lesser mpg
ReviewOriginationID:f1265247-54f2-48cc-a530-e859850e82fb
"I own this vehicle for past couple of months. Though I am 5th owner of this car with nearly 138K miles on it, still it drives great! My previous owner had regular maintenance. Also, suggested to use premium Gas. It may not match mpg of some of other models of toyota and honda, but it is fun to drive than those."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2002