Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.663 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
359 of 374(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Review 161 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Buy this!,
December 5, 2008
By Awesome!
from Oldtown, Idaho
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My husband bought this 1990 pickup when a kid hit a deer with it. He put a radiator in it and it's been running strong everysince even with the hood looking not so nice. This truck has saved me many times when I have wrecked my car, broke down, or flat didn't have another vehicle to drive. It keeps on ticking with very little maintenance. We havce owned it for 5+ years and it will never leave my driveway unless I or my husband is behind the wheel. It has 218,000 miles on it and has had no major repairs. Buy this truck if you can find one. Awesome deal!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 162 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Most reliable,
December 3, 2008
By Tigrism
from Honolulu, HI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This truck was handed down to me from my grandfather. It's easy to maintain, runs great and fun to own. It's been used for work (construction and electrical), fun (beach and tailgating), and chores (yard and house renovations). I love it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 163 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Value Truck Ever!,
November 29, 2008
By Gitbox1
from Silverdale, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"There have been 2 owners of this truck. my dad & I. At 200k miles, my '91 pickup has only needed small maintenance and a few small replacement parts (1 alternator & 1 starter). I have owned it since '96. I plan on passing this truck on to my 16yr old. If you can find one grab it up!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 164 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
not for sale,
November 11, 2008
By El_Coqui
from Tampa florida
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had my 88 king cab for 13 years and its the one that always stays in the diveway when i sell one of my cars. i love it , it has 214000 miles.
Most everything is original and i allways get asked if i want to sell it. well the answer is a flat no .... never my nissan (Z24i) will run for ever.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 165 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Keeps running and running,
November 1, 2008
By lonenak
from North Pole, AK
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had this vehicle for 9 years myself, and it has over 303,000 miles on engine and I have never done anything to it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 166 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
utilitarian and dependable,
October 30, 2008
By golfer gofer
from Taos, N.M.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I've had this vehicle for a yr. and a half, and have just done a bit of routine maintenance like new battery, turned rotors and put on new heavy duty shocks. The auto tranny with overdrive works great, and I get 30 mi. per gallon! Engine has timing chain not belt, which I think is more durable and maintenance free. Fuel injectors need cleaning occasionally as it idles a bit rough if they're dirty, but it just takes a can of the cleaner at 4 bucks to get them right again. Really a pretty nice and durable vehicle, and I love just being able to throw stuff in the cab in back of the seats or in the bed."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 167 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1990 truck,
October 13, 2008
By Keith
from Indiana
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"good little truck very dependable"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 168 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
October 10, 2008
By Leo
from orange county ny
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"10-10-08
I bought the truck new in Oct.97, it has never let me down. It always was a little under powered and the best mileage I ever got was 23 mpg, I check it every tankful.I only replaced regular maintenance items all these years and the oil every 3500 miles, it does not burn a drop,still has the original exhaust, alt. fuel pump,and numerous other parts. I did change the front fenders at 120000 as they were starting to rust on the bottom pretty bad. Everything else is original hope to hit 250000, don't see why not.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 169 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent value,
September 25, 2008
By Jimbo
from Worcester, Massachusetts
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I purchased my 1997 Nissan pickup short bed new. It has run great the entire time that I've owned it. The engine still runs like new. It gets the same gas mileage that it got when it was new. I had to replace the oil pan due to rust. The engine does not burn oil. It still starts the first time that I turn the key and passes emissions tests easily. The body has a little bit of rust. I just replaced the hood covering the engine due to rust along the front edge. The only problem that I've had since I purchased it is that the wheels vibrate when I drive between 65 mph to 70 mph. I have had the tires balanced and wheels aligned several times but I cannot get rid of the tire shake.
All things considered I am very happy that I purchased this truck and I expect that it will keep running for at least another 5 years."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 170 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Truck for the Money,
September 11, 2008
By peeler326
from Raleigh, NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"In this price range and size, the Nissan short bed XE cant be beat! The only drawback is that it is a little small onthe interior, for people bigger than me. I'm 5'6", 160 lbs - the truck is just right for me however people over 6 ft have to squeeze in a little."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 171 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Truck!,
September 8, 2008
By dotman
from Paducah, KY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My 2WD XE has 186,000 miles, and still going strong. New clutch at 131k, new alt. at 176k, thermostat and water pump at 183k. Brake pads and rotors turned once. Other than a couple of distr. caps, that's it. I've had it for 10.5 years, and haven't had to make a mo. payment in 6.5. It still gets 25 mpg to work and back, with the AC on. 28mpg in the winter, with the original spark plugs. I originally chose it because the bench seat was the best of all the mini-pu's, for my back. Interior is still top notch."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 172 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1997 nissan truck,
September 5, 2008
By kk
from oregon
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"definitely NOT the vehicle for long hauls--very uncomfortable for long trips."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 173 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound Truck Outstanding 4WD,
September 1, 2008
By argus
from Roseburg, OR
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We have owned this truck and found it to be extremely reliable and had no real issues other than routine maint. Very good 4WD and with the power of a 3/4ton PU.
Trimmed out nice and winch makes this a useful machine.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 174 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best vehicle I have ever owned,
August 30, 2008
By Scoop
from cincinnati OH
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"30 different people have asked to buy my 1995 Nissan xe PU! They all wanted to buy an older 4x4 with low miles; in very good condition, that they could buy very cheap.And they know it will still be on the road in 10 years. Needless to say; it will never be for sale! I have owned this vehiclefor 12 + years and hopefully many many more."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 175 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Keeps on Ticking,
August 29, 2008
By MDK914
from Atlanta, GA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this truck as a daily driver in 2000 with 58000 on it. Now it is my "spare" and around the house truck. I have 197000 and have had no problems. Original clutch, on the 5 speed 4 cyl. I have driven it hard over the years and it has just taken it and keeps going. I do have a check engine light that comes and stays on, but come emission time I reset it and it passes with flying colors, then I drive it for the next year and repeat. Absolutely one of the best trucks ever made. It is not worth selling it, so it sits in the driveway for a couple of weeks at a time sometimes, and when I go to get in it, it starts right up and goes."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 176 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
What To Expect When Driving A 90's Nissan PU,
August 14, 2008
By Guiding Light
from Athol, MA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"This is a very fun truck in tight and parking areas. 4X4 is awesome to have in the winter snow. The best that this truck has to offer is to be a toy in the sand. It really provides incradible power in 1st but 2nd gear, you really have to be moving fast enough to be able to have the same impact that 1st did. You can high rpm this truck.
It lacks hp big time. This is why it is hard to get out of 1st when moving through the sandpits. When going up hill on the streats and highways without a load, you do have to change gears to a lower gear, even if it is up a slight incline. If hauling any wieght more than 100 lbs., forget it. Stick to moving thoughs falltime leaves.
Because the undercarage is lower in the axle area and transmission, you will bottom out in it. To help avoid this from happening, get 31 inch tires or biger if you have the proper rims that stick out a little. This will help keep the tight turning that this truck provides.
Be prepared to change enginge after engine after engine in this truck. The Transmission is also this way. Its drivetrain is not efficient in perportion to each other. This makes the truck burn more fuel, lose tourque that the engine could have produced, and over all, makes too much ware on both transmission and engine, easpecially over 500lbs. longer hauls of 50 miles or more. The end result is enginge after engine, tranny after tranny.
The output of the alternator is too weak to keep your lights on in the day time, espesially if it is cold outside and you want the heat to be blowing. On that note, don't use more than the second level of fan speed for 2 reasons. 1. It draws too much power from the altenator/battery 2. The heating system is not hot enough to blow the heat that you need to warm up this small pu. The engine burns too cool to begin with and the small engine cools off too quick on cold cold days to keep the heat. Also the truck is poorly isulate making for very cold cab conditions in the winter and very hot hot days in the summer! If you do not have AC., don't expect your hair to be neat.
This is a nice toy to have and to go back and forth to the store. It is very bad on gas if you drive on the highway past 60mph. It is alright on gas overall because it is a 4 cylinder engine, but far from what you would expect for mpg's in its 4clinder class.
This truck would be better with an aftermarket engine and transmission with larger tires on aftermarket rims. Replace the heavy 50 pound rear bumper and the altamately thin front light weight bumper with hard wood. Believe me, it looks sharp!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 177 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Keeps on going,
August 13, 2008
By Bill from Atlanta
from Atlanta GA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"1988 Reg cab auto 4cyl power steering. 180K Miles and going strong. Owned it for 20 years, like it a lot. Very dependable, and never had to fix much, suspect it will be out there for another 20 years. Benifits from oversized tires / wheels.
I upgraded to P235 70 15, drives better, but I dont tow much. Im a big guy 5 11" 290 lbs, so its a bit small.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 178 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good little truck,
August 11, 2008
By mlp211
from Redding, Ca
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I own a 97 4x4 2.4 5 speed, have had it for about two and a half years now and it's been very reliable. The previous owner tried to squeeze more power out the under powered 2.4 by adding Malllory ignition and a cold air box and they do help and I plan to add bigger exhaust in the near future. The only thing I do not like is the lack of low end torque and this is why it also gets poor MPG 14 to 15 city and 17 to 19 HWY, but other than that I like the style of the truck, comfort factor in the front seats isn't that bad. I really enjoy taking the truck off road too."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 179 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great Vehicle,
July 29, 2008
By TRK
from Wisconsin
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I loved this truck. I put over 100,000 (from 40K to over 140k) miles on it with very little problems. The only non-wear items I replaced were the starter and alternator.
The big problem is that it handles poorly when skidding on snow and ice. Mine went into a skid on the expressway at about 55mph and when I corrected it went all the way back around the other way--eventually spinning 180 degrees and rolling over when it hit a snow bank. It was such a great vehicle, but it needed some kind of stability control to prevent losing traction and to prevent roll-overs.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 180 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Like a Jeep,
July 20, 2008
By Mantaman
from CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Absolutely the best truck I have ever owned. After 258,000 miles of which 80,000 offroad in Baja Mexico, never once left me stranded. It will go anyplace a Jeep without a winch will go. Outstanding!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more