Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.687 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
368 of 383(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Review 161 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best vehicle i have ever had,
February 19, 2009
By satisfied driver
from ga
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought it new in 1997 and it now has 202,000.i just replaced alternator and alternator belt 3 times.replaced clutch last year.only complaint is kinda small for my height.overall great vehicle and i would probably never sell it.i'll keep it till it quits."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 162 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
the best truck,
February 16, 2009
By spike
from Sylva NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned it for 4 years no trouble.
Goes any where i point it.
I HAVE OVER 200,000 MILES ON IT!!!
I gave it 4 stars for comfort because i am 6'4 220lbs Not for a big guy. Wife loves it and would give it 5 stars across the board
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 163 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
February 14, 2009
By dbl
from Clearwater, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"A quarter million miles on my truck now. It doesn't use oil. It runs well. I had to rebuild the transmission back around 165,000 miles. Changed the alternator once; the starter 3x. Replaced two ball joints. But the body is rust free, the doors still close tight, and everything still works. It has had moderately hard use, and regular maintenance. This sort of service out of a vehicle is what gives the manufacturer a good reputation. I'd consider another Nissan."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 164 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great little truck,
February 5, 2009
By Matt
from Albuquerque, NM
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought mine used with 53k miles. Now it has 143k on it and is still running strong. The engine is tight and doesn't use any oil between changes. I saw one on a car lot today and want so badly to buy it but can't afford it right now and don't need one because my truck is still so dependable."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 165 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
AWSOME truck,
January 15, 2009
By Gerry
from Tehachapi, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"245,500 miles and still runs great. Without a doubt the BEST VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED. With 200,000 miles on it I Drove to Anchorage Alaska, worked there 3 months and returned without a single hiccup. I've owned this truck 18 years, perform regular maintenance and have never had to do any major repairs. This truck and I have been over every kind of road condition and through every kind of weather and it never let me down. Still getting 32 MPG....AWSOME!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 166 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Cant go wrong,
January 15, 2009
By Gary
from San Diego, CA, and Winchester, VA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned this truck for 8 years and have put over 200,000 miles on it. It has done everything i have asked of it and then some. You cant go wrong with it. It has been across the country 4 times."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 167 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
awesome,
January 13, 2009
By 95xekingcab
from Bethel, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I LOVE MY TRUCK!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 168 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
This truck just keeps going and going and..,
January 2, 2009
By Perhapsody
from Morrisville, NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We got our king-cab pickup new in 1991, and since then it's been from SC all across the country, west to WA and TX, up to Maine multiple times, even around Canada. I've taken it to archaeology digs in remote areas and used it for school, work, camping, moving, and everything else. Only problems I've ever had were a starter replacement and a stuck speedometer. It's not a fancy truck, but it's the absolute last word in dependability and reliability, and it hauls a surprisingly large amount of stuff. It's finally getting semi-retired now, at 200,000 miles, and I only hope that my new Nissan lasts as long and performs as well as my little truck did."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 169 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Worth it!,
December 27, 2008
By jambandfan
from Meadow Vista, CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have had this nissan pickup for 11 years, going on 12 and she has been extremely reliable. I have driven her all over the western half of the US and many times up and down California. Never had any serious mechanical problems and I still have the orginal breaks and cluch.
Perfect highschool/college truck.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 170 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Buy this!,
December 5, 2008
By Awesome!
from Oldtown, Idaho
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My husband bought this 1990 pickup when a kid hit a deer with it. He put a radiator in it and it's been running strong everysince even with the hood looking not so nice. This truck has saved me many times when I have wrecked my car, broke down, or flat didn't have another vehicle to drive. It keeps on ticking with very little maintenance. We havce owned it for 5+ years and it will never leave my driveway unless I or my husband is behind the wheel. It has 218,000 miles on it and has had no major repairs. Buy this truck if you can find one. Awesome deal!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 171 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Most reliable,
December 3, 2008
By Tigrism
from Honolulu, HI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This truck was handed down to me from my grandfather. It's easy to maintain, runs great and fun to own. It's been used for work (construction and electrical), fun (beach and tailgating), and chores (yard and house renovations). I love it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 172 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Value Truck Ever!,
November 29, 2008
By Gitbox1
from Silverdale, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"There have been 2 owners of this truck. my dad & I. At 200k miles, my '91 pickup has only needed small maintenance and a few small replacement parts (1 alternator & 1 starter). I have owned it since '96. I plan on passing this truck on to my 16yr old. If you can find one grab it up!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 173 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
not for sale,
November 11, 2008
By El_Coqui
from Tampa florida
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had my 88 king cab for 13 years and its the one that always stays in the diveway when i sell one of my cars. i love it , it has 214000 miles.
Most everything is original and i allways get asked if i want to sell it. well the answer is a flat no .... never my nissan (Z24i) will run for ever.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 174 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Keeps running and running,
November 1, 2008
By lonenak
from North Pole, AK
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had this vehicle for 9 years myself, and it has over 303,000 miles on engine and I have never done anything to it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 175 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
utilitarian and dependable,
October 30, 2008
By golfer gofer
from Taos, N.M.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I've had this vehicle for a yr. and a half, and have just done a bit of routine maintenance like new battery, turned rotors and put on new heavy duty shocks. The auto tranny with overdrive works great, and I get 30 mi. per gallon! Engine has timing chain not belt, which I think is more durable and maintenance free. Fuel injectors need cleaning occasionally as it idles a bit rough if they're dirty, but it just takes a can of the cleaner at 4 bucks to get them right again. Really a pretty nice and durable vehicle, and I love just being able to throw stuff in the cab in back of the seats or in the bed."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 176 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1990 truck,
October 13, 2008
By Keith
from Indiana
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"good little truck very dependable"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 177 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
October 10, 2008
By Leo
from orange county ny
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"10-10-08
I bought the truck new in Oct.97, it has never let me down. It always was a little under powered and the best mileage I ever got was 23 mpg, I check it every tankful.I only replaced regular maintenance items all these years and the oil every 3500 miles, it does not burn a drop,still has the original exhaust, alt. fuel pump,and numerous other parts. I did change the front fenders at 120000 as they were starting to rust on the bottom pretty bad. Everything else is original hope to hit 250000, don't see why not.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 178 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent value,
September 25, 2008
By Jimbo
from Worcester, Massachusetts
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I purchased my 1997 Nissan pickup short bed new. It has run great the entire time that I've owned it. The engine still runs like new. It gets the same gas mileage that it got when it was new. I had to replace the oil pan due to rust. The engine does not burn oil. It still starts the first time that I turn the key and passes emissions tests easily. The body has a little bit of rust. I just replaced the hood covering the engine due to rust along the front edge. The only problem that I've had since I purchased it is that the wheels vibrate when I drive between 65 mph to 70 mph. I have had the tires balanced and wheels aligned several times but I cannot get rid of the tire shake.
All things considered I am very happy that I purchased this truck and I expect that it will keep running for at least another 5 years."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 179 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Truck for the Money,
September 11, 2008
By peeler326
from Raleigh, NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"In this price range and size, the Nissan short bed XE cant be beat! The only drawback is that it is a little small onthe interior, for people bigger than me. I'm 5'6", 160 lbs - the truck is just right for me however people over 6 ft have to squeeze in a little."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 180 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Truck!,
September 8, 2008
By dotman
from Paducah, KY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My 2WD XE has 186,000 miles, and still going strong. New clutch at 131k, new alt. at 176k, thermostat and water pump at 183k. Brake pads and rotors turned once. Other than a couple of distr. caps, that's it. I've had it for 10.5 years, and haven't had to make a mo. payment in 6.5. It still gets 25 mpg to work and back, with the AC on. 28mpg in the winter, with the original spark plugs. I originally chose it because the bench seat was the best of all the mini-pu's, for my back. Interior is still top notch."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more