Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.676 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
365 of 380(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Review 61 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Tough and Efficient! Best truck of the 4 I owned!,
November 6, 2011
By William
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:100000
What's great about this vehicle?:Solid value, trusty, brings home the bacon
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cup holder and wished they had a Diesel option
ReviewOriginationID:ea7b3fbf-e4db-4dee-a422-47378e17ea2a
"Super reliable, saves gas = 20 mpg urban driving. Extremely maneuverable and goes everywhere (u-turns and tight city parking are no problem)! Most comfortable ride of all compact trucks I tested which makes a huge difference after a long work day! Heavy Duty body, bed and chassis that will last a very long time and feels solid on the freeway. I can't seem to find a reason to sell or replace it!
Passes DMV emissions very easy! A/C is super cold. Heater is fast. Visibility excellent. All wear"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1996
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great truck,
November 4, 2011
By phx truck
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:20 plus MPG on any surface
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:a6c8c998-c4d1-4065-95ab-32decf64a6c3
"ive had the truck for 4 years and it has never left me on the side of the road. the 2.4L with the 5 speed is super dependable and easy to work on. having a regular cap with no cup holders is about the only downside."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 1997
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
I'll miss this little truck!!!,
October 28, 2011
By BK
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
ReviewOriginationID:8e38da33-d00c-4392-956d-99c23feaa306
"I am a big Nissan truck fan. This truck has run practically flawlessly since I bought it used. I have kept it maintained, and it is surely going to last another 10 years."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1996
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great truck , no cup holder.,
October 27, 2011
By mitchem
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:226692
What's great about this vehicle?:It last a long time.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:4f876e38-6ad8-4b56-9b84-1d0eb4faf2c6
"It is a great truck and I have 226692 miles on it and have had to do very little work on it.But the only down side I would have to say is,it does not have a cup holder."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1995
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very good vehicle.,
October 20, 2011
By cindy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders.
ReviewOriginationID:f5e65350-e6af-477f-a102-340226498d89
"We bought this car for our daughter when she started driving. We kept it when she got a new car. It has never gave us any trouble. The air is the best out of any vechile we have ever owned. The only thing we don't like about it is it is a standard shift and no cup holders."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1997
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome small truck! Perfect for a mountain man!,
October 18, 2011
By mountain fisherman
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cup holders, need to lock the hubs by hand
ReviewOriginationID:1ca7e6e4-96c7-48e3-a4a4-9dfcedae12e4
"The vehicle was always reliable and only needed a few minor repairs in its history. It is fun to drive and held up to the challenge of being the first car of a high school boy on mountain dirt roads. It also held up very well on snow and ice. It was comfortable and overall the perfect car for me because of its size, reliability and versatility. I will keep it forever."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 1996
Review 67 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
best vehicle ever,
October 18, 2011
By tom
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200300
What's great about this vehicle?:great price fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not very strong
ReviewOriginationID:2be8b99a-d71a-472d-8d84-13c944007834
"good vehicle all around."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1997
Review 68 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
good truck,
October 17, 2011
By jesse
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:184366
ReviewOriginationID:022c2ce1-fd2c-48cf-a774-cfef31347230
"enough power good gas saver excellent milege"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1991
Review 69 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Nissan's Best Truck Ever!!,
October 16, 2011
By CG
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very dependable with few mechanical problems.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Paint is peeling off.
ReviewOriginationID:5699d79a-4b7b-45bd-9b40-31479b796021
"I have owned a total of 3 of these little trucks (each time I traded for something different I regretted it"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 1995
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
The little truck that could,
October 15, 2011
By Patrick
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:45000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, great mileage, VERY reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Slow acceleration, hot coffee crotch
ReviewOriginationID:24a0891a-6191-42f6-ac29-0debdb3d3cd0
"I was fortunate enough to purchase this truck from friends for $1000. It is an indomitable little thing. I make sure to perform regular maintenance, and it hasn't given me a single problem. It shifts beautifully, runs smoothly, and performs even when it's 10 below and icy. I hope to have this truck until the bitter end. The body has no rust, the chrome looks amazing, and the only thing I've had to do is get new tires. People stop me on the street and ask me if I'm selling it.
Two small gripes: not a single cupholder? Really? And rear-wheel drive on a truck in Michigan is an adventure in the winter."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1994
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Best little pickup truck ever,
October 6, 2011
By Matti
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:270000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very Dependable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cupholder:(
"The little nissan hardbody pickup is amazing. I have brought up to mt. hood snowboarding several time. I use it hunting and i drive very aggressive. this little truck has not even sputtered or coughed on me once. This truck still purrs like a kitten with 270000 miles on it which i find amazing. I am going to keep this truck until it blow. (If it ever does.)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 1992
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Nissan should have never stopped building these!,
October 4, 2011
By SandMtnCowgirl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:337000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliability, long term durability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage not great, parts tend to be on the pricey side
"Bought my 1996 King Cab 4WD as a trade-in in 1997 with 3500 miles. 15 years later, it is still on the road with 337,000 miles (that's not a typo!) and the original K24 engine. It commutes 400-500 miles per week, pulls anything from a small camper to a two horse trailer, hay wagon, or trailer. It's a workhorse and has good reliability. I have replaced the manual transmission in the truck, everything else is original. It's not the smoothest riding or not loaded with the bells and whistles, but I don't like power accessories due to replacement costs. It's a TRUCK! If you need a smooth ride, buy a Cadillac. The extended cab is not really a place for anyone to ride, except for very short trips, but it is great storage! It has a few dings here and there, but overall has held up really well and even my cloth seats are in great shape with no tears or fading I have taken care of it over the years and it still looks good. I had considered buying a newer vehicle some time ago but decided I would keep my Nissan on the road. Since I have had such great service out of my truck, my husband bought a 2007 Nissan Versa for our daughter, then my husband bought himself a 2010 Nissan Sentra earlier this year. If you do the maintenance and CHANGE THAT OIL, these trucks will run and run and run. In my opinion, every bit as good as a comparable Toyota, but with a better price."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 1996
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good,
October 4, 2011
By truck
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:210000
"Runs Good"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1996
Review 74 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great little Work Horse,
September 22, 2011
By Smokey
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:210000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very Dependable, and inexpenseive to operate.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
"I came here to Kelly blue book to see what the value of my truck was. I was thinking about selling it. After everything I'v seen and read, I changed my mind and am going to keep my truck. I have never had a problem with this truck other than the regular stuff. Tune-up, Brakes,
Changed some belts and hoses. Other than that, nothing, and I have used this truck for everything. Just a great little truck. I don't think they make cars and trucks like they used to. Definetly going to keep my truck
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1996
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One word: Dependable,
September 18, 2011
By Chris
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
Reason for Sale:Totalled
What's great about this vehicle?:Dependable, holds value, long-lasting, cheap to repair
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Mileage could be better, no power locks or windows
"I got my 1996 4/cyl automatic Nissan Hardbody in 2002 and drove it until it got totalled in 2011. In that time I had only done oil changes and the usual $500-$800 in repairs/maintenance every year (brakes, EGR, belts, etc.). It survived several fender-benders without so much as a dent (Hardbody is right--the exterior is tough!). I've driven it in extreme conditions; one time I took it into the mountains/snow carrying a closed 6x9 trailer with a half ton of cargo, hauled a 6x12 trailer across bridges, and once hauled over a half ton of machinery in the truck bed. Remember, this is a 4/cyl, 2wd, 1/4 ton pickup! I never once wrecked the suspension or transmission doing this, in fact sometimes I'd forget I was towing anything. Every time, the people at U-Haul would tell me the truck was too underpowered for the trailer, and every time I proved them wrong.
This truck doesn't joke around... it is simply made for getting stuff done; it's not incredibly comfortable and not useful for families, but it can take whatever punishment you have in mind, except maybe a large boat or camper. I've driven through probably a dozen states and never got stranded anywhere, and I always trusted it. I'd have driven it another 10 years if it hadn't been totalled (sad day!). The good news is the Blue Book value held up so well, I was able to buy a 2000 Nissan Frontier with the insurance payout. I can only hope the Frontier is as trusty as its older brothers."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location FL
Year 1996
Review 76 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great little Work Horse,
September 8, 2011
By Keoni123
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:120000
Reason for Sale:Got a bigger truck
What's great about this vehicle?:Very Dependable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
"Great little truck. Had it for 10 years. I kept it well maintained, and only had a few minor repairs that were required. Sorry I sold it. If I had it to do over, I would have kept it."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location OR
Year 1996
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great truck,
July 28, 2011
By Bob
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:202000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Comfort
"Bought new in 1996. Still driving strong 15 years later with general maintenance. Truck still looks new. When someone has vehicle problems I rescue them with my nissan hardbody. Great truck. Wish they still made the small truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 1996
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Good workhorse,
May 21, 2011
By For Dad
from Alaska
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Owned this 94 King Cab XE for 14 years now. Very little problems with it. Changed the battery once. The only bad thing I can say about it is if you are tall, it doesn't have as much leg room as is liked. Over the years have only have not had any major maintenance done to it. Like the name brand battery, it just keeps on going. Have had it in Colorado, Hawaii and Alaska."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
good trk,
May 8, 2011
By ja
from Hawaii
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Very good truck over all"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 80 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good truck,
May 3, 2011
By shane
from salem ct
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"must get 4x4 and good tred tires or this truck is garbage but if you do it will be the love of your life dont expect great gas mileage but will get you threw 2ft of snow with ease"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.