Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.694 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
371 of 386(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Review 61 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
The Best,
November 29, 2011
By bbill
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:100000
ReviewOriginationID:c4786f1d-a68c-440e-98e7-214c5b3bf307
"Very dependable..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NV
Year 1995
Review 62 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Loved this truck,
November 27, 2011
By joel
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:194000
What's great about this vehicle?:decent gas milege, cheap, run forever
What's not so great about this vehicle?:paint oxidized real bad. not alot of leg room
ReviewOriginationID:7e466864-72fc-4fc5-a011-268513321dd5
"I love my pickup but im selling it for a honda civic with the same blue book rating, it gets about 18 to 19 city, and 22 to 24 hwy. This truck has never let me down and all maintenance done was something that needed to be done someday such as the clutch, and it had never been replaced once until 175k miles. the starter, and a 5 dollar belt. it will never stop running it as long as you take care of it. the only reason i sold it is b/c im a 6 foot 3 male who still needs more leg room and could use the cruise control. anyone looking to buy one of these for school, work, or anything i highly recommend it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1994
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
tough,
November 20, 2011
By countryboy90
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:301000
Reason for Sale:traded for a camaro
What's great about this vehicle?:gas mileage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:e3300f5a-f8c0-4374-be43-849152c2bb04
"Had one of these with 301'000 miles..ran real good never done a thang to it.. only prob it had was the timing chain rattle.wish I still had it..good gas mileage.and was not all that bad for a 4 banger with the stick....would have keeped it but someone traded me a Sharp camaro for it even.hope to get another one .one dAy"
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location TN
Year 1995
Review 64 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good solid Truck,
November 19, 2011
By Will
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:166000
What's great about this vehicle?:Inexpensive to drive and maintain, good on gas.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Manual trans could use a 6th gear...
ReviewOriginationID:aca4a547-48ce-4099-bace-d186dde1f71e
"My Nissan is a 1997 Regular Cab XE. I am currently at about 165,400 miles. The truck is the 2wd with the original 2.4L in it. The truck has been very well kept. I just replaced the timing chain and was amazed at how clean the motor is inside. Mine is the no frills version, hand crank window, cloth bench seat, no cruise, ect. This truck has been the most reliable used vehicle I have ever owned, I'm 38, have had alot of used vehicles... and I would easily suggest it to anyone. If you can find one of these Hardbody trucks in good condition, they are hard to beat. Parts are easy to find, and this 2.4 is a breeze to work on. A good, straight up pickup that you can get very cheap, and with proper maintenance, run forever."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 1997
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this truck.,
November 15, 2011
By Nissanman
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:213000
What's great about this vehicle?:Simple with no junk to break, reliable, real truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
ReviewOriginationID:90497744-d235-4736-8a4a-d2d4ae8a453e
"I bought this truck in 1993 from a used car dealer. This truck has never given me any trouble. The only major thing I've done to it is to replace the clutch. As long as I take care of it, it takes care of me.
I drove it, gave it to my daughter for college, she gave it back, I sold it to a co-worker, and he gave it back to me out of gratitude when he bought a new car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 1992
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best truck ever,
November 11, 2011
By jdemp
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:188000
What's great about this vehicle?:4x4, reliable, standard transmission,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:f0528d0d-f136-485d-864a-8c7ae53be43c
"I have owned this truck for the past year. It is a 1993 King cab 2.4 L 4 cyl 4x4. My grandparents have owned it since '93. It has gone through the mud and woods all its life. It was handed down to me in 2010. I have put 15,000 miles on it since then and i have to say it is one of the most reliable vehicles i have seen or driven. It may be worn out from all the years off road but it starts up every time. From talking to my grandparents, aside from normal parts that are replaced due to wear and tear, it is all original and has never broken down. Great truck Nissan!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location LA
Year 1993
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Tough and Efficient! Best truck of the 4 I owned!,
November 6, 2011
By William
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:100000
What's great about this vehicle?:Solid value, trusty, brings home the bacon
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cup holder and wished they had a Diesel option
ReviewOriginationID:ea7b3fbf-e4db-4dee-a422-47378e17ea2a
"Super reliable, saves gas = 20 mpg urban driving. Extremely maneuverable and goes everywhere (u-turns and tight city parking are no problem)! Most comfortable ride of all compact trucks I tested which makes a huge difference after a long work day! Heavy Duty body, bed and chassis that will last a very long time and feels solid on the freeway. I can't seem to find a reason to sell or replace it!
Passes DMV emissions very easy! A/C is super cold. Heater is fast. Visibility excellent. All wear"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1996
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great truck,
November 4, 2011
By phx truck
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:20 plus MPG on any surface
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:a6c8c998-c4d1-4065-95ab-32decf64a6c3
"ive had the truck for 4 years and it has never left me on the side of the road. the 2.4L with the 5 speed is super dependable and easy to work on. having a regular cap with no cup holders is about the only downside."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 1997
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
I'll miss this little truck!!!,
October 28, 2011
By BK
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
ReviewOriginationID:8e38da33-d00c-4392-956d-99c23feaa306
"I am a big Nissan truck fan. This truck has run practically flawlessly since I bought it used. I have kept it maintained, and it is surely going to last another 10 years."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1996
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great truck , no cup holder.,
October 27, 2011
By mitchem
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:226692
What's great about this vehicle?:It last a long time.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:4f876e38-6ad8-4b56-9b84-1d0eb4faf2c6
"It is a great truck and I have 226692 miles on it and have had to do very little work on it.But the only down side I would have to say is,it does not have a cup holder."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1995
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very good vehicle.,
October 20, 2011
By cindy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders.
ReviewOriginationID:f5e65350-e6af-477f-a102-340226498d89
"We bought this car for our daughter when she started driving. We kept it when she got a new car. It has never gave us any trouble. The air is the best out of any vechile we have ever owned. The only thing we don't like about it is it is a standard shift and no cup holders."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1997
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome small truck! Perfect for a mountain man!,
October 18, 2011
By mountain fisherman
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cup holders, need to lock the hubs by hand
ReviewOriginationID:1ca7e6e4-96c7-48e3-a4a4-9dfcedae12e4
"The vehicle was always reliable and only needed a few minor repairs in its history. It is fun to drive and held up to the challenge of being the first car of a high school boy on mountain dirt roads. It also held up very well on snow and ice. It was comfortable and overall the perfect car for me because of its size, reliability and versatility. I will keep it forever."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 1996
Review 73 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
best vehicle ever,
October 18, 2011
By tom
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200300
What's great about this vehicle?:great price fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not very strong
ReviewOriginationID:2be8b99a-d71a-472d-8d84-13c944007834
"good vehicle all around."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1997
Review 74 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
good truck,
October 17, 2011
By jesse
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:184366
ReviewOriginationID:022c2ce1-fd2c-48cf-a774-cfef31347230
"enough power good gas saver excellent milege"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1991
Review 75 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Nissan's Best Truck Ever!!,
October 16, 2011
By CG
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very dependable with few mechanical problems.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Paint is peeling off.
ReviewOriginationID:5699d79a-4b7b-45bd-9b40-31479b796021
"I have owned a total of 3 of these little trucks (each time I traded for something different I regretted it"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 1995
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
The little truck that could,
October 15, 2011
By Patrick
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:45000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, great mileage, VERY reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Slow acceleration, hot coffee crotch
ReviewOriginationID:24a0891a-6191-42f6-ac29-0debdb3d3cd0
"I was fortunate enough to purchase this truck from friends for $1000. It is an indomitable little thing. I make sure to perform regular maintenance, and it hasn't given me a single problem. It shifts beautifully, runs smoothly, and performs even when it's 10 below and icy. I hope to have this truck until the bitter end. The body has no rust, the chrome looks amazing, and the only thing I've had to do is get new tires. People stop me on the street and ask me if I'm selling it.
Two small gripes: not a single cupholder? Really? And rear-wheel drive on a truck in Michigan is an adventure in the winter."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1994
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Best little pickup truck ever,
October 6, 2011
By Matti
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:270000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very Dependable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cupholder:(
"The little nissan hardbody pickup is amazing. I have brought up to mt. hood snowboarding several time. I use it hunting and i drive very aggressive. this little truck has not even sputtered or coughed on me once. This truck still purrs like a kitten with 270000 miles on it which i find amazing. I am going to keep this truck until it blow. (If it ever does.)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 1992
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Nissan should have never stopped building these!,
October 4, 2011
By SandMtnCowgirl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:337000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliability, long term durability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage not great, parts tend to be on the pricey side
"Bought my 1996 King Cab 4WD as a trade-in in 1997 with 3500 miles. 15 years later, it is still on the road with 337,000 miles (that's not a typo!) and the original K24 engine. It commutes 400-500 miles per week, pulls anything from a small camper to a two horse trailer, hay wagon, or trailer. It's a workhorse and has good reliability. I have replaced the manual transmission in the truck, everything else is original. It's not the smoothest riding or not loaded with the bells and whistles, but I don't like power accessories due to replacement costs. It's a TRUCK! If you need a smooth ride, buy a Cadillac. The extended cab is not really a place for anyone to ride, except for very short trips, but it is great storage! It has a few dings here and there, but overall has held up really well and even my cloth seats are in great shape with no tears or fading I have taken care of it over the years and it still looks good. I had considered buying a newer vehicle some time ago but decided I would keep my Nissan on the road. Since I have had such great service out of my truck, my husband bought a 2007 Nissan Versa for our daughter, then my husband bought himself a 2010 Nissan Sentra earlier this year. If you do the maintenance and CHANGE THAT OIL, these trucks will run and run and run. In my opinion, every bit as good as a comparable Toyota, but with a better price."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 1996
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good,
October 4, 2011
By truck
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:210000
"Runs Good"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1996
Review 80 for 1986 - 1997 Nissan Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great little Work Horse,
September 22, 2011
By Smokey
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:210000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very Dependable, and inexpenseive to operate.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
"I came here to Kelly blue book to see what the value of my truck was. I was thinking about selling it. After everything I'v seen and read, I changed my mind and am going to keep my truck. I have never had a problem with this truck other than the regular stuff. Tune-up, Brakes,
Changed some belts and hoses. Other than that, nothing, and I have used this truck for everything. Just a great little truck. I don't think they make cars and trucks like they used to. Definetly going to keep my truck
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1996
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.