Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1988 - 1996 Buick Regal

Average Customer Rating:
8.339 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
217 of 233(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Review 121 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car!,
August 26, 2009
By Hooey
from Cedar Hills, UT
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought our 93 with 3.8 liter engine 7 years ago. It now has 178,000 miles and still runs strong. General maintenance, including new alternator have been done. The California edition leather seats from 1993 were not good quality and are in bad shape - but it runs so good, insurance and taxes are so low we just don't mind using seat covers. We run it with synthetic oil. Tires last a long time. Maintenance costs pretty low. We run it from California to Utah occationally - it gets 32 to 35 mpg going 75 to 80! It gets 20 to 21 around town. With snow tires it runs great in snowy conditions. For the price of a good used Buick, it is hard to beat the value!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 122 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Buick regal 1993,
August 25, 2009
By SDMF999
from buffalo NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i have had this car for 6 years pretty much the best car verry easy to work on yourself
the only prob. i have ever had was the oil filter is in a weird spot . verry good in the snow awesome power
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 123 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Running strong,
July 6, 2009
By Marko
from Wheeling WV
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Picked out this car in 2000 to replace a 1986 Olds that was totaled. Car had 41000 miles on it, now has 140000. No rust, all power options (Orig) still work like new. Went on a 2000 mile round trip, 27 miles to the gallon, has not used a quart of oil yet, Just routine maint. GM's 3800 engine may not have 4 vslve per cyl, or VVT just runs and runs and gets 25+MPG"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 124 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
can't go wrong,
June 7, 2009
By Jimmy
from western wi
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car in 2000 for $7500 with 80,000 miles on it. It now has 208,000 miles on it and still doesn't use any oil. I put an alternator in it and an EGR valve and a plastic water hose connector in the intake manifold broke throughout my 9 years, but I call that routine maintenance. I service the car regularly, but I drive it hard. The paint is coming off and it has hit 3 deer and a large dog, but the car won't die. I get 30 mpg on the highway and 24 in town. The GM 3800 could verywell be the best engine they ever built. I would buy one without hesitation. The car was a looker when I got it. The GS model is very nice and comfortable, And I'm 6'3" and 230 lbs. I will own it until the wheels fall off and then probably put them back on and drive it some more. I expect the drivetrain will make 300,000 miles if the body can stand wisconsin winters for that long."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 125 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
its not a bad car,
May 14, 2009
By randlepink
from ut
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"its not a bad car the one i got was real clean got it just cuz the guy needed money got it real cheap"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 126 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent Car,
May 2, 2009
By Gabe
from Tampa, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car in '05 with about 120K. I didn't take it on any trips, but now it has 150K and I have the money to buy something newer. I loved this car. It must have been a looker in its day! Now, it is tired, with the leather interior torn at the driver's seat. The rest of the car is in pretty ok shape for its age. I replaced the alternator,new battery, tires (cheap ones) Dad took care of the brakes, but overall, very very reliable. It still drives like a tank and can certainly get out of its own way with the V6, 3.8. Gas mileage is not super, the air was gone when I got it and I never did anything to try to fix it. Doesn't use any oil but I did keep up with general maintenance. Overall, a super car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 127 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best motor ever,
April 10, 2009
By lilo5
from chicago
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"my dad bought this car when it 1st came out. passed it tome and still good!! 174000 and running strong with no problems..ayy american style is the way to go brother!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 128 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Vehicle,
April 9, 2009
By JohnnyLongToes
from Weyauwega, WI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my '94 Regal Custom 3800 for $800 about 4 yrs ago with 85k on it. It now has 125k on it and is still running strong. I don't think the previous owner took very good care of it... it came with a bad alternator, virtually no brakes, bad a/c compressor, bad power antenna, bad coil pack, and a bad fuel pump. I know a mechanic that took care of all the problems for me for around $300 (using junkyard parts). I did have to replace the alternator again last year though. Regular maintenance aside, nothing else has gone wrong with this car. It starts every time, no matter what the weather (I measured -25F one time). Well worth the money for me!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 129 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Value,
March 20, 2009
By Jerry
from Philadelphia, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned this vehicle for over three years and never had a mechanical problem other than routine maintenance. For the low cost of vehicle, you have almost every possible option, great performance and smooth riding as a car that costs ten times the price."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 130 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A DEFINITE GOOD OVERALL,
March 6, 2009
By mike_e
from C-town, MN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I got my 1994 buick regal custom sedan, 3.8 power everything, got from dealer @ 167K miles, now is at 193K miles, have had to do [alternator, starter, plug wires, and regular oil changes] i still have this car and is not in the best cosmetic shape, but hey, what do ya expect 4 a 94'. absolutly ZERO rust anywhere else except one little patch 1" square on roof. i run hard miles into town and back, i Would NEVER doubt this car, even with the mileage it has, i would take from MN to California, or NYC any day. about the only problem is is that the disc inside the steeringwheel air bag is messed up, so the air bag light is on. but doesnt affect performance @ all."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 131 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this car!!,
December 16, 2008
By Surge!
from Lynwood,CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Awesome car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 132 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
cheapest to maintain,
November 21, 2008
By Doc
from plymouth mn
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"proper care to this car meaning regular maintaince like trany filter and intake gasket this car could get well over 250000 miles with very little expence these cars are not that easy to find for sale. several people I know with this car will not part with them. I have had mine for 11 years."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 133 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Wounderfull,
September 25, 2008
By Mike
from Macedon NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned my Buick for a good five or six years ! and i tell you that its been great nothing like the quality and looks and always starting in the mornings wow can not complain"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 134 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
most reliable,
September 13, 2008
By grizz
from erie,pa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"we put this vehicle on the road after sitting for ten years in a garage we put on 11,000 with nothing but a new battery and a oil change. we live in erie pa and went to new york, pittsburg twice and basic city driving NO PROBLEMS. in fact our car needs a tune up and it runs like it just got off the showroom. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR EVERYONE who wants a top of the line car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 135 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
omg this thing is the best!!!!,
September 1, 2008
By tomtom
from gallatin, tn
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this thing is the best it has power and comfort and has good sound system adn its just the best thing i"ve never owned a buick except this one and its the best.... enjoy your regal"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 136 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very nice car,
August 19, 2008
By Polo1495
from Glendale AZ.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car from a friend with 150000 miles on it. It now has 188000 and still drives incredible, no major work has ben neccesary, really strong engine, smooth ride, A/C cold as ice."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 137 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A smooth and durable ride,
August 10, 2008
By jeff
from Saint Louis, MO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This car has 177000 miles on it and other than the transmission failing after 165000 miles, there have been no major problems. Love this car and hope it lasts forever."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 138 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
July 30, 2008
By Rad
from Walton, IN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i bought this car as my first car. i have owened it just bout 3 yrs and have put 40,000 miles on it. I had to replace he ehad gasket last winter and charge the ac twice."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 139 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Stole my heart!,
July 26, 2008
By schweighead
from Lodi, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This was the first car I learned to drive, passed down to me from my grandfather. After 17 years of existence (8 of those years being spent with me!), I continue to be amazed and awed by how well and how smooth this car rides.
Other than routine maintenance, this car has always run great! I needed to replace the Mass Air Flow Sensor after the car would die at random moments, but after that was fixed 2 years ago, she's ran as good as new! This car has taken me to Washington and Idaho and Wyoming and all the way back to California without ever having to call AAA for a tow!
I will admit that some features broke that would have been useful. The AC burnt out about 6 years back. The glove compartment handle broke, making it impossible to get to the trunk hatch button. The odometer has been on the fritz for about 10 years. The antenna does not go up and down, and the strero is beginning to get staticky. The seatbelts in the back never retracted very well. And the emergency brake handle snapped off.
However, all things considered, as far as functionality of a car is considered, this car runs like no other car I've driven! A simple tap of the pedal and you have power; and with cruising? Take your foot of the gas and the digital numbers on the speedometer slowly begin to drop down. About 30MPG on the freeway. Not the best brakes, but that just means you have to drive more defensively.
Like I said, GM truly created a fun, smooth car to drive with the creation of this model. Thank you for the many memories Buey!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 140 for 1988 - 1996 Buick Regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best of the Best,
July 14, 2008
By slmpckns
from Knoxville, TN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my Buick Regal GS new in July of 1989. it is now July 2008 (19 years).
It handles like a sports car, is quick and has plenty of power, I could not expect more than it has given.
This car was available in either the 2.8 or 3.1 engine, mine is the 3.1. I have never once had to add a quart of oil between changes at 5 - 7000 miles, never had any major engine or transmission repairs, only servicing such as brakes, oil/fluid changes, belts and hoses.
About 10 years ago I had the left power window repaired, the computer module replaced, and replaced the headliner. Other than that, nothing but routine maintenance.
Though the paint was still pretty good I had it repainted the original color about 5 years ago, and it still looks good.
It now has over 275,000 miles and runs as strong as ever. This is an amazing vehicle that I would not trade even now for most of the new ones."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.