Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty

Average Customer Rating:
8.139 out of 10
8.1
 out of 
10
216 of 259(83%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Review 1 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Came back to a Liberty,
March 10, 2015
By Came back-hope it was the right move
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:26000
What's great about this vehicle?:Good visiblity, solid, quiet ride, comfortable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:39619f58a66745849192e5094047f8dd
Make:Jeep
Model:Liberty
Vehicle ID:371296
"I owned a 2002 Liberty and traded it in 2013 on a 2014 Mazda CX5. The Mazda had 27 MPG and handled well on the road. But, was not comfortable, had lots of road noise and other features that weren't up to par. I found a 2012 Liberty with low miles and I hope it proves to be as good as my 2002. The Jeep is solid, quiet on the road, handles well, seats are more comfortable than the Mazda and the sound system is much better in the Bose in the Mazda. The Jeep is also easier to see out of so that makes it safer on the road, you are less likely to not see a car coming! The only real tradeoff is MPG. I also like that the Jeep is 4WD not AWD. I like feeling my 4WD engage. If I love it as much as I loved my 2002, I'll be a very happy purchaser!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Solid Performer,
July 27, 2009
By JeepFan
from Rochester, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought mine when they first came out and it has been a great vehicle. Very dependable, stylish and comfortable. It handles great. I have not reset the mileage calculator since I bought it over 2 years ago and in that time, I have averaged 21.4 miles per gallon. That includes highway and city driving. The people on here who state they get like 15 to 17 on the highway are either crazy or driving 100 mph up hill. I also can not believe the comments about the poor handling in snow. I live in western New York where we get about 100 inches each winter and the Liberty is unstoppable- a true Jeep. All in all- a GREAT SUV!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
BEST For ME,
March 31, 2012
By NIK
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:100
What's great about this vehicle?:Traditional Jeep Like Traits - Very Nice Options,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:A Little Pricey, need an basic off road package
ReviewOriginationID:cd27e8e32ab143ea8bbfd491fcb6147c
"This isn’t my first Liberty; however I did test other similar vehicles to compare and preferred the 2012 liberty. It’s a tougher platform and more savvy off road. Most SUVs at this level are usually for urban areas. Some of us need more of a real SUV and since they took our beloved Jeep XJ Cherokee away, this is a good stand in. I suggest you test drive other vehicles of course but definitely make time to check it out ."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5th jeep, 2nd liberty,
December 11, 2011
By harry
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:8000
What's great about this vehicle?:goes anywhere, does everything, tows anything
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage fair.
ReviewOriginationID:96e7d231-3a3f-47b5-866a-1782e445a9c2
"perfect do-everything vehicle; tows my 4000lb boat over sand and uphill. looks great. nav and sound are excellent. i have driven cross country with a kayak on top and slept in the back. drove up the jeep trails in sedona ahead of the tour-jeeps, but with a/c on. living in the northeast, i love the heated seats and remote start.
gas mileage is just fair; 22 mpg at best on highway.
ride is a little rolly laterally.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfortable and reliable automobile,
April 27, 2014
By Knightn1977
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:14000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very comfortable for driver, fun and nice looking.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage could be better.
ReviewOriginationID:4f9d0280cd5548b49a6588773023ad0e
Make:Jeep
Model:Liberty
Vehicle ID:352928
"We have owned Jeeps for ever. We've found them to be reliable cars and also found them to be safe for our children as their first cars. We've never had any trouble with any of our Jeeps. I rate this Liberty as excellent. It looks great and is so comfortable and fun to drive."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2010 That didn't go into service until 2011,
March 26, 2014
By greenacres
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:14500
What's great about this vehicle?:The car is virtually brand new.
ReviewOriginationID:e1a56e3e8fd0499f98dfea954e010b66
Make:Jeep
Model:Liberty
Vehicle ID:264106
"Though the car is a 2010 model year, it did not go into service until 2011. It literally has 3 months of original warranty left. You heard the story of the car the little old lady drove to church on sundays? My story is similar. The car was owned by my wife's 91 year old father. They live in Grand Haven, MI and he used it to drive around the lake front and to go grocery shopping...PERIOD!! Hence the reason it only has 14,500 miles. He just got too old for driving and we had to take the car away from him. The fact is I don't need the car as I already have two vehicles. One of which is a company car that I put all my millage on. The other just sits in the garage. So I just want to get rid of this car quickly, which is the reason I am selling it so cheap. If you want a jeep, and you want the best deal around, buy this before its gone."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Good, dependable Jeep. No problems in 50000 miles,
January 7, 2014
By Jim
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:50000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great vehicle for all driving conditions.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage could be better
ReviewOriginationID:95e47ab1394f457fbd494b8959c85282
Make:Jeep
Model:Liberty
Vehicle ID:226729
"Have enjoyed this vehicle. Very easy and comfortable for highway driving and the Sky-slider top is great for warm weather -- especially when you are driving on secondary roads in scenic areas. Better than a convertible because you have much less wind. Off-road capabilities are good, especially once the original tires were replaced with a more aggressively-treaded tire. Have had no mechanical problems or recalls -- pretty unusual based on experience with other vehicles. The only downside is the gas mileage which runs around 15 mpg in local driving and 24 mpg on the highway."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my Jeep,
September 30, 2013
By rose
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:79717
ReviewOriginationID:e2a4b8ba15504094831d9bcce7ea7520
Make:Jeep
Model:Liberty
Vehicle ID:197363
"About the only thing I don't care about is the gas mileage, I don't feel it get's what I expect although I have had people tell me that it's good. I love the style of the Jeep and color, it handles well and the 4 wheel drive is the best in the snow and sandy areas."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very practical vehicle.,
August 31, 2013
By Mike
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:10000
ReviewOriginationID:cb0559f12efa41c8ae63f2b8a876d7cb
Make:Jeep
Model:Liberty
Vehicle ID:371295
"Rear-wheel drive was important to us plus being up off the road for better visibility. No more front wheel drive vehicles for us. This is our forth new jeep in a row. All of them have been trouble free and very
dependable for my wife and for me so we bought Jeep again. The 4X4 drive system is a requirement where we live in Vermont and it is very capable all season vehicle. It has a comfortable ride with great handling characteristics making it a pleasure to go anywhere regardless of weather conditions.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VT
Year 2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Keeping my '99 Cherokee Sport but.....,
August 10, 2013
By Centerpede
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:58000
What's great about this vehicle?:Works hard, plays harder. Front passenger comfort.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Rear leg room. Driver blind spot;front passenger
ReviewOriginationID:5b073640ebc84b5bbdf482e4548b29c4
Make:Jeep
Model:Liberty
Vehicle ID:352928
"My 2011 Liberty steals the show whether I'm in a business suit, church suit, sweat suit, or mud. Inside, out, top and bottom, after six months, this brand and model delivers what it promised."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
New car, but in shop twice,
September 15, 2012
By rrm
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:7000
What's great about this vehicle?:Looks good from the outside.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Time consuming when having to take it to the deale
ReviewOriginationID:0e555178fec1472db3ab1f18e1211230
"My husband and I thought with newer technology that this car would be reliable. Our Jeep is brand new, leather seats, chrome detail, etc. Obviously, this car only looks good from the outside, but not at all reliable on the inside. The first thing we noticed was that the jeep took several tries to start. It needed a new fuel pump. (This jeep only has 7000 miles on it so far). Next the power window was making noise. Now, we did not use the windows much due to very hot weather this year. Next, after receiving the jeep back from the dealer, four days later the engine light goes off again. Good thing we bought the lifetime warranty. I would feel bad for the consumer that did not buy that package."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I AM a Jeep Woman,
August 25, 2012
By Graveart
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:42000
What's great about this vehicle?:I never worry about not being able to get anywhere
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not great gas milage but it's a trade-off
ReviewOriginationID:3de1e261bba84684b58f234e9860945a
"This is my 4th Jeep in 12 years. And the best so far. I love the little extras like the household electrical outlet, convenient cup holders and secret compartment on the dashboard. The glove compartment is really deep but easily accessible."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
PERFECT,
March 17, 2012
By Ken B
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:27000
What's great about this vehicle?:easy to drive and see all around vehicle
What's not so great about this vehicle?:ground clearance, could use couple more inches
ReviewOriginationID:40479bed-3bc9-4d25-aab1-19a9bcd335b8
"this vehicle is perfect in power, looks, capacity, over all driving and almost no blind spots. drives like a big car, capable of all terrain. 2wd is great in snow up to bout 5 inches, then 4wd is awesome.
only con with this truck is clearance, could use couple more inches.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MA
Year 2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
responsible buy,
January 20, 2012
By badasdart
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:17000
What's great about this vehicle?:GAS MILAGE 19 MPG CITY HIGHWAY 24MPG
What's not so great about this vehicle?:THE TIRES ARE GENERIC
ReviewOriginationID:7284262a-959c-4cf0-9a80-3459bd65e1d0
"PROS, GAS MILAGE 19 MPG CITY HIGHWAY 24MPG, LOTS OF SPACE INSIDE. lOVE THE CENTER ARMREST PLENTY OF SPACE. CONS THE WINDOW WIPERS ARE JUNK FROM FACTORY(i CALLED AND THEY OFFERED TO REPLACE THEM) THEY DONT GIVE A MANUAL WITH THE VEHICLE YOU HAVE TO BEG FOR ONE, THE TIRES ARE GENERIC, I WISH I HAD GOTTTEN LEATHER AND ELECTRIC SEATS, I HAVE CLOTH AND SOMEHOW I HAVE A SNAG ALREADY. BUT FOR THE BUCK OVERALL ITS A GOOD DEAL, OH YEA ONE MORE PRO THE WARRANTY THEY HAVE THE BEST ONE ON DRIVE TRAIN."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Jeep,
December 18, 2011
By Marcus
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:57000
What's great about this vehicle?:Goes anywhere and fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poorly supportive seats, especially in the back.
ReviewOriginationID:8192cea1-66eb-44b6-841a-9374064fc445
"This Liberty Sport 4x4 has taken us from the top of mountains to way out into the desert. Never fails.
Upgraded the headlight bulbs as Jeep has the same problem of all MOPAR autos...the standard headlights are weak.
We put in a Panasonic Nav/DVD/Stereo which puts out the sound we need and finishes the car off for us.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Vechicle,
September 8, 2011
By danni
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:55000
"never had any problems, easy and comfy!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Fun to drive!,
June 11, 2011
By hiker029
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
3
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:24000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, roomy, comfortable, easy to clean
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage, reliability, Jeep customer service
"We've had our new Jeep Liberty Limited 4x4 for a little less than a year. We really loved the idea of purchasing an American made vehicle and wanted something that would be comfortable for long distance traveling with our two huskies. Unfortunately, we started having problems within the first 35 miles...on our way home from the dealer! Long story short, we've had it in the shop nearly ten times already for repairs/unscheduled service. We had the airbag cover replaced (was coming apart from the dash), heater repaired (the heat automatically turned on full blast on the drivers feet and wouldn't turn off- we literally had to pull over to let our feet cool off during drives until we could get it to the shop), the engine light and airbag lights continually came on and the dealer said they couldn't determine the problem- this happened a half a dozen times, and most recently we had to have the valves replaced in the engine- again, engine light came on and engine began running rough. In addition, we had to take it in for a recall only to find out when we went to pick it up that they made a mistake and the recall didn't affect our vehicle (the recall notice came from Jeep directly). Unfortunately, I would never be able to justify another Jeep purchase. I love driving it when it's not in the shop!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
LOVE THIS CAR,
May 21, 2010
By wtwolf1122
from Florence, SC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I love my liberty. This has been the best vehicle. My only complaint has been the radio. We've got the nav/handsfree/dvd radio and for some reason we've had massive issues with it. The dealership has replaced it once. Even the new one won't keep my Satalite presets (AM/FM are fine). Even with that, I still love this car. It's comfortable for me and our 4 month old, but I can pack the whole family (including the 2 dogs) and still go."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
sporty,
March 1, 2010
By zman
from toledo oh
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"bought my jeep in Dec 08 no problems,drove it to Fl. twice getting 23mpg ,very comfortable and fun to drive"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2008 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
08 Jeep 4X4 LImited,
July 23, 2009
By RVingS&P
from Orlando, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"For an RV campin the best vehicle, tows behind MH."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.