Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue

Average Customer Rating:
8.843 out of 10
8.8
 out of 
10
304 of 318(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Review 41 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Olde and Great,
May 1, 2012
By Tahoeartisan
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:71000
What's great about this vehicle?:COMFY AND COZY AS WELL AS QUIET.. 25mpg average on
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Repairs "Pricey" using AUTHORIZED DEALER Aarrggh!
ReviewOriginationID:fd5f9d02f7be4b00be45cce29e68511d
"Plan to drive til the wheels fall off.
Although this year we now have invested plus or minus $4,000.00 seems like wheels fell of based this cost:)
No plans to sell and start those monthly payments again.
Blown Head Gasket, Serpentine Belt, New Platinum Plugs, Coils, Gas gauge New, Door Switch repaired, Full Tune Up with all filters. Good for another 71,00 PLUS miles we plan on driving cross country
Why buy new when you can ride in a classic 24x7 :)
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NV
Year 1998
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I will never forget this car!,
April 12, 2012
By Jeff
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:132000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, comfortable, spacious, just a great car
What's not so great about this vehicle?:cup holders could be better
ReviewOriginationID:66e5111d9d744a879c4e3eb7aeeb829f
"I've owned my Buick Park Avenue Ultra for 6 years now. I got it when i was a senior in high school and was mocked for it until i let people ride in it. The smoothest ride with more luxuries than one could want. Ive driven it all throughout college and it still runs like a champ. Some work needs to be done, but I haven't been able to keep up with the maintenance for quite awhile now. It still gets 28 mpg on the highway and around 22mpg combined driving. The supercharger gives you the power when you need it. How many 15 year old cars can still say that the sunroof works as well as most of everything else electrical in the car. I wish I would of taken better care of this car or had the money to do a complete overhaul. I would definitely buy another Buick in the future."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1997
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I wish Buick still made this model,
March 31, 2012
By DD
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:101000
What's great about this vehicle?:comfort, good mileage (22mpg overall!), reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:nothing bad to report
ReviewOriginationID:69c81f199a2748afbe9bc663ef762eeb
"This is a great car. We bought it used with 30,000 miles. Ha vve made very few repairs. It still runs well. I would buy it again."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 1999
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I'm looking for my third one I like it so much!!!!,
March 28, 2012
By Backyard Jim
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:175000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great gas mileage for size and sooo....comfortable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Rear window defroster/antenna combo
ReviewOriginationID:3ea614db917945568b272f2a352fd971
"Don't get me wrong on the following write-up because I really like this car. It's my second one and I'm looking for another, after having been a life long Honda Accord owner. For a used vehicle, it's been very reliable, outstanding in the snow, great gas mileage for the size of it and so much more comfortable than the Accords. There are some minor issues to be concerned with but if maintained and attention given to problems immediately, this vehicle is very reliable. Integration of rear window defroster and radio antenna together not a good design. There are some poor connections that develop over time in the breakout box behind the sail of the rear window on the drivers side and are a potential fire hazard. You will know when this happens because your AM radio reception will begin to deteriorate and the rear window defroster won't work. Common problem...get it fixed immediately when the defroster stops working. The door handles are constantly breaking. If the doors are locked and you attempt to open them before they are unlatched, the plastic actuator arm on the pull portion inside will crack and break off. You may think you're locked out but try some other doors first. Easy fix if you know how to take the door panels off and are mechanically inclined. Plastic elbow on side of engine near the serpentine belt, which is a pathway for the coolant system, has O-Rings that break down and leak coolant, which creates overheating problems due to loss of coolant and system pressure. Gauges lose calibration but can be reset relatively closely with a strong permanent magnet. Moldings on bottom of doors have a tendency to trap road salt and debris causing paint deterioration and rust on bottoms of doors. Alloy rims also have a tendency to corrode along the bead edge area of the tires causing tires to experience very slow leaks. Clean them up and seal them to stop air leaks. I'm a good sized guy 225#"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CT
Year 2000
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
One of the best vehicles owned,
March 28, 2012
By JW6019
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:75000
What's great about this vehicle?:comfortable to drive, reliable, and luxurious.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None
ReviewOriginationID:bdc424f140244e158e5b177c2b395d0c
"My 2003 Buick Park Ave is hands down the best riding vehicle I have ever owned. This is the 4th Buick and the 2nd Park Ave I have owned. All have exeeded expectations on fuel enconomy. My current Park Ave on average gets 27 MPG and right at 30 on the highway which I consider oustanding given the size and comfort of the vehicle. It has been very reliable with nothing more than routine maintenance. It currently has just 75,000 miles but still drives every bit as good as when it was new. The previous one was still in good running condition at 193,000 miles. I would buy another one if they were still being made."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Very good car,
March 21, 2012
By RET
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:190000
What's great about this vehicle?:affordable when used, comfortable on long trips
What's not so great about this vehicle?:dash Ashtray door won't stay closed
ReviewOriginationID:14e8c21e-ede4-401d-a9dc-a9ccff1244cc
"I purchased this car used with 110000 miles and it is still running great with 190000 miles. Very quiet and smooth, good power and great features. The economy is surprising considering how large and comfortable a car it is, everyone comments on how nice it is to ride in. It has been my families main transportation vehicle for 6 years and has never let us down, cold A/C in the summer and warm heater every winter. A very nice car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1999
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
has body damage. Needs TLC,
March 16, 2012
By sassy
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
What's great about this vehicle?:drives well.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:needs maintenace on engine and transmission.
ReviewOriginationID:3ce75243-99af-4e94-9036-23ef02d0faf4
"Has not had good maintenance for several years. Has hail damage, and a large dent on drivers side back door and fender. The rearview mirror on drivers side needs replacing.
One estimate on repairs was $3800.
"
Ownership Status I want this car.
Location MT
Year 1997
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
dream ride,
February 13, 2012
By gloomermtn
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:67000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great ride and economy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:People call it an old man car.
ReviewOriginationID:19b29ba0-9ae9-4e8c-8926-0a7afa1e0380
"This is the most comfortable car I have ever owned. Good in the snow and gets 25 mpg in town and 28 on highway. Huge trunk. Power windows stick sometimes but otherwise excellent car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Definitely my favorite car!,
February 10, 2012
By diablana
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:165000
ReviewOriginationID:fd5e0189-bd29-4afe-8ebe-107e2c034bf6
"I absolutely LOVE this car. Like any car, things on it will eventually wear out. However, this car was very durable. The only problem I've had with it is the power seat controls under the front seats. The plastic broke and they no longer stay in place. This is literally my only problem! With proper maintenance any car can be good- this one has potential to be great!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
great vehicle,
January 27, 2012
By peason
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:great ride, good power, good mileage for the comfo
What's not so great about this vehicle?:door handles
ReviewOriginationID:e7c5e1af-8c42-484b-adc0-7b8600d85c36
"only drawbacks are the doors: door latches malfunction, door handles poor design sometimes doors will not unlock"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IA
Year 1999
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
what a ride,
January 26, 2012
By gloomer
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:67000
What's great about this vehicle?:great ride
What's not so great about this vehicle?:casset only no cd
ReviewOriginationID:0bc50491-9458-4ebe-b58b-5f903383f1bd
"This is the most comfortable car I have ever driven. It just floats and glides down the road and is very responsive. A little under powered when you try to gun it but it's not designed to be a hot rod. I was laughed at for buying a gas hog. Weel the jokes on them. I regularly get 25 mpg around town and 28 on the highway at 80 mph. Room in the trunk for several suitcases and back seat quite roomy."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 2002
Review 52 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
BEST CAR SO FAR,
January 23, 2012
By BIG D
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:195000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great horsepower, reliable, very fun car to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:the paint seems to bubbly after many years
ReviewOriginationID:3a0ad365-00ad-4f88-ba10-8bb9af66445f
"I have had this car for 2 years so far i want to get the whole car redone im only 19 but its my favorite car ive had 3 other vehichles. Everyone always tells me its a "grandma car" untill they get in it. Doin 90 mph feels like 40 the ride quality is amazing and the pickup with the powerban is amazing through all 4 gears. most reliable car2 also, i only have to turn thee key for a second and she starts right up. very strong reliable American car ive hit 2 deer and the only thing that broke is the headlight mouunt. best car ive ever owned wish they still made them in america but only china do they make these still:("
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2000
Review 53 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Smoothest Driving Car you can imagine,
January 20, 2012
By RH
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:102000
ReviewOriginationID:717243fa-fb50-4357-8d2e-0142dde58455
"Cannot believe how smooth the car rides. I wish I didn't have a few dings and scratches in it and I'd keep it for a long time. Mileage is unbelievable too. If you drive 65 on the highway, you can get more than 32mpg."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2000
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Excellent ride and comfort,
January 18, 2012
By Jocko
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:67000
What's great about this vehicle?:Ride, comfort, paint (diamond white)
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Some degradation in interior plastics
ReviewOriginationID:9c2efafb-4f8a-47a8-93d5-1ee2b69a5894
"The Park Avenue has a very comfortable ride with plenty of interior room. The 3.8 motor has been proven to be bulletproof. It is rumored that after a long run in a variety of GM models, this motor was dropped from the GM line due to a lack of service work coming back to the dealer after the warranty period. Seems believable........"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 2000
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Ride! Buick's Signature Feel,
January 17, 2012
By ParkDriver
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:117000
What's great about this vehicle?:Mileage, Design, Engine, Space
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Bad Cup Holders, Cheep Plastics used.
ReviewOriginationID:bf945094-6ab7-468c-b49b-990e933948fd
"This is a very luxurious ride. With the soft suspension Buick is known for, to the amazing engines they put in their cars. I have currently owned my 98' Park Av. for about a year now and I am enjoying it everyday! This car is HUGE on the inside, yet sleek and sporty on the outside. Great design and flow on the interior. Overall I would go as far to say the only thing that beats the quality of driving of this car is a HIGH class Cadillac. Anyone that drives this car would agree."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1998
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car. Lots of power and terrific gas mileage.,
January 17, 2012
By george
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:205000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Needs more brake maintenance than other cars.
ReviewOriginationID:2e3153ad-40e4-483d-9d9a-29ce7fb6cab0
"This is one very exceptional car. The comfort is unsurpassed. The supercharged engine will get around almost anything fast and the handling is outstanding. In addition, it will get 30 mpg on the highway and between 20 and 25 around town. I love this car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 1999
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Nice vehicle.,
January 17, 2012
By George
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:58000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very comfortable on the Interstate highway.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Mechanical and electronic problems.
ReviewOriginationID:cb61f75c-d3b4-4d20-b7ec-46d826e61d6d
"This Park Avenue Ultra (supercharged) is a very comfortable vehicle on the highway but drives like a boat in town. We have had electronic and mechanical problems with this car. We were never left stranded but are no longer confident about taking an extended trip in it. The 27 mpg is amazing for a car this size. A friend who owned a similar Ultra had an unacceptable electronic melt-down at 80,000 miles. It would have cost him $5,000 to have it repaired. He was given $2,000 for it and bought a Nissan Altima. We must reluctantly get rid of our Ultra."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NV
Year 2000
Review 58 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Just great all around feel to drive.,
January 11, 2012
By Chuck
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:97200
ReviewOriginationID:710e75d5-f3b4-4cfd-973c-0a2b3d450882
"Very comfortable ride, accessories are easy to reach and identify, roomy enough for long trip with grand children, reliable with only expected periodic maintenance. It obviously helps greatly to keep any vehicle garaged if possible."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NM
Year 2001
Review 59 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Owned this for 8 yrs and still enjoy driving it.,
January 9, 2012
By medic
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
ReviewOriginationID:d40661b8-920b-409b-8d9e-cb22728f97e8
"A fantastic vehicle giving me 30mpg on trips and 25 local. The supercharger is awesome and shows excellent handling for a large car. Great family car without the minivan syndrome and a trunk that large enough for your projects or trips."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 1999
Review 60 for 1997 - 2005 Buick Park Avenue
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great car pleanty of room,
January 6, 2012
By ford
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:121519
What's great about this vehicle?:very good drivin car very comfortobule
What's not so great about this vehicle?:cup holders not very big
ReviewOriginationID:172f5af8-f3a2-4d72-8e52-f4be2c1e6147
"best driving car i have owned."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2000
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.